Randstad Nv Overview
Randstad N.V. is the world's largest talent and staffing company by revenue, and has held that position for eight consecutive years according to Staffing Industry Analysts' Largest Global Staffing Firms series (2026 edition, published August 2026). It is a Dutch naamloze vennootschap with a two-tier board structure, listed on Euronext Amsterdam and a constituent of the AEX index.
Employees — three-year trend
Notes: the FY2023 figure of ~43,200 is the "investment case" page figure; FY2024's ~40,000 is drawn from the Q3 2025 release company profile; FY2025's ~38,000 from the FY2025 release. Q4 average FTE for 2023 (41,720) and 2025 (37,840) are taken from the respective Q4 press releases; the FY2024 Q4 average FTE of approximately 40,200 is derived from the Q4 2025 disclosure that headcount was organically down 6% year-on-year and is therefore an approximation, not a reported figure. Q2 2026 average FTE was 36,970 (Q2 2026 press release). Randstad additionally reports the number of talent placed rather than employed: over 1.7 million talent supported in 2025 across close to 150,000 clients.
150-word positioning statement
Randstad occupies the apex of a structurally fragmented, deeply cyclical global staffing industry, converting roughly €23 billion of client spend into approximately €4.3 billion of gross profit through a network of some 4,000 outlets across 39 markets. Its competitive position rests on three things: scale in a business where scale buys procurement access to the largest enterprise workforce buyers; a genuinely diversified geographic mix in which no single country exceeds about 15% of revenue; and an unusually conservative balance sheet that lets it absorb multi-year downturns without distress. The strategic question facing the company is different from the survival question that faces smaller peers. Randstad is attempting to convert a branch-based, human-intermediated business into a digital-first marketplace model — roughly €4 billion of annualised revenue now flows through its digital marketplaces — while defending a gross margin that has compressed 220 basis points since 2022. Execution on that conversion, not cyclical recovery alone, determines whether the 5–6% mid-term EBITA margin ambition is credible.
What the company does
Randstad is an intermediary in the labour market. It sources, screens, matches, employs, payrolls and deploys workers on behalf of client organisations, and it advises those organisations on how to design and manage their workforces. It does not manufacture, and it holds no material inventory; its "cost of services" line — €18,768 million in FY2025 against revenue of €23,077 million (Q4 2025 Press Release, consolidated income statement) — is overwhelmingly the wage cost of the temporary workers it employs and bills out.
The company's own characterisation
In the boilerplate profile appended to every 2026 results release, Randstad describes itself as the world's leading talent company, with the stated vision of becoming the world's most equitable and specialized talent company, operating through four specializations — Operational, Professional, Digital and Enterprise — to help clients build high-quality, diverse and agile workforces. It positions itself as a partner of choice for both talent and clients, and frames its societal contribution around equitable access to work and keeping people relevant in a changing labour market.
Independent characterisation
Randstad is best understood as a working-capital-intensive gross-profit business wearing the clothes of a revenue business. Headline revenue is a poor guide to economics because pass-through wage costs dominate it. The economically meaningful line is gross profit — the spread Randstad earns between what it bills clients and what it pays talent, plus the fee income from permanent placement and outsourced recruitment. In FY2025 that spread was 18.7% of revenue on an underlying basis (Q4 2025 Press Release). Below gross profit sits a largely fixed cost base of field consultants and branch infrastructure, which is why the operating leverage in both directions is violent: FY2022 underlying EBITA of €1,294 million on revenue of €27,568 million became FY2025 underlying EBITA of €720 million on revenue of €23,077 million — a 44% profit decline on a 16% revenue decline.
Revenue model
Randstad has no subscription or licensing revenue of any consequence following the divestment of Monster. The mix is:
- Temporary staffing and inhouse services (the dominant model). Randstad employs the worker, pays the wage and statutory on-costs, and bills the client an hourly or daily rate incorporating a mark-up. Revenue is recognised as hours are worked. This is the source of the great majority of both revenue and gross profit.
- Permanent placement fees. A one-off fee, typically a percentage of first-year salary, recognised on placement. Permanent placement revenue was €90 million in Q4 2025 against €106 million in Q4 2024 (Q4 2025 Press Release) — a high-margin but highly cyclical and currently depressed line.
- Recruitment process outsourcing (RPO) and managed service programmes (MSP). Fee-based, contracted, multi-year. RPO revenue was €74 million in Q4 2025 versus €81 million in Q4 2024. Together, permanent and RPO fees constituted 14.8% of gross profit in Q4 2025 — down from around 15% in FY2023 and materially below the 2022 peak.
- Digital / IT services delivery. Randstad Digital sells project-based and managed digital engineering, cloud, data and customer-experience services, priced on time-and-materials or managed-outcome bases. FY2025 revenue €2,615 million.
- Career transition, outplacement, coaching and workforce advisory. Counter-cyclical fee income within Randstad Enterprise.
Value chain position
Randstad sits between the labour supply pool and the employer. Its structural advantages are informational (it observes labour supply and demand at scale before either side does), regulatory (in many European markets temporary agency work is a licensed, heavily regulated activity with compliance barriers that favour incumbents), and administrative (it absorbs employer-of-record risk, payroll, statutory compliance and, in the Netherlands, collective labour agreement obligations). Its structural vulnerability is that it owns no scarce asset: talent can be disintermediated by direct-sourcing technology, and clients can insource.
Customer types and end-markets
Clients range from single-site SMEs to global enterprises procuring workforce services centrally. Randstad supported close to 150,000 clients in 2025. End-markets emphasised in the FY2025 and 2026 disclosures include logistics and e-commerce, healthcare and care, industrial and skilled trades, manufacturing and automotive, banking and financial services, life sciences, aerospace and defence, utilities, public sector, retail, hospitality and contact centres. Management identified life sciences, e-commerce, logistics, healthcare and digital skills as growth segments collectively delivering approximately €9 billion of revenue in 2025, growing 2% year-on-year (Q4 2025 results commentary).
Strategy
10.1 The "Partner for Talent" strategy
Set out at the Capital Markets Day in October 2023 and reaffirmed at the Capital Markets Event in April 2025, the strategy rests on a stated vision of becoming the world's most equitable and specialized talent company. Its architecture has four elements.
Growth through specialization. Reorganising the portfolio around Operational, Professional, Digital and Enterprise rather than around legacy service categories, and directing investment towards high-growth segments — life sciences, e-commerce, logistics, healthcare and digital skills — which collectively delivered €9 billion of revenue in 2025, growing 2% against a group decline of 2%.
Delivery excellence. Structurally lowering cost-to-serve by moving sourcing and administration out of branches and into centralised talent and delivery centres and digital marketplaces. The CEO's Q2 2026 framing was explicit: "At the heart of our transformation is delivery excellence... By expanding our talent and delivery centers alongside our digital marketplaces, we are structurally lowering our cost-to-serve, increasing our productivity."
Digital-first / the Randstad Talent Platform. A single global backbone of front-, mid- and back-office systems intended to harmonise and automate workflows. At the April 2025 Capital Markets Event, approximately €2 billion of revenue was running through digital marketplaces, with the platform expected to go live in the majority of markets over the following two years. By end-2025 the marketplace figure had roughly doubled to €4 billion annualised, about 15% of turnover, with 1.4 million self-scheduled shifts in Q4 2025 alone and 1.45 million in Q1 2026 (a 2.5-fold year-on-year increase). Digital marketplaces were live in nine markets by Q1 2026, with the Digital Matching Platform going live in the United Kingdom during that quarter.
Best team. Continued investment in the employee value proposition. Employee engagement was 7.7 in 2025, above benchmark; approximately 80% of staff had received AI training by Q1 2026, and AI-readiness training is being extended to all colleagues.
10.2 Announced initiatives, last 24 months
10.3 Medium-term financial targets
Randstad does not issue formal annual revenue or earnings guidance. It provides one-quarter-forward directional guidance on gross margin, operating expenses and working days. For Q2 2026 it guided gross margin slightly lower sequentially on seasonality and operating expenses slightly higher; the delivered outcome — €182 million of underlying EBITA at a 3.1% margin — beat the implied trajectory.
The credibility gap between the 3.1% delivered in FY2025 and the 5–6% aspiration is 190 to 290 basis points on approximately €23 billion of revenue, equivalent to roughly €440–670 million of incremental EBITA. Roughly half of that could plausibly come from cyclical recovery in permanent placement fees and professional staffing (which would restore gross margin toward 20%), but the balance requires the digital-first cost structure to deliver in a way it has not yet demonstrably done: Corporate costs rose €36 million in FY2025 while the platform milestone scored zero on the STI.
Products & Services
Randstad's portfolio is organised under a master brand with four specialization sub-brands, plus a set of retained local and heritage brands. The company does not publish a comprehensive brand register in its financial statements; the catalogue below is assembled from the corporate website's services navigation, results-release commentary and acquisition announcements. Where a brand's current status could not be confirmed against a 2025 or 2026 primary source, it is flagged.
5.1 Randstad Operational (FY2025 revenue €15,334m)
The volume engine of the group: high-frequency, shift-based placement of workers in operational roles, delivered through branches, inhouse client sites and — increasingly — digital marketplaces with self-scheduling.
5.2 Randstad Professional (FY2025 revenue €3,816m)
Placement of white-collar and technically qualified professionals on temporary, contract and permanent bases. This is the specialization under most pressure — organic revenue down 9% in FY2025 and down 8–13% in several major markets in 2026 — because professional hiring is the most discretionary part of client demand and permanent-fee income has collapsed relative to 2022.
Yacht and BMC are long-standing Dutch group brands; their FY2025 revenue is not separately disclosed.
5.3 Randstad Digital (FY2025 revenue €2,615m)
Launched as a distinct global brand in May 2023, consolidating the group's digital-enablement assets including the Ausy business acquired in 2017. Randstad Digital sells digital talent and delivery capacity rather than headcount alone.
A material caveat: if the LTM transaction completes, Randstad Digital loses roughly 18% of its FY2025 revenue and its European aerospace/defence, automotive, utilities and BFS technology client base, together with the Romanian and Portuguese delivery centres.
5.4 Randstad Enterprise (FY2025 revenue €1,312m)
The advisory and outsourced-programme arm serving large enterprise talent-acquisition functions. Led from 2026 by Tatiana Ohm as Chief Executive Enterprise Talent Solutions, with responsibility spanning RPO, MSP, career transition, Global Business Services and coaching.
5.5 Cross-cutting platforms
5.6 Divested / discontinued
Product Portfolio
| Offering | Description | Target customer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Temporary staffing | Randstad employs the worker and bills an hourly rate; the core product since 1960 | SMEs through to large enterprises | Priced on hourly mark-up over wage cost; rates not disclosed |
Inhouse Services | Dedicated on-site Randstad team managing a large, fluctuating contingent workforce at a single client location, with workforce planning and productivity management embedded | High-volume manufacturing, logistics, e-commerce, food processing | Structurally lower gross margin, higher volume, stickier than branch staffing |
Flexible-to-permanent staffing | Temporary placement with a contractual conversion path | Clients de-risking permanent hires | Conversion fees included in staffing revenue |
Permanent recruitment | One-off placement fee | All client sizes | €90m of revenue in Q4 2025 |
Payrolling | Randstad acts as employer of record for workers the client has sourced itself | Clients with sourcing capability but no administrative capacity | Very low gross margin, low risk |
Sector verticals | Logistics; industrial & skilled trades; supervision & industrial management; call & contact centres; hospitality & events; retail | — | Named on the corporate services navigation as the six operational verticals |
Zorgwerk | Dutch digital healthcare marketplace acquired 2024; self-scheduling for healthcare and care professionals | Dutch hospitals, care institutions | Management described "impressive growth and synergies" at the one-year mark (Q4 2025 earnings call) |
Grupo CTC | Outsourced industrial, logistics and sales & marketing services in Spain and Portugal | Iberian industrial and retail clients | Acquired Oct 2023 for €50m total consideration |
Tempo-Team | Secondary Dutch and Belgian staffing brand serving a distinct client and candidate segment | SME and mid-market | Long-standing group brand; current perimeter not separately disclosed |
| Offering | Description |
|---|---|
Office & administrative support | Business support placement |
Finance & accounting | Interim and permanent finance professionals |
HR & legal | HR generalists, specialists, in-house counsel and paralegals |
Sales & marketing | Commercial roles |
Health | Clinical and allied health professionals |
Engineering | Mechanical, civil, electrical and process engineering |
Yacht | Netherlands-based secondment brand for professionals and specialists |
BMC | Netherlands public-sector and social-domain consultancy and interim management |
| Offering | Description |
|---|---|
Talent services | Placement of digital specialists — cloud, data, digital engineering, cybersecurity, customer experience |
Global talent centers | Offshore and nearshore delivery capacity. Delivery centres in Romania and Portugal were specifically identified in the May 2026 LTM announcement as supporting the European technology and consulting business |
Managed solutions | Outcome-based managed technology services and project delivery |
Torc | AI-powered digital talent marketplace acquired May 2024 with more than 25,000 enrolled digital professionals, weighted to LATAM, the US and India. Rollout for Randstad Digital in the US completed in Q3 2025 |
Randstad Digital Academy | Skilling and certification programme for digital talent |
Technology and Consulting Services (Europe/Australia) | Approximately €469 million of 2025 revenue with around 2,900 billable staff in France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and Australia — subject to a pending offer from LTM announced 22 May 2026 |
Gulp | Germany-based IT and engineering freelancer brand (historic group brand; current status within Randstad Digital not confirmed against a 2025/2026 primary source) |
| Offering | Description |
|---|---|
Recruitment Process Outsourcing (RPO) | End-to-end outsourced recruitment. €74m of revenue in Q4 2025 |
Managed Services Programmes (MSP) | Management of a client's entire contingent workforce supply chain, including third-party suppliers |
Advisory consulting | Talent strategy, workforce planning, employer branding |
Career coaching and talent development | Individual and cohort coaching |
Outplacement / talent transition | Counter-cyclical career transition services, historically delivered under the RiseSmart brand |
Global Business Services | Shared-service delivery for enterprise clients |
| Platform | Description | Status |
|---|---|---|
Randstad Talent Platform | The single global front-, mid- and back-office technology backbone intended to harmonise and automate workflows across all markets. Positioned at the Capital Markets Event in April 2025 as the core of the digital-first strategy, with go-live expected across the majority of markets within two years | Rollout in progress; Q4 run-rate of revenue flowing through the new platforms was an STI target in 2025 and scored zero achievement, indicating the rollout ran behind plan |
Digital marketplaces / Digital Matching Platform (DMP) | Self-scheduling marketplaces allowing talent to select shifts directly | Approximately €4bn of annualised revenue at end-2025, about 15% of turnover; 1.4 million self-scheduled shifts in Q4 2025 alone; live in nine markets by Q1 2026, including UK go-live in Q1 2026; 1.45 million self-scheduled shifts in Q1 2026, up 2.5x year-on-year |
Talent and delivery centres | Centralised remote delivery hubs replacing branch-level sourcing work, explicitly framed by management as structurally lowering cost-to-serve | Expanding through 2026; the percentage of revenue served from local delivery centres in the top ten markets was a 2025 STI target achieving 106.7% of target |
Randstad Innovation Fund | Corporate venture capital vehicle investing in HR technology | Active; portfolio and committed capital not disclosed in results releases |
Randstad Tech Suite | Client-facing technology bundle referenced in the corporate site navigation | Detail not disclosed |
| Brand | Status |
|---|---|
Monster | Merged with CareerBuilder in September 2024; Apollo-managed funds became majority owner; Randstad retained a minority interest and vendor loans. The associate declared bankruptcy in Q2 2025; Randstad wrote its loans to zero (a €32 million charge in Q2 2025, €13 million net for FY2025 after a €18 million Q4 reversal) and received €18 million on dissolution in Q4 2025. Contributed €109 million of revenue in FY2024 and nil in FY2025 |
Financial Narrative
All figures € millions unless stated. FY2021 sourced from the Annual Report 2022 comparative table and Annual Report 2021; FY2022 and FY2023 from the Q4 2023 press release; FY2024 and FY2025 from the Q4 2025 press release.
6.1 Income statement
FY2021 operating expenses (reported and underlying), amortization, EBITDA and income-before-tax/tax lines are derived by arithmetic from the disclosed FY2021 revenue, gross profit, EBITA and net income figures and are flagged as derived, not directly extracted from a primary FY2021 income statement. FY2021 EBITDA is derived and should be treated as approximate. Users requiring audited FY2021 line detail should consult the Annual Report 2021 financial statements directly.
6.2 Per-share data (€ per share)
FY2021 diluted EPS and diluted underlying EPS are derived from the reported basic figures and are approximate. FY2022 dividend of €2.85 comprised a regular dividend only, accompanied by a separate €400 million share buyback programme announced 14 February 2023. FY2023's €3.55 comprised a €2.28 regular dividend plus a €1.27 special dividend, together approximately €632 million of capital return. FY2025's proposed €1.62 equates to 64% of basic underlying adjusted net profit and reflects the policy floor of €1.62 temporarily exceeding the 40–50% payout corridor.
6.3 Margins and growth (%)
Five-year revenue CAGR FY2021→FY2025: −1.6% per annum. Peak-to-trough revenue decline FY2022→FY2025: −16.3%. FY2021 reported effective tax rate is derived. Organic growth figures are the annual series disclosed in the remuneration report's company-performance table.
6.4 Balance sheet
A value of 0 denotes "not extracted for this dossier" — FY2021 balance-sheet detail beyond net debt and total equity was not retrieved from a primary source and is flagged as not verified here rather than estimated. FY2021 net debt excluding leases was a net cash position of €179 million.
6.5 Cash flow
FY2021 operating cash flow, capex, taxes paid, dividends and buybacks were not extracted from a primary source for this dossier and are flagged as not verified. FY2021 free cash flow of €590 million is taken from the Annual Report 2021 key figures. Note that Randstad's FY2021 free cash flow definition and the current definition differ in their treatment of loans to and dividends from associates; FY2024 was restated for an €18 million loan to associate.
6.6 Ratios
Zeros denote metrics not computable from data retrieved for this dossier. Randstad does not carry inventory and does not disclose days payable outstanding; a conventional cash conversion cycle is therefore not calculable. DSO and operating working capital as a percentage of trailing revenue are the industry-standard substitutes and are disclosed by the company. FY2021 ROE using year-end rather than average equity would be 15.7%; the average-equity figure is omitted because FY2020 closing equity was not verified.
6.7 Commentary — trends, inflections and drivers
Revenue. The five-year path is a classic post-pandemic staffing cycle: a 19% snapback in 2021, an 12% extension into 2022 driven by wage inflation and pent-up hiring, then three consecutive years of decline totalling 16%. The FY2025 decline of 4.3% reported decomposes into −2% organic per working day, +2% currency, +1% working days and flat M&A. Crucially, the organic decline was decelerating through 2025 (Q4 −2.1% against Q4 2024's −5.5%), and inflected positive in Q1 2026 (+0.4%) and again more strongly in Q2 2026 (+1.9%). January 2026 revenue was −0.4% per working day, confirming the turn.
Gross margin — the central concern. Underlying gross margin fell from 20.9% in FY2022 to 18.7% in FY2025, a 220 basis point compression. This is not primarily a pricing failure. The FY2025 bridge attributes the Q4 movement to a 20bp drag from temporary placements and a 20bp drag from permanent placements. The mechanical driver is mix: permanent placement fees, which carry a 100% gross margin, fell from €734 million of revenue in FY2022 to a run-rate implying roughly €400 million in FY2025, and RPO fees fell in parallel. Perm and RPO together dropped from around 15% of gross profit in FY2023 to 14.8% in Q4 2025, and the composition within that has worsened. A second mix driver is growth divergence: the parts of the portfolio still growing (Iberian and Italian operational staffing, Inhouse, large logistics and e-commerce enterprise clients) carry structurally lower gross margins than the parts declining (US Professional, Dutch Professional, UK). Management explicitly acknowledged in the Q1 2026 call that most of this pressure is "a reflection of the continued growth divergence across our portfolio" and that it should begin to annualise.
Cost adaptation. This is where Randstad has performed. Underlying operating expenses fell from €4,461 million in FY2022 to €3,606 million in FY2025 — a 19% reduction, larger than the 25% fall in underlying EBITA and delivered against a 25% fall in underlying gross profit. FY2025 saw €181 million of year-on-year cost reduction and a recovery ratio of 71%, well above the 50% the company targets when gross profit declines. Average headcount fell 6% organically in Q4 2025 alone; the outlet network shrank from 4,879 at end-2023 to 4,034 at end-2025 and to 3,921 by mid-2026. The critical structural claim from management is that the correlation between volume and FTE is now at a six-year low — that is, the business can grow volume without proportionate headcount addition. Q2 2026 tests this favourably: revenue up 1.9% organically with headcount down 4% year-on-year and underlying EBITA up to €182 million.
The FY2024 earnings trough and its non-operating character. Reported net income of €123 million in FY2024 looks catastrophic against €929 million in FY2022, but roughly half the gap is non-operating. FY2024 carried €167 million of amortisation and impairment (including €121 million of goodwill impairment), €182 million of integration costs and one-offs, and €215 million of net finance costs of which €139 million was fair-value adjustment and impairment on loans and financial commitments — essentially the Monster/CareerBuilder exposure. Adjusted net income for ordinary shareholders was €405 million. FY2025's recovery to €299 million of net income is therefore substantially a reduction in exceptional charges (amortisation and impairment down to €83 million, net finance costs down to €79 million, one-offs down to €125 million) rather than operating improvement — underlying EBITA actually fell 4.5%.
Tax. The effective tax rate moved from 17.5–18.1% in 2022–2023 to 35.2% in 2024 and 30.9% in 2025. The 2022–2023 rates were artificially low because of a re-assessment of Luxembourg tax loss carry-forwards. The 2025 rate reflects non-deductible goodwill impairment, valuation allowance changes on carried-forward losses and temporarily denied interest expense, and a 2.7 percentage-point Pillar Two top-up. Guidance for FY2026 is 29–31%, with management indicating the higher end. This is a permanent, structural increase of roughly 1,200 basis points versus the 2022–2023 base and materially reduces the earnings power at any given EBITA level.
Balance sheet and leverage inflection. Randstad ran a net cash position excluding leases as recently as FY2021 (−€179 million). Net debt excluding leases then rose to €1,280 million at end-2024, driven by the Zorgwerk acquisition (a €317 million Q4 2024 cash outflow), €635 million of dividends including the FY2023 special, and €183 million of buybacks. Leverage peaked at 1.6x. FY2025 was a deliberate deleveraging year: no acquisitions, buybacks cut to €2 million, dividends reduced to €292 million, and free cash flow of €598 million, together taking net debt down €274 million to €1,006 million and leverage to 1.3x. Q1 2026 leverage rose seasonally to 1.5x on a €98 million free cash outflow, exacerbated by a €40–50 million invoicing delay in the Netherlands associated with the new regulatory framework.
Cash generation. Free cash flow of €598 million in FY2025 against €337 million in FY2024 is the single most encouraging line in the accounts. The improvement is not operational: EBITDA fell from €877 million to €848 million. It comes from working capital swinging from a €89 million outflow to a €90 million inflow, and from income taxes paid collapsing from €219 million to €96 million on repayments relating to prior years. Both are partly non-repeatable. Underlying cash conversion remains healthy — capex is structurally light at €73 million, or 0.3% of revenue — but the FY2026 free cash flow bridge should not be expected to repeat the tax benefit.
Working capital deterioration. DSO has risen every year, from 52.9 days in FY2022 to 56.7 in FY2025 and 57.4 in Q1 2026. Management attributes recent increases to mix and to Dutch invoicing delays. A 3.8-day increase in DSO on €23 billion of revenue is roughly €240 million of capital absorbed — material, and worth monitoring as a credit-quality and client-mix indicator, since enterprise clients with longer payment terms are precisely the segment Randstad is winning.
Equity erosion. Total equity fell from €4,915 million at end-2022 to €4,002 million at end-2025. The drivers are cumulative distributions in excess of earnings (€1,457 million of dividends and €479 million of buybacks across 2023–2025 against €1,046 million of net income) plus €188 million of negative translation reserves in 2025 alone from a weakening dollar and yen against the euro.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Segment | Contents |
|---|---|
North America | United States (Operational, Professional, Digital, Enterprise) and Canada |
Northern Europe | Netherlands; Germany; Belgium & Luxembourg; Other Northern European countries (Poland, the Nordics, Switzerland and others) |
Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | France; Italy; Iberia (Spain, Portugal); Other Southern European countries, the United Kingdom and Latin America |
Asia Pacific | Japan; Australia/New Zealand; India; other APAC markets |
Corporate | Unallocated group costs, including central technology investment |
Segment Revenue
| Segment (revenue, EUR m) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America | 4594 | 4766 | 4402 |
Netherlands | 3195 | 3008 | 2945 |
Germany | 1843 | 1648 | 1493 |
Belgium & Luxembourg | 1554 | 1543 | 1497 |
Other Northern Europe | 1495 | 1406 | 1421 |
Northern Europe total | 8087 | 7605 | 7356 |
France | 3829 | 3597 | 3356 |
Italy | 2148 | 2217 | 2241 |
Iberia | 1605 | 1877 | 1962 |
Other Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | 1266 | 1678 | 1483 |
Southern Europe, UK & Latin America total | 8848 | 9369 | 9042 |
Asia Pacific | 2497 | 2382 | 2277 |
Global Businesses (discontinued as a segment) | 1400 | 0 | 0 |
Group revenue | 25426 | 24122 | 23077 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment (underlying EBITA, EUR m) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America | 237 | 152 | 170 |
Netherlands | 198 | 145 | 133 |
Germany | 66 | 2 | 17 |
Belgium & Luxembourg | 75 | 70 | 72 |
Other Northern Europe | 45 | 29 | 35 |
Northern Europe total | 384 | 246 | 257 |
France | 212 | 150 | 145 |
Italy | 158 | 141 | 128 |
Iberia | 98 | 111 | 115 |
Other Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | 41 | 35 | 30 |
Southern Europe, UK & Latin America total | 509 | 437 | 418 |
Asia Pacific | 126 | 101 | 93 |
Global Businesses | 7 | 0 | 0 |
Corporate | -188 | -182 | -218 |
Group underlying EBITA | 1075 | 754 | 720 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment (underlying EBITA margin, %) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America | 5.2 | 3.2 | 3.9 |
Netherlands | 6.2 | 4.8 | 4.5 |
Germany | 3.6 | 0.1 | 1.2 |
Belgium & Luxembourg | 4.8 | 4.5 | 4.8 |
Other Northern Europe | 3.0 | 2.0 | 2.5 |
Northern Europe total | 4.7 | 3.2 | 3.5 |
France | 5.5 | 4.2 | 4.3 |
Italy | 7.3 | 6.4 | 5.7 |
Iberia | 6.1 | 5.9 | 5.9 |
Other Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | 3.2 | 2.0 | 2.1 |
Southern Europe, UK & Latin America total | 5.7 | 4.7 | 4.6 |
Asia Pacific | 5.0 | 4.2 | 4.1 |
Group | 4.2 | 3.1 | 3.1 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment | FY2025 revenue (EUR m) | Reported YoY change (%) | Organic per-working-day change (%) | Share of group revenue (%) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
North America | 4402 | -8 | -1 | 19.1 |
Northern Europe | 7356 | -3 | -5 | 31.9 |
Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | 9042 | -4 | -2 | 39.2 |
Asia Pacific | 2277 | -5 | 1 | 9.9 |
Segment Revenue
| Specialization (revenue, EUR m) | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Randstad Operational | 15860 | 15334 |
Randstad Professional | 3954 | 3816 |
Randstad Digital | 2825 | 2615 |
Randstad Enterprise | 1374 | 1312 |
Monster (divested) | 109 | 0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (EUR m unless stated) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue | 24635 | 27568 | 25426 | 24122 | 23077 |
Gross profit (reported) | 4896 | 5751 | 5278 | 4701 | 4309 |
Gross profit (underlying) | 4873 | 5755 | 5283 | 4718 | 4326 |
Operating expenses (reported) | 3810 | 4587 | 4355 | 4129 | 3714 |
Operating expenses (underlying) | 3778 | 4461 | 4208 | 3964 | 3606 |
EBITA (reported) | 1086 | 1164 | 923 | 572 | 595 |
EBITA (underlying) | 1095 | 1294 | 1075 | 754 | 720 |
Integration costs and one-offs | -9 | -130 | -152 | -182 | -125 |
Amortization and impairment of acquisition-related intangibles and goodwill | 29 | 27 | 92 | 167 | 83 |
Operating profit | 1057 | 1137 | 831 | 405 | 512 |
EBITDA | 1382 | 1467 | 1222 | 877 | 848 |
Net finance costs | -22 | -12 | -70 | -215 | -79 |
Income before taxes | 1035 | 1126 | 762 | 190 | 433 |
Taxes on income | -267 | -197 | -138 | -67 | -134 |
Net income | 768 | 929 | 624 | 123 | 299 |
Adjusted net income for ordinary shareholders | 806 | 1041 | 814 | 405 | 442 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (EUR per share) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Basic EPS | 4.13 | 5.04 | 3.45 | 0.65 | 1.66 |
Diluted EPS | 4.11 | 5.02 | 3.43 | 0.65 | 1.66 |
Diluted EPS, underlying | 4.37 | 5.67 | 4.53 | 2.29 | 2.52 |
Basic EPS, underlying | 4.39 | 5.69 | 4.56 | 2.30 | 2.52 |
Dividend per ordinary share, total declared | 5.00 | 2.85 | 3.55 | 1.62 | 1.62 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (%) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin, underlying | 19.8 | 20.9 | 20.8 | 19.6 | 18.7 |
Operating expense margin, underlying | 15.3 | 16.2 | 16.5 | 16.4 | 15.6 |
EBITA margin, underlying | 4.4 | 4.7 | 4.2 | 3.1 | 3.1 |
EBITDA margin | 5.6 | 5.3 | 4.8 | 3.6 | 3.7 |
Operating margin | 4.3 | 4.1 | 3.3 | 1.7 | 2.2 |
Net income margin | 3.1 | 3.4 | 2.5 | 0.5 | 1.3 |
Conversion ratio (underlying EBITA / underlying gross profit) | 22.5 | 22.5 | 20.3 | 16.0 | 16.6 |
Effective tax rate (reported) | 25.8 | 17.5 | 18.1 | 35.2 | 30.9 |
Effective tax rate (underlying) | 24.6 | 18.2 | 18.3 | 23.4 | 29.8 |
Reported revenue growth | 18.9 | 11.9 | -7.8 | -5.1 | -4.3 |
Organic revenue growth per working day | 20.0 | 8.0 | -6.0 | -7.0 | -2.5 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (EUR m) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets | 0 | 11109 | 10686 | 11190 | 10686 |
Cash and cash equivalents | 0 | 274 | 261 | 357 | 399 |
Trade and other receivables | 0 | 5828 | 5404 | 5487 | 5274 |
Intangible assets (incl. goodwill) | 0 | 3397 | 3342 | 3572 | 3379 |
Goodwill and acquisition-related intangibles (invested-capital basis) | 0 | 3280 | 3225 | 3514 | 3317 |
Property, plant and equipment | 0 | 153 | 136 | 118 | 102 |
Right-of-use assets | 0 | 524 | 543 | 497 | 434 |
Deferred income tax assets | 0 | 633 | 669 | 740 | 750 |
Trade and other payables | 0 | 4576 | 4289 | 4273 | 4217 |
Borrowings, non-current (incl. lease liabilities) | 0 | 889 | 488 | 1967 | 1573 |
Borrowings, current (incl. lease liabilities) | 0 | 255 | 696 | 251 | 337 |
Total borrowings (incl. lease liabilities) | 0 | 1144 | 1184 | 2218 | 1910 |
Lease liabilities | 0 | 598 | 617 | 571 | 498 |
Net debt excluding leases | -179 | 272 | 306 | 1280 | 1006 |
Net debt including leases | 415 | 870 | 923 | 1851 | 1504 |
Total equity | 4902 | 4915 | 4700 | 4133 | 4002 |
Operating working capital | 0 | 1239 | 1105 | 1207 | 1049 |
Employed capital | 0 | 5785 | 5623 | 5984 | 5506 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (EUR m) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash flow from operating activities | 0 | 1073 | 1194 | 649 | 872 |
Net capital expenditure | 0 | 122 | 93 | 84 | 73 |
Repayments of lease liabilities | 0 | 210 | 214 | 225 | 199 |
Free cash flow | 590 | 739 | 883 | 337 | 598 |
Income taxes paid | 0 | 261 | 256 | 219 | 96 |
Net acquisitions / disposals | 0 | -167 | -50 | -413 | 6 |
Dividends paid (ordinary and preference) | 0 | 922 | 530 | 635 | 292 |
Net purchase of own ordinary shares (buybacks and plan settlement) | 0 | 81 | 294 | 183 | 2 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on invested capital (company definition, %) | 16.8 | 17.9 | 14.6 | 8.9 | 11.3 |
Return on equity (net income / average equity, %) | 0.0 | 18.9 | 13.0 | 2.8 | 7.4 |
Return on assets (net income / average total assets, %) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 5.7 | 1.1 | 2.7 |
Current ratio (x) | 0.0 | 1.24 | 1.11 | 1.26 | 1.21 |
Total borrowings / equity (x) | 0.0 | 0.23 | 0.25 | 0.54 | 0.48 |
Net debt / EBITDA — company leverage ratio, excl. IFRS 16 (x) | 0.3 | 0.2 | 0.3 | 1.6 | 1.3 |
Interest coverage (underlying EBITA / interest on net debt, x) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 15.4 | 13.8 |
Asset turnover (revenue / average total assets, x) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 2.33 | 2.21 | 2.11 |
Days sales outstanding, moving average | 0.0 | 52.9 | 53.3 | 54.6 | 56.7 |
Operating working capital as % of trailing revenue | 0.0 | 4.5 | 4.3 | 5.0 | 4.5 |
Free cash flow / underlying EBITA (%) | 54 | 57 | 82 | 45 | 83 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography (segment revenue, EUR m) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
North America | 4594 | 4768 | 4403 |
Netherlands | 3201 | 3015 | 2956 |
Germany | 1843 | 1650 | 1494 |
Belgium & Luxembourg | 1560 | 1544 | 1498 |
Other Northern Europe | 1505 | 1416 | 1428 |
France | 3832 | 3600 | 3357 |
Italy | 2148 | 2217 | 2241 |
Iberia | 1610 | 1884 | 1968 |
Other Southern Europe, UK & Latin America | 1277 | 1681 | 1487 |
Asia Pacific | 2503 | 2417 | 2299 |
Global Businesses | 1413 | 0 | 0 |
Intersegment elimination | -60 | -70 | -54 |
Total | 25426 | 24122 | 23077 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography | FY2024 reported change (%) | FY2025 reported change (%) | FY2025 organic per working day (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
North America | 3.8 | -8.0 | -1 |
Netherlands | -5.8 | -2.0 | -6 |
Germany | -10.5 | -9.0 | -9 |
Belgium & Luxembourg | -1.0 | -3.0 | -3 |
Other Northern Europe | -5.9 | 1.0 | 0 |
France | -6.1 | -7.0 | -6 |
Italy | 3.2 | 1.0 | 2 |
Iberia | 17.0 | 4.0 | 5 |
Other SE Europe, UK & Latin America | 31.6 | -12.0 | -7 |
Asia Pacific | -3.4 | -5.0 | 1 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | As at |
|---|---|---|
Share price | EUR 39.79 | 14 Aug 2026 |
Previous close | EUR 38.66 | 13 Aug 2026 |
52-week range | EUR 21.30 – EUR 41.80 | Aug 2026 |
Appreciation from 52-week low | Approximately +87% | — |
Premium to 200-day moving average | Approximately +34% | 12 Aug 2026 |
Six-month relative performance vs FTSE Global All Cap | +21.2% | 12 Aug 2026 |
Shares in issue | 175,977,424 ordinary (744,529 in treasury at 31 Dec 2025) | 31 Dec 2025 |
Market capitalisation (ordinary) | Approximately EUR 7.0bn | 14 Aug 2026 |
Capital Markets
| Multiple | Randstad | Basis |
|---|---|---|
P/E on FY2025 basic EPS (€1.66) | Approximately 24.0x | €39.79 / €1.66 |
P/E on FY2025 underlying diluted EPS (€2.52) | Approximately 15.8x | €39.79 / €2.52 |
Forward P/E on consensus FY2027 EPS (€2.66) | Approximately 15.0x | Stockopedia consensus |
EV / FY2025 underlying EBITDA excl. IFRS 16 (€771m) | Approximately 10.4x | EV ≈ €7.0bn market cap + €1,006m net debt excl. leases |
EV / FY2025 underlying EBITA (€720m) | Approximately 11.1x | Same EV basis |
EV / FY2025 revenue | Approximately 0.35x | Same EV basis |
P / Book (equity €4,002m) | Approximately 1.75x | €7.0bn / €4,002m |
Dividend yield on €1.62 | Approximately 4.1% | At €39.79 |
Free cash flow yield on FY2025 FCF (€598m) | Approximately 8.5% | At a €7.0bn market cap |
Capital Markets
| Source | Consensus target | Recommendation split | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
Stockopedia | EUR 34.10 (12.23% below the €38.85 close) | Not disclosed; consensus next-FY EPS €2.66 | 12 Aug 2026 |
Investing.com | EUR 34.31 average; high EUR 60, low EUR 21 | 5 buy, 4 sell; overall Neutral; −13.78% implied downside | 14 Aug 2026 |
Capital Markets
| Fiscal year | Regular DPS (EUR) | Special DPS (EUR) | Total DPS (EUR) | Approximate total ordinary distribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
2021 | 2.19 | 2.81 | 5.00 | Not disclosed |
2022 | 2.85 | 0.00 | 2.85 | Accompanied by a EUR 400m buyback |
2023 | 2.28 | 1.27 | 3.55 | Approximately EUR 632m |
2024 | 1.62 | 0.00 | 1.62 | Approximately EUR 284m |
2025 | 1.62 | 0.00 | 1.62 | Approximately EUR 284m |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date assigned |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Baa1 (long-term issuer) | Stable | 12 February 2024 |
S&P Global | Not rated | — | — |
Fitch | Not rated | — | — |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Amount | Maturity | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|
Eurobond (ISIN XS278293793) | EUR 500m | 12 March 2029 | 3.61% fixed coupon, swapped to floating with a fixed margin. Minimum denomination €100,000. Covenants aligned with the syndicated RCF. Yield to maturity approximately 2.98% and price approximately 101.96% in recent secondary trading |
Committed bilateral term loans | EUR 120m (2024; EUR 77m in 2023) | January 2028 | Rate based on drawing term plus a margin aligned with the syndicated RCF |
Committed multi-currency syndicated revolving credit facility | Amount not extracted for this dossier | Not extracted | The reference facility for pricing and covenants across the debt stack. Contains a leverage-ratio covenant measured excluding IFRS 16 |
EMTN programme | Not drawn beyond the 2029 bond as far as disclosed | — | Base prospectus updated 26 February 2026 |
Lease liabilities | EUR 498m at 31 Dec 2025 (EUR 571m at 31 Dec 2024) | Rolling | IFRS 16; excluded from the covenant leverage calculation |
Analyst Conclusions
22.1 Management guidance
Randstad does not guide to full-year revenue or earnings. Current guidance, as at the Q2 2026 release:
22.2 Consensus expectations
Consensus EPS for the next financial year is €2.66 (Stockopedia, August 2026), against FY2025 underlying diluted EPS of €2.52 — implying roughly 6% underlying earnings growth. The consensus price target of €34.10–€34.31 sits approximately 14% below the current €39.79, with recommendations split 5 buy and 4 sell and a target range from €21 to €60.
22.3 Bull case
1. The operating leverage is real and the cycle has turned. Q2 2026 delivered 1.9% organic revenue growth with average FTE down 4% year-on-year, underlying EBITA up to €182 million, net income up 79% and adjusted net income up 30%. The recovery ratio of 71% in FY2025 proved the downside flex; Q2 2026 is the first evidence of upside flex. If the incremental conversion ratio hits the 50% target on recovering gross profit, and if gross profit recovers even halfway toward the FY2023 level of €5,283 million from FY2025's €4,326 million, the incremental EBITA is roughly €240 million — taking underlying EBITA to around €960 million and the margin to approximately 4.0% on a modestly larger revenue base. That alone justifies a materially higher share price than the trough.
2. Gross margin mix reversal is a coiled spring. Permanent placement revenue fell from €172 million in Q4 2022 to €90 million in Q4 2025, and RPO from €115 million to €74 million. This revenue carries close to 100% gross margin. SIA identified permanent recruitment as the weakest segment of the European market in 2025 — a cyclical, not structural, characterisation. Management noted in Q1 2026 that most of the gross margin pressure "starts to annualise." A normalisation of perm and RPO toward 2022 levels would add roughly €120 million of gross profit at near-full drop-through to EBITA.
3. The balance sheet permits offence while peers defend. At 1.3x leverage against Adecco's 2.4x, with no maturity before March 2029, a Baa1 rating, an EMTN programme in place and roughly €160 million of incoming cash from the LTM disposal, Randstad can fund the platform, sustain the dividend and resume specialization M&A simultaneously. Adecco is explicitly targeting deleveraging to ≤1.5x by end-2027 — meaning Randstad has a two-to-three-year window of relative capital freedom in a fragmented industry where consolidation is the obvious value creator.
22.4 Bear case
1. The share price has already priced a recovery that consensus does not underwrite. At €39.79 the stock trades approximately 16% above the mean analyst target, 34% above its 200-day moving average, 87% above its 52-week low, and on approximately 24x reported FY2025 EPS. Recommendations are split 5 buy to 4 sell. The market is paying full price for a margin recovery that requires 190–290 basis points of expansion from a base the company has held flat for two years — and paying it at a point in the cycle when the easy comparison base has largely been consumed.
2. Randstad is losing share to its closest competitor, and its own remuneration scorecard says so. Adecco grew 1.3% in FY2025 and claims 245 basis points of market-share gain; Randstad declined 4.3%. SIA has ranked Adecco ahead in Europe for two consecutive years. Randstad's own relative-revenue-performance STI target scored zero, and its relative TSR ranked 11th and then 12th of 19 in two consecutive LTI cycles. Adecco's gross margin (19.2%) is now above Randstad's (18.7%), reversing a historical relationship. Scale leadership is being defended, not extended.
3. The transformation on which the entire margin thesis rests is behind schedule, and structural forces may make the destination unreachable. The Randstad Talent Platform's Q4 2025 run-rate milestone scored zero on the CEO's scorecard while Corporate costs funding it rose €36 million to €218 million and IT contract commitments rose €128 million to €407 million. Meanwhile the Professional specialization — the second-largest and among the highest-margin — fell 9% organically in FY2025, with US Professional down 10% and Dutch Professional down 21%. Declines of that magnitude are difficult to attribute entirely to the cycle when AI is demonstrably compressing demand for exactly the white-collar roles that segment fills. If a meaningful part of the Professional decline is permanent, the 5–6% margin ambition is not a stretch target but an unreachable one, and the appropriate multiple is lower, not higher, than the current 24x reported earnings. Add a permanently higher tax rate (29.8% underlying against 18.3% in FY2023, costing roughly €70 million of annual net income at constant pre-tax profit) and the earnings power at any given EBITA is structurally impaired.
22.5 Catalysts and monitorables — next twelve months
22.6 Analyst verdict
Randstad in August 2026 is a company that has executed the defensive half of its job impeccably and has yet to prove the offensive half. The cost discipline through a three-year, 16% revenue contraction has been exemplary — a 71% recovery ratio against a 50% target, €181 million of costs removed in 2025 alone, an outlet network reduced by nearly a fifth, headcount down 6% organically, and free cash flow of €598 million converting 83% of underlying EBITA. Net debt fell €274 million and leverage returned to 1.3x, half Adecco's level. On any measure of crisis management, this is the best-run of the big three.
The trouble is that defensive excellence does not answer the question the equity is now priced on. At €39.79 the shares sit roughly 16% above consensus and 87% above their trough, discounting a margin journey from 3.1% toward 5–6% for which the evidence is, at best, early. Two facts sit uncomfortably against that narrative. First, Randstad lost share to Adecco in 2025 by roughly 550 basis points of revenue growth, and its own incentive scorecard recorded zero achievement on relative revenue performance — the company is not disputing this. Second, the technology programme that is supposed to deliver the structural cost advantage missed its 2025 milestone outright while the Corporate costs funding it rose €36 million. Gross margin, meanwhile, has compressed 220 basis points and now trails Adecco's. Two consecutive LTI cycles have vested at zero on relative TSR.
Against that, the Q2 2026 print is genuinely encouraging: 1.9% organic growth with headcount down 4%, underlying EBITA of €182 million, net income up 79%, and €1.3 billion of new client wins in the first half. The volume-to-FTE correlation at a six-year low is the single most important operational claim management has made, and Q2 partially validates it. The permanent-placement recovery, when it comes, drops through at close to 100% margin and requires no execution at all — only a cycle.
The balanced conclusion is that Randstad is a well-managed, financially unassailable franchise whose operational inflection is real but whose valuation has run ahead of the evidence. The LTM disposal is sensible portfolio hygiene, not a transformation. The next twelve months will be adjudicated on two numbers that are now, helpfully, embedded in management's own pay: gross profit per field employee, and country implementations of the Randstad Talent Platform. If both deliver, the 5–6% ambition becomes arguable and today's price is defensible. If the platform slips a second year while Professional continues to shrink at high single digits, the market will be forced to distinguish between a cyclical trough and a structurally lower plateau — and it will not enjoy the exercise.
APPENDIX: DATA GAPS AND UNVERIFIED ITEMS
The following were flagged in the body of this dossier as not publicly disclosed, not retrieved from a primary source, or subject to conflicting sources. Analysts requiring completeness should source these directly.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Appointed to EB | Term | Prior roles | Education |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Sander (Alexander M.) van 't Noordende | CEO and Chair of the Executive Board | 16 Dec 2021, effective 10 Jan 2022; CEO from 29 Mar 2022 | 2022–2026; reappointed for a second four-year term at the March 2026 AGM | Three decades at Accenture, latterly Group Chief Executive of the Products Operating Group; Randstad Supervisory Board member from March 2021; non-executive director of AECOM; former Chairman of Virtusa | Industrial Engineering (Finance and Marketing), Eindhoven University of Technology |
Jorge Vazquez | CFO; also Chief Executive Southern Europe & Latin America | 28 Mar 2023 | 2023–2027 | Joined Randstad 2011; Director Group Control; Managing Director Randstad Brazil; Group Controller and Head of Strategy 2018–2022; previously TNT Group | Joint MBA, Columbia Business School and London Business School |
Myriam Beatove Moreale | Chief Human Resources Officer | 28 Mar 2023 | 2023–2027 | Joined Randstad Sept 2022; 13 years at Cargill, latterly CHRO and Corporate Executive Team member; earlier Arthur Andersen and AB InBev; board member of Aliaxis SA | Master's in Business Engineering, University of Liège |
Jesus Echevarria | Chief Operating Officer | 26 Mar 2025 | Term expiry not separately disclosed | Joined Randstad 2002; CEO Randstad Iberia and Latin America; Chief Talent and Client Delivery Officer | Engineering, Polytechnic University; MBA, Esade; Business Strategy certification, IMD |
| Name | Title | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Tatiana Ohm | Chief Executive Enterprise Talent Solutions | Appointed 2026; over 27 years in workforce solutions; previously COO of Randstad Enterprise; Germany-based |
Dominique Hermans | Chief Strategy & Transformation Officer | Joined Randstad 2001; former Chief Executive Northern Europe; former CEO Randstad Group Netherlands |
Martin de Weerdt | Chief Information Officer | Since August 2022; previously Accenture |
Marc-Etienne Julien | Chief Executive North America | Joined 2001; former Chief Talent Officer and CEO of Canada |
Herman Nijns | Chief Executive International Markets | 36+ years at Randstad; led BeLux since 2005; board member of Federgon |
David Koker | Chief Digital Growth Officer | Joined 2026; previously Global Head of Revenue Growth at Booking.com; earlier Regus and KLM |
| Name | Role | Member since | 2025 fee (€) | 2024 fee (€) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Cees 't Hart | Chair (since April 2024) | March 2023 | 181000 | 144200 |
Laurence Debroux | Member | March 2023 | 135000 | 96100 |
Dimitra Manis | Member | March 2024 | 123500 | 80300 |
Annet Aris | Member; Chair of Remuneration Committee | April 2018 | 117000 | 105000 |
Jeroen Drost | Member | March 2023 | 114000 | 90000 |
Hélène Auriol Potier | Member | June 2020 | 108500 | 85300 |
Philippe Vimard | Member | March 2024 | 106000 | 63400 |
Total | 885000 | 664300 |
| Executive | Base salary | Fringe benefits | Short-term bonus | Share-based compensation | Social charges and taxes | Pension | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
S. van 't Noordende (CEO) | 1206 | 19 | 1191 | 2047 | 82 | 325 | 4870 |
J. Vazquez (CFO) | 753 | 0 | 621 | 1085 | 19 | 203 | 2681 |
M. Beatove Moreale (CHRO) | 753 | 0 | 621 | 1093 | 19 | 203 | 2689 |
J. Echevarria (COO, from 26 Mar 2025) | 577 | 0 | 476 | 437 | 14 | 106 | 1610 |
Total serving members | 3289 | 19 | 2909 | 4662 | 134 | 837 | 11850 |
C. Heutink (former, departed 26 Mar 2025) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 86 | 7 | 0 | 93 |
Total including former members | 3289 | 19 | 2909 | 4748 | 141 | 837 | 11943 |
Competitive Landscape
| Competitor | HQ | Primary overlap with Randstad | Positioning |
|---|---|---|---|
The Adecco Group | Zurich, Switzerland | All four specializations; direct overlap in France, Italy, Iberia, Germany, North America. Akkodis competes with Randstad Digital; LHH with Randstad Enterprise | The closest structural analogue. Overtook Randstad as Europe's largest staffing firm in 2024 and retained that position in 2025 |
ManpowerGroup | Milwaukee, USA | Operational (Manpower), Professional/IT (Experis), Enterprise (Talent Solutions) | Third globally; the most operationally distressed of the big three |
Recruit Holdings (Indeed, Glassdoor, Recruit Staffing) | Tokyo, Japan | Overlaps in Japan staffing and, more disruptively, in job matching via Indeed | The genuine platform threat: owns the world's largest job aggregator and monetises matching without carrying employment risk |
Allegis Group | Hanover, Maryland, USA | US professional and IT staffing (TEKsystems, Aerotek) | Largest US staffing firm by domestic revenue; private |
Robert Half | Menlo Park, USA | Finance, accounting and administrative professional staffing; consulting via Protiviti | Higher-margin niche specialist; a Randstad remuneration peer |
Hays plc | London, UK | Professional and specialist recruitment across Europe and APAC | Fourth-largest in Europe |
Persol Holdings | Tokyo, Japan | Japan staffing and APAC | Principal Japanese competitor to Randstad's strongest APAC market |
Gi Group Holding | Milan, Italy | Italian and European operational staffing | Direct competitor in Randstad's most profitable large European market |
Proman | Marseille, France | European industrial staffing | Fifth-largest in Europe |
PageGroup | London, UK | Professional and specialist recruitment | Permanent-weighted; a Randstad TSR peer |
Synergie | Paris, France | French and Southern European staffing | Direct French competitor |
Kelly Services | Troy, Michigan, USA | US operational and professional staffing | A Randstad TSR peer |
ASGN | Calabasas, USA | US IT and professional staffing | A Randstad TSR peer |
SThree | London, UK | STEM contract staffing | Niche |
LTM / Indian IT services firms | Mumbai, India | Increasingly overlap with Randstad Digital in technology delivery | Simultaneously competitor, counterparty and customer following the May 2026 arrangement |
| Metric | Randstad | Adecco Group | ManpowerGroup | Recruit Holdings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
FY2025 revenue | EUR 23,077m | Approx. EUR 23.4bn (revenues +1.3% YoY) | USD 18.0bn (+1% reported, −2% constant currency) | Not verified for the fiscal year ended March 2026 |
Revenue growth, reported | -4.3% | +1.3% | +1.0% | Not verified |
Gross margin | 18.7% underlying | 19.2% | 16.3% in Q4 2025; approx. 16.7% for the year | Not verified |
EBITA margin (excl. one-offs) | 3.1% | 3.0% | Approx. 2.0% | Not verified |
Operating profit | EUR 512m | EUR 572m (+8%) | USD 150.1m (−52.7% constant currency) | Not verified |
Net income | EUR 299m | EUR 295m (+2%) | Not disclosed for the full year in the sources reviewed | Not verified |
Free cash flow | EUR 598m | EUR 483m (102% conversion) | Not verified | Not verified |
Net debt / EBITDA | 1.3x | 2.4x | Not verified | Not verified |
R&D intensity | Not disclosed (capex 0.3% of revenue) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |



