Macy's Inc Overview
Macy's, Inc. is the largest operator of conventional department stores in the United States and one of the few remaining scaled multi-format, multi-price-point American retailers. Its portfolio spans three nameplates that deliberately straddle distinct income tiers: Macy's for the middle-to-upper-middle consumer, Bloomingdale's for the premium-contemporary-to-luxury consumer, and Bluemercury for the affluent prestige-beauty consumer. The company is two and a half years into "Bold New Chapter," a transformation that trades scale for productivity — closing roughly 150 unproductive Macy's doors while reinvesting in a "go-forward" fleet of roughly 350 locations, of which 200 receive intensive labour, assortment and visual investment. The economic model is no longer merchandise margin alone: a Citibank credit-card profit-share and the Macy's Media Network retail-media platform together contributed $857 million of high-incremental-margin other revenue in FY2025. Owned real estate of 243 locations provides an unusual asset backstop for a mid-cap discretionary retailer.
The company's own description
The FY2025 Form 10-K opens Item 1 as follows in substance: Macy's, Inc. is a premier omnichannel retail organisation operating 665 stores, websites and mobile applications under three iconic brands — Macy's, Bloomingdale's and Bluemercury. It sells apparel and accessories, cosmetics, home furnishings and other consumer goods, and it operates across a spectrum running from value-conscious off-price shoppers to premium luxury consumers. Management characterises the multi-brand, multi-category, multi-channel model as providing flexibility to read and react to shifting consumer demand, and states that the company serves an annual base of nearly 40 million active customers.
The filing describes each nameplate in turn. Macy's is presented as a modern department store attracting a broad middle-to-higher-income customer base, operating full-line and smaller-format locations and an off-price concept, Macy's Backstage. Bloomingdale's, founded more than 150 years ago, is described as the upscale, premium-contemporary-to-luxury offer serving an affluent, multigenerational customer through highly curated environments, with full-line stores, the smaller Bloomie's format, the Bloomingdale's The Outlet off-price concept, and licensed international stores in Dubai (United Arab Emirates) and Al Zahra (Kuwait). Bluemercury is described as a luxury beauty and spa services retailer built on a client-first, hyper-personalised service model in neighbourhood locations, weighted toward premium dermatological skincare, clinical treatments and elevated fragrance.
Independent characterisation
Macy's is best understood as four distinct businesses sharing one balance sheet, one supply chain and one credit-card economics engine.
The core Macy's merchandise business is a structurally shrinking, cash-generative annuity. Net sales inclusive of closures fell 3.8% at the Macy's nameplate in FY2025, yet comparable sales at the go-forward fleet rose 0.6% and at the Reimagine 125 subset rose 1.0%. The strategic bet is that the company can shrink the denominator faster than the numerator declines, arriving at a smaller, higher-productivity chain of roughly 350 doors.
The luxury businesses are the growth engine and increasingly the equity story. Bloomingdale's grew comparable sales 7.4% in FY2025, 10.2% in Q1 FY2026 and 11.3% in Q2 FY2026, the latter its highest second-quarter sales volume on record. Bluemercury completed its sixth consecutive year of comparable sales growth in FY2025 and accelerated to +6.4% and +6.2% in the first two quarters of FY2026.
The credit-card business is a profit-share, not a lending book. Under the sixth amendment to the amended and restated Credit Card Program Agreement with Citibank, N.A., signed 13 December 2021 and running to 31 March 2030, Citibank owns the receivables and Macy's receives fees plus a tiered share of portfolio profits net of programme expenses. Credit card revenues, net were $669 million in FY2025 (3.1% of net sales), up 24.6% year on year on portfolio health. Proprietary credit card sales penetration was 40.1% in FY2025 versus 41.6% in FY2024.
The retail media business, Macy's Media Network, monetises first-party shopper data and on-site inventory across all three nameplates. Net revenue was $188 million in FY2025, up 6.8%, aided by the Amazon Retail Ad Service integration.
Revenue model mix. Macy's does not report a product/service/subscription split. Derived from disclosed lines, FY2025 revenue was approximately 96.2% merchandise sales (owned inventory plus commissions on licensed departments and marketplace) and 3.8% "other revenue," of which credit card profit-share was 78% and retail media 22%. Merchandise is overwhelmingly owned-inventory retail; the marketplace (third-party sellers) and licensed departments (third-party operated shops such as fine jewellery and certain beauty) contribute only commission revenue to net sales, which is why the company's headline comparable-sales metric is expressed on an "owned-plus-licensed-plus-marketplace" basis while GAAP net sales are not.
Value-chain position. Macy's sits at the retail tier. It does not manufacture. It sources national brands wholesale and contracts private-brand production, predominantly in Asia (China, Vietnam, India, Indonesia and Jordan are named in the 10-K). It operates its own logistics network of 25 disclosed facilities and its own e-commerce platforms. It is therefore exposed to both wholesale brand-allocation dynamics upstream and to landlord/mall economics downstream.
Customer types and end-markets. All revenue is business-to-consumer, essentially all in the United States and its territories. End-markets served are women's accessories, shoes, cosmetics and fragrances (42% of FY2025 net sales); women's apparel (22%); men's and kids' (21%); and home and other (15%). Digital was 35% of net sales in FY2025, up from 33% in each of FY2023 and FY2024, and 31% in the seasonally weaker second quarter of FY2026.
Loyalty. Macy's Star Rewards is a spend-based programme weighted toward proprietary card usage; Bloomingdale's Loyallist and Bluemercury BlueRewards are tender-neutral points programmes. Management describes these as integral to customer lifetime value rather than standalone marketing tools.
Strategy
Stated strategy — themes from the latest annual report
The FY2025 Form 10-K describes "Bold New Chapter" as a multi-year enterprise strategy designed to return the company to sustainable, profitable growth by improving the customer experience, elevating product relevance, evolving the store and digital footprint, investing in growth areas and modernising the operating model. It is organised around three pillars, quoted in substance below.
Pillar 1 — Strengthen and Reimagine the Macy's Nameplate. Creating a more relevant and consistent omnichannel experience at Macy's by improving customer service, elevating and modernising merchandise assortments and brand curations, and prioritising investment in go-forward store locations.
Pillar 2 — Accelerate and Differentiate Luxury. Treating Bloomingdale's and Bluemercury as differentiated growth platforms and investing in them to support differentiated product curation, enhanced customer service, and expansion of digital and selective physical locations.
Pillar 3 — Simplify and Modernize End-to-End Operations. Modernising the operating model to reduce complexity, improve speed, reliability and inventory productivity, and self-fund customer-facing investments through operational efficiency savings.
The MD&A adds specifics for FY2025 execution. Under Pillar 1: the Reimagine 125 cohort outperformed the rest of the fleet, with stores described as better organised, easier to shop and more compellingly merchandised; floor space is being carved out for new trends while maintaining incumbent categories; the assortment matrix evolution is focused on clarity of offer, enhanced variety and reduced redundancy; Backstage and Macy's Marketplace fill assortment white space; colleague investment includes enhanced education, tiered staffing, dedicated colleagues for specific merchandise areas and localised store-level empowerment; Macy's delivered its best net promoter score on record in 2025. Under Pillar 2: Bloomingdale's achieved its highest comparable sales growth in fourteen quarters, sequential NPS improvement and its best holiday on record; Bluemercury reached its twentieth consecutive quarter and sixth consecutive year of comparable sales growth. Under Pillar 3: China Grove opened, incorporating automation, robotics and artificial intelligence.
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Management's medium-term financial targets and guidance
Macy's does not publish multi-year quantitative targets. It provides annual guidance, revised quarterly.
Fiscal 2026 guidance, evolution across the year
FY2025 actuals in this table are stated on the redefined non-GAAP basis (excluding real estate gains and benefit plan income), which is why adjusted diluted EPS shows as $2.15 rather than the $2.32 reported on the old definition. Guidance excludes the effect of any further share repurchases under the existing authorisation and assumes a heavier tariff impact in the first half than the second. Third-quarter FY2026 guidance calls for an adjusted loss of 19 to 23 cents per share on sales of $4.65–$4.70 billion — materially below the consensus loss of 6 cents, which is what drove the negative share-price reaction on 10 September despite the beat-and-raise.
Products & Services
Because Macy's aggregates into one reporting segment, the catalogue below is organised by nameplate and format, which is how the company itself manages the portfolio.
Macy's nameplate — retail formats
Macy's full-line department stores. The core format. Assortment spans men's, women's and children's apparel and accessories, cosmetics and fragrance, footwear, handbags, fine and fashion jewellery, watches, home textiles, tabletop, housewares, luggage and furniture, with restaurant operations in selected doors. Target customer: middle-to-higher-income households across a broad age range. Pricing model: full-price with a high promotional cadence, coupon-driven, augmented by Star Rewards. Flagship: Herald Square, New York (151 West 34th Street), the company's headquarters building and the anchor of its brand identity. Other named flagships supporting the largest Toys"R"Us shops are Atlanta, Chicago, Honolulu, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York and San Francisco.
Macy's "go-forward" fleet. Approximately 350 doors targeted at the end of the closure programme. Within it sits the intensively invested cohort: First 50 (FY2024), extended to Reimagine 125 in February 2025 and to Reimagine 200 in FY2026 by adding a further 75 stores. Investment content, per the 10-K: focused staffing in key departments, enhanced merchandise offerings, modern visual presentation, unique store-level activations and community events, and localised assortment authority. Performance evidence: Reimagine 125 comparable sales +1.0% in FY2025 against Macy's nameplate +0.4%; Reimagine 200 +2.4% in Q1 FY2026 and +1.9% in Q2 FY2026.
Macy's small format. Off-mall stores of substantially reduced footprint carrying an edited assortment. Deployed in selected markets to reach trade areas that cannot support a full-line box. Twelve store openings across formats were recorded in FY2025.
Macy's Backstage. The off-price concept, operating both as store-within-store inside full-line Macy's and as freestanding locations. Purpose per management: fill assortment "white space" and retain price- and brand-variety-seeking customers who would otherwise defect to TJX or Ross. Described in the FY2025 MD&A as having "remained strong."
Macy's Marketplace. Curated digital third-party marketplace launched in 2021 on macys.com and the Macy's app. Macy's recognises commission only, not gross merchandise value, in net sales — hence its inclusion in the "owned-plus-licensed-plus-marketplace" comparable-sales definition but its muted effect on GAAP revenue. Described in the FY2025 MD&A as "remained strong."
Toys"R"Us at Macy's. Permanent in-store shops in all Macy's locations since 2022 under a licensing partnership with WHP Global, ranging from roughly 1,000 square feet to up to 10,000 square feet in flagships, with additional seasonal flex of 500–3,000 square feet. Digital assortment runs at macys.com/toysrus and toysrus.com powered by Macy's fulfilment.
Bloomingdale's nameplate
Bloomingdale's full-line stores. 61 locations at FY2025 year end. Premium contemporary through designer and luxury, weighted to women's contemporary, designer apparel, fine jewellery, fragrance, footwear, handbags and home. Target customer: affluent, multigenerational, metropolitan. Brands introduced during FY2025 and cited by management as driving results: Totem, Christian Louboutin, Victoria Beckham Beauty, Skims, Messika and Vuori. Flagship: 59th Street, Lexington Avenue, New York.
Bloomie's. Smaller-format Bloomingdale's, first opened 2021 (Fairfax, Virginia), designed for off-mall and lifestyle-centre trade areas with an edited, locally curated assortment and a heavier services and food component.
Bloomingdale's The Outlet. Off-price format extending the Bloomingdale's brand to a value price point.
International licensed stores. Bloomingdale's operates in Dubai, United Arab Emirates and Al Zahra, Kuwait under licence agreements with Al Tayer Insignia, a company of Al Tayer Group, LLC. Macy's records licence income, not store revenue; the specific fee economics are not publicly disclosed.
Bluemercury nameplate
Bluemercury neighbourhood beauty stores. 172 leased locations at FY2025 year end, all leased, none owned. Founded 1999, acquired by Macy's in 2015. Product mix skews to premium dermatological skincare, clinical treatment, colour cosmetics and elevated fragrance. Service model includes in-store spa and treatment services and expert-led consultation. FY2025 growth drivers named by management: SkinCeuticals, Dr Diamond's Metacine, Sisley Paris and Parfums de Marly. Bluemercury has recorded twenty consecutive quarters of comparable sales growth through FY2025. Also operates Bluemercury shops inside Macy's doors.
Owned beauty brands. M-61 (clinical skincare) and lune+aster (clean colour cosmetics) are Bluemercury-owned brands, both listed among the company's principal private labels.
Private label and owned brands
The following are the principal private label brands disclosed in the FY2025 Form 10-K as of 31 January 2026. All associated trademarks are owned by the company.
Brands present in the FY2024 disclosure but absent from the FY2025 list — Home Design, jenni and Maison Jules — appear to have been rationalised under the private-brand reimagination; the company has not issued a specific discontinuation announcement, so this is inferred from the change in the 10-K brand schedule rather than confirmed.
Non-merchandise platforms
Macy's Media Network. Retail media platform selling on-site sponsored product, display and off-site media across macys.com, bloomingdales.com and bluemercury.com plus the associated apps. Revenue is recognised net. FY2025 net revenue $188 million. Technology stack includes Criteo, with Amazon Retail Ad Service integrated from Q4 FY2025 for sponsored products; Pacvue supported as a buying platform. Management disclosed at NRF that roughly 175 new brands were added to the sponsored-products offering following the Amazon integration.
Macy's credit card programme. Private label and co-branded cards issued, maintained and serviced by Citibank, N.A. Macy's subsidiary Macy's Credit Operations, LLC participates. Programme term to 31 March 2030. Macy's earns fees plus tiered profit-share on the receivables portfolio net of programme expenses.
Branded events and experiences. The Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, the Fourth of July Fireworks and the Flower Show are operated as customer-engagement platforms and are cited in the 10-K as intellectual property assets. Bloomingdale's operates its own branded activation calendar.
Loyalty programmes. Macy's Star Rewards (spend-based, weighted to proprietary card); Bloomingdale's Loyallist and Bluemercury BlueRewards (tender-neutral points).
Pricing models for the media network, the credit-card profit-share tiers, marketplace commission rates and licensed-department commission rates are not publicly disclosed.
Product Portfolio
| Brand | Principal category |
|---|---|
Alfani | Men's and women's apparel and footwear |
And Now This | Contemporary young apparel |
Aqua | Bloomingdale's contemporary apparel |
Arch Studio | Modern apparel (added since FY2024) |
Bar III | Contemporary men's and women's apparel |
Cerulean 6 | Apparel |
Charter Club | Classic women's apparel and home textiles |
Club Room | Men's classic apparel |
Epic Threads | Children's apparel |
First Impressions | Infant and toddler apparel |
Giani Bernini | Handbags and accessories |
Holiday Lane | Seasonal home and trim |
Hotel Collection | Premium bedding and bath |
Hudson Park | Home textiles |
Ideology | Active apparel |
I-N-C | Contemporary fashion apparel |
JM Collection | Women's classic apparel |
lune+aster | Colour cosmetics (Bluemercury-owned) |
M-61 | Skincare (Bluemercury-owned) |
Mode of One | Men's tailored |
Oake | Home textiles |
On 34th | Modern women's apparel, launched August 2023 |
Sky | Apparel |
State of Day | Sleepwear and intimates |
Style & Co. | Casual women's apparel |
Sun + Stone | Casual apparel |
The Cellar | Housewares and tabletop |
Tools of the Trade | Kitchen |
Wild Pair | Footwear |
Financial Narrative
Income statement
Consolidated income statement, five years (USD millions except per-share; sources: FY2025 10-K, FY2024 10-K comparatives, S&P Global Market Intelligence for FY2021)
Note on FY2021 and FY2022: FY2021 cost of sales, gross margin, SG&A and operating income on a delivery-expense-revised basis are not disclosed in any filing available; the FY2024 10-K comparative columns begin at FY2022. FY2021 EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA on a revised basis are likewise not disclosed; the originally reported FY2021 Adjusted EBITDA figure was published before the revision and is not comparable. FY2022 EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA on the revised basis are not separately disclosed in the FY2025 10-K, which presents only FY2023–FY2025. FY2021 basic EPS derived; FY2021 pretax income derived from the disclosed 23.4% effective rate and $436 million tax expense.
Margins (%)
Revenue CAGR. Total revenue fell from $25,399 million in FY2021 to $22,621 million in FY2025, a four-year compound annual decline of 2.86%. Net sales fell from $24,460 million to $21,764 million, a compound annual decline of 2.87%. Over the same span, other revenue declined only 2.2% per annum despite the FY2023–FY2024 credit-card downdraft, and has been growing since.
Balance sheet
Consolidated balance sheet, five years (USD millions; sources: FY2025 10-K, FY2024 10-K, S&P Global Market Intelligence)
Goodwill of $828 million has been unchanged since the FY2020 impairment cycle, which wrote off $3.0 billion attributable to the Macy's and bluemercury reporting units. All owned real estate is held free and clear of mortgages.
Cash flow
Consolidated cash flow, five years (USD millions)
Company-definition free cash flow equals operating cash flow less purchases of property and equipment less capitalised software plus proceeds from asset dispositions, as reconciled in the FY2025 earnings release ($797 million for FY2025, $679 million for FY2024). FY2021–FY2023 free cash flow above is computed on the same definition from the disclosed line items.
Ratio analysis
Return, liquidity, leverage and efficiency ratios
Ratios are computed by this analyst from the statements above; DPO for FY2022–FY2023 is marked not available because merchandise accounts payable is not separately disclosed for those years in the sources consulted. ROIC uses NOPAT at the effective tax rate over the sum of equity and funded debt at period end. Note that FY2025 ROIC is flattered by the $328 million interchange settlement; excluding it, FY2025 ROIC is approximately 7.3%. FY2025 DSO is distorted by a $325 million increase in receivables associated with the interchange settlement and tariff refund receivables.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
Revenue. The four-year revenue decline is almost entirely a store-count decision rather than a demand collapse. FY2025 net sales fell $529 million, of which management attributes approximately $700 million to the annualisation of FY2024 closures — implying underlying growth of roughly $170 million. FY2025 was the inflection: comparable sales turned positive at +1.5% after -6.0% in FY2023 and -0.9% in FY2024. The trend has strengthened, not faded: +3.0% in Q1 FY2026 and +2.7% in Q2 FY2026, five consecutive positive quarters through 1 August 2026.
Gross margin. Gross margin rate on net sales has been remarkably stable at 37.2–38.4% across the period. The FY2025 40-basis-point decline to 38.0% is fully explained by tariffs (40 basis points) plus proactive second-quarter markdowns on early spring product. The Q2 FY2026 reported rate of 41.5% is not a structural improvement: 180 basis points came from net tariff refunds, and excluding those and a 10-basis-point ongoing tariff and fuel headwind, the underlying rate improved only 10 basis points. Underlying merchandise margin is therefore roughly flat, which is itself an achievement against a promotional department-store backdrop.
SG&A. The single most important operating pressure. SG&A fell $90 million in absolute dollars in FY2025, but rose 20 basis points to 36.4% of total revenue because the revenue base is shrinking faster than the cost base. This is the deleverage problem inherent to a shrink-to-grow strategy: closed-store savings and end-to-end efficiency programmes are partially recycled into Reimagine store labour, Bloomingdale's and digital. The ratio has climbed every year from 33.2% in FY2022. The first sign of relief came in Q2 FY2026, when SG&A fell 20 basis points to 38.7% of total revenue on 1.1% sales growth.
Below-the-line items. FY2023 is the outlier year and should be treated as non-comparable: $1,027 million of impairment, restructuring and other costs, including $957 million of non-cash asset impairment tied to the roughly 150 locations designated for closure, crushed GAAP net income to $45 million despite adjusted diluted EPS of $3.28. FY2025 similarly contains two large non-operating swings in opposite directions: a $328 million net gain from the credit card interchange fee litigation settlement and $230 million of impairment and restructuring (including $160 million of non-cash impairment and $47 million of severance). GAAP diluted EPS of $2.32 happens to equal adjusted diluted EPS of $2.32 only because these offset.
Real estate gains. A material and volatile earnings input that management has begun de-emphasising. Gains fell from $144 million in FY2024 to $48 million in FY2025 on fewer transactions. From FY2026 the company has redefined Adjusted EBITDA and adjusted EPS to exclude real estate gains and benefit plan income, per its 8-K of 18 February 2026 — a governance improvement that reduces the optical quality of the reported number but improves its signal.
Balance sheet. Deleveraging has been the clearest management success. Funded debt fell from $3,295 million at FY2021 year end to $2,432 million at FY2025 year end, a 26% reduction, and net funded debt fell to $1,186 million, or 0.64x Adjusted EBITDA. Equity rose from $3,621 million to $4,860 million. There are no material long-term debt maturities until 2030. Available capacity under the asset-based facility was $2.0 billion at both FY2025 year end and Q2 FY2026. This is a genuinely conservative capital structure for a discretionary retailer — the constraint is operating volatility, not solvency.
Capital intensity. Capex peaked at $1,295 million (5.1% of revenue) in FY2022 and has fallen every year to $740 million (3.3%) in FY2025. Guidance for FY2025 was approximately $800 million; actual came in below. Capitalised software has stayed flat at roughly $365 million per year while physical capex has halved — the mix has shifted decisively from bricks to systems. The China Grove facility was the last large physical project.
Cash returns. After two years of near-zero buybacks (FY2023 $38 million, FY2024 $1 million) while the balance sheet was rebuilt, Macy's repurchased 17.7 million shares for $251 million in FY2025 and a further 4.9 million shares for $100 million in the first half of FY2026. Share count fell from 277.7 million to 263.0 million during FY2025 alone — a 5.3% reduction, the largest single-year retirement in the period. The dividend has risen every year since reinstatement, most recently 5% to 19.15 cents quarterly (76.6 cents annualised) declared 27 February 2026.
Working capital. Days inventory outstanding has crept up 18 days since FY2022, from 101.5 to 119.3. Some of this is mix (Bloomingdale's carries slower-turning luxury inventory) and some is the natural consequence of closing the highest-clearance doors. Merchandise inventories were down 1.3% year on year at FY2025 close and up 2.5% at Q2 FY2026, which management frames as intentional positioning into the second half.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD M) | 24460 | 24442 | 23092 | 22293 | 21764 |
Other revenue (USD M) | 939 | 1007 | 774 | 713 | 857 |
Total revenue (USD M) | 25399 | 25449 | 23866 | 23006 | 22621 |
Cost of sales (USD M) | n/a | 15347 | 14224 | 13740 | 13497 |
Gross margin (USD M) | n/a | 9095 | 8868 | 8553 | 8267 |
SG&A expense (USD M) | n/a | 8461 | 8375 | 8330 | 8240 |
Gains on sale of real estate (USD M) | n/a | 89 | 61 | 144 | 48 |
Impairment, restructuring and other costs (USD M) | n/a | 41 | 1027 | 171 | 230 |
Interchange fee settlement, net (USD M) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 328 |
Operating income (USD M) | n/a | 1689 | 301 | 909 | 1030 |
Benefit plan income, net (USD M) | n/a | 20 | 11 | 16 | 16 |
Pension/settlement charges (USD M) | n/a | 39 | 134 | 46 | 67 |
Interest expense, net (USD M) | n/a | 162 | 135 | 115 | 97 |
Loss on extinguishment of debt (USD M) | n/a | 0 | 0 | 1 | 33 |
Income before income taxes (USD M) | 1866 | 1508 | 43 | 763 | 849 |
Income tax expense (USD M) | 436 | 362 | -2 | 181 | 207 |
Net income (USD M) | 1430 | 1146 | 45 | 582 | 642 |
Depreciation and amortisation (USD M) | 944 | 857 | 897 | 881 | 894 |
EBITDA (USD M) | n/a | n/a | 1075 | 1760 | 1873 |
Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | n/a | n/a | 2236 | 1977 | 1842 |
Core Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 1833 | 1794 |
Basic EPS (USD) | 4.60 | 4.17 | 0.16 | 2.10 | 2.37 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 4.55 | 4.08 | 0.16 | 2.07 | 2.32 |
Adjusted diluted EPS (USD) | n/a | n/a | 3.28 | 2.64 | 2.32 |
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 0.30 | 0.63 | 0.66 | 0.69 | 0.73 |
Weighted average diluted shares (millions) | 314.2 | 280.9 | 275.3 | 281.6 | 276.5 |
Digital sales as % of net sales | n/a | n/a | 33 | 33 | 35 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin on net sales (%) | n/a | 37.2 | 38.4 | 38.4 | 38.0 |
SG&A as % of total revenue | n/a | 33.2 | 35.1 | 36.2 | 36.4 |
Operating margin on total revenue (%) | n/a | 6.6 | 1.3 | 4.0 | 4.6 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin on total revenue (%) | n/a | n/a | 9.4 | 8.6 | 8.1 |
Core Adjusted EBITDA margin on total revenue (%) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 8.0 | 7.9 |
Net margin on total revenue (%) | 5.6 | 4.5 | 0.2 | 2.5 | 2.8 |
Effective tax rate (%) | 23.4 | 24.0 | -4.7 | 23.7 | 24.4 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (USD M) | 1712 | 862 | 1034 | 1306 | 1246 |
Receivables (USD M) | 297 | 300 | 293 | 320 | 628 |
Merchandise inventories (USD M) | 4383 | 4267 | 4361 | 4468 | 4412 |
Total current assets (USD M) | 6758 | 5853 | 6089 | 6479 | 6673 |
Property and equipment, net (USD M) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 5070 | 4743 |
Right-of-use assets (USD M) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 2243 | 2136 |
Goodwill (USD M) | 828 | 828 | 828 | 828 | 828 |
Other intangible assets, net (USD M) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 425 | 420 |
Total assets (USD M) | 17590 | 16866 | 16246 | 16402 | 16238 |
Merchandise accounts payable (USD M) | n/a | n/a | n/a | 1893 | 1807 |
Total current liabilities (USD M) | 5416 | 4861 | 4532 | 4524 | 4493 |
Short-term debt (USD M) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 |
Long-term funded debt (USD M) | 3295 | 2996 | 2998 | 2773 | 2432 |
Long-term lease liabilities (USD M) | 3098 | 2963 | 2986 | 2927 | 2772 |
Total debt including leases (USD M) | 6723 | 6294 | 6342 | 6073 | 5567 |
Net debt including leases (USD M) | 5011 | 5432 | 5308 | 4767 | 4321 |
Net funded debt excluding leases (USD M) | 1583 | 2134 | 1964 | 1473 | 1186 |
Deferred income taxes (USD M) | 983 | 947 | 745 | 724 | 805 |
Total liabilities (USD M) | 13969 | 12784 | 12211 | 11850 | 11378 |
Shareholders' equity (USD M) | 3621 | 4082 | 4035 | 4552 | 4860 |
Working capital (USD M) | 1342 | 992 | 1557 | 1955 | 2180 |
Book value per share (USD) | 12.39 | 15.04 | 14.71 | 16.39 | 18.48 |
Tangible book value (USD M) | 1847 | 2156 | 2020 | 2497 | 2795 |
End-of-period shares outstanding (millions) | 292.4 | 271.4 | 274.2 | 277.7 | 263.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash provided by operating activities (USD M) | 2712 | 1615 | 1305 | 1278 | 1430 |
Purchase of property and equipment (USD M) | 354 | 888 | 631 | 518 | 373 |
Capitalised software (USD M) | 243 | 407 | 362 | 364 | 367 |
Total capital expenditure (USD M) | 597 | 1295 | 993 | 882 | 740 |
Proceeds from disposition of assets, net (USD M) | 164 | 137 | 86 | 283 | 107 |
Free cash flow, company definition (USD M) | 2279 | 457 | 398 | 679 | 797 |
Net cash used by investing activities (USD M) | -370 | -1169 | -913 | -592 | -639 |
Debt issued (USD M) | 1085 | 2809 | 963 | 304 | 500 |
Debt repaid (USD M) | 2722 | 3281 | 963 | 524 | 865 |
Dividends paid (USD M) | 90 | 173 | 181 | 192 | 197 |
Share repurchases (USD M) | 500 | 601 | 38 | 1 | 250 |
Net cash used by financing activities (USD M) | -2381 | -1296 | -220 | -413 | -852 |
Cash interest paid (USD M) | 442 | 188 | 157 | 155 | 167 |
Cash income tax paid (USD M) | -171 | 455 | 240 | 304 | 70 |
Capex as % of total revenue | 2.4 | 5.1 | 4.2 | 3.8 | 3.3 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on average equity (%) | 29.8 | 1.1 | 13.6 | 13.6 |
Return on average assets (%) | 6.7 | 0.3 | 3.6 | 3.9 |
Return on invested capital, funded-debt basis (%) | 18.1 | 2.9 | 9.5 | 10.7 |
Current ratio (x) | 1.20 | 1.34 | 1.43 | 1.49 |
Funded debt / equity (x) | 0.73 | 0.74 | 0.61 | 0.50 |
Total debt incl. leases / equity (x) | 1.54 | 1.57 | 1.33 | 1.15 |
Net funded debt / Adjusted EBITDA (x) | n/a | 0.88 | 0.75 | 0.64 |
Net debt incl. leases / Adjusted EBITDA (x) | n/a | 2.37 | 2.41 | 2.35 |
Interest coverage, operating income / net interest (x) | 10.4 | 2.2 | 7.9 | 10.6 |
Interest coverage, EBITDA / net interest (x) | n/a | 8.0 | 15.3 | 19.3 |
Asset turnover, total revenue / average assets (x) | 1.48 | 1.44 | 1.41 | 1.39 |
Days inventory outstanding (days) | 101.5 | 111.9 | 118.7 | 119.3 |
Days sales outstanding (days) | 4.5 | 4.6 | 5.0 | 10.5 |
Days payables outstanding (days) | n/a | n/a | 50.3 | 48.9 |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | n/a | n/a | 73.4 | 80.9 |
Dividend payout on GAAP EPS (%) | 15.4 | 412.5 | 33.3 | 31.5 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
US states with store operations | 43 | 43 | 43 |
Other jurisdictions (DC, Puerto Rico, Guam) | 3 | 3 | 3 |
Countries with licensed Bloomingdale's stores | 2 | 2 | 2 |
Total store locations | 718 | 680 | 665 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Closing price, 11 September 2026 (USD) | 22.08 |
Change on 11 September 2026 (%) | 7.71 |
Pre-market, 14 September 2026 (USD) | 22.16 |
52-week high (USD) | 26.59 |
52-week low (USD) | 16.41 |
Market capitalisation (USD billions) | 5.8 |
Shares outstanding (millions) | 261.2 |
Average daily volume (millions) | 5.7 |
One-year total return (%) | Approximately 69 |
Three-year price change | — |
Five-year price change | — |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Current | FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
P/E (x) | 8.05 | 8.29 | 7.43 | 113.47 | 5.46 | 5.32 |
Forward P/E (x) | 10.39 | 9.25 | 7.05 | 6.46 | 6.50 | 6.03 |
Price / free cash flow (x) | 4.08 | 5.04 | 5.69 | 7.58 | 8.61 | 3.23 |
Price / sales (x) | 0.25 | 0.24 | 0.19 | 0.21 | 0.25 | 0.30 |
Price / book (x) | 1.19 | 1.19 | 1.13 | 0.83 | 0.53 | 0.63 |
Dividend yield (%) | 3.47 | 3.72 | 4.73 | 3.94 | 3.17 | 1.41 |
EV / total revenue (x) | 0.42 | 0.44 | 0.40 | 0.40 | 0.43 | 0.44 |
EV / Adjusted EBITDA (x) | 5.2 | 5.5 | 4.7 | 4.3 | n/a | n/a |
Capital Markets
| Source | Rating | Average price target (USD) | Range (USD) | Analysts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
S&P Global Market Intelligence (via stockanalysis.com) | Hold | 23.15 | 10.00 to 30.00 | 13 |
Alternative aggregation (post-Q2 FY2026) | Hold | Approximately 19.40 | n/a | n/a |
Rating distribution (MarketBeat, October 2025 snapshot) | Hold | 15.45 | n/a | 2 strong buy, 1 buy, 11 hold, 1 sell |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Current |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dividend per share (USD) | 0.30 | 0.63 | 0.66 | 0.69 | 0.73 | 0.766 |
Dividends paid (USD M) | 90 | 173 | 181 | 192 | 197 | n/a |
Dividend yield (%) | 1.41 | 3.17 | 3.94 | 4.73 | 3.72 | 3.47 |
Payout ratio on GAAP EPS (%) | 6.6 | 15.4 | 412.5 | 33.3 | 31.5 | n/a |
Capital Markets
| Period | Shares repurchased (millions) | Amount (USD M) | Remaining authorisation (USD billions) |
|---|---|---|---|
FY2022 | n/a | 601 | n/a |
FY2023 | n/a | 38 | 1.4 |
FY2024 | n/a | 1 | 1.4 |
FY2025 | 17.7 | 251 | 1.1 |
Q2 FY2026 | 2.2 | 50 | 1.0 |
H1 FY2026 | 4.9 | 100 | 1.0 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Long-term rating | Outlook | Most recent confirmation |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Ba1 (corporate family) | Stable | Ba1 assigned February 2022; stated as Ba1/Stable in the FY2024 10-K as of 1 February 2025 |
S&P Global Ratings | BB+ | Stable | Affirmed December 2024; stated as BB+/Stable in the FY2024 10-K |
Fitch Ratings | BBB- | Stable | Affirmed in 2026 for Macy's, Inc., Macy's Retail Holdings, LLC and Macy's Inventory Funding LLC |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
For fiscal 2026 management guides to net sales of $21.675–$21.825 billion, comparable sales growth of 1.0–1.5%, Adjusted EBITDA of 7.8–8.0% of total revenue and adjusted diluted EPS of $2.15–$2.35 — each raised twice since the initial March 2026 outlook. The midpoint implies net sales roughly flat against FY2025's $21.764 billion despite the loss of approximately $145 million from FY2025 closures, and adjusted EPS growth of roughly 5% against the redefined FY2025 base of $2.15. Guidance assumes a heavier tariff impact in the first half than the second, incorporates approximately $0.18 per share of second-half reinvestment from tariff refunds with only $0.05 flowing to EPS, and excludes any further buybacks. Third-quarter guidance is for an adjusted loss of 19 to 23 cents on sales of $4.65–$4.70 billion.
Consensus expectations
The sell side is rated Hold on average across roughly thirteen covering analysts, with an average target near $23 and a range from $10 to $30. Consensus FY2026 net sales of $21.914 billion sits slightly above the guided range, suggesting the Street had not fully absorbed the closure drag. The reaction to the Q2 print — an initial 3–5% decline on soft third-quarter guidance, followed by a 7.7% rally the next session — captures how contested the name remains.
Bull case
One: the cohort math works and is scaling. Reimagine stores now cover approximately 60% of go-forward Macy's doors and 75% of prior-year go-forward store sales, and they have outperformed the balance of the fleet in every reported period — +1.0% versus +0.4% in FY2025, +2.4% versus +1.6% in Q1 FY2026, +1.9% versus +1.1% in Q2 FY2026. If the cohort simply holds its spread while coverage rises toward 100% of the go-forward fleet, the Macy's nameplate arithmetically converges on 2% comparable growth without any improvement in the underlying consumer.
Two: the luxury businesses are worth more than the whole company's current multiple implies. Bloomingdale's has compounded eight consecutive quarters of comparable growth, two of them double-digit, and set record first- and second-quarter volumes in FY2026 while its principal competitor sits in bankruptcy. Bluemercury has grown for twenty-four consecutive quarters. At a group EV/EBITDA of roughly 5.2x, the market is capitalising these assets at department-store multiples. Barington's structural argument was crude but the underlying valuation observation was correct, and a new Bluemercury CEO recruited from Kering Beauté suggests management is at least building the asset toward optionality.
Three: the capital return is large relative to the equity. Approximately $1.0 billion remains under the repurchase authorisation against a $5.8 billion market capitalisation, and guidance excludes it entirely. Add a 3.5% dividend yield and 4–5% annual share count reduction and shareholders are compensated at roughly 8% per year before any operational improvement. Free cash flow of $797 million in FY2025 and $1,057 million on the S&P definition supports this comfortably against a net funded debt position of $1.2 billion.
Bear case
One: the cost base does not scale down. SG&A has risen as a percentage of revenue for four consecutive years, from 33.2% to 36.4%, and Adjusted EBITDA has fallen in absolute dollars every year since FY2023, from $2,236 million to $1,842 million. Comparable sales growth of 1.5% has not been enough to arrest that. If the go-forward fleet stabilises at roughly 350 doors on approximately $21 billion of sales, the fixed-cost structure of a company that once ran 775 stores may simply not fit.
Two: earnings quality is thin and the crutches are running out. FY2025 GAAP net income of $642 million included a $328 million interchange settlement that will not repeat; FY2026 first-half earnings include $116 million of tariff refunds that will not repeat; real estate gains fell from $144 million to $48 million and are now excluded from the guided non-GAAP metric. Strip the one-offs and FY2025 ROIC is approximately 7.3% against a cost of capital that is almost certainly higher.
Three: the structural decline has not stopped, only slowed. Net sales have fallen every year for four years, at a 2.9% compound annual rate. Home is down 31% cumulatively with no announced fix. Proprietary credit card penetration slipped 150 basis points in FY2025, and the credit-card profit-share — 3.1% of net sales and the single most profitable revenue line — is contractually exposed at March 2030 and economically exposed to any consumer credit downturn. Comparable sales growth built on Bloomingdale's while a bankrupt competitor is unable to secure merchandise is not obviously durable growth; it may be a redistribution that reverses when Saks emerges or its doors are absorbed.
Catalysts and monitorables for the next twelve months
Analyst verdict
Macy's has done the hard, unglamorous part of a retail turnaround properly. It has taken $863 million of funded debt off the balance sheet in four years, cut capital intensity from 5.1% to 3.3% of revenue, closed roughly 130 of a planned 150 unproductive doors, and — critically — demonstrated at cohort level that investment in stores produces measurable sales response. Five consecutive quarters of comparable sales growth, culminating in +2.7% in the quarter ended 1 August 2026, is not noise. The market has recognised this, re-rating the stock roughly 69% in twelve months and, for the first time in the period examined, above tangible book.
What has not been demonstrated is that the resulting company earns an adequate return. Adjusted EBITDA has declined in absolute dollars in each of the last two years. SG&A has deleveraged for four straight years. Strip out the interchange settlement and the tariff refunds and FY2025 return on invested capital was approximately 7.3% — respectable for a department store, inadequate for a business with this much operating and lease leverage. The growth in the reported numbers is concentrated in Bloomingdale's, whose principal luxury competitor is in Chapter 11 and cannot get merchandise.
The investment case therefore rests less on operating improvement than on capital allocation and asset backing: $1.0 billion of remaining buyback authorisation against $5.8 billion of equity, a 3.5% dividend, 243 unencumbered owned properties, and $2.0 billion of undrawn revolver. That combination pays shareholders roughly 8% a year to wait, with limited downside from a balance sheet levered at 0.64x net funded debt to EBITDA.
The rational stance is constructive but unromantic. This is a well-financed, competently managed harvest of a structurally declining asset base, with a genuine growth business (luxury) embedded inside it that the market is not separately valuing. Watch the SG&A ratio and the Reimagine spread. Those two numbers will settle the argument.
Where two sources conflict, both are noted at the point of use.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Age | Appointed to current role | Selected prior roles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Tony Spring | Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board | 61 | CEO February 2024; Chairman 2024 | President, Macy's, Inc. 2023–2024; EVP, Macy's, Inc. 2021–2023; Chairman and CEO, Bloomingdale's 2014–2023; President and COO, Bloomingdale's 2008–2014; EVP Bloomingdale's 2004–2008; EVP Marketing, Bloomingdale's 1998–2004; joined Bloomingdale's 1987 |
Thomas J. Edwards | Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer | 61 | June 2025 | CFO and COO, Capri Holdings Limited 2017–2025; CFO, Brinker International 2015–2017; finance and operations roles at Wyndham Hotel Group 2007–2013, Kraft Foods 2000–2007, Nabisco 1997–2000 |
Danielle L. Kirgan | Chief Human Resources and Corporate Affairs Officer | 50 | CHRO 2017; Chief Corporate Affairs Officer added 2024 | Chief Transformation Officer, Macy's 2020–2023; SVP People, American Airlines Group 2016–2017; CHRO, Darden Restaurants 2015–2016; VP Global HR, ACI Worldwide 2009; VP HR, ConAgra Foods 2004–2008 |
Tracy M. Preston | Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary | 59 | 2024 | Chief Compliance Officer, CLO and Corporate Secretary, HanesBrands 2021–2023; same roles at Neiman Marcus Group 2013–2021; Chief Compliance Officer and Chief Global Litigation Counsel, Levi Strauss & Co. 2002–2013; Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe 1997–2002 |
Olivier Bron | Chief Executive Officer, Bloomingdale's | 48 | 2023 | CEO, Central Group and Robinson Department Stores, Thailand 2021–2023; COO, Galeries Lafayette/BHV Marais 2018–2021, Director of Strategy 2014–2018; Principal, Bain & Company 2002–2014 |
Paul Griscom | Senior Vice President and Controller | 45 | 2020 | VP and interim Principal Accounting Officer, Macy's 2020; VP Financial Reporting and Accounting Services 2019–2020; Director, Training & Products, GAAP Dynamics 2012–2016; KPMG LLP 2000–2012 |
Alexandre Choueiri | Chief Executive Officer, Bluemercury | n/d | 3 August 2026 | CEO and President, Americas, Kering Beauté; more than two decades at L'Oréal including Global President, Ralph Lauren Fragrances; strategy consultant, Bain & Company (France and Australia) |
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
February 2024 | Tony Spring succeeds Jeff Gennette as CEO; Gennette retires |
April 2024 | Spring assumes chairmanship, completing the announced succession plan |
2024 | Tracy M. Preston joins as Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary; Danielle Kirgan adds Corporate Affairs to her CHRO remit |
February 2025 | Barbie Cameron named Chief Stores Officer on a permanent basis |
22 April 2025 | Departure of Adrian V. Mitchell as COO/CFO announced, effective 21 June 2025 |
22 June 2025 | Thomas J. Edwards joins as COO/CFO from Capri Holdings |
22 June 2025 | Chief Stores Officer Barbie Cameron begins reporting directly to CEO Spring |
1 May 2025 | Bluemercury CEO Maly Bernstein begins reporting to Bloomingdale's CEO Olivier Bron rather than to the corporate centre |
14 July 2026 | Alexandre Choueiri appointed CEO of Bluemercury, effective 3 August 2026 |
Q2 FY2026 | Caitlin Howe appears as investor relations contact, succeeding Pamela Quintiliano |
| Executive | Salary (USD) | Bonus (USD) | Stock awards (USD) | Option awards (USD) | Non-equity incentive (USD) | Pension/deferred (USD) | All other (USD) | Total (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Tony Spring, Chairman and CEO | 1337500 | 0 | 9007868 | 0 | 3241620 | 311392 | 205687 | 14104067 |
Thomas J. Edwards, COO and CFO | 515152 | 1650000 | 4106748 | 744156 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7016056 |
Olivier Bron, CEO Bloomingdale's | 868750 | 500000 | 2201037 | 0 | 1164870 | 0 | 21705 | 4756362 |
Danielle L. Kirgan, CHRO and Corporate Affairs | 850000 | 0 | 2051567 | 0 | 1020510 | 0 | 36770 | 3958847 |
Tracy M. Preston, Chief Legal Officer | 775000 | 0 | 1451035 | 0 | 697849 | 0 | 19388 | 2943272 |
Adrian V. Mitchell, former COO and CFO | 374242 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 641571 | 0 | 4671099 | 5686912 |
| Committee | Chair | Members |
|---|---|---|
Audit | Marie Chandoha | Torrence Boone, Robert B. Chavez, Naveen Chopra, Jill Granoff, Paul C. Varga |
Compensation and Management Development | Jill Granoff | Emilie Arel, Robert B. Chavez, Deirdre P. Connelly, Richard L. Markee, Paul C. Varga |
Nominating and Corporate Governance | Deirdre P. Connelly | Emilie Arel, Torrence Boone, Richard L. Markee |
Finance | Not disclosed on the page consulted | Established remit includes evaluation of acquisition proposals following the 2024 Arkhouse agreement; Richard Clark and Richard L. Markee were added to it in April 2024 |
| Holder | Date of most recent Schedule 13G | Shares | Percent of class |
|---|---|---|---|
The Vanguard Group | 31 October 2025 | 26371100 | 10.00 |
BlackRock, Inc. | 24 January 2024 | 25142944 | 9.53 |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | Category | Overlap with Macy's | Latest annual revenue | Position |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Kohl's Corporation (NYSE: KSS) | Moderate department store | Direct — Macy's nameplate, off-mall middle market | $14.8 billion net sales, FY2025 (ended 31 Jan 2026) | Second-largest US conventional department store; comparable sales -3.1% in FY2025, still contracting; FY2025 diluted EPS $2.38 flattered by a $129 million interchange settlement gain (adjusted $1.62) |
Nordstrom, Inc. (private since 2025) | Premium department store | Direct — Bloomingdale's and upper-tier Macy's | Approximately €13.3 billion (2023 basis, per Modaes ranking); Q4 net sales $4.2 billion | Taken private by the Nordstrom family and El Puerto de Liverpool in 2025; sales rose 4.1% in H1 2025; freed from public-market scrutiny |
Dillard's, Inc. (NYSE: DDS) | Regional department store | Direct — Macy's nameplate in the South and Southwest | Revenue down 0.1% in 2025 per Modaes; Q3 net sales $1.4 billion | Highest-margin US department store; strict price and inventory control; modest comparable growth around 1% |
Saks Global (private) | Luxury department store | Direct — Bloomingdale's | Q3 sales $1.6 billion, down 13% | Filed for bankruptcy January 2026; exiting off-price; vendors withholding merchandise on payment delays; targeting profitability in three years and 7% average annual revenue growth from the following fiscal year |
J.C. Penney (private, Catalyst Brands) | Moderate department store | Direct — Macy's nameplate value tier | Q3 sales $1.4 billion | Stabilising after years of decline |
Belk (private) | Regional department store | Direct — Southeast | Not disclosed | Modest growth per industry estimates |
The TJX Companies (NYSE: TJX) | Off-price | Direct — Macy's Backstage; indirect across all apparel and home | Multiple times Macy's revenue | The structural share winner in US apparel; a principal beneficiary of Saks' off-price exit |
Ross Stores (NASDAQ: ROST) | Off-price | Direct — Backstage and value apparel | Substantially larger than Macy's in market capitalisation | Consistent traffic and share gains |
Burlington Stores (NYSE: BURL) | Off-price | Direct — value apparel and home | Growing store base; over 100 new locations planned in 2026 | Aggressive unit growth into vacated department-store trade areas |
Target Corporation (NYSE: TGT) | Mass merchant | Direct — home, beauty, kids, seasonal | Approximately 5x Macy's revenue | Owned-brand and beauty (Ulta shop-in-shop) capability directly targets Macy's categories |
Amazon.com (NASDAQ: AMZN) | Marketplace and e-commerce | Direct — all categories; simultaneously an ad-tech partner | Vastly larger | The dominant structural pressure on department-store apparel; now also a Macy's supplier of ad technology |
Ulta Beauty (NASDAQ: ULTA) and Sephora (LVMH) | Beauty specialty | Direct — Bluemercury and Macy's beauty | Larger than Bluemercury by orders of magnitude | Ulta's Target partnership and Sephora's Kohl's partnership place prestige beauty inside Macy's competitors' boxes |
Gap Inc., Bath & Body Works, Foot Locker, Williams-Sonoma | Specialty | Category-specific | Various | Named in the company's own compensation peer group |
Shein and Temu | Cross-border digital | Direct — value apparel | Not disclosed | Fast-fashion pressure at the entry price point; partially blunted by tariff and de minimis changes |
| Metric | Macy's FY2025 | Kohl's FY2025 | Dillard's latest FY | Nordstrom latest reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD billions) | 21.8 | 14.8 | 6.4 | 15.0 |
Total revenue (USD billions) | 22.6 | 15.5 | 6.8 | 15.6 |
Net sales growth (%) | -2.4 | -4.0 | -0.1 | 4.1 |
Comparable sales change (%) | 1.5 | -3.1 | 1.0 | 3.5 |
Operating margin on total revenue (%) | 4.6 | 4.0 | 8.0 | 4.0 |
Net income (USD millions) | 642 | 272 | 570 | n/a |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 2.32 | 2.38 | 36.00 | n/a |
Capex intensity, capex as % of revenue | 3.3 | 3.0 | 3.0 | 3.5 |
R&D intensity (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |



