GoBrands Inc Overview
GoBrands, Inc., operating as Gopuff, is the last independently scaled, vertically integrated instant-commerce operator in the United States. Unlike marketplace intermediaries that dispatch couriers to third-party stores, Gopuff owns its inventory, leases and operates its own micro-fulfillment centers (MFCs), and controls the last mile through a contracted driver network — a first-party model that makes it structurally closer to a distributed convenience-store chain with an app than to a delivery platform. After a violent boom-and-bust cycle between 2020 and 2024 — a peak implied valuation near $40 billion, four rounds of layoffs, the closure of 76 warehouses, and full exits from Spain, France and Luxembourg — the company retrenched to the U.S. and U.K., cut its cost base, and pivoted toward higher-margin adjacencies: retail media, private label, and fulfillment-as-a-service. A $250 million round in November 2025 at an $8.5 billion post-money valuation, alongside the arrival of a capital-markets CFO and Howard Schultz on the board, signals a company being positioned, deliberately, for an eventual public listing.
Caveats: The 2021 figure (~10,000) comes from a founder interview at the UK launch (Notion, Nov 2021); ~15,000 appears in several aggregator profiles for the 2022 peak; ~5,000 is the figure carried on the company's Wikipedia infobox; ~3,700 is reported by LeadIQ (June 2026) and corroborated by FNEX (July 2026) and RocketReach (3,658). These are not company-reported figures and are mutually inconsistent in their definitional scope — in particular, it is unclear whether any of them include the tens of thousands of independent-contractor "delivery partners," the BevMo!/Liquor Barn retail store staff, or only salaried corporate and micro-fulfillment-center employees. Treat the direction of travel (sharp reduction from a 2021–22 peak) as reliable; treat the absolute levels as indicative only.
The company's own description
Gopuff's newsroom "About" page describes the company as follows: it presents itself as the leading Instant Commerce platform, delivering thousands of everyday products in as fast as 15 minutes, storing household essentials, groceries, over-the-counter medication and other categories in hundreds of micro-fulfillment centers and omnichannel retail stores across the U.S. and U.K., and it emphasises that its vertically integrated platform is what produces a consistently fast and seamless customer experience. The boilerplate appended to its 2026 press releases states the company offers more than 5,000 products delivered in as fast as 15 minutes, operates its own micro-fulfillment centers, and serves millions of customers across the U.S. and U.K. (Gopuff/Business Wire boilerplate, 22 April 2026 and 18 August 2026).
Independent characterisation
Gopuff is best understood not as a delivery company but as a digitally native, hyper-local wholesale-retail operator. Three structural features distinguish it:
First-party inventory ownership. Gopuff buys goods, takes title, holds them on its own balance sheet in leased MFCs, and resells them to consumers. Its revenue is therefore gross merchandise revenue, not the net take-rate that DoorDash, Uber Eats or Instacart book on third-party transactions. This makes headline revenue comparisons with marketplace peers structurally meaningless: a dollar of Gopuff revenue and a dollar of DoorDash revenue are not the same economic object. It also means Gopuff carries inventory risk, shrinkage risk and working-capital intensity that pure marketplaces do not — but captures full retail gross margin rather than a 15–30% commission.
Owned fulfillment, contracted last mile. MFCs are staffed by W-2 employees; delivery is performed by independent contractors ("delivery partners"). This hybrid is the single largest source of the company's legal and regulatory exposure (see Sections 18–19). The company has argued in the DC litigation that its model "empowers residents to earn on their own terms — whether that's as independent contractors or employees in our micro-fulfillment centers or headquarters."
Flat-fee, non-surge pricing. Gopuff has historically charged a single flat delivery fee rather than distance- or demand-variable pricing. The fee has escalated materially over time: $1.95 at the time of the BevMo! acquisition (Grocery Dive, Nov 2020), $2.95 in a later company boilerplate (Comparably archive), and $3.95 as the stated starting fee in September 2026 (CouponFollow, 5 Sep 2026). The company has not confirmed the current fee schedule directly; treat the escalation as directionally real and the specific 2026 figure as third-party sourced.
Revenue model composition
Gopuff does not disclose a revenue mix. Based on its public product and partnership announcements, revenue is generated across at least six identifiable streams:
The strategic significance of the advertising line is disproportionate to any disclosed figure. Bloomberg reported in July 2022 that, like Instacart and DoorDash, Gopuff intended to lean on advertising as a higher-margin revenue stream as part of its route to profitability. Retail media is the classic margin-rescue mechanism for thin-gross-margin commerce operators, and Gopuff's first-party data — every basket, every substitution, every time-of-day signal — is unusually clean because there is no intermediating retailer.
Value chain position and customer types
Gopuff occupies the position normally held by the convenience-store chain: it buys from CPG manufacturers and distributors, warehouses regionally and locally, and sells to end consumers at retail. It has progressively integrated backwards into product creation (private label: Basically, Basically Premium, Crave Shoppe) and forwards into media and logistics services.
- Primary customer: urban and suburban consumers in the U.S. and U.K., skewing young. Business of Apps estimated ~1.8 million active shoppers in 2023, almost entirely U.S.-based, against 20 million cumulative app downloads — an estimate, not a company figure.
- Secondary customer: CPG brands and advertisers purchasing on-platform media, sampling and product-launch access.
- Tertiary customer: brands and retailers buying fulfillment capacity through Powered by Gopuff, and institutional partners (historically Hyatt, Graduate Hotels, The O2 arena in London).
End-markets served
Convenience retail; grocery and staples; beer/wine/spirits retail (a licence-gated, state-by-state market); over-the-counter health and personal care (extended in Nov 2025 to FSA/HSA payment acceptance); pet supplies; household and cleaning; baby; consumer electronics accessories; prepared and fresh food; and retail media/advertising.
Strategy
Stated strategy
Gopuff publishes no annual report and holds no investor day, so there is no verbatim strategy section to quote. The nearest equivalents are the company's own framing in the November 2025 funding release and the September 2025 "For the Doers" ethos post.
The strategic themes the company itself asserts are: vertical integration as the source of durable advantage; instant commerce leadership in the U.S. and U.K.; speed, reliability and affordability as the three competitive pillars (explicitly stated in the April 2026 Schultz release); and a mission to transform the future of shopping. The stated deployment priorities for the November 2025 capital are AI, customer experience, and infrastructure.
Gola's own framing at the raise — "We're back on offense, and we're just getting started" — is the clearest public statement of the strategic phase change from defence to expansion.
Strategic initiatives, last 24 months (September 2024 – September 2026)
Sustainability and ESG commitments
Responsible alcohol delivery is the one substantive, documented commitment: on 25 June 2024 Gopuff partnered with Responsibility.org to launch Responsible Alcohol Delivery Principles. Given the company's regulatory history around alcohol sales to minors, this is a material compliance initiative rather than a reputational gesture.
Other documented social initiatives: the "Put Me On" small-business accelerator for underrepresented entrepreneurs (Sep 2021); the White House vaccination-access partnership across U.S. community colleges and universities (Jun 2021); delivery-partner benefits programmes including Robinhood retirement tools (Feb 2024), FUTURE Health premium healthcare membership (Aug 2024) and Openbay car care (Sep 2024); and the frontline equity ownership programme (Sep 2022).
No emissions target, no science-based target, no CDP disclosure, no published sustainability report and no diversity metrics have been located.
Medium-term financial targets and guidance
None issued. As a private company Gopuff provides no guidance. The only forward-looking financial statements on record are qualitative claims of record revenue and contribution profit (Nov 2025) and, historically, a Spanish-market plan to reach profitability by 2026 on €15M of investment (reported July 2022) which was abandoned within weeks when the market was closed.
Products & Services
Core consumer platform
Gopuff app and web storefront. iOS, Android and web. The company's 2026 boilerplate states more than 5,000 products delivered in as fast as 15 minutes. Assortment spans, per the company's own category taxonomy and third-party category listings: snacks (gummy candies, chocolate, crunchy snacks, cookies); ice cream (branded pints including Ben & Jerry's, Talenti, Blue Bunny, Nestlé Toll House); drinks (soda, bottled water, sports drinks, energy drinks); alcohol in licensed markets (beer, wine, spirits, hard seltzer, tequila, vodka, champagne); fresh groceries; frozen; quick meals; baby essentials; pet supplies (wet food, treats); home and cleaning (toilet paper, batteries, ice bags, cleaning supplies); health and personal care including OTC medication; and consumer electronics accessories including chargers and batteries. Target customer: urban/suburban consumer, impulse and replenishment occasions, heavily late-night weighted. Pricing model: retail product price plus flat delivery fee; delivery fee reported at $1.95 (2020) rising to a reported $3.95 (2026). Alcohol orders historically carried an additional fee up to $2.
FAM membership. Subscription granting free delivery and access to member pricing. Historic pricing $5.95/month (Grocery Dive, 2020). Current pricing not confirmed by the company.
Student FAM. Launched 17 Sep 2023 at 50% off standard membership for verified college students — a direct return to the founders' original campus customer base.
FAM20. Launched 2 Apr 2024: a 20-minute delivery promise for members. A service-level guarantee, not a separate product; strategically it converts speed from a marketing claim into a contractual expectation.
GoGroup. Launched 7 Feb 2025: group-ordering functionality, timed for the Super Bowl. Targets the multi-person party occasion, which raises average basket value.
Bulk shopping. Launched 5 May 2025, explicitly framed by the company as a response to economic uncertainty driving demand for value — a defensive assortment move into larger pack sizes at lower unit cost.
FSA/HSA payments. Launched 19 Nov 2025. Allows tax-advantaged health accounts to be used for eligible health essentials. Strategically this is a margin-accretive category unlock: FSA/HSA eligibility pulls higher-ticket health items into the basket and creates a use case with no marketplace competitor parity at the time of launch.
Go — AI personal shopping agent. Launched 3 June 2026 with SpaceXAI, built on Grok text, audio and image models. Per xAI's own description (9 June 2026), Go combines Grok's reasoning, voice and image generation with Gopuff's 13 years of demand intelligence from hundreds of millions of orders, and draws real-time signals from X and the web to anticipate needs and fulfil them from the MFC network. This is the single most consequential product launch in the company's recent history: it repositions Gopuff from a search-and-browse storefront to a predictive agent, and it is the clearest expression of the "AI implementation" spending priority attached to the November 2025 raise.
Recipe Hub. Launched 30 Sep 2024 — content-to-cart, converting meal inspiration into baskets.
The Bakery. Launched 15 Apr 2025 with an exclusive Magnolia Bakery collaboration — a curated fresh-baked category storefront.
Gopuff Kitchen / prepared food. Historic. Includes the BurgerFi nationwide pilot expansion (7 Jul 2022) and the TRUFF pizza collaboration (Oct 2021). Current scale not disclosed.
Starbucks delivery programme. Pilot from Philadelphia MFCs (3 Oct 2023); expanded 21 May 2025 with a free-coffee promotion. Gopuff brews the beverages in its own warehouses and delivers them hot — an unusual insourcing of food preparation into a fulfillment asset, and a notable precursor to Howard Schultz joining the board eleven months later.
Private label portfolio
Portfolio performance disclosed 18 Aug 2026: private label grew 20% year-to-date in 2026 and now appears in nearly one in five Gopuff orders. The company stated that sales of fall-flavoured products rose 19.4% year-over-year in the prior autumn, and that it used its own ordering and search data to design the seasonal assortment. Jillian Jensen is general manager of private-label merchandising.
Private label is the highest-leverage margin instrument available to a first-party retailer: it converts a wholesale-margin dollar into a manufacturer-margin dollar. A 20% growth rate against a fixed store network is, in retail terms, a pure mix-margin gain.
Celebrity and collaboration brands
This is a systematic, repeatable exclusivity engine, not incidental marketing. Each collaboration produces a SKU available nowhere else, which is the only durable assortment differentiator available to a convenience retailer whose core catalogue is otherwise commoditised.
B2B and platform products
Gopuff Ads. In-house retail media network. Milestones: launched 2021; first retail media network to use the full capabilities of CitrusAd powered by Epsilon (17 Aug 2022); new capabilities (1 Jun 2023); UK expansion (30 Aug 2023); expanded purchase-journey capabilities (25 Sep 2024); fully in-housed platform (25 Jul 2024); Insight Cloud launched with Seek and Koddi (7 Aug 2025) giving brands end-to-end visibility across the Gopuff ecosystem; Disney Advertising in-stream shoppable integration (28 Jul 2025).
Powered by Gopuff. Launched 15 Apr 2024. Brands fulfil instant delivery from their own e-commerce sites using Gopuff's MFC network and last mile — effectively renting the physical asset base to third parties. Pricing model not disclosed.
Brand Bowl Report. An annual research product (2026 edition published 9 Feb 2026) measuring which Super Bowl advertisements drove instant sales, using units ordered in the hour after each spot aired versus the hour prior. The 2026 results: Kinder Bueno first (+100% units in the following hour; +444% across the full Sunday versus a five-Sunday average), NERDS second (+95%; +418% all-day), Liquid Death third (+83%), Dunkin' fourth (+56%), Liquid I.V. fifth (+40%). This is marketing collateral, but it is also a credible demonstration of the closed-loop attribution asset Gopuff is selling to advertisers — a proof point marketplaces cannot easily replicate.
Physical retail
BevMo! Acquired Nov 2020 for $350M; 161 stores across California, Arizona and Washington at close; founded 1994, headquartered Concord, California. Assortment extends beyond alcohol to specialty foods, cigars, glassware and bar/wine accessories. Post-acquisition, Gopuff began converting dozens of locations into "omni stores" combining retail floor space with delivery fulfillment (Grocery Dive, Jun 2021). Current store count not disclosed.
Liquor Barn. Acquired Jun 2021; Louisville, Kentucky-based. Locations explicitly repurposed as fulfillment centers for the convenience delivery business.
Product Portfolio
| Brand | Launched | Positioning | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Basically | 2022 | Everyday-value own brand across core categories | The anchor private-label line |
Basically Premium | May 2024 | Elevated tier | Launched alongside the broader May 2024 private-label expansion |
Crave Shoppe | Apr 2026 | Confections and baked goods | Newest line; expanded with seasonal SKUs Aug 2026 |
Houseplant | Apr 2026 (line launched Apr 2024) | Home goods | Fast access to quality home goods |
| Product | Partner | Date | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
GOAT Gummies | Tom Brady | 4 Jun 2025 | Organic, vegan snack |
Good Nut organic coconut water | Tom Brady | 8 Jun 2026 | Beverage |
COLE'D premium ice (incl. electrolyte ice) | Cole Palmer | 22 Jun 2026 | Ice / functional |
"I Said I Love Blue First" ice cream bars | Selena Gomez × Serendipity | 25 Mar 2026 | Frozen |
Cosmic Berry energy seltzer | GORGIE | 22 Sep 2025 | Beverage |
6 7 Water canned water | 6 7 Water | 11 Jul 2025 | Beverage |
Gopunch blue raspberry hard elixir | Yards Brewing Co. | 6 Aug 2024 | Alcohol |
GoBeer German-style lager | Biscayne Bay Brewing | 26 Mar 2025 | Alcohol |
Limited-edition chocolate bar | Alix Earle | 25 Oct 2024 | Confection |
PB&J ice cream pint | McConnell's Fine Ice Creams | 24 Jun 2024 | Frozen |
Turbo Rush / Peachy Mangopuff energy drinks | Juvee | Sep 2023 | Beverage |
SirDavis American Whisky (preorder) | Moët Hennessy × Beyoncé Knowles-Carter | 20 Aug 2024 | Alcohol |
Financial Narrative
Income statement
Revenue source and conflict note. The FY2021 figure of ~$2.0bn derives from Bloomberg reporting relayed in Spanish press (West Observer, Aug 2022) that Gopuff took in "nearly $2,000 million" in 2021 with order volume up 70% year-on-year. The FY2023 figure of ~$1.2bn and the implied FY2022 figure of ~$1.5bn come from Business of Apps, which cites The Hustle and The Information and explicitly labels the figures as estimated, describing 2023 as a ~20% decline (~$300M) on the prior year. Wikipedia carries the same $1.2bn 2023 figure.
These are estimates from secondary aggregators, not company disclosures, and they are internally inconsistent — a ~$2.0bn 2021 to ~$1.5bn 2022 implies a decline in a year in which Bloomberg separately reported May 2022 sales up 76% year-on-year. The most probable reconciliation is that different sources measure different things (gross merchandise value versus net revenue; with or without BevMo!/Liquor Barn store sales; with or without Europe). No figure in this table should be relied upon for valuation work.
FY2024 and FY2025 revenue are not disclosed at any level. The only company statement is qualitative: the 13 November 2025 funding announcement stated the company had entered "its strongest financial position in company history, fueled by record revenue, contribution profit, and sustained core business growth," and that the round followed "the company's strongest financial quarter in company history." If "record revenue" is literally true, FY2025 revenue exceeded the FY2021 peak — which, against the ~$2.0bn 2021 estimate, would imply a substantial recovery. The company has not quantified it, and no third party has verified it.
Balance sheet
The one documented balance-sheet item is the $1.5 billion convertible note issued to Guggenheim Partners in May 2022 ahead of the abandoned IPO (FNEX, Jul 2026). Its current status — outstanding, restructured, converted at the November 2025 round, or repaid — is not publicly disclosed. This is the single most material unknown in the company's capital structure. A convertible instrument of that size, issued at a valuation implied to be as high as $40bn and now marked against an $8.5bn equity valuation, carries very different economics for common holders depending on its conversion terms and any subsequent renegotiation. Any serious diligence on GoBrands must begin here.
Cash flow
No cash-flow data has ever been published. Directional inference only: the 2022–2024 restructuring sequence (76 warehouse closures, four layoff rounds, three-country European exit) is consistent with an operator managing severe negative free cash flow toward breakeven, and Built In's 2026 organisational analysis characterises the company's documented internal patterns as centred on contribution profit and cash-flow-positivity targets. Note that "contribution profit" — the metric the company itself chose to headline in November 2025 — is a pre-corporate-overhead measure. A company reporting record contribution profit is not necessarily reporting positive EBITDA, let alone positive net income. The choice of metric is itself informative.
Ratios
All ratios are underivable in the absence of financial statements.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
Four distinct financial phases are visible from the qualitative record.
Phase 1 — Capital-funded land grab (2019–H1 2022). SoftBank's ~$750M in 2019 was followed by $380M (Oct 2020), $1.15B (Mar 2021), $1B (Jul 2021) and a $1.5B convertible (May 2022). Valuation moved from $3.9bn to $8.9bn to $15bn in nine months, with a reported convertible-implied mark as high as $40bn. Ilishayev stated publicly in 2021 that Gopuff was opening 30 micro-sites per month and that sites open 18 months or longer were profitable — the classic cohort argument for a network business. The unit-economics claim may well have been true at the site level while the consolidated entity burned heavily, because national overhead, technology spend, marketing and immature-site drag were all being funded by the equity raise, not by the mature cohorts.
Phase 2 — Violent retrenchment (H2 2022–2024). The inflection is precisely datable to March 2022, when the IPO was shelved and the first layoff occurred. What followed was a textbook forced deleveraging of an operating model: 76 warehouses closed (~12% of the network) in July 2022; ~1,500 roles cut simultaneously; Spain's entire 186-person workforce made redundant in August 2022 with France and Luxembourg closures alongside; ~250 more roles in October 2022; ~100 in March 2023; ~600 in May 2024. Bloomberg's July 2022 memo reporting captures the moment leadership stopped underwriting growth: sales were up 76% year-on-year as of May 2022, yet management explicitly told investors it did not expect that growth to continue. Simultaneously, the company began outsourcing marginal demand to a competitor — by March 2023 the FT reported Uber couriers were handling at least 4% of all U.S. Gopuff orders, an admission that owning the last mile was not affordable at the margin.
Phase 3 — Margin reconstruction (2023–2025). Three levers were pulled in parallel. Price: a 30% cut on everyday items (Aug 2023) to defend traffic against grocery inflation, funded by mix. Mix: private label scaled from the 2022 Basically launch through Basically Premium (2024) to Crave Shoppe (2026), reaching ~1 in 5 orders. Media: the ads business was built out across 2021–2024 and brought fully in-house in July 2024, capturing the platform margin previously shared with CitrusAd/Epsilon. The strategic logic is coherent — in first-party convenience retail, you cannot win on product-margin alone, so you must manufacture the product and sell the shelf.
Phase 4 — Re-rating and re-armament (Nov 2025–present). The $250M Series I at $8.5bn is the pivotal datapoint. It represents a ~43% recovery from the ~$5.45bn Prime Unicorn Index mark of May 2024 but remains ~43% below the $15bn July 2021 round and ~79% below the ~$40bn convertible-implied peak. Todd Boehly's framing on behalf of Eldridge — that Gopuff "has built a resilient business that has outlasted every competitor in the instant-commerce space" — is the substantive investment thesis: this is a survivorship trade, not a growth trade. The simultaneous appointment of Matt McBrady as CFO, a former BlackRock multi-strategy CIO who took Axon and aQuantive public, is not a routine finance hire. It is an IPO-preparation hire.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Operating unit | Contents | Status | Disclosed financials |
|---|---|---|---|
Gopuff Instant Commerce (core) | The Gopuff app and web storefront; owned inventory; micro-fulfillment center network; contracted delivery partner fleet; FAM/Student FAM subscription; U.S. and U.K. | Core; described by the company as the source of "sustained core business growth" (Nov 2025) | n/d |
Gopuff Ads / retail media | On-platform advertising, sponsored placement, sampling, Insight Cloud analytics; U.S. (2021) and U.K. (2023); in-housed July 2024 | Strategic margin engine | n/d |
Powered by Gopuff | Fulfillment-as-a-service for third-party brands' own e-commerce sites | Launched Apr 2024 | n/d |
Private label | Basically (2022), Basically Premium (May 2024), Crave Shoppe (Apr 2026), Houseplant (Apr 2024) | +20% YTD 2026; in ~1 in 5 orders | Growth % only |
BevMo! | 161 stores at acquisition across CA, AZ, WA; converted in part to "omni stores" serving both retail and fulfillment | Retained subsidiary | n/d |
Liquor Barn | Kentucky-based alcohol retail chain; locations used as fulfillment centers | Retained subsidiary | n/d |
Technology (ex-rideOS) | Routing, dispatch and logistics software acquired 2021 | Absorbed | n/d |
Segment Revenue
| Segment revenue (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Instant Commerce (core) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Advertising / retail media | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
BevMo! / Liquor Barn retail | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Powered by Gopuff | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M unless stated) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue — third-party estimate | 2000 | 1500 | 1200 | n/d | n/d |
Gross profit | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Operating income | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
EBITDA | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Pre-tax income | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net income | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
EPS basic | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
EPS diluted | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Dividends per share | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Gross margin (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Operating margin (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
EBITDA margin (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net margin (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Cash and equivalents | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Short-term debt | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Long-term debt | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net debt | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Total equity | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Goodwill and intangibles | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Working capital | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating cash flow | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Capital expenditure | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Free cash flow | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Share buybacks | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ROE (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
ROA (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
ROIC (%) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Current ratio | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Debt / equity | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Net debt / EBITDA | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Interest coverage | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Asset turnover | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Geographic Revenue
| Geographic revenue (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
United States | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
United Kingdom | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Rest of Europe (France, Spain, Luxembourg) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Capital Markets
| Valuation event | Date | Post-money valuation (USD bn) | Round size (USD M) |
|---|---|---|---|
Series (undisclosed) — Accel / D1 | Oct 2020 | 3.9 | 380 |
Series (undisclosed) — D1 / Fidelity / Luxor | Mar 2021 | 8.9 | 1150 |
Series (undisclosed) — Blackstone / Guggenheim / SoftBank et al. | Jul 2021 | 15.0 | 1000 |
Guggenheim convertible note (implied, disputed) | May 2022 | 40.0 | 1500 |
Prime Unicorn Index mark | May 2024 | 5.45 | n/a |
Series I — Eldridge / Valor | Nov 2025 | 8.5 | 250 |
Prime Unicorn Index mark (later) | 2025 | 6.2 | n/a |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
Total capital raised | > USD 5.2bn (Technical.ly) / > USD 5.5bn (FNEX) — conflict | Nov 2025 / Jul 2026 |
Number of rounds | 11+ | Aggregators |
Largest single round | $1.5bn convertible (Guggenheim, May 2022) | FNEX |
Largest equity round | $1.15bn (Mar 2021) | TechCrunch |
Most recent round | $250M Series I (Nov 2025) | Business Wire |
Capital Markets
| Multiple | Gopuff | Peers |
|---|---|---|
P/E | n/a — no earnings disclosed, no shares listed | — |
EV/EBITDA | n/a — no EBITDA disclosed | — |
EV/Sales | n/a — FY2025 revenue undisclosed | — |
P/B | n/a — no book value disclosed | — |
Capital Markets
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Dividend history | None. No dividend has ever been declared. Consistent with a growth-stage, loss-making or recently-breakeven private company. |
Dividend policy | None stated |
Buyback authorisation | None disclosed. Secondary liquidity for employees and early investors, if any, has not been publicly described. |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook |
|---|---|---|
Moody's | Not rated | — |
S&P Global | Not rated | — |
Fitch | Not rated | — |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
None issued. As a private company, Gopuff provides no numerical guidance, no medium-term targets and no capital-allocation framework. The forward-looking statements on record are entirely qualitative: "record revenue, contribution profit, and sustained core business growth" (Nov 2025); "We're back on offense, and we're just getting started" (Gola, Nov 2025); and stated capital-deployment priorities across AI, customer experience and infrastructure.
Consensus growth expectations
None exist. No analyst covers the company.
Bull case
1. The category consolidated and Gopuff won the ruins. Getir exited the U.S. and U.K. in 2024 after absorbing Gorillas; Jokr, Buyk, Fridge No More and Jiffy are gone; Uber shut Drizly. Mordor Intelligence's May 2026 read is that the market "is no longer open to lightly funded challengers that lack dense fulfillment coverage." Gopuff spent roughly $5bn of other people's money building exactly that coverage during a period when capital was free, and it is the only independent that still has it. Demand for the category did not disappear — 28% of U.S. consumers use on-demand grocery delivery at least monthly, rising above 45% among urban millennials and Gen Z. The supply consolidated; the demand did not.
2. The margin architecture is finally right. Three levers now compound: private label at ~1 in 5 orders growing 20% YTD 2026; a fully in-housed retail media platform with genuine closed-loop attribution (the 2026 Brand Bowl data showing a 100% same-hour unit lift for Kinder Bueno is a sales asset, not just a press release); and fulfillment-as-a-service monetising the fixed asset base. Each converts a thin-margin retail dollar into a structurally higher-margin one, and each scales without new warehouses.
3. The pre-IPO sequence is real and being executed competently. A CFO who took two companies public, a marquee consumer-brand director in Howard Schultz, a re-rated priced round with founders participating, and record-revenue claims from a company that had spent three years shrinking. This is not the behaviour of a business drifting toward a distressed sale.
Bear case
1. The $1.5bn convertible is an unquantifiable claim ahead of common equity. Issued in May 2022 against an implied valuation reported as high as $40bn, and sitting today above an $8.5bn equity mark. Nobody outside the cap table knows its conversion terms, its liquidation preference, or whether it still exists. Depending on those terms, the common equity value at $8.5bn could be materially — even catastrophically — less than the headline. No responsible valuation of GoBrands can be completed without resolving this, and it cannot be resolved from public sources.
2. "Record revenue" is an unaudited assertion, and "contribution profit" is a pre-overhead metric. The last credible revenue estimate is ~$1.2bn for FY2023, down ~20% year-on-year. FY2024 and FY2025 are entirely undisclosed. The company chose to headline contribution profit — a measure that excludes corporate overhead, technology, marketing and interest — and has never disclosed EBITDA, operating income or net income. A company that had achieved genuine consolidated profitability would ordinarily say so, particularly while raising capital. The metric selection is a tell.
3. The competitive set can subsidise indefinitely and Gopuff cannot. Amazon extended same-day perishable delivery to over 1,000 U.S. cities in 2025. DoorDash and Kroger cover full grocery assortments across 2,700 stores. DashMart replicates Gopuff's exact model with a public balance sheet behind it. Meanwhile Gopuff, on the last available evidence, was still routing a share of its own orders through Uber couriers — paying a competitor to serve its customers. Against a $250M raise, competitors are deploying that sum on a rounding-error basis. Add unresolved misclassification litigation in a jurisdiction with a near-perfect enforcement record, and a single adverse ruling could reset the cost base of the entire delivery network.
Catalysts and monitorables, next 12 months
Analyst verdict
GoBrands, Inc. is the most interesting company in American retail about which almost nothing verifiable is known.
The operating story is coherent and, on the available evidence, genuinely improving. Gopuff built a physical network with 2021-vintage capital, nearly died of it in 2022, cut roughly two-thirds of its workforce, closed 76 warehouses, abandoned three countries, and emerged as the only independent scaled first-party instant-commerce operator in two of the world's largest consumer markets. It then did the intelligent thing: rather than chase volume, it went after mix — private label into one in five orders, retail media in-housed, fulfillment capacity rented to third parties, and a frontier-model partnership that lets it monetise thirteen years of clean basket data without building a lab. The November 2025 round, the Schultz appointment and a three-time IPO CFO are exactly what a company positioning for a listing does, in exactly that order.
Against that, the analytical problem is severe and it is not going to resolve itself. Every financial claim rests on the unaudited word of a founder-controlled private company with an obvious incentive to describe its own performance favourably while raising money. "Record revenue" cannot be checked. "Contribution profit" is a metric chosen, one suspects, precisely because the metrics below it are less flattering. The last independent revenue estimate showed a 20% decline. And sitting above all of it is a $1.5 billion convertible note issued at a valuation five times the current mark, on terms nobody outside the room has seen. That instrument, not the operating business, is the dominant variable in any equity-value calculation — and it is invisible.
The honest verdict is therefore conditional rather than directional. If the convertible has been converted or renegotiated on terms that do not gut the common, and if the record-revenue claim survives audit, then an $8.5bn valuation for the sole surviving independent in a consolidated category with a scaling media business is defensible and possibly cheap. If either condition fails, it is not. Nothing in the public record allows an analyst to determine which world we are in.
Recommendation: not investable on public information. The correct posture is watchful. The single event that changes everything is an S-1 filing, which would convert this company from an object of inference into an object of analysis overnight. Until then, GoBrands should be tracked as a live and improving competitive threat to public quick-commerce operators — and as a company whose eventual disclosure will be, for anyone holding DoorDash, Instacart or Uber, considerably more informative than anything in this dossier.
SOURCE NOTE
Primary company sources: Gopuff newsroom (company news, research and insights, about pages), Business Wire releases (Nov 2025, Apr 2026, Aug 2026), gopuff.com. Government and court sources: DC Office of the Attorney General release and complaint (19 Mar 2025); Eurofound European Restructuring Monitor factsheet 107248; Massachusetts AG enforcement (Mar 2023). Journalism: Bloomberg, Reuters, Financial Times, CNBC, TechCrunch, Philadelphia Inquirer, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, PhillyVoice, Philadelphia Business Journal, Technical.ly, Grocery Dive, C-Store Dive, Brewbound, Progressive Grocer, Sifted, WTOP, Bloomberg Law. Private-market and analytics aggregators (estimates only, flagged in text): PitchBook, Prime Unicorn Index, FNEX, Business of Apps, Crunchbase, CB Insights, Dun & Bradstreet, LeadIQ, RocketReach, Comparably, Built In. Market research: Mordor Intelligence, Fortune Business Insights, Grand View Research, Persistence Market Research, US Quick Commerce Databook 2026. Technology partner disclosure: xAI/SpaceXAI (9 Jun 2026).
All figures verified as current to 10 September 2026. All undisclosed items are marked as such rather than estimated. No figure in this document has been fabricated.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Tenure | Background | Age | Compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Yakir Gola | Co-Founder and Co-CEO | 2013–present | Co-founded Gopuff as a Drexel University undergraduate. Named to Forbes 30 Under 30 (Retail & Ecommerce, 2017). Identified as GoBrands' key principal in D&B records. | n/d | n/d |
Rafael Ilishayev | Co-Founder and Co-CEO | 2013–present | Co-founded Gopuff at Drexel; met Gola in a Business 101 class. Forbes 30 Under 30 (2017). Principal public voice on the vertically integrated model and site-level profitability. | n/d | n/d |
Matt McBrady, Ph.D. | Chief Financial Officer | Nov 2025–present | Former Chief Investment Officer, BlackRock Multi-Strategy Hedge Fund Program; senior roles at Bain Capital and Silver Creek Capital Management; led Axon and aQuantive through IPOs; served on President Clinton's Council of Economic Advisers; award-winning finance professor at Wharton and Darden. | n/d | n/d |
Jonathan Schoenfeld | General Counsel | n/d | Public spokesperson on the DC AG litigation (Mar 2025), stating the company strongly disagreed with the allegations and would fight the suit. | n/d | n/d |
Daniel Folkman | SVP, Business | c. 2021–present (as reported) | Public spokesperson for the Fancy and Dija acquisitions (2021) | n/d | n/d |
Sree Kotay | Chief Technology Officer | n/d | Reported by multiple aggregators; not confirmed by a company release located | n/d | n/d |
Jonathan Diorio | Chief Business Officer | n/d | Aggregator-sourced (RocketReach) | n/d | n/d |
Jillian Jensen | GM, Private Label Merchandising | n/d | Named in the 18 Aug 2026 private-label release | n/d | n/d |
Doug Bailey | VP, Corporate Affairs | n/d | Former VP U.S. Industry Affairs, Anheuser-Busch; EVP, The Windsor Group | n/d | n/d |
Sanjay Shah | SVP, North America Fulfillment | Oct 2021–(status unconfirmed) | Appointed by company release 10 Oct 2021 | n/d | n/d |
| Name | Role | Joined | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Yakir Gola | Co-founder, Co-CEO, director | 2013 | — |
Rafael Ilishayev | Co-founder, Co-CEO, director | 2013 | — |
Betsy Atkins | Independent director | Apr 2021 | Three-time CEO, serial technology entrepreneur, recognised corporate-governance expert. First independent board member in the company's history — appointed eight years after founding. |
Howard Schultz | Director | 22 Apr 2026 | Founder of Starbucks; built it from six stores in 1987 to 40,000+ stores in 90 countries and a >$100bn market capitalisation; remains Starbucks chairman emeritus. |
Investor-designated seats | n/d | — | SoftBank, Accel, D1, Blackstone, Eldridge and Valor have all invested at scale; board representation is not publicly disclosed. CB Insights lists three board members including Anthony Bucci; this is unverified. |
| Holder | Entry | Notes |
|---|---|---|
SoftBank / Vision Fund 1 | 2019, 2021 | ~$750M in 2019 plus participation in the July 2021 round |
Accel | Oct 2020 | Co-led the $380M round |
D1 Capital Partners | Oct 2020, Mar 2021 | Co-led both |
Fidelity Management & Research | Mar 2021, Jul 2021 | — |
Luxor Capital | Mar 2021 | — |
Blackstone (Horizon platform) | Jul 2021 | — |
Guggenheim Investments / Guggenheim Partners | Jul 2021; May 2022 convertible | $1.5bn convertible note holder |
Hedosophia, MSD Partners, Adage Capital, Atreides Management | Jul 2021 | — |
Eldridge Industries (Todd Boehly) | Jul 2021; led Nov 2025 | Boehly is chairman and the most vocal public advocate of the thesis |
Valor Equity Partners (Jon Shulkin, Partner & Co-President) | Co-led Nov 2025 | — |
Baillie Gifford | Nov 2025 | — |
Robinhood | Nov 2025 | Corporate investor; also a delivery-partner benefits partner since Feb 2024 |
Equalis Capital | Nov 2025 | — |
George Ruan | Nov 2025 | Individual investor |
Yakir Gabay | Nov 2025 | Individual investor |
Co-founders Gola and Ilishayev | Nov 2025 | Participated in their own round — a meaningful signal |
Tom Brady | Jun 2024 | Investor and brand partner |
Giannis Antetokounmpo | Feb 2026 | Shareholder and brand partner |
U.S. frontline employees | Sep 2022 | Company established an equity ownership programme for frontline staff; in Jan 2025 it awarded equity to a top-performing student ambassador |
Competitive Landscape
| # | Competitor | Model | Position vs Gopuff |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | DoorDash (DashMart) | Marketplace plus owned dark-store network | The most direct structural analogue. DashMart replicates the first-party convenience model at far greater scale, cross-subsidised by a profitable restaurant marketplace and a public balance sheet. The single most dangerous competitor. |
2 | Uber (Uber Eats) | Marketplace | Simultaneously partner and competitor. Gopuff sells through Uber Eats and, since 2023, has used Uber couriers for a share of its own orders — a dependency that hands Uber visibility into Gopuff's demand and cost structure. |
3 | Instacart (Maplebear Inc.) | Marketplace shopper model plus a very large retail media business | Competes for the same grocery-adjacent occasion and, critically, for the same CPG advertising dollars. Instacart's retail media scale is the benchmark Gopuff's ads business is measured against. |
4 | Amazon | Owned logistics; Amazon Fresh; same-day | Extended same-day delivery for perishables to over 1,000 U.S. cities in 2025 (quick-commerce databook, Apr 2026). Structurally capable of loss-leading indefinitely. |
5 | Walmart | Store-as-fulfillment; membership economics | Uses ~4,700 U.S. stores as forward-deployed inventory — a cost basis Gopuff cannot match on staples. |
6 | 7-Eleven (7NOW) | Convenience chain with delivery | The incumbent Gopuff was founded to disrupt; ~13,000 U.S. locations already sited for convenience missions. |
7 | Target / Shipt | Retail plus delivery subsidiary | Competes on household and health categories. |
8 | Kroger (with DoorDash) | Grocery partnership | DoorDash and Kroger expanded to cover full grocery assortments across 2,700 stores (databook, Apr 2026). |
9 | Wawa, Sheetz, Circle K, RaceTrac | Physical convenience chains | The real substitute for most Gopuff occasions is walking to a convenience store. These operators have begun adding delivery. |
10 | Getir | Dark-store q-commerce | Acquired Gorillas; exited the U.S. and U.K. in 2024. A direct contributor to Gopuff's survivorship position. |
11 | Gorillas, Jokr, Buyk, Fridge No More, Zapp, Jiffy | Dark-store q-commerce | All exited, pivoted or were absorbed. The category's mortality rate is Gopuff's principal competitive credential. |
12 | Deliveroo, Tesco Whoosh, Co-op, Zapp (UK) | UK rapid grocery | The UK competitive set. Deliveroo exited Spain in 2021 citing the investment required to hold a leading position. |
13 | Drizly | Alcohol delivery | Acquired by Uber; shut down in 2024, removing a direct alcohol-delivery competitor. |
14 | Blinkit, Zepto, Swiggy Instamart, Meituan, JD.com | International q-commerce | Not competitors in Gopuff's markets, but they set the global benchmark for what a scaled, profitable dark-store model can achieve — and their success is the strongest evidence that the model itself is not the problem. |
| Metric | Gopuff (GoBrands) | DoorDash | Instacart (Maplebear) | Uber |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Ownership | Private | Public (NASDAQ) | Public (NASDAQ) | Public (NYSE) |
Revenue accounting | Gross 1P merchandise | Net marketplace take-rate + DashMart 1P | Net take-rate + advertising | Net take-rate |
Latest disclosed revenue | n/d (est. ~$1.2bn FY2023, Business of Apps; "record" FY2025, unquantified) | Publicly reported | Publicly reported | Publicly reported |
Revenue growth | n/d | n/d in this dossier | n/d | n/d |
Margins | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
R&D intensity | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Valuation | $8.5bn private (Nov 2025) | Public market cap | Public market cap | Public market cap |
Fulfillment ownership | Owned MFCs + owned inventory | Hybrid (marketplace + DashMart) | Asset-light | Asset-light |



