Origin Energy Ltd Overview
Origin Energy is Australia's largest integrated energy company by retail customer accounts and, uniquely among domestic peers, a materially globalised business through minority stakes in two of the fastest-scaling franchises in the sector. Domestically it couples 4.94 million retail accounts with an 8.6 GW owned-and-contracted generation portfolio — including Australia's largest coal-fired station at Eraring, its largest thermal peaking fleet, and a 1.8 GW battery build-out — and a 27.5 per cent interest in Australia Pacific LNG, one of the lowest-cost coal-seam-gas-to-LNG projects globally. Layered on top is a 22.7 per cent economic interest in Octopus Energy, Europe's fifth-largest energy retailer with 19 million accounts, and the same interest in Kraken Technologies, a utility operating system contracted to 95 million accounts across more than 20 countries. The result is a hybrid: a cash-generative, fully franked domestic utility funding an option on the global digitalisation and electrification of energy retail.
The company's own characterisation
Origin states its purpose as "getting energy right for our customers, communities and planet" and its ambition as to "lead the energy transition through cleaner energy and customer solutions" (FY26 Annual Report, OFR §1 and §2). Management describes the business as "a leading integrated energy company" whose "earnings drivers are spread across the energy value chain" (FY26 Annual Report, OFR §2, Our Business Drivers).
The FY26 Annual Report articulates three strategic pillars: Unrivalled customer solutions, Accelerate renewables and cleaner energy, and Deliver reliable energy through the transition, mapped respectively to three decarbonisation priorities: enable customers to decarbonise, grow the portfolio of renewable and cleaner energy, and reduce emissions from existing operations.
Independent characterisation
Origin is best understood as four economically distinct businesses stapled into one listed vehicle, only two of which are consolidated:
(i) An integrated Australian energy utility (consolidated). Origin buys, generates and sells electricity and gas into the National Electricity Market and east-coast gas market. The economics are not those of a regulated network but of a vertically integrated merchant retailer: gross profit is the spread between customer tariffs (largely reset annually via the Default Market Offer and Victorian Default Offer, or every one to three years for business contracts) and the delivered cost of energy from a portfolio of owned generation, power purchase agreements, swaps, caps and pool purchases. Management describes the deliberate structural posture as "typically to remain short" of energy, meaning falling in-year pool prices are upside and rising prices are downside, while the portfolio is set up to be balanced or long during high-price capacity events above A$300/MWh (FY26 Investor Presentation, slides 50–51). This is the central mechanic of Origin's earnings and the single most important thing to understand about the equity.
(ii) An upstream gas and LNG interest (equity-accounted). Origin holds 27.5 per cent of Australia Pacific LNG and is its upstream operator. This is a commodity-price-taking, cash-distributing asset: around 80 per cent of APLNG's FY26 gas volume was sold as LNG, of which 91 per cent under long-term oil-linked contracts (FY26 Annual Report, OFR §2). Because the interest is equity-accounted, APLNG contributes to underlying EBITDA and underlying profit but not to consolidated revenue; the cash reaches Origin as dividends recorded in investing cash flow (A$911 million fully franked in FY26).
(iii) A minority interest in a global energy retailer (equity-accounted). Origin holds 22.7 per cent of Octopus Energy Topco Limited: 19 million retail accounts, of which 14.8 million in the United Kingdom (26 per cent market share) and 4.1 million outside it, plus an Energy Services arm doing heat pump, solar, battery and EV charger installation and a 49,000-vehicle EV leasing fleet.
(iv) A minority interest in an enterprise software platform (equity-accounted). Following legal separation on 17 June 2026, Origin holds 22.7 per cent of Kraken Technologies Global Group Limited (19.6 per cent direct, 3.1 per cent indirect through Octopus). Kraken is a subscription software business: FY26 revenue of £300 million, 19 per cent growth, 75 per cent subscription gross margin, contracted annual recurring revenue up 44 per cent, gross retention above 99 per cent (FY26 Investor Presentation, slides 25–26). This is the only genuinely software-economics asset in the group.
Revenue model mix
Origin's consolidated revenue is overwhelmingly commodity sales, not subscription or licensing. Of FY26 segment revenue of A$15,569 million, A$15,262 million (98 per cent) was Energy Markets and A$307 million was Integrated Gas – Other (FY26 Appendix 4E; segment note). Within Energy Markets, customer revenue of A$13,571 million reconciles from segment revenue after deducting A$1,665 million of pool and other revenue from internal generation (FY26 Investor Presentation, slide 46).
The striking observation is that customer revenue was flat year on year (A$13,567 million to A$13,571 million) while segment revenue fell 9 per cent — the entire decline is internal generation pool revenue, a mechanical consequence of lower wholesale prices and 1.3 TWh less owned and contracted generation, not customer attrition. Analysts who read the headline 10 per cent group revenue decline as a demand problem are misreading it.
Subscription and licensing economics exist only at the look-through level via Kraken. Service revenue (Energy Services and Internet) contributed A$53 million of EBITDA in FY26.
Value chain position and customers
Origin occupies fuel supply, transportation, generation and trading, and customer solutions. It does not own networks. Customer types span mass-market residential (2.70 million electricity, 1.11 million gas), community energy services (208,000 electricity, 276,000 gas — embedded networks and apartments), small-to-medium business, and large commercial and industrial customers served through the Origin Zero brand. End-markets served are Australian households, Australian business and industry, the east-coast wholesale gas market, and — via APLNG — LNG buyers in North Asia, principally Sinopec (approximately 7.6 mtpa to 2035) and Kansai Electric (approximately 1.0 mtpa to 2035).
Strategy
Stated strategy
Origin's strategy statement, verbatim from the FY26 Annual Report OFR §2:
Purpose: "Getting energy right for our customers, communities and planet." Ambition: "Lead the energy transition through cleaner energy and customer solutions." Strategic objectives: "Unrivalled customer solutions"; "Accelerate renewable and cleaner energy"; "Deliver reliable energy through the transition." Decarbonisation priorities: "Enable customers to decarbonise"; "Grow our portfolio of renewable and cleaner energy"; "Reduce emissions from our existing operations."
The FY26 investment proposition is framed around a deliberate duality: "Leading Australian energy businesses with strong cashflows, fully franked dividends and investing in the energy transition" plus "Significant growth potential through two independent and globally significant businesses" (FY26 Investor Presentation, slide 7).
Ambitions scorecard as at 30 June 2026
This is an unusually transparent scorecard, and it is not flattering. Four of nine disclosed ambitions were missed, including the two most strategically important — the 4–5 GW renewables and storage target for 2030 and the 2 GW VPP target. Origin deserves credit for publishing the misses; investors should nonetheless mark down management's target-setting credibility on the growth side while acknowledging it consistently delivers on cost and asset-execution targets.
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Management's medium-term targets
FY27 guidance
Zeros denote not applicable or not separately guided. The Kraken guidance is "greater than 20 per cent," hence no upper bound. Additional FY27 disclosures: approximately 40 per cent of Origin's roughly 16 MMboe share of APLNG's FY27 JCC oil price exposure was priced at approximately US$100/bbl as at 3 August 2026 before hedging; Origin estimates a net FY27 loss of A$163 million on oil and FX hedging; 75-85 per cent of anticipated Eraring FY27 coal consumption is contracted or hedged at costs similar to FY26; the A$210 million Kraken investment sits outside capex guidance.
The FY27 guidance deserves close reading. Energy Markets EBITDA guidance of A$1,550–1,850 million has a midpoint of A$1,700 million — dead flat on FY26's A$1,701 million. Management is telling the market that a full year of 1.8 GW of new battery capacity will do no more than offset lower wholesale prices flowing into tariffs. That is a sobering statement about the incremental economics of the battery programme, or alternatively about the severity of the tariff reset, and it is the most important disclosure in the FY26 pack.
Products & Services
Energy Markets — Retail (mass market)
Origin electricity plans. Core residential electricity supply across New South Wales, the ACT, Queensland, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia and the Northern Territory (the latter three grouped in reporting under South Australia). 2,926,000 accounts at 30 June 2026, up 134,000. Pricing is regulated-reference-based: the Default Market Offer in NSW, SEQ and SA and the Victorian Default Offer set the benchmark against which market offers are discounted. FY26 volumes 16.7 TWh retail. In FY26 Origin introduced "new energy plans tailored for customers' usage patterns," a direct response to the reshaping of residential load by behind-the-meter solar and batteries.
Origin natural gas plans. Residential and small business gas retailing; 1,382,000 accounts at 30 June 2026, up 44,000. External volumes sold 129.0 PJ in FY26 (down from 157.7 PJ), gross profit A$612 million at A$4.8/GJ.
Origin LPG. Bottled and bulk LPG for households, business and autogas, distributed through company and authorised dealer channels, with seaboard terminal infrastructure. 346,000 accounts at 30 June 2026 (down 6,000). LPG EBITDA of A$93 million in FY26, up 35 per cent from A$68 million — the strongest percentage EBITDA growth of any Energy Markets division. Origin introduced its first electric LPG cylinder delivery truck, developed with Toll Group.
Origin Internet (broadband). NBN-based residential and small business broadband, bundled to lift customer lifetime value and reduce churn. 283,000 accounts at 30 June 2026, up 70,000 — a 33 per cent single-year increase, and a 46 per cent CAGR over three years (FY26 Investor Presentation, slide 17). Origin's stated ambition was 600,000 internet accounts by FY26; the actual 283,000 represents a clear miss against target, and Origin discloses it as such.
Origin Loop (virtual power plant). Proprietary VPP platform using AI to orchestrate distributed customer assets — batteries, hot water systems, EV chargers, air conditioning. 1,589 MW connected across 409,000 connected services at 30 June 2026, up from 1,454 MW. The FY26 ambition was 2 GW; achieved 1,589 MW — a miss. Origin partners with hardware vendors including FranklinWH and Fox ESS to widen device eligibility.
Origin solar and batteries. Residential rooftop solar and home battery supply and installation, feeding the Loop VPP. SolarQuotes, acquired in FY25, functions as a lead-generation and comparison asset at the top of this funnel.
EV Power Up and e-mobility. EV charging tariffs and load-shifting products explicitly named by the CEO in the FY26 results as "getting strong take-up." 2,841 EVs under management at 30 June 2026, up from 1,638 — against an FY26 ambition of 5,000, a miss.
Origin Rewards. Loyalty and retention programme comprising Energy Happy Hours, Everyday Rewards integration, a fuel discount offer, Origin Movies, Origin Spike (demand-response gamification) and refer-a-friend.
Community Energy Services. Embedded network and apartment/centralised energy supply, built substantially on the WINconnect acquisition. 484,000 customer accounts at 30 June 2026 (208,000 electricity and 276,000 gas as separately disclosed).
Home Assist and VOIP. Ancillary services; 111,000 accounts at 30 June 2026, down 6,000.
Acquired retail brands. Energy Locals (acquired November 2025, 52,200 accounts) and 1st Energy (acquired 6 February 2026, approximately 80,000 accounts). Management has indicated 1st Energy is expected to persist as a distinct brand and absorb the Energy Locals base — a deliberate multi-brand strategy to compete in the value segment without diluting the Origin masterbrand.
Energy Markets — Business and Enterprise (Origin Zero)
Origin Zero. The enterprise proposition for large commercial and industrial customers, led by EGM James Magill, offering an integrated decarbonisation service rather than commodity supply alone. Components: enterprise electricity and gas supply, lower-carbon solutions, large-scale behind-the-meter solar and storage, EV fleet solutions, GreenPower, renewable PPAs, demand management, and energy reporting via the EnergyZone portal. 30.8 per cent of large business customers were on more than just energy supply at 30 June 2026, up from 26.7 per cent — against an ambition of more than one-third, a narrow miss. FY26 capex included Kraken commercial-and-industrial implementation and EV purchases (A$77 million combined with other Origin Zero initiatives).
Business electricity and gas. SME and mid-market supply; 21,000 electricity and 1,000 gas business accounts. FY26 business volumes 19.9 TWh. Business tariffs frequently incorporate pool pass-through arrangements, which is why business customer tariffs cost Energy Markets A$180 million in FY26 while simultaneously delivering A$182 million of lower spot purchase costs — a largely offsetting mechanic that is easily misread as margin compression.
Energy Markets — Generation and supply assets
Source: FY26 Annual Report, OFR §5.1.2, Electricity supply table. Total owned and contracted portfolio is 8.6 GW, including 3 GW of gas-fired generation and 2.8 GW of owned and contracted renewables and storage (FY26 Annual Report, About Origin).
Battery development programme. Six projects totalling 1,760 MW / 6,408 MWh, of which three build-and-own and three tolling arrangements. Total capex approximately A$1,780 million, with A$1,634 million cumulative spend to 30 June 2026.
Zeros for tolled projects denote not applicable (no Origin capex) rather than nil expenditure by the developer. Commercial operations dates: Eraring 1+3 on 24 December 2025; Supernode 1 on 14 February 2026; Supernode 2 on 19 June 2026; Mortlake in August 2026; Eraring 2+4 in Q1 CY27; Summerfield in 1H CY27.
Yanco Delta Wind Farm. Approximately 1.5 GW pre-final-investment-decision wind development in the NSW South West Renewable Energy Zone, with an associated 800 MWh battery. Awarded support under the Federal Capacity Investment Scheme. Origin's FY26 disclosure is unusually candid: "economics remain challenging, even with CIS support," and management spent A$33 million on development in FY26 plus consultation on a A$41 million shared benefits programme. This is the single largest unresolved capital allocation question in the portfolio.
Contracted gas supply and transport. A flexible long-term gas portfolio combining APLNG legacy contracts, fixed-price contracts (CPI-adjusted), oil-linked, JKM-linked and price-review/market contracts, supported by contracted transport across the Queensland CSG fields, Wallumbilla, Moomba, the South West Queensland Pipeline, Longford, Otway and the Iona underground gas storage facility. The Otway supply contract is subject to a price review effective July 2026 — a specific and disclosed FY27 earnings uncertainty.
Integrated Gas — APLNG
Australia Pacific LNG. Australia's largest CSG-to-LNG project. Origin holds 27.5 per cent and is upstream operator; ConocoPhillips operates downstream. Operated fields: Spring Gully; Reedy Creek, Combabula and Peat; Condabri, Talinga and Orana. Non-operated interests in GLNG and QGC acreage.
FY26 2P reserves rose 332 PJ before production, a 61 per cent operated reserves replacement rate.*
LNG offtake contracts. Sinopec approximately 7.6 mtpa to 2035; Kansai approximately 1.0 mtpa to 2035. Legacy domestic contracts with Origin (to 2034), Rio Tinto (2031), QAL (2041) and QGC (2035).
Origin LNG trading. Origin's own portfolio trading around the APLNG position, generating A$140 million of gains in FY26 (down from A$441 million in FY25) plus a A$19 million oil and FX hedging gain (versus an A$84 million loss in FY25).
Global growth — Octopus Energy
Origin's share of Octopus and Kraken EBITDA by sub-line (A$m):
Non-UK operations exceed one million accounts in each of Germany and Italy, with more than 75 per cent of acquisitions in Italy and Spain via direct channels. Octopus was named Britain's Most Admired Company in 2025 and holds a 26 per cent UK market share, ranking fifth-largest in Europe.
Global growth — Kraken Technologies
Adjusted EBITDA excludes migration delivery spend and capitalisation timing adjustments. FY26 statutory EBITDA of negative £9 million reflects £64 million of migration delivery costs landing ahead of revenue plus £16 million of previously capitalised FY25 costs being expensed. This is a timing distortion, not a deterioration in unit economics: subscription gross margin was 75 per cent and contracted ARR grew 44 per cent.
Kraken's addressable market is characterised by Origin as US$50–110 billion across Power & Utilities and Telco. Product expansion in FY26 covered commercial and industrial, water, telecoms, flexibility and field services. Deployments span 40-plus migrations in 20-plus countries, with 75 per cent of customers on multi-product offerings and gross retention above 99 per cent. A strategic partnership with Saudi Energy was signed, encompassing more than 10 million new accounts and a Middle East/North Africa joint venture.
Product Portfolio
| Generation asset | Nameplate capacity (MW) | Type | FY2026 output (GWh) | FY2025 output (GWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Eraring Units 1-4 | 2880 | Black coal | 13029 | 14157 |
Eraring gas turbine | 42 | OCGT | 0 | 0 |
Darling Downs | 644 | CCGT | 1221 | 1657 |
Uranquinty | 692 | OCGT | 347 | 377 |
Mortlake | 584 | OCGT | 616 | 572 |
Mount Stuart | 423 | OCGT | 7 | 28 |
Quarantine | 234 | OCGT | 154 | 202 |
Osborne | 180 | CCGT | 344 | 383 |
Ladbroke Grove | 80 | OCGT | 119 | 71 |
Roma | 80 | OCGT | 8 | 19 |
| Battery project | Structure | Capacity (MW) | Storage (MWh) | State | Pre-FY26 capex (A$m) | FY2026 capex (A$m) | Total capex (A$m) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Eraring Stage 1 + 3 | Build and own | 460 | 1770 | NSW | 731 | 113 | 850 |
Eraring Stage 2 + 4 | Build and own | 240 | 1390 | NSW | 89 | 316 | 530 |
Mortlake | Build and own | 300 | 650 | VIC | 330 | 54 | 400 |
Supernode Stage 1 | Toll | 260 | 546 | QLD | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Supernode Stage 2 | Toll | 260 | 1092 | QLD | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Summerfield | Toll | 240 | 960 | SA | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Total | 1760 | 6408 | 1150 | 484 | 1780 |
| APLNG operational metric (100 per cent) | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Total upstream production (PJ) | 0 | 682 | 668 |
Operated production (PJ) | 0 | 554 | 540 |
Non-operated production (PJ) | 0 | 128 | 128 |
LNG sales volume (PJ) | 0 | 534 | 530 |
Domestic sales volume (PJ) | 0 | 137 | 126 |
LNG cargoes shipped (number) | 0 | 138 | 137 |
LNG revenue (A$m) | 0 | 8822 | 7232 |
Domestic gas revenue (A$m) | 0 | 1077 | 813 |
Average realised LNG price (US$/mmbtu) | 0 | 11.29 | 9.76 |
Average realised LNG price (A$/GJ) | 0 | 16.52 | 13.64 |
Average realised domestic price (A$/GJ) | 0 | 7.89 | 6.45 |
Realised oil price (US$/bbl) | 0 | 83 | 72 |
2P reserves at year end (PJ) | 0 | 0 | 9619 |
Operated wells drilled (number) | 0 | 0 | 82 |
Well availability (%) | 0 | 0 | 96 |
| Octopus Energy metric (100 per cent) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
UK customer accounts (thousands) | 14030 | 14842 |
Non-UK customer accounts (thousands) | 2714 | 4135 |
Total customer accounts (thousands) | 16744 | 18977 |
UK Retail EBITDA per customer (GBP) | 0 | 39 |
VPP flexible capacity (GW) | 0 | 3.2 |
Energy Services installs in year (thousands) | 0 | 100 |
EV leasing fleet (vehicles) | 0 | 49000 |
| Octopus/Kraken sub-line, Origin share (A$m) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
UK Retail | 34 | 134 |
Non-UK Retail | -41 | -96 |
Energy Services | -109 | -43 |
Kraken Technologies | 27 | -4 |
Total | -88 | -8 |
| Kraken metric (100 per cent) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Contracted accounts (millions) | 32 | 51 | 74 | 95 |
Live accounts (millions) | 23 | 35 | 45 | 52 |
Revenue (GBP m) | 112 | 163 | 248 | 300 |
EBITDA (GBP m) | 71 | 89 | 62 | -9 |
Adjusted EBITDA (GBP m) | 0 | 0 | 75 | 72 |
Financial Narrative
Income statement
FY26 pretax income and tax expense are from S&P Global's normalised TTM dataset as at 13 August 2026 and may differ marginally from the statutory financial statements.*
Discussion of trends. The five-year revenue path is not a growth story; it is a commodity-price story. Revenue rose 14 per cent in FY23 and 6.7 per cent in FY25 on wholesale price pass-through, then fell 9.6 per cent in FY26 as those prices unwound. Over the full five years, segment revenue compounded at 1.9 per cent — barely ahead of inflation and behind volume growth in accounts, which tells you tariffs have round-tripped.
The far more informative line is the divergence between statutory and underlying profit. Statutory profit has risen for four consecutive years, from a A$1,429 million loss in FY22 to A$1,574 million in FY26. Underlying profit peaked at A$1,490 million in FY25 and fell 22 per cent in FY26. In FY26 statutory profit exceeded underlying profit by A$415 million — the reverse of the usual relationship — because of A$759 million of post-tax items excluded from underlying profit, dominated by A$484 million from Origin's share of Octopus's fair value gain on the retained Kraken stake and A$147 million from the exclusivity waiver. Both are non-cash marks on an unlisted holding. An investor treating FY26 statutory EPS of A$0.91 as run-rate earnings power is overstating it by roughly a third; underlying EPS of 67.4 cents is the honest number.
Margins
Revenue CAGR, FY2022 to FY2026: 1.9 per cent on segment revenue; 1.8 per cent on total revenue including other income. Underlying EBITDA CAGR, FY2022 to FY2026: 11.1 per cent. Underlying profit CAGR, FY2022 to FY2026: 29.9 per cent — though from a depressed base.
The Energy Markets electricity gross margin expanded from 15.9 to 17.5 per cent in FY26, and gross profit per MWh from A$40.7 to A$45.2. Against a medium-term target range of A$25–40/MWh, FY26 sits materially above target, and management has explicitly guided that FY27 will remain above target and FY28 will see "moderation of gross profit as lower forward prices flow through to tariffs." This is a rare and valuable piece of self-disclosure: the company is telling shareholders its current electricity margin is not sustainable.
Balance sheet
Note the NTA per share of A$3.77 at FY26 excludes A$1,080 million of lease-related right-of-use assets (FY25: A$413 million), per the Appendix 4E — the 7 per cent NTA decline is almost entirely a lease-accounting artefact from the Supernode battery tolling agreements, not value destruction.*
Balance sheet commentary. Two inflections dominate. First, total assets fell A$5,072 million between FY22 and FY23 as the extraordinary in-the-money derivative position from the FY22 energy crisis unwound — visible in other current assets collapsing from A$3,511 million to A$1,332 million and other long-term assets from A$3,126 million to A$1,649 million. This also explains the FY22 goodwill impairment of A$2,196 million, which Origin explicitly adds back when computing capital employed for ROCE, on the reasoning that the derivative uplift was temporary but the goodwill write-down is irreversible. That adjustment is defensible but investors should note ROCE would be roughly 1.5 percentage points lower without it.
Second, PP&E has risen 96 per cent from A$3,208 million in FY23 to A$6,290 million in FY26, with construction in progress peaking at A$2,135 million in FY25. This is the battery build. Total debt rose in lockstep from A$3,309 million to A$5,006 million. Origin has, in substance, levered the balance sheet by A$1.7 billion to buy 1.8 GW of firming capacity.
Debt portfolio. At 30 June 2026: A$2,075 million AUD debt, US$525 million left unhedged in USD (A$763 million, deliberately maintained to offset the USD-denominated APLNG investment), and €600 million swapped to A$973 million. Lease liabilities of A$1,175 million. Total interest-bearing liabilities including leases A$4,986 million; adjusted net debt A$4,852 million after A$113 million of cash (excluding A$194 million held on behalf of APLNG as operator). Average term to maturity shortened from 3.6 to 3.4 years; rolling 12-month average interest rate on drawn debt stable at 5.0 per cent. Liquidity of approximately A$3.0 billion comprising A$113 million cash and A$2.9 billion undrawn committed facilities. During FY26 Origin extended two bank facilities totalling A$1,285 million maturing in FY27 into FY30 and FY31 and upsized capacity by A$265 million to A$1,550 million, plus extended a A$350 million bank guarantee facility from FY27 to FY29.
Cash flow
FY26 on-market purchases of A$109 million relate to employee share schemes and the Dividend Reinvestment Plan, not a capital-return buyback.*
FY26 free cash flow bridge (A$m). Underlying EBITDA adjusted for non-cash items 1,963; working capital and other +112; tax paid −158; giving operating cash flow of 1,917. Then APLNG distributions +911; capex −969; acquisitions, disposals and grants −21; net interest −223; giving free cash flow of 1,615. Adding back major growth spend of 484 (Eraring battery 430, Mortlake battery 54), Queensland Government bill relief unwind of 100, and removing futures collateral inflow of 125, yields adjusted free cash flow of 2,074.
Cash flow commentary. The A$1,492 million year-on-year increase in operating cash flow is the headline of FY26, and it is important to disaggregate it honestly. Of that improvement, A$609 million is lower tax paid — a timing effect, because FY25 carried a large balancing payment for the FY24 tax return plus the transition of APLNG dividends from partially to fully franked. A further A$365 million is the swing in futures exchange collateral, which is pure working capital. A$278 million is favourable working capital. Only A$123 million is higher cash EBITDA. Roughly 92 per cent of the operating cash flow improvement is non-recurring or working capital. Management did not obscure this, but the market reaction — shares up 5.9 per cent on the day — arguably rewarded the wrong line.
Energy Markets cash conversion exceeded 100 per cent of EBITDA in FY26, helped by strong collections through an automated credit decision engine, the reduced drag from Queensland bill relief, and futures collateral returns. Capex fell 34 per cent to A$969 million as the battery programme tapered, and FY27 guidance of A$450–650 million implies a further 40 per cent reduction.
Ratios
ROE and ROA are computed on average balances. The FY24 leverage figure of 1.0x was as originally reported; the FY25 figure of 1.7x is on the revised franking-inclusive basis (originally reported 1.9x). Cash conversion cycle is not meaningfully computable for an integrated energy retailer with negligible inventory relative to throughput and is therefore not disclosed here; inventory turnover of 64.6x is provided as the closest available proxy.*
Ratio commentary. Origin's leverage at 1.6x sits below its own 2.0–3.0x target range, and management has explicitly guided that it expects to move into the lower end of that range in FY27 as remaining battery capex, battery leases, the Kraken investment and lower LNG trading gains all land. In other words, current leverage understates the steady-state. The dividend payout at 50 per cent of adjusted free cash flow in FY26 is exactly at the policy minimum, down from 86 per cent in FY25 and versus a three-year average of 70 per cent — the Board has taken the conservative option despite the cash flow surge, which is prudent given the FY27 capital calls but disappoints income-focused holders.
Underlying ROCE of 12.6 per cent, down 2.0 percentage points, is the cleanest single indicator of what FY26 actually was: a year in which capital employed grew 7 per cent (to A$18,625 million) while adjusted EBIT fell 9 per cent (to A$2,141 million). The battery investment is in the denominator; its earnings are not yet fully in the numerator. Whether ROCE recovers in FY28 as the batteries ramp is the central medium-term test of this capital cycle.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Segment revenue (A$m) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 13636 | 15406 | 15607 | 16745 | 15262 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 825 | 1075 | 531 | 479 | 307 |
Total group segment revenue | 14461 | 16481 | 16138 | 17224 | 15569 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment revenue growth (%) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 13.0 | 1.3 | 7.3 | -8.9 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 30.3 | -50.6 | -9.8 | -35.9 |
Total | 14.0 | -2.1 | 6.7 | -9.6 |
Segment Revenue
| Share of total revenue (%) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 94.3 | 93.5 | 96.7 | 97.2 | 98.0 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 5.7 | 6.5 | 3.3 | 2.8 | 2.0 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment underlying EBITDA (A$m) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 401 | 1038 | 1655 | 1404 | 1701 |
Integrated Gas total | 1837 | 1919 | 1951 | 2202 | 1620 |
Integrated Gas - Share of APLNG | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1875 | 1478 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 0 | 0 | 0 | 327 | 142 |
Share of Octopus Energy | -36 | 240 | 22 | -88 | -8 |
Corporate | -88 | -90 | -100 | -107 | -93 |
Group underlying EBITDA | 2114 | 3107 | 3528 | 3411 | 3220 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment underlying EBIT (A$m) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 950 | 1143 |
Share of Octopus Energy | -169 | -226 |
Integrated Gas - Share of APLNG | 916 | 657 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 309 | 122 |
Corporate | -111 | -93 |
Group underlying EBIT | 1895 | 1603 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment underlying profit/(loss) (A$m) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 950 | 1143 |
Share of Octopus Energy | -169 | -226 |
Integrated Gas - Share of APLNG | 916 | 657 |
Integrated Gas - Other | 309 | 122 |
Corporate | -516 | -537 |
Group underlying profit | 1490 | 1159 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment margin and growth | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Energy Markets EBITDA margin on segment revenue (%) | 8.4 | 11.1 |
Energy Markets EBITDA YoY growth (%) | -15.2 | 21.2 |
Integrated Gas EBITDA YoY growth (%) | 12.9 | -26.4 |
Group underlying EBITDA YoY growth (%) | -3.3 | -5.6 |
Underlying ROCE, 24-month rolling, group (%) | 14.6 | 12.6 |
Underlying ROCE, Energy Markets (%) | 11.3 | 10.6 |
Underlying ROCE, Integrated Gas (%) | 23.5 | 22.1 |
Segment Revenue
| Contribution to group underlying EBITDA (%) | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Energy Markets | 46.9 | 41.2 | 52.8 |
Integrated Gas | 55.3 | 64.6 | 50.3 |
Share of Octopus Energy | 0.6 | -2.6 | -0.2 |
Corporate | -2.8 | -3.1 | -2.9 |
Financial Analysis
| Income statement metric (A$m) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total group segment revenue | 14461 | 16481 | 16138 | 17224 | 15569 |
Total revenue including other income | 14567 | 16526 | 16183 | 17269 | 15612 |
Statutory operating income | -549 | 257 | 952 | 1219 | 913 |
Statutory pretax income | -874 | 1478 | 2003 | 1596 | 1665 |
Statutory income tax expense | 551 | 420 | 606 | 116 | 91 |
Statutory net profit attributable to members | -1429 | 1055 | 1397 | 1481 | 1574 |
Underlying EBITDA | 2114 | 3107 | 3528 | 3411 | 3220 |
Underlying EBIT | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1895 | 1603 |
Underlying profit | 407 | 747 | 1183 | 1490 | 1159 |
Statutory EPS basic (A$) | -0.81 | 0.61 | 0.81 | 0.86 | 0.91 |
Statutory EPS diluted (A$) | -0.81 | 0.61 | 0.81 | 0.86 | 0.91 |
Underlying EPS (A cents) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 86.7 | 67.4 |
Dividends per share (A cents) | 29.0 | 36.5 | 55.0 | 60.0 | 60.0 |
Interim dividend (A cents) | 12.5 | 16.5 | 27.5 | 30.0 | 30.0 |
Final dividend (A cents) | 16.5 | 20.0 | 27.5 | 30.0 | 30.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Margin metric (%) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Underlying EBITDA margin on segment revenue | 14.6 | 18.9 | 21.9 | 19.8 | 20.7 |
Statutory operating margin | -3.8 | 1.6 | 5.9 | 7.1 | 5.8 |
Statutory net profit margin | -9.8 | 6.4 | 8.6 | 8.6 | 10.1 |
Statutory pretax margin | -6.0 | 8.9 | 12.4 | 9.2 | 10.7 |
Electricity gross margin (Energy Markets) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15.9 | 17.5 |
Effective tax rate on underlying earnings | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 28.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Balance sheet metric (A$m) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents | 620 | 463 | 625 | 161 | 307 |
Cash and investments including trading securities | 1233 | 919 | 1302 | 760 | 866 |
Accounts receivable | 2831 | 2324 | 2747 | 2959 | 2448 |
Inventory | 182 | 180 | 223 | 193 | 268 |
Total current assets | 8297 | 4979 | 6009 | 5250 | 4463 |
Property plant and equipment | 3541 | 3208 | 3891 | 5097 | 6290 |
Goodwill | 1965 | 1964 | 2091 | 2106 | 2119 |
Other intangible assets | 558 | 490 | 448 | 443 | 468 |
Goodwill and intangibles combined | 2523 | 2454 | 2539 | 2549 | 2587 |
Equity accounted and long-term investments | 6488 | 6598 | 7213 | 7473 | 7098 |
Total assets | 24020 | 18948 | 20454 | 20989 | 20779 |
Accounts payable | 3485 | 2152 | 3242 | 3057 | 2414 |
Short-term debt including current leases | 364 | 202 | 110 | 91 | 139 |
Long-term debt including long-term leases | 3131 | 3107 | 3327 | 4766 | 4867 |
Total debt including leases | 3495 | 3309 | 3437 | 4857 | 5006 |
Net debt on S&P basis | 2262 | 2390 | 2135 | 4097 | 4140 |
Adjusted net debt on company basis | 2838 | 0 | 0 | 4654 | 4852 |
Total current liabilities | 6928 | 4775 | 5576 | 4564 | 4099 |
Total liabilities | 13998 | 10037 | 10965 | 11070 | 10645 |
Shareholders equity | 10022 | 8911 | 9489 | 9919 | 10134 |
Working capital | 1369 | 204 | 433 | 686 | 364 |
Book value per share (A$) | 5.82 | 5.17 | 5.52 | 5.78 | 5.90 |
Net tangible assets per share (A$) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.05 | 3.77 |
Financial Analysis
| Cash flow metric (A$m) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash flow from operating activities | 531 | -633 | 1114 | 425 | 1917 |
Capital expenditure, company basis | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1473 | 969 |
Capital expenditure, S&P basis | 227 | 383 | 608 | 1401 | 902 |
Free cash flow, S&P basis | 304 | -1016 | 506 | -976 | 1015 |
Free cash flow, company basis | 0 | 0 | 0 | -660 | 1615 |
Adjusted free cash flow, company basis | 0 | 965 | 1296 | 1207 | 2074 |
Cash distributions from APLNG | 1595 | 1783 | 1384 | 797 | 911 |
Dividends paid in cash | 0 | 0 | 0 | 991 | 971 |
Tax paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 767 | 158 |
Net interest and transaction costs paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 215 | 239 |
Share buybacks and on-market purchases | 0 | 250 | 0 | 82 | 109 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity on statutory profit (%) | -13.5 | 11.1 | 15.2 | 15.3 | 15.7 |
Return on assets on statutory profit (%) | -5.9 | 4.9 | 7.1 | 7.1 | 7.5 |
Underlying ROCE 24-month rolling (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14.6 | 12.6 |
Current ratio | 1.20 | 1.04 | 1.08 | 1.15 | 1.09 |
Quick ratio | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0.71 |
Total debt to equity | 0.35 | 0.37 | 0.36 | 0.49 | 0.49 |
Adjusted net debt to adjusted underlying EBITDA (x) | 0 | 0 | 1.0 | 1.7 | 1.6 |
Interest coverage on underlying EBIT (x) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10.8 | 8.5 |
Asset turnover on segment revenue | 0.60 | 0.77 | 0.82 | 0.83 | 0.75 |
Inventory turnover | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 64.6 |
Dividend payout as percentage of adjusted free cash flow | 0 | 66 | 0 | 86 | 50 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geographic revenue (A$m) | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Australia consolidated revenue | 16138 | 17224 | 15569 |
Non-Australia consolidated revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Geographic Revenue
| Electricity volumes sold (TWh) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
New South Wales and ACT | 16.6 | 16.7 |
Victoria and Tasmania | 7.8 | 8.5 |
Queensland | 7.7 | 7.5 |
South Australia, WA and NT | 4.0 | 3.9 |
Total | 36.0 | 36.5 |
Geographic Revenue
| Customer accounts by state, electricity and gas combined (thousands) | FY2026 |
|---|---|
New South Wales and ACT electricity | 1197 |
New South Wales and ACT gas | 428 |
Victoria and Tasmania electricity | 749 |
Victoria and Tasmania gas | 542 |
Queensland electricity | 693 |
Queensland gas | 171 |
South Australia electricity | 285 |
South Australia gas | 206 |
Western Australia gas | 36 |
Northern Territory | 3 |
Geographic Revenue
| Look-through international metric | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Octopus UK customer accounts (thousands, 100 per cent) | 14030 | 14842 |
Octopus non-UK customer accounts (thousands, 100 per cent) | 2714 | 4135 |
Kraken contracted accounts (millions, 100 per cent) | 74 | 95 |
Kraken revenue (GBP m, 100 per cent) | 248 | 300 |
APLNG LNG revenue (A$m, 100 per cent) | 8822 | 7232 |
APLNG domestic revenue (A$m, 100 per cent) | 1077 | 813 |
Capital Markets
| Share price metric | Value | Date |
|---|---|---|
Closing price (A$) | 11.57 | 11 September 2026 |
Closing price (A$) | 11.86 | 13 August 2026, FY26 results day, up 5.33 per cent |
Pre-market price on results day (A$) | 11.925 | 13 August 2026 |
Prior close before results (A$) | 11.26 | 12 August 2026 |
Closing price (A$) | 10.64 | 28 July 2026 |
Closing price (A$) | 11.34 | 20 January 2026, Eraring extension day, up 2.62 per cent |
52-week price change (%) | -1.33 | as at 13 August 2026 |
Implied 52-week low (A$) | 10.23 | derived from the 16.6 per cent premium cited on 13 August 2026 |
Implied 52-week high (A$) | 13.13 | derived from the 9.2 per cent discount cited on 13 August 2026 |
50-day moving average (A$) | 10.74 | 13 August 2026 |
200-day moving average (A$) | 11.48 | 13 August 2026 |
Beta, 5-year | 0.46 | 13 August 2026 |
Average daily volume, 20 days (shares) | 4352561 | 13 August 2026 |
Capital Markets
| Total return period | Performance |
|---|---|
1 year | -1.33 per cent price return; approximately +4 per cent including the 5.33 per cent gross dividend yield |
3 year | 0 |
5 year | 0 |
Capital Markets
| Valuation metric | Origin at 13 Aug 2026 | Origin FY2026 basis | Origin FY2025 basis |
|---|---|---|---|
Market capitalisation (A$bn) | 20.42 | 0 | 0 |
Enterprise value (A$bn) | 24.41 | 0 | 0 |
Trailing PE on statutory earnings | 13.00 | 12.01 | 12.50 |
Forward PE | 18.26 | 15.59 | 15.32 |
PE on underlying EPS of 67.4 cents | 17.6 | 0 | 0 |
Price to sales | 1.29 | 1.21 | 1.07 |
Price to book | 2.01 | 0 | 0 |
Price to tangible book | 2.70 | 0 | 0 |
EV to sales | 1.54 | 0 | 0 |
EV to EBITDA on S&P normalised EBITDA | 10.15 | 0 | 0 |
EV to underlying EBITDA of A$3,220m | 7.58 | 0 | 0 |
EV to EBIT | 13.37 | 0 | 0 |
Price to free cash flow | 20.11 | 18.62 | 0 |
Dividend yield (%) | 5.33 | 5.61 | 5.99 |
Earnings yield (%) | 7.71 | 0 | 0 |
FCF yield (%) | 4.97 | 0 | 0 |
Capital Markets
| Consensus metric | Value | Date |
|---|---|---|
Consensus rating | Buy | 13 August 2026 |
Number of analysts | 11 | 13 August 2026 |
Average price target (A$) | 11.72 | 13 August 2026 |
Implied upside/downside (%) | -1.18 | versus A$11.86 |
Revenue growth forecast, 3 year (%) | -2.70 | 13 August 2026 |
EPS growth forecast, 3 year (%) | -10.96 | 13 August 2026 |
Adjusted EPS actual FY26 (A$) | 0.3521 | Reported |
Adjusted EPS consensus FY26 (A$) | 0.361 | Miss of 2.47 per cent |
Capital Markets
| Dividend metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Interim dividend (A cents) | 0 | 12.5 | 16.5 | 27.5 | 30.0 | 30.0 |
Final dividend (A cents) | 0 | 16.5 | 20.0 | 27.5 | 30.0 | 30.0 |
Total dividend (A cents) | 20.0 | 29.0 | 36.5 | 55.0 | 60.0 | 60.0 |
Dividend growth (%) | -20.0 | 45.0 | 25.9 | 50.7 | 9.1 | 0.0 |
Franking level | 0 | Partial | Full | Full | Full | Full |
Payout as percentage of adjusted free cash flow | 0 | 0 | 66 | 0 | 86 | 50 |
Dividend yield at fiscal year end (%) | 0 | 6.39 | 5.23 | 5.77 | 5.99 | 5.61 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Baa2 long-term issuer; P-2 short-term | Stable | Confirmed in FY26 Annual Report, OFR §4.4 |
S&P Global Ratings | BBB | 0 | Affirmed on or around 4 August 2026 |
Fitch | 0 | 0 | Not rated or not publicly disclosed |
APLNG Processing Pty Ltd | Baa2 (Moody's, historical) | Stable | — |
Capital Markets
| Tranche | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 | 2030 | 2031 | 2032 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank loan variable | 591 | 591 | 591 | 591 | 591 | 441 | 141 |
US Exim | 679 | 382 | 162 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
US Private Placement | 1787 | 1690 | 1437 | 930 | 297 | 0 | 0 |
Total | 3057 | 2663 | 2190 | 1521 | 888 | 441 | 141 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance summary
Origin's FY27 guidance implies a flat-to-modestly-lower year. Energy Markets EBITDA guidance of A$1,550–1,850 million has a midpoint identical to FY26's A$1,701 million. APLNG production declines to 625–670 PJ while APLNG capex and opex rises to A$3.0–3.3 billion — a scissor movement that will reduce free cash generation from the upstream asset even if realised prices improve. Origin capex falls sharply to A$450–650 million. Octopus UK Retail EBITDA per customer is guided at £25–50 against £39 achieved, a wide band reflecting weather and smart-tariff investment uncertainty. Kraken revenue growth is guided above 20 per cent with subscription gross margins above 70 per cent and the 100 million contracted account target expected to be reached during the year.
The two quantified swing factors for FY27 are the oil price lag — approximately 40 per cent of Origin's roughly 16 MMboe FY27 JCC exposure priced at approximately US$100/bbl against US$72/bbl realised in FY26 — and the estimated A$163 million net loss on oil and FX hedging. Leverage is guided to rise from 1.6x into the lower end of the 2.0–3.0x range.
Consensus expectations
Eleven analysts maintain a "Buy" consensus with an average target of A$11.72, marginally below the 13 August price of A$11.86. Consensus forecasts three-year revenue growth of negative 2.7 per cent and three-year EPS growth of negative 11.0 per cent. FY26 adjusted EPS of A$0.3521 came in 2.47 per cent below the A$0.361 consensus.
Bull case
1. The oil lag is a quantified, near-certain FY27 earnings tailwind. Origin has disclosed that 40 per cent of its FY27 JCC exposure is already priced at approximately US$100/bbl versus US$72/bbl realised in FY26. Applying Origin's own historical sensitivity — a US$10/bbl move in the realised oil price shifts group underlying EBITDA by approximately A$120 million — a US$28/bbl uplift on 40 per cent of exposure implies roughly A$134 million of EBITDA, before the A$163 million hedging offset. If the remaining 60 per cent prices anywhere near current forwards, Integrated Gas EBITDA recovers meaningfully from the A$1,620 million FY26 trough.
2. Kraken is materially undervalued in Origin's share price. Origin's 22.7 per cent economic interest in Kraken at the July 2026 US$8.65 billion look-through valuation is worth approximately US$1.96 billion, or roughly A$3.0 billion — about 15 per cent of Origin's A$20 billion market capitalisation, for an asset growing contracted ARR at 44 per cent with 99 per cent gross retention and 75 per cent subscription gross margins. That valuation was set by external investors including D1 Capital Partners and a strategic utility customer, not by management. A public listing would crystallise it, and the ESG News commentary that the separation sets the stage for a listing is the specific catalyst. Note that Origin's 22.7 per cent of Octopus Energy is additional to this and carries no separate disclosed mark.
3. The capex cliff converts to distributable cash. Capex falls from A$1,473 million in FY25 to A$969 million in FY26 to A$450–650 million guided for FY27 — approximately A$920 million of annual cash released from the FY25 peak. With adjusted free cash flow already at A$2,074 million and the dividend at the 50 per cent policy floor, Origin has visible capacity to lift distributions materially, or to fund Yanco Delta without stressing the balance sheet, or both. At a 5.6 per cent fully franked yield grossing to roughly 8.0 per cent for domestic investors, a payout increase would be immediately and forcefully re-rating.
Bear case
1. Reported earnings quality is deteriorating and the market has not priced it. Statutory profit rose 6 per cent while underlying profit fell 22 per cent, because A$631 million of the A$759 million of excluded items are non-cash marks on an unlisted associate. Separately, roughly 92 per cent of the celebrated A$1,492 million operating cash flow improvement was lower tax paid and futures collateral timing, not earnings. On underlying EPS of 67.4 cents the stock trades at 17.6x, not the 13.0x headline — and consensus expects EPS to fall a further 11 per cent over three years. The 5.9 per cent share price rise on results day rewarded the wrong lines.
2. Energy Markets earnings are at a cyclical peak and management has said so. Electricity gross profit of A$45.2/MWh sits well above the A$25–40/MWh medium-term target range, which explicitly incorporates the committed batteries, existing gas generation, current retail margin and the Eraring exit. Management guides that FY28 will see "moderation of gross profit as lower forward prices flow through to tariffs." FY27 Energy Markets guidance is flat at the midpoint despite a full year of 1.8 GW of new batteries — meaning the entire benefit of a A$1.78 billion capital programme is being consumed by tariff resets. If the medium-term target range is the honest steady state, Energy Markets EBITDA has A$300–500 million of downside from here.
3. The strategic core is eroding faster than the growth option is compounding. APLNG production is in disclosed natural decline with rising costs and a two-year drilling lag. Eraring runs to 2029 with no further major overhauls on a plant with an 8 per cent forced outage factor. The Kraken Australian exclusivity — Origin's technology moat — has been sold. The 4–5 GW renewables target is barely a third committed and Yanco Delta economics are described by the company as "very challenging." And the July 2026 breach of 900,000 customer records directly threatens the 6.7 percentage point churn advantage that underwrites the retail business. Each of these is manageable alone; together they describe a company whose defensible domestic position is thinning while its growth is concentrated in two minority stakes it does not control.
Catalysts and monitorables for the next 12 months
Analyst verdict
Origin Energy in FY26 is a company whose reported results and underlying reality have separated, and the gap is unusually wide. Statutory profit of A$1,574 million and adjusted free cash flow of A$2,074 million produced a 5.9 per cent share price rally; underlying profit of A$1,159 million, underlying EPS down 22 per cent, ROCE down 200 basis points and cash flow improvement that was 92 per cent tax timing and working capital tell a materially less encouraging story. Investors should anchor on underlying EPS of 67.4 cents and the 17.6x multiple it implies, not the 13.0x headline.
The investment case rests on three things being true simultaneously: that the domestic utility can hold Energy Markets EBITDA near A$1.7 billion as electricity gross profit reverts from A$45.2/MWh toward a A$25–40/MWh target range management itself published; that APLNG's decline is arrested by increased drilling before the FY27 oil lag tailwind fades; and that Kraken and Octopus compound fast enough to matter. The third is the strongest leg — Kraken's 44 per cent contracted ARR growth, 99 per cent retention and US$8.65 billion externally-set valuation are genuinely impressive, and roughly A$3.0 billion of Origin's A$20 billion capitalisation is a defensible if not obviously cheap mark for it. The first is the weakest, and management's flat FY27 Energy Markets guidance despite 1.8 GW of new batteries is a quiet admission of it.
What makes this a hold rather than a sell is the balance sheet: 1.6x leverage below a 2–3x target, A$3.0 billion of liquidity, a capex cliff releasing roughly A$920 million annually from the FY25 peak, and a fully franked 5.6 per cent yield paid at the policy floor with obvious room to rise. What makes it a hold rather than a buy is that four of nine published ambitions were missed, the technology moat has been sold, and 900,000 customer records are in the wrong hands. Rating: Hold. The dividend is safe; the earnings are not growing; the option is real but not free.
Executive Leadership
| Director | Role | Tenure at FY26 | Prior roles | Education | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Scott Perkins | Independent Non-executive Chair | 10 years 11 months, 5 years 10 months as Chair | Head of Corporate Finance, Deutsche Bank Australia and NZ; CEO Deutsche Bank NZ; Deputy CEO Bankers Trust NZ; Chair, Woolworths Group | BCom, LLB (Hons), Auckland | Chair of Nomination; member of Audit and Risk, Remuneration People and Culture, Safety and Sustainability |
Frank Calabria | Managing Director and CEO | 9 years 10 months as CEO, at Origin since 2001 | Origin CFO 2001-2009; CEO Energy Markets 2009-2016; Chair, Australian Energy Council since Nov 2025 | BEc Macquarie; MBA (Exec) AGSM; FCA; FFin | Member, Safety and Sustainability; Director, Origin Foundation |
Ilana Atlas AO | Independent Non-executive Director | 5 years 6 months | Group Executive People, Westpac; Group Secretary and General Counsel, Westpac; Partner, Mallesons Stephen Jaques; Chair, Coca-Cola Amatil; Chair, Scentre Group | BJuris (Hons), LLB (Hons) UWA; LLM Sydney | Chair of Remuneration People and Culture; member of Nomination |
Deion Campbell | Independent Non-executive Director | 1 year 11 months | Operating Partner, Morrison; CEO Tilt Renewables; GM Generation, Trustpower; Chair, Longroad Energy Holdings | MEng (Electrical), Canterbury | Chair of Safety and Sustainability; member of Audit and Risk, Nomination |
Fiona Hick | Independent Non-executive Director | 1 year | CEO, Fortescue Metals Group (2023); EVP Operations, Woodside Energy | BEng UWA; BAppSc Murdoch | Member of Safety and Sustainability, Remuneration People and Culture |
Greg Lalicker | Independent Non-executive Director | 7 years 5 months | CEO, Hilcorp Energy Company; EVP and President, Hilcorp; BHP Petroleum; McKinsey & Company | Petroleum engineering, Tulsa; MBA; JD | Member of Remuneration People and Culture |
Mick McCormack | Independent Non-executive Director | 5 years 8 months | MD and CEO, APA Group 2004-2019; senior roles at AGL; Chair, Central Petroleum | MBA UQ; GradDipEng Monash; BAppSc UQ; FAICD | Member of Audit and Risk, Safety and Sustainability; Director, Origin Foundation |
Stephen Mikkelsen | Independent Non-executive Director | 1 year | CEO and MD, Sims Limited; CFO then EGM Energy Markets, AGL; CFO Snowy Hydro; CFO Contact Energy | BBS (Accounting and Finance), Massey; CA ANZ | Member of Safety and Sustainability |
Dr Nora Scheinkestel | Independent Non-executive Director | 4 years 5 months | Banking executive; Chair, Atlas Arteria; director of Telstra, Westpac, AusNet, Orica, Newcrest; currently Qantas and Brambles | LLB (Hons I), PhD Melbourne | Chair of Audit and Risk; member of Nomination |
Dame Joan Withers DNZM | Independent Non-executive Director | 5 years 10 months | CEO, Fairfax NZ; CEO, The Radio Network; Chair, The Warehouse Group; Chair, Mercury NZ; Chair, TVNZ | MBA Auckland | Member of Audit and Risk, Remuneration People and Culture |
| Executive | Title | At Origin since | Prior roles |
|---|---|---|---|
Frank Calabria | Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer | 2001 | Origin CFO; CEO Energy Markets |
Tony Lucas | Chief Financial Officer | 2002 | EGM Future Energy and Technology; ELT member since 2016; 30+ years across finance, strategy, transactions, risk, regulatory policy |
Jon Briskin | Executive General Manager, Retail | 2010 | Origin customer operations, service transformation, customer experience; previously management consultant |
Andrew Thornton | Executive General Manager, Energy Supply and Operations (from July 2026) | 2012 | EGM Integrated Gas; 10 years in private equity and investment banking including Executive Director, Principal Investment Area, Goldman Sachs JBWere |
Aleta Nicoll | Executive General Manager, Integrated Gas (from July 2026) | 2012 | Operational leadership roles at Origin; previously QGC and Woodside Energy |
James Magill | Executive General Manager, Origin Zero | 2022 | Leadership roles at Centrica, AGL and Genesis Energy in retail, technology, M&A and strategy |
Kate Jordan | General Counsel and EGM Risk, HSE and Governance | March 2020 | Deputy Chief Executive Partner, Clayton Utz; 25+ years legal experience |
Alicia Purtell | Executive General Manager, People and Culture | April 2026 | Chief People and Transformation Officer, Lion |
Samantha Stevens | Executive General Manager, Corporate Affairs | March 2018 | Head of Corporate Affairs, Orica; global media and Corporate Affairs M&A, BHP |
Helen Hardy | Company Secretary | Not disclosed | Signatory to FY26 Appendix 4E |
| Executive | FY2025 total remuneration (A$m) | Salary proportion (%) | Shareholding (% of company) |
|---|---|---|---|
Frank Calabria, CEO | 7.63 | 27.4 | 0.11 |
Tony Lucas, CFO | 3.28 | 0 | 0.016 |
Andrew Thornton, EGM | 3.52 | 0 | 0.019 |
Jon Briskin, EGM Retail | 3.56 | 0 | 0.033 |
EGM Integrated Gas | 3.30 | 0 | 0.016 |
| Holder | Approximate holding (%) | Basis |
|---|---|---|
AustralianSuper Pty Ltd | 17.0 | Largest single shareholder; the holding that defeated the 2023 Brookfield/EIG scheme |
State Street Global Advisors | 6.1 to 7.1 | Substantial holder notices; became substantial April 2024 at 5.26 per cent |
The Vanguard Group | 6.0 | Substantial holder data |
BlackRock | 0 | — |
| Ownership structure metric | Value |
|---|---|
Institutional ownership (%) | 47.0 |
Retail and general public ownership (%) | 53.0 |
Insider ownership (%) | 0.22 |
Free float (billion shares) | 1.70 |
Top 25 shareholders combined (%) | 43 |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | Ownership | Position |
|---|---|---|
AGL Energy Limited | ASX-listed | Closest direct peer; 4.6 million customer services at FY26 |
EnergyAustralia | CLP Group, Hong Kong | Third of the "Big Three"; more than 1.7 million residential and business customers |
Alinta Energy | Chow Tai Fook, Hong Kong; being acquired by Sembcorp (Singapore) | Largest Tier 2 challenger |
Red Energy and Lumo Energy | Snowy Hydro (Australian Government owned) | Tier 1 in several distribution zones; aggressive price competitor |
Momentum Energy | Hydro Tasmania (Tasmanian Government owned) | Tier 2 |
Ampol Energy | Ampol Limited (ASX-listed) | New entrant; retail book acquired by AGL in FY26 |
Amber Electric | Private | Wholesale pass-through disruptor; strong in VPP and battery households |
Powershop | Shell Energy Australia | Tier 2 |
ActewAGL | Joint venture | ACT incumbent |
Ergon Energy | Queensland Government | Regional Queensland incumbent |
Aurora Energy | Tasmanian Government | Tasmanian incumbent |
Origin Broadband competitors (Telstra, TPG, Aussie Broadband, Superloop) | Various | Compete in the adjacency Origin uses for bundling |
| Competitor | Position |
|---|---|
Santos Limited (GLNG) | Adjacent Curtis Island CSG-to-LNG project; APLNG holds a non-operated interest in GLNG acreage |
Shell / QGC (Queensland Curtis LNG) | Third Curtis Island train set; APLNG holds a non-operated interest in QGC acreage |
Woodside Energy Group | Largest Australian LNG producer; competes for North Asian offtake |
Beach Energy | East-coast domestic gas supply; purchaser of Origin's former Lattice portfolio |
Cooper Energy, Senex Energy | East-coast domestic gas supply |
Qatar, US Gulf Coast and Malaysian LNG suppliers | Compete for the Sinopec and Kansai renewal windows around 2035 |
| Competitor | Position |
|---|---|
AGL Energy | Loy Yang A, Bayswater; Liddell, Torrens Island and Tomago batteries |
EnergyAustralia | Yallourn, Mount Piper; Tallawarra B 316 MW hydrogen-ready peaker; Wooreen 350 MW battery |
Snowy Hydro | Snowy 2.0 (2,200 MW pumped hydro, 175 hours discharge, slipped to 2028-29); Kurri Kurri |
Neoen | 900 MW Collie Battery (WA) and a large Australian battery pipeline |
Iberdrola Australia, Squadron Energy, Acciona, Tilt Renewables | Renewables development competitors for CIS tenders and REZ access |
Energy Vault / Bridge Energy | Won the 100 MW / 870 MWh Ebor long-duration NSW tender, February 2026 |
| Market share metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
AGL, Origin and EnergyAustralia combined share of small electricity customers | 61 to 62 per cent | AER State of the Energy Market 2025, data as at 31 March 2025; ACCC NEM report 2025 |
AGL, Origin and EnergyAustralia combined share of small gas customers | 77 per cent | AER State of the Energy Market 2025 |
AGL, Origin, EnergyAustralia and Alinta combined residential electricity share | Approximately 78 per cent | Battery IQ retailer ownership analysis, January 2026 |
Authorised electricity retailers in Australia | 141, of which 87 with active plans | Battery IQ, January 2026 |
Octopus Energy UK market share | 26 per cent | Origin FY26 Investor Presentation |
Share of VPP customers served by smaller providers | Over 75 per cent | ACCC NEM report 2025 |
| Benchmark metric FY2026 | Origin | AGL Energy | EnergyAustralia | Snowy Hydro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (A$m) | 15569 | 13930 | 0 | 0 |
Statutory net profit (A$m) | 1574 | 756 | 0 | 0 |
Underlying EBITDA (A$m) | 3220 | 2100 | 0 | 0 |
Underlying net profit (A$m) | 1159 | 631 | 0 | 0 |
Revenue growth (%) | -9.6 | -2.9 | 0 | 0 |
Underlying EBITDA growth (%) | -5.6 | 2.0 | 0 | 0 |
Underlying EBITDA margin (%) | 20.7 | 15.1 | 0 | 0 |
Customer accounts or services (millions) | 4.94 | 4.60 | 1.70 | 0 |
Full year dividend per share (A cents) | 60.0 | 50.0 | 0 | 0 |
Dividend payout ratio (%) | 50 of adjusted FCF | 53.3 of underlying NPAT | 0 | 0 |
R&D intensity (%) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |



