EnergyAustralia Pty Ltd Overview
EnergyAustralia is one of Australia's three incumbent "gentailers" — vertically integrated electricity and gas generator-retailers — alongside AGL Energy and Origin Energy. Its business model is the physical and financial hedge between a ~4.7 GW thermal-dominated generation fleet and a ~2.3 million-account retail book across five eastern-seaboard jurisdictions. That integration is both its principal earnings stabiliser and its principal structural liability: two coal-fired stations, Yallourn (1,480 MW brown coal, closing mid-2028) and Mount Piper (1,400 MW black coal, closure signalled by 2040), still anchor its wholesale position, while retail margins are being compressed by Tier 2 competitors and regulatory price caps. Unlike its listed peers, EnergyAustralia cannot fund the transition from public equity markets; it funds it through CLP's balance sheet, project-level partnerships (Banpu, EDF), non-recourse project debt and government Capacity Investment Scheme contracts. The strategic question for 2026–2030 is whether it can rebuild firming capacity fast enough to replace Yallourn's earnings before coal exits.
What the company does
EnergyAustralia operates two functionally distinct but commercially interdependent businesses:
Energy / Wholesale (generation and trading). The company owns and operates thermal generation across Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia, together with a growing portfolio of grid-scale storage (owned, joint-ventured and contracted). It generates electricity into the National Electricity Market (NEM), operates its own fuel supply for brown coal at Yallourn (adjacent open-cut mine), contracts black coal for Mount Piper, procures gas for its peaking and combined-cycle plant, trades electricity, gas and environmental certificates, and enters long-dated power purchase agreements (PPAs) and storage "toll" or "virtual toll" agreements with third-party developers.
Customer (retail). The company sells electricity and natural gas to residential, small business, and commercial & industrial (C&I) customers in Victoria, NSW, Queensland, South Australia and the ACT. It also sells adjacent products: rooftop solar and home battery systems, virtual power plant (VPP) participation, EV charging tariffs and public charging access, demand-response services for large customers, NBN broadband resale, and bundled loyalty benefits.
Business and revenue model
The revenue model is overwhelmingly commodity sales, not product, subscription or licensing:
- Retail energy sales — recurring, metered, tariff-based (regulated standing offers plus competitive market offers). This is the dominant revenue line by volume.
- Wholesale generation revenue — spot sales into the NEM plus contract settlement on forward electricity sold.
- Environmental certificate revenue — LGCs, STCs, VEECs, ESCs, REPS.
- Capacity / firming revenue — increasingly, revenue underwritten by Commonwealth Capacity Investment Scheme (CIS) contracts-for-difference and by storage services agreements.
- Services and hardware — solar and battery installation, energy efficiency, power factor correction, monitoring and maintenance. Small in absolute terms.
Because forward electricity sales are marked to market, reported earnings carry a large non-cash fair value movement component. Management therefore reports EBITDAF (earnings before interest, tax, depreciation, amortisation and fair value movements) and NPATF / operating earnings before fair value movements as the headline measures. This is essential to interpreting the financials: in FY2022 the fair value line alone was a negative A$774 million pre-tax for the full year, having been negative A$2,031 million pre-tax at the half.
Value chain position
EnergyAustralia sits across generation → wholesale trading → retail supply. It does not own regulated networks (poles and wires), unlike its ultimate parent's Hong Kong business. It does own upstream fuel at Yallourn (brown coal mine) and formerly owned gas storage (Iona, divested 2015). Its position is therefore "midstream-to-consumer", with network charges passed through to customers as a cost.
Customers and end-markets
- Residential — mass-market households; the largest account count and the segment most exposed to Default Market Offer / Victorian Default Offer price regulation and to cost-of-living-driven churn.
- Small business — SME electricity and gas.
- Commercial & industrial — large-load customers on progressive purchasing, demand response (ResponsePro, PowerDown) and bespoke structured contracts.
- Wholesale counterparties — other retailers, financial intermediaries, and renewable developers seeking offtake.
Company's own description versus independent characterisation
Company description (from its own published materials): EnergyAustralia states that its purpose is "to lead and accelerate the clean energy transformation for all," that it employs approximately 2,300 people, that it has two large coal-fired power stations at Yallourn and Mt Piper, gas-fired plant at Tallawarra, Newport, Jeeralang and Hallett, that it was "first to back large batteries in Victoria," and that it is building flexible firming capacity to complement renewables as coal retires.
Independent characterisation: EnergyAustralia is a mature, capital-intensive, structurally short-renewables incumbent executing a managed decline of its thermal base while attempting to buy time with gas peakers and to rebuild an earnings base out of four-hour and eight-hour storage. Its distinguishing commercial trait relative to AGL and Origin is not technology leadership but capital structure: it is the only one of the big three that must source growth capital from a foreign parent with competing claims across Hong Kong, Mainland China and India. That constraint explains the observable 2024–2026 pattern of selling down project equity (Banpu 50% of Wooreen; EDF 75% of Lake Lyell) rather than balance-sheet funding, and explains the persistent, publicly reported search for a "long-term committed partner" at the platform level.
Strategy
Stated strategy — themes in the company's own words
EnergyAustralia's stated purpose is "to lead and accelerate the clean energy transformation for all." Management framing in the FY2025 results is more commercially explicit than the purpose statement. Mark Collette: the company is "investing at scale and at the right moment in the transition cycle," the projects being delivered "provide firming capacity the grid needs and position EnergyAustralia to compete strongly in the market that emerges on the other side of the transition," and — the strategic thesis in one line — "the investments we are making now are the ones that will determine our competitive position in the mid-2030s."
On the integrated model: "The strength of our wholesale operations helped offset retail headwinds, demonstrating the value of our integrated business model."
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Medium-term targets and guidance
EnergyAustralia does not issue earnings guidance — it is unlisted and CLP does not guide at segment level. The publicly stated non-financial medium-term targets are:
Products & Services
Energy / Wholesale segment — generation assets
Divested / retired assets: Wallerawang Power Station (1,000 MW black coal, capacity withdrawn 2014, closed and demolished); Iona gas storage facility (sold late 2015); Waterloo Wind Farm (111 MW, divested); Redback Technologies (portfolio exit, asset sale, 10 May 2024).
Energy / Wholesale — contracted and pipeline assets
Customer segment — retail products
Product Portfolio
| Asset | State | Fuel / type | Capacity | Ownership | Commissioned | Status / notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Yallourn W | VIC (Latrobe Valley) | Brown coal, 4 units | 1,480 MW nameplate (~1,450 MW effective) | 100% | 1973–1982 | Baseload. ~7.8 TWh generated in 2025, ~15% of Victorian electricity and ~4% of NEM. Closing mid-2028. Adjacent open-cut mine is Australia's largest, with reserves sized to the 2028 closure. >500 site employees. HK$345 million closure provision recognised in FY2025. |
Mount Piper | NSW (near Portland/Lithgow, Central West) | Black coal, 2 units | 1,400 MW | 100% | 1993 | NSW's youngest and most flexible coal station. 92% equivalent availability factor in 2024; generation up 31% to 7,010 GWh in 2024 vs 5,360 GWh in 2023. Closure signalled by 2040 (brought forward from 2042 in September 2021). ~250 employees. Named in 2024 opposition policy as a candidate nuclear site. |
Tallawarra A | NSW (Yallah, Lake Illawarra) | Natural gas, CCGT | 440 MW (280 MW GT + 160 MW ST) | 100% | 2009 | Australia's most thermally efficient gas-fired plant. High-efficiency upgrade completed February 2025, adding ~40 MW of winter capacity. |
Tallawarra B | NSW (co-located) | Natural gas, OCGT, hydrogen-capable | 320 MW | 100% | June 2024 | Australia's first hydrogen-and-gas-capable power plant with direct emissions offset over its operational life. Fast-start peaking. Combined Tallawarra site capacity 760 MW. |
Newport | VIC (Melbourne) | Natural gas, peaking | 500 MW | 100% (acquired via Ecogen 2018) | 1980 | Peaking/intermediate. Previously held under a tolling contract to 2019 before outright acquisition. |
Jeeralang A & B | VIC (Latrobe Valley) | Natural gas, peaking | ~440–450 MW (fact sheet: 440 MW; company web page: 450 MW) | 100% (acquired via Ecogen 2018) | 1979–1980 | Fast-start peaking. Wooreen BESS is being built alongside it. |
Hallett | SA (Canowie, Mid North) | Natural gas with diesel backup, 12 GT units | 203 MW | 100% | 2001 | Peaking. Fuelled from the Moomba–Adelaide Pipeline System. Built by AGL, acquired 2007. |
Cathedral Rocks Wind Farm | SA (Eyre Peninsula) | Wind | 66 MW total; ~33 MW equity share | 50% | 2005 | The company's only owned renewable generation asset. |
Ballarat Battery Storage | VIC | Lithium-ion BESS | 30 MW / 30 MWh | 100% | 2018 | Among the first grid-scale batteries in Victoria. |
Gannawarra Battery Storage | VIC | Lithium-ion BESS, solar-coupled | 25 MW / 50 MWh | 100% | 2018 | Co-located with the Gannawarra solar farm. |
Yallourn open-cut mine | VIC | Brown coal | n/a | 100% | 1920s | Integrated fuel supply for Yallourn W. |
Pine Dale Coal Mine | NSW | Black coal | n/a | Interest | n/a | Supplies Mount Piper. Yarraboldy Stage 1 extension. |
Lamberts North Ash Repository | NSW | Ash disposal | n/a | 100% | n/a | Mount Piper ash management. |
Marulan Development Site | NSW | Development land | n/a | 100% | n/a | Early-stage generation/storage development site. |
| Project | State | Type | Capacity | Structure | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Wooreen Energy Storage System | VIC (Latrobe Valley, adjacent to Jeeralang) | 4-hour BESS | 350 MW / 1,400 MWh | 50:50 JV with Banpu Energy Australia; A$667 million syndicated loan; ~A$700 million total project; Banpu A$110 million equity | Under construction; CIS Round 1 winner; FID/financial close February 2025; COD 2027. EnergyAustralia builds and will operate under a storage services agreement. Powers ~230,000 homes for four hours. |
Mount Piper Stage 1 BESS | NSW | 4-hour BESS | 250 MW / 1,000 MWh | CIS-supported | FID expected during 2026. Would power up to 320,000 homes and small businesses. |
Hallett BESS | SA | ~4–5 hour BESS | 50 MW / 245 MWh (originally announced 50 MW/200 MWh) | CIS-supported (September 2024) | Construction commenced 1H2026. Will power ~81,000 homes. |
Lake Lyell Pumped Hydro Energy Storage | NSW (Lithgow) | 8-hour PHES | 385 MW (~3,000 MWh) | JV: EDF power solutions Australia 75% / EnergyAustralia 25%; EnergyAustralia retains first rights to offtake and owns community/stakeholder engagement | Declared Critical State Significant Infrastructure (2024); EIA submitted February 2026; FID targeted late 2026 |
Orana BESS | NSW | BESS | 200 MW / 800 MWh | 12-year "virtual toll" offtake with Akaysha Energy (announced July 2024) | Commercial operation from 30 June 2026 |
Kidston Pumped Hydro | QLD | 8-hour PHES | 250 MW / 2,000 MWh | Contracted storage services (Genex project) | Key 2026 project |
Golden Plains Wind Farm | VIC | Wind PPA | 230 MW offtake (Stage 1); Stage 2 10-year PPA with TagEnergy (September 2024) | PPA | 84 MW of offtake contracts commenced in 1H2026 (phase one) |
Darlington Point & Riverina batteries | NSW | BESS offtake | 90 MW combined | Contracted (2022) | Completed 2024 |
"Pompadour" energy system | Not disclosed | Flexible capacity | ~330 MW | Partnership referenced in CLP's 1H2026 disclosure | Unconfirmed / early stage |
Yallourn Energy Security Precinct | VIC | Gas, solar, BESS, data centre co-location | Not specified | Concept; would require co-investment partners | Concept stage — no business case, gas supply or FID; early discussions held with data centre operators |
Tallawarra Lands project | NSW | Land development | n/a | 100% | Ongoing |
| Product / brand | Customer | Description | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|
Standing Offer (residential) | Residential | Regulated default plan; DMO in NSW/SEQ/SA, VDO in Victoria | Regulated reference price |
Standing Offer Business | Small business | Regulated default business plan | Regulated reference price |
Home 365 | Residential | Flagship market offer with 12-month rate certainty positioning | Fixed-rate market offer |
Rate Fix | Residential | Fixed-rate plan | Fixed rate, fixed term |
Flexi plan | Residential | Flexible market offer | Variable market rate |
Solar Max | Residential solar | Enhanced feed-in tariff structure for solar exporters | Market rate + elevated FiT |
Standing Offer Solar Sharer | Residential (Victoria) | Free/discounted midday energy window under Victorian solar-sharing rules | Regulated with zero-cost window |
Business 365 | Small business | Business equivalent of Home 365 | Fixed-rate market offer |
Business Balance | Small business | Balanced-rate business plan | Variable |
Business Rate Fix | Small business | Fixed business rates | Fixed |
Business Demand Plan | Small business | Demand-tariff-structured plan | Demand + usage |
Solar Max Business | Business solar | Business solar export product | Market + FiT |
GreenPower plans | Residential and business | Accredited GreenPower purchase | Premium per kWh |
Green Transport | Business | Fleet electrification/green energy for transport | Contracted |
Go Neutral | Residential and SME | Carbon-offset product launched 2016; opt-in at no additional cost | Discontinued — closed to new residential customers September 2024, phased out for existing customers from 15 March 2025, offsetting ceased June 2025 |
EV Night Boost | Residential EV owners (NSW) | Bespoke overnight EV charging tariff | Time-of-use |
Community Battery Ease | Residential | Access to community-scale storage without buying a home battery | Subscription/access fee |
Virtual Power Plant | Residential battery owners | Aggregated home battery dispatch | Credit/participation payment |
PowerResponse | Residential | Residential demand-response rewards | Event-based credits |
ResponsePro / PowerDown | C&I | Contracted industrial demand response | Availability + activation payments |
Progressive Purchasing | C&I | Structured, staged wholesale purchasing for large loads | Bespoke |
Power Factor Correction | C&I | Network-charge reduction service | Project fee |
Solar panels / batteries / customised solar-battery solutions | Residential, business, C&I | Sales, installation, monitoring, maintenance, finance options | Hardware sale, finance, service contract |
Public EV charging | Residential/driver | Public network access; ultra-fast charging at 7-Eleven sites from 2026 | Per-kWh |
EnergyAustralia NBN | Residential | Broadband resale bundled with energy | Monthly subscription |
Disney+ Standard subscription bundle | Residential | Loyalty bundle | Bundled |
7-Eleven fuel discount (app) | Residential | Loyalty fuel discount via the EnergyAustralia app | Bundled |
EnergyAssist / hardship program | Residential | Hardship and financial-difficulty support, family violence support, life support registration | Concession/assistance |
Major builders / multi-site business | Trade and multi-site | Volume connection and multi-site management | Contracted |
Financial Narrative
Critical caveat
EnergyAustralia does not publish a public income statement, balance sheet or cash flow statement. The only publicly disclosed EnergyAustralia-level financial metrics are EBITDAF, operating earnings/NPATF before fair value movements, fair value movements on forward energy contracts, and customer account numbers. Everything below marked n/d is genuinely not in the public domain. CLP Holdings Group figures are provided as the consolidated proxy, clearly labelled.
EnergyAustralia — disclosed earnings
The third-party revenue estimate of A$6,889.3 million for 2025 is IBISWorld's company profile figure (total revenue including sales and other revenue). It is not a primary source and is not reconciled to CLP's consolidated accounts. It is included for scale calibration only.
CLP Holdings Group — consolidated proxy
Derivations and flags. FY2023 Group operating earnings of HK$10,129 million is derived from the disclosed FY2024 figure of HK$10,949 million and the disclosed +8.1% year-on-year change; it is a derived rather than directly cited figure. FY2021 and FY2022 DPS of HK$3.10 is supported by CLP's 2022 Annual Report statement that the dividend was "maintained at the same level as in 2021"; FY2023 DPS of HK$3.10 is inferred from the FY2024 statement that the dividend "increased to HK$3.15" and is flagged as inferred. FY2024 capital investment of HK$18,850 million is derived from the disclosed FY2025 figure of HK$16.4 billion and the disclosed −13% change; note that CLP explicitly stated the FY2024 base included a one-off Kai Tak headquarters acquisition.
Balance sheet, cash flow and ratios
Every one of these metrics is not publicly disclosed for EnergyAustralia. Any figure a data aggregator supplies for these lines is an estimate or a private-registry extraction, not a company disclosure. The only balance-sheet-adjacent public data points are: (i) Moody's Baa2/Stable issuer rating, implying investment-grade leverage metrics with parent support; (ii) the A$667 million syndicated project loan for Wooreen; and (iii) the historical fact that the 2015 Iona sale materially reduced external debt.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
FY2021 — the pre-crisis baseline (EBITDAF A$486 million). A conventional gentailer year with a first-half skew (1H21 EBITDAF A$363 million), reflecting normal generation availability and pre-crisis wholesale spreads.
FY2022 — the structural inflection (EBITDAF −A$128 million; operating loss HK$5,267 million). This is the single most important year in the company's modern financial history and explains everything that follows. Three forces compounded. First, EnergyAustralia had sold most of its generation forward at prices set before the 2022 global energy shock; when spot prices spiked, it had to settle those contracts at a loss. Second, its physical hedge failed: Yallourn suffered unplanned outages (1H22 availability of just 68%) and Mount Piper received less coal than contracted. Third, the accounting consequence — mark-to-market on forward contracts — drove a −A$2,031 million pre-tax fair value hit at the half, moderating to −A$774 million for the full year as forward prices eased. Note the perverse detail CLP disclosed: the retail business actually grew earnings and customers in 2022 because forward purchasing had locked in cheap supply; the loss was entirely a wholesale/generation phenomenon. The half-year mark-to-market position on forward electricity sales was −A$726 million at 31 December 2022.
FY2023 — the repair year (EBITDAF A$444 million; operating loss HK$182 million). Generation availability recovered (Yallourn 1H availability 77% versus 68%), the mark-to-market position swung to +A$6 million by 30 June 2023, and EBITDAF recovered to A$444 million. But the company still posted a net loss (NPATF −A$35 million) because higher interest costs and depreciation absorbed the operating recovery. Moody's affirmed Baa2/Stable in December 2023.
FY2024 — the peak (EBITDAF A$735 million; NPATF A$115 million; operating earnings HK$591 million). The best year in the window. Drivers: Mount Piper generation up 31% to 7,010 GWh with a 92% equivalent availability factor; disciplined outage scheduling into a volatile wholesale market; Tallawarra B entering commercial operation in June; the Victorian capped coal price of A$125/tonne benefiting 1H; and — critically — the roll-off of out-of-the-money forward contracts into a rising forward price environment, which CLP explicitly identified as a one-time tailwind. Retail was already deteriorating: CLP flagged "intensified competition in the retail energy market" even in the good year.
FY2025 — the divergence (EBITDAF A$690 million, −6%; operating earnings HK$85 million, −85.6%). The gap between the EBITDAF decline (−6%) and the operating earnings collapse (−86%) is the analytical crux of this dossier. EBITDAF held up because wholesale performed — flexible gas captured value during high-demand periods and both Mount Piper and Yallourn completed major maintenance. Below the EBITDAF line, three things went wrong simultaneously: (i) retail margin compression amid intense competition and cost-of-living pressure, with customer accounts falling 83,000 to 2.3 million; (ii) rising transformation costs as the multi-year technology and operating-model overhaul (delivered in partnership with Tata Consultancy Services) ramped; and (iii) higher depreciation, the arithmetic consequence of Tallawarra B and the Tallawarra A upgrade entering service. CLP also recognised a HK$345 million Yallourn closure redundancy provision and booked a HK$390 million positive one-off from the Wooreen 50% Banpu JV formation. Fair value movements were less favourable than in 2024.
1H2026 — early stabilisation (EBITDAF A$376 million, +4%; operating earnings A$40 million / HK$223 million, +34%). The first evidence that the retail repricing and recontracting programme is working: CLP attributed the improvement to "improved retail margins from re-pricing and recontracting" offsetting softer customer demand. Yallourn output increased after major outage works across all four units including a Unit 2 turbine replacement returned to service in February. The notable negative: Mount Piper and the gas fleet saw commercial utilisation decline as new peaking capacity and battery storage entered the market — management characterised this explicitly as increased competition, not asset unreliability. That is the single most important forward-looking datapoint in the 1H2026 release, because it says the merchant value of dispatchable thermal is being eroded by exactly the asset class EnergyAustralia is itself building.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Internal business | Contents | Products/services |
|---|---|---|
Energy / Wholesale | Owned thermal generation (Yallourn, Mount Piper, Tallawarra A & B, Newport, Jeeralang, Hallett), Yallourn coal mine, Pine Dale coal mine, Cathedral Rocks wind interest, Ballarat and Gannawarra BESS, trading and origination, PPAs and storage tolls | Spot and contract electricity sales, environmental certificates, capacity and firming, storage services |
Customer | Residential, small business and C&I retail; distributed energy; loyalty and bundled products | Electricity and gas plans, solar and batteries, VPP, EV tariffs and charging, NBN, demand response |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EnergyAustralia EBITDAF (A$ M) | 486 | -128 | 444 | 735 | 690 |
EnergyAustralia operating earnings before fair value movements (HK$ M) | n/d | -5267 | -182 | 591 | 85 |
EnergyAustralia NPATF / operating earnings (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | -35 | 115 | 58 |
Retail customer accounts (millions) | n/d | 2.45 | n/d | 2.38 | 2.30 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | 1H2021 | 1H2022 | 1H2023 | 1H2024 | 1H2025 | 1H2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EBITDAF (A$ M) | 363 | 26 | 91 | 432 | 361 | 376 |
NPATF / operating earnings (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | -112 | 119 | 34 | 40 |
Operating earnings (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 167 | 223 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EBITDAF YoY change (A$ M) | n/d | -614 | 572 | 291 | -45 |
EBITDAF YoY change (%) | n/d | -126.3 | 446.9 | 65.5 | -6.1 |
Operating earnings YoY change (%, HK$ basis) | n/d | n/d | 96.5 | n/a | -85.6 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Revenue, third-party estimate (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 6889 |
Gross profit (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
EBITDAF (A$ M) | 486 | -128 | 444 | 735 | 690 |
Operating income (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Pre-tax income (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
NPATF / operating earnings after tax, before fair value (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | -35 | 115 | 58 |
Operating earnings before fair value (HK$ M) | n/d | -5267 | -182 | 591 | 85 |
Fair value movements on forward energy contracts, pre-tax (A$ M) | n/d | -774 | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Mark-to-market position on forward electricity sales at period end (A$ M) | n/d | -726 | 6 | n/d | n/d |
EPS (basic/diluted) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Dividends per share (A$) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Group revenue (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | 90957 | 88018 |
Group EBITDAF (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 25700 |
Group operating earnings before fair value movements (HK$ M) | 9517 | 4623 | 10129 | 10949 | 10685 |
Group total earnings (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | 11742 | 10468 |
Group EPS (HK$) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 4.14 |
Group dividends per share (HK$) | 3.10 | 3.10 | 3.10 | 3.15 | 3.20 |
Group capital investment (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | 18850 | 16400 |
Group net debt at year end (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 57900 |
Group net debt / total capital (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 33.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Cash and equivalents (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Total debt, short term (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Total debt, long term (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net debt (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Total equity (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Goodwill and intangibles (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Working capital (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Operating cash flow (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Capex (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Free cash flow (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Dividends paid to parent (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Buybacks (A$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
ROE (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
ROA (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
ROIC (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Current ratio (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Debt / equity (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net debt / EBITDAF (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Interest coverage (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Asset turnover (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Australia — share of total revenue (%) | 100 | 100 | 100 |
Americas — share of total revenue (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
EMEA — share of total revenue (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
APAC excluding Australia — share of total revenue (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Geographic Revenue
| Jurisdiction | Generation exposure | Retail exposure | Direction of travel |
|---|---|---|---|
Victoria | Yallourn (1,480 MW), Newport (500 MW), Jeeralang (~445 MW), Ballarat and Gannawarra BESS, Wooreen under construction | Full retail; Victorian Default Offer applies | Structurally declining then rebuilding. Yallourn's mid-2028 exit removes the largest single earnings asset. Wooreen (2027) and the Yallourn Energy Security Precinct concept are the intended replacements. Victoria's Solar Sharer and VDO regime compress retail margin. |
New South Wales | Mount Piper (1,400 MW), Tallawarra A+B (760 MW), Orana BESS toll (200 MW), Mt Piper BESS and Lake Lyell PHES in pipeline | Full retail; DMO applies | The growth jurisdiction. Most of the firming pipeline sits here. Mount Piper's 2040 horizon gives a longer runway than Yallourn. |
South Australia | Hallett (203 MW), Cathedral Rocks (33 MW equity), Hallett BESS under construction | Full retail; DMO applies | Small but strategically clean. SA's high renewable penetration makes peaking and storage economics attractive. |
Queensland | None owned; Kidston PHES storage services contracted | Retail in South East Queensland | Asset-light retail plus contracted storage. |
ACT | None | Retail | Marginal. Limited retail competition; ActewAGL is the primary regional retailer. |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Share price, EnergyAustralia (A$) | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
P/E, EnergyAustralia (x) | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
EV/EBITDA, EnergyAustralia (x) | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Dividends per share, EnergyAustralia (A$) | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
CLP dividends per share (HK$) | 3.10 | 3.10 | 3.10 | 3.15 | 3.20 |
CLP EPS (HK$) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 4.14 |
CLP total earnings (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | 11742 | 10468 |
CLP net debt at year end (HK$ M) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 57900 |
CLP net debt / total capital (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 33.0 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Baa2 (issuer, local and foreign currency) | Stable | Assigned 16 December 2022; affirmed at annual review December 2023 | Inaugural rating. Rated at EnergyAustralia Pty / EnergyAustralia Holdings level |
S&P Global Ratings | Withdrawn | — | 19 December 2022 | Withdrawn at the issuer's request. Historical path: BB+ → BBB (positive) in 2016 following the Iona divestment → BBB+ before withdrawal |
Fitch | Not rated | — | — | No public rating |
CLP Holdings (parent) | S&P ratings reaffirmed as stable at 1H2026 | Stable | 2026 | Supports subsidiary funding cost |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
EnergyAustralia issues no guidance. Management's forward statements are directional and project-specific:
- Wooreen (350 MW/1,400 MWh) on track for commercial operations in 2027
- Mount Piper Stage 1 BESS (250 MW/1,000 MWh) FID anticipated in 2026
- Lake Lyell PHES (385 MW / 8 hours) FID targeted late 2026, EIA submitted February 2026
- Hallett BESS (50 MW/245 MWh) in construction
- Kidston pumped hydro (250 MW/2,000 MWh) among key 2026 projects
- Yallourn "remains on track for its scheduled retirement in 2028"
- Multi-year customer transformation targeting "sustainable efficiency improvements and long-term growth"
- CLP-level framing: EnergyAustralia is "moving ahead with a customer transformation programme with a view to enhancing operational efficiency and customer experience"
Consensus expectations
No consensus exists at subsidiary level. At the parent, CLP's FY2025 result missed prior-year comparatives across operating earnings (−2.4%), total earnings (−10.8%) and revenue (−3.2%), with Australia identified as the primary cause. The 1H2026 result showed group earnings up 10% with EnergyAustralia's contribution up 34% to HK$223 million.
Three bull-case arguments
1. The retail turn is already visible in the data, and the operating leverage is enormous. FY2025 operating earnings of HK$85 million represent a cyclical trough on a business generating A$690 million of EBITDAF. In 1H2026, operating earnings rose 34% to HK$223 million on "improved retail margins from re-pricing and recontracting." Because the collapse from HK$591 million to HK$85 million was driven by margin, transformation cost and depreciation rather than by volume destruction (accounts fell only 3.5%), a normalised retail margin plus the completion of the TCS transformation could restore several hundred million HK dollars of earnings without any change in the asset base. The FY2024 result of HK$591 million is a demonstrated, recent proof point of what this portfolio earns in a normal year.
2. The firming pipeline is contracted, financed and arrives precisely into the coal-exit gap. Wooreen (2027), Mount Piper BESS (FID 2026), Hallett BESS (in construction), Orana (live June 2026) and Lake Lyell (FID late 2026) collectively represent well over 1 GW of firm capacity. Critically, three of these carry Capacity Investment Scheme revenue support and two — Wooreen and Lake Lyell — are being delivered with partner capital (Banpu at 50%, EDF at 75%), meaning EnergyAustralia captures dispatch economics on a fraction of the equity cheque. Orana is contracted as a 12-year virtual toll requiring no capex at all. This is a materially higher-return structure than owning outright.
3. Yallourn has terminal value the market is not pricing. The Yallourn Energy Security Precinct concept — gas, solar, batteries and data centre co-location on a site with existing transmission, water and grid connection — sits on an asset most observers treat as a liability. Management has held early discussions with data centre operators and is "quite optimistic." Grid-connected industrial land with water and transmission is the scarcest input in the Australian energy transition. Management's own framing is instructive: "the site's been running for 100 years, and we'd love to see it run in some capacity for another 100 years."
Three bear-case arguments
1. The peaking thesis is being invalidated in real time, by the company's own disclosure. EnergyAustralia's entire investment case rests on dispatchable capacity being scarce and valuable as coal exits. But in 1H2026 management disclosed that Mount Piper and gas fleet "commercial utilisation declined as new peaking capacity and battery storage entered the market" — and explicitly attributed this to competition, not reliability. If merchant BESS is already eroding thermal peaking margins in 2026, before Eraring and Yallourn have even closed, the terminal value of the gas fleet is materially lower than the strategy assumes, and Wooreen and Mount Piper BESS will be arriving into an already-crowded market rather than a scarce one.
2. The Yallourn cliff arrives before the replacement. Mid-2028 removes 1,480 MW — roughly a third of owned capacity and Victoria's second-largest station, supplying ~15% of the state's electricity. Against this, Wooreen (350 MW, 4 hours) is the only large replacement operating by then; Mount Piper BESS and Lake Lyell are FID-stage. Wooreen's energy contribution — 1,400 MWh — is a rounding error against Yallourn's ~7.8 TWh of annual output. The company is not replacing energy; it is replacing capacity, which is a different and much smaller revenue line. A A$345 million-equivalent closure provision is already recognised, and the mine rehabilitation liability is not publicly quantified.
3. The capital structure cannot fund the ambition, and the consolidation window has closed. EnergyAustralia has been publicly searching for a "long-term committed partner" since at least June 2023 — Macquarie, then Alinta — without concluding a transaction. Sembcorp's A$6.5 billion acquisition of Alinta in December 2025 removed the most logical partner and created a better-capitalised competitor with a 10.4 GW pipeline against EnergyAustralia's 3 GW ambition. Commentary suggests regulators were unlikely to approve a merger of two large foreign-owned utilities, which structurally narrows the option set. Meanwhile the parent cut capital investment 13% in FY2025, saw net debt rise to HK$62.2 billion by mid-2026, and raised its dividend anyway. Australia is competing for a shrinking pool of parent capital while needing more than A$5 billion of transition investment.
Catalysts and monitorables — next 12 months
Analyst verdict
EnergyAustralia is a business whose reported earnings understate its franchise and whose strategy overstates its capacity to fund it.
The FY2025 result — EBITDAF of A$690 million against operating earnings of just HK$85 million — is the whole story in one line. A 6% EBITDAF decline produced an 86% earnings collapse because retail margin, transformation costs and new-asset depreciation all hit below the EBITDAF line simultaneously. Two of those three are transitory. The 1H2026 result, with operating earnings up 34% on retail repricing, is early confirmation. On a normalised basis this is a business that earns something closer to the HK$591 million it delivered in FY2024, and the path back is credible.
The problem is not the next two years; it is 2028 onwards. Yallourn's mid-2028 closure removes a third of owned capacity and roughly 7.8 TWh of annual generation, and the announced replacement pipeline replaces capacity, not energy — Wooreen's 1,400 MWh is a firming asset, not a baseload substitute. Compounding this, the company's own 1H2026 disclosure concedes that merchant batteries and new peakers are already eroding the utilisation of its existing gas and coal fleet. The scarcity premium the entire strategy is underwritten on is arriving later and smaller than assumed.
Management's response — partner-funded projects, virtual tolls, CIS contracts — is intelligent capital allocation under constraint, and materially better than a balance-sheet-funded build would have been. But it is a response to constraint, not a choice. With Alinta gone to Sembcorp, the consolidation route is closed and the parent is cutting capex while raising its dividend.
Verdict: operationally improving, strategically boxed in. The realistic best outcome is a platform partner transaction in 2026–27 that recapitalises the transition. Absent that, EnergyAustralia manages a competent decline rather than executing a transformation.
SOURCES
Primary: CLP Holdings Limited Annual Results Announcements (FY2022, FY2024, FY2025), 2022 and 2024 Annual Reports, 2025 Interim Report, 2025 Annual Results Presentation, H2 FY2025 and H1 FY2026 earnings call transcripts (HKEX filings). EnergyAustralia media releases (FY2021 through 1H2026 results releases; Go Neutral litigation statement; Banpu and EDF partnership releases; Climate Transition Action Plans; leadership announcements). EnergyAustralia corporate website (Our Leaders, Our Business, Generating Energy, New Energy Projects, Sustainability). EnergyAustralia fact sheet and Yallourn Social and Environmental Performance Summaries (2023, 2024).
Regulatory: ACCC media release and Federal Court orders (26 September 2024); ACCC Inquiry into the National Electricity Market reports (December 2024, August 2025, December 2025); AER State of the Energy Market 2025 and Annual Retail Market Reports 2023–24 and 2024–25; Essential Services Commission Victoria penalty notice (November 2025); WorkSafe Victoria enforcement notice (March 2025); EPA Victoria Environment Improvement Notice (2023).
Legal: Parents for Climate Ltd v EnergyAustralia, Federal Court of Australia NSD833/2023 — joint settlement statement (19 May 2025), Equity Generation Lawyers case record, and legal-profession commentary.
Ratings: Moody's Ratings (inaugural Baa2 assignment, 16 December 2022; December 2023 annual review); S&P Global Ratings (withdrawal, December 2022).
Secondary: Sembcorp Industries / Chow Tai Fook Enterprises transaction disclosures (December 2025); Energy-Storage.News, pv magazine Australia, Energy Global, Utility Magazine, Argus Media, SCMP, ABC News, CHOICE, Latrobe Valley Express, Capital Brief, Investing.com; IBISWorld company profiles (EnergyAustralia Holdings Limited, Pioneer Sail Holdings Pty Limited) — flagged as third-party estimates, not company disclosures.
Data integrity note: Every figure in this dossier carries a fiscal year and currency. Figures marked n/d are not publicly disclosed and have not been estimated. Two derived figures (CLP FY2023 operating earnings, CLP FY2024 capital investment) are explicitly identified as derived from disclosed percentage changes. One inferred figure (CLP FY2023 DPS) is explicitly identified as inferred. No figure in this dossier has been estimated where a primary source was unavailable.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Appointed | Prior roles | Education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Mark Collette | Managing Director | 1 July 2021 (with company since 2003) | Chief Customer Officer (May 2019–June 2021); led Energy (generation and trading) July 2015–May 2019; policy, sustainability and strategy roles; previously L.E.K. Consulting (Australia, Thailand, UK) | BE (Hons), BBus, GradDip, AICD |
Ian Brooksbank | Chief Financial Officer | October 2025 | CEO, Hydro Tasmania (2022–2024); CFO, Hydro Tasmania (2019–2021); ~14 years at AGL in senior finance and operational roles including Torrens Island Power Station and AGL Macquarie; Blue NRG, Country Energy, Cement Australia | BBus (Charles Sturt), MAcc (UNE), MAICD, CA ANZ |
Sue Elliott | Chief Operating Officer (appointed Operations and Projects Executive September 2023; joined 2020) | September 2023 | Head of Operations Excellence, EnergyAustralia; 25 years at ExxonMobil / Esso Australia — SSHE and Regulatory Manager, Gippsland Basin Optimisation Manager, Offshore Oil Asset Manager | BE Mechanical (Adelaide), MBA (Melbourne) |
Kate Gibson | Chief Customer Officer | July 2024 (Chief Strategy Officer from December 2023) | ANZ Bank 14 years — Managing Director Consumer Banking, GM Small Business Banking; over a decade at Boston Consulting Group | BSc (Melbourne), MBA (Harvard), GAICD |
Daniel Nugent | Trading & Transition Executive | (with company since 2010) | Head of Portfolio Development, EnergyAustralia; Corporate Finance, KPMG | BCom, BA (Melbourne), GAICD |
Eglantine Etiemble | Chief Information Officer | 11 March 2026 | Group CTO, PEXA; senior leadership at DuluxGroup and O-I Glass; ranked #3 in CIO50 Awards 2023; NED of the Tech Council of Australia | International Bachelor in Business, Finance (Oxford Brookes / Excelia La Rochelle), GAICD |
Anna Mealings | Chief People Officer | May 2023 | Chief People Officer, XP Power PLC (FTSE 250); Global People Director, Defence, Rolls-Royce; NED of an NHS Trust | MCom (Auckland), BCom, BA |
Nicole McKechnie | Chief Corporate Affairs and Sustainability Officer | November 2023 | Telstra 10+ years — led communications, Chief of Staff to the CEO; communications leadership at Victoria Police and Commonwealth Government | MPA (Monash) |
Malcolm Haack | Chief Legal Officer | February 2025 | Group General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer, Orica (ASX100); senior roles at AECOM and Louis Berger across Australia, UAE and UK; MinterEllison, Telstra, BHP | LLB (Bond) |
| Name | Role | Appointed | Independence | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Bob Grant | Chair | Director 1 August 2020; Chair from 1 January 2026 | Independent NED | Chair, Nomination, People and Remuneration Committee (from 29 April 2026); formerly Chair of Audit and Risk and Chair of Regulatory Compliance |
Tung Keung (T.K.) Chiang | Deputy Chair | 1 October 2023 | Non-independent (CEO of CLP Holdings) | Nomination, People and Remuneration Committee |
Mark Collette | Managing Director | 1 July 2021 | Executive | — |
Andrew Brandler | Non-executive Director | 19 August 2005 | Non-independent (Vice-Chairman of CLP Holdings; former CLP Group MD/CEO 2000–2013) | — |
David Simmonds | Non-executive Director | 1 April 2024 | Non-independent (CLP Chief Strategy, Sustainability and Governance Officer) | Chair, Sustainability Committee; Nomination, People and Remuneration; Regulatory Compliance |
Alexandre (Alex) Keisser | Non-executive Director | 1 October 2023 | Non-independent (CFO of CLP Holdings) | Audit and Risk Committee |
Carlo Wolters | Non-executive Director | 1 January 2026 | Non-independent (Chief Operating Officer of CLP; joined CLP 2025 from CEO of N.V. EPZ) | Sustainability Committee |
David Robinson | Independent Non-executive Director | 5 December 2022 | Independent | Chair, Regulatory Compliance Committee; Sustainability; Audit and Risk |
Julie Stanley | Independent Non-executive Director | 1 February 2026 | Independent | Chair, Audit and Risk Committee; Regulatory Compliance |
| Holder | Stake |
|---|---|
CLP Holdings Limited (indirect, wholly owned) | 100% |
Institutional holders | None — no public float |
Insider ownership | None disclosed |
Competitive Landscape
| # | Competitor | Ownership | Position | Scale indicators |
|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | AGL Energy | ASX-listed (AGL) | Largest Australian gentailer by customer accounts; owns Loy Yang A, Bayswater | ~4 million customer accounts; largest thermal fleet in the NEM |
2 | Origin Energy | ASX-listed (ORG) | Second-largest gentailer; owns Eraring (NSW), APLNG interest, Octopus Energy and Kraken stakes | FY26 Energy Markets underlying EBITDA guidance A$1,550–1,750 million; Octopus/Kraken separation targeted mid-2026 |
3 | Alinta Energy | Sembcorp Industries (acquired Dec 2025 from Chow Tai Fook Enterprises, A$6.5 billion EV) | The closest structural comparator to EnergyAustralia — foreign-owned integrated gentailer | ~1.1 million customers; 3.4 GW installed and contracted; 10.4 GW development pipeline; 93% dispatchable availability; FY2025 revenue ~A$5.07–5.22 billion; ~1,182–1,350 employees |
4 | Snowy Hydro (Red Energy / Lumo Energy) | Commonwealth-owned | Large hydro and gas generator with a Tier 2 retail front-end that behaves like a Tier 1 | Snowy 2.0 pumped hydro under construction — directly competitive with Lake Lyell and Kidston |
5 | Shell Energy Australia (incl. Powershop) | Shell plc | C&I-weighted retailer with gas and generation | Strong in commercial and industrial |
6 | ENGIE Australia (incl. Simply Energy) | ENGIE SA | Retail plus renewables and batteries; Hazelwood legacy exited | Notable: EnergyAustralia board member Alex Keisser is a former CEO of ENGIE in Australia |
7 | Delta Electricity | Sev.en Global Investments | Vales Point coal generation | Merchant thermal competitor in NSW |
8 | Stanwell Corporation | Queensland Government | Queensland's largest generator | State-backed competitor in QLD wholesale |
9 | CS Energy | Queensland Government | Queensland generator and retailer | State-backed |
10 | Iberdrola Australia | Iberdrola SA | Renewables plus C&I retail | Growing renewable-led competitor |
11 | Akaysha Energy | BlackRock | Pure-play grid-scale storage developer | Simultaneously a partner (Orana toll) and a competitor — the clearest illustration of the merchant-battery threat to thermal peaking margins |
12 | Neoen, Squadron, Tilt Renewables, ACCIONA, Amber, OVO Energy, Momentum | Various | Tier 2 retailers and renewable developers | Collectively the source of the churn taking EnergyAustralia's accounts down |
| Metric | EnergyAustralia | AGL Energy | Origin Energy | Alinta Energy (Sembcorp) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Ownership | CLP Holdings (100%) | ASX-listed | ASX-listed | Sembcorp Industries (from Dec 2025) |
FY2025 revenue (A$ M) | 6889 (third-party estimate) | n/d | n/d | 5070 (third-party estimate) |
FY2025 EBITDAF / segment EBITDA (A$ M) | 690 | n/d | n/d | n/d |
FY2026 Energy Markets EBITDA guidance (A$ M) | Not guided | n/d | 1550 to 1750 | Not guided |
Retail customer accounts (millions) | 2.30 | n/d | n/d | 1.10 |
Installed/contracted generation (GW) | 4.7 owned | n/d | n/d | 3.4 |
Renewable development pipeline (GW) | 3.0 target by 2030 | n/d | n/d | 10.4 |
Coal closure horizon | Yallourn mid-2028; Mount Piper by 2040 | Loy Yang A and Bayswater | Eraring | Loy Yang B |
R&D intensity | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Recent Developments
--



