ALTANA AG Overview
ALTANA is a privately held German specialty chemicals group that sells low-volume, high-functionality ingredients and formulated materials to industrial customers. Its four divisions are BYK (additives and measuring instruments), ECKART (metallic effect pigments), ELANTAS (electrical insulation materials) and ACTEGA (coatings, inks and sealants for packaging). Each holds a leading position in a narrow niche where the product is a small share of the customer's cost but decisive for performance. The group generated sales of €3,080.6 million and EBITDA of €523.0 million (17.0% margin) in FY2025, spends about 7% of sales on R&D, and ended 2025 with net financial assets of €207.0 million and a 70% equity ratio. Single-family ownership through SKion allows a long investment horizon: stable capex of 5–6% of sales, bolt-on acquisitions (Von Roll 2023, Silberline 2024, perisens 2026) and a decentralized operating model. The main open issue is margin: EBITDA margin has been below the 18–20% target range since 2022.
Company's own description. CR2025 describes the ALTANA Group as "a global supplier of specialized chemical products and related services for different branches of industry and application fields". The standard boilerplate in its press releases calls ALTANA "a global leader in true specialty chemicals" offering solutions for coating manufacturers, paint and plastics processors, the printing and packaging industries, the cosmetics sector, and the electrical and electronics industry. The stated product range covers additives, specialty coatings and adhesives, effect pigments, sealants and compounds, impregnating resins and varnishes, and testing and measuring instruments.
Mission (CR2025). The company states that it provides innovative solutions based on integrated chemical, formulation and application expertise that make products of daily life better and more sustainable, and that it creates value for customers, employees, its shareholder and society.
Independent characterization. ALTANA is a portfolio of four B2B niche franchises with a common economic logic. The products are performance-critical but used in small quantities, so customers buy on technical fit and service rather than on price per kilogram. That supports high gross margins, a large application-laboratory network close to customers, and R&D intensity roughly twice the chemical industry average (company claim, PR FY2025). The model is formulation- and application-driven rather than asset-heavy: capex runs at 5–6% of sales and the company says it consumes significantly less energy than the industry average (PR H1 2026).
Revenue model. Essentially 100% product sales. There is no disclosed subscription or licensing revenue. The exceptions are small: BYK-Gardner instruments carry service and software elements, and ACTEGA's Signite and ECOLEAF decoration technologies combine equipment with consumables. Revenue split between products and services is not publicly disclosed.
Value chain position. ALTANA sits between basic and intermediate chemical producers (resins, solvents, silicones, aluminium, copper, zinc, mica) and formulators or converters. Raw materials and packaging are the largest cost item, at 42.0% of sales in FY2025 (43.3% in FY2024) per CR2025. Personnel costs were 24.1% of sales (23.5% in FY2024).
Customer types and end-markets.
Demand characteristics (CR2025). Demand is seasonal (Chinese New Year, summer holidays, year-end), cyclical through customer inventory behaviour, and sensitive to raw-material price expectations. Long-term demand is shaped by megatrends, regional growth and technology change.
Strategy
Stated strategy (CR2025). ALTANA's strategy is "consistently geared toward sustainable profitable growth in future-oriented specialty chemicals markets", with the top financial priority "to sustainably increase the company's value". Profitable growth rests on four aspects: operational expansion in existing markets and adjacent segments; innovation as the core of problem-solving expertise; alignment of the business with sustainability, including defossilization and circular materials; and acquisitions that add value chain segments, markets or technologies.
Medium- and long-term targets (CR2025)
Initiatives announced in the last 24 months
No cost-reduction programme with a quantified target has been announced. ALTANA does not hold investor days.
Products & Services
Product-group descriptions are from CR2025. Pricing across all divisions is negotiated B2B pricing per kilogram, per unit or per system; no list prices are published.
BYK — Additives & Instruments
A wind-turbine rotor-blade additive, described as the first certified additive of its kind, was presented in 2021 (PR FY2021).
ECKART — Effect Pigments
CR2025 notes that ECKART's aluminium granules have an aluminium content of 99.7–99.8% with guaranteed purity of at least 99.5%.
ELANTAS — Electrical Insulation
In 2021 ELANTAS filed a patent application for a dye-based process to detect wear in electric motors (PR FY2021).
ACTEGA — Coatings & Sealants
CR2025 states that ACTEGA sold more than 15,000 unique products in 2025, that more than 80% of its innovation pipeline targets sustainable solutions, and that over 25% of revenue comes from new products.
Product Portfolio
| Product group | Function | Target customer | Representative brands (analyst knowledge) |
|---|---|---|---|
Wetting and dispersing additives | Even distribution and stabilization of pigments and fillers in coatings and plastics; one of the division's main product groups | Coatings and ink manufacturers, plastics compounders | DISPERBYK, ANTI-TERRA, BYKJET |
Defoamers and air-release additives | Prevent foam during manufacture and application of coatings and paints | Coatings manufacturers | BYK-0xx series; new-generation defoamers won the ALTANA Innovation Award 2026 |
Surface additives | Create gloss, matte or smooth surfaces; levelling, slip, substrate wetting | Coatings manufacturers | BYK-3xx series, NANOBYK |
Rheology additives | Control flow behaviour, anti-settling and anti-sag in coatings and plastics | Coatings, construction chemicals, oil and gas | RHEOBYK, CLAYTONE, GARAMITE, LAPONITE, OPTIGEL |
Wax additives | Surface protection, matting, scratch resistance | Coatings and ink manufacturers | CERAFLOUR, AQUACER, CERAFAK |
Plastics additives | Processing aids, coupling agents and modifiers for thermoplastics, PVC and composites (the weakest product line in FY2025 per CR2025) | Plastics processors, compounders | SCONA, BYK-P, BYK-MAX |
Industrial applications | Additives for construction chemistry, oil and gas, foundry, adhesives and sealants | Industrial formulators | Various |
Measuring and testing instruments | Determine surface properties, colour, gloss, layer thickness and optical effects; also used in the semiconductor industry | QC laboratories in automotive, coatings and plastics | BYK-Gardner: spectro2guide, BYK-mac i, micro-gloss, wave-scan, haze-gard |
Ultrasonic measurement | High-frequency ultrasonic thickness measurement, handheld and robotic (Imaginant business, acquired August 2023) | Automotive paint shops | Imaginant technology |
Radar measurement | Radome measurement systems for radar transparency of painted automotive parts (perisens, announced July 2026) | Automotive OEMs and suppliers | RMS-C, RMS-D |
| Product group | Function | Target customer | Representative brands (analyst knowledge) |
|---|---|---|---|
Aluminium effect pigments | Silver metallic effects for automotive paints and graphic arts; the largest part of the business | Coatings, ink and plastics manufacturers | STAPA, STANDART, METALURE, HYDROLAN; Silberline lines SPARKLE SILVER and SILVET |
Bronze (copper-based) effect pigments | Gold effects in paints, printing inks and plastics | Ink and coatings manufacturers | STANDART gold bronze, ROTOFLEX |
Zinc pigments | Corrosion protection in special paints | Protective coatings manufacturers | STAPA Zinc, STANDART Zinc |
Pigments based on synthetic minerals | Pearlescent and glass-flake effects | Coatings, cosmetics | SYMIC, LUXAN, EDELSTEIN, MIRAGE, SYNCRYSTAL |
Press-ready effect printing inks | Metallic inks for packaging and labels; UV-curable pigment technology won the ALTANA Innovation Award 2025 | Printers and converters | ROTOSTAR, TOPSTAR, ULTRASTAR |
Aluminium for aerated concrete | Functional gas-forming agent | Construction materials producers | Aluminium pastes and powders |
Metal powders for 3D printing | Aluminium alloy powders for additive manufacturing (TLS business, 2021) | Metal 3D printing industry | ECKART AM powders |
Lubricants and granulates | Cited as a US demand driver in H1 2026 | Industrial customers | Not specified |
| Product group | Function | Target customer | Representative brands (analyst knowledge) |
|---|---|---|---|
Wire enamels | Insulating coatings for copper and aluminium magnet wire | Magnet wire manufacturers | ELANTAS wire enamel ranges |
Impregnating resins and varnishes | Secondary insulation of windings in motors, generators and transformers | Motor and transformer manufacturers | Dobeckan, Elan-guard |
High-voltage tapes and insulation systems | Mica-based tapes for high-voltage machines (Von Roll heritage) | Generator and traction motor manufacturers | Samica-family mica tapes |
Insulation papers and flexible laminates | Slot and phase insulation | Motor manufacturers | ELAN-Film |
Potting and casting materials | Electrical, mechanical and chemical protection of components | Electronics manufacturers | Bectron, Elan-tron |
Conformal coatings | Protection of printed circuit boards | Electronics manufacturers | Bectron |
Engineering materials and tooling | Epoxy and polyurethane systems for tooling and composites | Industrial and transportation customers | Elan-tech |
Recyclable flame-retardant composites | New epoxy technology combining fire protection, lightweight design and recyclability for aviation (announced 1 September 2026) | Aviation, transportation, composites industry | Not yet named in source |
| Product group | Function | Target customer | Representative brands |
|---|---|---|---|
Overprint varnishes and coatings | Functional and visual effects on packaging and print | Printers, converters | TerraWet, TerraGreen, ACTExact (analyst knowledge) |
Printing inks | Inks for packaging and graphic arts | Printers, converters | ACTEGA ink ranges |
Sealants and closure compounds | Sealing of caps, closures and can ends, with focus on food safety; PVC-free solutions strengthened by the Henkel closure materials acquisition (2021) | Closure and can manufacturers | PROVALIN, SVELON (analyst knowledge) |
Adhesives | Lamination and label adhesives | Flexible packaging converters | Various |
Signite | Label decoration technology launched in 2021 that can halve label production waste (PR FY2021); CR2025 cites 30% lower global warming potential than the status quo technology | Label converters, brand owners | Signite |
ECOLEAF | Metallization technology for label printing positioned as a more sustainable alternative to foil | Label converters | ECOLEAF |
ACTNext | Energy-curing coating line for metal packaging replacing solvent-based technology; CR2025 cites 20% lower GHG in manufacturing, 40% along the value chain and 95% at customer level | Metal packaging manufacturers | ACTNext |
| Offering | Description | Source |
|---|---|---|
Cubic Ink | UV-curing resin materials for industrial 3D printing; US production scaled in April 2025; new resin materials and a technology partnership with SK Industriemodell for 3D-printed injection moulds announced at Formnext, November 2025 | ALTANA news archive |
Financial Narrative
Income statement
Sources: CR2021, CR2023, CR2024, CR2025, PR FY2021, PR FY2023. Sales CAGR FY2021–FY2025 is 3.7% (derived). Gross profit is not reported in the sources reviewed. EPS and dividends per share are not applicable in a meaningful sense for a wholly owned company and are not published in the Corporate Report.
Commentary. FY2021 was a post-pandemic demand peak with an 18.1% EBITDA margin inside the target range. FY2022 delivered record sales on price increases, but margin fell three points as material, logistics and energy costs outran pricing. FY2023 was the trough: destocking along the value chain cut sales 9% and EBITDA 15%, and net income more than halved to €110.2 million, burdened by acquisition costs and equity-method losses (the Landa associate recorded a net loss of roughly €159 million at 100% in 2023 per the Consolidated Financial Statements 2023). FY2024 recovered on volume and acquisitions (sales +16%, EBITDA +27%). FY2025 shows margin recovery to 17.0% on a 3% lower nominal top line. Quality of earnings needs care: CR2025 states that other operating income included €45.4 million of insurance reimbursements for property damage from prior years and resulting business interruptions, and that profitability exceeded plan "driven by one-off special effects and a favorable cost development". Excluding the insurance income, FY2025 EBITDA would be about €478 million, a margin of about 15.5% (derived, illustrative, and not adjusted for one-off integration expenses that worked in the opposite direction).
Balance sheet
Sources: CR2023, CR2024, CR2025. FY2022–FY2023 equity ratios and FY2024 current liabilities are derived. ALTANA's "net financial assets" is its own definition: cash, short-term financial assets, marketable securities and loans granted, less financial liabilities and pension provisions. The short/long-term split of gross financial debt is not stated in the Corporate Report; CR2025 discloses a €100.0 million reclassification of bank liabilities from non-current to current and repayments of €45.0 million, of which €40.0 million was early repayment of a promissory note loan. Goodwill is not separated from other intangibles in the condensed report.
Commentary. The balance sheet is conservative. The Von Roll and Silberline acquisitions moved the group briefly into net debt of €51.8 million at end-2023, and it returned to net financial assets of €207.0 million within two years while paying a dividend. The equity ratio has stayed between 68% and 75%. Net working capital range was unchanged at 135 days in FY2025, missing the forecast of a slight reduction, and working capital intensity (28% of sales) remains the main lever on capital efficiency.
Cash flow
Sources: CR2025 (capex chart 2021–2025, key figures, balance sheet commentary). Free cash flow is derived and excludes acquisitions and divestment proceeds. Buybacks are not applicable for a wholly owned company.
Commentary. Cash conversion is strong: operating cash flow was 77% of EBITDA in FY2025 and 90% in FY2024. Capex has been held within the 5–6% target corridor except in FY2022. In FY2025, 71% of capex went to Europe (54% in FY2024), reflecting the BYK capacity and laboratory build-out in Wesel, Germany and the Netherlands.
Ratios
ROCE and AVA are company-reported (CR2025; cost of capital 7.5%). All other ratios are derived. Net debt/EBITDA is not meaningful because the group is in a net cash position on its own definition for FY2022, FY2024 and FY2025; in FY2023 net debt was 0.13x EBITDA (derived). Interest coverage, ROIC on a standard definition and the cash conversion cycle components (payables days) cannot be computed from the condensed statements and are recorded as not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Commentary. Returns are positive but thin relative to the quality of the franchises. ROCE of 8.3% sits only modestly above the 7.5% cost of capital, leaving AVA of €22.7 million. The acquired goodwill and intangibles from Von Roll and Silberline, a 135-day working capital range and below-target margins all weigh on capital returns.
Financial Detail
Division Overview
| Division | Management company | Content |
|---|---|---|
BYK (Additives & Instruments) | BYK-Chemie GmbH, Wesel | Paint additives, plastics additives, industrial applications, measuring and testing instruments |
ECKART (Effect Pigments) | ECKART GmbH | Coatings, graphic arts, cosmetics and personal care, plastics industry, functional applications |
ELANTAS (Electrical Insulation) | ELANTAS GmbH, Wesel | Wire enamels, high voltage, low voltage, electronics, engineering materials, composites |
ACTEGA (Coatings & Sealants) | ACTEGA GmbH, Wesel | Flexible packaging, metal packaging solutions, paper and board |
Revenue by Segment
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BYK sales (EUR Mn) | 1,227.2 | 1,371 | 1,208 | 1,336.6 | 1,289.1 |
ECKART sales (EUR Mn) | 382.8 | 397 | 351 | 433.6 | 423.4 |
ELANTAS sales (EUR Mn) | 593.6 | 698 | 686 | 878.2 | 860.6 |
ACTEGA sales (EUR Mn) | 462.9 | 555 | 496 | 519.2 | 505.5 |
Group sales (EUR Mn) | 2,666.5 | 3,021 | 2,741.5 | 3,168.8 | 3,080.6 |
Revenue by Segment (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BYK share (%) | 46.0 | 45.4 | 44.1 | 42.2 | 41.8 |
ECKART share (%) | 14.4 | 13.1 | 12.8 | 13.7 | 13.7 |
ELANTAS share (%) | 22.3 | 23.1 | 25.0 | 27.7 | 27.9 |
ACTEGA share (%) | 17.4 | 18.4 | 18.1 | 16.4 | 16.4 |
Segment Margins & Growth (%)
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
BYK nominal growth (%) | 11.7 | -11.9 | 10.6 | -3.6 |
ECKART nominal growth (%) | 3.7 | -11.6 | 23.5 | -2.4 |
ELANTAS nominal growth (%) | 17.6 | -1.7 | 28.0 | -2.0 |
ACTEGA nominal growth (%) | 19.9 | -10.6 | 4.7 | -2.6 |
Segment Assets & Liabilities
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
BYK capex (EUR Mn) | 76.2 | 93.3 |
ECKART capex (EUR Mn) | 22.8 | 19.9 |
ELANTAS capex (EUR Mn) | 40.9 | 31.9 |
ACTEGA capex (EUR Mn) | 35.1 | 24.2 |
Holding capex (EUR Mn) | 4.6 | 3.1 |
Income Statement and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Sales (EUR Mn) | 2,666.5 | 3,021 | 2,741.5 | 3,168.8 | 3,080.6 |
EBITDA (EUR Mn) | 482 | 452 | 385.1 | 489.8 | 523.0 |
EBITDA margin (%) | 18.1 | 15.0 | 14.0 | 15.5 | 17.0 |
Operating income EBIT (EUR Mn) | — | 287.5 | 216.3 | 288.8 | 336.5 |
EBIT margin (%) | — | 9.5 | 7.9 | 9.1 | 10.9 |
Earnings before taxes EBT (EUR Mn) | — | 305.5 | 166.3 | 239.3 | 304.5 |
EBT margin (%) | — | 10.1 | 6.1 | 7.6 | 9.9 |
Net income EAT (EUR Mn) | — | 232.4 | 110.2 | 164.4 | 218.6 |
Net margin (%) | — | 7.7 | 4.0 | 5.2 | 7.1 |
Sales growth nominal (%) | 22 | 13 | -9 | 16 | -3 |
R&D expenses (EUR Mn) | — | 193 | 197 | 213.2 | 215.7 |
Material cost ratio (%) | — | — | — | 43.3 | 42.0 |
Personnel cost ratio (%) | — | — | — | 23.5 | 24.1 |
Balance Sheet and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (EUR Mn) | — | 3,961.5 | 4,140.5 | 4,460.2 | 4,326.9 |
Non-current assets (EUR Mn) | — | 2,186.4 | 2,353.5 | 2,342.8 | 2,264.3 |
Current assets (EUR Mn) | — | 1,775.0 | 1,787.0 | 2,117.4 | 2,062.6 |
Intangible assets incl. goodwill (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 1,025.9 | 920.2 |
Property, plant and equipment (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 1,219.9 | 1,210.2 |
Inventories (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 626.5 | 585.8 |
Trade receivables (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 548.5 | 530.2 |
Net working capital (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 917.3 | 871.4 |
Cash and cash equivalents (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 558.2 | 589.6 |
Shareholders' equity (EUR Mn) | — | 2,951.6 | 2,851.2 | 3,029.4 | 3,038.6 |
Equity ratio (%) | — | 74.5 | 68.9 | 68 | 70 |
Non-current liabilities (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 784.4 | 624.4 |
Current liabilities (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 646.3 | 663.9 |
Net financial assets, negative = net debt (EUR Mn) | — | 144.7 | -51.8 | 36.2 | 207.0 |
Cash Flow and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating cash flow (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 439.0 | 403.2 |
Capex on intangibles and PPE (EUR Mn) | 149 | 104 | 138 | 179.5 | 172.3 |
Capex ratio (% of sales) | 5.6 | 3.4 | 5.0 | 5.7 | 5.6 |
Free cash flow, OCF minus capex (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 259.5 | 230.9 |
Dividend paid to shareholder (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | — | 60.0 |
Share buybacks (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 0 | 0 |
Returns & Leverage Ratios (%) and Key Financials
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ROCE, company definition (%) | — | — | — | 8.4 | 8.3 |
ALTANA Value Added (EUR Mn) | — | — | — | 25.0 | 22.7 |
ROE on average equity (%) | — | — | 3.8 | 5.6 | 7.2 |
ROA on average assets (%) | — | — | 2.7 | 3.8 | 5.0 |
Asset turnover (x) | — | — | 0.68 | 0.74 | 0.70 |
Current ratio (x) | — | — | — | 3.28 | 3.11 |
Total liabilities to equity (x) | — | 0.34 | 0.45 | 0.47 | 0.42 |
Net working capital range (days) | — | — | — | 135 | 135 |
Effective tax rate, adjusted (%) | — | — | — | 27.6 | 28.3 |
Revenue by Region
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Europe sales (EUR Mn) | 1,029.3 | 1,081 | 1,037 | 1,172.4 | 1,124.0 |
of which Germany (EUR Mn) | — | 318 | 292 | 336.5 | 318.1 |
Americas sales (EUR Mn) | 681.6 | 895 | 792 | 885.6 | 859.8 |
of which USA (EUR Mn) | — | 595 | 521 | 579.2 | 570.9 |
Asia sales (EUR Mn) | 905.5 | 989 | 863 | 1,053.8 | 1,045.2 |
of which China (EUR Mn) | — | 540 | 462 | 554.7 | 562.0 |
of which India (EUR Mn) | — | 144 | 149 | — | — |
Other regions sales (EUR Mn) | 50.1 | 56 | 49 | 57.0 | 51.6 |
Region Margins & Growth (%)
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Europe nominal growth (%) | -4 | 13.1 | -4 |
Americas nominal growth (%) | -11 | 11.8 | -3 |
Asia nominal growth (%) | -13 | 22.1 | -1 |
Europe operating growth (%) | -7 | — | -2 |
Americas operating growth (%) | -12 | — | 2 |
Asia operating growth (%) | -9 | — | 4 |
Division Overview (Annual)
| Division | Largest region | Largest countries | FY2025 regional pattern |
|---|---|---|---|
BYK | Asia, then Europe, then Americas | USA, China, Germany | Asia the only growing region (China and India mid-single-digit); Europe mid-single-digit decline; Americas low-single-digit decline |
ECKART | Europe (about half of sales), then Asia, Americas | Germany, China, USA | Europe mid-single-digit decline; Asia flat with China mid-single-digit growth and Japan double-digit; Americas strongly positive, USA low-double-digit growth |
ELANTAS | Asia, particularly China | China, USA, India, Italy, Germany | Growth in all regions; Asia mid-single-digit, India low-double-digit, Americas high-single-digit, Europe low-single-digit |
ACTEGA | Europe, then Americas | USA, Germany | Europe low-single-digit decline; Americas low-single-digit growth with USA mid-single-digit; Asia upper-single-digit decline, China and Middle East low-double-digit declines |
Capital Markets
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Share price performance (1/3/5-year) | Not applicable — not listed since 2010 |
P/E, EV/EBITDA, EV/Sales, P/B | Not applicable |
Analyst consensus | Not applicable |
Buyback authorizations | Not applicable |
Credit ratings (Moody's, S&P, Fitch) | No public rating identified; not publicly disclosed |
Dividend policy | Not published; decided by sole shareholder at the AGM |
Debt instruments | Bank loans, promissory note loans (Schuldschein), EIB credit line up to €300 million |
Debt maturity profile | Not disclosed in the condensed report; €100.0 million reclassified to current in 2025, implying maturity in 2026 |
Dividends & Capital Returns
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Dividend paid to SKion (EUR Mn) | — | 60.0 |
Net income (EUR Mn) | 164.4 | 218.6 |
Book equity (EUR Mn) | 3,029.4 | 3,038.6 |
Net financial assets (EUR Mn) | 36.2 | 207.0 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance for FY2026 (PR FY2025, confirmed in PR H1 2026). Operating sales growth in the mid-single-digit percentage range, adjusted for currency and acquisitions, driven mainly by volume. EBITDA was guided in March as roughly at the prior-year level and restated in August as at least on par with the strong prior-year figure. Management warns that geopolitical uncertainty and armed conflicts are expected to weigh significantly on demand and raw-material costs in the second half.
H1 2025 EBITDA is derived from the stated margin and growth rate; H1 2025 headcount is derived from "approximately 290 fewer". H1 2026 operating growth by division: BYK +9%, ECKART +11%, ELANTAS +4%, ACTEGA +10%.
Implied second half. If FY2026 EBITDA merely matches FY2025's €523.0 million, H2 2026 EBITDA would be about €191 million against about €232 million in H2 2025 (derived), a decline of roughly 18%. Either guidance is conservative or management expects a sharp reversal of first-half pre-buying.
Consensus. None exists.
Bull case
-
Margin is back in the target range: 19.8% in H1 2026, with all four divisions growing organically at once for the first time since 2021.
-
ELANTAS has become a structural growth engine at 28% of sales, tied to electrification and data centres, with integration of Von Roll nearly complete.
-
Net cash of €207.0 million, a €300 million EIB line and a patient owner give capacity for value-adding bolt-ons and counter-cyclical investment.
Bear case
-
The H1 2026 strength is partly borrowed: the CEO states customers stocked beyond normal levels, echoing the 2022 build that preceded the 2023 destock (sales -9%, EBITDA -15%).
-
FY2025 earnings were flattered by €45.4 million of insurance income; underlying margin was nearer 15.5%, and organic growth was only 1%.
-
Returns barely exceed the cost of capital (ROCE 8.3% against 7.5%) and Europe, still the largest region and the main capex destination, is structurally weak.
Catalysts and monitorables (next 12 months)
Analyst verdict. ALTANA is a high-quality, conservatively financed specialty chemicals group whose reported numbers currently look better than its underlying trend, and whose underlying trend is nonetheless improving. The franchises are sound: four niche leaders, R&D at 7% of sales, a decentralized laboratory network and a balance sheet that absorbed the second-largest acquisition in its history and returned to net cash within two years. Ownership by SKion removes quarterly pressure and explains the steady capex and R&D through the 2023 downturn.
The central issue is profitability. The group has missed its own 18–20% EBITDA margin corridor for four years, and FY2025's 17.0% included a material insurance gain. The first half of 2026 finally printed 19.8%, but management itself attributes part of the demand to precautionary customer stocking, and its unchanged full-year EBITDA guidance implies a markedly weaker second half. The 2022–2023 sequence is the relevant precedent.
Three things would change the assessment for the better: a full-year 2026 margin inside the corridor without one-offs; sustained mid-single-digit organic growth outside ELANTAS; and a reduction in the 135-day working capital range that lifts ROCE clear of the 7.5% cost of capital. Portfolio momentum is constructive, with ELANTAS now 28% of sales and well placed in electrification, India and the United States growing at double-digit rates, and a coherent build-out of BYK's instruments platform.
Disclosure is the main limitation for outside analysis. Divisional profitability, debt maturities, executive pay and market shares were not available in the documents reviewed, and there is no market price to test conclusions against. On the evidence available, ALTANA is a resilient compounder with a credible but not yet proven margin recovery, and limited financial risk.
Executive Leadership
Executive Leadership Team
| Name | Role | Responsibilities | Tenure and background |
|---|---|---|---|
Martin Babilas | Chairman (CEO) | ELANTAS, ACTEGA, Corporate Development, Human Resources, Corporate Communications, Internal Audit | — |
Dr. Tammo Boinowitz | Member | BYK, ECKART, Innovation Management, Sustainability & EHSR, Procurement, Key Account Management, ALTANA Excellence | Reappointed by the Supervisory Board in March 2025; former president of the BYK division (2023 press release) |
Stefan Genten | Member (CFO) | Finance and Accounting, Controlling, Group Treasury, Taxes, Digital Transformation, IT, Legal/IP, Compliance | Reappointed September 2025 |
Executive Leadership Team — Dr. Jörg Hinnerwisch
| Name | Role |
|---|---|
Dr. Jörg Hinnerwisch | President, Division BYK |
Dr. Christian Przybyla | President, Division ECKART |
Ravindra Kumar | President, Division ELANTAS |
Thorsten Kröller | President, Division ACTEGA |
Volker Mansfeld | Head of Corporate Development |
Carina Meier-Hedde | Chief Human Resources Officer |
Dr. Petra Severit | Chief Technology Officer |
Board of Directors
| Name | Role | Representation |
|---|---|---|
Prof. Dr. Frank Richter | Chairman; chairs Human Resources and Mediation Committees | Shareholder; re-elected 19 March 2025 for five years |
Ulrich Gajewiak | Deputy Chairman | Employee |
Susanne Klatten | Deputy Chairwoman | Shareholder (owner family) |
Dr. Sven Abend | Member | Shareholder |
Antje Gerber | Member | Shareholder |
Ruud Joosten | Member; Audit Committee | Shareholder |
Dr. Jens Schulte | Member; Audit Committee chairman | Shareholder |
Jürgen Bembenek | Member; Human Resources Committee | Employee |
Dr. Anette Brüne | Member | Employee |
Tanja Kliegel | Member since 1 July 2025; Audit Committee | Employee |
Klaus Koch | Member; Mediation Committee | Employee |
Stefan Soltmann | Member; Audit Committee | Employee |
Major Shareholders
| Holder | Stake | Source |
|---|---|---|
SKion GmbH (Klatten family) | 100% | CR2025 |
Institutional holders | — | — |
Insider ownership (management) | None disclosed | — |
Competitive Landscape
Competitors by Segment
| ALTANA division | Direct competitors | Relative positioning |
|---|---|---|
BYK additives | Evonik (Coating Additives), BASF, Elementis, Lubrizol, Dow, Allnex, Arkema (Coatex), Clariant, Münzing, Borchers (Milliken) | BYK is widely regarded as the broadest pure-play coatings additives supplier; Evonik and BASF are the closest in breadth |
BYK instruments | X-Rite, Konica Minolta, Datacolor | BYK-Gardner is strong in automotive appearance measurement |
ECKART | Sun Chemical (DIC), Schlenk, Toyo Aluminium, Asian producers including Chinese aluminium paste makers; Merck's former surface solutions business in pearlescents | ECKART plus Silberline is the largest metallic effect pigment group by reach |
ELANTAS | Axalta (energy solutions wire enamels), Resonac, Totoku Toryo, Krempel, Isovolta, Huntsman and Henkel (potting), DuPont (insulation papers) | ELANTAS plus Von Roll offers the most complete liquid and solid insulation system range |
ACTEGA | Henkel, H.B. Fuller, Sun Chemical, Siegwerk, hubergroup, Flint Group, Michelman, Sherwin-Williams, PPG and AkzoNobel (metal packaging coatings) | ACTEGA is a niche specialist against far larger packaging ink and coating houses |
Peer Comparison FY2025
| Company | Revenue | Growth | EBITDA margin | R&D intensity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
ALTANA (FY2025) | €3.08 bn | -3% nominal, +1% operating | 17.0% | 7.0% |
Evonik (group) | approx. €15.2 bn | approx. flat | approx. 13.6% adjusted | approx. 3% |
Clariant | approx. CHF 4.2 bn | low single-digit decline | approx. 16% | approx. 3% |
Elementis | approx. USD 0.74 bn | low single-digit growth | high teens to low 20s adjusted | — |
Recent Developments
No layoffs, guidance cuts, material litigation or regulatory actions were identified in the period.



