Cornerstone Building Brands Inc Overview
Cornerstone Building Brands is the largest manufacturer of exterior building products in North America by sales, and the only participant of scale that spans vinyl windows, vinyl siding, stone veneer, gutter systems, metal roofing and engineered metal building systems under a single roof. Its economic engine is scale conversion of three commodities — PVC resin, aluminium and steel — into branded, code-compliant building envelope products distributed through an unusually broad multichannel network of roughly 200-plus manufacturing, warehouse and branch sites across all fifty US states, all ten Canadian provinces and Mexico. Since CD&R's 2022 take-private the Company has pursued a debt-funded consolidation strategy, adding Harvey, Mueller, Metal Sales, MAC Metal, EAS and Cold Rolled Steel. That strategy has bought category share and residential repair-and-remodel mix, but it has also produced a capital structure of roughly $5.3 billion of debt against depressed cash earnings, negative book equity and, as of 2026, an evident balance-sheet restructuring process. The franchise is strong; the balance sheet is the story.
The Company's own characterisation (FY2025 Form 10-K, Item 1)
The Company describes itself as a holding company incorporated in Delaware and "a leading manufacturer of exterior building products in North America" serving "residential and commercial customers across both the new construction and repair and remodel markets." Management states its mission as being "relentlessly committed to our customers and to create superior exterior building solutions that enable communities to grow and thrive."
The 10-K enumerates four claimed structural advantages: one of the broadest product offerings in the industry, addressing a diverse total addressable market across geographies, end markets, channels and customers; leading market positions in vinyl windows, vinyl siding, stone veneer installations, metal accessories, metal roofing and wall systems, and engineered metal building systems; an extensive coast-to-coast network of manufacturing, distribution and branch offices; and a vertically integrated manufacturing process positioning the Company as a cost-advantaged manufacturer.
Independent characterisation
Cornerstone is, in economic substance, a commodity-conversion manufacturer with brand and channel overlays. Approximately 100% of revenue is product revenue from manufactured goods; there is no subscription, licensing or software revenue of any materiality, and the only meaningful service line is stone-veneer installation within Siding & Accessories, which sells directly to builders and general contractors. There is no disclosed recurring-revenue component and no disclosed aftermarket service annuity beyond product warranty obligations (which are a liability, not a revenue stream — the product warranty accrual stood at $187.8 million at 4 July 2026).
Revenue model mix
The Company does not disaggregate product versus service revenue in its segment note; the split above is a characterisation, not a reported figure. Flagged as not separately disclosed.
Value chain position. Cornerstone sits in the middle of the building-products chain. Upstream it buys PVC resin, aluminium coil, flat-rolled and coated steel, and flat glass. It does not own primary metal or resin production; a stated competitive vulnerability in the 10-K is that several Metal Solutions competitors were acquired by steel producers, giving those rivals potential raw-material priority and pricing advantages. Downstream Cornerstone does not own the customer relationship with the homeowner except through brand pull; it sells to distributors, dealers, lumberyards, home centres, homebuilders, manufactured-housing producers and, increasingly through Mueller and Fortify, direct retail branches.
Customer types and concentration. For FY2025, the top ten customers accounted for 34% of gross sales, with a single customer at 11% of gross sales. Concentration is materially higher inside the residential segments: top-ten customers were 51% of Windows & Doors gross sales and 53% of Siding & Accessories gross sales in FY2025. (For contrast, in FY2023 the top ten were 39% of net sales with one customer at 13%.) The unnamed 11% customer is almost certainly a national home-improvement retailer; the Company does not name it.
End markets served.
- Residential new construction (single-family and multi-family) — windows, doors, siding, trim, fencing, railing, stone veneer, gutters
- Residential repair & remodel (R&R) — the strategic priority since 2024; Harvey, SoftLite and Thermo-Tech were bought explicitly to increase R&R and dealer/distribution-channel exposure
- Manufactured housing — siding and accessories
- Low-rise commercial construction (defined by the Company as buildings up to five storeys) — metal building systems, metal roof and wall systems, architectural components
- Agricultural, rural, post-frame and "retail direct" — pole barns, Hypersteel cold-formed buildings, simple metal buildings through Mueller and Fortify branch networks
Channel model. Multichannel by design: one-step and two-step wholesale distribution, specialty distributors, independent dealers, regional and national lumberyards, retail home centres, direct-to-builder, authorised builder networks for metal buildings, and company-owned retail branches. In Canada, Ply Gem products move through company distribution centres in Western Canada, and North Star is manufactured and distributed in Ontario for the premium R&R tier.
Seasonality. Sales volumes peak in Q2 and Q3 (the North American construction season). Because overhead is spread ratably, operating profit is disproportionately concentrated in the middle two quarters, and Q1 and Q4 are structurally weak. Working capital consumption is greatest in the first half as inventory is built. This is visible in the cash flow statement: net cash used in operating activities was $172.1 million in H1 FY2026 and $132.2 million in H1 FY2025, against full-year FY2025 operating cash usage of only $18.8 million.
Strategy
Stated strategy — verbatim themes from the FY2025 Form 10-K
Management frames the operating model under five headings:
-
"Building our leading business and brand positions in attractive growth and return categories." The Company asserts its brands have "sustainable competitive advantages in the North American markets we serve" and that the brands and core value proposition "are meaningful to our customers and the consumers they serve."
-
"Build on Cornerstone Building Brands customer-centric culture and sales excellence." Management cites "a long track record of developing and maintaining deep and lasting channel partnerships" and intends to "expand in high-growth, higher-margin, highly fragmented market sectors that support mix enrichment, demand superior service and value the reliability and energy efficiency offered by our products," using "a highly collaborative selling approach."
-
"Revitalizing our operating model." Segments are organised on distinct product categories with segment management accountable for strategy and bottom-line performance, operating "with a certain degree of independence" but on "a consistent and unifying framework of operating principles." The stated core of the framework: "simplifying our business through rationalizing our brands and systems, as well as our manufacturing and warehouse footprint," and "creating more efficient and cost-effective processes by investing in automation, driving procurement savings, improving labor planning and productivity."
-
"Driving value through talent." Investment in talent acquisition, development, succession planning and an inclusive workforce, in support of "our transformation to a more aligned operating model."
-
"Enhancing returns and deploying our cash flow to high return opportunities." A "disciplined capital allocation framework" comprising (i) investment in the core business through capital expenditure and organic growth and (ii) "pursuing strategic acquisitions to broaden our portfolio and capabilities across the residential and commercial markets, with a focus on adjacent exterior building products and related services," with the explicit rider that the Company "may also restructure, reposition or divest non-core product lines or assets."
Announced strategic initiatives, last 24 months
Medium-term financial targets and guidance
Cornerstone provides no public financial guidance. As a private, non-equity-listed issuer it holds no public earnings calls, issues no quarterly earnings press releases and publishes no medium-term targets for revenue, margin, leverage or free cash flow. The only forward-looking quantification located in the last 24 months is the April 2025 8-K estimate that newly announced tariffs would reduce FY2025 Adjusted EBITDA and Pro Forma Adjusted EBITDA by $30–50 million before offsetting price increases. All other target-setting is not publicly disclosed.
Products & Services
The Company does not publish per-product revenue, unit volumes, price points or launch dates for most lines. Where those data are not disclosed, they are flagged. Pricing is not disclosed for any product line; Cornerstone sells through distribution and does not publish list pricing in its filings.
Windows & Doors segment
Product categories per the FY2025 10-K: Windows and Doors. Substrates: vinyl, aluminium, wood-composite and aluminium clad-wood windows and patio doors; steel, wood-composite and fibreglass entry doors.
Competitive set (per the 10-K): national brands Jeld-Wen, Pella, MI Windows and Doors, and Andersen; regional brands PGT, United and ProVia. In Canada: Jeld-Wen, All Weather at Home and numerous regional brands. Management states it is "one of the few manufacturers to serve all end markets and price points on a national basis."
Siding & Accessories segment
Competitive set (per the 10-K): CertainTeed, Alside and Westlake Royal Building Products in vinyl siding; Rollex, Euramax and Gentek in aluminium accessories.
Metal Solutions segment
Legacy Metal Solutions marques still referenced in third-party databases include DBCI (divested 2021), Metl-Span (IMP, divested 2021), Metal Coaters, Metal Depots, Metal Prep and Canyon Stone/Clipstone.
Market context stated by management: the North American metal building and components market is approximately $30 billion (Matt Ackley, September 2025).
Product Portfolio
| Brand | Description | Target customer / channel | Notes and named offerings |
|---|---|---|---|
Ply Gem® | The flagship residential window and door brand and the Company's master consumer brand; spans opening price point through mid-tier vinyl windows and patio doors. | Builders, dealers, lumberyards, home centres; both new construction and R&R. | Refreshed brand portfolio unveiled 2025 ("the industry's most comprehensive line-up of designed exterior solutions"). Named products include the Ply Gem 1500 Vinyl Collection windows and patio doors (black interior and exterior finish options introduced 2025) and Ply Gem Perspective, described as the brand's most advanced multi-slide vinyl patio door. |
Simonton® | Premium-positioned vinyl replacement and new-construction windows and patio doors; the strongest consumer-recognition brand in the portfolio. | R&R dealers, distributors, home centres. | Simonton 5500 and 6500 Double Hung, 6200 Sliding, DaylightMax® Sliding, 5050, ComfortSmart™, Contractor Double Hung, Inovo® and Contemporary Sliding Patio Doors — multiple SKUs have earned the Good Housekeeping Seal, carrying an additional two-year limited warranty. Black and bronze interior/exterior finishes introduced 2025–26. |
American Craftsman® | Value-tier windows and patio doors, principally a home-centre brand. | Retail home centres; DIY and pro-DIY. | Ranked #2 in the Manufacturer Segment of the J.D. Power 2025 U.S. Windows and Patio Doors Satisfaction Study℠ (announced January 2026) — the single strongest third-party quality datapoint the Company holds. |
Atrium® | Vinyl and aluminium windows and doors; acquired with Atrium Windows & Doors in 2018. | Builders and dealers, principally Sun Belt. | Specifications not separately disclosed. |
Silver Line® | Value vinyl windows and doors. | Home centres, builders. | Legacy Ply Gem brand. |
Cascade® Windows | Energy-efficient vinyl windows and doors for the West and Pacific Northwest. | New construction and R&R in the western US. | Acquired 2021 for $245 million; ~$160 million TTM sales at acquisition; six manufacturing and three distribution locations. |
Prime Windows | Regional vinyl window manufacturer. | Western US builders/dealers. | Specifications not separately disclosed. |
North Star® | Premium-tier Canadian windows and doors, manufactured and distributed in Ontario. | Canadian R&R premium tier; independent dealers, regional lumberyards. | Canada's premium price tier is explicitly identified in the 10-K as North Star's positioning. |
EAS® (Eastern Architectural Systems) | Custom-made aluminium and vinyl impact windows and doors. | Hurricane-code coastal markets (Florida and Gulf Coast); builders and dealers. | Acquired December 2023. Impact/hurricane certification is the differentiator. |
Harvey® | Premium Northeast R&R windows and doors; a dealer- and distribution-channel brand with strong regional franchise. | Northeast R&R dealers and distributors. | Acquired April 2024 with SoftLite and Thermo-Tech for $460.8 million. Explicit strategic rationale: increase R&R exposure and strengthen dealer/distribution channels. |
SoftLite® | Vinyl replacement windows, dealer channel. | R&R dealers, Midwest and Northeast. | Acquired with Harvey, April 2024. |
Thermo-Tech® | Vinyl windows and doors. | R&R and new construction dealers. | Acquired with Harvey, April 2024. |
| Product category | Brands | Description and target customer |
|---|---|---|
Siding and accessories | Ply Gem®, Mastic®, Mitten®, Variform®, MAC Metal Architectural®, TrueWall® | Vinyl siding and aluminium/steel accessories across multiple price tiers. Mastic is the premium contractor brand — it ran a full brand refresh with the "More Everything" campaign for contractors and builders. Mitten is the principal Canadian siding brand. Variform is a value/builder tier. MAC Metal Architectural is high-end steel siding and roofing acquired from Saint-Hubert, Quebec in August 2023. Sold through wholesale and specialty distributors, retail home centres, manufactured-housing producers, homebuilders and contractors. |
Cellular PVC trim | Ply Gem® | Rot-resistant exterior trim and mouldings, competing directly with Azek, Versatex, Kleer and Inteplast. Dealer and distributor channel. |
Vinyl fencing and railing | Ply Gem® | Residential fence and railing systems. Competes with Barrette, U.S. Fence, Homeland Vinyl, Westech, Bufftech and Azek. |
Stone veneer | Ply Gem®, Stoneworks® (Environmental StoneWorks) | Manufactured stone veneer products plus stone installation services sold directly to builders and general contractors — the Company's only meaningful service revenue line. Competes with Cultured Stone, Eldorado Stone and Coronado Stone. This reporting unit has been the weakest in the portfolio: $40.8 million of goodwill impairment plus $32.7 million intangible, $24.2 million PP&E and $11.8 million ROU impairments in FY2024 alone. |
Gutter and gutter protection | Ply Gem®, Leaf Relief®, Leaf Smart®, Leaf Logic® | Rainware and leaf-protection systems, sold through distribution and contractor channels. |
| Product family | Brands | Description, specification and customer |
|---|---|---|
Engineered / pre-engineered metal building systems (PEMB) | Metallic Building Systems, Ceco Building Systems, Star Building Systems, Robertson Building Systems, Mueller | Factory-fabricated, roll-formed primary structural framing plus secondary members (purlins and girts), custom-designed and engineered to project and building-code requirements, shipped complete and ready for assembly with no additional field welding required. Systems can be designed for metal roof and wall systems or for third-party conventional wall materials such as masonry and concrete tilt-up. Sold through authorised builder networks. End uses: distribution and warehouse, manufacturing and industrial, automotive, aviation, agricultural, healthcare, educational and retail facilities. |
Simple metal buildings | Hypersteel™ (cold-formed), Simplisteel™ | Low-complexity metal building solutions positioned on speed, affordability and durability. Hypersteel was showcased on a NASCAR Xfinity Series car (Young's Motorsports, driver Anthony Alfredo) at the May 2025 BetMGM 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway — an unusually consumer-facing marketing push for a commercial product. |
Residential and light-commercial metal roofing and wall systems | Union Corrugating Company, American Building Components (ABC), Metal Sales | Exposed- and concealed-fastener roof and wall panels, standing seam roofing, trim, purlins, girts and accessories, for new construction and repair/retrofit across industrial, commercial, institutional, agricultural, rural and residential uses. |
Commercial and architectural metal components | MBCI | Architectural panel portfolio for commercial and institutional buildings; MBCI expanded its architectural panel range in 2026. |
Retail Direct | Fortify Building Solutions, Mueller | Company-operated branch network selling pole barns, Hypersteel cold-formed buildings, low- to mid-complexity PEMBs, metal roofing and some third-party products directly to residential and commercial retail customers. Mueller's retail branch network was actively expanded through 2026. |
Solar-integrated roofing | Double-Lok™ with SunSteel™ | Announced 21 January 2026: a partnership with AUO Energy Business integrating SunSteel™ solar panels factory-fitted into Double-Lok™ standing-seam metal roofing panels. This is the Company's principal new technology bet and its only disclosed entry into building-integrated renewables. |
Financial Narrative
Income statement
Sourcing and derivations. FY2021 and FY2022 (Combined Predecessor + Successor) lines are as-reported from the FY2022 Form 10-K key-results table. FY2023–FY2025 net sales, impairment, interest expense, FX, bargain purchase gain, other income and loss before income taxes are as-reported from the FY2025 Form 10-K Note 18 reconciliation. Gross profit for FY2023–FY2025 is derived by applying the disclosed gross margins of 22.3%, 20.7% and 19.0% to reported net sales. Income/(loss) from operations for FY2023–FY2025 is derived by reversing the below-the-line items against reported loss before income taxes. FY2025 SG&A is derived as the residual (gross profit less impairment less operating loss). FY2023 SG&A is derived from the FY2024 10-K statement that SG&A increased 6.3% to $1.01 billion. FY2025 net loss of $703.0 million is derived precisely from the movement in accumulated deficit between 31 December 2024 ($1,328.4 million) and 31 December 2025 ($2,031.4 million) as disclosed in the Q2 FY2026 statement of equity; the implied FY2025 tax benefit of $161.1 million follows. FY2024 net loss of $1.19 billion is as-reported.
Per-share data and dividends
*From FY2022 the Company has 1,000 shares outstanding held by a single member of the CD&R chain; per-share data ceases to be meaningful and is not presented in the filings. Cornerstone has never paid a dividend on common stock.
Margins and growth
FY2021 Adjusted EBITDA margin is the Company's pro forma figure (pro forma Adjusted EBITDA $688.0 million on pro forma net sales $5,483.9 million). FY2023 and FY2024 margins are as-reported (Adjusted EBITDA $745.4 million and $584.5 million). FY2025 credit-agreement Adjusted EBITDA is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed and is not estimated here. The nearest available audited proxy — total reportable segment adjusted EBITDA less Corporate and Other — was $390.1 million in FY2025 (7.2% of sales), against $483.6 million (9.1%) in FY2024 and $652.8 million (12.1%) in FY2023. Note that the Company's credit-agreement Adjusted EBITDA has historically run roughly $90–100 million above this proxy because it adds back restructuring, acquisition costs, LTIP compensation, facility closures and separations.
Five-year revenue CAGR (FY2021→FY2025): (5,408.7 / 5,583.1)^(1/4) − 1 = −0.79% per annum. Excluding the divestiture-distorted FY2021 base, the FY2023→FY2025 CAGR is +0.06%. On a like-for-like basis the picture is worse still: FY2025's +2.1% headline growth was entirely acquisition-driven (Harvey full-year, Mueller full-year, Metal Sales part-year), with the 10-K stating growth was "partially offset by lower volumes across all reportable segments due to constrained market conditions." Organic volume has declined in every segment for at least two consecutive years.
Balance sheet
All 31 December 2025 and 4 July 2026 figures are as-reported in the Q2 FY2026 Form 10-Q balance sheet. Cash at 31 December 2024 ($159.5 million) and inventories at 31 December 2024 ($610.2 million) are as-reported in the FY2024 10-K and FY2025 10-K respectively; other 31 December 2024 balance-sheet lines were not retrieved in this research and are flagged as not captured, other than equity components from the statement of equity.
Debt structure detail
The 6.125% notes and the April 2028 term loan carry unamortised fair-value adjustments from 2022 pushdown accounting ($225.9 million total at 31 December 2025, $183.9 million at 4 July 2026), which is why their carrying values sit below principal and their effective rates sit far above coupon — the 6.125% notes carry a 13.51% effective rate.
Cash flow
FY2023, FY2024 and FY2025 operating and investing cash flows are as-reported in the respective 10-K liquidity sections. FY2023, FY2024 and FY2025 capital expenditures are not separately captured in the sources reviewed and are not estimated. They can be bracketed: FY2024 investing outflow of $1,134.5 million comprised principally Harvey ($460.8 million) and Mueller ($497.1 million), implying capex plus other of roughly $180 million; FY2025 investing outflow of $345.2 million comprised Metal Sales (~$180 million net) and Cold Rolled Steel ($6.4 million), implying capex of roughly $160 million. These bracketing figures are analytical inferences, not disclosed data.
Ratios
ROA for FY2024 and FY2025 uses period-end total assets ($6,208.7 million at 31 December 2025; FY2024 total assets not captured, so FY2024 ROA is computed on the FY2025 asset base and is indicative only). Net debt / EBITDA uses the audited segment-adjusted-EBITDA-less-corporate proxy; on the Company's own credit-agreement definition the FY2024 ratio would be approximately 8.3x. Cash conversion cycle uses FY2025 derived COGS of $4,381.1 million (net sales less derived gross profit) and 31 December 2025 balance-sheet working-capital items.
Trend commentary and inflections
Revenue. Three distinct regimes are visible. FY2020–FY2021 was a pandemic-era boom: record residential demand plus aggressive price realisation against steel and resin inflation drove 20.9% growth in FY2021. FY2022 grew a further 16.1% on price alone (Q1 2022 commercial-segment pricing was up 53.7% while volumes fell 16.3%). FY2023 then gave back 16.6% as the price/cost cycle reversed and the divested IMP, DBCI and Coil Coatings businesses annualised out of the base. From FY2023 the top line has been essentially flat at $5.3–5.4 billion, with acquisitions masking a persistent organic volume decline. The Company added at least $1.15 billion of acquired revenue capability (Harvey, Mueller, Metal Sales, MAC Metal, EAS, Cold Rolled Steel, at roughly $1.15 billion of aggregate purchase price) between 2023 and 2025 and produced total revenue growth of only $6.2 million over the same period. This is the single most important number in the dossier.
Gross margin. The 330-basis-point compression from 22.3% in FY2023 to 19.0% in FY2025 is the mechanical driver of the earnings collapse — roughly $178 million of gross profit at FY2025 volumes. Management attributes it to lower average selling prices, higher manufacturing input costs from inflation, and reduced operating leverage. All three are structural in a deflating price environment with a fixed manufacturing base. The trend has worsened, not stabilised: H1 FY2026 gross margin was 14.9% ($395.9 million on $2,652.7 million), against 21.1% in H1 FY2025 — a further 620-basis-point deterioration.
SG&A. SG&A has risen from 15.3% of sales in FY2022 to a derived 19.9% in FY2025, driven by acquired cost bases, integration expense, CEO transition costs and legal fees. Corporate and Other did fall from $234.6 million to $195.4 million in FY2025, so the increase is at the business-unit level.
Impairments. $1,307.0 million of goodwill and asset impairments across FY2024 and FY2025, plus a further $34.8 million in H1 FY2026, have removed $1,238.4 million of cumulative goodwill (92% of Windows & Doors goodwill and 52% of Siding goodwill). Only Metal Solutions goodwill remains unimpaired. The residual $731.2 million of goodwill and $2,120.1 million of intangibles together represent 46% of total assets — a substantial remaining impairment exposure if forecasts deteriorate further.
Interest expense. The defining structural burden. Interest expense has risen every year since the LBO — $191.3 million (FY2021) → $258.3 million (FY2022) → $380.7 million (FY2023) → $450.2 million (FY2024) → $492.1 million (FY2025) — a 157% increase in four years, driven by higher principal, higher base rates and the roll-off of hedges. Cash interest paid was $195.6 million in H1 FY2026 alone. Interest expense in FY2025 exceeded the Company's entire segment-adjusted-EBITDA-less-corporate by $102.0 million.
Cash generation. Operating cash flow has gone from $400.2 million (FY2023) to $15.8 million (FY2024) to $(18.8) million (FY2025), and is deteriorating further in FY2026 (H1 outflow of $172.1 million versus $132.2 million a year earlier, despite $10 million less capex). The Company is now funding seasonal working capital by drawing the ABL: revolver borrowings rose from $485.0 million at year-end 2025 to $732.0 million at 4 July 2026.
Equity. Book equity turned negative during FY2025, from $204.9 million to $(505.1) million, and reached $(888.1) million by 4 July 2026. Accumulated deficit of $2,394.7 million now exceeds paid-in capital of $1,540.4 million by 55%.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Reportable segment | Constituent operating segments | Chief Operating Decision Maker |
|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors | Windows & Doors–U.S.; Windows & Doors–Canada | Chief Executive Officer (Gunner Smith) |
Siding & Accessories | Siding & Accessories–U.S.; Siding & Accessories–Canada | Chief Executive Officer |
Metal Solutions | Metal Solutions (single operating segment) | Chief Executive Officer |
Segment Revenue
| Segment net sales (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors (formerly Aperture Solutions) | 2890.0 | 2476.9 | 2506.4 | 2478.5 | |
Siding & Accessories (formerly Surface Solutions) | 1364.1 | 1431.6 | 1264.2 | 1256.2 | 1151.5 |
Metal Solutions (formerly Shelter Solutions) | 1664.9 | 1540.0 | 1783.3 | ||
Intersegment eliminations | -3.4 | -5.1 | -4.6 | ||
Total net sales | 5583.1 | 6480.2 | 5402.4 | 5297.5 | 5408.7 |
Segment Revenue
| Reportable segment adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors | 336.1 | 297.3 | 197.1 |
Siding & Accessories | 224.6 | 242.2 | 199.8 |
Metal Solutions | 322.9 | 178.8 | 188.7 |
Total reportable segment adjusted EBITDA | 883.5 | 718.2 | 585.5 |
Corporate and Other | -230.7 | -234.6 | -195.4 |
Segment adjusted EBITDA less Corporate | 652.8 | 483.6 | 390.1 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment adjusted EBITDA margin (%) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors | 13.6 | 11.9 | 8.0 |
Siding & Accessories | 17.8 | 19.3 | 17.4 |
Metal Solutions | 19.4 | 11.6 | 10.6 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment D&A (USD M) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors | 179.6 | 178.5 | 202.2 |
Siding & Accessories | 88.6 | 103.2 | 102.6 |
Metal Solutions | 139.5 | 116.2 | 131.5 |
Total reportable segments | 407.7 | 397.9 | 436.3 |
Corporate | 4.9 | 3.7 | 5.2 |
Total D&A (consolidated, per reconciliation) | 412.6 | 401.7 | 441.5 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric (%) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors share of segment net sales | 45.8 | 47.2 | 45.8 |
Siding & Accessories share of segment net sales | 23.4 | 23.7 | 21.3 |
Metal Solutions share of segment net sales | 30.8 | 29.0 | 32.9 |
Windows & Doors net sales YoY growth | 1.2 | -1.1 | |
Siding & Accessories net sales YoY growth | -0.8 | -8.3 | |
Metal Solutions net sales YoY growth | -7.5 | 15.8 |
Segment Revenue
| Goodwill (USD M) | 31 Dec 2025 | 4 Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|
Windows & Doors | 82.6 | 75.5 |
Siding & Accessories | 338.6 | 337.9 |
Metal Solutions | 318.2 | 317.8 |
Total goodwill | 739.4 | 731.2 |
Gross goodwill (Windows & Doors) | 943.9 | |
Gross goodwill (Siding & Accessories) | 707.8 | |
Gross goodwill (Metal Solutions) | 317.8 | |
Accumulated impairment (Windows & Doors) | 868.5 | |
Accumulated impairment (Siding & Accessories) | 369.9 | |
Accumulated impairment (total) | 1238.4 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales | 5583.1 | 6480.2 | 5402.4 | 5297.5 | 5408.7 |
Gross profit | 1199.1 | 1318.5 | 1204.7 | 1096.6 | 1027.6 |
Selling, general and administrative expenses | 893.1 | 992.2 | 950.1 | 1010.0 | 1079.0 |
Impairment of goodwill, intangibles and PP&E | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 934.7 | 372.3 |
Gain on divestitures | -831.3 | -400.5 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Gain on legal settlements | 0.0 | -76.6 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Income (loss) from operations | 1137.2 | 803.4 | 240.2 | -852.8 | -423.7 |
Interest expense | 191.3 | 258.3 | 380.7 | 450.2 | 492.1 |
Foreign exchange gain (loss) | -3.7 | -4.1 | 6.8 | -14.1 | 2.5 |
Bargain purchase gain | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 45.8 |
Gain (loss) on extinguishment of debt | -42.2 | 28.8 | -0.2 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Other income, net | 1.9 | 1.2 | 15.0 | 5.7 | 3.4 |
Income (loss) before income taxes | 901.8 | 571.0 | -118.9 | -1311.4 | -864.0 |
Income tax provision (benefit) | 236.0 | 150.7 | -43.4 | -121.1 | -161.1 |
Net income (loss) | 665.9 | 420.3 | -75.5 | -1190.3 | -703.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Diluted earnings (loss) per share | 5.19 | ||||
Dividends per common share | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (%) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin | 21.5 | 20.3 | 22.3 | 20.7 | 19.0 |
SG&A as % of net sales | 16.0 | 15.3 | 17.6 | 19.1 | 19.9 |
Operating margin | 20.4 | 12.4 | 4.4 | -16.1 | -7.8 |
Company-defined Adjusted EBITDA margin | 12.5 | 13.8 | 11.0 | ||
Net margin | 11.9 | 6.5 | -1.4 | -22.5 | -13.0 |
Net sales growth YoY | 20.9 | 16.1 | -16.6 | -1.9 | 2.1 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | 31 Dec 2024 | 31 Dec 2025 | 4 Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents | 159.5 | 135.5 | 136.3 |
Accounts receivable, net | 567.1 | 685.9 | |
Inventories, net | 610.2 | 745.5 | 794.3 |
Assets held for sale | 147.0 | 29.1 | |
Other current assets | 109.3 | 96.9 | |
Total current assets | 1704.4 | 1742.4 | |
Property, plant and equipment, net | 1058.6 | 1116.1 | |
Lease right-of-use assets | 458.7 | 439.8 | |
Goodwill | 739.4 | 731.2 | |
Intangible assets, net | 2209.8 | 2120.1 | |
Other assets, net | 37.8 | 31.0 | |
Total assets | 6208.7 | 6180.6 | |
Accounts payable | 269.4 | 431.3 | |
Total current liabilities | 781.0 | 957.8 | |
Current portion of long-term debt | 34.0 | 34.0 | |
Long-term debt (incl. drawn revolvers) | 4967.4 | 5247.6 | |
Total debt | 5001.4 | 5281.6 | |
Net debt | 4865.9 | 5145.3 | |
Lease liabilities (current + non-current) | 455.3 | 426.9 | |
Deferred income tax liabilities | 363.5 | 275.1 | |
Total liabilities | 6713.8 | 7068.7 | |
Additional paid-in capital | 1540.6 | 1544.2 | 1540.4 |
Accumulated deficit | -1328.4 | -2031.4 | -2394.7 |
Accumulated other comprehensive loss | -7.3 | -17.9 | -33.8 |
Total equity (deficit) | 204.9 | -505.1 | -888.1 |
Working capital (current assets less current liabilities) | 923.4 | 784.5 | |
Goodwill + intangibles | 2949.2 | 2851.3 |
Financial Analysis
| Instrument | Principal at 31 Dec 2025 (USD M) | Principal at 4 Jul 2026 (USD M) | Effective rate at 4 Jul 2026 (%) | Maturity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Term loan facility (Cash Flow) | 2476.5 | 2463.5 | 8.57 | April 2028 |
Side Car term loan facility | 291.0 | 289.5 | 9.69 | August 2028 |
Term loan facility | 493.8 | 491.3 | 10.05 | May 2031 |
8.750% senior secured notes | 710.0 | 710.0 | 10.61 | August 2028 |
6.125% senior notes | 318.7 | 318.7 | 13.51 | January 2029 |
9.500% senior secured notes | 500.0 | 500.0 | 9.88 | August 2029 |
Total term debt principal | 4789.9 | 4773.0 | ||
ABL Facility drawn (revolver) | 390.0 | 605.0 | May 2029 | |
ABL FILO tranche drawn | 95.0 | 95.0 | May 2029 | |
Cash Flow Revolver drawn | 0.0 | 32.0 | May 2029 | |
Letters of credit outstanding | 67.5 | 75.4 | ||
Total revolver commitments | 1037.0 | 1037.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2020 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | H1 FY2025 | H1 FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities | 308.4 | 400.2 | 15.8 | -18.8 | -132.2 | -172.1 |
Net cash used in investing activities | -421.9 | -1134.5 | -345.2 | -67.5 | -50.7 | |
Capital expenditures | 81.9 | 68.2 | 61.9 | |||
Net cash provided by financing activities | 210.0 | 224.7 | ||||
Interest paid, net of swaps | 189.4 | 195.6 | ||||
Dividend paid to parent | 0.0 | 0.0 | 231.6 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Free cash flow (OCF less capex) | 226.6 | -200.4 | -234.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity (%) | negative | ||||
Return on assets (%) | -18.0 | -11.3 | |||
Current ratio (x) | 2.18 | ||||
Total debt / equity (x) | 24.4 | negative equity | |||
Net debt / segment adj. EBITDA less corporate (x) | 7.5 | 10.1 | 12.5 | ||
Interest coverage: operating income / interest expense (x) | 5.94 | 3.11 | 0.63 | negative | negative |
Interest coverage: segment adj. EBITDA less corporate / interest expense (x) | 1.71 | 1.07 | 0.79 | ||
Asset turnover (net sales / total assets) (x) | 0.87 | ||||
Inventory days (365 × inventory / COGS) | 53.6 | 62.1 | |||
Receivable days (365 × AR / net sales) | 38.3 | ||||
Payable days (365 × AP / COGS) | 22.5 | ||||
Cash conversion cycle (days) | 77.9 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geographic revenue (USD M) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Total net sales | 5402.4 | 5297.5 | 5408.7 |
Canada (7.5% of FY2025 net sales, as disclosed) | 405.6 | ||
United States and other (residual) | 5003.1 |
Capital Markets
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Share price performance, 1 / 3 / 5 year | Not applicable — no publicly traded equity since 25 July 2022. |
Last public share price | $24.65 per share, the cash merger consideration paid on 25 July 2022. Aggregate paid to non-CD&R holders: $1,572 million. Headline enterprise value approximately $5.8 billion. |
Shares outstanding | 1,000, $0.01 par, all held by Camelot Return Intermediate Holdings, LLC |
Market capitalisation | Not applicable |
P/E, EV/EBITDA, EV/Sales, P/B versus peers | Not applicable for equity. See 21.3 for a debt-implied valuation. |
Analyst consensus | None. No sell-side equity coverage since 2022. |
Dividend history and policy | No common dividend has ever been paid to public holders. A $231.6 million dividend was paid to the parent in FY2024. The Cash Flow Credit Agreement, ABL Credit Agreement, Side Car Term Loan Credit Agreement and all three indentures restrict the ability to "pay dividends, redeem stock or make other distributions in respect of capital stock." |
Buyback authorisations | None — not applicable. |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Action | Date | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Corporate Family Rating B1 placed on review for downgrade | March 2022 | Triggered by the CD&R going-private announcement; Moody's cited expectation of "a meaningfully more levered pro forma capital structure" and named "the potential for a more aggressive financial policy" as a key governance risk. PDR B1-PD; senior secured bank facility B1 (LGD3); senior unsecured B3 (LGD5). |
S&P Global Ratings | Issuer credit rating 'B' | Pre-2025 | Baseline post-LBO rating. |
S&P Global Ratings | Downgrade | Research update published 30 June 2025 | Headline: "Cornerstone Building Brands Inc. Downgraded To 'B…'". |
S&P Global Ratings | Downgrade | Rating action published 7 April 2026 | Headline: "Cornerstone Building Brands Inc. Downgraded To 'C…'" — indicating a move into the CCC or lower category. |
Moody's current rating | — | ||
Fitch | No rating located. |
Capital Markets
| Instrument class | Principal 31 Dec 2025 (USD M) | Fair value 31 Dec 2025 (USD M) | Price (% of par) | Principal 4 Jul 2026 (USD M) | Fair value 4 Jul 2026 (USD M) | Price (% of par) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Senior notes (Level 1, quoted) | 1528.7 | 1084.4 | 70.9 | 1528.7 | 795.6 | 52.0 |
Term loans (Level 2) | 3261.3 | 2536.1 | 77.8 | 3244.3 | 1922.4 | 59.3 |
Total quoted term debt | 4790.0 | 3620.5 | 75.6 | 4773.0 | 2718.0 | 56.9 |
Capital Markets
| Maturity year | Instrument | Principal at 4 Jul 2026 (USD M) |
|---|---|---|
2026 (current portion) | Term loan amortisation | 34.0 |
2028 | Term loan facility due April 2028 | 2463.5 |
2028 | Side Car term loan facility due August 2028 | 289.5 |
2028 | 8.750% senior secured notes due August 2028 | 710.0 |
2029 | 6.125% senior notes due January 2029 | 318.7 |
2029 | 9.500% senior secured notes due August 2029 | 500.0 |
2029 | ABL Facility, ABL FILO and Cash Flow Revolver, all due May 2029 (drawn) | 732.0 |
2031 | Term loan facility due May 2031 | 491.3 |
Capital Markets
| Metric at 4 July 2026 | Amount (USD M) |
|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents | 136.3 |
ABL Facility commitment | 850.0 |
ABL Facility drawn | 605.0 |
ABL letters of credit | 75.4 |
ABL FILO commitment / drawn | 95.0 / 95.0 |
Cash Flow Revolver commitment / drawn | 92.0 / 32.0 |
Total revolver commitments | 1037.0 |
Total revolver drawn | 732.0 |
Undrawn commitments (before borrowing base and covenant limits) | 305.0 |
ABL fixed-charge-coverage covenant cushion | 178.5 |
Additional Cash Flow Revolver capacity before triggering the 7.75:1.00 secured leverage test | 0.2 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
None is provided. Cornerstone issues no public guidance, holds no earnings calls and publishes no medium-term targets. The only forward-looking quantification in the last two years is the April 2025 estimate of $30–50 million of tariff-driven FY2025 Adjusted EBITDA impact. Management's forward statements in the FY2025 10-K are qualitative and cautionary: "Current market estimates continue to forecast high levels of volatility in 2026, including greater and faster-than-normal changes in factors such as interest rates, inflation, business and consumer confidence, unemployment, and the availability of business and consumer credit."
Consensus expectations
None. No sell-side equity research coverage exists.
Bull case
1. The operating franchise is genuinely valuable and separable from the capital structure. Cornerstone remains the largest exterior building products manufacturer in North America, with #1 positions in vinyl windows and vinyl siding, ~16.9% of the US sheet metal roofing industry, brands validated by J.D. Power and Good Housekeeping, and a distribution network reaching all fifty states and all ten provinces. Siding & Accessories still earns a 17.4% segment EBITDA margin in the worst market in fifteen years. A recapitalised Cornerstone with $2.0–2.5 billion of debt instead of $5.3 billion would be a comfortably investment-grade-adjacent industrial with $400–600 million of mid-cycle EBITDA. The distressed debt prices — 52 to 59 cents — are pricing the capital structure, not the business.
2. The cycle is at or near a trough, and operating leverage cuts both ways. Gross margin has fallen 740 basis points from the FY2023 peak of 22.3% to H1 FY2026's 14.9%, almost entirely on volume deleverage and negative price/cost. Every one of those basis points is recoverable in an upcycle. On FY2025 revenue, restoring FY2023 gross margin would add roughly $178 million of gross profit; restoring the FY2021 pro forma Adjusted EBITDA margin of 12.5% would put EBITDA above $675 million. With the Fed having begun easing in 2025 and a structural US housing deficit intact, a two-to-three-year recovery in starts and R&R would transform the earnings base. Metal Solutions revenue is already growing at double digits.
3. Self-help is real and largely unexecuted. The Company has 113 manufacturing plants generating an average of under $50 million of revenue each — an obviously over-built network from twenty years of acquisitions. Only two rationalisation actions (Kearney and Walbridge, 165 positions) have been taken. It carries $147 million of real estate that was, until Q2 2026, actively marketed for sale-leaseback, plus a Siding business held for sale, plus $2.85 billion of goodwill and intangibles concentrated in businesses with divestible standalone value (Metal Sales, Mueller and Harvey were all standalone platforms within the last three years). Metal Solutions alone — growing, unimpaired goodwill of $317.8 million, ~$1.8 billion of revenue — would likely attract strategic interest at a multiple that materially deleverages the whole.
Bear case
1. The arithmetic of the capital structure does not work at any plausible near-term EBITDA. FY2025 interest expense of $492.1 million exceeded segment-adjusted-EBITDA-less-corporate of $390.1 million by $102.0 million. Cash interest paid was $195.6 million in H1 FY2026 alone, against $172.1 million of operating cash outflow. Net debt of $5,145.3 million is 13.2x the FY2025 EBITDA proxy. Even a full-cycle recovery to $650 million of EBITDA leaves leverage near 8x — above what any lender will refinance. Sixty-five percent of the debt matures in 2028. This is not a liquidity problem that time solves; it is a solvency problem that requires a debt-for-equity or deep-discount exchange.
2. The operating deterioration is accelerating, not stabilising. H1 FY2026 gross margin of 14.9% versus 21.1% a year earlier is a 620-basis-point collapse in twelve months. The Windows & Doors segment — 46% of the Company — posted negative segment adjusted EBITDA of $(5.1) million in Q1 FY2026. Metal Solutions' H1 margin fell from 14.5% to 5.0% despite 11% revenue growth, meaning the acquired Metal Sales and Mueller volumes are coming in at margins that dilute rather than accrete. Operating cash outflow worsened year on year despite $10 million less capex and $18 million less inventory build. Every quarter since Q3 2024 has been worse than the prior-year comparable.
3. Governance, control and sponsor-alignment risk compound the credit risk. An adverse ICFR opinion from Deloitte with two unremediated material weaknesses — one dating to Q3 2024 — means the reported numbers themselves carry elevated uncertainty at exactly the moment creditors must rely on them. Four C-suite roles turned over in thirteen months. The sponsor extracted a $231.6 million dividend in a year of $1.19 billion of losses. The Company's own risk factors warn that CD&R "may have an interest in pursuing acquisitions, divestitures, financings or other transactions that, in their judgment, could enhance their overall equity investment, even though such transactions might involve risks to holders of our outstanding indebtedness" — and with equity deeply out of the money, CD&R's rational strategy is aggressive liability management, potentially including collateral movement or non-pro-rata treatment of creditor classes. The $464.4 million of HoldCo PIK notes sitting outside the reporting perimeter add a further constituency. Meanwhile, the failed $147 million sale-leaseback in Q2 2026 demonstrates that asset monetisation is not straightforward.
Key catalysts and monitorables — next twelve months
Analyst verdict
Cornerstone Building Brands is a good business inside a broken capital structure, and the two must now be assessed separately.
The operating franchise is real. It is the largest exterior building products manufacturer in North America, with defensible #1 positions in vinyl windows and siding, roughly 16.9% of the US sheet metal roofing industry, brands that win J.D. Power and Good Housekeeping recognition, and a distribution network no competitor replicates. Siding & Accessories still generated a 17.4% segment EBITDA margin in FY2025 and 15.6% in a weak Q2 FY2026. In a normalised housing market this asset earns $600 million or more of EBITDA. Nothing in the last eighteen months has damaged the customer franchise, the brands or the channel positions.
The capital structure, however, has failed. FY2025 interest expense of $492.1 million exceeded the Company's entire segment EBITDA less corporate of $390.1 million. Operating cash flow was negative in FY2025 and materially more negative in H1 FY2026. Book equity is $(888.1) million. Net debt is $5,145.3 million against a $390 million EBITDA proxy — over thirteen times. Sixty-five percent of the debt matures in 2028. The Cash Flow Revolver has $0.2 million of covenant headroom. The market has already rendered its verdict: the term loans trade at 59 cents and the senior notes at 52, down from 78 and 71 six months earlier, implying an enterprise value of roughly $3.3 billion against $5.3 billion of debt.
The tell is in the governance record, not the financials. Two restructuring specialists placed on the board in March 2026 at $40,000 a month each, onto a newly created Finance Committee. A CEO retention package of $2 million approved the same month. An interim CFO for seven months, then a heavyweight permanent CFO recruited from Dentsply Sirona in September. An adverse internal-control opinion. A failed sale-leaseback. Companies do not assemble this apparatus to manage a cyclical soft patch.
The base case is therefore a comprehensive liability-management transaction — most plausibly a debt-for-equity exchange or a deeply discounted exchange offer, negotiated in 2026–2027 well ahead of the 2028 wall, in which term lenders take control and CD&R's equity is substantially or wholly extinguished. Recovery for secured lenders should be meaningful given a $6.18 billion asset base and a genuinely franchise-quality business; unsecured 6.125% noteholders, at 52 cents and structurally subordinated, face materially worse economics. For creditors, the analysis is a recovery exercise, not a going-concern earnings exercise. For customers, suppliers and employees, the operating business is likely to survive a restructuring intact and emerge better capitalised. For CD&R, a 2022 investment made at $24.65 per share and $5.8 billion of enterprise value now looks, on the market's own arithmetic, to be worth nothing.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Appointed | Prior roles | Education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Gunner Smith | Chief Executive Officer and Director | 11 August 2025 | President, Roofing at Owens Corning (2018–2025); VP Sales, Distribution and Home Centers and other sales/marketing/pricing roles across a 17-year Owens Corning tenure; earlier National Sales Manager at Ply Gem; eight years in sales management at Elk Corporation. Age 52. | BBA, Mississippi State University; Executive Program in Strategic Sales Management, University of Chicago Booth |
Matthew E. Garth | Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer | 1 September 2026 | EVP and CFO, Dentsply Sirona; EVP, CFO and Chief Administrative Officer, The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company; SVP Finance and Treasury and CFO, Minerals Technologies; 15 years at Alcoa. Age 52. | BS Accounting, University of Delaware; MBA, Columbia Business School |
Austin K. So | Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary | 13 July 2026 | SVP, General Counsel, Head of Government Relations and Chief Sustainability Officer, Armstrong World Industries; SVP, Chief Legal Officer and Secretary, StoneMor Inc.; Division General Counsel and Secretary, Heraeus Holding GmbH; began in private practice at Cravath, Swaine & Moore. ~25 years' experience, 14 as a General Counsel. | AB Government, Harvard University; JD, University of Pennsylvania Law School |
Michael Pulcanio | Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer | 18 May 2026 | EVP and CHRO, CJ Schwan's Co.; nine years at Tyson Foods in senior HR leadership; roles at Hillshire Brands, Aon and PepsiAmericas; former labour attorney. | BS Business, Northern Illinois University; JD, John Marshall Law School |
Vishal Singh | President, Windows & Doors | 19 January 2026 | President, BrassCraft (Masco); President, Architectural Glass, Oldcastle Building Envelope (27 plants); President, Milgard Windows (Masco); 14 years at Eaton Corporation, ultimately VP/GM Transportation, Military and Aerospace Division. | BE Mechanical Engineering, Sardar Patel University (India); MBA, Case Western Reserve University |
Melissa Jones | President, Siding & Accessories | July 2022 | Group President, Commercial Water Solutions, Pentair; Director of Product, Channel and Marketing, Generac; Director of Marketing, Johnson Controls; corporate marketing roles at Abbott, Milwaukee Tool and Stanley Black & Decker. | BA Economics, St. Mary's College of Maryland; MBA, University of Maryland |
Matthew Ackley | President, Metal Solutions | 12 April 2021 (as President, Engineered Building Systems); promoted 11 November 2021 | VP Sales, USG Corporation (Commercial Ceilings and Corporate Accounts); VP Architectural Sales; Area Manager Central; Sr. Manager Investor Relations; Category Manager Interior Walls, L&W Supply — all USG. | BA Economics and Spanish, University of Redlands; MBA, Pepperdine University |
Lisa Domnisch | President, Canadian Business Unit | 14 August 2023 | Global Product Leader, DuPont Water & Protection construction business; various DuPont leadership roles; independent consulting practice in agriculture and non-profit sectors. | Political Science, University of Western Ontario; Honours BA Diploma, Canadian Institute of Business; executive programmes at Columbia, MIT Sloan and Guelph |
John N. Wallace | Executive Vice President, Operational Excellence | January 2023 | SVP Operations – Shelter Solutions; President of the former Coil Coating business from 2020; 25 years in manufacturing across integration management, quality, HR, customer service and general management. Leads the Operations Center of Excellence: supply chain, strategic sourcing, logistics, quality and continuous improvement, business transformation, working capital, S&OP and EHS. | BS Business Administration, Miami University (Ohio); MBA, Indiana Wesleyan University |
Susan S. Selle | Chief Marketing Officer | November 2018 (CMO of Ply Gem from July 2014) | Senior marketing and brand leadership at Jarden Consumer Solutions / Sunbeam Products (1998–2014) across Mr. Coffee, Crock-Pot, Oster, Sunbeam, FoodSaver, First Alert, Holmes, Margaritaville and Health o meter; earlier Tyson Foods and Nestlé. 30+ years' experience. | BS Marketing and Management, University of Missouri–Columbia |
Christian Storch | Interim Chief Financial Officer (service concluded September 2026) | 6 February 2026 – 1 September 2026 | CFO, Altra Industrial Motion (~15 years); VP and CFO, Standex International (6 years) and Standex board member 2004–2007; Divisional Financial Director and Corporate Controller, Vossloh AG; Audit Manager, Deloitte & Touche. | Business administration degree, University of Passau, Germany |
| Name | Age (per 10-K) | Position | Affiliation / background |
|---|---|---|---|
John Krenicki, Jr. | 63 | Chairman | Vice Chairman of CD&R; Chairman of Brand Industrial Holdings; formerly Vice Chairman, President and CEO of GE Energy at General Electric; director of Devon Energy. Chairman since 2022; served as Interim President and CEO March–August 2025. |
Gunner Smith | 52 | Director and Chief Executive Officer | See above. Director since 2025. |
Nathan Sleeper | 52 | Director | Chief Executive Officer of CD&R. |
Jake Donnelly | 33 | Director | CD&R investment professional. |
Tyler Young | 38 | Director | CD&R investment professional. |
Marcia Avedon, Ph.D. | 64 | Director | Appointed 1 April 2024; Compensation Committee. Former Chief HR, Marketing and Communications Officer at Trane Technologies. |
Wilbert James, Jr. | 69 | Director | Former President of Toyota Motor Manufacturing Indiana. |
Daniel Janki | 57 | Director | Chief Financial Officer of Delta Air Lines; formerly GE Power CEO and GE senior finance executive. |
Timothy O'Brien | 62 | Director | Background not detailed in sources reviewed. |
Suzanne Stefany | 62 | Director | Appointed 1 June 2025; Nominating and Corporate Governance and Compensation Committees. |
Carol Flaton | Not disclosed | Director; Finance Committee | Elected 18 March 2026. Restructuring and special-situations specialist. Retention agreement paying $40,000 per month. |
Daniel B. Silvers | Not disclosed | Director; Finance Committee | Elected 18 March 2026. Special-situations and activist/restructuring board specialist. Retention agreement paying $40,000 per month. |
| Executive | Element | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
Gunner Smith, CEO | FY2025 total compensation | $17.8 million (including a $1.45 million one-time sign-on bonus) | Reported from FY2025 10-K Item 11 |
Gunner Smith | Base salary | $1,050,000 | Employment agreement |
Gunner Smith | Target annual bonus | 125% of base salary | Employment agreement |
Gunner Smith | Guaranteed minimum FY2025 bonus | $775,000 | Employment agreement |
Gunner Smith | Retention awards (March 2026) | Two $1,000,000 payments, payable end-2026 and end-2027 | 8-K, March 2026 |
Matthew E. Garth, CFO | Base salary | $750,000 (pro-rated for 2026) | 8-K, 9 September 2026 |
Matthew E. Garth | Target annual bonus | 90% of base salary | 8-K, 9 September 2026 |
Matthew E. Garth | Sign-on bonus | $200,000 | 8-K, 9 September 2026 |
Matthew E. Garth | Equity | 202,777.78 Class B Profit Units | 8-K, 9 September 2026 |
Christian Storch, Interim CFO | Base salary | $500,000 | 8-K, February 2026 |
Christian Storch | Target annual bonus | 90% of base salary | 8-K, February 2026 |
Jeffrey S. Lee, former CFO | FY2023 total compensation | $8,741,534 ($625,385 salary; $8,085,559 bonus; $0 options; $0 stock awards; $30,590 other) | Third-party compilation of the FY2023 disclosure |
Rose Lee, former CEO | Base salary (2021 agreement) | Not less than $1,000,000; target bonus 120% | Employment agreement, 3 August 2021 |
Tina Beskid | Base salary (2025) | $438,000; target bonus 60%; one-time grant of 10,000 Class B Profit Units | 8-K, March 2025 |
CEO pay ratio | FY2025 | Approximately 355:1 (CEO $17.8 million; median employee salary $50,768) | Reported from FY2025 10-K |
Non-employee directors Flaton and Silvers | Monthly retainer | $40,000 each | 8-K, 19 March 2026 |
| Holder | Stake |
|---|---|
Camelot Return Intermediate Holdings, LLC (CD&R-managed funds) | 100% of the 1,000 outstanding common shares |
Institutional holders | None — not applicable, private company. No 13F, 13D or 13G filings exist for Cornerstone equity. |
Insider ownership of Cornerstone, Inc. equity | Nil. Management holds Class A-2 and Class B units in Camelot Return Ultimate, LP, not in the registrant. Individual holdings are not publicly disclosed in unit terms per person. |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | Positioning | Ownership |
|---|---|---|
Andersen Corporation | Premium wood and composite (Fibrex) windows; the category quality benchmark | Private (employee/family) |
Pella Corporation | Premium wood, fibreglass and vinyl windows | Private (family) |
JELD-WEN Holding, Inc. | Broad-line windows and doors; the closest listed comparable; also the principal Canadian competitor | NYSE: JELD |
MI Windows and Doors | Vinyl and aluminium windows; aggressive consolidator (acquired Milgard from Masco) | Private |
PGT Innovations | Impact-rated windows and doors (Florida-centric) — competes head-on with EAS | Acquired by MITER Brands (2024) |
United Windows & Doors | Regional vinyl | Private |
ProVia | Premium entry doors and windows | Private |
All Weather at Home | Canadian windows | Private |
Marvin | Premium wood/fibreglass | Private |
| Competitor | Positioning |
|---|---|
CertainTeed (Saint-Gobain) | Vinyl siding, cellular PVC trim; the principal vinyl siding rival |
Alside (Associated Materials) | Vinyl siding and windows; vertically integrated distribution |
Westlake Royal Building Products (Westlake Corporation) | Vinyl siding, trim, mouldings; resin-integrated — a structural cost advantage Cornerstone lacks |
The AZEK Company | Cellular PVC trim, railing and decking; the premium composite benchmark. Acquired by James Hardie in 2025. |
James Hardie Industries | Fiber cement siding — the principal substitute-material threat to vinyl, and now owner of AZEK |
Rollex, Euramax, Gentek | Aluminium accessories |
Barrette, U.S. Fence, Homeland Vinyl, Westech, Bufftech | Vinyl fencing and railing |
Inteplast, KOMA, Versatex, Kleer | Cellular PVC trim |
Cultured Stone (Boral), Eldorado Stone, Coronado Stone | Manufactured stone veneer |
| Competitor | Positioning |
|---|---|
Nucor Corporation (Nucor Buildings Group, incl. the IMP business bought from Cornerstone) | Steel-producer-owned PEMB and components — the vertical-integration threat the 10-K explicitly names |
BlueScope Steel (BlueScope Buildings North America: Butler, Varco Pruden; plus the Coil Coatings business bought from Cornerstone) | Steel-producer-owned PEMB |
Gibraltar Industries (NASDAQ: ROCK) | Residential roofing accessories, metal components |
Everest Steel Buildings, Chief Buildings, Nucor Building Systems | Regional and national PEMB |
Tremco / Carlisle / Standing-seam specialists | Commercial roofing systems |
Numerous small local firms | The 10-K notes competitors "ranging from small local firms to large national firms" |
| Metric | Cornerstone (FY2025) | JELD-WEN (FY2025) | Gibraltar Industries (FY2025) | Quanex Building Products (FY2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD M) | 5408.7 | |||
Revenue growth YoY (%) | 2.1 | |||
Gross margin (%) | 19.0 | |||
EBITDA margin (%) | 7.2 | |||
Net margin (%) | -13.0 | |||
R&D intensity (% of sales) | ||||
Net debt / EBITDA (x) | 12.5 | |||
Listed equity | No | Yes (NYSE: JELD) | Yes (NASDAQ: ROCK) | Yes (NYSE: NX) |
Recent Developments
--



