Nio Inc Overview
Positioning statement (150 words). NIO Inc. is a Shanghai-headquartered, Cayman-incorporated designer and manufacturer of battery-electric passenger vehicles that has, uniquely among global EV makers, built its commercial identity around separating the battery from the car. Its Battery-as-a-Service model and a network of more than 4,000 owned battery-swap stations convert a hardware purchase into a subscription relationship, lowering entry price and creating a defensible service moat that competitors have found capital-intensive to replicate. NIO operates three brands stratified by price — NIO (premium, RMB300k–800k), ONVO (family, RMB200k–300k) and FIREFLY (small urban premium) — manufactured in three company-owned Hefei plants. After eight consecutive years of losses totalling well over RMB90bn, the company reached its first quarterly GAAP operating and net profit in Q4 2025 on record volume, and repeated non-GAAP operating profitability in Q1 2026. It remains structurally loss-making on a full-year basis, thinly capitalised in equity terms, and dependent on continued volume growth to sustain the inflection.
2.1 The company's own characterisation
From the FY2025 Q4 earnings release "About NIO Inc.": NIO describes itself as a pioneer and leading company in the global smart electric vehicle market, founded in November 2014, with the mission "Blue Sky Coming." It positions itself as a "user enterprise where innovative technology meets experience excellence," stating that it designs, develops, manufactures and sells smart electric vehicles and drives innovation in next-generation core technologies. It explicitly frames three differentiators: continuous technological breakthroughs, exceptional products and services, and "a community for shared growth." Its brand architecture is stated as premium smart EVs under NIO, family-oriented smart EVs under ONVO, and small smart high-end electric cars under FIREFLY.
2.2 Independent characterisation
NIO is best understood as three interlocking businesses operating under one balance sheet.
The vehicle business is a conventional, if premium-skewed, automotive OEM. It accounted for RMB76,883.9 million of FY2025 revenue, or 87.9% of the total, at a vehicle margin of 14.6% (FY2025 Q4 release). This is the volume engine and the source of nearly all gross profit. Crucially, it is a manufacturing business — NIO obtained its own production qualification in late 2023 and acquired the manufacturing assets previously operated by JAC, ending the contract-manufacturing arrangement that had defined its first five years.
The energy business — NIO Power — is a capital-intensive infrastructure network that operates as a demand-generation and retention mechanism rather than a standalone profit centre. As of mid-August 2026 NIO operated 4,012 battery swap stations and 5,172 charging stations with 29,855 charging piles, and had connected roughly 1.59 million third-party charging piles into its app (Gasgoo, August 2026; CnEVPost, May 2026). Cumulative swaps passed 120 million in August 2026, having passed 100 million on February 6, 2026 — meaning roughly one-sixth of all swaps in the company's history occurred in the subsequent six months. Notably, over 86% of energy delivered through NIO's charging network serves non-NIO vehicles, converting sunk infrastructure into third-party revenue.
The service and subscription business — reported within "other sales," RMB10,603.6 million in FY2025 (+41.4% YoY) — bundles after-sales parts and service, power solutions, used-car transactions (NIO Certified), auto financing facilitation, insurance brokerage (via the Anhui NIO DT VIE), battery upgrades, and, increasingly, sale of technical R&D services to third parties. Management specifically attributed Q4 2025 other-sales growth to used cars and technical R&D services alongside the organic growth of the user base. Other-sales margin reached 11.9% in Q4 2025 — the first time this line has been meaningfully accretive.
2.3 Revenue model and value chain position
NIO's revenue mix is heavily product-weighted: 87.9% vehicle sales / 12.1% other sales in FY2025, essentially unchanged from 88.6% / 11.4% in FY2024. The subscription element is structurally off NIO's income statement in an important respect: under BaaS, NIO sells the battery pack to Wuhan Weineng Battery Asset Co., Ltd. (the "Battery Asset Company"), in which NIO China holds approximately 16.5%, and the customer subscribes to the battery from Weineng. NIO therefore books a battery sale rather than a subscription annuity, and carries a capped guarantee on user payment defaults (immaterial as of December 31, 2025 per the FY2025 20-F). This materially flatters NIO's near-term revenue recognition while placing the battery residual-value risk outside the consolidated group.
Value-chain position: NIO is progressively integrating backwards. It designs its own ADAS silicon (Shenji NX9031, a 5nm automotive-grade chip), its own vehicle operating system (NIO OS / SkyOS), its own 900V electric drive, its own chassis system (SkyRide), and its own foundation driving model (NIO WorldModel). It does not manufacture cells — it remains dependent on CATL and other cell suppliers — and the FY2025 20-F flags single-source supplier concentration as a principal risk.
Customer types and end markets: retail consumers in mainland China constitute the overwhelming majority of revenue. Secondary channels include European direct sales and subscription (Norway, Germany, Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden), and distributor/agency and joint-venture arrangements across Europe, the Middle East and Southeast Asia. The FY2025 20-F confirms that overseas market entry is executed through "a combination of the direct sales model and cooperation with business partners… general distribution agencies and… joint venture partnerships."
Strategy
10.1 Stated strategy — management's own framing
From William Li's CEO statement accompanying the FY2025 results (March 10, 2026): "Looking ahead to 2026, we will continue to invest decisively in our twelve full-stack core technologies, launch new models, enhance the commercial and operational capabilities of our battery swapping and charging network, and continue upgrading our sales and service network." Li also characterised 2026 as the start of a "third growth cycle" driven primarily by large SUVs.
From CFO Stanley Yu Qu, same release: "In 2026, we will continue to enhance operational efficiency and optimize cost, and deliver stronger, more sustainable performance for our users, partners and shareholders."
The four pillars are therefore: (i) technology insourcing, (ii) product cadence, (iii) energy-network monetisation, (iv) operating leverage.
10.2 Announced strategic initiatives, last 24 months
10.3 Financial targets and guidance
Tracking against the volume target is the key monitorable. Through July 31, 2026 NIO had delivered 227,057 units — 46.4% to 49.8% of the 456,000–489,000 range with 58.3% of the calendar elapsed. Reaching the floor requires averaging 45,789 units per month from August to December, 27.4% above July and 12.8% above 2026's best month (June, 40,597); reaching the ceiling requires 52,389 per month, 8.8% above the all-time monthly record of 48,135 set in December 2025. NIO missed its 2025 target (74.1% completion against 440,000) and its 2024 target. On current run-rate the FY2026 target is unlikely to be met at either end without an exceptional Q4.
Products & Services
As of the ES9 launch (May 27, 2026), NIO Inc. stated it offered eight models under the NIO brand, two under ONVO and one under FIREFLY.
5.1 NIO brand — premium smart electric vehicles
A revived ES7 was reported as spotted in China in January 2026 — unconfirmed.
5.2 ONVO brand — family-oriented smart electric vehicles
5.3 FIREFLY brand — small smart high-end electric cars
A single model, refreshed in April 2026 with upgraded hardware and software, an exclusive "porto peach" exterior and new two-tone alloy wheels, plus three custom builds shown at Auto China 2026. NIO states FIREFLY has maintained a leading position in the premium small-car segment since launch. The FIREFLY battery pack (42.1 kWh) is not compatible with fourth-generation swap stations; fifth-generation stations are the first designed to serve all three brands.
5.4 NIO Power — energy services
5.5 Core technology stack ("12 full-stack technologies")
- Shenji NX9031 — the world's first 5nm automotive-grade ADAS chip, >1,000 TOPS, 546 GB/s memory bandwidth (roughly double the stated industry flagship), designed for large-model inference. Fully adopted across the NIO main brand and rolling into ONVO from the 2026 L90, displacing NVIDIA Orin-X.
- NIO WorldModel (NWM) — described as China's first multivariate autoregressive generative embodied driving model; architecture of "world model + closed-loop reinforcement learning" delivered February 2026; three-layer training framework (world model, supervised fine-tuning, closed-loop RL) rolled out to 700,000+ users on June 18, 2026.
- NIO OS / SkyOS — described as the industry's only full-domain AI-native vehicle operating system.
- SkyRide Intelligent Chassis; 900V high-performance electric drive system; NOMI in-car AI assistant; NAD (NIO Assisted and Intelligent Driving) and OSD (ONVO Smart Driving).
- ISO 26262 ASIL-D functional-safety certification is claimed for the ES9 driving stack [vendor-sourced, not verified to filing].
Product Portfolio
| Model | Body | Positioning / notes | Launch or latest version | Indicative price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
ES9 | Flagship executive SUV | The technical flagship. NIO claims 43 industry-first technologies. Shenji NX9031 5nm ADAS chip, next-generation digital architecture, AI-native NIO OS, "5D immersive cabin," SkyRide intelligent chassis, 15.6" AMOLED floating console, end-to-end security architecture spanning hardware/system/data/application. Reached 10,000 deliveries in 30 days (a record for BEVs above RMB500,000 in China) and 20,000 by August 8, 2026. | Launched May 27, 2026; deliveries from May 28 | From RMB498,000 |
ET9 | Executive flagship sedan | Technology showcase sedan sharing the SkyRide chassis and NX9031 platform. The ES9 was deliberately priced well below the ET9 to broaden the addressable flagship pool. | 2024/2025 | [not verified] |
All-New ES8 (3rd generation) | Large three-row SUV | NIO's single most important product. Set a monthly delivery record for vehicles above RMB400,000. 130,000 cumulative deliveries by July 22, 2026 — 305 days from launch. H1 2026 retail of 78,618 units ranked first in both China's large-SUV segment and the RMB400,000+ segment. Available in five-, six- and seven-seat configurations; Mirrorblack and Nebula Red special editions. Accounted for ~50% of NIO-brand sales in Q1 2026 at a margin above 20% (per CEO commentary on the Q1 2026 call). | Late September 2025; five-seat variant July 9–10, 2026 | From RMB382,800 (five-seat, incl. battery) |
ES6 | Mid-size SUV | Legacy volume model now in structural decline — 875 units in July 2026, down 28% MoM. | 2026 model year launched April 2, 2026 | From RMB338,000 |
EC6 | Mid-size SUV coupé | Legacy; 356 units in July 2026. | 2026 model year April 2, 2026 | From RMB358,000 |
ET5 | Mid-size sedan | The volume sedan that anchored F2 output from 2022. | 2026 model-year guide April 2, 2026 | [not verified] |
ET5 Touring (ET5T) | Estate / shooting brake | 1,561 units in July 2026. | 2026 model year | [not verified] |
ET7 | Executive sedan | The original flagship sedan; now a low-volume legacy line. | 2023 refresh | [not verified] |
| Model | Body | Notes | Launch | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
L90 | Large three-row SUV | Best-selling large BEV SUV in China in 2025 per company commentary. The 2026 model year received more than 70 hardware and software upgrades across eight domains, is the first ONVO to carry the in-house Shenji NX9031, adds a watchtower-layout LiDAR option alongside a vision-only version, and introduces NIO WorldModel. NIO held price flat despite ~RMB10,000 of cost inflation (largely high-performance memory). A "Success Edition" was added January 23, 2026 at RMB296,800. | Summer 2025; 2026 MY launched April 21, 2026, deliveries May 9 | From RMB265,800 incl. battery; RMB179,800 under BaaS |
L60 | Mid-size SUV | ONVO's launch model (2024). Pre-sales of the updated L60 opened late May 2026 with official launch in June 2026, adding a LiDAR option and the Shenji NX9031. | 2024; 2026 MY June 2026 | [not verified] |
L80 | Five-seat SUV | Announced at Auto China 2026 for launch and pre-orders shortly after the show. | 2026 | [not verified] |
| Offering | Description | Scale (latest disclosed) |
|---|---|---|
Power Swap | Automated battery exchange. Gen-4 station: 144-second swap (22% faster than Gen-3), 23-battery magazine, up to 480 swaps/day, six ultrawide-FOV LiDARs and four Orin X chips (1,016 TOPS). Gen-5 deployment began in 2026 and is the first generation to support all three NIO brands. | 4,012 swap stations (August 2026); 3,676 at end-2025; 679 added in 2024 and 681 in 2025; target of 1,000+ additions in 2026 |
Power Charger / Destination Charger | Owned supercharging and destination charging | 5,172 charging stations / 29,855 piles (August 2026) |
Third-party network access | Aggregated non-NIO charging piles in the NIO app | ~1.59 million piles |
Power Home | Home charger installation | [not publicly disclosed] |
Power Mobile | Mobile charging vehicles | [not publicly disclosed] |
One Click for Power | Valet pick-up, charge and return | [not publicly disclosed] |
Battery as a Service (BaaS) | Vehicle purchased without battery at a price deduction; monthly battery subscription from Wuhan Weineng | NIO China holds ~16.5% of Weineng |
Flexible battery upgrade | Temporary or permanent swap to a larger pack | Standard, long-range and ultra-long-range packs offered |
Financial Narrative
6.1 Income statement (RMB million unless stated)
FY2024 and FY2025 figures are taken directly from the Q4/FY2025 earnings release statements of comprehensive loss. FY2023 revenue, vehicle sales, gross profit, vehicle margin and net loss are from the FY2023 Q4 release and the FY2025 20-F. FY2021 and FY2022 figures and the FY2022–FY2023 R&D/SG&A lines are drawn from the respective full-year results releases and were not re-verified line-by-line to the source filing in this review — treat with correspondingly lower confidence. Revenue CAGR FY2021→FY2025: 24.7%.
6.2 Balance sheet (RMB million)
Source: unaudited condensed consolidated balance sheets in the Q4/FY2025 earnings release. Note that NIO carries no goodwill and de minimis intangibles (RMB29.6m) — an unusual profile reflecting the absence of material acquisitions.
6.3 Cash flow (RMB million)
FY2025 operating cash flow of RMB2,992.6m (US$427.9m) is from the FY2025 20-F MD&A. FY2025 capex of US$867.3m and FCF of –US$439.4m are from a financial-data aggregator's compilation of the FY2025 filing; RMB conversion at 6.9931. Prior-year OCF figures are from the FY2023 and FY2025 20-F MD&A sections. Prior-year capex was not verified in this review.
6.4 Ratios
ROE, ROA, ROIC and coverage ratios are not economically meaningful for a company with negative operating income and near-zero book equity; they are shown for completeness. Note that a deeply negative cash conversion cycle is not, in this case, a sign of working-capital excellence — it reflects a 257-day payables cycle and a trade-and-notes payable balance of RMB53.3bn that is 12.9x book equity. This is supplier financing at scale.
6.5 Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
Revenue. The five-year revenue path is not smooth. Growth of 36.3% (FY2022) gave way to 12.9% (FY2023) as the premium-only strategy collided with a price war, then 18.2% (FY2024) and finally 33.1% (FY2025). The FY2025 acceleration is almost entirely a volume and mix story rather than a pricing story: deliveries rose 46.9% while vehicle sales rose 32.0%, implying an average selling price decline of roughly 10% to about RMB236,000 per unit. ASP has fallen every year of the period — from roughly RMB308,000 in FY2023 to RMB262,000 in FY2024 to RMB236,000 in FY2025 — as the mix shifted from a pure-premium NIO book to a three-brand book in which ONVO and FIREFLY contributed 45% of FY2025 units. The Q4 2025 quarter reversed this: ASP rose sequentially as the All-New ES8 flooded the mix, and Q4 revenue grew 75.9% YoY.
Margin. The margin trough was FY2023 at 5.5% gross and 9.5% vehicle margin — the low point of the Chinese EV price war combined with an aged product portfolio. Recovery has been steep and is the single most important fact in the current investment case: 9.9% (FY2024) → 13.6% (FY2025) → 17.5% in Q4 2025 → 19.0% in Q1 2026, a four-year high, with vehicle margin at 18.8% and four consecutive quarters of sequential improvement. Management attributes this to product mix (the ES8 alone carries a margin above 20%), cost reduction from in-house technology reaching mass production, and scale. Other-sales margin turned meaningfully positive at 11.9% in Q4 2025.
Operating expenses. The FY2025 result was engineered as much by cost as by revenue. R&D fell 18.7% to RMB10,605.0m — and 22.6% on an adjusted basis to RMB9,087.0m — driven by "organizational optimization" (NIO's term for headcount reduction) and by development programmes moving past their peak-spend phase. Q4 2025 R&D of RMB2,026.0m was down 44.3% YoY. SG&A was roughly flat (+2.2% reported, +0.2% adjusted) despite 47% volume growth — meaning SG&A per vehicle fell approximately 30%. NIO recognised RMB737.7m of organizational optimization charges in FY2025 and RMB1,790.7m of share-based compensation.
The inflection. Loss from operations narrowed 35.8% to RMB14,041.2m in FY2025, and the fourth quarter produced RMB807.3m of GAAP operating profit and RMB282.7m of net profit — the first in company history. Q1 2026, seasonally the weakest quarter, held the line: revenue of RMB25,532.7m (+112.2% YoY), gross profit up 428.4%, a non-GAAP operating profit of RMB66.8m, and a small GAAP net loss of RMB332.1m. Two consecutive quarters of non-GAAP operating profit and three of positive operating cash flow constitute a genuine change in the operating model — but on a full-year basis FY2025 still lost RMB14.9bn, and the Q1 2026 non-GAAP profit of RMB66.8m is a rounding error against a RMB25.5bn revenue base.
Balance sheet. This is the weak flank. Total NIO Inc. shareholders' equity fell from RMB5,967.0m to RMB4,159.5m during FY2025 against RMB111,708.5m of total liabilities — equity is 3.3% of the balance sheet. Cash and cash equivalents fell from RMB19,328.9m to RMB11,274.1m, though total liquidity (including restricted cash, short-term investments and long-term time deposits) was stable at RMB45.9bn and rose to RMB48.2bn by March 31, 2026. Current liabilities exceeded current assets at December 31, 2025 — the FY2025 filing contains an explicit going-concern-style liquidity assessment concluding that resources will be sufficient for the next twelve months, but noting "uncertainties as to the successful execution of our business plan." Total debt was reduced 32% to RMB13,974.2m; on a net basis NIO holds RMB31.9bn of net cash. Amounts due from related parties nearly doubled to RMB16,078.3m — a line worth monitoring given the Weineng relationship.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Vehicle sales (RMB M) | 49257.3 | 58234.1 | 76883.9 |
Other sales (RMB M) | 6360.6 | 7497.5 | 10603.6 |
Total revenues (RMB M) | 55617.9 | 65731.6 | 87487.5 |
Vehicle sales YoY growth (%) | 8.2 | 18.2 | 32.0 |
Other sales YoY growth (%) | 61.0 | 17.9 | 41.4 |
Vehicle sales share of total (%) | 88.6 | 88.6 | 87.9 |
Other sales share of total (%) | 11.4 | 11.4 | 12.1 |
Vehicle margin (%) | 9.5 | 12.3 | 14.6 |
Total gross margin (%) | 5.5 | 9.9 | 13.6 |
Segment Revenue
| Brand | FY2024 | FY2025 | Q1 2026 | Q2 2026 | July 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
NIO brand (units) | 201858 | 179163 | 58543 | nd | 20008 |
ONVO brand (units) | 20112 | 105530 | 13339 | nd | 10155 |
FIREFLY brand (units) | 0 | 41335 | 11583 | nd | 5771 |
Total (units) | 221970 | 326028 | 83465 | 107658 | 35934 |
Segment Revenue
| Entity | Role | FY2025 revenue contribution |
|---|---|---|
NIO Holding Co., Ltd. ("NIO China") | Principal PRC operating subsidiary; NIO Inc. held 91.8% at the FY2025 20-F date, rising to an expected 92.9% on completion of the 2025–26 minority purchases | Consolidated |
Beijing NIO Network Technology Co., Ltd. | VIE — holds the ICP licence for value-added telecom / internet information services | Combined VIE revenue of RMB62.4m (US$8.6m) |
Anhui NIO AI Technology Co., Ltd. ("Anhui NIO AT") | VIE — intended holder of autonomous-driving-related licences | Included above; paid RMB76.6m by Anhui NIO AD for services in FY2025 |
Anhui NIO Data Technology Co., Ltd. ("Anhui NIO DT") | VIE — parent of NIO Insurance Broker Co., Ltd. | Included above |
NIO Insurance Broker Co., Ltd. | Insurance brokerage licence holder | Included above |
GeniTech Co., Ltd. | NIO Technology (Anhui) Co. Ltd. to hold 62.7% on completion of an ongoing investment | Not separately disclosed |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total revenues (RMB M) | 36136.4 | 49268.6 | 55617.9 | 65731.6 | 87487.5 |
Vehicle sales (RMB M) | 33169.7 | 45507.0 | 49257.3 | 58234.1 | 76883.9 |
Cost of sales (RMB M) | -29315.0 | -44124.6 | -52566.1 | -59238.8 | -75571.8 |
Gross profit (RMB M) | 6821.4 | 5144.0 | 3051.8 | 6492.8 | 11915.7 |
R&D expenses (RMB M) | 4591.8 | 10836.4 | 13431.5 | 13037.3 | 10605.0 |
SG&A expenses (RMB M) | 6878.1 | 10537.4 | 12879.9 | 15741.1 | 16087.7 |
Loss from operations (RMB M) | -4496.3 | -15641.0 | -22655.0 | -21874.1 | -14041.2 |
Loss before income tax (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd | -22424.5 | -14820.7 |
Net loss (RMB M) | -4016.9 | -14437.1 | -20719.8 | -22401.7 | -14942.6 |
Net loss attributable to ordinary shareholders (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd | -22657.7 | -15570.7 |
Depreciation & amortization (RMB M) | 1708.0 | 2852.3 | 3378.0 | 5875.5 | nd |
EBITDA, op. loss + D&A (RMB M) | -2788.3 | -12788.7 | -19277.0 | -15998.6 | nd |
Gross margin (%) | 18.9 | 10.4 | 5.5 | 9.9 | 13.6 |
Vehicle margin (%) | 20.1 | 13.7 | 9.5 | 12.3 | 14.6 |
Operating margin (%) | -12.4 | -31.7 | -40.7 | -33.3 | -16.0 |
Net margin (%) | -11.1 | -29.3 | -37.3 | -34.1 | -17.1 |
EPS basic and diluted (RMB per share/ADS) | nd | -8.89 | nd | -11.03 | -6.85 |
Adjusted EPS non-GAAP (RMB) | nd | -7.32 | nd | -9.92 | -5.47 |
Weighted avg shares, basic (millions) | nd | nd | nd | 2054.6 | 2272.6 |
Dividends per share (RMB) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Deliveries (units) | 91429 | 122486 | 160038 | 221970 | 326028 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (RMB M) | 19328.9 | 11274.1 |
Restricted cash, current (RMB M) | 8320.7 | 14746.0 |
Short-term investments (RMB M) | 14137.6 | 19755.8 |
Long-term restricted cash (RMB M) | 97.7 | 88.3 |
Total liquidity per company definition (RMB M) | 45500.0 | 45864.2 |
Trade and notes receivables (RMB M) | 1676.2 | 1394.4 |
Amounts due from related parties (RMB M) | 7702.4 | 16078.3 |
Inventory (RMB M) | 7087.2 | 8530.9 |
Total current assets (RMB M) | 61886.0 | 76633.0 |
Property, plant and equipment, net (RMB M) | 25892.9 | 25828.0 |
Intangible assets, net (RMB M) | 29.6 | 29.6 |
Land use rights, net (RMB M) | 202.0 | 196.7 |
Long-term investments (RMB M) | 3126.0 | 2480.5 |
Operating lease right-of-use assets (RMB M) | 12797.2 | 11711.3 |
Total assets (RMB M) | 107604.6 | 124401.1 |
Short-term borrowings (RMB M) | 5729.6 | 4691.9 |
Trade and notes payable (RMB M) | 34387.3 | 53309.7 |
Current portion of long-term borrowings (RMB M) | 3397.6 | 656.0 |
Accruals and other liabilities (RMB M) | 16041.1 | 16696.0 |
Total current liabilities (RMB M) | 62311.0 | 78582.6 |
Long-term borrowings (RMB M) | 11440.8 | 8626.3 |
Non-current operating lease liabilities (RMB M) | 11260.7 | 10092.0 |
Other non-current liabilities (RMB M) | 8628.6 | 13690.8 |
Total liabilities (RMB M) | 94098.1 | 111708.5 |
Redeemable non-controlling interests, mezzanine (RMB M) | 7442.0 | 8551.9 |
Total NIO Inc. shareholders' equity (RMB M) | 5967.0 | 4159.5 |
Total shareholders' equity incl. NCI (RMB M) | 6064.5 | 4140.7 |
Total debt, short + current LT + long-term (RMB M) | 20567.9 | 13974.2 |
Net debt, total debt less total liquidity (RMB M) | -24932.1 | -31890.0 |
Working capital, current assets less current liabilities (RMB M) | -425.0 | -1949.5 |
Goodwill (RMB M) | 0 | 0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash from/(used in) operating activities (RMB M) | 1966.4 | -3866.0 | -1381.5 | -7849.2 | 2992.6 |
Capital expenditures (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd | nd | 6063.4 |
Free cash flow (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd | nd | -3070.8 |
Dividends paid (RMB M) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Share buybacks (RMB M) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Return on equity, net loss attributable / average NIO equity (%) | -279.0 | -307.5 |
Return on assets, net loss / average total assets (%) | -21.4 | -12.9 |
Return on invested capital (%) | nm | nm |
Current ratio (x) | 0.99 | 0.98 |
Total debt / total equity (x) | 3.39 | 3.37 |
Net debt / EBITDA (x) | nm | nm |
Interest coverage, EBIT / interest expense (x) | nm | nm |
Asset turnover, revenue / average total assets (x) | 0.64 | 0.75 |
Inventory days, on FY cost of sales | 43.7 | 41.2 |
Payables days, on FY cost of sales | 211.9 | 257.5 |
Receivable days, on FY revenue | 9.3 | 5.8 |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | -158.9 | -210.5 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Total revenues (RMB M) | 55617.9 | 65731.6 | 87487.5 |
China revenue (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd |
International revenue (RMB M) | nd | nd | nd |
Restricted net assets of PRC subsidiaries and VIEs (RMB M) | 42256.2 | 55128.3 | 75223.2 |
Combined VIE revenue contribution (RMB M) | 13.8 | 31.3 | 62.4 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | As of / source |
|---|---|---|
ADS price (NYSE: NIO) | ~US$4.62 | Mid-August 2026; StockAnalysis / Yahoo Finance |
52-week range | US$3.61 – US$16.18 | Benzinga |
Market capitalization | ~US$11.4bn | Benzinga; implied by 2,483.2m shares × ~US$4.62 |
Conflicting market cap | US$15.21bn at US$6.07 | TickerNerd — discrepancy noted; the US$4.62 close is corroborated by two independent sources including a specific dated report of a 4% decline to that level |
Shares outstanding | 2,483,169,995 (2,334.7m Class A + 148.5m Class C) | FY2025 20-F, December 31, 2025 |
YTD 2026 performance | Down approximately 10% (as of early July 2026) | Insider Monkey |
1-year performance | Highly volatile — the 52-week range spans a 4.5x move between low and high | Derived |
3-year and 5-year performance | Substantially negative — the December 2023 CYVN subscription was struck at US$7.50 and the July 2023 subscription at US$8.72, both well above the current price | Derived from disclosed subscription prices |
Capital Markets
| Multiple | NIO | Basis |
|---|---|---|
P/E | nm — negative FY2025 earnings | Reported |
EV/Sales (FY2025) | ~0.6x — implied by ~US$11.4bn market cap less RMB31.9bn (≈US$4.6bn) net cash over US$12.5bn revenue | Derived |
EV/EBITDA | nm — negative EBITDA | Derived |
P/B | ~19x — ~US$11.4bn market cap over RMB4,159.5m (≈US$595m) book equity | Derived |
P/S (trailing) | ~0.9x on US$12.81bn TTM revenue | TickerNerd |
Peer multiples | [not verified] | — |
Capital Markets
| Source | Panel | Consensus rating | Mean target | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Investing.com | 24 analysts | Buy (19 buy / 4 hold / 1 sell) | US$7.37 | US$4.03 – US$10.03 |
StockAnalysis (S&P Global MI) | 24 analysts | Buy | US$7.34 | — |
TickerNerd | 22 analysts | 16 buy / 7 hold / 2 sell | US$6.75 | US$4.03 – US$8.85 |
TipRanks (last 3 months) | 6 analysts | — | US$6.42 | US$4.00 – US$7.70 |
Analyst Conclusions
22.1 Management guidance and consensus expectations
Management has guided to 40%–50% volume growth in FY2026, implying 456,000–489,000 units, and has published no full-year revenue or profit target. Q2 2026 revenue guidance was RMB32,777m–34,436m (+72.4% to +81.2% YoY); actual Q2 deliveries of 107,658 came in below the 110,000–115,000 unit range, so the revenue outcome — due in early September 2026 — is likely at or below the low end. Through July, deliveries of 227,057 represent 46.4%–49.8% of the annual range with 58.3% of the year elapsed. Consensus targets cluster at US$6.42–US$7.37, implying 39%–62% upside, with roughly three-quarters of covering analysts at Buy.
22.2 Bull case
- The margin inflection is real, structural and still accelerating. Vehicle margin has risen for four consecutive quarters to 18.8%, gross margin hit a four-year high of 19.0% in Q1 2026, and the drivers are durable rather than cyclical: mix toward the ES8/ES9 (ES8 margin above 20%), in-house silicon replacing purchased NVIDIA parts across three brands, and 900V/SkyRide platform commonality. Q4 2025 proved the model at RMB34.7bn of quarterly revenue.
- Operating leverage is extreme from here. In Q4 2025 revenue grew 75.9% while SG&A fell 27.5% and R&D fell 44.3%. FY2025 adjusted SG&A rose 0.2% against 46.9% volume growth. If FY2026 volume reaches even 430,000 units at a 17%–18% gross margin, the RMB25.9bn FY2025 operating expense base implies full-year GAAP operating profitability — an outcome not remotely priced at 0.6x EV/Sales.
- The swap network has crossed from cost centre to asset. 120 million cumulative swaps, over one million in a single holiday week, 86% of charging energy serving other brands, 35 external infrastructure partners funding expansion, and a Gen-5 architecture that serves all three brands plus alliance OEMs. The capex was spent in 2021–2024; the monetisation is beginning now.
22.3 Bear case
- The balance sheet has no margin for error. Book equity of RMB4,159.5m against RMB111,708.5m of liabilities, negative working capital, a RMB53.3bn payables balance at 257 days, and an explicit filing acknowledgement of "uncertainties as to the successful execution of our business plan." A single weak quarter forces either another dilutive raise or a supplier-terms squeeze that would immediately reverse the margin gains.
- The volume target will very likely be missed, again. Reaching even the 456,000 floor requires averaging 45,789 units monthly from August — 27.4% above July, 12.8% above 2026's best month, and within 5% of the all-time record — for five consecutive months, into a market where the purchase-tax exemption has halved and NIO has missed its target in each of the last two years. July's 35,934 was a sequential decline across all three brands.
- The margin recovery was partly purchased from the future. R&D intensity has fallen from 24.1% to 12.1% of revenue in two years and R&D spend is down 21% in absolute terms, in the middle of an ADAS arms race against BYD, Huawei's HIMA and Xiaomi — all of which are better capitalised and, in BYD's case, thirteen times larger. Meanwhile 46% of group volume now rests on two SUV nameplates.
22.4 Catalysts and monitorables — next twelve months
22.5 Analyst verdict (300 words)
NIO in August 2026 is a fundamentally different company from NIO in August 2025, and the market has not accepted it. The evidence for the change is specific and audited: gross margin from 5.5% in FY2023 to 19.0% in Q1 2026; the first quarterly GAAP operating and net profit in company history in Q4 2025; three consecutive quarters of positive operating cash flow; total debt cut 32%; adjusted SG&A flat against 47% volume growth. This is not a narrative — it is an operating model that has visibly changed, driven by product mix at the top of the range and by silicon and platform insourcing that removes supplier margin permanently.
Set against that is a balance sheet that would not survive a serious mistake. Book equity of RMB4.2bn supports RMB111.7bn of liabilities. Current liabilities exceed current assets. The payables cycle has stretched to 257 days, which is the supply chain, not the bank, financing NIO's growth. And the FY2026 volume target — never published as a hard number, which is itself telling — requires five consecutive record-adjacent months into a demand environment weakened by the January 2026 purchase-tax change. July's sequential decline across all three brands is the first real evidence against.
The equity at roughly 0.6x EV/Sales and 19x book is priced as a levered option on the inflection persisting through a volume miss. That is, on balance, the correct framing. The base case is that NIO misses 456,000 units, lands somewhere near 400,000–430,000, and delivers full-year non-GAAP operating breakeven with a small GAAP loss — enough to sustain the story but not enough to force the re-rating. The asymmetry favours the long, but only for capital that can tolerate a dilutive raise as a live possibility rather than a tail risk.
APPENDIX — DATA CONFIDENCE SUMMARY
Executive Leadership
| Name | Role | Independence | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Bin Li (William Li) | Founder, Chairman, CEO | Executive | Founded NIO November 2014. Holds all 148,500,000 Class C shares (8 votes each) through Originalwish Limited (89,013,451), mobike Global Ltd. (26,454,325) and NIO Users Limited / NIO Users Community Limited (33,032,224 Class C plus 16,967,776 Class A) |
Lihong Qin | Co-founder, Director, President | Executive | Director and President since inception. Previously CMO and executive director at Longfor Properties (2008–2014); deputy GM at Anhui Chery Automobile Sales (2005–2008); Roland Berger (2003–2005); P&G marketing. LLB and LLM, Peking University (1996, 1999); MPP, Harvard University (2001) |
Eddy Georges Skaf | Non-executive director | Non-independent | CYVN nominee; business address Abu Dhabi Global Market Square, Al Maryah Island, Abu Dhabi |
Nicholas Paul Collins | Non-executive director | Non-independent | Business address McLaren Technology Centre, Chertsey Road, Woking, UK — reflecting the CYVN/McLaren/Forseven nexus |
Hai Wu | Independent director | Independent | Serving since July 2016. Managing partner of Cenova Capital since May 2019 |
Denny Ting Bun Lee | Independent director | Independent | Audit committee financial expert [role not verified] |
Yu Long | Independent director | Independent | — |
Yonggang Wen | Independent director | Independent | — |
| Name | Title | Since | Background |
|---|---|---|---|
Bin Li | Founder, Chairman, CEO | 2014 | — |
Lihong Qin | Co-founder, President | 2014 | See above |
Stanley Yu Qu | Chief Financial Officer | July 5, 2024 | Joined NIO October 2016 as SVP Finance; previously financial leadership roles at Lear Corporation and Johnson Controls (2013–2016) |
Xin Zhou | Executive Vice President; Chairman, Product Committee | Joined April 2015; committee chair since 2017 | Executive director at Qoros Automotive (2009–2015); engagement manager, McKinsey & Co. (2007–2009); executive director, Lear Corp. (1998–2007); General Motors China (1995–1998). BSc Fudan University (1992); MBA CEIBS (2008) |
Feng Shen | Executive Vice President; Chairman, Quality Management Committee | Joined December 2017 | — |
| Holder | Approximate economic stake | Approximate voting power | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
CYVN Investments RSC Ltd / CYVN Holdings LLC (Abu Dhabi government vehicle) | ~18.6% (as of April 2025 disclosure); 20.1% at the December 2023 closing | ~12.7% | FY2024 annual report; earlier disclosures |
Bin Li (William Li) | 7.9% (as of April 7, 2025); 8.5% (March 31, 2024) | 36.7% (2025); 38.5% (2024) | FY2024 annual report |
Tencent Holdings | Exited the major-shareholder table during 2024–25 (last disclosed 5.7% economic / 3.9% voting) | — | FY2024 annual report |
L'imad Holdings | Disclosed holder, Abu Dhabi address | nd | FY2025 20-F, Item 7 footnotes |
Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas (ADR depositary) | 779,686,656 Class A shares held of record as of March 31, 2026 (~31.4% of shares outstanding) | — | FY2025 20-F, Item 7 |
BlackRock, Vanguard, State Street, Baillie Gifford | Individually low single digits | — | Third-party aggregators — [not verified to filing] |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | FY2025 deliveries (units) | Relative position vs NIO |
|---|---|---|
BYD | 4602436 | 14.1x NIO; dominant vertically integrated volume leader (BEV + PHEV) |
Geely NEV | 1687767 | 5.2x NIO |
Tesla (global) | 1636129 | 5.0x NIO; ~735,274 China wholesales Jan–Nov 2025 |
Leapmotor | 596555 | 1.8x NIO; fastest grower; targeting 1,000,000 in 2026 |
HIMA (Huawei ecosystem: AITO, Luxeed, Stelato, Maextro, SAIC) | 589107 | 1.8x NIO; the most direct premium threat |
XPeng | 429445 | 1.3x NIO; +126% YoY; 45,008 overseas units across 60 countries |
Xiaomi EV | 411082 | 1.3x NIO in its first full year; targeting 550,000 in 2026 |
Li Auto | 406343 | 1.2x NIO; −18.8% YoY, the only major startup in decline |
NIO Inc. | 326028 | +46.9% YoY; sixth among the Chinese EV startups by volume |
VinFast | 196919 | 0.6x NIO |
Zeekr | nd | Geely-backed premium peer |
Rivian | 42247 | 0.1x NIO; US premium comparator |
| Metric | NIO (FY2025) | XPeng (FY2025) | Li Auto (FY2025) | Xiaomi EV (FY2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Deliveries (units) | 326028 | 429445 | 406343 | 411082 |
Delivery growth YoY (%) | 46.9 | 126.0 | -18.8 | nd |
Revenue (RMB M) | 87487.5 | nd | nd | nd |
Gross margin (%) | 13.6 | nd | nd | nd |
Q1 2026 gross margin (%) | 19.0 | nd | nd | nd |
R&D intensity (% of revenue) | 12.1 | nd | nd | nd |
Full-year GAAP profitability | No (Q4 2025 quarterly profit only) | nd | Historically profitable; 2025 under pressure | nd |
2026 volume target (units) | 456000-489000 | 550000-600000 | 550000 | 550000 |
H1 2026 deliveries (units) | 191123 | nd | 193472 | nd |
Recent Developments
--



