NRG Energy Inc Overview
NRG Energy is the only large-scale North American power company that has deliberately built its identity around the customer relationship rather than the generating asset. It sells electricity, natural gas and smart-home services to roughly eight million residential customers — six million retail energy, two million smart home — alongside a leading business-to-business power and gas franchise and, since January 2026, a 6 GW commercial and industrial demand-response platform. The January 2026 acquisition of thirteen gigawatts of natural gas generation from LS Power doubled owned capacity to approximately 25 GW and reversed a decade of asset-light drift, converting NRG into an integrated generator-retailer positioned squarely against data-centre load growth in ERCOT and PJM. The result is a hybrid: a subscription-like smart-home annuity, a commoditised but sticky retail book, and a newly enlarged merchant generation fleet whose value is highly levered to power-demand growth and capacity-market design.
The company's own characterisation
The FY2025 Form 10-K opens with a description that is worth reproducing in substance because it defines management's own framing. NRG describes itself as serving electricity, natural gas and smart-home technology solutions to approximately eight million residential customers — six million retail energy and two million smart home — in addition to large commercial and industrial, data centre and wholesale customers. It operates under the brand names NRG, Reliant, Direct Energy, Green Mountain Energy and Vivint. As of 31 December 2025 the core power and natural gas business consisted of approximately 12 GW of competitive power generation, primarily in Texas, and a natural gas portfolio serving approximately 1,900 MMDth annually.
The company sold 154 TWh of electricity and 1,857 MMDth of natural gas in 2025. At the end of 2025 it had recurring electricity and/or natural gas sales in 25 U.S. states, the District of Columbia and 8 Canadian provinces, while Vivint Smart Home served customers in all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia. Management asserts that NRG's retail brands collectively hold the largest share of competitively served residential electric customers in Texas, and that NRG is a leading business-to-business provider of power and natural gas in North America.
Management's stated strategy is to maximise shareholder value by delivering integrated energy and smart-home solutions supported by an owned generation fleet and a diversified supply strategy, with a "customer-first platform that promotes reliability and affordability." The four named growth vectors are: demand response and virtual power plants; completion of the Texas Development Projects; long-term contract-backed generation supported by partnerships with equipment manufacturers and EPC contractors; and increasing capacity at existing facilities.
Independent characterisation
NRG is best understood as three businesses with materially different economics, welded together by a single supply and hedging function.
First, an integrated generation-and-retail business in ERCOT. This is the historical core and remains the largest single profit pool. In Texas the generation fleet is fully integrated with retail load. The 10-K is explicit about why this matters: supplying a portion of retail customers from owned assets reduces the need to transact with intermediaries, producing more stable earnings and cash flows, lower transaction costs, less credit exposure and — critically — a structural reduction in actual and contingent collateral through offsetting positions. The collateral point is not cosmetic; NRG's cash-flow statement shows swings in collateral deposits of $1.8 billion (2023 outflow) and $245 million (2024 inflow), which dwarf most operating variances. Vertical integration is, in substance, a working-capital strategy as much as a margin strategy.
Second, a wide-footprint retail energy business outside Texas. In the East, West and Canada, NRG is substantially a retailer competing against incumbent utilities that still provide default service. Margins are thinner, customer acquisition costs are real, and regulatory risk is idiosyncratic and state-by-state — Maryland's Senate Bill 1, which imposed a price cap tied to a trailing twelve-month utility rate average and terminated grandfathering of existing contracts as of 31 December 2025, is the clearest recent example of how a single state legislature can impair a retail book. The East segment nonetheless carries the largest revenue line (FY2025: $14.3 billion) because it contains the very large business-to-business natural gas franchise inherited from Direct Energy — 1,549,286 MDth of Business–East gas volume in 2025, more than 80% of NRG's total gas load.
Third, Vivint Smart Home — a subscription business inside a commodity company. This is the most economically distinct piece. Vivint generated FY2025 revenue of $2,144 million and Adjusted EBITDA of $1,092 million, an Adjusted EBITDA margin of approximately 51%, versus 17% for Texas and 7% for East. Its economics are those of a hardware-subsidised subscription: customers are acquired at negative initial cash flow (gross capitalised contract costs were $970 million in 2025, against $846 million in 2024), then monetised over an average customer lifetime of approximately nine years. The platform supported more than 37 million connected in-home devices at year-end 2025, averaging roughly 16 devices per household. Ending Vivint subscribers grew from 2,111 thousand (2023) to 2,226 thousand (2024) to 2,419 thousand (2025).
Revenue model mix. NRG does not disclose a formal product/service/subscription/licensing split. Directionally, based on segment revenue for FY2025: commodity sales (retail and wholesale electricity and gas) represented approximately 93% of revenue; smart-home subscription and equipment revenue approximately 7%. On an Adjusted EBITDA basis the picture inverts materially — Vivint contributed 27% of consolidated FY2025 Adjusted EBITDA on 7% of revenue. There is no licensing revenue of consequence. This mix asymmetry is the single most important structural fact about NRG's earnings quality and is frequently underweighted by investors anchoring on revenue.
Value-chain position. NRG occupies the generation and retail supply ends of the electricity value chain and deliberately does not own transmission or distribution. The 10-K is explicit that the company depends on third-party transmission, distribution, pipeline and storage infrastructure it does not control, and that in certain markets it may bear congestion costs where load is not co-located with retail sales obligations. In natural gas, the scale of the operation extends from the wellhead, through a producer-services business, to end-use customers.
Customer types and end markets. Residential (Home) customers typically contract for terms of one month to five years; Business customers for one to five years with extended terms available. Business and commercial and industrial products include system power, natural gas, demand response, distributed and backup generation, energy storage, energy management, renewable and low-carbon products, carbon management, energy efficiency and — the newest and strategically most significant — "bring your own power" (BYOP) arrangements for large loads. No single customer represented more than 10% of consolidated revenue in FY2025.
Strategy
Stated strategy (FY2025 Form 10-K and 2026 Proxy, verbatim themes)
Management states that NRG's strategy is "to maximize stockholder value by delivering integrated energy and smart home solutions, supported by an owned generation fleet and a diversified supply strategy." It describes operating "a customer-first platform that promotes reliability and affordability amid rapid transformation in the energy sector," and identifies as the growth vectors: demand response and virtual power plants, which "help manage costs and improve affordability for customers"; completion of the Texas Development Projects; "long-term, contract-backed generation and related infrastructure supported by strategic partnerships with equipment manufacturers and engineering, procurement, and construction companies"; and increasing capacity at existing facilities. The strategy is "intended to generate recurring cash flow, strengthen earnings and cost competitiveness, and reduce risk and volatility."
The five stated operating focus areas are: serving residential, C&I and wholesale counterparties in competitive markets across multiple brands and channels; offering differentiated energy and smart-home products; delivering excellent operating performance of assets; achieving the optimal supply mix through a diversified supply strategy including expanded operational capacity; and engaging in disciplined and transparent capital allocation.
The framing that management itself uses most often in 2025–2026 communications is the "power demand supercycle." Coben's February 2026 quote is representative: "We've doubled our generation footprint, advanced 1.5 GW of new generation through three Texas Energy Fund projects, and expanded our demand response and residential VPP capabilities... This enhances NRG's ability to provide resilient and affordable solutions to our customers during this power demand supercycle."
Gaudette's framing in August 2026 is subtly but importantly different, emphasising the commercial architecture rather than the asset build: "For the largest new loads, new demand should be matched with new generation, with the customer supporting the investment. That's how growth at this scale should work... The customer supports the investment, with reliability and affordability protected for all."
Announced strategic initiatives, last 24 months
Sustainability and ESG commitments
- Reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 50% by 2025 from a 2014 base year, and achieve net-zero emissions by 2050 (scope 1, scope 2 and the employee business travel portion of scope 3). The 2019 acceleration replaced the original 2015 goals of 50% by 2030 and 90% by 2050.
- 100% of new light-duty vehicle procurement to be electric by 2030, in collaboration with Climate Group EV100 since 2021.
- Sustainability metrics embedded in the Annual Incentive Plan.
- Environment-Over-Production and Safety-Over-Production policies empowering employees to reduce production to meet environmental or safety requirements.
- Supplier Code of Conduct and a Human Rights and Social Responsibility in Manufacturing Standards Policy, with third-party manufacturing audit results reported to the Audit Committee; participation in the Natural Gas Supply Collaborative.
Cost programmes and medium-term financial targets
Products & Services
This section is compiled from the FY2025 Form 10-K business description, the 2026 Proxy, and the company website structure. Where a specific product's launch year, version or pricing model is not disclosed in a filing, it is flagged as not publicly disclosed rather than inferred.
Texas segment — retail brands and offerings
East and West/Other segments — retail and business offerings
Business and wholesale solutions (cross-segment)
Vivint Smart Home portfolio
Pricing model. Vivint is sold as a subscription with equipment and installation financed or bundled; NRG capitalises contract costs (gross capitalised contract costs of $970 million in FY2025) and amortises them through depreciation and amortisation (amortisation of customer acquisition costs of $295 million in FY2025, $204 million in FY2024, $125 million in FY2023). Specific retail price points are not disclosed in SEC filings.
Generation portfolio as a "product"
The generation fleet is best understood as the supply-side product that underwrites the retail book. As of 31 December 2025 — that is, before the LS Power close:
Post-close of the LS Power portfolio, management describes the fleet as approximately 25 GW, and the Q2 2026 investor materials describe the fuel mix as having shifted decisively toward natural gas — from a roughly 52% gas mix pre-transaction toward a predominantly gas fleet.
Product Portfolio
| Brand / offering | Segment | Description | Target customer | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Reliant | Texas | NRG's flagship ERCOT residential and small-business retail electricity brand, acquired 2009. Known for reward and bill-credit product architecture and long-running community programmes (Beat the Heat, in its twentieth year in 2025). | ERCOT residential and small commercial | Fixed, indexed or month-to-month; terms one month to five years |
Green Mountain Energy | Texas and East | Renewable-focused retail brand offering 100% renewable electricity plans and carbon offsets; also the named plaintiff challenging Maryland SB1. | Sustainability-motivated residential and small business | Fixed and variable renewable plans; carbon offset add-ons |
Cirro Energy | Texas | Value-oriented ERCOT retail brand | Price-sensitive residential | Fixed-term plans |
Discount Power | Texas | Discount ERCOT retail brand | Price-sensitive residential | Fixed-term plans |
NRG (master brand) | All | Umbrella brand used for business and wholesale offerings and increasingly for consumer bundles | All | Various |
Home Essentials | Texas | Bundled energy-plus-smart-home offering explicitly cited by management as the driver of the 2025 residential VPP over-achievement | ERCOT residential | Subscription bundle; specific pricing not publicly disclosed |
Texas Residential Virtual Power Plant | Texas | Aggregation of residential smart devices — thermostats, batteries, connected loads — dispatched as grid capacity. 2025 target raised from 20 MW to 150 MW on 6 August 2025 and subsequently exceeded. Targets 650 MW in Texas by 2030 and 1 GW by 2035. | ERCOT residential | Enrolment incentives; structure not fully disclosed |
| Brand / offering | Segment | Description | Target customer | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Direct Energy | East, West/Other | National residential and business retail electricity and natural gas brand acquired from Centrica in January 2021 | Residential and business across 25 states, DC and Canada | Fixed, indexed, month-to-month |
Direct Energy Business | East, West/Other | Business-to-business power and gas supply; the largest B2B retail gas and power platform in North America by management's characterisation | Commercial, industrial, institutional, government | Fixed and indexed; one to five years plus extended terms |
Direct Energy Regulated Services | West/Other (Canada) | Alberta regulated rate provider; transitioned from the monthly variable Regulated Rate Option to the two-year fixed Rate of Last Resort effective 1 January 2025 under a negotiated settlement approved by the Alberta Utilities Commission on 29 November 2024 | Alberta residential and small commercial | Regulated tariff |
XOOM Energy | East, West/Other | Multi-state retail energy brand acquired with Direct Energy | Residential and small commercial | Fixed and variable |
Energy Plus | East | Affinity and loyalty-partnership retail energy brand | Residential | Reward-linked plans |
Renewable natural gas and certified natural gas products | East, West/Other | Lower-carbon gas products and high-quality carbon offsets sold alongside conventional gas supply | Commercial and industrial | Premium to index; not separately disclosed |
| Offering | Description | Target customer | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
Bring Your Own Power (BYOP) | Customer-backed generation investment: NRG develops and owns dedicated new generation matched to a specific large load, with the customer contracting for long-term offtake. The flagship transaction, announced 4 August 2026, is a 1.2 GW combined-cycle facility in Texas with a leading global cloud and AI hyperscaler — 15-year minimum term, investment-grade counterparty, targeted late-2029 commercial operation, expansion optionality to 2.4 GW at the same site. Management projects approximately $500 million of annual Adjusted EBITDA and $375 million of annual FCFbG at full operation, with total project capital of approximately $3.2 billion. | Hyperscalers, data centres, large industrial loads | Principal commercial terms aligned; subject to final documentation and approvals |
CPower (C&I virtual power plant / demand response) | Acquired with the LS Power portfolio on 30 January 2026. Operates in all U.S. deregulated energy markets with approximately 6 GW of contracted capacity representing more than 2,000 commercial and industrial customers, including approximately 4 GW in PJM. | Commercial and industrial | Operating; integrated into East segment reporting |
Data centre retail supply agreements | 445 MW of long-term data centre power agreements executed in Texas and the East during 2025, with contracted capacity ramping from 5 MW in 2026 to 445 MW by 2032. Management has cited target pricing above $80 per MWh with retail margins exceeding $25 per MWh. | Data centre operators | Contracted |
Distributed and backup generation, energy storage, energy management, energy efficiency consulting | Commercial and industrial solution set inherited and expanded from Direct Energy Business | Commercial and industrial | Ongoing |
Third-party plant operations and maintenance | NRG operates and maintains approximately 6,200 MW of additional coal, gas and wind capacity at 13 plants on behalf of third parties as of 31 December 2025 | Third-party asset owners | Ongoing; fee-based |
Wholesale power and gas trading and origination | Trades power, natural gas, environmental, weather and other physical and financial commodity products including forwards, futures, options and swaps; producer-services business at the wellhead | Utilities, marketers, producers, financial counterparties | Ongoing |
| Offering | Description | Target customer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Vivint Smart Home platform | Cloud-based expandable home platform incorporating AI and machine learning in its operating system, controlled via the Vivint app. Supported more than 37 million connected in-home devices at 31 December 2025, an average of approximately 16 devices per household. | U.S. residential, all 50 states and DC | Average customer lifetime approximately nine years |
Smart cameras (indoor, outdoor, doorbell) | Integrated video capture and analytics within the platform | Residential | Specific model versions and launch years not disclosed in filings |
Smart locks, smart lights, smart thermostats, garage door controls | Connected control devices | Residential | As above |
Safety and security sensors | Door/window, motion, glass-break, environmental sensors | Residential | As above |
Professional installation and monitoring | Installation by trained in-home service professionals; professional monitoring, customer service and technical support | Residential | Delivered by the 7,929-strong seasonal direct sales and installation workforce |
Home Protection (non-Vivint) | Legacy home-protection subscriber base, 67 thousand customers at 31 December 2025 (72 thousand in 2024; 68 thousand in 2023) | Residential | Reported within Vivint subscriber counts |
Energy-plus-smart-home bundles | Cross-sell of NRG retail energy with Vivint hardware to unlock intersection value, scale the residential VPP and give customers tools to manage and lower energy costs | Residential, principally ERCOT | Central to the 2022 acquisition thesis ($100 million cost synergies, $300 million revenue synergies) |
| Metric | FY2025 |
|---|---|
Owned capacity — natural gas, Texas (MW) | 5069 |
Owned capacity — natural gas, East (MW) | 80 |
Owned capacity — natural gas, West/Other (MW) | 113 |
Owned capacity — coal, Texas (MW) | 4202 |
Owned capacity — coal, East (MW) | 1538 |
Owned capacity — coal, West/Other (MW) | 605 |
Owned capacity — oil, East (MW) | 455 |
Owned capacity — utility scale solar, West/Other (MW) | 214 |
Owned capacity — total (MW) | 12276 |
Financial Narrative
Income statement (USD millions except per-share data)
FY2022 revenue, pre-tax income, tax and net income are verified. FY2021 revenue is verified from the FY2021 Form 10-K segment revenue disaggregation table.*
*Dividends per share for FY2024 and FY2025 are derived from the disclosed quarterly rates and the 8% annual step-up policy; the FY2026 annualised rate of $1.90 was declared on 23 January 2026 and reaffirmed on 22 July 2026 at $0.475 per quarter.
Margin analysis
Revenue CAGR. FY2021 to FY2025 compound annual growth was 3.3%. FY2023 to FY2025 was 3.2%. Neither number is economically meaningful in isolation: revenue is a pass-through of commodity price and volume, and the 2022 peak of $31.5 billion reflects the European-crisis-driven gas price spike rather than any change in customer economics. Total retail electricity load was essentially flat across the period — 152,194 GWh in 2023, 154,448 GWh in 2024, 154,000 GWh in 2025 — and natural gas load likewise (1,892,080 MDth, 1,832,891 MDth, 1,856,821 MDth). Revenue growth at NRG is not a demand signal.
Balance sheet (USD millions)
Cash flow (USD millions)
First-half 2026 cash flow: operating activities provided $948 million (versus $1,306 million in the prior-year half); investing used $7,709 million, of which $7,101 million was payment for the LS Power acquisition net of cash acquired and $655 million was capital expenditure; financing provided $2,140 million including $3,652 million of long-term debt issuance and $8,675 million of credit facility draws against $7,226 million of repayments, less $931 million of buybacks and $235 million of dividends.
Ratio analysis
Return on equity is arithmetically inflated by an unusually small equity base: NRG's total stockholders' equity fell to $1,681 million at end-2025 after $1,311 million of buybacks and the reclassification of repurchased shares to treasury. The metric should be read as a signal of aggressive capital return and balance-sheet leverage, not of superior returns on capital employed. Return on invested capital was not computed here because NRG's invested-capital base was distorted mid-window by the LS Power close; a meaningful ROIC figure requires a full-year 2026 base and is flagged as not yet computable.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
The 2023 trough was accounting, not operations. FY2023 shows a GAAP net loss of $202 million on revenue of $28.8 billion, a headline that badly misrepresents the year. Three items dominate: a $2,455 million non-cash change in derivative instruments, a $1,806 million outflow in collateral deposits, and a $1,578 million gain on asset sales (principally the South Texas Project). Operating cash flow of negative $221 million was almost entirely a collateral and mark-to-market phenomenon. The operating businesses were performing; the balance sheet was absorbing hedge margin.
The 2024–2025 Adjusted EBITDA build is real and is Texas plus Vivint. Consolidated Adjusted EBITDA rose from $3,789 million to $4,087 million, an increase of $298 million. Texas contributed $295 million and Vivint $81 million; East and West/Other together subtracted $78 million. Put differently, essentially all of the 2025 earnings improvement came from two of four segments, and one of those two (Texas) reversed sharply in the first half of 2026 on mild weather and higher supply costs.
The GAAP-to-adjusted gap is structurally wide and widening. FY2025 net income of $864 million reconciles to Adjusted EBITDA of $4,087 million through $2,393 million of interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, $346 million of mark-to-market losses on economic hedges, $29 million of deactivation costs and $455 million of other adjustments — the last including $210 million of legal reserves and $(100) million of property insurance proceeds. Investors relying on GAAP earnings will consistently mis-time NRG; investors relying only on Adjusted EBITDA will consistently under-weight the $210 million of legal reserves and the $224 million CPI legal payment that hit cash in 2025.
Leverage stepped up materially at the LS Power close and is the central financial-risk question. Total debt rose from $10.8 billion at end-2024 to $16.4 billion at end-2025 (pre-funding) and to $23.3 billion at 30 June 2026 post-close. Net debt to trailing Adjusted EBITDA of 2.87x at end-2025 understates the pro-forma position because the $4.7 billion of year-end cash was earmarked for the acquisition. S&P expected the debt-to-EBITDA ratio to sit above 4x at closing and to decline to the mid-3x area by 2026 on a full-year contribution from the acquired assets. Management's stated target is below 3.0x, after which it intends to return to an 80/20 capital-allocation framework; until then it has committed to approximately $1 billion of annual buybacks.
Share count reduction is a material EPS driver and should be separated from operating performance. Weighted average basic shares fell from 228 million (FY2023) to 206 million (FY2024) to 195 million (FY2025). Of the $1.41 increase in Adjusted EPS from $6.83 to $8.24, management attributes a portion directly to the 11 million reduction in weighted average basic shares. The direction reversed in 2026: 24.25 million shares were issued to LS Power, taking weighted average basic shares to 211 million in Q2 2026, which is precisely why Q2 2026 Adjusted EPS of $1.49 fell $0.24 year-on-year despite Adjusted EBITDA rising 34%.
Working capital and collateral remain the largest source of quarter-to-quarter cash volatility. The FY2025 FCFbG bridge shows $645 million of collateral, working capital and other asset and liability drag against $4,087 million of Adjusted EBITDA, plus $970 million of gross capitalised contract costs — the Vivint acquisition spend that never appears in EBITDA but consumes half of free cash flow before growth.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue — Texas (USD M) | 10651 | 11139 | |
Revenue — East (USD M) | 11759 | 14262 | |
Revenue — West/Other (USD M) | 3805 | 3192 | |
Revenue — Vivint Smart Home (USD M) | 1991 | 2144 | |
Revenue — Corporate/Eliminations (USD M) | -44 | -30 | |
Revenue — Total, economic basis (USD M) | 28823 | 28162 | 30707 |
Revenue — Total, GAAP (USD M) | 28823 | 28130 | 30713 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | H1_FY2025 | H1_FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Revenue — consolidated GAAP (USD M) | 15325 | 17737 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Adjusted EBITDA — Texas (USD M) | 1582 | 1877 |
Adjusted EBITDA — East (USD M) | 1006 | 981 |
Adjusted EBITDA — West/Other (USD M) | 230 | 180 |
Adjusted EBITDA — Vivint Smart Home (USD M) | 1011 | 1092 |
Adjusted EBITDA — Corporate/Eliminations (USD M) | -40 | -43 |
Adjusted EBITDA — Total (USD M) | 3789 | 4087 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Economic gross margin — Texas (USD M) | 3421 | 3872 |
Economic gross margin — East (USD M) | 2045 | 2107 |
Economic gross margin — West/Other (USD M) | 617 | 419 |
Economic gross margin — Vivint Smart Home (USD M) | 1840 | 1943 |
Economic gross margin — Corporate/Eliminations (USD M) | -22 | -23 |
Economic gross margin — Total (USD M) | 7901 | 8318 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Adjusted EBITDA margin — Texas (percent) | 14.9 | 16.8 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin — East (percent) | 8.6 | 6.9 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin — West/Other (percent) | 6.0 | 5.6 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin — Vivint Smart Home (percent) | 50.8 | 50.9 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin — consolidated (percent) | 13.5 | 13.3 |
Revenue YoY growth — Texas (percent) | 4.6 | |
Revenue YoY growth — East (percent) | 21.3 | |
Revenue YoY growth — West/Other (percent) | -16.1 | |
Revenue YoY growth — Vivint Smart Home (percent) | 7.7 | |
Adjusted EBITDA YoY growth — Texas (percent) | 18.6 | |
Adjusted EBITDA YoY growth — East (percent) | -2.5 | |
Adjusted EBITDA YoY growth — West/Other (percent) | -21.7 | |
Adjusted EBITDA YoY growth — Vivint Smart Home (percent) | 8.0 | |
Share of total revenue — Texas (percent) | 37.8 | 36.3 |
Share of total revenue — East (percent) | 41.8 | 46.4 |
Share of total revenue — West/Other (percent) | 13.5 | 10.4 |
Share of total revenue — Vivint Smart Home (percent) | 7.1 | 7.0 |
Share of total Adjusted EBITDA — Texas (percent) | 41.8 | 45.9 |
Share of total Adjusted EBITDA — East (percent) | 26.6 | 24.0 |
Share of total Adjusted EBITDA — West/Other (percent) | 6.1 | 4.4 |
Share of total Adjusted EBITDA — Vivint Smart Home (percent) | 26.7 | 26.7 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (USD M) | 26989 | 31543 | 28823 | 28130 | 30713 |
Cost of operations excluding D&A (USD M) | 27443 | 26483 | 22100 | 24761 | |
Gross profit (USD M) | 4100 | 2340 | 6030 | 5952 | |
Depreciation and amortization (USD M) | 1295 | 1403 | 1406 | ||
Impairment losses (USD M) | 26 | 36 | 0 | ||
Selling, general and administrative (USD M) | 2094 | 2345 | 2602 | ||
Acquisition-related transaction and integration costs (USD M) | 119 | 30 | 74 | ||
Total operating costs and expenses (USD M) | 30017 | 25914 | 28843 | ||
Gain/(loss) on sale of assets (USD M) | 1578 | 208 | -25 | ||
Operating income (USD M) | 2224 | 384 | 2424 | 1845 | |
Interest expense (USD M) | -667 | -651 | -741 | ||
Gain/(loss) on debt extinguishment (USD M) | 109 | -382 | -10 | ||
Impairment losses on investments (USD M) | -102 | -7 | -39 | ||
Equity in earnings of unconsolidated affiliates (USD M) | 16 | 20 | 11 | ||
Other income, net (USD M) | 47 | 44 | 68 | ||
Pre-tax income/(loss) (USD M) | 1663 | -213 | 1448 | 1134 | |
Income tax expense/(benefit) (USD M) | 442 | -11 | 323 | 270 | |
Net income/(loss) (USD M) | 1221 | -202 | 1125 | 864 | |
Preferred dividends (USD M) | 54 | 67 | 67 | ||
Net income available for common (USD M) | -256 | 1058 | 797 | ||
Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | 1822 | 3789 | 4087 | ||
Adjusted net income (USD M) | 1408 | 1606 | |||
EPS basic (USD) | -1.12 | 5.14 | 4.09 | ||
EPS diluted (USD) | 5.17 | -1.12 | 4.99 | 4.01 | |
Adjusted EPS (USD) | 6.83 | 8.24 | |||
Weighted average shares basic (millions) | 228 | 206 | 195 | ||
Weighted average shares diluted (millions) | 228 | 212 | 199 | ||
Dividends per share declared (USD) | 1.63 | 1.76 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin (percent) | 13.0 | 8.1 | 21.4 | 19.4 |
Operating margin (percent) | 7.1 | 1.3 | 8.6 | 6.0 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin (percent) | 5.8 | 13.5 | 13.3 | |
Net margin (percent) | 3.9 | -0.7 | 4.0 | 2.8 |
Effective tax rate (percent) | 26.6 | 5.2 | 22.3 | 23.8 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | H1_FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (USD M) | 966 | 4708 | 162 |
Restricted cash (USD M) | 8 | 30 | 50 |
Funds deposited by counterparties (USD M) | 199 | 260 | 167 |
Accounts receivable, net (USD M) | 3488 | 4065 | 3534 |
Inventory (USD M) | 478 | 461 | 793 |
Derivative instruments, current asset (USD M) | 2686 | 2189 | 3188 |
Total current assets (USD M) | 8964 | 13147 | 9653 |
Property, plant and equipment, net (USD M) | 2021 | 3632 | 14076 |
Goodwill (USD M) | 5011 | 5017 | 8815 |
Customer relationships, net (USD M) | 1538 | 1203 | 1177 |
Other intangible assets, net (USD M) | 1370 | 1106 | 963 |
Deferred income taxes, asset (USD M) | 2067 | 1843 | 1725 |
Total assets (USD M) | 24022 | 29140 | 39940 |
Accounts payable (USD M) | 2513 | 2834 | 2579 |
Current portion of long-term debt and finance leases (USD M) | 996 | 31 | 1512 |
Total current liabilities (USD M) | 8813 | 8029 | 9975 |
Long-term debt and finance leases (USD M) | 9812 | 16412 | 21744 |
Total liabilities (USD M) | 21544 | 27459 | 35085 |
Preferred stock (USD M) | 650 | 650 | 650 |
Additional paid-in capital (USD M) | 705 | 215 | 3880 |
Retained earnings (USD M) | 1535 | 1982 | 2374 |
Treasury stock at cost (USD M) | -297 | -1087 | -1964 |
Total stockholders equity (USD M) | 2478 | 1681 | 4855 |
Total debt including current (USD M) | 10808 | 16443 | 23256 |
Net debt (USD M) | 9842 | 11735 | 23094 |
Goodwill and intangibles combined (USD M) | 7919 | 7326 | 10955 |
Working capital (USD M) | 151 | 5118 | -322 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Cash provided/(used) by operating activities (USD M) | -221 | 2306 | 1913 |
Capital expenditures (USD M) | -598 | -472 | -1147 |
Free cash flow, unadjusted (USD M) | -819 | 1834 | 766 |
Free Cash Flow before Growth, company measure (USD M) | 2062 | 2210 | |
Maintenance capital expenditures, net (USD M) | -240 | -229 | |
Environmental capital expenditures (USD M) | -21 | -38 | |
Payments for acquisitions, net of cash acquired (USD M) | -2523 | -38 | -596 |
Proceeds from sales of assets, net (USD M) | 2007 | 501 | 6 |
Dividends paid to preferred and common (USD M) | -381 | -405 | -411 |
Share repurchases and excise tax (USD M) | -1150 | -935 | -1311 |
Proceeds from issuance of long-term debt (USD M) | 731 | 3200 | 6676 |
Repayments of long-term debt and finance leases (USD M) | -523 | -3255 | -1005 |
Gross capitalized contract costs (USD M) | -846 | -970 | |
Changes in collateral deposits (USD M) | -1806 | 245 | 7 |
Cash provided/(used) by financing activities (USD M) | -400 | -1755 | 3546 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Return on equity, on average equity (percent) | 41.5 | |
Return on assets, on average assets (percent) | 3.3 | |
Current ratio (times) | 1.02 | 1.64 |
Total debt to equity (times) | 4.36 | 9.78 |
Net debt to Adjusted EBITDA (times) | 2.60 | 2.87 |
Interest coverage, operating income to interest expense (times) | 3.72 | 2.49 |
Interest coverage, Adjusted EBITDA to interest expense (times) | 5.82 | 5.51 |
Asset turnover, revenue to average assets (times) | 1.16 | |
Days sales outstanding (days) | 45 | 48 |
Days inventory outstanding (days) | 8 | 7 |
Days payable outstanding (days) | 42 | 42 |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | 11 | 13 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Revenue — Texas / ERCOT (USD M) | 10651 | 11139 |
Revenue — East / PJM, NYISO, ISO-NE, MISO (USD M) | 11759 | 14262 |
Revenue — West and Canada / CAISO, AESO (USD M) | 3805 | 3192 |
Revenue — Vivint Smart Home, national (USD M) | 1991 | 2144 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Electricity volume — Home Texas (GWh) | 40032 | 39353 | 38817 |
Electricity volume — Home East (GWh) | 12838 | 15229 | 15408 |
Electricity volume — Home West/Other (GWh) | 2243 | 2355 | 2542 |
Electricity volume — Business Texas (GWh) | 40250 | 40274 | 39278 |
Electricity volume — Business East (GWh) | 46438 | 46724 | 45342 |
Electricity volume — Business West/Other (GWh) | 10393 | 10513 | 12613 |
Electricity volume — total load (GWh) | 152194 | 154448 | 154000 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Gas volume — Home East (MDth) | 49990 | 49927 | 51028 |
Gas volume — Home West/Other (MDth) | 75150 | 75898 | 73926 |
Gas volume — Business East (MDth) | 1587052 | 1525094 | 1549286 |
Gas volume — Business West/Other (MDth) | 179888 | 181972 | 182581 |
Gas volume — total load (MDth) | 1892080 | 1832891 | 1856821 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Ending retail electricity customers — Home Texas (thousands) | 2928 | 2909 | 2860 |
Ending retail electricity customers — Home East (thousands) | 1752 | 1807 | 1803 |
Ending retail electricity customers — Home West/Other (thousands) | 336 | 301 | 325 |
Ending retail gas customers — Home East (thousands) | 385 | 384 | 319 |
Ending retail gas customers — Home West/Other (thousands) | 358 | 347 | 325 |
Ending retail Home customers — electricity and gas total (thousands) | 5759 | 5748 | 5632 |
Ending Vivint Smart Home subscribers (thousands) | 2111 | 2226 | 2419 |
Ending total retail and Vivint customers (thousands) | 7870 | 7974 | 8051 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Share price, 8 September 2026 (USD) | 120.78 |
Previous close, 7 September 2026 (USD) | 119.02 |
Day range, 8 September 2026 (USD) | 118.51 to 121.68 |
52-week range (USD) | 108.34 to 189.96 |
Share price, 18 March 2026 (USD) | 159.11 |
Share price, 9 October 2025 (USD) | 168.11 |
Aggregate market value held by non-affiliates, 30 June 2025 (USD M) | 26644 |
Closing price used for that computation, 30 June 2025 (USD) | 160.58 |
Market capitalisation, 8 September 2026 (USD B) | 25.4 |
Average daily volume (shares) | 2720000 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Share price used (USD) | 120.78 |
Shares outstanding, 30 June 2026 (millions) | 210.3 |
Market capitalisation (USD M) | 25400 |
Plus net debt, 30 June 2026 (USD M) | 23094 |
Plus preferred stock (USD M) | 650 |
Enterprise value, approximate (USD M) | 49144 |
EV / 2026E Adjusted EBITDA at guidance midpoint of 5575 (times) | 8.8 |
EV / FY2025 Adjusted EBITDA of 4087 (times) | 12.0 |
EV / trailing revenue, approximately 32400 (times) | 1.5 |
P/E on trailing GAAP earnings (times) | 31.5 |
P/E on 2026E Adjusted EPS midpoint of 8.90 (times) | 13.6 |
P/B on common equity of approximately 4205 (times) | 6.0 |
Dividend yield (percent) | 1.57 |
Capital Markets
| Source and date | Consensus | Average target (USD) | Range (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|
Investing.com, 8 September 2026 | Buy; 13 buy, 0 sell | 188.75 | 104 to 270 |
MarketBeat, 12-month trailing | Moderate Buy; 14 analysts — 10 buy, 1 strong buy, 3 hold | 188.85 | 99 to 308 |
TickerNerd, 21 analysts | Not stated | 202.00 | 96 to 354 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026E |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividends per share, annualised rate at year-end (USD) | 1.63 | 1.76 | 1.90 |
Common dividends paid (USD M) | 338 | 344 | 407 |
Total dividends paid, preferred and common (USD M) | 405 | 411 | |
Annual dividend growth rate (percent) | 8 | 8 | 8 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026_plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Share repurchases including excise tax (USD M) | 1150 | 935 | 1311 | 1000 |
Treasury shares held at year-end (millions) | 6.46 | 9.45 | 14.89 | |
Weighted average basic shares (millions) | 228 | 206 | 195 | 214 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Issuer rating | Outlook | Most recent action reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|
S&P Global Ratings | BB | Stable | 12 May 2025 — outlook revised to stable, issuer credit rating affirmed at BB; senior secured BBB- with recovery rating 1; senior unsecured BB; preferred stock B |
Moody's | Ba1 | Stable | 12 May 2025 — Ba1 local currency rating affirmed, stable outlook |
Fitch Ratings | BB+ | Stable | 25 February 2026 — affirmed |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Amount (USD M) | Maturity |
|---|---|---|
5.750% senior notes | 821 | 2028 |
5.250% senior notes | 733 | 2029 |
3.375% senior notes | 500 | 2029 |
5.750% senior notes | 798 | 2029 |
3.625% senior notes | 1000 | 2031 |
3.875% senior notes | 480 | 2032 |
6.000% senior notes | 925 | 2033 |
6.250% senior notes | 950 | 2034 |
5.750% senior notes | 1300 | 2034 |
6.000% senior notes | 2400 | 2036 |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Amount (USD M) | Maturity |
|---|---|---|
2.450% Senior Secured First Lien Notes | 900 | 2027 |
4.450% Senior Secured First Lien Notes | 500 | 2029 |
4.734% Senior Secured First Lien Notes | 625 | 2030 |
7.000% Senior Secured First Lien Notes | 740 | 2033 |
5.407% Senior Secured First Lien Notes | 625 | 2035 |
Capital Markets
| Facility | Detail |
|---|---|
Revolving Credit Facility | $4.6 billion, due 2029, last amended 27 May 2025 |
Term Loan B Facility | — |
Receivables Facility | $2.3 billion accounts receivable securitisation, due 2026, last amended 20 June 2025 — the nearest-dated material maturity |
Texas Energy Fund loans | Approximately $1,148 million at 3%: $216 million (T.H. Wharton), $562 million (Cedar Bayou 5), $370 million (Greens Bayou 6) |
Assumed LSP Portfolio debt | Approximately $3.2 billion at closing |
April 2026 international bonds | $1,050 million due 2034; $1,050 million due 2036 |
Series A Preferred Stock | 650,000 shares, 10.25% fixed-rate reset cumulative redeemable perpetual, $1,000 liquidation preference, $650 million aggregate |
Total revolving credit and collective collateral facility capacity | $9.0 billion at 30 June 2026; $7.7 billion at 31 December 2025 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
Guidance was set on 2 February 2026 following the LS Power close, reflects approximately eleven months of ownership (approximately 90% of the acquired portfolio's estimated full-year 2026 contribution), and was reaffirmed on 24 February, 6 May and 4 August 2026. Underlying assumptions include net interest expense of $1,195 million, depreciation and amortisation of $1,955 million (provisional pending completion of purchase price allocation), GAAP income tax of $490–560 million, gross capitalised contract costs of $1,020 million, maintenance capital expenditure of $450–480 million and environmental capital expenditure of $10–20 million.
Longer-dated targets: 14%+ Adjusted EPS growth extended through 2030; 7–9% annual dividend per share growth; approximately $1 billion of annual buybacks until leverage falls below 3.0x; 12–15% unlevered pre-tax investment hurdle rates; 1.5 GW of Texas new build online by mid-2028; 650 MW of Texas residential VPP by 2030 and 1 GW by 2035; 5.4 GW of new-build runway through 2032.
First-half 2026 progress against guidance
NRG's earnings are heavily third-quarter weighted through ERCOT and PJM summer load, so first-half percentages below 50% are normal. Nonetheless, at 33% of the Adjusted EPS midpoint at the half, and with Texas first-half Adjusted EBITDA $214 million below prior year, the guidance requires a materially stronger second half than the first — and the second-half comparison against a strong H2 2025 (Adjusted EBITDA of $2,052 million) is demanding.
Bull case
1. The BYOP economics, if repeatable, re-rate the entire company. The flagship 1.2 GW project is projected at approximately $500 million of annual Adjusted EBITDA and $375 million of annual FCFbG on approximately $3.2 billion of capital — an unlevered pre-tax return comfortably inside the stated 12–15% hurdle and, at a 15-year minimum contracted term with an investment-grade counterparty, deserving of a regulated-utility multiple rather than a merchant multiple. Management has 5.4 GW of secured turbine and EPC capacity and has stated that a further 1.2 GW block can come online serially each year after the 2029 first COD. Four such projects would add roughly $2 billion of contracted EBITDA against a current base of $4.1 billion. At current prices, essentially none of this is in the stock — Jefferies' explicit view is that "little data center revenue [is] priced in."
2. The LS Power assets were bought at half of replacement cost into a structurally tightening market. 7.5x forward EBITDA and approximately 50% of new-build cost, at a moment when PJM has cleared at the FERC price cap in two consecutive auctions ($329.17 and $333.44/MW-day) and ERCOT is forecast to grow peak demand from 86 GW to 139 GW by 2030. NRG's PJM position rose from 2.1 GW to approximately 9.5 GW. If capacity prices remain at or near caps, the acquisition multiple falls rapidly on a forward basis, and the 1+ GW of identified uprate potential adds capacity without permitting risk. Q2 2026 already showed the effect: East Adjusted EBITDA up $370 million year-on-year and consolidated Adjusted EBITDA up 34%.
3. Vivint is an under-appreciated, non-correlated compounder inside a commodity company. FY2025 Adjusted EBITDA of $1,092 million at a 50.9% margin, 26.7% of consolidated Adjusted EBITDA, growing 8% on record customer additions, with subscribers rising from 2,111 thousand to 2,419 thousand over two years and an average customer lifetime of nine years. Momentum continued into 2026 with H1 Adjusted EBITDA up $56 million on higher new adds and higher monthly recurring service margin per customer. Standalone, on subscription-business multiples, this segment alone could justify a substantial fraction of NRG's current $25.4 billion market capitalisation. It is additionally the engine of the residential VPP, which converts a consumer-electronics annuity into dispatchable grid capacity targeting 1 GW by 2035.
Bear case
1. Leverage is at the highest level in the modern history of the company at precisely the moment the growth plan demands the most capital. Total debt of $23.3 billion at 30 June 2026 against unrestricted cash of $162 million and negative working capital of $(322) million. Interest expense guidance of $1,195 million for 2026 is nearly double the $651 million of FY2024. The $2.3 billion Receivables Facility matures in 2026 and $1,512 million of long-term debt is current. Simultaneously, management is committed to approximately $1 billion of annual buybacks, approximately $407 million of dividends and multi-billion-dollar new-build capital. Something has to give: either the buyback, the deleveraging target, or the growth capital. S&P's mid-3x 2026 expectation depends on debt repayment funded by free cash flow that is also promised to shareholders.
2. The core Texas business is deteriorating while the narrative focuses elsewhere. Home Texas ending customers fell from 2,928 thousand to 2,860 thousand across two years and Home Texas volume from 40,032 GWh to 38,817 GWh — customer erosion in the fastest-growing power market in North America. First-half 2026 Texas Adjusted EBITDA fell $214 million on higher supply costs and mild weather. Residential natural gas customers fell 12% in a single year. FY2025's earnings growth in Texas came from supply-cost optimisation and higher coal dispatch, neither of which is repeatable indefinitely, and the latter of which caused NRG to miss its 2025 emissions target. Strip out LS Power and Vivint, and the legacy franchise is shrinking.
3. The data centre thesis carries binary regulatory and counterparty risk that is outside NRG's control. The flagship BYOP project "remains subject to final documentation and approvals." One day after the announcement, Texas paused data centre interconnections amid an estimated 474 GW of requests and initiated a gubernatorial audit, with the effect on NRG's project explicitly unclear. Texas SB 6 imposes financial commitments and curtailment obligations on large loads and creates a PUCT procedure addressing co-location stranded costs. PJM is undertaking a wholesale market redesign whose implementation NRG itself says "could have material impacts." Meanwhile NRG's own risk factors warn that if anticipated load growth fails to materialise the company "could incur additional expenses to terminate or redeploy any underutilized assets" and "may be unable to fully recover its capital expenditures." A single hyperscaler capital-expenditure pause, or one adverse Texas rulemaking, removes the entire incremental valuation case.
Catalysts and monitorables — next twelve months
Analyst verdict
NRG in September 2026 is a company whose strategic reinvention has been executed faster than the market's willingness to underwrite it. In eighteen months management has doubled generation capacity at half of replacement cost, secured 5.4 GW of scarce turbine and EPC capacity through 2032, financed 1.5 GW of Texas new build at a subsidised 3%, delivered its first new-build asset in a decade on time, acquired the leading independent C&I demand-response platform, and aligned commercial terms on the largest contracted power agreement in its history. Over the same period the shares fell 36% from their high.
That divergence is not irrational. It reflects three legitimate concerns. Leverage has roughly doubled to $23.3 billion at the moment the growth plan is most capital-hungry, with a $1 billion annual buyback commitment competing directly against a sub-3.0x deleveraging target. The legacy Texas franchise — the historic profit engine — is quietly losing customers and volume in the fastest-growing power market on the continent. And the entire incremental valuation case rests on a data-centre thesis that a single Texas rulemaking or one hyperscaler capital-expenditure pause could impair, as the 5 August 2026 interconnection pause demonstrated within twenty-four hours of the announcement.
The honest position is that NRG is cheap on 2026 numbers (13.6x guidance-midpoint Adjusted EPS, 8.8x EV/EBITDA, materially below the sum of its parts if Vivint is valued as the subscription business it is) and expensive on faith. The 3x spread between the lowest and highest sell-side targets is the market telling you it cannot price the option.
The decisive question is narrow and answerable: does the hyperscaler agreement get signed, and does a second one follow? If yes, the current price will look like an entry point. If the pipeline stalls while $23 billion of debt amortises, NRG will have bought a gas fleet at the top of a demand cycle that did not arrive. Investors should size the position to that binary, not to the guidance.
END OF DOSSIER
Executive compensation figures for FY2025 are reported by conflicting secondary sources and require primary verification against pages 93–109 of the DEF 14A filed 18 March 2026. Trade press reported the Cedar Bayou project at 721 MW and the T.H. Wharton project at 456 MW, versus the company's disclosed 689 MW and 415 MW respectively; the company figures are used throughout.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Tenure / appointment | Background |
|---|---|---|---|
Robert J. Gaudette | President and Chief Executive Officer | President from 7 January 2026; CEO from 30 April 2026; age 52 | 25 years with NRG and predecessor companies. Joined in 2001 from a predecessor company (began as an energy trader with Mirant, acquired by NRG in 2012). SVP Business Solutions 2013–2022; EVP NRG Business and Market Operations from 2022; President of NRG Business and Market Operations from 2024. BS in chemistry, The College of William and Mary; MBA, Rice University (Jones Scholar). Four years as a U.S. Army officer including a one-year Bosnia deployment with the Second Armored Cavalry Regiment. |
Bruce Chung | Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer | CFO since 2019 per proxy summaries | Long-tenured NRG finance executive; previously led strategy and corporate development |
Brian Curci | Executive Vice President and General Counsel | Since 2020 | NRG legal leadership |
Gin Kinney | Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer | Per FY2024 Form 10-K executive officer list | Administrative, human capital and shared services |
Dak Liyanearachchi | Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer | Per FY2024 Form 10-K executive officer list | Technology and digital |
Rasesh Patel | Executive Vice President, NRG Consumer | — | Consumer business leadership |
Brad Bentley | — | Joined 2025 | Flagged for primary verification against the 2026 Proxy Executive Officers section (page 66) |
G. Alfred Spencer | Senior Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer | Per FY2024 Form 10-K executive officer list | Accounting and financial reporting |
Christine A. Zoino | Corporate Secretary | Per 2026 Proxy | Governance |
| Director | Age | Director since | Independent | Primary occupation | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Antonio Carrillo (Chair) | 59 | 2019 | Yes | President and CEO, Arcosa, Inc. | Compensation; formerly Lead Independent Director |
Matthew Carter, Jr. | 65 | 2018 | Yes | Former CEO, Intrado Life & Safety, Inc. | Governance and Nominating (Chair); Compensation |
Heather Cox | 55 | 2018 | Yes | President, Insights & Empowerment, Zelis Healthcare Inc. | Governance and Nominating; Compensation |
Elisabeth B. Donohue | 60 | 2020 | Yes | Former CEO, Publicis Spine | Finance and Risk Management (Chair); Governance and Nominating |
Marwan Fawaz | 63 | 2023 | Yes | Former Executive Advisor, Google and Alphabet; former CEO, Nest Labs | Finance and Risk Management; Governance and Nominating |
Robert J. Gaudette | 52 | 2026 | No | President and CEO, NRG Energy, Inc. | None |
Sanjay Kapoor | 65 | 2026 | Yes | Former EVP and CFO, Spirit AeroSystems, Inc. | Audit |
Alexander Pourbaix | 60 | 2023 | Yes | Chair and former President and CEO, Cenovus Energy | Compensation (Chair); Audit |
Alexandra Pruner | 64 | 2019 | Yes | Senior Advisor, Perella Weinberg Partners | Audit (Chair); Finance and Risk Management |
Marcie C. Zlotnik | 63 | 2023 | Yes | Co-Founder, former COO and Chair, StarTex Power | Audit; Governance and Nominating |
Glenn Wright | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | 2026 | Yes | Appointed effective 26 May 2026; experience across power markets and customer energy solutions | Not disclosed in sources reviewed |
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total per AFL-CIO Executive Paywatch / Creately, DEF 14A-sourced (USD) | FY2025 total per alternative aggregator (USD) |
|---|---|---|
Lawrence S. Coben — CEO and Chair | 16895839 | 21800000 |
Robert J. Gaudette — President; CEO-designate | 4700000 | 12900000 |
Bruce Chung — EVP and CFO | — | 14500000 |
Brad Bentley | — | 12100000 |
Brian Curci — EVP and General Counsel | — | 11100000 |
| Holder | Shares held (millions) | Approximate percent of shares outstanding |
|---|---|---|
BlackRock, Inc. | 18.00 | 9.23 |
FMR LLC (Fidelity) | 17.41 | 8.12 |
Vanguard Capital Management LLC | 13.80 | Component of Vanguard aggregate |
State Street Corp | 11.77 | Approximately 5.7 |
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC | 11.32 | Component of Vanguard aggregate |
Franklin Resources Inc | 7.70 | Approximately 3.7 |
Victory Capital Management Inc | 7.17 | Approximately 3.5 |
Geode Capital Management, LLC | 5.97 | Approximately 2.9 |
Invesco Ltd. | Not disclosed in source | Not disclosed in source |
LS Power affiliates | 24.25 (issued 30 January 2026) | Approximately 11.5 at issuance |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | Positioning versus NRG |
|---|---|
Vistra Corp. (NYSE: VST) | The closest direct analogue and NRG's principal peer. Irving, Texas. Integrated retail-plus-generation with the TXU retail brand in ERCOT and, uniquely, the second-largest competitive nuclear fleet in the United States following the Energy Harbor acquisition. Materially larger on Adjusted EBITDA and materially better contracted on the data-centre theme via 20-year PPAs with AWS (up to 1,200 MW at Comanche Peak) and Meta (more than 2,600 MW across PJM nuclear sites). Pending Cogentrix acquisition adds 5,500 MW of gas. |
Constellation Energy Corporation (Nasdaq: CEG) | The largest U.S. carbon-free generator; completed the Calpine acquisition on 7 January 2026, creating what it describes as the nation's largest producer of electricity. Competes with NRG in retail C&I supply and, increasingly, in data-centre contracting where its nuclear fleet gives it a 24/7 carbon-free proposition NRG cannot match. |
Talen Energy Corporation (Nasdaq: TLN) | PJM-focused merchant generator with nuclear and gas assets and a data-centre co-location strategy at Susquehanna. Smaller, more concentrated, and a direct competitor for PJM capacity and behind-the-meter data-centre deals. |
Public Service Enterprise Group (NYSE: PEG) | New Jersey utility with a nuclear fleet; competes in PJM capacity and data-centre supply |
AES Corporation (NYSE: AES) | Global generator with U.S. renewables and data-centre supply agreements |
Calpine Corporation | Formerly the largest U.S. gas generator; acquired by Constellation January 2026. Its absorption removed the most obvious alternative buyer for gas fleets and is part of why the LS Power assets commanded 7.5x forward EBITDA. |
Regulated utilities, municipalities, cooperatives, other IPPs, and power marketers or trading companies including those owned by financial institutions | The 10-K explicitly names these categories and notes that wholesale generation is "highly fragmented and diverse in terms of industry structure by region," with "wide variation in the capabilities, resources, nature and identities" of competitors by market |
| Competitor | Positioning |
|---|---|
TXU Energy (Vistra) | Principal ERCOT residential rival |
Gexa Energy (NextEra Energy) | ERCOT residential and small commercial |
Constellation retail | National C&I and residential |
Rhythm Energy, Payless Power, Frontier Utilities and a long tail of ERCOT REPs | The 10-K describes "a high degree of fragmentation, with both large and small competitors offering a range of value propositions, including value, rewards, and sustainability-based offerings" |
Incumbent regulated utilities outside Texas | The 10-K notes incumbents "currently provide default service in most of the states and as a result typically serve the majority of residential customers" — a structural handicap for NRG outside ERCOT |
Shell Energy, Engie, and other wholesale gas marketers | The wholesale gas business is "highly competitive, as marketers compete to buy and sell large volumes of natural gas... while also competing for limited transportation and storage assets" |
| Competitor | Positioning |
|---|---|
ADT Inc. | The scale incumbent in professionally monitored security |
SimpliSafe | DIY-first, price-disruptive |
Amazon (Ring) and Google (Nest) | The "large-cap technology companies seeking to expand their core market opportunity who predominantly offer do-it-yourself devices" named in the 10-K; they put "a large burden on homeowners to self-install and support many devices" |
Brinks Home, Alarm.com | Security-based providers and platform enablers |
Telecommunications and industrial companies offering connected home experiences | Named as a category in the 10-K |
| Metric | NRG_FY2025 | Vistra_FY2025 | Constellation_FY2025 | Talen_FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (USD M) | 30713 | 17738 | ||
Net income (USD M) | 864 | 944 | ||
Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | 4087 | 5912 | ||
Adjusted EBITDA margin (percent) | 13.3 | 33.3 | ||
Adjusted EPS (USD) | 8.24 | 9.39 | ||
GAAP EPS basic (USD) | 4.09 | 7.40 | ||
2026 Adjusted EBITDA guidance midpoint (USD M) | 5575 | 7200 | ||
R&D intensity (percent of revenue) |



