Absa Bank Ltd Overview
Absa is South Africa's third-largest banking group by assets and the most explicitly pan-African of the domestic "big four", with 31% of both revenue and headline earnings generated outside South Africa in FY2025. It operates a universal banking model — personal and private banking, business banking, corporate and investment banking, and bancassurance — across twelve African markets plus securities entities in the United Kingdom and United States, a technology support office in the Czech Republic, an advisory subsidiary in China and representative offices in Nigeria and Namibia. Absa's structural challenge for a decade has been returns: it has consistently earned a return on equity near, and at times below, its cost of equity, in contrast to FirstRand and Standard Bank at 19–20%. New chief executive Kenny Fihla, appointed in June 2025, has reorganised the group onto a single pan-African operating model and set a 16–19% ROE target for 2027–2030, with a cost-to-income ratio approaching 50% by 2028. Execution risk on that gap is the central investment question.
What the company does
Absa Group Limited is a diversified financial services group providing retail, business, corporate and investment banking, insurance, wealth management and advisory services. It is a deposit-taking, credit-extending, fee-generating and risk-intermediating institution — a classical universal bank with a bancassurance overlay — rather than a product or licensing business.
The group's own framing in its FY2025 results booklet describes five core activities: providing payment services and a safe place to save and invest; providing funds for purchases and growth; managing business and financial risks; providing financial and business support; and protecting against risks. Its stated purpose is "Empowering Africa's tomorrow, together… one story at a time", and its stated ambition is to be a leading pan-African bank.
Independent characterisation of the business model
Absa's economics are those of a spread-and-fee bank with three distinct earnings engines that behave very differently through the cycle:
Balance-sheet intermediation (net interest income, 64% of FY2025 revenue). Absa funded R1,489bn of gross loans with R1,854bn of deposits and debt funding at end-2025, earning a group net interest margin of 4.53% on average interest-bearing assets of R1,632bn. The margin is structurally bifurcated: South Africa earned 3.80% and Africa Regions 7.38%. This is the single most important fact about Absa's business model. Africa Regions carries roughly double the margin of the South African book, which is why the group's strategic centre of gravity has shifted north — and equally why falling policy rates in Ghana, Zambia, Kenya and Botswana became the dominant negative earnings driver in the first half of 2026.
Fee, trading and insurance income (non-interest income, 36% of FY2025 revenue). Net fee and commission income of R26,752m in FY2025 is dominated by transactional fees and commissions (R24,088m), which are volume- and customer-number driven and therefore comparatively defensive. Layered on top is a materially more volatile trading business: net trading income excluding hedge accounting rose 30% to R10,481m in FY2025, with Global Markets total income up 31% to R11,263m. Insurance contributed R11,678m of insurance revenue and a R2,071m insurance service result.
Risk absorption (credit impairments). Absa's earnings are gated by its credit loss ratio, which management manages against a through-the-cycle target range of 75–100 basis points. The ratio moved from 77bps (2021) to 118bps (2023) and back to 88bps (2025) — a swing worth several billion rand of pre-tax profit and, in practice, the largest single driver of reported earnings growth in both 2025 and 2026.
There is no subscription or licensing revenue of consequence. The revenue model is: interest spread + transaction and advisory fees + trading P&L + insurance underwriting margin + investment returns on shareholder and policyholder funds.
Value chain position
Absa sits at the centre of the financial value chain in its markets: it originates and underwrites credit, holds it on balance sheet (with a growing originate-and-distribute component in CIB), operates payment rails and merchant acquiring infrastructure, manufactures and distributes insurance through Absa Life and Absa Insurance Company, and provides custody, trustee and investor services to institutional clients through Absa Investor Services. It is increasingly also an infrastructure provider to third-party digital-asset issuers — Absa custodies the reserves backing the ZAR Supercoin rand-pegged stablecoin issued by NYSE-listed Super Group, and is piloting a gold-backed stablecoin of its own on a private permissioned blockchain.
Customer types and end markets
End-markets served span the full economic base of its presence countries, with disclosed sector concentrations in residential and commercial property, motor retail, agriculture, mining and resources, energy (including a leading African renewable-energy financing franchise), telecommunications and the public sector.
Strategy
The refreshed strategy
Absa's strategy was reset following Kenny Fihla's appointment and articulated in full with the FY2025 results in March 2026. The stated ambition is to be a leading pan-African bank, delivered through four pillars:
- Customer-led growth — building trust and loyalty through consistent, intuitive and value-driven experiences.
- Diversified pan-African business — strengthening key geographies while expanding in high-potential markets.
- Driving excellence — modernising, simplifying and reducing costs to enable faster decisions and improved efficiency.
- New growth opportunities — expanding beyond traditional banking through digital platforms and value-added services.
These are enabled by three stated organisational commitments: deepening talent and succession, strong leadership and organisational resilience, and culture as a competitive advantage. The group describes the approach as disciplined sequencing — clear priorities for today, scaling opportunities for tomorrow, and investments for future growth — with an explicit emphasis on simplicity, actionability and disciplined execution.
The contrast with the prior strategy is meaningful. Under the previous framework, Absa articulated five pillars (a diversified franchise with deliberate market-leading growth; the primary partner for clients; a digitally powered business; a winning, talented and diverse team; an active force for good) and targeted a return on equity sustainably above 17% from 2026. That target has been withdrawn and replaced with a 16–19% range for 2027–2030, with management aiming to be well within the range by 2028 — effectively a two-year deferral and a modest lowering of the floor.
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Management guidance
The August downgrade is the single most important guidance event of the year. Management moved from "around 16%" to "around 15%" ROE within five months of setting the number, and simultaneously flipped JAWS guidance from positive to slightly negative. Both revisions trace to Africa Regions margin compression rather than to South African execution.
Products & Services
Absa does not publish a complete SKU-level product catalogue in its financial reporting; the inventory below is compiled from the group's results booklets, segment disclosures, market-facing product descriptions and announced launches. Pricing is disclosed only at the level of aggregate consumer pricing changes rather than per-product tariffs, and is flagged as such.
Personal and Private Banking
Transactions and Deposits (FY2025 headline earnings R3,093m; net interest margin 2.03%)
- Everyday transactional accounts spanning entry-level through gold, premium and private banking tiers, sold as bundled value propositions with fixed monthly fees. Fee income of R5,373m from cheque accounts and R1,137m from savings accounts in FY2025.
- Savings and deposit products including notice, fixed-term and demand savings. PPB customer deposits totalled R367,515m at end-2025, comprising R205bn of savings and transmission deposits, R88bn of fixed deposits and R41bn of cheque account deposits.
- Absa Rewards loyalty programme; Absa Advantage relationship pricing.
- Digital channels: the Absa Banking App, Absa Online, ChatBanking on WhatsApp, Chat Wallet (launched 2023), CashSend cardless cash withdrawal, and Absa Pay for merchant-site e-commerce payment without sharing banking credentials.
- Absa Global Pay, launched 3 March 2026 with Thunes, a digital-first cross-border remittance product leveraging Thunes' network reaching over 130 countries and more than 80 currencies.
- Bill payments capability launched in partnership with EasyPay and Pay@.
- Participation in South Africa's PayShap instant low-value payment scheme — notable as a revenue headwind: PayShap adoption was explicitly cited as a driver of a 5% decline in Business Banking transactional revenue in FY2025.
Home Loans (FY2025 headline earnings R1,773m; NIM 1.71%; credit loss ratio 0.34%)
- Standard residential mortgages, further advances, re-advances and switching products; net loans of R316bn at end-2025 (+2%).
- Affordable-housing mortgage propositions targeted at first-time and lower-income buyers, positioned within the group's financial inclusion agenda.
- Attached home-owner's comprehensive insurance and credit life cover.
Vehicle and Asset Finance (FY2025 headline earnings R959m, +52%; NIM 3.12%; credit loss ratio improved to 1.26% from 1.62%)
- Instalment sale and lease finance for new and used vehicles, distributed through dealer and direct channels; net loans of R127bn (+7%).
- Fleet and vehicle management solutions for corporate clients.
- New-energy-vehicle financing commitments made under the group's climate strategy.
- The FY2025 earnings recovery was driven by revised credit policies, exit from specific higher-risk segments and enhanced collections rather than by volume.
Unsecured Lending (FY2025 headline earnings R884m; NIM 9.50%; credit loss ratio 7.34%)
- Card: credit and charge cards across gold, platinum and premium tiers plus co-branded and store-card portfolios; card issuing fee income of R3,599m in FY2025; headline earnings up 29% to R797m.
- Personal Loans: headline earnings fell 76% to R85m in FY2025 following a deliberate strategic repositioning and downsizing of the book; the credit loss ratio on the personal loan book remains the highest in the group.
- Overdrafts and revolving credit facilities.
Insurance South Africa (FY2025 headline earnings R1,010m; RoE 18.2%)
- Absa Life — life, funeral and credit life cover; FY2025 profits fell 8% to R885m on strengthened actuarial assumptions and modelling changes.
- Absa Insurance Company and Absa Idirect — short-term motor, household and buildings cover; FY2025 profits grew 29% to R396m on an improved underwriting margin.
- Absa Insurance and Financial Advisers — tied advisory distribution.
- Investment contracts: liabilities under investment contracts of R27,744m and investments linked to investment contracts of R27,218m at end-2025.
Private Wealth Banking (moved into PPB from Relationship Banking in FY2025)
- Private banking, discretionary and advisory portfolio management, stockbroking, fiduciary, trust and estate administration services. Trust and other fiduciary services fees of R801m in FY2025 (+19%).
Business Banking (FY2025 revenue R15,282m; headline earnings R3,865m; RoE 21.5%)
- Business current accounts and cash management for SMEs and commercial enterprises; customer deposits of R260,747m at end-2025 (+7%).
- Absa Investment Tracker and Liquidity Plus deposit products — explicitly identified in the FY2025 net interest margin analysis as fast-growing (21% and 12% respectively) and margin-dilutive because of their attractive client rates.
- Commercial asset finance and commercial property finance — the two identified drivers of 6% net customer loan growth to R148bn in FY2025.
- Agricultural and agri-business finance, a long-standing Absa franchise strength.
- Merchant acquiring and point-of-sale solutions, including mobile card-acceptance devices. Merchant income of R3,796m in FY2025 (+16% on pricing initiatives and an interchange fee reclassification, with underlying turnover up 5%); equipment costs rose 22% largely because of higher merchant device rental costs in the acquiring business.
- Trade, working capital, guarantees (guarantee fees of R606m in FY2025) and international banking and foreign exchange services — cited as growth drivers in 1H26.
- Enterprise and supplier development finance linked to B-BBEE obligations.
Corporate and Investment Banking (FY2025 revenue R36,699m; headline earnings R13,008m; RoE 21.1%; cost-to-income 45.9%)
Global Markets (FY2025 total income R11,263m, +31%; Markets SA R5,741m, +41%; Markets Africa Regions R5,522m, +23%)
- Foreign exchange, interest rate, credit, equity and commodity trading, structuring and risk-management solutions.
- Fixed income origination and distribution; the group is a primary dealer in South African government bonds.
- Research franchise, including the Absa Africa Financial Markets Index (10th edition published 2026) and the Absa Purchasing Managers' Index, both of which function as market-standard reference publications and brand assets.
Investment Bank (FY2025 headline earnings R9,329m, +26%)
- Corporate finance and M&A advisory; equity and debt capital markets.
- Leveraged, structured, project, infrastructure and resource finance.
- Commercial and corporate real estate finance.
- Sustainable and green finance — Absa positions itself as Africa's largest funder of renewable energy, issued Africa's first certified green loan, and published a Sustainable Financing Issuance Framework.
- Principal investments in private equity and infrastructure (equity investment realisations were a negative contributor to FY2025 non-interest income).
Transactional Banking (renamed from Corporate Banking in FY2025; headline earnings R3,679m, -9%; NIM compressed 22bps to 2.42%)
- Cash management, payments, collections and liquidity management for corporates and financial institutions.
- Trade and supply-chain finance.
- Absa Investor Services — custody, trustee and fund administration.
- Digital corporate channel providing self-service access to accounts, payments and FX.
Digital Assets (within CIB)
- Digital asset custody, established roughly three and a half years before 2026.
- Reserve custody for the ZAR Supercoin rand-pegged stablecoin issued by Super Group in November 2025 — the first bank-backed rand stablecoin.
- Collaboration agreement with Ripple for cross-border payments infrastructure.
- A proprietary gold-backed stablecoin being piloted on a private permissioned blockchain, with client testing under way as at March 2026, and explicit engagement with the SARB on balance-of-payments and financial surveillance reporting.
Africa Regions – Personal and Private Banking & Business Banking
Broadly the same retail, SME and commercial product set as the South African business, adapted to local regulation and distribution. Distinguishing characteristics: a materially higher net interest margin (9.25% in FY2025, up 51bps, versus 2.90% for PPB South Africa); a heavier weighting to fixed-rate customer loans; strong mobile money integration (mobile money balances of R3,566m at end-2025); and 14% growth in transactionally active customers in FY2025. Following the disposal of three insurance entities in 1H25, the Africa Regions insurance offering has been substantially reduced.
Pricing model disclosure
Absa does not publish per-product pricing in its financial reporting. The most substantive disclosed pricing datapoints are: a consumer pricing transformation delivering more than R1bn of benefits to customers (FY2023); merchant pricing initiatives contributing to 16% merchant income growth in FY2025; and explicit acknowledgement of competitive pricing pressure on Transactional Banking South Africa and Business Banking overdraft margins as a 12bps drag on the group net interest margin in FY2025. Product-level tariff schedules are published on country websites and are not consolidated in group filings.
Financial Narrative
Income statement — five-year series (Rm)
FY2021 is presented on the basis reported at the time and pre-dates the IFRS 17 restatement applied to FY2022; FY2021 non-interest income and pre-provision profit are derived from disclosed aggregates. FY2022 and FY2023 are IFRS figures from the FY2023 results booklet reconciliation, not the normalised figures headlined at the time.
Income statement — detailed lines, FY2022 to FY2025 (Rm)
FY2022 interest income and expense are shown as zero because the FY2023 booklet discloses these lines on the normalised rather than IFRS basis (R112,232m and R51,792m respectively); they are not directly comparable and are excluded rather than misstated.
Per-share, margin and return metrics — five-year series
FY2021 and FY2022 headline EPS reflect the normalised basis then published by the group in its own five-year series; FY2021 non-interest income share is derived.
Per-share detail, FY2024 to FY2025 (cents)
Balance sheet (Rm)
FY2022 and FY2023 "deposits and debt funding" are the arithmetic sum of deposits and debt securities in issue, to align with the presentation change adopted in FY2025; FY2022 ordinary shareholders' equity on an IFRS basis is not separately disclosed in the sources reviewed (the R131,249m figure published at the time was normalised) and is shown as zero rather than misstated. FY2024 deposits due to customers is derived from the FY2025 disclosure that customer deposits rose 6% to R1,441bn. FY2022 and FY2023 RWA are rounded from the "grew 5% to R1,058bn" disclosure; FY2024 is derived from the FY2025 6% growth disclosure.
Cash flow (Rm)
FY2023 is the normalised statement of cash flows; capital expenditure lines are not separately disclosed on that basis and are shown as zero. Total capex includes investment property purchases of R1m (FY2024) and R90m (FY2025).
Ratio analysis
FY2022 Tier 1 ratio is not separately disclosed in the sources reviewed. Absa Bank Limited FY2022 ratios are from the FY2023 results booklet.
Growth rates and CAGR
Dividend CAGR is flattered by the depressed 2021 base following the COVID-era payout suspension.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
Revenue. The four-year revenue CAGR of 7.7% is respectable in nominal terms but sits close to blended inflation across Absa's footprint, implying near-flat real revenue. The composition has shifted materially. Net interest income grew fastest in 2023 (+12%) as policy rates peaked, then decelerated to 4% in 2025 and 3% in 1H26 as rate cuts reversed the endowment benefit. Non-interest income has taken up the slack: it grew 7% in FY2025 and 6% in 1H26, and management has explicitly guided that non-interest income will outgrow net interest income. Within non-interest income, the quality of growth is mixed — net fee and commission income grew only 3% in FY2025, while trading income excluding hedge accounting jumped 30%. Trading is the most volatile and least capitalised-value revenue line in a bank; investors should discount it accordingly.
Net interest margin. The margin peaked at 4.67% in 2023 and has compressed to 4.53% in 2025. The FY2025 attribution is instructive: customer loans cost 1bp, customer deposits cost 16bps (12bps of which is pure pricing competition), liquidity endowment cost 6bps, and the structural hedge added 9bps. In other words, the dominant margin pressure is competitive deposit pricing, not the rate cycle. Absa's structural hedge released only a R228m charge in 2025 against R1,655m in 2024, and the after-tax cash flow hedging reserve swung to a R2.8bn credit from R0.1bn, which will support the margin as hedges mature into a lower-rate environment. The geographic bifurcation is stark and worsening: South Africa 3.80% (down 7bps) versus Africa Regions 7.38% (down 44bps).
Costs. This is Absa's most persistent weakness. The cost-to-income ratio has moved the wrong way in every year since 2022 — 52.1%, 53.2%, 53.2%, 53.8% — despite a productivity programme that delivered R1.7bn of gross benefits in 2025 and R3.1bn cumulatively since 2024 against a R5bn commitment by 2027. Staff costs of R36,373m represent 58% of the expense base and grew 8%, with deferred cash and share-based payments up 16% and bonuses up 15% — faster than earnings. Total IT spend of R16,665m is 27% of the expense base. Management's target of a cost-to-income ratio approaching 50% by 2028 requires roughly 400 basis points of improvement in three years, against a four-year track record of 170 basis points of deterioration. This is the single most demanding commitment in the plan.
Credit. The impairment cycle is Absa's clearest recent success. The credit loss ratio peaked at 118bps in 2023, driven by South African retail unsecured and vehicle finance portfolios under 475bps of cumulative rate increases, and has normalised to 88bps in 2025 — the mid-point of the 75–100bps through-the-cycle range — and 94bps in 1H26. Vehicle and Asset Finance impairments fell 19% on revised credit policy and exits from higher-risk segments; unsecured lending impairments were only 1% lower but the book was deliberately shrunk. Non-performing loans fell 2% to R84bn (5.63% of gross loans, from 6.11%). The caution is that total coverage fell to 3.72% from 4.13% and Stage 3 coverage to 45.75% from 47.37% — meaning some of the impairment improvement reflects lower provisioning intensity, not purely better book quality.
Below-the-line items. Other expenses rose 36% to R5,686m in FY2025 and other impairments more than doubled to R3,157m, driven by R2,391m of computer software asset impairments. Goodwill and intangible assets fell 10% to R14,455m as a result. A write-off of that magnitude against a bank's own capitalised technology is a meaningful negative signal about the historical quality of digital investment, and it is one reason headline earnings (R24,762m, +12%) diverged so sharply from attributable profit (R22,214m, +3%) — the headline earnings adjustment leapt to R2,548m from R522m.
Capital and returns. CET1 improved to 12.7%, above the top of the 11.0–12.5% board range, and total capital adequacy was flat at 15.8%. ROE reached 15.0% — above the 14.9% cost of equity reported for 1H26, but only marginally, and below the 15.1% cost of equity cited at 1H25. Absa has been earning at or below its cost of capital for the better part of five years. The 8% growth in NAV per share to 20,802 cents was partly driven by other reserves rising 32%, which management itself noted increased equity more than expected and thereby diluted ROE while supporting NAV — a rare instance of a bank flagging balance-sheet strength as an earnings-quality headwind.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total income (Rm) | 85900 | 96836 | 104642 | 109949 | 115697 |
Net interest income (Rm) | 53297 | 60498 | 68055 | 71105 | 73941 |
Non-interest income (Rm) | 32603 | 36338 | 36587 | 38844 | 41756 |
Operating expenses (Rm) | 48600 | 50474 | 55704 | 58508 | 62235 |
Pre-provision profit (Rm) | 37300 | 46362 | 48938 | 51441 | 53462 |
Credit impairment charges (Rm) | 8500 | 13703 | 15535 | 14304 | 13410 |
Headline earnings (Rm) | 17825 | 19974 | 20074 | 22059 | 24762 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Interest and similar income (Rm) | 0 | 154462 | 167856 | 161086 |
Interest expense and similar charges (Rm) | 0 | -86535 | -96751 | -87145 |
Net fee and commission income (Rm) | 24504 | 24971 | 25901 | 26752 |
Insurance revenue (Rm) | 10136 | 11585 | 11852 | 11678 |
Insurance service result (Rm) | 2003 | 1998 | 2131 | 2071 |
Gains and losses from banking and trading activities (Rm) | 7728 | 8081 | 8719 | 10853 |
Gains and losses from investment activities (Rm) | -532 | 2642 | 2527 | 3635 |
Other operating income (Rm) | 1533 | 508 | 869 | 886 |
Other expenses (Rm) | 2440 | 3353 | 4196 | 5686 |
Other impairments (Rm) | 591 | 350 | 914 | 3157 |
Indirect taxation (Rm) | 1849 | 2322 | 2592 | 2529 |
Operating profit before income tax (Rm) | 30356 | 30250 | 33223 | 34684 |
Taxation expense (Rm) | 7952 | 7687 | 8320 | 9082 |
Profit for the reporting period (Rm) | 22404 | 22563 | 24903 | 25602 |
Profit attributable to ordinary equity holders (Rm) | 20265 | 19891 | 21537 | 22214 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Headline EPS (cents) | 2197 | 2452 | 2422 | 2662 | 2987 |
Dividend per share (cents) | 785 | 1300 | 1370 | 1460 | 1635 |
Dividend payout ratio (%) | 20 | 53 | 55 | 55 | 55 |
Return on equity (%) | 14.6 | 15.3 | 14.4 | 14.8 | 15.0 |
Cost-to-income ratio (%) | 56.6 | 52.1 | 53.2 | 53.2 | 53.8 |
Net interest margin (%) | 4.46 | 4.56 | 4.67 | 4.63 | 4.53 |
Credit loss ratio (%) | 0.77 | 0.96 | 1.18 | 1.03 | 0.88 |
Non-interest income as share of revenue (%) | 38.0 | 37.5 | 35.0 | 35.3 | 36.1 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Basic EPS (cents) | 2599.2 | 2679.6 |
Diluted basic EPS (cents) | 2594.8 | 2651.5 |
Headline EPS (cents) | 2662.2 | 2987.0 |
Diluted headline EPS (cents) | 2657.7 | 2955.5 |
NAV per ordinary share (cents) | 19310 | 20802 |
Tangible NAV per ordinary share (cents) | 17380 | 19058 |
Ordinary dividend per share (cents) | 1460 | 1635 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (Rm) | 1792101 | 1874876 | 2068695 | 2239479 |
Cash and balances with central banks (Rm) | 66429 | 77815 | 124557 | 141415 |
Investment securities (Rm) | 215637 | 236498 | 270444 | 268530 |
Trading portfolio assets (Rm) | 206454 | 191097 | 226182 | 287136 |
Gross loans and advances (Rm) | 1258288 | 1320923 | 1402568 | 1488685 |
Net loans and advances (Rm) | 1213399 | 1271357 | 1349588 | 1438559 |
Goodwill and intangible assets (Rm) | 10916 | 13660 | 16010 | 14455 |
Property and equipment (Rm) | 15016 | 15802 | 16250 | 16055 |
Deposits and debt funding (Rm) | 1447437 | 1550664 | 1718218 | 1854348 |
Deposits due to customers (Rm) | 1113281 | 1215331 | 1359434 | 1441000 |
Subordinated debt (Rm) | 26420 | 18502 | 21188 | 22562 |
Total liabilities (Rm) | 1638965 | 1710479 | 1885419 | 2048070 |
Ordinary shareholders' equity / NAV (Rm) | 0 | 144586 | 160174 | 172411 |
Additional Tier 1 capital (Rm) | 7503 | 8262 | 9674 | 10098 |
Total equity (Rm) | 153136 | 164397 | 183276 | 191409 |
Risk-weighted assets (Rm) | 1007000 | 1058000 | 1163000 | 1233000 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Net cash generated from operating activities (Rm) | 42965 | 62563 | 50086 |
Purchase of property and equipment (Rm) | 0 | 4320 | 3318 |
Purchase of intangible assets (Rm) | 0 | 4832 | 3916 |
Total capital expenditure (Rm) | 0 | 9153 | 7324 |
Net cash used in investing activities (Rm) | -5730 | -2464 | -3992 |
Net cash used in financing activities (Rm) | -23359 | -12161 | -19576 |
Ordinary and NCI dividends paid (Rm) | 12067 | 12644 | 14221 |
AT1 distributions paid (Rm) | 899 | 1100 | 1051 |
Purchase of own shares for share schemes (Rm) | 1354 | 900 | 861 |
Redemption of preference shares (Rm) | 0 | 0 | 4598 |
Cash and cash equivalents at period end (Rm) | 88454 | 137797 | 164010 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity (%) | 15.3 | 14.4 | 14.8 | 15.0 |
Return on average assets (%) | 1.20 | 1.07 | 1.11 | 1.13 |
Return on average RWA (%) | 2.16 | 2.05 | 2.02 | 2.06 |
Common Equity Tier 1 ratio, Group (%) | 12.8 | 12.5 | 12.6 | 12.7 |
Tier 1 ratio, Group (%) | 0 | 14.2 | 14.4 | 14.3 |
Total capital adequacy, Group (%) | 16.6 | 15.8 | 15.8 | 15.8 |
Common Equity Tier 1 ratio, Absa Bank Limited (%) | 12.5 | 11.9 | 12.6 | 11.9 |
Total capital adequacy, Absa Bank Limited (%) | 17.6 | 16.2 | 17.1 | 16.2 |
Gross loans to deposits and debt funding (%) | 86.9 | 85.2 | 81.6 | 80.3 |
Stage 3 (NPL) ratio on gross loans (%) | 5.29 | 6.05 | 6.11 | 5.63 |
Stage 3 coverage ratio (%) | 46.13 | 44.97 | 47.37 | 45.75 |
Total ECL coverage (%) | 3.90 | 4.10 | 4.13 | 3.72 |
Effective tax rate (%) | 26.2 | 25.4 | 25.0 | 26.2 |
Equity to total assets (%) | 8.5 | 8.8 | 8.9 | 8.5 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 to FY2025 CAGR (%) |
|---|---|
Total income CAGR (%) | 7.7 |
Net interest income CAGR (%) | 8.5 |
Non-interest income CAGR (%) | 6.4 |
Operating expenses CAGR (%) | 6.4 |
Pre-provision profit CAGR (%) | 9.4 |
Headline earnings CAGR (%) | 8.6 |
Dividend per share CAGR (%) | 20.1 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
South Africa revenue (Rm) | 73799 | 76454 | 79512 |
Africa Regions revenue (Rm) | 30731 | 33197 | 36185 |
South Africa headline earnings (Rm) | 14676 | 15884 | 16996 |
Africa Regions headline earnings (Rm) | 6250 | 6213 | 7766 |
South Africa operating expenses (Rm) | 38255 | 40984 | 43853 |
Africa Regions operating expenses (Rm) | 16212 | 17507 | 18382 |
South Africa pre-provision profit (Rm) | 35544 | 35659 | 35659 |
Africa Regions pre-provision profit (Rm) | 14519 | 15895 | 17803 |
South Africa credit impairments (Rm) | 13761 | 12098 | 11251 |
Africa Regions credit impairments (Rm) | 1774 | 2159 | 2159 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
South Africa share of Group revenue (%) | 71 | 70 | 69 |
Africa Regions share of Group revenue (%) | 29 | 30 | 31 |
Africa Regions share of Group earnings (%) | 30 | 28 | 31 |
South Africa cost-to-income ratio (%) | 51.8 | 53.6 | 55.2 |
Africa Regions cost-to-income ratio (%) | 52.8 | 52.3 | 50.8 |
South Africa net interest margin (%) | 3.94 | 3.87 | 3.80 |
Africa Regions net interest margin (%) | 7.55 | 7.82 | 7.38 |
South Africa credit loss ratio (%) | 1.25 | 1.04 | 0.91 |
Africa Regions credit loss ratio (%) | 0.80 | 0.96 | 0.73 |
South Africa return on equity (%) | 0.0 | 14.9 | 15.1 |
Africa Regions return on equity (%) | 0.0 | 15.1 | 16.3 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Share price, 28 August 2026 (ZAc) | 23147 |
Day change (%) | 1.28 |
Market capitalisation, 28 August 2026 (Rbn) | 191.68 |
Market capitalisation, 31 December 2025 (Rbn) | 214.10 |
Market capitalisation, 31 December 2023 (Rbn) | 146.40 |
Shares outstanding (millions) | 828.10 |
52-week range (ZAc) | 17800 to 27812 |
One-year total return to 28 August 2026 (%) | 23.40 |
Total shareholder return, FY2025 (%) | 34.40 |
Total shareholder return, FY2024 (%) | 24.30 |
Year-to-date 2026 to 18 August (%) | -7.20 |
Beta | 0.35 |
Trailing P/E (x) | 8.28 |
Forward P/E (x) | 7.04 |
Dividend per share, trailing (ZAR) | 17.00 |
Dividend yield (%) | 7.51 |
Price to FY2025 NAV per share (x) | 1.11 |
Price to FY2025 tangible NAV per share (x) | 1.21 |
Analyst consensus | Buy |
Analyst coverage (number) | 10 to 17 depending on source |
Consensus 12-month price target (ZAc) | 26216 |
Implied upside (%) | 13.26 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Absa | Standard Bank | FirstRand | Nedbank | Capitec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Market capitalisation (Rbn) | 191.7 | 483.0 | 450.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Return on equity (%) | 15.0 | 19.3 | 20.2 | 15.4 | 31.0 |
Trailing P/E (x) | 8.3 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 6.4 | 0.0 |
Dividend yield (%) | 7.5 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ordinary dividend per share (cents) | 785 | 1300 | 1370 | 1460 | 1635 |
Dividend payout ratio (%) | 20 | 53 | 55 | 55 | 55 |
Capital Markets
| Entity | Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Absa Bank Limited | Moody's | Baa3 long-term deposit | Positive | 28 May 2026 |
Absa Group Limited | Moody's | Ba2 long-term issuer | Positive | 28 May 2026 |
Republic of South Africa (sovereign anchor) | Moody's | Ba2 | Positive | 22 May 2026 |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | FY2024 (Rm) | FY2025 (Rm) |
|---|---|---|
Subordinated debt | 21188 | 22562 |
Additional Tier 1 capital | 9674 | 10098 |
Proceeds from subordinated debt issuance | 5304 | 5045 |
Repayment of subordinated debt | 3120 | 2761 |
Issue of Additional Tier 1 capital | 3090 | 3009 |
Redemption of Additional Tier 1 capital | 1678 | 2585 |
Distributions paid to Tier 1 capital holders | 1100 | 1051 |
Total deposits and debt funding | 1718218 | 1854348 |
Total debt funding (excluding deposits) | 208000 | 229000 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance, restated
For FY2026, management now expects low-to-mid single-digit revenue growth, high single-digit customer loan growth, mid-to-high single-digit deposit growth, a credit loss ratio in the middle of the 75–100 basis point range and broadly in line with 2025's 88bps, low-to-mid single-digit operating expense growth producing slightly negative JAWS, low-to-mid single-digit pre-provision profit growth, a return on equity of around 15%, a CET1 ratio finishing at the top end of the 11.0–12.5% board range, and a 55% dividend payout ratio. Rand appreciation is guided as a headwind to both revenue and earnings.
For the medium term, the group reiterates a return on equity range of 16–19% for 2027–2030, aims to be well within that range by 2028, and identifies the key driver as reducing the cost-to-income ratio to approach 50% by 2028.
Macroeconomic assumptions embedded in this guidance: South African real GDP growth of 1.5% in 2026 with policy rates unchanged into early 2027; Africa Regions GDP-weighted growth slightly above 5.0% in 2026 and 5.6% in 2027; global growth around 3.0%.
Consensus expectations
Ten covering analysts rate the stock a consensus Buy with a twelve-month price target of ZAc 26,216, implying approximately 13% upside from the 28 August 2026 price of ZAc 23,147. A separate survey of eight analysts produced an average target of ZAc 27,325 with a high of 31,882 and a low of 23,600. Forward P/E of 7.04x against trailing 8.28x implies consensus earnings growth of roughly 18% — materially above management's own guidance of low-to-mid single-digit pre-provision profit growth and flat ROE, suggesting either that consensus has not fully digested the August guidance cut or that it is underwriting a faster 2027 recovery.
Bull case
1. The valuation already prices failure. At 8.3x trailing earnings, 1.11x reported net asset value and a 7.5% dividend yield, Absa trades at a discount to Nedbank on returns and at roughly a third of Capitec's multiple. A move from 15.0% to the low end of the 16–19% target would, on a Gordon growth basis at an unchanged cost of equity, justify a materially higher price-to-book. Nothing in the current price requires the plan to work; only that it does not deteriorate further.
2. The cost lever is real and largely uncommitted. The productivity programme has delivered R3.1bn of a R5bn commitment, meaning R1.9bn of identified savings remain. Separately, approximately 79 branch and 100+ ATM closures announced in 2026 have not yet flowed through a full-year cost base, staff costs at 58% of expenses provide a large addressable pool, and the R2.4bn software impairment removes future amortisation drag. Reaching "approaching 50%" cost-to-income from 53.8% would add roughly R4bn of annual pre-tax profit at FY2025 revenue — enough on its own to move ROE by approximately 200 basis points.
3. The credit and rate cycle turn in Absa's favour from 2027. The credit loss ratio has normalised to the mid-point of the through-the-cycle range with NPLs down to 5.3% at 1H26. Simultaneously, the structural hedge reserve swung to a R2.8bn after-tax credit with the average structural rate up 13bps to 7.32%, which mechanically supports the South African margin as rates fall. If Africa Regions policy rates stabilise in 2027 as management expects, the 9.25% AR PPB & BB margin re-emerges as a growth engine against an easier comparative base.
Bear case
1. The cost target has no supporting track record. Absa's cost-to-income ratio has risen in every year since 2022 — 52.1%, 53.2%, 53.2%, 53.8%, and 53.4% at 1H26 versus 53.2% — despite an active productivity programme running throughout. Management now proposes to reverse four years of drift and improve by roughly 400 basis points within three years, while three of four business units are led by executives appointed in the last nine months who, by the CEO's own account, still need time to build teams and refine strategies.
2. Earnings quality is deteriorating beneath the headline. FY2025 headline earnings grew 12% but attributable profit grew 3%, because R2,391m of computer software was written off. Fee and commission income — the most durable revenue line — grew only 3%, while net trading income excluding hedge accounting grew 30%. Provision coverage fell from 4.13% to 3.72% and Stage 3 coverage from 47.37% to 45.75%. Strip out the trading windfall, add back normalised provisioning, and the underlying franchise growth rate is low single digit.
3. The pan-African thesis has already been stress-tested and failed its first test. Africa Regions delivered +25% earnings growth in FY2025 and -10% in 1H26, a 35-percentage-point swing on a single policy-easing cycle. Management responded by cutting FY2026 ROE guidance from ~16% to ~15% within five months of setting it. The Kenyan tender offer — the strategy's flagship capital deployment — attracted only 21.2% take-up at an 8.2x multiple, meaning minority holders declined to sell at Absa's price. Meanwhile Nedbank is acquiring 66% of NCBA. The strategy is directionally sound, but the evidence so far is of a group buying into rate-cycle beta at prices the market will not meet, while its highest-return domestic competitor compounds at 31%.
Catalysts and monitorables for the next twelve months
Analyst verdict
Absa is a well-capitalised, adequately profitable bank trading at a justified discount, in the early stages of a turnaround that is credible in design and unproven in execution.
The design is right. Kenny Fihla has correctly diagnosed the problem — Absa has spent five years earning its cost of equity and no more, while FirstRand and Standard Bank earned 19–20% — and has responded with the two changes that matter: a single pan-African operating model that removes the artificial South Africa/Africa Regions divide, and a cost target with a date attached. He has staffed the plan with proven operators, largely poached from the competitor that has been beating Absa. The medium-term ROE range of 16–19% for 2027–2030 is honest rather than heroic; the prior "above 17% from 2026" was neither.
The execution is where conviction has to be withheld. Guidance was cut from ~16% to ~15% ROE within five months of being issued, and JAWS guidance flipped from positive to negative in the same breath. The cost-to-income ratio has moved the wrong way for four consecutive years. The flagship Kenyan transaction achieved 21% of its objective. FY2025's headline 12% earnings growth conceals a R2.4bn software write-off, a 3% fee income growth rate, and falling provision coverage. And the board absorbed a 43.37% vote against its remuneration report at the precise moment it needs shareholder patience.
At 8.3x earnings, 1.11x book and a 7.5% yield, none of this is a surprise to the market. The dividend alone delivers most of a reasonable required return while the plan is tested, and the Moody's outlook change to positive removes a tail risk. That combination supports a hold with an accumulate bias — a position sized for the yield, not the story, with the FY2026 results in March 2027 as the first genuine test of whether the cost line has finally turned.
SOURCES AND DATA QUALITY NOTE
Primary sources used: Absa Group Limited financial results booklets for the reporting periods ended 31 December 2025, 30 June 2025, 31 December 2023 and 31 December 2021; the Group's FY2025 and 1H26 media statements and investor materials; SENS announcements relating to the Absa Bank preference share scheme of arrangement and note redemptions; the Absa Group board and management, financial results, and country operations pages; the FY2026 pre-close call transcript of 30 June 2026; the Absa Kenya tender offer announcements and results; and the Moody's rating action of 28 May 2026. Secondary sources used for share price, valuation, peer comparison and news verification include exchange and market data providers and South African and pan-African financial media.
Where two sources conflicted, the company's own filing was preferred. Notable conflicts encountered: market data providers report FY2025 revenue variously as R102.2bn, R104.6bn and R115.7bn depending on whether insurance and investment-activity gains are included — the group's own reported total income of R115,697m is used throughout. Share price and market capitalisation vary materially across providers and dates; the 28 August 2026 close of ZAc 23,147 and market capitalisation of R191.68bn are used as the current reference, alongside the group's own R214.1bn market capitalisation disclosure at 31 December 2025.
Figures marked as derived are calculated from disclosed absolute values and disclosed percentage changes and are accurate to rounding. Figures shown as zero in chartable tables denote "not publicly disclosed on a comparable basis" and never a nil value; each such instance is footnoted immediately below the relevant table.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Role | Appointed | Key background | Committee roles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
René van Wyk | Independent Non-Executive Chairman | Board 1 Feb 2017; Chairman 15 July 2025 | Former SARB Registrar of Banks and head of banking supervision (retired May 2016); Nedbank Group 1993–2011 including executive director for risk at Nedcor Investment Bank and CEO of Imperial Bank; former KPMG partner; served as Absa Group Chief Executive 1 Mar 2019 – 14 Jan 2020; NED of Motus Holdings. BCom, BAcc Sci (Hons), AMP (INSEAD), CA(SA) | Chairman, Directors' Affairs Committee; member GRCMC, GCRC, RemCo |
Nonhlanhla Mjoli-Mncube | Lead Independent Director | 15 Oct 2020 | Former economic advisor to the Presidency; former chairman of the National Urban Reconstruction and Housing Agency; former deputy chair of the Construction Industry Development Board; previously on boards of Capitec, WBHO, Tongaat Hulett, Pioneer Foods. MIT Fellowship in Urban Development; Masters in Urban and Regional Planning | Chairman, Social, Sustainability and Ethics Committee; member DAC, GCRC |
Rose Keanly | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Sep 2019 | Retired COO of Old Mutual Emerging Markets (Feb 2018) after 38 years at Old Mutual; previously MD of OMEM Customer Services and Technology. BSc, BCom (Hons) | Chairman, Group Remuneration Committee; member DAC, ITC, SSEC |
Fulvio Tonelli | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Jul 2020 (independent from 1 Jul 2023); Absa Bank board 1 Jul 2026 | Former COO of PwC Africa to June 2019, retired from PwC June 2020 after joining in 1987; Chairman of the Independent Regulatory Board for Auditors to 31 July 2026; NED of Equites Property Fund, Life Healthcare, The Ethics Institute and Absa Bank Kenya Plc. BCom (Hons), CA(SA) | Chairman, Group Audit and Compliance Committee; member GCRC, GRCMC, DAC, SSEC |
Tasneem Abdool-Samad | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Feb 2018 | Former member of the Deloitte South Africa board; lecturer in auditing at Wits 2003–2006; NED of Reunert, Bid Corporation and the JSE. Resigned from the Absa Bank board 31 July 2026 and stepped down as GACC chairman on the same date. BCom, CA(SA) | Member GRCMC, GACC |
Alpheus Mangale | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Jul 2023 | Group CEO of Seacom Limited; over 25 years across financial services, telecoms and technology in EMEA. National Diploma Computer Systems Engineering; PGCert Management (Henley); AMP (Harvard) | Member GRCMC, ITC, RemCo |
Peter Mageza | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Aug 2023 | Former Chief Operations Officer and executive director of Absa Group and Absa Bank until June 2009; former NED of Remgro and RCL Foods. Chartered Certified Accountant; FCCA (UK) | Chairman, Information Technology Committee; member GACC, RemCo, DAC |
Alison Beck | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Dec 2023 | KPMG 1990–2020; partner in Financial Services from 1998; head of Financial Risk Management for 15 years. BCom, CA (Scotland), Associate Diploma (Institute of Bankers SA) | Chairman, Models Committee; member GACC, GRCMC |
Sindi Zilwa | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Apr 2025 | Co-founder of Nkonki (1993) and its CEO 1998–2016; second black woman to qualify as a CA in South Africa (1990); NED of Sibanye-Stillwater, Metrofile and Delta Property Fund; author on audit and board committee effectiveness. BCom (Hons), CA(SA) | Member GRCMC, GACC, ITC, SSEC |
Zarina Bassa | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Apr 2025 | 17 years with EY in South Africa and the UK; six years as an Absa retail, private banking and wealth executive; former lead independent director of Investec Group; NED of Gold Fields and the JSE. BAcc, PGDip Accounting, CA(SA) | Member GACC, GCRC, RemCo |
Paul Smith | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Feb 2026 | Group Chief Risk Officer of Standard Bank Group 1999–2016, with responsibility also for internal audit, compliance, governance, insurance, sustainability, ethics and financial crime; 21 years at KPMG; NED of Discovery Bank to Nov 2025. BCom, CA(SA), AMP (Wharton) | Chairman, Group Risk and Capital Management Committee; member GACC, GCRC, DAC, MC |
Brian Kennedy | Independent Non-Executive Director | 1 Feb 2026 | Group Managing Executive, Nedbank Corporate and Investment Banking 2015–2020; 32 years in wholesale banking; NED of Telkom and ARM. BSc Eng (Electrical), MSc Eng, MBA (Wits) | Chairman, Group Credit Risk Committee; member GRCMC, ITC |
Kenny Fihla | Group Chief Executive Officer (executive director) | 17 Jun 2025 | Standard Bank Group from 2006: head of Investor Services CIB; head of Transactional Products and Services SA (2008); deputy CE of CIB (Nov 2016); CE of CIB (May 2017–Aug 2024); Deputy CE of Standard Bank Group and CEO of Standard Bank South Africa from 1 Sep 2024, accountable for subsidiaries outside South Africa. MSc Financial Economics (University of London), MBA (Wits) | — |
Deon Raju | Group Financial Director (executive director) | 26 Apr 2024 | Over 20 years at Absa: Group Chief Risk Officer from 1 Jun 2021; Group Treasurer for five years prior; roles across Enterprise Risk, Finance, Investment Banking, Credit Portfolio Management and Global Markets. BCom (Hons), CA(SA), CFA | Member MC, GRCMC, GCRC, ITC |
| Name | Role | Effective | Prior role |
|---|---|---|---|
Kenny Fihla | Group Chief Executive Officer | 17 Jun 2025 | Deputy CEO, Standard Bank Group |
Deon Raju | Group Financial Director | 26 Apr 2024 | Absa Group Chief Risk Officer |
Charles Russon | Group Executive: Africa Regions | 2025 | Interim Group CEO 15 Oct 2024 – 15 Jun 2025; previously CE of Absa CIB, Acting Group Executive ARO, Group COO |
Zaid Moola | Chief Executive: Corporate and Investment Banking | 1 Jan 2026 (joined 1 Dec 2025) | Head of CIB South Africa and Head of Global Markets CIB, Standard Bank |
Sitoyo Lopokoiyit | Chief Executive: Personal and Private Banking | 1 Apr 2026 | CEO of M-PESA Africa; Exco member of Vodacom and Safaricom |
Leon Barnard | Chief Executive: Business Banking | 1 Jun 2026 | Multiple executive roles at Standard Bank in Personal and Business Banking |
Rajal Vaidya | Group Chief Risk Officer | 2025 | CRO of Absa CIB; CRO for ARO 2016–2019; 17 years at Citigroup India |
Prabashni Naidoo | Group Chief Governance Officer | 1 Mar 2026 | Group Chief Audit Executive from 4 Jan 2021; previously Group Chief Internal Auditor at Nedbank |
Rushdi Solomons | Group Chief Internal Auditor | 1 Mar 2026 | Managing Executive: Compliance Strategy, Regulatory Relations and Governance |
Sydney Mbhele | Group Chief Brand, Marketing and Corporate Affairs Officer | 1 Jan 2023 | Chief Executive: Brand, Sanlam Group |
Johnson Idesoh | Group Chief Information and Technology Officer | 1 Jan 2023 | Group CIO, Old Mutual |
Jeanett Modise | Group Chief Human Capital Officer | 1 Jan 2023 | Group HR Director, Sanlam |
| Component (Kenny Fihla, FY2025) | Amount (Rm) |
|---|---|
Fixed remuneration, pro-rata (salary and medical aid) | 6.285 |
Short-term cash award | 12.15 |
Deferred share award | 11.15 |
Cash-based buyout for forfeited Standard Bank incentives | 20.7 |
Share-based buyout for forfeited Standard Bank incentives | 77.7 |
Total buyout award | 98.5 |
Total single-figure remuneration | 148.0 |
| Shareholder | Reported stake (%) | As at |
|---|---|---|
Newshelf 1405 Limited (B-BBEE structure) | 7.00 | 2024 |
M&G Investments | 5.72 | 2024 |
Public Investment Corporation | 5.24 | 31 Dec 2024 |
BlackRock Inc. | 4.38 | 2024 |
Citigroup Global Markets | 3.90 | 2024 |
The Vanguard Group | 0.00 | Disclosed as a significant institutional holder without a published percentage |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | Absa FY2025 | Standard Bank FY2025 | FirstRand FY2025 | Nedbank FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Headline earnings (Rbn) | 24.8 | 49.0 | 41.9 | 17.2 |
Headline earnings growth (%) | 12 | 11 | 10 | 2 |
Return on equity (%) | 15.0 | 19.3 | 20.2 | 15.4 |
Cost-to-income ratio (%) | 53.8 | 0.0 | 50.8 | 0.0 |
Total revenue (Rbn) | 115.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Credit loss ratio (bps) | 88 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Market capitalisation (Rbn) | 214.1 | 483.0 | 450.0 | 0.0 |
IT spend as share of costs (%) | 26.8 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Recent Developments
--



