Hibbett Sports Inc Overview
Hibbett is the leading specialist retailer of premium, brand-name athletic footwear and athletic-inspired fashion in underserved American communities — small-town strip centres, secondary markets and urban neighbourhoods largely bypassed by big-box sporting goods and by mall-anchored sneaker chains. Its differentiation is not scale but access: through an unusually deep relationship with Nike, which supplied roughly three-quarters of both its purchases and its sales, Hibbett offered launch product and coveted franchises in places where those products were otherwise unobtainable. A 1,169-store footprint across 36 contiguous states, a single Alabama wholesale and logistics facility, an average box of only about 5,700 square feet and a loyalty programme representing roughly 60% of sales gave the business exceptional capital efficiency and store-level returns. That same model — high sales density but small, labour-intensive boxes and single-vendor concentration — is precisely what its new owner is now restructuring.
Hibbett is a single-format, single-country specialty retailer. It buys finished branded athletic footwear, apparel, accessories and team sports equipment from manufacturers, holds inventory at one owned wholesale and logistics facility in Alabaster, Alabama, allocates and replenishes to leased stores via an automatic replenishment system, and sells to consumers through those stores, its e-commerce site and its mobile applications. There is no manufacturing, no licensing income, no franchising, no subscription revenue and no meaningful private label. In value-chain terms Hibbett occupies the final retail distribution node and captures a merchandise margin — nothing more and nothing less.
Revenue model. One hundred per cent of revenue is product sales to end consumers. In Fiscal 2024 net sales were $1,728.9m, of which 16.2% was e-commerce and 83.8% brick-and-mortar. Revenue is recognised under ASC 606 when control of merchandise transfers to the customer at delivery, net of expected returns and excluding sales taxes. The only non-merchandise revenue of note is gift card breakage, which was immaterial in Fiscal 2022 and Fiscal 2023 but produced a $3.5m one-off benefit in the fourth quarter of Fiscal 2024 following a change in estimate — worth $0.22 of full-year diluted EPS. Deferred revenue for gift cards and customer orders was $7.1m at 3 February 2024 versus $9.8m a year earlier.
Company's own description (Fiscal 2024 Form 10-K, Item 1). "Hibbett, headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama, is a leading athletic-inspired fashion retailer with over 1,150 stores under the Hibbett, City Gear and Sports Additions banners, primarily located in underserved communities. Founded in 1945, Hibbett has a rich history of convenient locations, personalized customer service and access to coveted footwear, apparel and equipment from top brands like Nike, Jordan and adidas."
Independent characterisation. Hibbett is best understood as a distribution privilege monetised through real estate. Its economic moat was never merchandising IP or a proprietary supply chain; it was the willingness of Nike and, secondarily, adidas, Jordan Brand, Puma, New Balance and Under Armour to allocate scarce launch product to a small-box operator in markets those brands could not efficiently serve directly. That privilege produced gross margins of 32–38% and, at the Fiscal 2022 peak, a 13.5% operating margin on a fixed-asset base of only $146m. The corollary is that Hibbett's earnings power is a derivative of vendor policy. The company disclosed in its Fiscal 2024 10-K that approximately 74% of inventory was purchased from Nike, which accounted for approximately 73% of net sales — a concentration that would be considered disqualifying in most industries and which the company itself named as a principal risk.
Customer types and end-markets. The stated target consumer is Gen Z, skewing toward fashion-led athletic footwear rather than performance sport. Demand drivers are discretionary and seasonally clustered: spring sports and annual tax refunds, back-to-school in late summer, and the holiday season. The company also flagged sales-tax-holiday timing and the success of regional college and professional teams as comparable-sales variables. There is no institutional, wholesale, team-sales or B2B channel of consequence in the modern business; the team sales operation that seeded the company in the 1950s was long since subsumed.
Strategy
Stated strategy, verbatim themes from the Fiscal 2024 Form 10-K
The company articulated three strategic pillars in its own words. First, on positioning: "We target underserved communities with branded products and provide a high level of customer service both in our stores and online. This strategy establishes greater customer, vendor and landlord recognition as a leading specialty retailer in these communities." Second, on growth: a "clustered expansion program" that "primarily focuses on opening new stores within close proximity of existing locations, allowing us to take advantage of efficiencies in logistics, marketing and regional management." Third, on merchandising: the trademarked TOE-TO-HEAD approach, offering "a broad assortment of premium brand name footwear, apparel, accessories and team sports equipment at competitive prices in a full service omni-channel environment."
On digital, management framed Fiscal 2025 priorities as investing "in next generation omni-channel capabilities that mitigate perennial pain points for our store employees and customers," specifically "the ability to find and quickly fulfill the products our customers are looking for."
Announced initiatives, 24 months preceding the take-private
Management's medium-term financial targets — Fiscal 2025 guidance (issued 15 March 2024)
No guidance beyond Fiscal 2025 was ever issued, and Fiscal 2025 guidance was rendered moot by the July 2024 closing.
Post-acquisition strategy under JD Sports
Hibbett now sits within JD's Complementary Concepts segment and, in JD's internal North American taxonomy, occupies the "Reach" role — "a convenient community format expanding our reach into under-served markets and rural areas" — alongside Finish Line corners in Macy's, and distinct from "Premium" (JD-branded mall and premium locations) and "Focus" (Shoe Palace, DTLR, City Gear as city-specialist concepts). JD's stated Hibbett strategy has hardened materially since acquisition:
- Cost synergies: at least $25m over the medium term, stated at announcement; JD guided the deal to be earnings accretive from the first full year post-acquisition.
- Platform value: Hibbett's supply chain and back office were explicitly acquired as "an enhanced platform for the mall-led, nationwide growth of the JD brand in North America."
- Footprint optimisation (announced May 2026): closure of approximately 175 Hibbett stores over roughly three years, in pursuit of "fewer, bigger, and better" stores. CFO Dominic Platt framed the rationale in productivity and profitability terms; CEO Régis Schultz framed it in unit-economics terms, observing that small stores may show high sales density but poor profitability because "you need someone to open, you need someone to close."
- Parallel North American actions: approximately 20 new JD store openings and conversion of 70–80 Finish Line stores to JD, with total group store count expected to stay broadly flat.
Products & Services
Hibbett is a reseller. It owns retail banners and a small set of registered marks; it does not own product brands. The catalogue below is therefore organised by retail banner, by merchandise franchise and by digital service, which is the only meaningful product taxonomy the company disclosed.
Retail banners
Hibbett (formerly Hibbett Sports). The core banner: 960 stores at Fiscal 2024 year-end, averaging 5,800 square feet, overwhelmingly in strip centres near a major chain retailer (usually a Walmart or equivalent anchor). Merchandising follows the trademarked TOE-TO-HEAD concept — a full head-to-foot athletic-inspired outfit assembled around a footwear anchor. Target customer: Gen Z consumers in underserved small and mid-sized communities, predominantly across the South, Southwest, Mid-Atlantic and Midwest. Assortment: premium branded athletic footwear, apparel, accessories and team sports equipment. No disclosed private-label programme of significance. Pricing: full-price branded retail with periodic promotional cadence; the company does not disclose price architecture.
City Gear. Acquired November 2018; 193 stores at Fiscal 2024 year-end, averaging 5,200 square feet, also predominantly strip-centre. City Gear is the urban/streetwear-weighted banner, differentiated in assortment and demographic targeting from Hibbett while sharing the same logistics infrastructure, vendor relationships and back office. Fiscal 2025 store growth guidance was approximately 45–50 net new units, of which around 20% were earmarked for City Gear. Registered marks include CITY GEAR, City G.E.A.R., City GEAR, GRINDHOUSE and GRINDHOUSE DENIM.
Sports Additions. A legacy 16-store, mall-based, footwear-dominant format averaging only 2,900 square feet, with approximately 90% of merchandise being athletic footwear, typically sited near a Hibbett store. The banner was in run-off during the review period — one Sports Additions store was rebranded to Hibbett in Fiscal 2022. Registered mark SPORTS ADDITIONS (Reg. No. 1767761), the company's oldest active registration.
Deveroes. A dormant registered mark (Reg. No. 3479737) retained by the company; no active store estate disclosed.
Named vendor franchises carried
The company named the following vendors in its risk factors and marketing materials as the brands on which consumer demand and its own economics depend: Nike (approximately 73% of Fiscal 2024 net sales and 74% of inventory purchases), Jordan Brand, adidas, Puma, New Balance and Under Armour. Fiscal 2024 fourth-quarter results were explicitly attributed in part to "new product launches and a favorable customer response for our popular footwear brands." Individual franchise-level (e.g., specific silhouette) revenue is not publicly disclosed.
Merchandise categories
Digital and omni-channel platform
- hibbett.com and citygear.com — e-commerce sites; 16.2% of total net sales in Fiscal 2024 (13.4% in Q1 Fiscal 2025, 15.6% in Fiscal 2023, 16.7% in Fiscal 2021, 10.4% in Fiscal 2020).
- Hibbett and City Gear mobile applications — native apps supporting launch entries, loyalty and store services.
- BOPIS / ROPIS / BOSS — buy online pick up in store, reserve online pick up in store, and buy online ship to store, all named in the Fiscal 2024 10-K as live omni-channel capabilities.
- Hibbett Rewards — loyalty programme representing approximately 60% of overall sales in Fiscal 2024.
- Hibbett Rewards X Nike Membership ("Connected") — launched at the end of Q3 Fiscal 2024; integrates Hibbett and Nike loyalty accounts and provides members exclusive shopping experiences, personalised content and early access to product launches. Management named this as a Fiscal 2024 Q4 sales contributor and a Fiscal 2025 priority.
- Order-fulfilment mobile app and associate portal — deployed in Fiscal 2024 to drive in-store fulfilment efficiency and standardise execution across locations.
Enterprise platforms (internal, non-revenue)
Registered trademarks (all active, per Fiscal 2024 Form 10-K)
Product Portfolio
| Category | Content | Fiscal 2024 revenue (USD M) |
|---|---|---|
Footwear | Premium branded athletic and athletic-inspired footwear; launch and limited-release product; running, basketball, lifestyle | 1214.7 |
Apparel | Branded athletic and athletic-inspired apparel, licensed and fashion-led product, "connected apparel" merchandised to footwear | 329.4 |
Equipment | Team sports equipment, accessories and hardlines | 184.8 |
| Platform | Function | Year deployed |
|---|---|---|
Workday | HCM, payroll, finance and accounting (consolidation of multiple disparate systems) | Fiscal 2022 |
Point-of-sale hardware refresh | Store transaction infrastructure | Fiscal 2023 |
RFID inventory management | Item-level inventory accuracy and shrink control | Fiscal 2023 |
Automatic in-store receiving | Labour reduction at store receiving | Fiscal 2023 |
Assortment Planning | Merchandising modernisation, phase 1 | Fiscal 2023 |
Merchandise Financial Planning | Merchandising modernisation, phase 2 | Fiscal 2024 |
Associate selling mobile app | Omni-experience clienteling | Fiscal 2023 |
Early-access-to-pay (third-party) | Employee financial wellbeing benefit | Fiscal 2023 |
| Mark | Registration No. | Mark | Registration No. |
|---|---|---|---|
HIBBETT SPORTS | 2717584 | DEVEROES | 3479737 |
SPORTS ADDITIONS | 1767761 | GRINDHOUSE | 5107399 |
HIBBETT | 3275037 | GRINDHOUSE DENIM | 5107398 |
SOLE SCHOOL | 6549068 | SUPPORT HER SOLE | 7293063 |
City G.E.A.R | 4398655 | TOE-TO-HEAD | 6873901 |
City G.E.A.R. | 4413864 | TOE-2-HEAD | 6873900 |
CITY GEAR | 4675462 | T2H | 6873899 |
City GEAR | 5008316 | — | — |
Financial Narrative
Fiscal year conventions. FY2020 = 52 weeks ended 1 February 2020; FY2021 = 52 weeks ended 30 January 2021; FY2022 = 52 weeks ended 29 January 2022; FY2023 = 52 weeks ended 28 January 2023; FY2024 = 53 weeks ended 3 February 2024. The 53rd week contributed approximately $22.9m of net sales and $2.6–2.8m of net income ($0.21–$0.23 diluted EPS). Source for all figures: Hibbett Forms 8-K (Exhibit 99.1 earnings releases) dated 5 March 2021, 4 March 2022, and 15 March 2024, and Form 10-K for Fiscal 2024 filed 25 March 2024.
Income statement (USD M)
Margin profile (%)
Revenue CAGR FY2020–FY2024: 9.9%. EBITDA CAGR FY2020–FY2024: 29.8%. Net income CAGR FY2020–FY2024: 39.4%. Note that all three are flattered by an unusually depressed FY2020 base (which absorbed $18.4m of City Gear acquisition costs and $0.9m of strategic realignment charges; adjusted FY2020 operating income was $55.4m and adjusted net income $41.9m). Measured from the FY2022 peak, revenue grew 2.2% in total over two years while net income fell 40.8%.
Balance sheet (USD M)
Cash flow (USD M)
FY2020 capital expenditure and free cash flow are shown as zero because the figure was not separately verified in the sources retrieved; net cash used in investing activities in FY2020 was $17.0m, which bounds capex at roughly that level. Treat the FY2020 capex and FCF cells as null, not as actual zeros.
Ratio analysis
FY2020 interest coverage is shown as zero because the company recorded net interest income of $0.2m that year; the ratio is not meaningful. Days-sales-outstanding is negligible in this business model and is treated as zero throughout. All day-count ratios use a 365-day convention including FY2024's 53-week year, which understates FY2024 DIO by roughly two days. The company's own internally defined ROIC — used for executive incentive purposes — averaged 11.9% over Fiscal 2022–Fiscal 2024 against a 10.1% goal, materially below the figures above; the discrepancy arises because the company's definition capitalises operating leases into invested capital while the calculation above does not. Both are stated; users should select the basis appropriate to their purpose.
Trend commentary and inflections
FY2020 — the reset year. Revenue grew 17.4% almost entirely on the first full-year contribution of City Gear, but GAAP profitability was minimal (3.0% operating margin) because the year absorbed $18.4m of acquisition-related operating charges, including changes in the valuation of the City Gear contingent earnout, plus a strategic realignment programme that closed 106 stores. Adjusted operating margin was 4.7%. E-commerce was only 10.4% of sales.
FY2021 — the pandemic windfall. Comparable sales rose 22.2% with e-commerce comps up 89.3%. Government stimulus, competitor closures and demand for at-home athletic product produced 560bp of Q4 gross margin expansion. Yet GAAP results were depressed by $38.4m of COVID-related charges, principally the full $19.7m goodwill write-off and an $8.9m tradename impairment. Adjusted operating margin was 10.0% and adjusted diluted EPS $6.12 against GAAP $4.36. The balance sheet ended with $209.3m of cash and no debt — the strongest liquidity position in the company's history and the platform for what followed.
FY2022 — peak earnings and the great buyback. Gross margin reached 38.2%, an outcome management attributed to high sell-through, an unusually low promotional environment and a favourable mix toward higher-margin in-store sales. SG&A leverage took the expense ratio to 22.6%. Operating margin of 13.5% and net margin of 10.3% are almost certainly unrepeatable for this format. Management responded by returning $282.0m to shareholders — $271.1m of buybacks plus $10.9m of newly initiated dividends — against $159.5m of operating cash flow, drawing cash down from $209.3m to $17.1m. Diluted share count fell from 17.0m to 15.6m in one year. This was, in retrospect, a decision to convert a cyclical earnings peak into a permanently smaller share count; it flattered subsequent EPS but eliminated the balance-sheet optionality that had made the company unusual among small-cap retailers.
FY2023 — the inventory shock. Sales were essentially flat (+1.0%) and comparable sales negative (–2.2%), but inventory rose $199.6m as delayed supply-chain receipts finally arrived. Operating cash flow collapsed to $77.0m despite $128.1m of net income; accounts payable rose $100.9m, temporarily financing the build. Gross margin fell 300bp to 35.2%. The company drew on its credit facility for the first time in the period, ending the year with $36.3m outstanding.
FY2024 — the unwind and the sale. Inventory was reduced $76.5m, restoring operating cash flow to $118.7m, but at the price of promotional activity that cost 210bp of average product margin. Net interest expense rose from $1.5m to $5.4m as borrowings persisted at higher rates. Diluted EPS of $8.17 came in flat to the guidance range but was materially assisted by two non-recurring items: the 53rd week (approximately $0.21–$0.23) and the gift card breakage change in estimate ($0.22). Stripping both, underlying diluted EPS was closer to $7.72–$7.74. Store count reached a record 1,169 and square footage 6.64m, meaning the company was still adding capacity into a decelerating comparable-sales trend — a divergence that JD Sports has since moved decisively to correct.
Q1 FY2025 — the last public quarter. Net sales fell 1.8% to $447.2m on a 5.8% comparable decline, with brick-and-mortar and e-commerce both down 5.8%. Gross margin actually improved 210bp to 35.8% on a less promotional environment, but SG&A rose 260bp to 23.7% on wage inflation, sales deleverage and $2.6m of merger-related professional fees. Diluted EPS was $2.67 versus $2.74. Store count was unchanged at 1,169; cash was $28.7m and inventory $371.3m.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD M) | 1184.2 | 1419.7 | 1691.2 | 1708.3 | 1728.9 |
Net sales growth (%) | 17.4 | 19.9 | 19.1 | 1.0 | 1.2 |
Comparable sales change (%) | 5.3 | 22.2 | 17.4 | -2.2 | -3.1 |
Cost of goods sold (USD M) | 800.8 | 915.2 | 1044.8 | 1106.4 | 1145.2 |
Gross profit (USD M) | 383.5 | 504.5 | 646.4 | 601.9 | 583.7 |
SG&A expenses (USD M) | 318.0 | 356.9 | 382.4 | 389.6 | 397.7 |
Goodwill impairment (USD M) | 0.0 | 19.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Depreciation and amortisation (USD M) | 29.3 | 29.6 | 35.8 | 43.9 | 49.0 |
Operating income (USD M) | 36.1 | 98.4 | 228.2 | 168.4 | 137.0 |
EBITDA (USD M) | 65.4 | 128.0 | 264.0 | 212.3 | 186.0 |
Net interest expense (USD M) | -0.2 | 0.4 | 0.3 | 1.5 | 5.4 |
Pre-tax income (USD M) | 36.3 | 98.0 | 227.9 | 167.0 | 131.6 |
Income tax provision (USD M) | 9.0 | 23.7 | 53.6 | 38.9 | 28.5 |
Effective tax rate (%) | 24.7 | 24.2 | 23.5 | 23.3 | 21.6 |
Net income (USD M) | 27.3 | 74.3 | 174.3 | 128.1 | 103.2 |
Basic EPS (USD) | 1.54 | 4.49 | 11.63 | 9.89 | 8.34 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 1.52 | 4.36 | 11.19 | 9.62 | 8.17 |
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.75 | 1.00 | 1.00 |
Weighted average diluted shares (M) | 17.96 | 17.04 | 15.58 | 13.32 | 12.63 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin (%) | 32.4 | 35.5 | 38.2 | 35.2 | 33.8 |
SG&A as % of sales | 26.9 | 25.1 | 22.6 | 22.8 | 23.0 |
Operating margin (%) | 3.0 | 6.9 | 13.5 | 9.9 | 7.9 |
EBITDA margin (%) | 5.5 | 9.0 | 15.6 | 12.4 | 10.8 |
Net margin (%) | 2.3 | 5.2 | 10.3 | 7.5 | 6.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (USD M) | 66.1 | 209.3 | 17.1 | 16.0 | 21.2 |
Inventories, net (USD M) | 288.0 | 202.0 | 221.2 | 420.8 | 344.3 |
Other current assets (USD M) | 18.4 | 28.5 | 38.7 | 36.2 | 41.2 |
Total current assets (USD M) | 372.5 | 439.8 | 277.0 | 473.1 | 406.7 |
Property and equipment, net (USD M) | 101.0 | 107.2 | 146.0 | 169.5 | 183.9 |
Operating right-of-use assets (USD M) | 229.2 | 216.2 | 243.8 | 263.4 | 280.8 |
Goodwill (USD M) | 19.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
Tradename intangible (USD M) | 32.4 | 23.5 | 23.5 | 23.5 | 23.5 |
Total assets (USD M) | 769.8 | 808.2 | 703.2 | 939.2 | 909.2 |
Accounts payable (USD M) | 131.7 | 107.2 | 85.6 | 190.6 | 96.4 |
Credit facility borrowings (USD M) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 36.3 | 45.3 |
Current operating lease obligations (USD M) | 60.6 | 58.6 | 68.5 | 72.5 | 71.4 |
Total current liabilities (USD M) | 233.7 | 225.3 | 194.9 | 327.8 | 236.2 |
Long-term operating lease obligations (USD M) | 190.7 | 186.1 | 212.3 | 229.4 | 245.6 |
Total borrowings incl. finance leases (USD M) | 2.6 | 3.6 | 2.4 | 38.7 | 47.3 |
Net debt / (net cash) (USD M) | -63.5 | -205.7 | -14.7 | 22.7 | 26.0 |
Total stockholders' investment (USD M) | 329.0 | 391.0 | 291.5 | 376.2 | 419.0 |
Working capital (USD M) | 138.9 | 214.5 | 82.2 | 145.3 | 170.5 |
Goodwill and intangibles (USD M) | 52.1 | 23.5 | 23.5 | 23.5 | 23.5 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating cash flow (USD M) | 92.3 | 197.7 | 159.5 | 77.0 | 118.7 |
Capital expenditures (USD M) | 0.0 | 34.8 | 71.2 | 62.8 | 57.9 |
Free cash flow (USD M) | 0.0 | 162.9 | 88.3 | 14.2 | 60.8 |
Dividends paid (USD M) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 10.9 | 12.9 | 12.4 |
Share repurchases incl. tax withholding (USD M) | 35.5 | 17.6 | 271.1 | 40.9 | 56.1 |
Net cash used in investing activities (USD M) | 17.0 | 33.0 | 70.2 | 63.2 | 55.4 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity, period-end basis (%) | 8.3 | 19.0 | 59.8 | 34.0 | 24.6 |
Return on assets, period-end basis (%) | 3.6 | 9.2 | 24.8 | 13.6 | 11.3 |
ROIC, NOPAT / (equity + debt) (%) | 8.2 | 18.9 | 59.4 | 31.1 | 23.0 |
Current ratio (x) | 1.59 | 1.95 | 1.42 | 1.44 | 1.72 |
Total debt / equity (x) | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.10 | 0.11 |
Net debt / EBITDA (x) | -0.97 | -1.61 | -0.06 | 0.11 | 0.14 |
Interest coverage, EBIT / net interest (x) | 0.0 | 226 | 833 | 116 | 26 |
Asset turnover, sales / period-end assets (x) | 1.54 | 1.76 | 2.40 | 1.82 | 1.90 |
Days inventory outstanding (days) | 131 | 81 | 77 | 139 | 110 |
Days payable outstanding (days) | 60 | 43 | 30 | 63 | 31 |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | 71 | 38 | 47 | 76 | 79 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total net sales (USD M) | 1184.2 | 1419.7 | 1691.2 | 1708.3 | 1728.9 |
E-commerce share of net sales (%) | 10.4 | 16.7 | 13.8 | 15.6 | 16.2 |
E-commerce net sales, derived (USD M) | 123.2 | 237.1 | 233.4 | 266.5 | 280.1 |
Brick-and-mortar net sales, derived (USD M) | 1061.0 | 1182.6 | 1457.8 | 1441.8 | 1448.8 |
Brick-and-mortar comparable sales change (%) | 0.0 | 13.3 | 21.4 | -4.9 | -4.4 |
E-commerce comparable sales change (%) | 0.0 | 89.3 | -1.6 | 14.0 | 4.1 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
States of operation | 35 | 35 | 35 | 36 | 36 |
Total stores at period end | 1081 | 1067 | 1096 | 1133 | 1169 |
New stores opened | 13 | 16 | 36 | 43 | 44 |
Stores closed | 106 | 42 | 7 | 6 | 8 |
Estimated square footage at period end (thousands) | 6102 | 6022 | 6198 | 6424 | 6640 |
Sales per square foot, derived (USD) | 194 | 236 | 273 | 266 | 260 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Jan 2019 | Jan 2020 | Jan 2021 | Jan 2022 | Jan 2023 | Jan 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Hibbett, Inc. total return index | 100.00 | 151.65 | 345.47 | 380.75 | 415.79 | 427.53 |
Nasdaq Composite total return index | 100.00 | 127.03 | 183.04 | 200.70 | 164.68 | 217.36 |
Dow Jones US Specialty Retailers TSM index | 100.00 | 109.56 | 162.19 | 158.40 | 149.76 | 172.06 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Hibbett at takeout | Comment |
|---|---|---|
EV / LTM EBITDA (x) | 5.9 | On FY2024 EBITDA of $186m |
EV / LTM sales (x) | 0.64 | On FY2024 net sales of $1,728.9m |
P / LTM diluted EPS (x) | 10.7 | On FY2024 diluted EPS of $8.17 |
P / book (x) | 2.50 | Equity value $1,048m over FY2024 equity of $419.0m |
EV / EBIT (x) | 8.0 | On FY2024 operating income of $137.0m |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.75 | 1.00 | 1.00 |
Number of quarterly declarations | 0 | 0 | 3 | 4 | 4 |
Total cash dividends paid (USD M) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 10.9 | 12.9 | 12.4 |
Payout ratio on diluted EPS (%) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 6.7 | 10.4 | 12.2 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Shares repurchased under the programme (thousands) | 1564.6 | 578.3 | 3370.8 | 797.0 | 1162.1 |
Cost of programme repurchases (USD M) | 34.9 | 16.7 | 267.8 | 38.5 | 53.2 |
Shares acquired to settle equity award tax withholding (thousands) | 29.4 | 42.4 | 46.1 | 51.6 | 47.6 |
Cost of withholding settlements (USD M) | 0.6 | 0.9 | 3.3 | 2.4 | 2.8 |
Diluted share count, weighted average (M) | 17.96 | 17.04 | 15.58 | 13.32 | 12.63 |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Lender | Type | Maturity | Balance at 3 Feb 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
2023 Credit Facility | Regions Bank | Unsecured revolving credit, BSBY-indexed | 28 February 2028 | $45.3m |
Finance lease obligations, current | Various lessors | Finance leases | Within one year | $0.5m |
Finance lease obligations, non-current | Various lessors | Finance leases | Beyond one year | $1.4m |
Operating lease obligations, current | Various lessors | Operating leases | Within one year | $71.4m |
Operating lease obligations, non-current | Various lessors | Operating leases | Beyond one year | $245.6m |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
No Hibbett-specific guidance exists. The last standalone guidance — Fiscal 2025 diluted EPS of $8.00–$8.75 on flat-to-2% sales growth — was superseded by the merger and never reported against. Forward expectations now attach to JD Sports plc, whose FY26 results showed group net sales +10.5% to £12.7bn but profit before tax and adjusting items down 7.7% to £852m, and whose stated intent is to redirect the medium-term plan "to increase focus on profitability and improved shareholder returns."
The only Hibbett-specific forward commitments now public are operational: closure of approximately 175 stores over roughly three years from FY2027, delivery of at least $25m of medium-term cost synergies underwritten at announcement, and a "fewer, bigger, better" format strategy. JD has not published Hibbett-level revenue, EBITDA or margin targets, and none should be inferred.
Contribution trajectory under JD
The FY26 half-year contribution of £637m against a part-year FY25 figure of £713m (covering roughly six months from 25 July 2024 to 1 February 2025) implies a broadly comparable half-year run rate, with currency and estate reduction working in opposite directions. JD has not disclosed Hibbett-level profitability, and the group-level datapoint that Hibbett was dilutive to JD's gross margin rate (48.2% including Hibbett versus 48.3% excluding, in H1 FY25) is the clearest available signal on relative margin quality.
Bull case
- The closure programme is arithmetic, not hope. Removing the least productive 175 of roughly 982 doors from a chain whose sales density has been falling for three years should raise both average unit volume and four-wall margin, and JD retains the lease flexibility — kick-out clauses on most store leases — to execute it at low exit cost. If the closing cohort averages even break-even at the four-wall level, the group captures the corporate overhead allocation and the rent saving outright.
- The Nike relationship survived the transaction and got bigger. Hibbett now buys inside a group that also owns JD, Finish Line, Shoe Palace and DTLR. The concentration risk that made 73%-of-sales-from-one-vendor a standalone existential threat becomes, inside JD, ordinary strategic-account leverage. The Connected loyalty integration launched in late 2023 is a durable asset that ties Hibbett's customer file to Nike's.
- Competitor disruption creates a two-year window. DICK'S has committed $500–750m of pre-tax charges to clean up Foot Locker, including inventory clearance and store closures, and has told investors that back-to-school 2026 is the inflection point. A rival simultaneously closing doors and clearing inventory in overlapping markets is, for a well-supplied operator, an opportunity to take share cheaply.
Bear case
- The core problem was never store count — it was gross margin, and closures do not fix it. Apparel fell from 28.6% to 19.1% of sales in two years and footwear rose to 70.3%. That mix shift transfers margin from the retailer to the brand, and it is driven by consumer preference and vendor allocation, not by real estate. Closing 175 stores changes the denominator; it does not change what the customer buys or at what margin.
- Academy is inside the tent. Academy's launch of Jordan Brand across 145 stores and online from April 2025 is a direct attack on the one thing Hibbett sells that nobody else in its markets could. If Nike and Jordan continue widening allocation to larger-format operators in the South, Hibbett's locational moat erodes from the assortment side, where it has no defence.
- Parent-level earnings pressure argues for more cost action, not investment. JD's FY26 profit before tax and adjusting items fell 7.7% while revenue rose 10.5% — the classic signature of acquisition-driven dilution. A parent under margin pressure, carrying a $1bn term loan taken partly to buy this asset, is more likely to extend the closure programme than to fund the store refresh, technology and omni-channel investment that Hibbett's last independent management team said was necessary and that it explicitly warned would "impact our profitability growth in the short term."
Catalysts and monitorables, next twelve months
Analyst verdict
Hibbett was a very good business built on a borrowed advantage. For three decades it converted Nike's unwillingness to serve small-town America into a 1,169-store estate generating 23% returns on invested capital from $184m of net property and equipment. The economics were genuinely excellent — asset turnover approaching 2.4x at peak, gross margins touching 38%, a debt-free balance sheet — but they were never Hibbett's to keep. Everything depended on a single vendor supplying 73% of sales choosing not to compete, and on 5,700-square-foot boxes remaining the efficient unit of retail distribution.
Both assumptions weakened simultaneously. Nike's direct-to-consumer expansion, Academy's Jordan launch, and the collapse of the higher-margin apparel category from 28.6% to 19.1% of sales in two years compressed operating margin from 13.5% to 7.9% and diluted EPS from $11.19 to $8.17. Management's response — $271m of buybacks at the earnings peak, funded by drawing cash from $209m to $17m — improved per-share optics while removing the balance-sheet flexibility that had distinguished the company. By April 2024 the board was right to sell.
JD Sports paid 5.9x EBITDA, a price that looks cheap against the asset's history and fair against its trajectory. Two years on, JD's verdict is legible in its actions: the estate has fallen from roughly 1,179 to 982 doors, and approximately 175 more closures are scheduled. That is not integration; it is retrenchment toward the subset of the network where small-box economics still work.
The Hibbett franchise — the brand, the community relationships, the vendor access, the Alabaster logistics spine, the loyalty file — retains real value inside a larger group. The 1,169-store version of the company does not, and will not return. For anyone modelling this asset, the correct assumption is a smaller, more productive, more profitable Hibbett of perhaps 800 doors, operating as JD's "Reach" fascia rather than as an independent growth story.
DATA LIMITATIONS AND UNRESOLVED DISCREPANCIES
-
Post-July 2024 financials. No Hibbett-level income statement, balance sheet or cash flow statement exists after Q1 Fiscal 2025. All subsequent data is partial and parent-sourced.
-
Segment data. Hibbett reported one segment. Banner-level and channel-level profitability were never disclosed and cannot be constructed.
-
FY2020 capital expenditure. Not separately verified; bounded by net investing outflow of $17.0m. Shown as null in tables.
-
FY2021 and FY2020 product category revenue. Not disclosed in the retrieved filings; category tables cover Fiscal 2022–Fiscal 2024 only.
-
Management projections in the DEFM14A. Referenced in the proxy's table of contents at page 67 but the underlying figures were not retrieved; not estimated here.
-
Store count discontinuity. JD recorded 1,179 Hibbett-group stores at acquisition and 999 at 1 February 2025. No public reconciliation of the 180-store difference exists. Sources conflict and both figures are reported as published.
-
Institutional ownership table. Sourced from an aggregator compiling 13F/13G data rather than from a single primary filing; treat as indicative. The company's own beneficial ownership disclosure in the 10-K/A Item 12 was not retrieved in full.
-
ROIC methodology. The analyst calculation (NOPAT over equity plus funded debt) and the company's internal incentive calculation (11.9% average Fiscal 2022–2024) differ materially because of the treatment of operating leases. Both are disclosed.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Age | Title | Joined company | Prior roles / education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Michael E. Longo | 62 | President & CEO; Director | Dec 2019 | CEO of City Gear LLC 2006–2018; AutoZone 1992–2006, rising to EVP Supply Chain, IT, Development, Mexico. BS Engineering, US Military Academy; MBA, Harvard. Director, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta |
Jared S. Briskin | 51 | EVP, Merchandising | Apr 1998 | SVP & Chief Merchant 2014–2021; VP/DMM Footwear & Equipment 2010–2014; VP/DMM Apparel & Equipment 2004–2010 |
Robert J. Volke | 60 | SVP & Chief Financial Officer | Apr 2020 | Interim CFO, Fleet Farm; VP Accounting & Corporate Controller, Fleet Farm; VP & Controller, Tractor Supply. BS Accounting, Indiana University |
David M. Benck | 56 | SVP & General Counsel; Chief Privacy Officer | Mar 2005 | VP & GC from 2008. Member, Court of Arbitration for Sport (Lausanne); NCAA Independent Resolution Panel; former director, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Birmingham Branch; CIPP/US and CIPM |
Ronald P. Blahnik | 65 | SVP & Chief Information Officer | Nov 2016 | Managing partner, Blahnik Consulting 2011–2016; Lowe's Companies 1996–2011. Retired Army officer; 40+ years in IT |
Mark A. Gunn | 65 | SVP & Chief Human Resources Officer | Aug 2023 | CHRO, 99 Cents Only Stores 2014–2023; prior roles at TJX, McDonald's, Ross Stores, Walmart |
Benjamin A. Knighten | 53 | SVP, Store Operations | Mar 2020 | COO of City Gear 2018–2020; VP Store Operations, City Gear 2006–2018. MBA, University of Memphis |
Michael C. McAbee | 53 | SVP, Supply Chain & Store Development | Sep 2002 | VP Supply Chain & Store Development 2021–2022; merchandise planning, replenishment, operations, corporate strategy. BA History, University of Alabama |
William G. Quinn | 48 | SVP, Marketing & Digital | Feb 2016 | VP Digital, David's Bridal; EVP & CMO, 24 Hour Fitness. BA Vanderbilt; MBA Duke |
J. Stephani Smith | 50 | SVP, Merchandising | Oct 2020 | 28 years at Nike, most recently VP North American Sales for Converse; GM and Global VP of Nike Skateboarding. BS, Atlanta Christian College |
| Name | Age | Principal occupation | Director since | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Anthony F. Crudele | 67 | Retired EVP, CFO & Treasurer, Tractor Supply Company | 2012 | Board Chair; NCG member; non-voting member of Audit and Compensation |
Ramesh Chikkala | 59 | EVP/COO, Grocery Outlet Holding Corporation | 2022 | Audit |
Pamela J. Edwards | 61 | Former EVP & CFO, Citi Trends | 2022 | Audit (designated financial expert) |
Karen S. Etzkorn | 60 | CIO, Qurate Retail Group | 2016 | Audit; Compensation |
Terrance G. Finley | 70 | CEO, Books-A-Million, Inc. | 2008 | Compensation; NCG |
Dorlisa K. Flur | 59 | Senior advisor; former Chief Strategy & Transformation Officer, Southeastern Grocers | 2019 | NCG Chair; Compensation |
James A. Hilt | 48 | CEO, Asset Marketing Services | 2017 | Compensation |
Linda Hubbard | 64 | President & CEO, Carhartt, Inc. | 2021 | Audit Chair (designated financial expert) |
Michael E. Longo | 62 | President & CEO, Hibbett, Inc. | 2019 | None (sole non-independent director) |
Lorna E. Nagler | 67 | Former President, Bealls Department Stores | 2019 | Compensation Chair; NCG |
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
Longo total compensation (USD) | 3112976 | 2064425 | 2119452 |
Longo salary (USD) | 700000 | 850000 | 900000 |
Longo stock awards (USD) | 999926 | 1200010 | 1200001 |
Longo non-equity incentive (USD) | 1400000 | 0 | 0 |
Volke total compensation (USD) | 1177104 | 698693 | 729865 |
Briskin total compensation (USD) | 1530063 | 949413 | 965591 |
Quinn total compensation (USD) | 1189104 | 764439 | 780586 |
Knighten total compensation (USD) | 0 | 764439 | 783263 |
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
EBIT goal (USD M) | 127.0 | 188.1 | 171.3 |
EBIT achieved (USD M) | 228.2 | 168.4 | 137.0 |
Percentage of goal achieved (%) | 179.7 | 89.5 | 80.0 |
Bonus payout as percentage of target (%) | 200.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Rank | Holder | Shares | Approx. stake (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | BlackRock, Inc. | 1,915,847 | 16.0 |
2 | Pleasant Lake Partners LLC | 1,083,542 | 9.1 |
3 | The Vanguard Group, Inc. | 863,285 | 7.2 |
4 | Dimensional Fund Advisors LP | 740,381 | 6.2 |
5 | LSV Asset Management | 648,818 | 5.4 |
6 | Bronte Capital Management Pty Ltd | 605,382 | 5.1 |
7 | Macquarie Investment Management Business Trust | 601,989 | 5.0 |
8 | State Street Global Advisors, Inc. | 549,497 | 4.6 |
9 | Nomura Holdings (Securities & Investment Arm) | 340,538 | 2.9 |
10 | Charles Schwab Investment Management, Inc. | 289,157 | 2.4 |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | Category | Positioning versus Hibbett |
|---|---|---|
DICK'S Sporting Goods (incl. Foot Locker from Sept 2025) | Full-line superstore plus mall sneaker | The dominant threat. Roughly 10x Hibbett's revenue; House of Sport and Field House experiential formats; now owns the largest mall sneaker chain |
Foot Locker / Kids Foot Locker / Champs / WSS / atmos | Mall and urban sneaker specialist | Historically the closest direct comparator by assortment; now DICK'S-owned |
Academy Sports + Outdoors | Full-line value superstore | Overlaps heavily in Hibbett's Southern core; 302 stores across 21 states; launched Jordan Brand in 145 stores from April 2025 — a direct incursion into Hibbett's franchise |
Nike (direct-to-consumer) | Vendor turned competitor | Named explicitly: "we face increasing competition from vendors that sell directly to consumers, especially Nike." Also Hibbett's largest supplier |
JD Sports / Finish Line / Shoe Palace / DTLR | Mall and urban sneaker | Former competitors, now sister fascias under common ownership |
Shoe Carnival | Value family footwear | Overlapping small-market geography, lower price architecture |
Big 5 Sporting Goods | Regional value sporting goods | Western US concentration; limited direct geographic overlap |
Snipes USA | Urban sneaker specialist | Direct City Gear competitor in urban markets |
Rack Room Shoes / Off Broadway | Value family footwear | Small-market overlap |
Walmart, Target | Mass merchandisers | Price anchor in the same strip centres Hibbett occupies |
Amazon | E-commerce | Structural pressure on non-launch, non-allocated product |
TJX (Marshalls, Sierra), Ross, Burlington | Off-price | Absorb excess branded inventory at price points Hibbett cannot match |
Citi Trends | Urban value apparel | Adjacent demographic; a former Hibbett director was Citi Trends' CFO |
| Metric | Hibbett FY2024 | DICK'S FY2024 | DICK'S FY2025 | Academy FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD B) | 1.73 | 13.44 | 17.22 | 5.92 |
Revenue growth (%) | 1.2 | 3.5 | 28.1 | -3.9 |
Operating income (USD B) | 0.14 | 1.47 | 1.10 | 0.55 |
Operating margin (%) | 7.9 | 11.0 | 6.4 | 9.3 |
Net income (USD B) | 0.10 | 1.17 | 0.85 | 0.42 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 8.17 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 5.73 |
Store count | 1169 | 856 | 3195 | 302 |
R&D intensity (%) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |



