Jotun A/S Overview
Jotun is a family-controlled Norwegian paints and coatings group that has quietly built one of the most profitable franchises in the global coatings industry. With FY2025 consolidated operating revenue of NOK 34.3 billion and an operating margin of 20.6%, it ranks tenth worldwide by coatings sales but sits near the top of the peer group on profitability and returns (ROCE 33.9%). The business spans four segments — Decorative Paints, Marine, Protective and Powder Coatings — organised in a matrix across five regions. Its defining strategic traits are organic growth, segment diversity, early entry into emerging markets (Middle East since 1962, South East Asia since 1968, China since 1983) and a premium, service-led positioning. Jotun is the recognised global leader in marine coatings, a strong number-one or number-two decorative brand across the Gulf and South East Asia, and a leading supplier of passive fire protection and offshore-wind coatings. Some 93% of revenue is generated outside Norway.
What the company does — company's own description
In its FY2025 annual report, Jotun describes its business activities as the development, production, marketing and sale of paints and coatings systems, solutions and services for the treatment, protection and beautification of assets. Its corporate mission is "Jotun Protects Property". The group organises its offering into two business areas — Decorative Paints and Performance Coatings — with Performance Coatings comprising Marine, Protective and Powder Coatings, giving four reporting segments. Sales are run through five regions: Europe and Central Asia (ECA), Middle East, India and Africa (MEIA), North East Asia (NEA), South East Asia and Pacific (SEAP) and Americas (AM). (Source: Jotun Annual Report 2025, Board of Directors' report, section 1.)
The company characterises its business model as leveraging local knowledge and competence in each market, supported by regional hubs, within a matrix organisation that grants regional and local operations a significant degree of autonomy. Its stated strategy rests on three elements: organic growth, segment diversity and a differentiated approach. (Source: Annual Report 2025, Sustainability statements – Strategy and business model.)
Independent characterisation
Jotun is best understood as a vertically integrated formulator and manufacturer of specialty coatings that captures value through brand, formulation know-how, technical service and distribution, rather than through raw-material ownership. It buys resins, pigments (notably titanium dioxide), solvents, additives and packaging from chemical suppliers; formulates and produces in 40 plants in 25 countries; and sells through three principal channels:
-
Dealer / retail channel (Decorative, increasingly Protective): a network of roughly 10,000 dealers worldwide, supported by in-store colour tinting (Jotun Multicolor), the new Jotun Shop Concept (more than 1,000 dealers converted by end-2025), colour marketing (Global Colour Trends) and digital ordering tools.
-
Direct project and specification sales (Protective, Powder, Decorative projects): specification-driven sales to EPC contractors, energy majors, architects, fabricators and applicators, backed by more than 1,200 Coatings Advisors in its Technical Sales and Service (TSS) organisation, which Jotun describes as the largest in the industry.
-
Direct key-account sales (Marine): to shipyards (newbuilding), shipowners and managers (drydock maintenance) and on-board supply (SeaStock), increasingly bundled with performance guarantees, digital hull-monitoring services and robotic hull cleaning.
Value chain position
Jotun sits in the middle of the chemicals value chain: downstream of commodity and specialty chemical producers, upstream of applicators, painters, shipyards and asset owners. Its own GHG inventory illustrates how upstream-heavy the cost base is: purchased goods and services (mainly raw materials) account for about 71% of total market-based emissions (3.29 million tCO2e of 4.63 million tCO2e in 2025), and raw materials alone represent around 60% of its emissions footprint. (Source: Annual Report 2025, Climate change mitigation.)
Strategy
Stated strategy (paraphrased themes, Annual Report 2025)
Three strategic elements: organic growth, segment diversity and a differentiated approach that gives markets local autonomy.
Mission: "Jotun Protects Property" — framed as inherently sustainable because protecting assets extends their lifetime.
Values ("Penguin Spirit"): Loyalty, Care, Respect and Boldness.
Growth logic: enter promising markets early and grow with developing economies; continue investing in new markets, notably Africa.
Capability pillars: product innovation via a global, market-close R&D network; competence development; strong marketing concepts for premium products; quality technical service.
Opportunism: the CEO has described seizing opportunities when they arise as a strategic pillar (press release, 13 February 2024).
Financial philosophy: protect profitability, control manageable costs, maintain a sound balance sheet and a long-term ownership perspective.
Cost programmes
No formal, quantified cost-reduction programme has been announced. Management refers to efficiency programmes in Decorative and automation/digitalisation investments in Powder.
Medium-term guidance
Jotun does not publish quantitative medium-term financial targets. Qualitative guidance from the board (Annual Report 2025): rising pressure on selling prices and operating costs is expected to cause a gradual reduction of the operating margin from its historically high level; Marine sales expected to stay high in 2026 with continued price pressure; Protective expected to benefit from accelerating infrastructure, offshore oil and gas and wind investment; Decorative growth expected to be steady but sensitive to macro conditions. The May and September 2026 releases reaffirm the long-term growth strategy and investment plans while flagging significant uncertainty from the Middle East war.
Products & Services
Pricing is not publicly disclosed for any product; Jotun sells per unit volume/weight through dealers and project quotations. "Year" indicates launch or latest version where disclosed.
Product Portfolio
| Product / platform | Description and capabilities | Target customer | Launch / latest version | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Jotashield Eterna | Premium exterior paint | Homeowners, developers (Middle East) | Prior to 2025 | Cited as driver of premium share gains in 2025 |
Jotashield Kanva | Premium exterior paint | Middle East market | Prior to 2025 | Premium share driver |
Jotashield Infinity | Premium exterior paint | South East Asia | Prior to 2025 | Premium share driver |
Fenomastic My Home Rich Matt | Premium interior paint | Middle East homeowners | Prior to 2025 | Premium share driver |
Majestic Pure Colour | Premium interior paint | South East Asia | Prior to 2025 | Premium share driver |
Trebitt (matte series) | Woodstain, now with matte finish | Scandinavian homeowners | 2025 | One of Jotun's longest-running woodstains |
Jotun Multicolor | In-store tinting system and dealer concept | Dealers | Ongoing; JCM GO app and Multicolor dashboard released 2025 | Core of dealer channel |
JCM GO | Mobile app enabling dealer sales staff to sell and execute orders remotely | Dealers | Global rollout 2025 | Digital channel tool |
Jotun Multicolor dashboard | Web data service to monitor tinting-machine performance | Dealers, Jotun sales | 2025 | — |
Jotun Shop Concept | Standardised showroom design with consultation areas | Dealers | Introduced 2025; 1,000+ dealers converted by end-2025 | Retail experience upgrade |
Global Colour Trends ("Soulful Spaces" 2026) | 24 colours in three themes (Passage of Time, Art of Stillness, Joyful Living) | Consumers, designers, architects | Annual; 2026 collection released 2025 | 800,000 brochures printed in 15 languages for 20+ countries |
| Product / service | Description and capabilities | Target customer | Launch / latest version | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Hull Performance Solutions 2.0 (HPS 2.0) | Tailorable premium hull coating solutions optimised for different trades | Shipowners and managers | Introduced June 2025 at Nor-Shipping | Third-party validation by DNV and Lloyd's Register |
SeaQuantum XT | Premium antifouling within HPS 2.0 | Shipowners | 2025 | — |
SeaQuest Endura II | Antifouling within HPS 2.0 | Shipowners | 2025 | — |
Jotun Hull Skating Solutions (HSS) / HullSkater | Remotely operated robotic proactive hull-cleaning system with magnetic adhesion, HD cameras and interchangeable discs, stationed on board | Shipowners seeking always-clean hulls, biosecurity compliance | Commercially available 2025 | Lloyd's Register's first full antifouling approval (incl. coating-cleaning compatibility) in 2025 |
HullKeeper | Digital hull-fouling monitoring and prediction service | Ship operators | Ongoing | High utilisation reported 2025 |
Jotun Voyager | Digital decision-support service | Ship operators | Ongoing | — |
Newbuilding, drydock and SeaStock coatings | Primers, topcoats, tank coatings, cargo hold coatings, ballast tank anticorrosives | Shipyards, owners, on-board crews | Ongoing | Record drydock and SeaStock growth in 2025 |
Yacht coatings | Premium coatings for megayachts and leisure yachts | Yacht builders and owners | Ongoing | — |
| Product / service | Description and capabilities | Target customer | Launch / latest version | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Jotachar range | Premium mesh-free passive fire protection (epoxy intumescent) | Oil & gas, energy facilities | Ongoing | Strong 2025 sales |
Jotachar JF750 XT | Patent-pending all-climate fire protection | Oil & gas | 2023 | — |
Jotachar 1709 XT | Mesh-free passive fire protection engineered for extreme environments | Oil & gas | 2025 | — |
SteelMaster | Intumescent (cellulosic fire) coatings for structural steel | Infrastructure, commercial buildings, data centres | Ongoing | New demand from data-centre construction |
Baltoflake | Durable, maintenance-free glass-flake coating | Offshore wind | Ongoing | Described as best in class for offshore wind |
Hardtop XP II | Next generation of Jotun's best-selling topcoat | Shipping, infrastructure, energy | September 2025 | — |
AssetKeeper | Visual coating and corrosion assessment with standardised repair prioritisation | Energy asset owners | Ongoing | Rising demand in 2025 |
Digital dealer tools (WebOrder, MyJotun, SWIFT) | Ordering and engagement platforms | Dealers, contractors | Ongoing | Supports growing dealer share of Protective sales |
Solution categories | Thermal performance, fire protection, steel protection, anticorrosive primers, tank linings | Oil & gas customers | — | Framework from AR 2025 |
| Product / service | Description and capabilities | Target customer | Launch / latest version | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Jotun Super Durable | Premium architectural powder | Architects, facade fabricators | Ongoing | Record sales 2025 |
Jotun Durasol | Premium architectural powder | Architects, facade fabricators | Ongoing | Record sales 2025 |
Bonded metallics | Metallic-effect powders | Architectural projects | Dubai facility 2024; Malaysia facility scheduled 2026 | — |
EV Battery Solutions | Powder coatings for EV battery components | EV battery producers | Recent launch | Record sales in China 2025 |
Jotun Primax Solutions | Two-layer anticorrosive powder system meeting corrosion class CX | Assets in harsh environments, solar, electrical equipment | Recent launch | Supplied to a major Chinese solar project and Saudi meter-box contract in 2025 |
Applicator efficiency solution | Third-party-approved paint-shop efficiency and carbon-footprint analysis | Powder applicators | 2025 | Sustainability-led service |
Pipeline, low-cure, general industry, furniture and appliance powders | Product families | OEMs and applicators | Ongoing | Named R&D focus areas |
Financial Narrative
All figures are consolidated Jotun Group (associates and JVs equity-accounted), NOK million, FY ending 31 December, from the Jotun Annual Report 2025 multi-year key figures unless stated.
Income statement
Two-year detail (FY2024–FY2025)
Sources: Annual Report 2025, Board of Directors' report section 2. FY2024 net financial costs derived from the disclosed NOK 660 million year-on-year decrease; FY2024 tax derived as PBT less profit for the year.
CAGRs (derived): Revenue FY2021–FY2025: 10.8%. Operating profit FY2021–FY2025: 22.6%. Over the ten years 2015–2025, revenue grew from NOK 16,282 million to NOK 34,333 million (7.7% CAGR) and operating profit from NOK 2,064 million to NOK 7,081 million (13.1% CAGR).
Commentary. The five-year record divides into three phases. (1) 2021–2022 inflation squeeze: revenue rose 22% in 2022 on price increases and volume, but operating margin compressed to 13.4% as raw-material costs surged, and operating profit in 2021 actually fell 10% from the pandemic-era 2020 peak. (2) 2023 margin step-change: easing raw-material prices against sticky selling prices, plus positive mix, lifted operating profit 72% and margin to 20.2% — the inflection point of the period. (3) 2024–2025 high plateau with currency drag: reported revenue growth slowed to 7.4% and then 0.4%, but underlying (currency-neutral) growth was 6% in 2025, with record volumes in both business areas; margin edged up to 20.6% on easing raw materials, volume and cost control. The large improvement in profit before tax in 2025 (+16.7%) came from a NOK 660 million reduction in net financial costs, likely reflecting lower currency losses (Q1 2024 included a currency loss per the Q1 2025 update).
Balance sheet
Two-year liquidity and debt detail
Sources: Annual Report 2025, Board of Directors' report – Financial position. Subsidiary borrowing is mainly short-term from local banks; the credit lines also back up short-term certificate loans.
Equity was flat in FY2025 despite NOK 5.2 billion of profit, consistent with dividends paid and negative currency translation on foreign net assets from a stronger NOK.
Cash flow
Commentary. Cash generation has transformed since the 2021–2022 working-capital build, when FCF was only about NOK 0.6 billion a year as inflated raw-material costs swelled inventories and receivables. FY2025 CFO rose NOK 2,345 million to NOK 6,466 million, helped by higher earnings and lower operating working capital — management attributes the working-capital decrease primarily to currency translation from the stronger NOK, so part of the 2025 cash conversion is non-recurring. Capex intensity of roughly 4–6% of revenue reflects continuous capacity building (Indonesia expansion, Kuala Lumpur regional HQ and R&D centre in 2025).
Dividends and buybacks. Proposed FY2025 dividend: NOK 2,394 million (payout of 68% of parent profit of NOK 3,514 million; 46% of group profit for the year, derived). Jotun does not conduct share buybacks (private company; none disclosed).
Returns and efficiency ratios
Two-year ratio detail (derived)
Note: revenue per employee divides consolidated revenue by 100%-basis headcount and therefore overstates nothing but understates productivity for JV-heavy markets; use for trend only. The interest-coverage proxy uses net financial costs, which include currency items, not pure interest expense.
Interim performance (most recent periods)
Currency-adjusted growth: Q4 2025 underlying operating profit +28.5%; Jan–Apr 2026 sales +10% and operating profit +18%; Q2 2026 sales +11% and operating profit +21% (per Orkla Q2 2026 report); Jan–Aug 2026 sales +10% and operating profit +13%. Jan–Aug 2026 operating margin: 22.1% (derived), versus 21.7% in Jan–Aug 2025. Orkla's share of Jotun profit in Q2 2026 rose 17% to NOK 494 million.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Segment | What it contains | Key products / services | FY2025 share of total sales (100% basis) |
|---|---|---|---|
Decorative Paints | Interior and exterior paints, woodstains, colour services for homes, commercial and public buildings | Jotashield (Eterna, Kanva, Infinity), Fenomastic, Majestic, Trebitt, Jotun Multicolor, Global Colour Trends | 36% |
Marine Coatings | Antifoulings, primers, topcoats, tank coatings, hull performance solutions and services; yacht coatings | SeaQuantum, SeaQuest, HPS 2.0, Hull Skating Solutions, HullKeeper, Jotun Voyager | 28% |
Protective Coatings | Anti-corrosion, passive fire protection (intumescent), high-temperature, tank linings and topcoats for energy and infrastructure | Jotachar, SteelMaster, Baltoflake, Hardtop XP II, AssetKeeper | 29% |
Powder Coatings | Powder coatings for building components, general industry, pipelines, automotive/EV batteries, appliances, furniture | Jotun Super Durable, Durasol, EV Battery Solutions, Primax | 7% |
Revenue by Segment (%) and Revenue by Segment
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Decorative Paints sales (NOK Mn, 100% basis) | 11,624 | 14,084 | 16,133 | 16,981 | 17,110 |
Performance Coatings sales (NOK Mn, 100% basis) | 17,698 | 22,891 | 27,366 | 29,991 | 30,687 |
Total sales 100% basis (NOK Mn, derived sum) | 29,322 | 36,975 | 43,499 | 46,972 | 47,797 |
Segment Margins & Growth (%) and Revenue by Segment (%)
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Decorative Paints YoY growth (%) | 21.2 | 14.5 | 5.3 | 0.8 | |
Performance Coatings YoY growth (%) | 29.3 | 19.5 | 9.6 | 2.3 | |
Total 100% basis YoY growth (%) | 26.1 | 17.6 | 8.0 | 1.8 | |
Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
Decorative Paints share of total (%) | 39.6 | 38.1 | 37.1 | 36.2 | 35.8 |
Performance Coatings share of total (%) | 60.4 | 61.9 | 62.9 | 63.8 | 64.2 |
Segment Revenue (2)
| Segment | FY2025 share (%) | FY2025 indicative sales (NOK Mn, derived) | FY2025 commentary (per Annual Report 2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
Decorative Paints | 36 | 17110 (reported) | Record volumes; growth in all regions except China |
Protective Coatings | 29 | approx. 13860 | All-time high sales; offshore wind and oil & gas strong; infrastructure softer |
Marine Coatings | 28 | approx. 13380 | Double-digit growth; share gains in all regions |
Powder Coatings | 7 | approx. 3350 | All-time high sales and record profits |
Income Statement and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating revenue (NOK Mn) | 22,809 | 27,858 | 31,861 | 34,206 | 34,333 |
Operating profit (NOK Mn) | 3,138 | 3,737 | 6,430 | 6,766 | 7,081 |
Profit before tax (NOK Mn) | 2,890 | 3,191 | 5,879 | 5,849 | 6,824 |
Operating margin (%) | 13.8 | 13.4 | 20.2 | 19.8 | 20.6 |
Pre-tax margin (%, derived) | 12.7 | 11.5 | 18.5 | 17.1 | 19.9 |
Revenue YoY growth (%, derived) | 8.3 | 22.1 | 14.4 | 7.4 | 0.4 |
Operating profit YoY growth (%, derived) | -10.1 | 19.1 | 72.1 | 5.2 | 4.7 |
Sales outside Norway (% of revenue) | 90 | 92 | 92 | 92 | 93 |
Key Financials and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Net financial costs (NOK Mn) | 917 | 257 |
Income tax (NOK Mn) | 1,400 | 1,581 |
Profit for the year (NOK Mn) | 4,449 | 5,243 |
Net margin (%, derived) | 13.0 | 15.3 |
Effective tax rate (%, derived) | 23.9 | 23.2 |
Parent company Jotun A/S profit for the year (NOK Mn) | 3,629 | 3,514 |
Balance Sheet and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (NOK Mn) | 23,432 | 26,355 | 30,082 | 34,904 | 34,653 |
Equity incl. non-controlling interests (NOK Mn) | 12,468 | 14,493 | 18,325 | 21,660 | 21,657 |
Equity / assets ratio (%) | 53.2 | 55.0 | 60.9 | 62.1 | 62.5 |
Key Financials and Financial Ratios (x)
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Cash position (NOK Mn) | 6,176 | 6,876 |
Net cash position (NOK Mn) | 1,481 | 2,470 |
Implied gross interest-bearing debt (NOK Mn, derived: cash minus net cash) | 4,695 | 4,406 |
Outstanding bonds, Jotun A/S (NOK Mn) | not disclosed in sources reviewed | 1900 |
of which short-term bonds (NOK Mn) | not disclosed in sources reviewed | 300 |
Committed long-term credit lines, unused (NOK Mn) | not disclosed in sources reviewed | 3,092 |
Debt / equity (x, derived) | 0.22 | 0.20 |
Cash Flow and Margin Analysis (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash flow from operating activities (NOK Mn) | 1968 | 1,842 | 5,236 | 4,117 | 6,466 |
Investments in intangible and fixed assets (NOK Mn) | 1,363 | 1,280 | 1,374 | 1,264 | 1,516 |
Free cash flow (NOK Mn, derived: CFO minus investments) | 605 | 562 | 3,862 | 2,853 | 4,950 |
Investments as % of revenue (derived) | 6.0 | 4.6 | 4.3 | 3.7 | 4.4 |
Cash conversion: CFO / operating profit (%, derived) | 62.7 | 49.3 | 81.4 | 60.8 | 91.3 |
Returns & Leverage Ratios (%) and Financial Ratios (x)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on capital employed (%) | 22.4 | 22.9 | 35.0 | 33.6 | 33.9 |
Return on equity (%) | 17.9 | 16.1 | 26.3 | 22.8 | 24.8 |
Asset turnover (x, derived on average total assets) | 1.04 | 1.12 | 1.13 | 1.05 | 0.99 |
Employees incl. 100% of associates and JVs | 10,293 | 10,043 | 10,349 | 10,606 | 10,933 |
Revenue per employee (NOK K, derived) | 2,216 | 2,774 | 3,079 | 3,225 | 3,140 |
Returns & Leverage Ratios (%) and Financial Ratios (x) (2)
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Return on average assets (%) | 13.7 | 15.1 |
Operating profit / net financial costs (x) | 7.4 | 27.6 |
Period
| Period | Operating revenue (NOK Mn) | YoY reported (%) | Operating profit (NOK Mn) | YoY reported (%) | Profit before tax (NOK Mn) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Q1 2025 | 8,571 | 6.4 | 1,890 | 3.9 | — | Quarterly Update Q1 2025 |
Jan–Apr 2025 | 11,376 | 4 | 2,442 | 2 | 2,444 | Press release 27 May 2025 |
H1 2025 | 17,208 | 2.8 | 3,705 | 0.9 | — | Quarterly Update Q2 2025 |
Jan–Aug 2025 | 22,998 | 2 | 4,991 | 3 | 4,853 | Press release 25 Sept 2025 |
Q4 2025 | — | -1.9 | — | 13.7 | — | Quarterly Update Q4 2025 |
FY2025 | 34,333 | 0.4 | 7,081 | 4.7 | 6,824 | Annual Report 2025 |
Jan–Apr 2026 | 11,496 | 1 | 2,625 | 7.5 | — | Press release 26 May 2026 |
Jan–Aug 2026 | 23,478 | 2 | 5,183 | 4 | 4,894 | Press release 24 Sept 2026 |
Financial Analysis
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Gross profit and gross margin | Not publicly disclosed in sources reviewed (qualitative: gross margin "only slightly down" in Q1 2025; higher gross margins in Decorative 2025) |
EBITDA / EBITDA margin | Not disclosed in sources reviewed (Jotun charts EBITA but no table values were retrievable) |
Net income FY2021–FY2023 | — |
EPS (basic/diluted) | — |
Dividends per share | Not applicable/not disclosed; total proposed FY2025 dividend NOK 2,394 million |
Goodwill and intangibles | — |
Working capital, current ratio, cash conversion cycle | — |
ROIC | Not reported; ROCE (33.9% FY2025) is the closest company metric |
Net debt / EBITDA | Not computable without EBITDA; group is net cash (NOK 2,470 million at FY2025) |
Buybacks | None (private company) |
Region Overview
| Region | Code | Scope |
|---|---|---|
Europe and Central Asia | ECA | Scandinavia, wider Europe, Türkiye, Central Asia |
Middle East, India and Africa | MEIA | 17 companies and 16 factories; present in 41 countries |
North East Asia | NEA | China, South Korea, Japan |
South East Asia and Pacific | SEAP | Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, Myanmar, Cambodia, Australia and others |
Americas | AM | Brazil, Mexico, USA and others |
Revenue by Region (%)
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue outside Norway (% of consolidated revenue) | 90 | 92 | 92 | 92 | 93 |
Revenue in Norway (% of consolidated revenue, derived) | 10 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 7 |
Region / market | FY2025 data point | Source | |||
MEIA | 31% of total revenue (100% basis); approx. NOK 14.8 billion derived on 100% basis | Orkla notice 12 March 2026; Jotun corporate news 13 March 2026 | |||
Gulf countries affected by 2026 war (UAE, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman) | Approx. 20% of Jotun revenue; 1,933 employees | Orkla notice 12 March 2026 | |||
NEA | Led group growth in H1 2025, driven by Marine newbuilding in China and Korea | Quarterly Update Q2 2025 | |||
China (Decorative) | Only region without Decorative growth in 2025 due to weak consumer spending | Annual Report 2025 |
Region Overview (2)
| Region | Headcount | Female employees (%) | Female managers (%) | Nationalities |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Middle East, India and Africa | 3,282 | 13 | 15 | 57 |
Europe and Central Asia | 2,645 | 26 | 33 | 60 |
South East Asia and Pacific | 2,486 | 25 | 39 | 26 |
North East Asia | 2,291 | 18 | 27 | 15 |
Americas | 229 | 27 | 30 | 14 |
Jotun total | 10,933 | 20 | 27 | 94 |
Capital Markets
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Share price performance (1/3/5-year) | Not applicable – no listed equity |
Market capitalisation | Not applicable |
P/E, EV/EBITDA, EV/Sales, P/B | Not applicable; no market price. Indirect valuation is embedded in Orkla ASA's share price |
Analyst consensus | Not applicable; Jotun is analysed by sell-side analysts only as part of Orkla sum-of-the-parts models (not publicly disclosed) |
Buyback authorisations | — |
Dividends & Capital Returns and Returns & Leverage Ratios (%)
| Metric | FY2025 |
|---|---|
Proposed dividend (NOK Mn) | 2,394 |
Parent company profit (NOK Mn) | 3,514 |
Payout vs. parent profit (%, derived) | 68 |
Payout vs. group profit for the year (%, derived) | 46 |
Capital Markets (2)
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
Credit rating | A- (agency not named on Jotun's financial reports page; outlook not disclosed) |
Moody's / S&P / Fitch | — |
Bonds outstanding | NOK 1,900 M at 31 Dec 2025, of which NOK 300 M short-term |
Committed facilities | NOK 3,092 M long-term credit lines, unused at year-end 2025 |
Short-term funding | Certificate loans backed by credit lines; subsidiary borrowings mostly short-term from local banks |
Net cash | NOK 2,470 M (FY2025) vs. NOK 1,481 M (FY2024) |
Maturity bucket
| Maturity bucket | Amount (NOK Mn) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Bonds due within 12 months (from 31 Dec 2025) | 300 | Reported as short-term |
Bonds due beyond 12 months | 1,600 | — |
Subsidiary local bank debt | Not disclosed separately | Primarily short-term |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
FY2026 (Annual Report 2025, Feb 2026): Marine sales to remain high, supported by Chinese yard capacity; drydock modest growth with more dockings in 2026; price pressure continues across Marine; Protective to benefit from accelerating infrastructure, offshore oil and gas and wind investment; Powder growth from architects, energy majors, furniture and EV battery producers; Decorative steady but macro-sensitive; operating margin expected to decline gradually from historically high levels.
May 2026 update: Outlook characterised by significant uncertainty from the war, with higher raw-material, supply-chain and logistics costs expected to affect all regions and segments.
September 2026 update: Global uncertainty expected to persist; investment plans (capacity, logistics, R&D) and growth strategy maintained; the conflict continues to pressure margins.
Consensus growth expectations
Not applicable — no stand-alone consensus exists. On the reported trajectory (Jan–Aug 2026 revenue +2% reported, +10% currency-adjusted; operating profit +4% reported, +13% adjusted; Jan–Aug margin 22.1%), FY2026 is tracking toward modest reported growth and another record operating profit, absent a sharp Q4 deterioration. This is an analyst observation, not guidance.
Bull case
-
Underlying momentum is strong and broad-based: currency-adjusted sales growth of about 10% and operating-profit growth of 13% in Jan–Aug 2026, with all segments and regions contributing, despite a war in a market representing ~20% of revenue.
-
Marine and Protective structural tailwinds: a drydock upcycle, tightening biofouling and CII regulation, and Jotun's first-mover robotic hull-cleaning offer (HSS, Lloyd's Register approved) could deepen its marine moat; energy-transition and data-centre fire protection support Protective.
-
Balance-sheet optionality: net cash of NOK 2.5 billion, unused NOK 3.1 billion credit lines and FCF of about NOK 5 billion in 2025 allow continued capacity build-out, dividends and potential opportunistic expansion (e.g., post-conflict Gulf reconstruction).
Bear case
-
Margin mean reversion: the board itself guides to a gradual margin decline; 2023–2025 margins of ~20% benefited from favourable raw-material spreads that the 2026 war has started to reverse.
-
Gulf concentration risk: prolonged conflict could hit demand, logistics and staff safety in markets representing ~20% of revenue and the MEIA region's 16 factories.
-
Marine cycle peak plus currency: newbuilding is at peak and management expects slower Marine growth over two years, while NOK strength continues to erode reported growth and the NOK value of foreign profits and dividends.
Analyst verdict
Jotun enters its second century as one of the highest-quality franchises in global coatings. Over 2021–2025 it compounded operating profit at roughly 23% a year, lifted operating margin from 13.8% to 20.6%, and converted earnings into cash at a much better rate than in the inflation-hit 2021–2022 period, ending FY2025 with net cash of NOK 2.5 billion and an equity ratio above 62%. The structural sources of this performance are durable: global leadership in marine coatings anchored by joint ventures in Chinese and Korean shipbuilding; a decades-deep presence in the Gulf and South East Asia that competitors cannot easily replicate; the industry's largest technical-service organisation; and a premium brand built on colour marketing and a 10,000-strong dealer network. Patient family and Orkla ownership allows it to invest through cycles, as it is doing in 2026.
The near-term picture is more nuanced than the record numbers suggest. Reported growth has been flattened by a strong krone, and the 2026 Middle East war has exposed a concentration risk: roughly a fifth of revenue comes from directly affected Gulf states. Management is candid that margins should drift lower as price competition and cost inflation bite, and the marine newbuilding cycle is at or near its peak. Disclosure gaps — no segment profits, no R&D spend, no EBITDA — limit precision for outside analysts.
On balance, the evidence supports a constructive long-term view with a cautious near-term margin outlook. Jan–Aug 2026 results, delivered under wartime conditions, demonstrate operational resilience: currency-adjusted operating profit rose 13% and the year-to-date margin actually improved. The key swing factors over the next twelve months are the duration of the Gulf conflict, raw-material pass-through, and krone strength. For investors, Jotun remains accessible only indirectly via Orkla, for which it is a high-quality, cash-generative and strategically valuable associate.
SOURCES
-
Jotun A/S, Annual Report 2025 (Board of Directors' report dated 12 February 2026): https://storage.mfn.se/6cedbfeb-ba34-4654-b5fa-acb0610dd495/jotun-annual-report-2025.pdf
-
Jotun, Financial and annual reports page (2025 overview, A- rating): https://www.jotun.com/in-en/about-jotun/financial-and-annual-reports
-
Jotun Quarterly Update Q1 2025: https://storage.mfn.se/32850f06-cc45-4990-bcda-16b39292ff9f/jotun-quarterly-update-q1-2025.pdf
-
Jotun Quarterly Update Q2 2025: https://www.orkla.com/files/mfn/abf89bd8-437e-4c90-ba3e-90b509628d0b/jotun-quarterly-update-q2-2025.pdf
-
Jotun Quarterly Update Q4 2025: https://www-prod.jotun.com/globalassets-b2b/corporate/media/publications/jotun-quarterly-update-q4_2025.pdf
-
Jotun press release, Jan–Apr 2025: https://storage.mfn.se/190d0bb9-c5db-41b6-9464-32a8a2aaf0a1/press-release-jotun-t1-2025.pdf
-
Jotun press release, Jan–Aug 2025: https://storage.mfn.se/748c1330-5a45-416b-9471-f610ae42b840/press-release-jotun-t2-2025.pdf
-
Jotun press release, FY2023 "Record year for Jotun" (13 Feb 2024): https://www.jotun.com/nl-en/news-and-insights/corporate/record-year-for-jotun
-
Jotun press release, Jan–Apr 2026 "Stronger than expected from Jotun" (26 May 2026): https://www.jotun.com/cy-en/news-and-insights/corporate/stronger-than-expected-from-jotun
-
Jotun press release, Jan–Aug 2026 "Continued growth for Jotun" (24 Sept 2026): https://www.mynewsdesk.com/no/jotun-group/pressreleases/continued-growth-for-jotun-3468717
-
Jotun corporate news, "Update on impact to Jotun from the war in the Middle East" (13 March 2026): https://www.jotun.com/au-en/news-and-insights/corporate/update-on-impact-to-jotun-from-the-war-in-the-middle-east
-
Orkla ASA, "Update on Impact to Jotun from the War in the Middle East" (12 March 2026): https://www.orkla.com/media/press-releases/2026/update-on-impact-to-jotun-from-the-war-in-the-middle-east/
-
Orkla ASA, "Jotun Quarterly Update (Q2-2026)" (20 Aug 2026): https://www.orkla.com/media/press-releases/2026/orkla-asa-jotun-quarterly-update-q2-2026/
-
Orkla Q2 2026 report release (via Inderes): https://www.inderes.fi/releases/orkla-reports-moderate-underlying-profit-growth-in-the-second-quarter
-
PCI Magazine, 2026 Global Top 10 No. 10 Jotun: https://www.pcimag.com/articles/114761-2026-global-top-10-no-10-jotun
-
PCI Magazine, 2026 Global Top 10 No. 1 Sherwin-Williams: https://www.pcimag.com/articles/114747-2026-global-top-10-no-1-the-sherwin-williams-co
-
PCI Magazine, 2026 Global Top 10 No. 2 PPG: https://www.pcimag.com/articles/114753-2026-global-top-10-no-2-ppg-industries
-
PCI Magazine, "Same Top 10, Major Changes Ahead" (9 July 2026): https://www.pcimag.com/blogs/14-pci-blog/post/114834-same-top-10-major-changes-ahead
-
Coatings World, "A Look at Hempel and Jotun in 2025": https://www.coatingsworld.com/exclusives/a-look-at-hempel-and-jotun-in-2025/
Executive Leadership
Executive Leadership Team
| Name | Title | Tenure / background | Compensation |
|---|---|---|---|
Morten Fon | President & CEO | Signs the 2025 board report | Not publicly disclosed in sources reviewed (Norwegian annual report notes typically disclose CEO pay; not retrieved) |
Vidar Nysæther | Group Executive Vice President / CFO | Leads group functions | Not retrieved |
Bård K. Tonning | Group Executive Vice President – Decorative Paints | Business-area head | Not retrieved |
Sherif Megeed | Group Executive Vice President – Performance Coatings | Business-area head for Marine, Protective and Powder | Not retrieved |
Board of Directors
| Name | Role | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Odd Gleditsch d.y. | Chairman | Gleditsch family (controlling owner) |
Nils K. Selte | Director | President & CEO of Orkla ASA (42.7% owner) |
Karoline Gleditsch | Director | Gleditsch family |
Jørgen Arnesen | Director | — |
Camilla Hagen | Director | — |
Nicolai A. Eger | Director | — |
Jannicke Nilsson | Director | — |
Silje Kristin Engen | Director | — |
Bjørg Engevik Nilsen | Director | — |
Major Shareholders
| Holder | Stake | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
Gleditsch family | Majority (commonly cited at approx. | Founding family; chairs the board | Public profiles |
Orkla ASA | 42.7% | Equity-accounted associate; publishes Jotun quarterly updates | Orkla notice, 20 Aug 2026 |
Others | Remainder (approx. 3%, implied) | Not disclosed | — |
Competitive Landscape
Key Competitors
| Competitor | HQ | Ownership | Overlapping segments with Jotun |
|---|---|---|---|
Sherwin-Williams | USA | Listed (NYSE: SHW) | Protective & marine, decorative (limited overlap in Jotun's core regions), industrial |
PPG Industries | USA | Listed (NYSE: PPG) | Protective & marine, industrial, powder |
AkzoNobel | Netherlands | Listed (Euronext: AKZA); merger with Axalta announced | Marine & protective (International), powder (Interpon), decorative |
Nippon Paint Holdings | Japan | Listed (TSE) | Marine (NKM / Nippon Paint Marine), decorative in Asia (incl. via Wuthelam-linked units) |
Hempel | Denmark | Foundation-owned (Hempel Foundation) | Marine, protective/energy & infrastructure, decorative — closest structural peer |
Chugoku Marine Paints | Japan | Listed (TSE) | Marine |
Kansai Paint | Japan | Listed (TSE) | Marine, protective, decorative (Africa, Asia) |
Asian Paints | India | Listed (NSE/BSE) | Decorative in India, Middle East (Asian Paints Berger, Kadisco etc.) |
Berger Paints India | India | Listed (NSE/BSE) | Decorative India |
National Paints / Al-Jazeera Paints | UAE / Saudi Arabia | Private | Decorative Gulf |
Axalta | USA | Listed (NYSE: AXTA) | Powder (Alesta), industrial |
IDR Mn International (Carboline, Stonhard) | USA | Listed (NYSE: RPM) | Protective (Carboline), fire protection |
Sika | Switzerland | Listed (SIX) | Fire protection, construction coatings |
Key Competitors (2)
| Company | FY2025 revenue / coatings sales | FY2025 growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
Sherwin-Williams | USD 23.57 bn consolidated net sales; PCI-estimated coatings sales approx. USD 19.8 bn | +2.1% | PCI 2026 |
PPG Industries | USD 15.9 bn | Organic +2% | PCI 2026 |
AkzoNobel | EUR 10.16 bn | -5% reported | PCI 2026 |
Nippon Paint Holdings | Not captured in this cycle | +8.3% (incl. 10 months of AOC) | PCI 2026 |
Axalta | USD 5.12 bn | -3% | PCI 2026 |
IDR Mn International | Not captured; ranked No. 5 globally | — | PCI 2026 |
Asian Paints | Not captured | +5.1% consolidated (fiscal year) | PCI 2026 |
Hempel | Not captured | Organic +3.4%; record or joint-record margins | Coatings World 2026 |
Jotun | NOK 34.33 bn consolidated (NOK ~47.8 bn on 100% basis) | +0.4% reported; +6% underlying | Annual Report 2025 |
Peer Comparison FY2025
| Metric (FY2025) | Jotun | Sherwin-Williams | PPG | AkzoNobel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue | NOK 34.3 bn | USD 23.6 bn | USD 15.9 bn | EUR 10.16 bn |
Reported growth | 0.4% | 2.1% | Organic 2% | -5% |
Operating margin | 20.6% | — | — | — |
R&D intensity | Not disclosed (~600 R&D staff) | — | — | — |
Balance sheet | Net cash NOK 2.5 bn; equity ratio 62.5% | — | — | — |
Ownership | Family + Orkla | Public | Public | Public; merging with Axalta |
Recent Developments
No litigation, regulatory enforcement, layoffs or guidance revisions (beyond qualitative outlook) were identified in this period.



