IMS Nanofabrication GmbH Overview
IMS Nanofabrication is the hidden champion behind every advanced chip made today. The Austrian company invented and commercialised the electron multi-beam mask writer (MBMW). This machine writes the nanometre-scale circuit patterns onto the quartz photomasks, or reticles, that lithography scanners then project onto silicon wafers. Older variable-shaped-beam (VSB) writers fire one shaped beam at a time. IMS's systems switch up to about 590,000 individually programmable electron beamlets in parallel, so write time stays the same however complex the pattern is. That property has become essential for extreme-ultraviolet (EUV) masks, for the curvilinear mask shapes produced by inverse lithography, and for high-NA EUV. Industry analysts put IMS's share of production multi-beam mask writers above 95%. Leading-edge logic, DRAM, NAND and image-sensor makers all depend on its tools. Intel owns 68%, Bain Capital about 20% and TSMC about 10%, which values IMS at about USD 4.3 billion.
What the company does
IMS Nanofabrication designs, builds, installs and services electron multi-beam mask writers. These are the lithography tools that pattern photomasks, the master stencils used in optical (193 nm immersion) and EUV wafer lithography. A photomask carries the circuit layout of one chip layer at four times wafer scale. A leading-edge design needs dozens of masks, and SemiAnalysis estimates that a full mask set at a 3 nm-class node can cost as much as USD 50 million. Masks also wear out and must be repaired or rewritten, so mask-writing capacity scales with the number of new designs, the number of mask layers per design and the number of EUV scanners installed around the world.
IMS's core technology is a programmable aperture-plate system: a CMOS-addressable "blanking aperture array" that splits one broad electron beam into hundreds of thousands of beamlets, each of which can be switched on and off individually. The first commercial architecture used 262,144 beams (a 512 × 512 array), with a data path upgraded in 2016 to 120 Gbit/s. The latest architecture uses about 590,000 beams (IMS keynote abstract, Austrochip 2026). Because every pixel is exposed in parallel, write time is set by the area covered and the resist dose, not by how many shapes the pattern contains. VSB write times, by contrast, explode as optical proximity correction and curvilinear inverse lithography technology (ILT) multiply the shot count. IMS states that its MBMW cuts write time by more than ten times compared with VSB systems.
Company's own description
The company calls itself a multidisciplinary high-tech company working at the nanoscale, specialising in innovations in electron-beam lithography, and the global market leader for multi-beam mask writers used to produce integrated circuits. Its corporate tagline is "We write the future." The company describes its customers as the world's largest chip manufacturers, who rely on IMS technology to produce current and future chip generations, and calls itself the "hidden champion" of the semiconductor industry. In Intel's SEC filings IMS is described as a business that develops and produces electron-beam systems for the semiconductor industry.
Business model and revenue model
| Revenue stream | Nature | Characterisation |
|---|---|---|
| New tool sales (MBMW systems) | Capital equipment, multi-million-dollar unit price per tool | Dominant share of revenue; lumpy and tied to mask-shop capex cycles |
| Upgrades and field retrofits (e.g., 201 → 201+, data-path and software upgrades) | Equipment / engineering services | Extends the life of the installed base; shown by job postings for regular software and configuration upgrades on customer tools |
| Installed-base service, spare parts and support | Recurring service contracts, on-site field engineering | Grows with the installed base (about 50 tools in the field as of mid-2023); supported by local teams in Taiwan, Korea, the US, Japan and Germany |
| Application and integration engineering | Technical services bundled with tool sales | Customer-facing technology integration managers focused on productivity and cost of ownership |
| Licensing | No disclosed licensing programme | Not a disclosed revenue stream |
New tool sales (MBMW systems): Nature: Capital equipment, multi-million-dollar unit price per tool; Characterisation: Dominant share of revenue; lumpy and tied to mask-shop capex cycles
- Upgrades and field retrofits (e.g., 201 → 201+, data-path and software upgrades) — Nature: Equipment / engineering services; Characterisation: Extends the life of the installed base; shown by job postings for regular software and configuration upgrades on customer tools
Installed-base service, spare parts and support: Nature: Recurring service contracts, on-site field engineering; Characterisation: Grows with the installed base (about 50 tools in the field as of mid-2023); supported by local teams in Taiwan, Korea, the US, Japan and Germany
Application and integration engineering: Nature: Technical services bundled with tool sales; Characterisation: Customer-facing technology integration managers focused on productivity and cost of ownership
Licensing: Nature: No disclosed licensing programme; Characterisation: Not a disclosed revenue stream
The split between product and service revenue is not publicly disclosed. The business follows the classic semiconductor-equipment model: high-value systems carrying technology premiums, sold to a concentrated customer base, followed by a long tail of service, upgrade and spare-parts revenue over a tool life of usually more than a decade.
Value-chain position
IMS sits upstream of the wafer fab in the photomask supply chain:
-
Chip designers / EDA produce the layout, with OPC and ILT corrections.
-
Mask blank suppliers (largely Japanese) supply coated quartz or EUV multilayer blanks.
-
Mask writers — IMS (multi-beam), NuFlare (VSB and multi-beam), plus laser writers for less critical layers — expose the pattern onto the blank.
-
Mask shops — captive shops at Intel, TSMC and Samsung, and merchant shops such as Photronics, DNP and Tekscend Photomask (formerly Toppan Photomask) — process, inspect, repair and pellicle the mask.
-
Wafer fabs use the mask in ASML scanners (EUV, high-NA EUV, DUV immersion).
IMS's equipment therefore enables the whole EUV and high-NA EUV ecosystem. The company has been named in photomask-services market research (for example, Wantstats' Global Semiconductor Photomask Services Market study) as a key ecosystem participant. Its role is that of the critical tool supplier to mask shops, not a merchant mask maker.
Customer types and end-markets
| Customer type | Examples (public evidence) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Captive mask shops of integrated device makers and foundries | Intel Mask Operation (Hillsboro, Oregon); TSMC (development partner since 2012); Samsung (has described EUV mask-writing practice publicly) | Leading-edge logic and memory |
| Merchant mask makers | DNP (MBMW user since 2017); Photronics (consortium partner); Tekscend Photomask / AMTC Dresden (first MBMW in Europe, an MBMW-100 Flex) | Serve fabless and foundry customers |
| Memory makers | IMS service locations in Boise (Idaho), Cheongju and Pyeongtaek/Dongtan (Korea) match DRAM and NAND clusters | SemiAnalysis notes all advanced DRAM depends on IMS tools |
| Research institutes | Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology (partner) | Historic research tool sales (IPL era) |
Captive mask shops of integrated device makers and foundries: Examples (public evidence): Intel Mask Operation (Hillsboro, Oregon); TSMC (development partner since 2012); Samsung (has described EUV mask-writing practice publicly); Notes: Leading-edge logic and memory
Merchant mask makers: Examples (public evidence): DNP (MBMW user since 2017); Photronics (consortium partner); Tekscend Photomask / AMTC Dresden (first MBMW in Europe, an MBMW-100 Flex); Notes: Serve fabless and foundry customers
Memory makers: Examples (public evidence): IMS service locations in Boise (Idaho), Cheongju and Pyeongtaek/Dongtan (Korea) match DRAM and NAND clusters; Notes: SemiAnalysis notes all advanced DRAM depends on IMS tools
Research institutes: Examples (public evidence): Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology (partner); Notes: Historic research tool sales (IPL era)
End-markets ultimately served are AI and data-centre accelerators, mobile SoCs, PC processors, DRAM/HBM, NAND and CMOS image sensors — every product built on EUV or advanced 193i patterning.
Independent characterisation
IMS is effectively a single-product-family, near-monopoly equipment supplier with a moat built on two decades of charged-particle-optics research, proprietary CMOS aperture-plate MEMS, extreme data-path engineering and a deeply embedded installed base. It has a structural position similar to ASML's in EUV scanners, at far smaller scale. Its economics are driven less by wafer volume than by mask complexity (curvilinear ILT, EUV, high-NA EUV) and by the number of new designs, which AI-driven custom silicon is multiplying. Its main structural weaknesses are customer concentration in a handful of mask shops, a single credible competitor (NuFlare Technology, part of Toshiba) and an ownership structure that ties it to the strategic and financial fortunes of Intel.
Strategy
Stated strategic themes
The strategy communicated by IMS and its shareholders since 2023 rests on five themes:
-
More independence to speed up innovation. Intel's 2023 announcements framed the minority sales as giving IMS more independence and autonomy. Both deals were intended to speed up innovation in multi-beam mask writing and foster deeper cooperation across the industry, with IMS continuing as a standalone subsidiary under its existing CEO.
-
Enabling high-NA EUV. Intel described mask writing as central to the industry's move to new patterning technologies such as high-NA EUV. Bain said the opportunity would grow as high-NA moves from development into high-volume manufacturing in the second half of the decade.
-
Generation cadence. IMS has released a new major generation or upgrade every two to four years (101 in 2016, 201 in 2019, 261 in 2022, 301 in 2023), with the MBMW-401 on the roadmap.
-
Widening the market to mature nodes. The MBMW-100 Flex (2023) targets the large installed base of ageing VSB writers at 32–10 nm mask nodes, widening the market beyond EUV.
-
Curvilinear masks. IMS's tools are positioned for curvilinear ILT and full-chip curvilinear masks, which industry forums such as the eBeam Initiative highlight as a main reason to buy multi-beam writers.
Initiatives in the last 24 months
| Initiative | Timing | Description |
|---|---|---|
| MBMW-301 volume deployment | 2023–2025 | Volume shipments of the high-NA-ready writer for 2 nm |
| MBMW-100 Flex market entry | 2023–2025 | First European MBMW installed at Tekscend Photomask / AMTC Dresden |
| Beam-count scale-up | 2025–2026 | Architecture extended to about 590,000 programmable beams |
| Capacity expansion in Austria | 2023–2026 | Brunn am Gebirge IBN3 hall and cleanroom; Vienna Dresdner Straße site |
| Global service build-out | 2024–2026 | Locations added in Dresden, Tokyo, Boise and Taichung |
| Software and data-path investment | 2024–2026 | Hiring for HPC software architecture, DevOps and system-control software |
| Owner-level portfolio review | 2025–2026 | Intel under Lip-Bu Tan has pledged to spin off or sell non-core assets, and reports in June 2026 noted Intel has sold some non-core businesses; IMS's status within that programme has not been announced |
MBMW-301 volume deployment: Timing: 2023–2025; Description: Volume shipments of the high-NA-ready writer for 2 nm
MBMW-100 Flex market entry: Timing: 2023–2025; Description: First European MBMW installed at Tekscend Photomask / AMTC Dresden
Beam-count scale-up: Timing: 2025–2026; Description: Architecture extended to about 590,000 programmable beams
Capacity expansion in Austria: Timing: 2023–2026; Description: Brunn am Gebirge IBN3 hall and cleanroom; Vienna Dresdner Straße site
Global service build-out: Timing: 2024–2026; Description: Locations added in Dresden, Tokyo, Boise and Taichung
Software and data-path investment: Timing: 2024–2026; Description: Hiring for HPC software architecture, DevOps and system-control software
Owner-level portfolio review: Timing: 2025–2026; Description: Intel under Lip-Bu Tan has pledged to spin off or sell non-core assets, and reports in June 2026 noted Intel has sold some non-core businesses; IMS's status within that programme has not been announced
Medium-term targets
IMS and Intel have published no financial guidance, medium-term targets or sustainability targets for IMS.
Products & Services
Development and pilot tools
MBMW Alpha (2013–2014). The world's first commercial electron multi-beam mask writer. It combined IMS's multi-beam column and data path with an industrial platform and stage from JEOL. It used the 262,144-beam aperture-plate system. Target customers were the consortium members (Intel, TSMC, DNP, Photronics). It proved multi-beam writing on 6-inch masks for the 10 nm half-pitch mask technology node.
MBMW Beta (2014). Two Beta tools built in parallel and delivered to consortium partners for process development. They bridged into the production-grade MBMW-101.
Production tools
| Product | Launch | Key capabilities | Target node / application | Target customer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MBMW-101 | 2015 (unveiled) / 2016 (HVM) | First HVM multi-beam writer; 262,144 programmable 50 keV beams; 120 Gbit/s data path; write time independent of pattern complexity (about 10 hours versus about 30 hours for VSB on a typical leading-edge mask, per the CEO in 2016) | 7 nm node masks | Leading captive and merchant mask shops |
| MBMW-201 | Q1 2019 | Second generation; higher throughput and resolution; optimised for medium- and low-sensitivity resists | 5 nm node; used in volume for 7/5/3 nm EUV masks and R&D at 2 nm | Captive and merchant EUV mask shops worldwide |
| MBMW-201+ | c. 2020–2021 | Enhanced 201 with throughput and accuracy improvements | 3 nm-class EUV masks | Installed-base upgrade path |
| MBMW-261 | 2,022 | Evolutionary step between 201 and 301; complex curvilinear patterns at full throughput | Advanced EUV, curvilinear ILT | EUV mask shops |
| MBMW-301 | 2,023 | Third major generation; for ultra-low-sensitivity resists; resolution and critical-dimension uniformity (CDU) meeting high-NA EUV requirements; described by IMS as entering the "angstrom era" | 2 nm and beyond; high-NA EUV mask production | Leading-edge logic and memory mask shops |
| MBMW-100 Flex | 2,023 | Based on the proven MBMW-201 platform; several write modes; brings multi-beam benefits (advanced corrections, low-sensitivity resist) to mature nodes at favourable cost of ownership; reduces write times for complex designs from days to 7–12 hours | 32 nm to 10 nm mask nodes, advanced optical masks, VSB replacement | Merchant mask shops; first European installation at Tekscend Photomask / AMTC Dresden |
| MBMW-401 | Roadmap (announced for about 2025) | Next leading-edge generation | Beyond 2 nm | Leading-edge mask shops |
| Current architecture | 2025–2026 | About 590,000 finely focused programmable beams; true linear and curvilinear writing at full mask scale; more than 10× write-time reduction versus VSB | 2 nm and beyond | Leading-edge |
Pricing is not publicly disclosed. Intel has described the MBMW as a "multimillion-dollar machine"; industry estimates commonly place leading-edge mask writers in the tens of millions of US dollars per unit.
Services
| Service | Description |
|---|---|
| Installation and factory acceptance testing (FAT) | Tool-specific configuration, FAT with full documentation, on-site installation by IMS field teams |
| Field service and 2nd-level support | Local engineering teams in Taiwan, Korea, the US, Japan and Germany; ticket-based remote and on-site debugging |
| Software and configuration upgrades | Regular upgrades of MBMW system-control software on customer tools; DevOps and HPC software infrastructure behind the data path |
| Calibration and performance tuning | Beam calibration and registration tuning, including strategies based on ZEISS PROVE registration metrology |
| Technology integration / application engineering | Customer-facing work on performance, productivity and cost of ownership |
| Hardware upgrades | Generation-to-generation retrofits (e.g., 201 → 201+) |
Financial Narrative
Disclosure context
IMS Nanofabrication GmbH files statutory annual accounts with the Austrian commercial register; the register records filings in September 2024 and October 2025. It publishes no annual report, earnings releases or investor presentations, and Intel does not break out IMS revenue or operating profit. The financial picture therefore draws on three sources: third-party revenue estimates, the valuation multiples implied by the 2023 minority transactions, and the non-controlling-interest (NCI) disclosures in Intel's SEC filings. Gross profit, operating income, EBITDA, EPS, dividends per share, balance-sheet line items, cash-flow line items and return ratios for IMS on a standalone basis are not publicly disclosed.
Revenue (third-party estimates)
On these estimates, revenue grew at a compound rate of about 18.0% from FY2018 to FY2022. The FY2021 estimate is consistent with the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology, which put IMS's 2021 revenue at about USD 400 million (EUR 365 million). With roughly 500 employees, that implies revenue of about EUR 0.73 million per employee — very high for a capital-equipment maker. The FY2022 jump coincides with MBMW-201 volume shipments, the post-2021 wave of mask-shop capacity investment and the broad EUV build-out.
Transaction-implied metrics (2023)
The implied LTM revenue of about USD 538 million matches the FY2022 estimate of EUR 490 million at 2022–2023 exchange rates. The low implied EBITDA margin reflects very heavy R&D spending on the MBMW-301 and high-NA programmes, the ramp of new production capacity at Brunn am Gebirge and Vienna, and possibly the effect of Intel-basis accounting.
Intel consolidation data (Intel Forms 10-K and 10-Q)
The FY2023 figure covers only the period after the minority sales closed (20% from August 2023, 32% from Q4 2023). The FY2025 attribution of USD -28 million follows from the change in the IMS NCI balance (USD 141 million to USD 113 million), with no partner contributions, distributions or equity changes recorded for IMS during the year; the first half of 2025 alone carried USD -19 million. In Q1 2026, Intel attributed a net loss of USD 4 million to IMS minority holders, against USD 1 million in Q1 2025, implying an IMS loss of roughly USD 13 million for the quarter on Intel's basis.
Interpretation. On Intel's consolidated accounting basis, IMS made a profit in late 2023 and then a net loss in FY2024 and FY2025. This is consistent with three factors: (i) heavy R&D and capacity investment ahead of high-NA EUV adoption, (ii) the normalisation of mask-writer orders after the 2021–2023 capacity wave, and (iii) accounting effects at the consolidated level, such as amortisation and stock-based compensation, that need not appear in IMS's Austrian statutory accounts. The falling NCI carrying value — down about 37% from USD 178 million to USD 113 million in two years — reflects accumulated losses, not distributions; Intel's filings show no partner distributions to IMS minority holders.
Balance sheet, cash flow and ratios
IMS's standalone total assets, cash, debt, goodwill, working capital, operating cash flow, capex, free cash flow, dividends, buybacks and return ratios are not publicly disclosed. Three structural observations can be made:
Capital structure: IMS has no publicly issued debt. Its registered share capital is EUR 17.96 million, and it relies on its owners and its own cash flow for funding.
Capex: Visible investments include the IBN2 office/production/storage building and the IBN3 production hall at Brunn am Gebirge, plus the ISO 5/ISO 7 cleanroom: 522 fan-filter units at a 6.20 m room height, a one-metre raised floor and more than 4,000 m² of elevated wall. Engineering and manufacturing activity has also expanded at Dresdner Straße 47 in Vienna.
Distributions: Intel's NCI roll-forwards for 2023–2025 and Q1 2026 record no distributions to IMS minority holders, so no dividend has been paid at the IMS Global level since the minority sales.
Financial Detail
Group Structure
| Layer | Entity | Ownership |
|---|---|---|
Ultimate parent | Intel Corporation (Delaware; Nasdaq: INTC) | Holds ~68% of IMS |
Holding entity | IMS Nanofabrication Global, LLC | Owned by Intel (~68%), Bain Capital Special Situations (~20%), TSMC Development, Inc. (~10%) and a further ~2% minority holder |
Austrian operating company | IMS Nanofabrication GmbH (FN 208021p) | 100% owned by IMS Nanofabrication Global, LLC |
Foreign subsidiaries / branches | Operations in the USA, Taiwan, South Korea, Germany and Japan | Wholly controlled; separate statutory detail not published |
Product Families
| Product family | Content | Target nodes | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
Leading-edge MBMW (300-series) | MBMW-301 and successor generations | 2 nm, A16/A14-class, high-NA EUV masks | Volume production since 2023 |
Mainstream EUV MBMW (200-series) | MBMW-201, MBMW-201+, MBMW-261 | 7/5/3 nm EUV and critical 193i layers | Installed-base workhorse |
Mature/intermediate-node MBMW | MBMW-100 Flex | 32 nm to 10 nm mask nodes; VSB replacement | Launched 2023 |
Next generation | MBMW-401 (announced roadmap) | Beyond 2 nm | Announced in 2023 for availability around 2025 |
Services | Installation, field service, upgrades, software, calibration | All installed tools | Ongoing |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2018 | FY2019 | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue, EUR Mn (Dealroom estimate) | 253 | 354 | 335 | 363 | 490 |
Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2019 | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth, % (derived) | 39.9 | -5.4 | 8.4 | 35.0 |
Valuation Snapshot
| Metric | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
Equity value (100%) | USD 4,300 M | Bain Capital (June 2023) and TSMC (September 2023) transactions |
EV / LTM revenue | 8.0x | Dealroom transaction data |
Implied LTM revenue | about USD 538 M | 4,300 ÷ 8.0 |
EV / LTM EBITDA | 93.8x | Dealroom transaction data |
Implied LTM EBITDA | about USD 46 M | 4,300 ÷ 93.8 |
Implied LTM EBITDA margin | about 8.5% | 46 ÷ 538 |
Margin Analysis (%) and Balance Sheet
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Minority (non-controlling) ownership at year-end, % | 32 | 32 | 32 |
NCI carrying value at year-end, USD Mn | 178 | 141 | 113 |
Net income attributable to IMS minority holders, USD Mn | 11 | -37 | -28 |
Implied IMS equity on Intel's carrying basis (100%), USD Mn | 556 | 441 | 353 |
Income Statement
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Implied IMS net income, 100% basis, USD Mn | -116 | -88 |
Region Overview
| Region | IMS presence | Corresponding mask/fab cluster | Likely revenue weight |
|---|---|---|---|
Taiwan (APAC) | Tainan, Hsinchu, Taichung | TSMC's leading-edge fabs and captive mask operations | Highest — TSMC runs the largest EUV install base |
South Korea (APAC) | Dongtan, Pyeongtaek, Cheongju | Samsung (Hwaseong/Dongtan, Pyeongtaek); SK hynix (Cheongju) | High — EUV logic and DRAM |
United States (Americas) | Santa Clara (CA), Hillsboro (OR), Boise (ID) | Intel Mask Operation (Hillsboro); Micron (Boise); Silicon Valley merchant shops and customers | Significant — Intel 18A/14A, Micron EUV DRAM |
Japan (APAC) | Tokyo | DNP, Tekscend Photomask (formerly Toppan Photomask), Japanese memory and mask ecosystem | Moderate |
Germany / Europe (EMEA) | Dresden | AMTC / Tekscend Photomask Dresden (first MBMW in Europe) | Small but strategically important for European sovereignty |
Austria (EMEA) | Brunn am Gebirge, Vienna | Headquarters, R&D, manufacturing | Production base, not a customer market |
Valuation Marker Details
| Valuation marker | Value | Date |
|---|---|---|
Equity value (100%) | USD 4.3 B | Jun–Sep 2023 |
EV / LTM revenue | 8.0x | 2023 |
EV / LTM EBITDA | 93.8x | 2023 |
Bain Capital stake (~20%) | About USD 860 M | Aug 2023 |
TSMC stake (~10%) | About USD 430 M | Q4 2023 |
Implied value of Intel's 68% stake | About USD 2.9 B | At the 2023 valuation |
Total net proceeds to Intel | USD 1.4 B | 2023 |
Analyst Conclusions
Guidance and consensus
IMS and Intel provide no IMS-specific guidance, and no analyst consensus exists. Industry sentiment is supportive: eBeam Initiative surveys consistently show that more than 90% of respondents expect multi-beam purchases to rise over the following three years.
Bull case
-
High-NA EUV ramps on schedule. 80% of surveyed industry experts expect volume manufacturing at more than one company by 2028. MBMW-301 (and next generations) become mandatory tools, driving a new upgrade cycle across the roughly 50-plus installed base.
-
Curvilinear ILT spreads to 193i layers. This turns multi-beam from an EUV-only tool into the default writer for critical layers, and the MBMW-100 Flex captures the VSB replacement cycle.
-
Ownership event unlocks value. An IPO or sale of Intel's 68% at or above the 2023 valuation of USD 4.3 billion would give IMS independence, transparency and a currency for retaining talent.
Bear case
-
Losses persist. Implied net losses of USD 116 million (FY2024) and USD 88 million (FY2025), plus a Q1 2026 loss, show IMS has yet to turn its technology monopoly into consistent profit.
-
NuFlare gains share. The MBM-3000's roughly 500,000 beams and confirmed customer-site performance could take share, particularly with Japanese and Korean mask makers who want a second source.
-
Ownership disruption. Intel's divestment programme could produce a rushed or conflicted ownership change, with the competing interests of Intel, TSMC and Bain complicating governance and risking the loss of key staff.
Key catalysts and monitorables (next 12 months)
| Catalyst / monitorable | What to watch |
|---|---|
| Intel portfolio actions | Any announcement on IMS within Intel's non-core divestment programme |
| Intel quarterly filings | IMS NCI profit or loss as a proxy for IMS profitability |
| SPIE Photomask Technology / BACUS (autumn) and SPIE Advanced Lithography (February) | MBMW-401 or next-generation launch; high-NA mask performance data |
| eBeam Initiative Luminaries survey | Purchase expectations for multi-beam writers |
| ASML high-NA EUV shipments and customer adoption | Leading indicator for MBMW-301 demand |
| NuFlare MBM-series announcements | Competitive wins |
| Austrian commercial register | Annual accounts and management changes |
| Headcount and hiring | Recovery from the 2025 decline |
Intel portfolio actions: What to watch: Any announcement on IMS within Intel's non-core divestment programme
Intel quarterly filings: What to watch: IMS NCI profit or loss as a proxy for IMS profitability
- SPIE Photomask Technology / BACUS (autumn) and SPIE Advanced Lithography (February) — What to watch: MBMW-401 or next-generation launch; high-NA mask performance data
eBeam Initiative Luminaries survey: What to watch: Purchase expectations for multi-beam writers
ASML high-NA EUV shipments and customer adoption: What to watch: Leading indicator for MBMW-301 demand
NuFlare MBM-series announcements: What to watch: Competitive wins
Austrian commercial register: What to watch: Annual accounts and management changes
Analyst verdict
IMS Nanofabrication is one of the most strategically important and least visible companies in the semiconductor supply chain. Its multi-beam mask writers write virtually every production EUV mask in the world. Industry analysis puts its share above 95% of production multi-beam tools and above 98% of production EUV masks, and no leading-edge logic or DRAM maker can run without them. The technology moat is real and deep. Its programmable aperture-plate architecture has grown from 262,144 to about 590,000 beams, it releases a new major generation or upgrade every two to four years, and its only multi-beam rival entered production five years later using the same basic concept.
The investment debate is not about relevance; it is about economics and ownership. At a USD 4.3 billion valuation, or 8.0× LTM revenue, the 2023 transactions priced IMS as a scarce strategic asset. Intel's filings, however, imply net losses of roughly USD 116 million in FY2024 and USD 88 million in FY2025, the minority carrying value has fallen by more than a third, and headcount shrank in 2025. These figures point to an R&D-heavy company paying in advance for the high-NA era, combined with a pause in mask-shop capex after the 2021–2023 boom.
The ownership structure is both an asset and a liability. Having TSMC and Intel on the cap table ties IMS's roadmap to the leading edge, but Intel's push to shed non-core assets makes IMS's next owner a live question. Intel itself flagged the potential for conflict among the shareholders.
Verdict: strategically indispensable, with an exceptional moat and leverage to high-NA EUV and curvilinear-mask adoption over 2027–2030. Near-term financial performance is soft and governance is in flux. The decisive monitorables are high-NA EUV adoption timing, NuFlare's competitive traction and any announcement on Intel's 68% stake. On balance, the long-term outlook is positive and the near-term outlook is cautious.
Sources
- [Intel Agrees to Sell Minority Stake in IMS Nanofabrication Business to Bain Capital (Intel Newsroom, 21 Jun 2023)]( (newsroom.intel.com)
- [Intel to Sell Minority Stake in IMS Nanofabrication Business to TSMC (Intel IR, 12 Sep 2023)]( (intc.com)
- [Intel to Sell Minority Stake in IMS Nanofabrication Business to TSMC (Business Wire)]( (businesswire.com)
- [Intel Form 10-Q Q3 2023, Non-Controlling Interests (SEC)]( (sec.gov)
- [Intel FY2023 Form 10-K, Non-Controlling Interests]( (intc.com)
- [Intel FY2024 Form 10-K, Non-Controlling Interests]( (intc.com)
- [Intel Q2 2025 Form 10-Q, Non-Controlling Interests]( (intc.com)
- [Intel FY2025 Form 10-K, Non-Controlling Interests]( (intc.com)
- [Intel Q1 2026 Form 10-Q]( (intc.com)
- [Intel Reports Fourth-Quarter and Full-Year 2025 Financial Results]( (intc.com)
- [Intel FY2025 10-K summary (StockTitan)]( (stocktitan.net)
- [Austrian commercial register extract, FN 208021p (evi.gv.at)]( (evi.gv.at)
- [IMS Nanofabrication — History]( (ims.co.at)
- [IMS Nanofabrication — Homepage]( (ims.co.at)
- [VentureBeat — Intel sells stake in IMS Nanofabrication to TSMC]( (venturebeat.com)
- [Investing.com — Intel sells a 20% stake in IMS Nanofabrication to Bain Capital]( (investing.com)
- [SemiAnalysis — Austria's Silent Monopolies on Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing]( (semianalysis.substack.com)
- [Futurezone — IMS Nanofabrication]( (futurezone.at)
- [SPIE — MBMW-301: a revolutionary step for multi-beam mask writers (2023)]( (medicalimaging.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [SPIE — MBMW-301: paving the way towards the angstrom era (2023)]( (remotesensing.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [SPIE — MBMW-301: entering the angstrom era (2024)]( (journals.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [SPIE JM3 — Multi-beam mask writing opens up new fields of application]( (astronomicaltelescopes.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [SPIE — MBMW-100 Flex]( (medicalimaging.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [Austrochip 2026 keynote abstract — Electron Multibeam Mask Writing]( (embsys.technikum-wien.at)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — Multi-Beam Writers Are Driving EUV Mask Development (EMLC 2023)]( (semiengineering.com)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — Next-Gen Mask Writer Race Begins]( (semiengineering.com)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — Deploying Multi-Beam Mask Writers]( (semiengineering.com)
- [SPIE — NuFlare MBM-3000 recent advancements (2024)]( (biomedicaloptics.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [SPIE — NuFlare: recent advancement and future plans (2024)]( (neurophotonics.spiedigitallibrary.org)
- [Semiconductor Digest — eBeam Initiative outlook]( (semiconductor-digest.com)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — Luminary Panel Sees Multi-Beam Mask Writers Key to 193i and EUV]( (semiengineering.com)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — eBeam Initiative 2025 panel]( (semiengineering.com)
- [Semiconductor Engineering — eBeam Initiative at SPIE ALP 2026]( (semiengineering.com)
- [Silicon Semiconductor — 12th eBeam Initiative survey]( (siliconsemiconductor.net)
- [Dealroom — IMS Nanofabrication]( (dealroom.launchvic.org)
- [Revelio Labs — IMS Nanofabrication employees]( (reveliolabs.com)
- [CB Insights — IMS Nanofabrication]( (cbinsights.com)
- [PitchBook — IMS Nanofabrication]( (pitchbook.com)
- [Crunchbase — IMS Nanofabrication]( (crunchbase.com)
- [FCP — IMS Brunn project]( (fcp.at)
- [Silicon Saxony — vitec reference: IMS Nanofabrication]( (silicon-saxony.de)
- [LinkedIn — First MBMW-100 Flex in Europe (Tekscend / AMTC)]( (at.linkedin.com)
- [IMARC — Photomask Market]( (imarcgroup.com)
- [Reports and Data — Photomask Market]( (reportsanddata.com)
- [DIResearch — Multi-beam Mask Writer report]( (pdf.marketpublishers.com)
- [TrendForce — Intel CEO Lip-Bu Tan eyes divestment of non-core assets]( (trendforce.com)
- [Bloomberg Law — Intel CEO says company will spin off non-core units]( (news.bloomberglaw.com)
- [CNN — Intel turnaround (June 2026)]( (cnn.com)
- [karriere.at — IMS Nanofabrication job postings]( (karriere.at)
- [Justia — IMS Nanofabrication trademarks]( (trademarks.justia.com)
Executive Leadership
Executive Leadership Team
| Name | Title | Tenure | Background |
|---|---|---|---|
Dr. Elmar Platzgummer | Chief Executive Officer; Managing Director (Geschäftsführer) | CEO since before the 2015 Intel acquisition; registered managing director since 12 Sep 2017 | Physicist; architect of IMS's multi-beam technology; co-author of the MBMW technical papers at SPIE (2016–2024) |
Mag. Karin Schuster | Managing Director (Geschäftsführerin) | Since 20 Sep 2023 | Appointed alongside the minority-stake transactions; "Mag." denotes an Austrian master's degree; functional title (finance/administration) not publicly specified |
Mag. Maria Lepuschitz | Prokuristin (authorised signatory) | Since 16 Dec 2025 | Austrian master's degree |
Dr. Hans Loeschner (Löschner) | Senior technologist; long-time IMS leader | Since the ion-projection era | Co-author of MBMW-301 papers (2023–2024) and the Austrochip 2026 keynote |
Dr. Christof Klein | Senior technical lead (MBMW development) | — | Lead author, MBMW-301 SPIE papers 2023 |
Stefan Kuhn | Head of Operations, IMS USA | — | Lead author, SPIE 2024 MBMW-301 presentation |
Martin Trojer | Technical lead | — | Lead author, Austrochip 2026 keynote |
Board & Management Changes
| Date entered | Change |
|---|---|
15 Mar 2024 | Function entered and deleted; change of a person's name |
18 Sep 2024 | Function deleted; function entered |
15 Oct 2024 | Function deleted; function entered |
11 Jan 2025 | Function deleted; function entered |
4 Sep 2025 | Function deleted |
8 Nov 2025 | Function deleted; function changed |
16 Dec 2025 | Mag. Maria Lepuschitz registered as Prokuristin |
27 Feb 2026 | Function deleted; function entered |
Major Shareholders
| Shareholder | Stake in IMS (%) | Acquired | Consideration |
|---|---|---|---|
Intel Corporation | 68 | Initial investment 2009; full acquisition 2015 | — |
Bain Capital Special Situations | 20 | Closed August 2023 | About USD 860 M (net proceeds to Intel USD 849 M) |
TSMC (TSMC Development, Inc.) | 10 | Closed Q4 2023 | About USD 430 M |
“—” = not publicly disclosed.
Competitive Landscape
Key Competitors
| Competitor | Parent / country | Segment | Relative positioning |
|---|---|---|---|
NuFlare Technology | Toshiba group, Japan | Multi-beam (MBM-1000, MBM-2000 in 2021, MBM-2000PLUS in 2022, MBM-3000 launched 2023) and VSB (EBM series) | Only other commercial multi-beam supplier; MBM-3000 doubles beam count to about 500,000, uses 12 nm beamlets and targets about 10-hour EUV write times; long-time VSB market leader |
JEOL | Japan | VSB e-beam mask writers and e-beam lithography; former IMS platform partner | Legacy VSB supplier |
Mycronic | Sweden | Laser mask writers (mainly display and mature-node semiconductor masks) | Complementary at mature layers; competes for mask-shop capex |
Heidelberg Instruments | Germany | Laser direct-write / maskless lithography, mask writers for mature nodes | Mature and specialty masks |
Applied Materials | USA | Laser mask writers (ALTA legacy line); PitchBook lists Applied as a historic IMS investor | Mostly out of the leading-edge mask-writer market |
Vistec Electron Beam | Germany | Variable-shaped e-beam lithography | Specialty and research |
Raith | Germany | E-beam lithography for research and nanofabrication | Research / R&D |
Elionix | Japan | High-resolution e-beam lithography | Research |
Canon | Japan | Nanoimprint lithography (alternative patterning route) | Indirect substitute risk |
Multibeam Corporation | USA | Multi-column e-beam direct write (maskless) | Long-term indirect substitute in niches |
Peer Comparison FY2025
| Attribute | IMS (MBMW-301 / current) | NuFlare (MBM-3000) |
|---|---|---|
First HVM multi-beam tool | 2016 (MBMW-101) | 2021–2022 (MBM-2000) |
Beam count, latest generation | About 590,000 | About 500,000 |
Target node | 2 nm and beyond; high-NA EUV | N2 |
Installed base | About 50 tools (mid-2023) | Several customer sites |
Production EUV mask share | More than 98% | Small |
Ownership | Intel / Bain / TSMC | Toshiba |



