Jpmorgan Chase Co Overview
Positioning statement (150 words)
JPMorganChase is the largest bank in the United States and, by most measures, the most systemically significant financial institution in the world. With $5.0 trillion of assets and $375 billion of stockholders' equity at 30 June 2026, it is simultaneously the country's leading credit-card issuer, its largest retail deposit-taker, the world's number-one investment bank by fee wallet share, a top-tier global markets franchise, a $41 trillion custodian, and — through a $5.1 trillion asset-management arm — one of the largest active managers on earth. Almost uniquely among global banks, it holds leadership positions across every major banking pool simultaneously rather than trading breadth for depth. The strategic consequence is a diversification engine: fee income offsets rate cycles, wholesale offsets consumer, and scale funds a $19.8 billion annual technology budget that no competitor can match. The principal questions for investors are not competitive position but capital deployment, regulatory burden, credit normalisation, and CEO succession after two decades under Jamie Dimon.
The company's own description (2025 Form 10-K, Item 1 — Overview)
The Firm describes itself as "a financial holding company incorporated under Delaware law in 1968… a leading financial services firm based in the United States of America, with operations worldwide." It states that it "had $4.4 trillion in assets and $362.4 billion in stockholders' equity as of December 31, 2025" and that it "is a leader in investment banking, financial services for consumers and small businesses, commercial banking, financial transaction processing and asset management." It further notes that "under the J.P. Morgan and Chase brands, the Firm serves millions of customers, predominantly in the U.S., and many of the world's most prominent corporate, institutional and government clients globally."
Independent characterisation
JPMorganChase is best understood not as a bank but as four distinct financial businesses joined by a single balance sheet, a single funding franchise, and a single technology estate. That construction is the source of both its returns and its regulatory burden.
The revenue model is a balanced two-engine structure. In FY2025 the Firm generated $95.4 billion of net interest income and $87.0 billion of noninterest revenue on a reported basis — a 52/48 split. Net interest income arises from the spread between $3.83 trillion of average interest-earning assets yielding 5.05% and the Firm's funding cost; the net yield on average interest-earning assets was 2.50% on a managed basis in FY2025, and 3.75% excluding Markets. Noninterest revenue is a fee stack: asset management fees ($20.3 billion in FY2025), principal transactions from market-making ($27.2 billion), investment banking fees ($9.6 billion), lending- and deposit-related fees ($9.1 billion), commissions and other fees ($8.5 billion), card income ($4.7 billion), mortgage fees ($1.4 billion), and other income ($6.2 billion).
There is no "subscription" or "licensing" revenue in the software sense, but there are strong recurring-revenue analogues: asset management fees are effectively an annuity on $4.79 trillion of AUM (31 Dec 2025) rising to $5.1 trillion (30 Jun 2026); custody fees are an annuity on $41.2 trillion of assets under custody; card annual fees — which grew more than 30% year-on-year in 2Q26 — behave like a subscription; and Payments fees on treasury services and merchant acquiring recur with client transaction volume.
Value chain position. The Firm sits at the centre of the financial value chain rather than at any single point of it. In wholesale it is simultaneously an originator (loans, underwriting), an intermediary (market-making, clearing), an infrastructure provider (custody, payments, collateral), and an asset owner (a $777.3 billion investment securities portfolio). In consumer it is a manufacturer of credit, a distributor via 5,083 branches and a digital estate serving 74.6 million active digital customers, and an operator of adjacent commerce businesses (Chase Travel, Chase Media Solutions, Chase Offers). This vertical breadth is the structural reason its cost base is high in absolute terms ($95.6 billion of noninterest expense in FY2025) but its overhead ratio — 52% — is competitive.
Customer types and end-markets. CCB serves 86.6 million U.S. consumer customers and 7.4 million small-business customers. CIB serves large corporations, financial institutions, merchants, asset managers, hedge funds, governments and supranationals, plus mid-market and specialised-industry commercial clients and commercial real estate borrowers. AWM serves institutional allocators (pensions, sovereigns, insurers), retail investors through funds and ETFs, and ultra-high-net-worth families through the Global Private Bank. Corporate houses the Treasury/CIO function plus international consumer ventures (Chase U.K., J.P. Morgan Personal Investing, a stake in Brazil's C6 Bank) and, since December 2025, the Strategic Investment Group under the Security and Resiliency Initiative.
End-market exposure by economic sector is effectively the whole economy, but the Firm's disclosed concentrations of consequence are: U.S. consumer credit (card loans of $247.8 billion at 31 Dec 2025), U.S. residential mortgage ($240.7 billion), auto ($70.6 billion), commercial real estate ($146.3 billion of CRE Banking loans), and a $1.5 trillion Markets-driven trading and financing book.
Strategy
10.1 Stated strategic themes
The Firm does not publish a numbered strategic plan. Its stated framework, consistently articulated across the 2025 Form 10-K, the CEO's letter, Investor Day and earnings calls, rests on five recurring pillars:
- Fortress balance sheet. Maintain capital, liquidity and reserve levels sufficient to serve clients "consistently in all environments" and to withstand "a wide range of scenarios." Jamie Dimon reiterated this framing explicitly in the June 2026 capital-return announcement.
- Complete, integrated coverage. Compete in every major banking pool rather than specialising, on the thesis that the cross-sell and funding economics of a complete franchise dominate.
- Invest through the cycle. Sustain technology, marketing, banker, advisor and branch investment through downturns, accepting near-term expense drag. This is now the most contested element of the strategy given the approximately $9 billion FY2026 expense step-up.
- Deploy excess capital into attractive opportunities. Dimon framed the Apple Card transaction explicitly as "one example of patient and thoughtful deployment of our excess capital."
- Technological superiority. Dimon's stated position is that AI returns are difficult to quantify but that technological leadership is non-negotiable — "table stakes… for the rest of eternity."
10.2 Announced strategic initiatives, last 24 months
10.3 Management's medium-term financial targets and FY2026 guidance
Products & Services
5.1 Consumer & Community Banking (CCB)
Banking & Wealth Management — Consumer Banking
Banking & Wealth Management — J.P. Morgan Wealth Management
Home Lending
Card Services
Auto
5.2 Commercial & Investment Bank (CIB) — Banking & Payments
5.3 Commercial & Investment Bank — Markets & Securities Services
Supporting platforms: J.P. Morgan Markets (client execution and analytics portal), J.P. Morgan Global Research, algorithmic execution suites, and Fusion by J.P. Morgan (data mesh and analytics for institutional clients). Assets under custody totalled $41.17 trillion at 31 Dec 2025 (Fixed Income $18.32 trillion, Equity $17.95 trillion, Other $4.90 trillion), up from $35.28 trillion a year earlier. Markets recorded only two loss days in the whole of FY2025.
5.4 Asset & Wealth Management (AWM)
Asset Management
Global Private Bank
Wealth Management Solutions
AWM client asset scale
At 30 June 2026 AUM had reached $5.1 trillion (+18% YoY) and total client assets $7.7 trillion (+19%), with $50 billion of long-term AUM net inflows in the quarter alone.
5.5 Corporate
Product Portfolio
| Offering | Description | Target customer | Key metrics / notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Chase Total Checking | Core mass-market checking account | Mass consumer | Distributed through 5,083 branches (31 Dec 2025) |
Chase Secure Banking | Checking account with no overdraft fees, low monthly fee | Underbanked / credit-building | Part of the Firm's financial-inclusion offering |
Chase Premier Plus / Sapphire Banking | Relationship checking with fee waivers and premium benefits | Mass-affluent | Tied to broader relationship balances |
Chase Private Client | Dedicated banker plus J.P. Morgan investment access | Affluent | Available in-branch nationwide |
J.P. Morgan Private Client | New affluent tier delivered through J.P. Morgan Financial Centers | Affluent to HNW | 16 centres open at May 2025; 31 planned by end-2026 |
Chase Savings / Premier Savings / CDs | Deposit products | All consumer segments | Part of $1.073 trillion CCB deposits at 31 Dec 2025 |
Chase Business Complete Banking | Small-business checking with integrated card acceptance | 7.4 million small-business customers | Business Banking average loans $19.1 billion FY2025 |
Chase Mobile / chase.com | Digital banking platform | All | 74.6 million active digital customers; 61.7 million active mobile customers (2025, +7%) |
Zelle / Chase QuickPay | P2P payments | All | Component of 7.0 trillion total payments transaction volume (FY2025) |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Self-Directed Investing | Commission-free online trading of stocks, ETFs and options | Record 43,000+ first-time investors in 3Q25; nearly 44,000 in 2Q26 |
Automated Investing | Robo-advisory | Digital-first entry point |
Personal Advisors | Advisor-led managed portfolios | 6,049 client advisors at 31 Dec 2025 (+5% YoY) |
Wealth Plan | Digital goal-based financial planning tool | Embedded in Chase Mobile |
Client investment assets | — | $1,269.9 billion at 31 Dec 2025, up 17% from $1,087.6 billion |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Purchase and refinance mortgages | Retail and correspondent channels | FY2025 origination volume $52.8 billion (retail $33.0 billion, correspondent $19.8 billion); Firmwide $63.4 billion |
DreaMaker mortgage | Low-down-payment product for eligible borrowers | Affordability programme |
Chase Homebuyer Grant | Closing-cost/rate-buydown grant in eligible communities | Component of housing commitments |
Home equity line of credit (HELOC) | Relaunched in 2025 after a multi-year pause | Reported as a 2025 product initiative |
Mortgage servicing | Third-party servicing portfolio | $661.9 billion serviced at 31 Dec 2025; MSR carrying value $9.1 billion |
Real Estate Portfolios | Retained residential mortgages and home equity | Home Lending loans $240.7 billion at 31 Dec 2025 |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Chase Sapphire Reserve / Sapphire Preferred | Premium and mid-premium travel rewards cards | Refreshed 2025; card annual fees grew more than 30% YoY in 2Q26 on retention plus premium demand |
Chase Freedom Unlimited / Freedom Flex | Cash-back cards with rotating and fixed categories | Mass-market anchor products |
Chase Ink Business (Cash, Unlimited, Preferred, Premier) | Small-business card family | Tied to Business Banking relationships |
Airline co-brands | United MileagePlus, Southwest Rapid Rewards, British Airways, Aer Lingus, Iberia, Air Canada Aeroplan | Long-standing publicly marketed programmes |
Hotel co-brands | Marriott Bonvoy, IHG One Rewards, World of Hyatt | — |
Retail / lifestyle co-brands | Amazon (Prime Visa), Disney, Instacart, DoorDash | — |
Apple Card | Chase becomes issuer under agreement announced 7 Jan 2026; ~$20 billion portfolio; Mastercard remains the network; Apple savings account also transitions | Forward purchase commitment dated 30 Dec 2025; closing expected approximately 24 months thereafter; $2.2 billion credit reserve booked in 4Q25; portfolio acquired at a reported discount of more than $1 billion |
Chase Ultimate Rewards | Proprietary points currency and redemption platform | Cross-portfolio loyalty engine |
Chase Travel | Full-service travel agency and booking platform | Includes The Luxury Hotel & Resort Collection and Sapphire Reserve Trips |
Chase Offers / Chase Media Solutions | Merchant-funded offers and a retail media network monetising card data | Emerging non-interest revenue line |
Card portfolio metrics | — | 116.5 million cards in force; 10.4 million new accounts opened in FY2025; sales volume ex-commercial card $1,354.7 billion |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Retail auto loans and leases | Direct and dealer-indirect origination | FY2025 loan and lease origination volume $44.8 billion |
Private-label captive programmes | Programmes operated for manufacturer partners (including Subaru, Mazda, Jaguar Land Rover, Aston Martin) | Publicly marketed programmes; individual contract economics not disclosed |
Chase Auto Preferred / Car Buying Service | Digital shopping and pre-qualification | — |
Operating lease portfolio | — | Average auto operating lease assets $16.2 billion in FY2025, up from $11.1 billion; operating lease income $3.8 billion |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
M&A advisory | Sell-side, buy-side, defence, restructuring | FY2025 advisory fees $3,497 million; #2 global M&A with 8.3% share, #2 U.S. with 8.9% (Dealogic, Jan 2026) |
Equity capital markets | IPOs, follow-ons, convertibles, rights issues, block trades | FY2025 equity underwriting fees $1,732 million; #1 global (9.3% share) and #1 U.S. (12.6%) |
Debt capital markets & loan syndications | Investment grade, high yield, leveraged loans, ABS/MBS, sovereigns and supranationals | FY2025 debt underwriting fees $4,506 million; #1 global long-term debt (7.1%); #2 global loan syndications (10.1%) |
Aggregate franchise position | — | #1 in global investment banking fees with 8.4% wallet share in FY2025; 9.3% YTD at 1 Jul 2026 |
Global Corporate Banking | Lending, treasury and capital solutions for large corporates and financial institutions | FY2025 GCB & GIB revenue $25,285 million |
Commercial & Specialized Industries | Mid-market and specialised-sector coverage (renamed from Middle Market Banking in 2Q25) | FY2025 revenue $8,306 million; loans $75,865 million |
Commercial Real Estate Banking | Multifamily, commercial term lending, affordable housing, agency lending | FY2025 revenue $3,545 million; loans $146,274 million |
Payments — Treasury Services | Global clearing, ACH, wires, real-time payments, FedNow, cross-border | Payments revenue $19,331 million FY2025; record $5.3 billion in 2Q26, sixth consecutive record quarter |
Payments — Liquidity & Account Solutions | Cash concentration, pooling, virtual accounts, investment sweeps | — |
Payments — Commerce Solutions / Merchant Acquiring | Chase Payment Solutions, Paymentech, WePay; omnichannel acquiring and orchestration | Klarna embedded into the J.P. Morgan Payments Commerce Platform (Aug 2026) |
Payments — Trade & Working Capital | Letters of credit, supply-chain finance, receivables | — |
Commercial Card | Purchasing, travel and virtual card programmes | Excluded from consumer card sales-volume metric |
Embedded finance / Banking-as-a-Service | Payments and account infrastructure delivered into partner platforms | — |
Kinexys by J.P. Morgan | Blockchain business unit (formerly Onyx). Products: JPM Coin / JPMD deposit token, Blockchain Deposit Accounts, Digital Financing, Tokenized Collateral Network, digital debt service | JPMD live for institutional clients on Base (Nov 2025); native issuance on Canton Network phased through 2026; integrated with Mastercard Token Network |
| Offering | Description | FY2025 revenue (USD M) |
|---|---|---|
Fixed Income Markets | Rates, Credit, Currencies & Emerging Markets, Securitized Products, Commodities, Fixed Income Financing | 22532 |
Equity Markets | Cash equities, equity derivatives, prime brokerage/Prime Financial Services, futures & options, delta one | 13250 |
Securities Services | Custody, fund services, collateral management, depositary receipts, securities lending, alternative fund services, data solutions | 5599 |
Credit Adjustments & Other | Centrally managed CVA/FVA and other valuation adjustments | -63 |
| Offering | Description | Scale at 31 Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|
Liquidity / money market funds | Government, prime, tax-free and offshore liquidity | $1,279 billion AUM |
Fixed income | Core, credit, municipal, EM debt, insurance solutions | $998 billion AUM |
Equity | Active fundamental, quantitative, thematic, index-plus | $1,400 billion AUM |
Multi-asset | Balanced strategies, SmartRetirement target-date, model portfolios | $884 billion AUM |
Alternatives | Real estate, infrastructure, transportation, timberland (Campbell Global), private equity, private credit, hedge funds | $230 billion AUM |
Active ETF platform | Includes premium-income and short-duration strategies; extension strategies added 2026 (e.g. JLVP, a U.S. large-cap value extension ETF on Nasdaq) | Part of total $4,791 billion AUM |
55ip | Automated tax-smart transitions and rebalancing | Acquired 2020 |
Morgan Money | Institutional liquidity trading portal | — |
China International Fund Management | Wholly owned Chinese mutual fund manager (remaining 51% acquired 2023) | — |
| Offering | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Discretionary and advisory investment management | Multi-asset portfolios for UHNW families | 4,101 GPB client advisors at 31 Dec 2025 (+8.6%) |
Specialty and securities-based lending | Custom credit against marketable and illiquid collateral | AWM loans $266.4 billion at 31 Dec 2025 (+12.7%) |
Deposits, custody, brokerage | Banking infrastructure for private clients | AWM deposits $257.3 billion |
Trust, estate and philanthropy services | Fiduciary and multi-generational planning | — |
| Offering | Scale |
|---|---|
Stock Plan Administration | 1.794 million participants (+35%); $372 billion client assets (+38%) |
Firmwide Wealth Management (GPB plus J.P. Morgan Wealth Management) | $4,521 billion client assets (+20%); 10,150 client advisors (+7%) |
| Metric (USD B) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Assets under management | 3422 | 4045 | 4791 |
Custody/brokerage/administration/deposits | 1590 | 1887 | 2327 |
Total client assets | 5012 | 5932 | 7118 |
Total client asset net flows | 490 | 486 | 553 |
AUM net flows - liquidity | 242 | 140 | 183 |
AUM net flows - fixed income | 70 | 91 | 94 |
AUM net flows - equity | 70 | 114 | 95 |
AUM net flows - multi-asset | 1 | 19 | 16 |
AUM net flows - alternatives | -1 | 10 | 4 |
| Offering | Description |
|---|---|
Treasury and Chief Investment Office | Firmwide liquidity, funding, capital, structural interest-rate and FX risk management; investment securities portfolio of $777.3 billion at 31 Dec 2025 (AFS $507.2 billion, HTM $270.1 billion) |
Chase U.K. | Digital retail bank launched 2021; reported more than 2.5 million customers as of early 2025 |
Chase Germany | Berlin-headquartered digital bank; launch announced for 2026, initially savings accounts; press reporting indicates further European expansion ambitions (France, Spain, Italy and at least two more markets over five years) |
J.P. Morgan Personal Investing | Formerly Nutmeg; U.K. retail investment management |
C6 Bank | Minority-then-majority stake in Brazilian digital bank |
Strategic Investment Group | Direct equity and venture investing arm of the Security and Resiliency Initiative, headed by Todd A. Combs from December 2025 |
Financial Narrative
6.1 Income statement (reported / U.S. GAAP basis, USD M)
Note: FY2021 and FY2022 net interest income and noninterest revenue are derived from the reported total net revenue disclosed in the FY2022 Annual Report; the FY2021/FY2022 managed-basis revenue figures are as historically disclosed by the Firm. Where a component is derived rather than directly quoted it is flagged in the commentary.
6.2 Per-share and margin metrics
FY2021 and FY2022 average diluted share counts are derived from reported net income applicable to common equity and diluted EPS; FY2023–FY2025 are as disclosed.
Note on gross profit and EBITDA. These are not meaningful measures for a bank holding company and are not disclosed by the Firm. Banks do not report a cost of goods sold, and interest expense is an operating input rather than a financing cost. The Firm's own economic-equivalent measures are pre-provision profit (total net revenue less total noninterest expense) and the overhead ratio. Any "EBITDA" for JPMorganChase would be a fabricated construct and is therefore reported as not publicly disclosed. Similarly, "gross margin," "net debt/EBITDA," "cash conversion cycle" and "asset turnover" in their industrial-company senses are not applicable and not publicly disclosed for a bank.
Revenue CAGR: reported total net revenue grew from $121,649 million (FY2021) to $182,447 million (FY2025) — a 10.7% four-year CAGR. On a managed basis the CAGR is 10.3%. Net income grew from $48,334 million to $57,048 million — a 4.2% CAGR — the gap reflecting the FY2021 net reserve release of $9.3 billion, which flattered the base year.
6.3 Balance sheet (period-end, USD M)
FY2021 and FY2022 balance sheet lines are drawn from the respective Annual Reports and prior 10-K filings; FY2023–FY2025 are from the 2025 Form 10-K three-year summary and Consolidated Balance Sheets Analysis. Where a FY2021/FY2022 line could not be directly confirmed in the sources consulted for this dossier, the reader should verify against the relevant original filing before relying on it for modelling.
Note on "net debt" and "working capital." Both are not applicable to a bank holding company. Deposits and long-term debt are the raw material of the business, not a leverage overhang; and there is no operating-cycle working capital. The equivalent disclosures the Firm does make are the liquidity coverage ratio, total loss-absorbing capacity, and the supplementary leverage ratio, reported below.
6.4 Consolidated cash flows (USD M)
Interpretation. Bank operating cash flow is dominated by changes in trading assets and securities borrowed, which are balance-sheet-driven rather than earnings-driven. The FY2025 operating outflow of $147.8 billion reflects a $165 billion increase in trading assets and a $67 billion increase in securities borrowed as Markets grew; it is a sign of business expansion, not distress. The corresponding financing inflow of $269.5 billion reflects deposit growth, repo funding and long-term debt issuance. Free cash flow is not a meaningful metric for a bank and is not disclosed.
Capital returned to shareholders (FY2025):
Quarterly repurchase detail disclosed in the 2025 Form 10-K: 1Q25 29,953,620 shares at an average $252.50 for $7,563 million; 2Q25 29,800,960 shares at $251.67 for $7,500 million; 3Q25 27,987,016 shares at $297.10 for $8,315 million; October 2025 9,814,682 shares at $304.63 for $2,990 million; November 2025 7,923,457 shares at $307.82 for $2,439 million. The December 2025 tranche is not itemised in the extract consulted and is therefore not verified here; the full-year total is approximately $31 billion based on the disclosed months plus the reported 4Q25 net repurchase figure of $7.9 billion.
6.5 Returns, capital and credit ratios
FY2021–FY2022 ratio figures are taken from the respective Annual Report summaries where directly disclosed (ROE, ROTCE, CET1, LCR); other FY2021–FY2022 lines are as historically reported and should be confirmed against the original filings. ROIC, interest coverage, current ratio and debt/equity in their non-financial-corporate senses are not applicable and not publicly disclosed — the regulatory capital ratios above are the economically meaningful substitutes.
6.6 Credit cost composition (USD M)
6.7 Expense composition (USD M)
6.8 Revenue composition, reported basis (USD M)
6.9 Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
The rate cycle inflection is behind the Firm. Net interest income rose from $52.3 billion (FY2021) to $95.4 billion (FY2025), an 82% increase driven almost entirely by the 2022–2023 tightening cycle and the First Republic acquisition. FY2025 growth of only 3% — and flat NII excluding Markets at $92.6 billion — marks the plateau. The net yield on interest-earning assets fell 13 basis points to 2.50%, and excluding Markets fell 9 basis points to 3.75%. Management's FY2026 guidance of approximately $95 billion NII excluding Markets confirms the plateau: balance-sheet growth, not spread, must carry the line from here.
The offset is fee income, and it is working. Asset management fees rose 33.5% from FY2023 to FY2025 ($15.2 billion to $20.3 billion) on both market appreciation and $553 billion of FY2025 client-asset net inflows. Investment banking fees rose 47.5% over the same span. Lending- and deposit-related fees rose 22.7%. The single fee line that deteriorated was card income, down 14.1% in FY2025 to $4.72 billion, reflecting lower net interchange as rewards costs and partner payments outpaced sales-volume growth, plus higher amortisation of new-account origination costs — the direct financial signature of an aggressive account-acquisition strategy (10.4 million new cards opened in FY2025).
Credit is normalising, deliberately and visibly. Net charge-offs more than tripled from $2.9 billion (FY2022) to $9.8 billion (FY2025); the net charge-off rate rose from 0.27% to 0.74%. Card Services is the epicentre, at a 3.31% net charge-off rate in FY2025 with FY2026 guidance of approximately 3.4%. Crucially, the increase is a mix effect from deliberate card growth (Card Services loans up from $211.2 billion in FY2023 to $247.8 billion in FY2025) rather than deterioration in vintage quality — the Card 30+ day delinquency rate was essentially flat at 2.16% versus 2.17%. Wholesale is the watch item: FY2025 wholesale provisions of $2.7 billion included an update to loss assumptions on certain leveraged loans and estimated losses related to borrower fraud in certain secured lending facilities, and CIB net charge-offs more than doubled to $1,509 million.
Expense growth is now the principal debate. Noninterest expense rose 9.7% over two years to $95.6 billion, and FY2026 adjusted-expense guidance of approximately $105 billion implies roughly a further $9 billion step-up — the largest single-year increase in the Firm's modern history. Management attributes this to revenue-related compensation, front-office headcount, technology (rising to approximately $19.8 billion), marketing, auto lease depreciation, and occupancy following the new headquarters. On the January 2026 earnings call, analyst Mike Mayo characterised the guide as "a wow," framing it as JPMorgan choosing growth over near-term returns. That framing is fair: the Firm is explicitly trading some ROTCE for share and durability.
Capital is abundant but the ratio is falling by choice. CET1 (Standardized) fell from a peak 15.7% (FY2024) to 14.6% (FY2025) — approximately 25 basis points of which relates to the Apple Card transaction — while absolute CET1 capital was $288.5 billion. As of 31 December 2025 the Advanced risk-based ratios became more binding than Standardized, a technical shift with modelling consequences. The Firm carried approximately $1.5 trillion of liquidity sources (HQLA of approximately $915 billion plus approximately $548 billion of unencumbered marketable securities). Analysts estimate roughly $40 billion of excess capital above requirements.
Tangible book value compounding is the cleanest signal. TBVPS rose from $71.53 (FY2021) to $107.56 (FY2025) — a 10.7% four-year CAGR — and reached $113.35 at 30 June 2026. Over a period spanning a rate shock, a regional-banking crisis and a credit normalisation, per-share tangible value compounded at double digits while the Firm simultaneously paid out 70–80% of earnings. That is the core of the investment case.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total net revenue - reported (USD M) | 121649 | 128695 | 158104 | 177556 | 182447 |
Net interest income (USD M) | 52311 | 66710 | 89267 | 92583 | 95443 |
Noninterest revenue (USD M) | 69338 | 61985 | 68837 | 84973 | 87004 |
Total noninterest expense (USD M) | 71343 | 76140 | 87172 | 91797 | 95640 |
Pre-provision profit (USD M) | 50306 | 52555 | 70932 | 85759 | 86807 |
Provision for credit losses (USD M) | -9256 | 6389 | 9320 | 10678 | 14212 |
Income before income tax expense (USD M) | 59562 | 46166 | 61612 | 75081 | 72595 |
Income tax expense (USD M) | 11228 | 8490 | 12060 | 16610 | 15547 |
Net income (USD M) | 48334 | 37676 | 49552 | 58471 | 57048 |
Total net revenue - managed (USD M) | 125267 | 132329 | 162366 | 180593 | 185581 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EPS - basic (USD) | 15.39 | 12.10 | 16.25 | 19.79 | 20.05 |
EPS - diluted (USD) | 15.36 | 12.09 | 16.23 | 19.75 | 20.02 |
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 3.80 | 4.00 | 4.10 | 4.80 | 5.80 |
Book value per share (USD) | 88.07 | 90.29 | 104.45 | 116.07 | 126.99 |
Tangible book value per share (USD) | 71.53 | 73.12 | 86.08 | 97.30 | 107.56 |
Average diluted shares (millions) | 3021.5 | 2988.4 | 2943.1 | 2879.0 | 2781.5 |
Pre-provision profit margin (pct of reported revenue) | 41.4 | 40.8 | 44.9 | 48.3 | 47.6 |
Pre-tax margin (pct of reported revenue) | 49.0 | 35.9 | 39.0 | 42.3 | 39.8 |
Net margin (pct of reported revenue) | 39.7 | 29.3 | 31.3 | 32.9 | 31.3 |
Effective tax rate (pct) | 18.9 | 18.4 | 19.6 | 22.1 | 21.4 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (USD M) | 3743567 | 3665743 | 3875393 | 4002814 | 4424900 |
Loans (USD M) | 1077714 | 1135647 | 1323706 | 1347988 | 1493429 |
Allowance for loan losses (USD M) | 18689 | 19726 | 22420 | 24345 | 25765 |
Investment securities net (USD M) | 672232 | 631162 | 571552 | 681320 | 777332 |
Trading assets (USD M) | 433575 | 453799 | 540607 | 637784 | 802873 |
Deposits (USD M) | 2462303 | 2340179 | 2400688 | 2406032 | 2559320 |
Long-term debt (USD M) | 301005 | 295865 | 391825 | 401418 | 435206 |
Short-term borrowings (USD M) | 53594 | 44027 | 44712 | 52893 | 64776 |
Total liabilities (USD M) | 3449440 | 3373411 | 3547515 | 3658056 | 4062462 |
Common stockholders equity (USD M) | 259289 | 264928 | 300474 | 324708 | 342393 |
Total stockholders equity (USD M) | 294127 | 292332 | 327878 | 344758 | 362438 |
Goodwill (USD M) | 50315 | 51662 | 52258 | 52565 | 52731 |
Goodwill MSRs and other intangibles (USD M) | 60859 | 60859 | 63661 | 64560 | 64458 |
Tangible common equity (USD M) | 213767 | 216071 | 250586 | 272212 | 290018 |
Employees (headcount) | 271025 | 293723 | 309926 | 317233 | 318512 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Net cash from operating activities (USD M) | 12974 | -42012 | -147782 |
Net cash from investing activities (USD M) | 67643 | -163403 | -265565 |
Net cash from financing activities (USD M) | -25571 | 63447 | 269533 |
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash (USD M) | 1871 | -12866 | 17835 |
Net change in cash and deposits with banks (USD M) | 56917 | -154834 | -125979 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2025 |
|---|---|
Common dividends paid (USD B) | 16.6 |
Common share repurchases under programme (USD B) | Approximately 31 |
Net payout ratio LTM at 4Q25 (pct) | 82 |
Net payout ratio LTM at 2Q26 (pct) | 73 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on common equity (pct) | 19 | 14 | 17 | 18 | 17 |
Return on tangible common equity (pct) | 23 | 18 | 21 | 22 | 20 |
Return on assets (pct) | 1.30 | 1.03 | 1.30 | 1.43 | 1.29 |
Overhead ratio - reported (pct) | 59 | 59 | 55 | 52 | 52 |
CET1 capital ratio - Standardized (pct) | 13.1 | 13.2 | 15.0 | 15.7 | 14.6 |
Tier 1 capital ratio - Standardized (pct) | 15.0 | 14.9 | 16.6 | 16.8 | 15.5 |
Total capital ratio - Standardized (pct) | 16.8 | 16.8 | 18.5 | 18.5 | 17.4 |
Tier 1 leverage ratio (pct) | 6.5 | 6.6 | 7.2 | 7.2 | 6.9 |
Supplementary leverage ratio (pct) | 5.4 | 5.6 | 6.1 | 6.1 | 5.8 |
Firm liquidity coverage ratio - average (pct) | 111 | 112 | 113 | 113 | 111 |
Loans to deposits ratio (pct) | 44 | 49 | 55 | 56 | 58 |
Allowance for loan losses to retained loans (pct) | 1.62 | 1.81 | 1.75 | 1.87 | 1.83 |
Net charge-off rate (pct) | 0.30 | 0.27 | 0.52 | 0.68 | 0.74 |
Total allowance for credit losses (USD M) | 20775 | 22204 | 24765 | 26866 | 31230 |
Nonperforming assets (USD M) | 8346 | 7247 | 7597 | 9300 | 10359 |
Net charge-offs (USD M) | 2865 | 2853 | 6209 | 8638 | 9849 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Consumer excluding credit card provision (USD M) | 935 | 631 | 693 |
Credit card provision (USD M) | 6048 | 9292 | 10829 |
Total consumer provision (USD M) | 6983 | 9923 | 11522 |
Wholesale provision (USD M) | 2299 | 731 | 2718 |
Investment securities provision (USD M) | 38 | 24 | -28 |
Total provision for credit losses (USD M) | 9320 | 10678 | 14212 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Compensation expense (USD M) | 46465 | 51357 | 54487 |
Occupancy (USD M) | 4590 | 5026 | 5461 |
Technology communications and equipment (USD M) | 9246 | 9831 | 11029 |
Professional and outside services (USD M) | 10235 | 11057 | 12356 |
Marketing (USD M) | 4591 | 4974 | 5531 |
Other expense (USD M) | 12045 | 9552 | 6776 |
Total noncompensation expense (USD M) | 40707 | 40440 | 41153 |
Total noninterest expense (USD M) | 87172 | 91797 | 95640 |
Memo - legal expense (USD M) | 1436 | 740 | 361 |
Memo - FDIC-related expense (USD M) | 4203 | 1893 | 531 |
Memo - operating losses (USD M) | 1228 | 1417 | 1292 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Investment banking fees (USD M) | 6519 | 8910 | 9615 |
Principal transactions (USD M) | 24460 | 24787 | 27212 |
Lending and deposit related fees (USD M) | 7413 | 7606 | 9093 |
Asset management fees (USD M) | 15220 | 17801 | 20327 |
Commissions and other fees (USD M) | 6836 | 7530 | 8539 |
Investment securities gains losses (USD M) | -3180 | -1021 | -57 |
Mortgage fees and related income (USD M) | 1176 | 1401 | 1381 |
Card income (USD M) | 4784 | 5497 | 4720 |
Other income (USD M) | 5609 | 12462 | 6174 |
Noninterest revenue (USD M) | 68837 | 84973 | 87004 |
Net interest income (USD M) | 89267 | 92583 | 95443 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD M) | 39883 | 43629 | 47930 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD M) | 14418 | 15191 | 17189 |
Asia-Pacific (USD M) | 7891 | 8867 | 10699 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD M) | 2161 | 2427 | 2636 |
Total international (USD M) | 24470 | 26485 | 30524 |
Total CIB net revenue (USD M) | 64353 | 70114 | 78454 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD M) | 13589 | 14927 | 16364 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD M) | 3377 | 3563 | 4049 |
Asia-Pacific (USD M) | 1876 | 2023 | 2432 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD M) | 985 | 1065 | 1228 |
Total international (USD M) | 6238 | 6651 | 7709 |
Total AWM net revenue (USD M) | 19827 | 21578 | 24073 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD B) | 2534 | 3033 | 3582 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD B) | 539 | 604 | 709 |
Asia-Pacific (USD B) | 263 | 302 | 374 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD B) | 86 | 106 | 126 |
Total international (USD B) | 888 | 1012 | 1209 |
Total AUM (USD B) | 3422 | 4045 | 4791 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD B) | 3634 | 4355 | 5153 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD B) | 740 | 841 | 1035 |
Asia-Pacific (USD B) | 406 | 482 | 620 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD B) | 232 | 254 | 310 |
Total client assets (USD B) | 5012 | 5932 | 7118 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD M) | 406277 | 412231 | 465846 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD M) | 44793 | 44374 | 60299 |
Asia-Pacific (USD M) | 15506 | 16107 | 20390 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD M) | 8610 | 10331 | 11993 |
Total loans retained (USD M) | 475186 | 483043 | 558528 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America (USD M) | 489806 | 513661 | 596608 |
Europe Middle East and Africa (USD M) | 247804 | 264227 | 297959 |
Asia-Pacific (USD M) | 135388 | 141042 | 155950 |
Latin America and Caribbean (USD M) | 39861 | 42716 | 47064 |
Total (USD M) | 912859 | 961646 | 1097581 |
Capital Markets
| Index | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
JPMorganChase (USD) | 100.00 | 127.73 | 111.64 | 145.96 | 210.58 | 289.18 |
KBW Bank Index (USD) | 100.00 | 138.34 | 108.74 | 107.77 | 147.86 | 196.02 |
S&P Financials Index (USD) | 100.00 | 134.87 | 120.66 | 135.32 | 176.67 | 203.21 |
S&P 500 Index (USD) | 100.00 | 128.68 | 105.37 | 133.07 | 166.37 | 196.12 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
Share price | Approximately 366.50 | All-time high, 13 Aug 2026 |
Market capitalisation (USD B) | Approximately 964.5 to 970.7 | Third-party data, 12–14 Aug 2026 |
Shares outstanding (millions) | 2697.0 | 31 Jan 2026 |
Trailing P/E | Approximately 18.3 | $366.50 divided by FY2025 diluted EPS of $20.02 |
Forward P/E on FY2026E | Approximately 16.3 | $366.50 divided by consensus FY2026 EPS of approximately $22.44 |
Forward P/E - five-year average comparison | Approximately 12.0 | Historical average cited by third-party analysis |
Price to book | Approximately 2.76 | $366.50 divided by BVPS of $133.01 at 30 Jun 2026 |
Price to tangible book | Approximately 3.23 | $366.50 divided by TBVPS of $113.35 at 30 Jun 2026 |
Dividend yield (forward) | Approximately 1.8 pct | Annualised $6.60 at $1.65 per quarter |
EV/EBITDA and EV/Sales | Not applicable | Enterprise value is not a meaningful construct for a deposit-funded bank |
Capital Markets
| Source and date | Coverage | Rating | Mean or median target (USD) | Range (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
TIKR, May 2026 | 26 analysts (13 Buy/Outperform, 12 Hold, 1 No Opinion) | Mixed | 342 mean | Not stated |
S&P Global Market Intelligence, ~Jun 2026 | 24 analysts | Buy | 373.86 average | 305 to 420 |
Ticker Nerd, 2026 | 24 ratings (12 Buy, 12 Hold, 0 Sell) | Neutral | 344 median | 295 to 391 |
Simply Wall St, ~Jul 2026 | Aggregated | — | Approximately 328, clustering low-to-mid $300s | Not stated |
Public.com, 2026 | 15 analysts | Buy | 363.73 (2026 prediction) | Not stated |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 3.80 | 4.00 | 4.10 | 4.80 | 5.80 | 6.30 |
Quarterly rate at year-end (USD) | 1.00 | 1.00 | 1.05 | 1.25 | 1.50 | 1.65 |
Common dividends paid (USD B) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 14.8 | 16.6 | 0.0 |
Capital Markets
| Authorisation date | Effective | Size (USD B) | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
28 Jun 2024 | 1 Jul 2024 | 30 | Exhausted by 30 Jun 2025 |
1 Jul 2025 | 1 Jul 2025 | 50 | $8,315 million used in 3Q25; $2,990 million in October; $2,439 million in November |
24 Jun 2026 | 1 Jul 2026 | 50 | Current authorisation |
Capital Markets
| Entity | Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
JPMorgan Chase & Co. — senior unsecured | Moody's | A1 | Affirmed | November 2025 |
JPMorgan Chase & Co. — baseline credit assessment | Moody's | a1 (upgraded from a2) | — | November 2025 |
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. — long-term deposits | Moody's | Aa1 (upgraded from Aa2) | — | November 2025 |
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. — long-term counterparty risk | Moody's | Aa1 (upgraded from Aa2) | — | November 2025 |
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. — senior unsecured / issuer | Moody's | Aa2 | Stable (from developing) | May 2025 |
J.P. Morgan SE — long-term deposits and counterparty risk | Moody's | Aa1 (upgraded from Aa2) | — | November 2025 |
JPMorgan Chase & Co. | S&P Global Ratings | Not verified in sources consulted | — | — |
JPMorgan Chase & Co. | Fitch Ratings | Not verified in sources consulted | — | — |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Long-term debt (USD M) | 391825 | 401418 | 435206 |
Short-term borrowings (USD M) | 44712 | 52893 | 64776 |
Beneficial interests issued by consolidated VIEs (USD M) | 0 | 27323 | 27951 |
Total loss-absorbing capacity (USD B) | 0 | 0 | 564 |
Analyst Conclusions
22.1 Management guidance and current run-rate
Management's formal FY2026 outlook, issued 13 January 2026 and reproduced in the 2025 Form 10-K, is: net interest income of approximately $103 billion; NII excluding Markets of approximately $95 billion, market dependent; adjusted expense of approximately $105 billion, market dependent; and a Card Services net charge-off rate of approximately 3.4%. Subsequent commentary revised the NII outlook upward to roughly $104.5–105.5 billion as Markets NII was guided toward $9.0–9.5 billion.
The first half of 2026 has run comfortably ahead of that frame. First-half net income totalled $37.65 billion ($16.49 billion in 1Q26 plus $21.16 billion in 2Q26) against $29.59 billion in the first half of 2025 — a 27% increase. Excluding the $4.6 billion Visa gain and $1.0 billion of equity investment gains, first-half net income was approximately $33.4 billion, still 13% ahead. First-half managed revenue of $108.6 billion compares with $91.7 billion in the prior-year period. Average loans were up 10% year-on-year and average deposits up 7% at 30 June 2026.
Set against that, expense discipline is the pressure point: 2Q26 noninterest expense of $27.3 billion was up 15% year-on-year, and 1Q26 was up 14%. Annualising the first half gives roughly $108 billion of expense — above the approximately $105 billion guide, though a material portion is revenue-related compensation that self-funds.
22.2 Consensus expectations
Consensus FY2026 EPS of approximately $22.44 implies growth of roughly 10% on FY2025, with FY2027 at approximately $23.66 (+5.4%). Given first-half diluted EPS of $13.64, the full-year consensus embeds a material second-half deceleration — consistent with the absence of further one-time gains and with the assumption that Markets normalises from an exceptional 2Q26. Coverage is split roughly evenly between Buy and Hold with no Sell ratings; mean targets range from approximately $328 to approximately $374 against a share price at the August high of $366.50.
22.3 Bull case
1. The fee franchise now carries the model, and it is compounding faster than the balance sheet. Asset management fees grew 33.5% over two years, investment banking fees 47.5%, and Payments has posted six consecutive record quarters. AWM AUM has moved from $3.42 trillion (FY2023) to $5.1 trillion (June 2026) — a 49% increase in thirty months — at a 40% ROE on $16 billion of allocated equity. Every incremental dollar of AUM arrives at high incremental margin and near-zero incremental capital. If the fee stack maintains a low-teens growth rate, the NII plateau becomes irrelevant to earnings direction.
2. Deregulation is a direct, quantifiable earnings and capital release. The SCB fell from 3.3% to 2.5% and is frozen through 30 September 2027; the Standardized CET1 requirement including buffers fell from 12.3% to 11.5%; the July 2023 Basel proposal has been shelved; the OCC is consulting on rescinding heightened standards. With approximately $40 billion of capital above requirement and a $50 billion repurchase authorisation running, every basis point of relief converts mechanically into share count reduction. The share count has already fallen from 3,021 million (FY2021) to 2,781 million (FY2025) — an 8% reduction that adds directly to EPS.
3. Structural share gains in the highest-value pools are real, not cyclical. Equity Markets revenue grew 33% in FY2025 and 86% year-on-year in 2Q26 to $6.0 billion. Investment banking wallet share reached 9.3% year-to-date at 1 July 2026, up from 8.4% for FY2025. Payments hit a record $5.3 billion. These are share captures against Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley and Citigroup in businesses where scale begets scale — and the $19.8 billion technology budget is the mechanism.
22.4 Bear case
1. The expense guide is a structural, not cyclical, step-change and it arrives with NII flat. Adjusted expense guidance of approximately $105 billion against $95.6 billion actual implies roughly a $9 billion increase — the largest in the Firm's modern history — while NII excluding Markets is guided flat at approximately $95 billion. First-half 2026 expense growth of 14–15% is running above even that. If Markets normalises from an exceptional first half while the expense base is permanently reset higher, FY2027 operating leverage turns sharply negative. ROTCE has already declined from 22% (FY2024) to 20% (FY2025).
2. Consumer credit is deteriorating on a deliberately expanded base, and the Apple Card adds subprime mix. Provisions rose 52% over two years to $14.2 billion; net charge-offs rose 59% to $9.8 billion; the Card net charge-off rate is guided to approximately 3.4%. The Firm is simultaneously absorbing a portfolio that press reporting describes as containing "more subprime and lower-credit borrowers than JPMorgan would usually serve," which required a $2.2 billion reserve before a single account transferred. Meanwhile card income is already falling — down 14.1% in FY2025 — meaning the Firm is buying credit risk at a moment when the revenue economics of the card business are compressing.
3. Valuation leaves no margin for error, and the political overhang is unquantifiable. At approximately 3.2x tangible book and roughly 16x forward earnings against a five-year average of approximately 12x, the stock discounts continued 20% ROTCE, continued deregulation and continued share gains simultaneously. Consensus targets sit below the current price. Layered on top: the sitting U.S. President is a plaintiff seeking $5 billion; debanking is an active legislative issue; the Firm's own 10-K warns that governmental policies which "discourage or penalize doing business with certain industries" could produce "negative consequences for JPMorganChase regardless of the course of action that it takes."
22.5 Catalysts and monitorables — next twelve months
22.6 Analyst verdict (300 words)
JPMorganChase enters the second half of 2026 as the most complete financial institution in the world, at the top of its earnings cycle, and priced accordingly. The operating story is unambiguous: a record $21.2 billion quarter, every business at record revenue, $5.1 trillion of AUM, a $50 billion buyback, and a Moody's upgrade at the bank subsidiary. The strategic story is more interesting than the numbers. Over eighteen months the Firm has bought the Apple relationship at a discount no one else would price, committed $1.5 trillion to reshoring, built the first bank deposit token onto two public blockchains, opened a $3 billion headquarters, and become the Olympics' first banking partner. This is a management team spending aggressively into a position of strength.
That is also the risk. The FY2026 expense guide of approximately $105 billion is a roughly $9 billion step-up against flat NII excluding Markets, and first-half expense growth of 14–15% is running ahead of it. ROTCE has fallen from 22% to 20% and the direction of travel is down before it is up. Card income is declining while card credit costs rise and the Firm is adding a lower-credit-quality portfolio. At 3.2x tangible book against a 12x historical forward P/E, the market is paying for a permanent step-change in the franchise's earning power, which the January 2027 guidance will either confirm or refute.
The verdict is that the franchise quality is not in question and the valuation is. The bull case rests on fee compounding and deregulatory capital release; the bear case rests on operating leverage inverting just as the political and credit environments turn less friendly. For an owner, this is a hold-and-collect asset with a 29% payout ratio and 10%+ tangible book compounding. For a buyer, patience is better rewarded than urgency: this is a stock to accumulate on macro dislocation, not on strength.
APPENDIX A — DATA CONFIDENCE AND SOURCE HIERARCHY
Directly sourced from primary filings (highest confidence): all FY2023–FY2025 income statement, balance sheet, segment, geographic, credit, capital, expense and headcount data; FY2026 quarterly results; guidance; risk factors; human capital disclosures; repurchase detail; league table shares; the 2025 stock performance graph.
Sourced from company press releases and 8-K filings (high confidence): capital actions, leadership changes, the Apple Card transaction, the Security and Resiliency Initiative, the American Dream Initiative, the Olympic partnership, Kinexys product milestones.
Sourced from credible secondary reporting (medium confidence, cross-checked where possible): executive compensation detail by individual; the reported Apple Card acquisition discount; the FY2026 technology budget of approximately $19.8 billion; the Net-Zero Banking Alliance withdrawal; peer FY2025 results; European expansion plans beyond Germany; analyst consensus figures.
Third-party estimates, flagged as such (lower confidence, indicative only): patent portfolio counts; ESG ratings; institutional ownership percentages; FY2021–FY2022 balance sheet lines and technology budgets; market-size estimates in Section 16.
Explicitly flagged as not publicly disclosed or not verified: gross profit, EBITDA, free cash flow, net debt, working capital, ROIC, current ratio, asset turnover and cash conversion cycle (not applicable to a bank); Firmwide geographic revenue reconciliation; country-level revenue; detailed debt maturity schedule; S&P and Fitch current ratings; Morgan Stanley FY2025 net income; Bank of America and Citigroup FY2025 ROTCE; financed-emissions target values; CDP score; Operating Committee members beyond those named; specific retention award values for the Co-Presidents; deal values for most acquisitions.
Where sources conflicted — notably on market capitalisation (a $950–1,030 billion range across providers in the second week of August 2026), on FY2026 NII guidance ($103 billion in the 10-K versus approximately $104.5–105.5 billion in later commentary), and on analyst target prices ($328 to $374 mean) — both figures and the discrepancy have been noted in the relevant section rather than reconciled to a single number.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Tenure / notes |
|---|---|---|
James "Jamie" Dimon | Chairman and Chief Executive Officer | Joined 2004 as President/COO on the Bank One merger; CEO since 31 Dec 2005; Chairman since 31 Dec 2006. Age 70 as of mid-2026. Previously CEO of Bank One Corporation; earlier at Citigroup/Travelers under Sandy Weill. Reported in June 2026 to expect to remain CEO for roughly three more years, though the Board has stated the timeline could change. |
Doug Petno | Co-President of the Firm; Chief Executive Officer, Commercial & Investment Bank | Effective 25 Jun 2026. Previously co-CEO of CIB (from Jan 2025) and CEO of Commercial Banking. Career banker at the Firm. |
Troy Rohrbaugh | Co-President of the Firm; Chief Executive Officer, Consumer & Community Banking | Effective 25 Jun 2026. Previously co-CEO of CIB and head of Markets. Assumed CCB on Marianne Lake's retirement. |
Mary Callahan Erdoes | Chief Executive Officer, Asset & Wealth Management | Leading AWM since 2009; one of the longest-tenured Operating Committee members and a recognised CEO succession candidate. |
Jennifer Piepszak | Chief Operating Officer | Appointed 14 Jan 2025. Previously co-CEO of CIB and, from 2019 to 2021, Chief Financial Officer. Manages Technology, Operations, the Chief Administrative Office, Data & Analytics and Corporate Strategy. Publicly indicated in Jan 2025 a preference for a senior operating role over CEO candidacy "at this time." |
Jeremy Barnum | Chief Financial Officer | Appointed 2021, succeeding Piepszak; previously head of Global Research in CIB. |
Daniel Pinto | Vice Chairman | Relinquished President/COO duties 30 Jun 2025; retiring at end-2026 after more than 40 years with the Firm. Formerly CEO of the Corporate & Investment Bank. |
Marianne Lake | Chief Executive Officer, Consumer & Community Banking (until Jun 2026) | Retiring after more than 25 years; formerly CFO 2013–2019 and CEO of Consumer Lending. Departure removes a leading CEO succession candidate. |
Todd A. Combs | Head of the Strategic Investment Group, Security and Resiliency Initiative | Resigned from the Board effective 7 Dec 2025 to join the Firm in an executive capacity. Previously a Berkshire Hathaway investment manager. |
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
Chair/CEO structure | Combined — Jamie Dimon serves as both Chairman and CEO |
Lead Independent Director | Stephen B. Burke (since 1 Jan 2021, succeeding Lee Raymond) |
Board size | 10 directors served on the Board through the 2025 annual meeting cycle; Todd A. Combs resigned effective 7 Dec 2025 |
Term structure | Annual election; one-year terms |
Key committees | Audit; Compensation & Management Development (CMDC); Risk; Public Responsibility; Governance & Nominating. Key committees are fully independent. |
Board gender composition | 45% men / 55% women (2025 Form 10-K, Human Capital table, excluding Mr. Combs) |
Board race/ethnicity composition | 82% White / 18% Black |
Board military veterans | 9% |
Meeting cadence | At least eight times per year, with "broad and unfettered access to dozens of senior managers" (2025 proxy) |
| Executive | Role | Salary (USD M) | Cash incentive (USD M) | Equity (USD M) | Total (USD M) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Jamie Dimon | Chairman & CEO | 1.5 | 5.0 | 36.5 | 43.0 |
Mary Callahan Erdoes | CEO, AWM | 1.0 | 12.0 | 18.0 | 31.0 |
Troy Rohrbaugh | Co-CEO, CIB | 1.0 | 10.6 | 15.9 | 27.5 |
Doug Petno | Co-CEO, CIB | 1.0 | 10.6 | 15.9 | 27.5 |
Jeremy Barnum | CFO | 1.0 | 7.4 | 11.1 | 19.5 |
| Category | Approximate stake |
|---|---|
Institutional investors | 67%–73% of shares outstanding (varies by methodology and date) |
Insiders | Approximately 0.4% |
Retail / other | Balance |
Number of institutional filers | Over 5,100 filing 13D/G or 13F |
Competitive Landscape
| Segment | Principal competitors |
|---|---|
Consumer & Community Banking | Bank of America, Wells Fargo, Citigroup (U.S. Personal Banking), Capital One (enlarged by the Discover combination), American Express, Truist, PNC Financial Services, U.S. Bancorp, Synchrony Financial, Discover/Capital One card, Ally Financial (auto), Rocket Companies and United Wholesale Mortgage (home lending), Chime and other neobanks |
Commercial & Investment Bank — Banking | Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, Bank of America Securities, Citigroup, Barclays, Deutsche Bank, UBS, BNP Paribas, HSBC, Wells Fargo (rapidly building), Evercore, Lazard, Centerview, PJT and other independent advisers |
Commercial & Investment Bank — Markets | Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, Citigroup, Bank of America, Barclays, BNP Paribas, UBS, Deutsche Bank; non-bank liquidity providers including Citadel Securities and Jane Street |
Commercial & Investment Bank — Payments | Citigroup Treasury and Trade Solutions, Bank of America Global Transaction Services, HSBC, Standard Chartered, BNP Paribas, Fiserv, FIS, Global Payments, Stripe, Adyen, PayPal |
Commercial & Investment Bank — Securities Services | BNY, State Street, Northern Trust, Citigroup, HSBC, BNP Paribas Securities Services |
Asset & Wealth Management | BlackRock, Vanguard, Fidelity, State Street Global Advisors, Amundi, Capital Group, PIMCO, Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Morgan Stanley Investment Management; in private banking: UBS Global Wealth Management, Morgan Stanley Wealth Management, Bank of America Private Bank, Goldman Sachs Private Wealth, Julius Baer, Pictet |
Emerging / disintermediating | Stablecoin issuers, private credit managers (Apollo, Ares, Blackstone, Blue Owl), fintech lenders, and — as the 2025 Form 10-K expressly notes — "non-financial companies that offer products and services that disintermediate traditional banking products" |
| Metric | JPMorganChase | Bank of America | Citigroup | Wells Fargo | Goldman Sachs | Morgan Stanley |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total revenue (USD B) | 182.4 | 113.1 | 85.2 | 83.7 | 58.3 | 70.6 |
Net income (USD B) | 57.0 | 30.5 | 14.3 | 21.3 | 17.2 | 0.0 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 20.02 | 3.81 | 0.00 | 6.26 | 51.32 | 0.00 |
Return on tangible common equity (pct) | 20 | 0 | 0 | 14.6 | 0 | 0 |
Revenue growth YoY (pct) | 2.8 | 6.8 | 5.6 | 1.7 | 0.0 | 14.2 |
| Metric | JPMorganChase | Bank of America |
|---|---|---|
FY2026 planned technology spend (USD B) | 19.8 | 14.0 |
FY2025 technology spend (USD B) | 18.0 | 0.0 |
Technology spend as pct of FY2025 revenue | 9.9 | 0.0 |
| Position | Metric | Source |
|---|---|---|
#1 | Global investment banking fees — 8.4% wallet share FY2025; 9.3% YTD at 1 Jul 2026 | Dealogic |
#1 | Global equity and equity-related underwriting — 9.3% share FY2025 | Dealogic |
#1 | U.S. equity and equity-related underwriting — 12.6% share FY2025 | Dealogic |
#1 | Global long-term debt underwriting — 7.1% share FY2025 | Dealogic |
#1 | U.S. long-term debt underwriting — 10.2% share FY2025 | Dealogic |
#2 | Global M&A — 8.3% share FY2025 (down from #1 and 9.2% in FY2024) | Dealogic |
#2 | U.S. M&A — 8.9% share FY2025 | Dealogic |
#2 | Global loan syndications — 10.1% share FY2025 (down from #1 in FY2024) | Dealogic |
#1 | U.S. retail deposits — fifth consecutive year | Company statement, 3Q25 |
#1 | U.S. credit card issuer by sales volume | Industry convention; $1,354.7 billion FY2025 sales volume excluding commercial card |
#1 | Largest U.S. bank by assets | $4.42 trillion at 31 Dec 2025; $5.0 trillion at 30 Jun 2026 |
Recent Developments
--



