Rent-A-Center Inc Overview
Upbound Group is the largest listed pure-play provider of lease-to-own (LTO) finance to credit-constrained US consumers, and is mid-way through a deliberate transformation from a store-based rental retailer into a diversified, digital-first consumer financial-solutions platform. Its economic engine is now three-legged: Acima, a virtual/point-of-sale LTO network embedded in more than 35,000 third-party retail locations, generating 54% of FY2025 revenue; Rent-A-Center, a cash-generative, 50-year-old chain of roughly 1,700 corporate stores plus franchisees, generating 40%; and Brigit, an acquired subscription fintech offering earned-wage access, credit-building and budgeting tools, contributing 4% but growing 35–40% year on year. Management's stated ambition is for roughly two-thirds of revenue and EBITDA to come from virtual and digital platforms within four years of the Brigit deal. The equity trades at a mid-single-digit forward multiple, reflecting persistent regulatory overhang, elevated leverage and a structurally stressed low-income consumer.
What the company says about itself (FY2025 Form 10-K, Item 1, verbatim themes). Upbound describes itself as "a technology and data-driven leader in accessible and inclusive financial solutions that address the evolving needs and aspirations of underserved consumers." Through Acima and Rent-A-Center it is "a leading lease-to-own provider with operations in the United States, Puerto Rico and Mexico," providing "a critical service for underserved consumers by providing them with access to, and the opportunity to obtain ownership of, high-quality, name brand durable products under a flexible lease-purchase agreement with no long-term debt obligation." Its mission statement is "Elevating Financial Opportunity for All."
The core transaction. The lease-purchase agreement is the company's product. A customer takes possession of merchandise under a week-to-week, bi-weekly, semi-monthly or monthly renewable lease with no long-term obligation and no minimum term. Ownership transfers if the customer continuously renews for a required period of between seven and thirty months depending on product type, or exercises an early purchase option. Where an early purchase option is exercised within a designated window (typically 90 or 120 days), the customer generally pays the retail price plus a modest premium; customers who renew to term pay materially more than retail. The filing is explicit that "customers primarily take ownership of the merchandise through early purchase options." Legally, the transaction is a lease, not credit — a distinction that is the single most important regulatory and litigation variable in the business (Sections 18, 19).
Revenue model and mix. Under the FY2025 income-statement presentation, revenue falls into four lines:
Rentals and fees — recurring lease renewal payments — represent 77% of FY2025 revenue. Merchandise sales (18%) are principally early purchase-option exercises and sales of previously leased goods, plus inventory sold to franchisees. Subscriptions and fees (4%) is entirely new, created by the Brigit acquisition on 31 January 2025, and comprises subscription tiers, expedited-transfer fees and marketplace offer revenue. "Other" includes franchise royalties, which run 3.0% to 6.0% of franchisees' monthly gross revenues. There is no licensing revenue of consequence.
Unit economics and value-chain position. Upbound is the owner of the asset, not a lender. It purchases merchandise, retains title, and bears merchandise loss. This is critical to understanding the P&L: gross margin is roughly 48%, but "cost of rentals and fees" ($1,441.8m in FY2025) is depreciation of leased merchandise, and lease charge-offs (unrecoverable on-rent merchandise) run through non-labor operating expenses rather than cost of revenue. Consequently, the reported gross margin overstates underlying economics relative to a credit business, and the operating expense ratio (43.6% of revenue in FY2025) is correspondingly high.
Segment economics differ materially and structurally. Rent-A-Center buys at wholesale; Acima buys at retail from the third-party merchant at the moment of lease origination. Acima therefore carries a lower gross margin but much lower fixed overhead (a staffed Acima kiosk is "an area with a tablet computer, desk and chairs," occupied without charge by agreement with the retailer; virtual locations require no physical presence at all). Acima's incremental capital intensity is near zero; Rent-A-Center's is store-based. In FY2025 Acima delivered a 13.5% adjusted EBITDA margin on $2.51bn of revenue versus Rent-A-Center's 15.0% on $1.90bn — Rent-A-Center is still the higher-margin business, but the gap has narrowed sharply from 2022 (18.3% vs 10.3%) as Acima's underwriting matured.
Customers and end-markets. The target customer is the cash- and credit-constrained US household. The 10-K cites Fair Isaac data from September 2025 indicating that consumers with credit scores below 650 made up approximately 26% of the US population, and notes that approximately 30% of US consumers have incomes below $50,000 and may lack access to traditional credit. Management stated on the Q4 2025 call that Upbound served over 3.5 million customers across all brands in 2025. End-markets served are consumer durables — furniture and mattresses, appliances, consumer electronics, computers, tyres and wheels, tools, jewellery and handbags — plus, since 2025, consumer liquidity and credit-health services.
Independent characterisation. Upbound is best understood as a specialty consumer-credit-risk business wearing a retail exoskeleton. Its true product is underwriting: a proprietary decision engine that approves consumers whom banks decline, priced through an implicit lease yield rather than an APR. Its principal cost of goods is not merchandise but loss — Acima's lease charge-off rate of 9.5% of revenue in FY2025 and Rent-A-Center's 4.7% are the numbers that determine whether the year is good or bad. The Rent-A-Center store estate functions increasingly as three things: a cash-flow annuity, a physical distribution and remarketing channel for merchandise returned from Acima ("merchandise returned in the Acima segment is often moved to a Rent-A-Center store where it is offered for lease"), and — following the April 2026 Amazon agreement — a monetisable footprint of last-mile touchpoints. Brigit is the strategic option: a capital-light, ~80%-recurring subscription business that supplies cash-flow-based underwriting data back into the LTO engines and extends the customer relationship beyond the durable-goods purchase.
Strategy
Stated strategy — verbatim themes from the FY2025 Form 10-K
Mission: "Elevating Financial Opportunity for All." The 10-K states: "Our strategy is focused on achieving our mission to elevate financial opportunity for all and growing our business through emphasis on the following key initiatives:"
- "Grow penetration with current Acima third-party retailers and build on our strength with small to medium size businesses while also adding new national and regional third-party retailers to our platform and expanding our direct-to-consumer channels";
- "At Brigit, continue to grow Brigit's EWA, credit builder and other existing products and increase Brigit's portfolio of products";
- "At Rent-A-Center, accelerate the shift to e-commerce, improve the fully integrated omni-channel customer experience and expand product categories, which we expect will increase brand awareness and customer loyalty";
- "Leverage data analytics capabilities to attract new customers, approve more customers and mitigate risk across business segments";
- "Execute on market opportunities and enhance our competitive position across both traditional and virtual lease-to-own solutions, and implement complementary products and services that supplement our current offerings and provide our customers more financial alternatives";
- "Upgrade and integrate technology platforms to allow for a more simplified and seamless consumer experience, third-party retailer and waterfall integration, consumer transaction process and coworker efficiency."
The 10-K adds that the company "may in the future take advantage of joint venture, partnership, or merger and acquisition opportunities from time to time that advance our key initiatives."
The FY2025 investor presentation frames this as "Three Interlocking Engines: Virtual LTO, Subscription FinTech, Cash-Generative Rent-to-Own" and positions Upbound as "a technology and data-driven leader in innovative financial solutions for millions of underserved customers."
CEO Karam's framing on the Q2 2026 call: "By reinforcing underwriting discipline, strategically investing in AI, shared data platforms, and a more connected, personalized customer experience, we're building a stronger, more efficient platform positioned to sustain profitability and create long-term value for our shareholders."
Announced strategic initiatives, last 24 months
Cost programmes with targets. No named, quantified cost-reduction programme is currently disclosed. The company recorded $1.7 million of "labor reduction costs" in Q1 2026, indicating targeted headcount action without a formal programme label. Corporate segment expense has been held between $147 million and $169 million of adjusted EBITDA drag for five years, which is itself an implicit cost discipline.
Management's medium-term financial targets and guidance
Original FY2026 guidance issued 19 February 2026 was revenue of $4.70–$4.95 billion; the top end was cut by $100 million on 30 July 2026 while EBITDA and EPS ranges were affirmed — a margin-over-volume signal consistent with the company's historical behaviour.
Longer-term targets. (i) Net leverage of approximately 2.0x — reiterated by CFO Khouri in Q2 2026 as the destination, from 2.6x at Q1 2026. (ii) Roughly two-thirds of revenue and adjusted EBITDA from virtual and digital platforms within four years of the Brigit close (i.e., by 2029). On FY2025 actuals, Acima plus Brigit already represent 57.9% of revenue. (iii) Capital allocation priorities, stated unchanged: invest in the business, strengthen the balance sheet, and return capital to shareholders while maintaining flexibility.
Products & Services
Acima segment
Acima Leasing (virtual LTO). The flagship. A no-credit-required lease-purchase offering delivered at the point of sale in third-party retailer locations and websites. Approval runs through Acima's proprietary automated decision engine using consumer-report and alternative data. Target customer: subprime and thin-file consumers making a durable-goods purchase at a merchant that does not otherwise finance them. Merchant proposition: incremental sales capture with zero payment risk, because Acima buys the merchandise from the merchant outright. Pricing model: Acima pays the retail price to the merchant; the consumer pays a lease with an early purchase option typically at or slightly above full retail if exercised within 90 days (in some cases the retailer rebates Acima if the 90-day option is exercised), and materially above retail if renewed to term. Merchant footprint: more than 35,000 retailer locations per the FY2025 investor deck. Latest platform milestone: completion of the Acceptance Now migration in 2024.
Acima staffed locations (kiosk model). A physical desk-and-tablet presence inside a partner retailer, occupied without charge by agreement. Used where merchant volume or complexity justifies a human. As of 31 December 2025 the company disclosed 22 Acima staffed locations in North Carolina alone. The model is deliberately capital-light and can be opened or closed quickly.
Acima Direct-to-Consumer Marketplace. Acima's own consumer-facing marketplace and mobile application, letting an approved consumer shop across the merchant network rather than being originated by a merchant. This is the segment's fastest-growing channel: GMV from the DTC marketplace grew over 60% year on year in Q4 2025 and represented nearly 10% of total Acima GMV in that quarter. Strategically it reduces dependence on merchant relationships — the structural vulnerability the 10-K identifies in Acima's model.
Acima waterfall integrations. Technical integrations that place Acima as a fallback tier behind prime and near-prime lenders in a merchant's financing "waterfall," capturing declines. Explicitly named in the FY2025 strategy section as an area of continued investment.
Product categories leased through Acima. Furniture and accessories; consumer electronics; appliances; wheels and tyres; jewellery.
Rent-A-Center segment
Rent-A-Center company-owned LTO stores. Approximately 1,722 corporate stores in the US and Puerto Rico at year-end 2025 (1,728 at year-end 2024). Full-service model: showroom, same-day or next-day delivery and installation at no additional cost, in-home service and repair at no charge except for damage beyond normal wear, temporary replacement units during repair, and lifetime reinstatement — a customer who returns merchandise may later re-rent the same item (or a comparable substitute) on the original terms without losing credit for payments already made. Marketed under the RAC Worry-Free Guarantee®. Payments weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly or monthly, accepted in store, online, by telephone, and via card, PayPal and Venmo.
rentacenter.com and the extended marketplace. The e-commerce channel, plus an "extended marketplace" that broadens the assortment beyond in-store inventory. Accelerating the shift to e-commerce is one of the six stated strategic initiatives in the FY2025 10-K.
Get It Now (Wisconsin) — 30 stores at 31 Dec 2025. Retail installment sale stores, not LTO. Exists because Wisconsin courts have classified rental-purchase transactions as credit sales subject to consumer lending restrictions; Upbound therefore offers an installment purchase instead. Website: getitnowstores.com.
Home Choice (Minnesota) — 20 stores at 31 Dec 2025. Same rationale: although Minnesota has a rental purchase statute, judicial decision treats the transaction as a credit sale. Website: homechoicestores.com.
Rent-A-Center Franchising. Sale of rental merchandise to franchisees plus royalties of 3.0%–6.0% of franchisee monthly gross revenues, plus national advertising fund contributions and a local advertising spend requirement. Trademarks licensed to franchisees include Rent-A-Center® and RimTyme® (wheels and tyres). Franchise count was 440 at end-2023 and 466 at end-2021; the FY2025 10-K discloses only the combined 2,075 company-owned-plus-franchise total.
Amazon pickup and returns service (from June 2026). Not a lease product but a new, non-lease revenue and footfall stream: Amazon counter order pickups and label-free, box-free returns at more than 1,700 continental US corporate Rent-A-Center stores. Rolled out to approximately 1,500 stores by the Q2 2026 report. Described by CEO Karam as "among Amazon's largest US retail collaborations for pickups and returns."
Merchandise categories. Furniture including mattresses; dining, living and bedroom sets; accessories such as lamps and tables typically leased as part of a room package; appliances (refrigerators, freezers, washers, dryers, ranges); consumer electronics (high-definition televisions, home theatre systems, video game consoles, stereos); desktop, laptop and tablet computers; tools; handbags; tyres. New and previously leased merchandise are offered at similar periodic rates, with previously leased goods requiring fewer payments to ownership. Named supplier brands: Ashley home furnishings; LG and Samsung electronics; Sony PlayStation and Nintendo consoles; LG, Samsung, General Electric and Whirlpool appliances; HP, Acer, Asus and Lenovo computers.
Brigit segment
Brigit Free tier. Finance Helper (budgeting tools and spending/bill insights) and Deals & Offers (partner-funded earn-and-save offers). No cost. Acts as the acquisition funnel.
Instant Cash (Earned Wage Access). Available to eligible subscribers at no cost and bundled into the paid tiers. Leverages bank-account cash-flow data plus customer-verified income to assess earned income and ability to repay, with no FICO or credit check and no credit-score impact. Advances are historically up to $250. An optional Expedited Transfer Fee is charged for faster delivery — a growing revenue driver called out in both Q4 2025 and Q2 2026. Critically, the consumer is not contractually required to repay, which is why the net advance loss rate (3.0% for FY2025; 3.6% in Q2 2026) is the segment's key risk metric.
Brigit Plus. Paid subscription tier bundling Instant Cash with additional services.
Brigit Premium. Higher paid tier. Mix shift toward Premium was explicitly cited as an ARPU driver in both Q4 2025 (+9.7% ARPU) and Q2 2026 (+6.3% ARPU to $14.30).
Credit Builder. A savings-linked personal loan originated and held by Brigit's bank partner. The purpose is not liquidity but the creation of a new trade line reported to all three major credit bureaus; the customer selects an affordable monthly payment, and payments accumulate in a deposit account withdrawable at any time during the loan term.
Credit Monitoring and Identity Theft Protection. Bundled into paid tiers.
Car insurance offering. Brigit has offered a car-insurance product powered by Savvy Insurance Solutions (disclosed at the time of the acquisition announcement).
Experian partnership (2026). Executed in Q2 2026 and named by CEO Karam in the Q2 2026 release; scope not disclosed in detail in public materials reviewed.
Mexico segment
Company-owned Rent-A-Center-format LTO stores. Merchandise assortment localised — appliances sourced locally "providing our customers in Mexico the look and feel to which they are accustomed." Store count was 131 at end-2023; the FY2025 10-K does not separately disclose the current Mexico store count, though the FY2025 investor deck references "over 2,200 stores in the U.S. and Mexico" across the group.
Financial Narrative
All figures USD millions unless stated. Sources: FY2021–FY2025 8-K earnings exhibits and Forms 10-K.
Income statement
Margins and returns
Revenue CAGR. FY2021→FY2025: 0.6%. FY2023→FY2025 (post-trough): 8.4%. The five-year CAGR is close to zero because FY2021 was inflated by pandemic-era stimulus demand and a full-year-equivalent Acima contribution; the trough-to-date CAGR is the more informative number and reflects Acima's recovery plus the Brigit acquisition.
Balance sheet (at 31 December)
Notes on the balance sheet. The company reports "selected balance sheet highlights" in earnings releases rather than a full classified balance sheet; a formal current-asset/current-liability split and therefore a directly derived working capital figure and current ratio are not presented in those releases. Third-party data services showed a current ratio of approximately 2.96x on a recent trailing basis; this is not a company-verified figure. The short-term/long-term debt split is likewise not broken out in the summary balance sheet; the debt stack comprises the ABL Credit Facility (revolver, $550 million capacity as of the Brigit financing), a Term Loan Facility (maturity extended to 19 August 2032 by the Fourth Amendment in 2025, with $77 million of incremental commitments), and $450 million face of 6.375% senior unsecured notes due 15 February 2029. Term-loan amortisation is modest; at 31 December 2023 the schedule showed no material maturities before 2026 ($70 million revolver) and $811.1 million of term loan in 2028, since refinanced further out. Goodwill and intangibles rose $198.0 million in 2025 solely because of Brigit; note that Upbound has not taken a goodwill impairment across the period, but carries $488.2 million of goodwill against $695.7 million of book equity — a meaningful tangible-equity deficit.
Cash flow
Dividends paid: FY2023 of approximately $83.1 million is derived from the disclosed $133.1 million of total shareholder returns less $50 million of buybacks. Buybacks: FY2021 included $370.1 million repurchased in Q4 alone within $461.6 million of total shareholder returns for the year; FY2023 included $50 million (1.7 million shares); no material repurchases were disclosed in FY2024 or FY2025, when capital allocation shifted to the dividend, Brigit and deleveraging.
Ratios
ROE and ROA computed on average balances. FY2021 and FY2022 net debt/EBITDA are company-disclosed pro-forma figures; FY2023–FY2025 are company-disclosed. ROIC and cash conversion cycle are not meaningfully computable from public segment disclosure: Upbound does not disclose an invested-capital base by segment, and the "inventory" is rental merchandise depreciated through cost of revenue rather than turned in a conventional cycle. Both are flagged as not publicly disclosed in a form permitting reliable calculation.
Commentary — trends, inflections and drivers
The 2021 peak was not a baseline. FY2021's $4,583.5 million of revenue and $611.0 million of adjusted EBITDA reflected an extraordinary confluence: the February 2021 Acima acquisition adding roughly ten and a half months of a $2.3 billion business, plus stimulus-inflated consumer payment behaviour that suppressed loss rates. Management said so explicitly at the time. Anyone using FY2021 as a normalised reference will misjudge the business.
The 2022 loss shock was the defining inflection. As stimulus expired and CPI peaked, Acima's skip/stolen loss rate hit 12.6% of revenue in Q1 2022, and segment adjusted EBITDA collapsed to $29.0 million in that quarter alone. Full-year Acima adjusted EBITDA margin fell to 10.3%. Management's response — a hard tightening of underwriting — cost volume (Acima GMV fell 23.0% in 2022) but restored margin: Acima's adjusted EBITDA margin recovered 490bps to 15.2% in FY2023. This is the recurring pattern of the business: volume and loss are a dial, not two independent variables, and management has repeatedly chosen loss control over growth.
The gross-margin optical inversion. FY2023 shows the highest gross margin of the period (50.7%) in the weakest revenue year. This is not operating improvement; it is mix. When consumers stop exercising early purchase options, low-margin merchandise-sales revenue falls faster than high-margin rental revenue, flattering gross margin while destroying dollar profit. The FY2023 releases attribute merchandise-sales declines of 12.2% (Rent-A-Center) and 3.9% (Acima) to "fewer customers electing early purchase options." Gross margin in this business is a mix indicator, not a pricing indicator.
The GAAP/non-GAAP chasm is structural, not cosmetic — but it is narrowing in composition. Across FY2021–FY2025 the company recorded $1,058.9 million of "other gains and charges." In FY2021–FY2023 the dominant component was Acima equity consideration vesting — $127.1 million, $143.2 million and $137.5 million respectively — genuine stock-based compensation from the acquisition structure, now largely run off. In FY2025 the composition shifted to (i) legal matters of $76.4 million, of which $70.3 million was estimated legal accruals, (ii) acquired-asset depreciation and amortisation of $82.4 million across Acima and Brigit, (iii) Brigit equity consideration vesting and replacement awards of $34.3 million, and (iv) asset impairments of $13.0 million. The FY2025 GAAP EPS of $1.25 versus non-GAAP $4.13 is therefore a $2.88 gap of which roughly $0.98 is legal accrual — a real cash cost, and one an analyst should not add back without discount.
Cash flow is the strongest part of the story and is inflecting hard. Operating cash flow collapsed to $104.7 million in FY2024 as the portfolio was rebuilt (rental merchandise on rent is a use of cash when the book grows), then recovered to $305.6 million in FY2025 and to $294.0 million in the first half of 2026 alone, against $174.1 million in H1 2025. Q4 2025 operating cash flow of $41.6 million was an improvement of more than $100 million year on year. Free cash flow of $180.5 million in FY2025 on a $1.1–1.2 billion market capitalisation is a double-digit free-cash-flow yield.
Leverage is the constraint. Net leverage rose from 2.6x at end-2024 to 2.9x at end-2025 because Brigit was funded substantially with cash and revolver. It fell to 2.6x at 31 March 2026 and management has stated a goal of 2.0x. Liquidity was $358.1 million at year-end 2025 (including $237.6 million of revolver availability) and approximately $487 million at 30 June 2026. Interest expense of $113.0 million in FY2025 consumes 22% of adjusted EBITDA — the single largest claim on the cash flow after merchandise.
Q1–Q2 2026 in brief. Q1 2026: revenue $1,219.7 million (+3.7%), GAAP diluted EPS $0.61, non-GAAP $1.08, adjusted EBITDA $136.1 million, operating cash flow $170.7 million, free cash flow $135.9 million. Q2 2026: revenue $1,163.4 million (+0.5%), GAAP operating profit $54.3 million, net earnings $21.6 million, GAAP diluted EPS $0.37, non-GAAP $1.07, adjusted EBITDA $127.0 million (-4.6%), free cash flow $84 million. The Q2 deceleration is the number to watch: consolidated growth of 0.5% with Acima revenue down 2.5% and Acima GMV down 10.7% year on year signals that underwriting tightening has once again crossed from margin protection into top-line contraction.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total revenue (USD M) | 4583.5 | 4245.4 | 3992.4 | 4320.6 | 4695.1 |
Revenue growth (%) | 62.9 | -7.4 | -6.0 | 8.2 | 8.7 |
Gross profit (USD M) | 2235.0 | 2079.5 | 2022.3 | 2080.4 | 2271.7 |
Total cost of revenues (USD M) | 2348.4 | 2165.9 | 1970.2 | 2240.2 | 2423.4 |
Total operating expenses (USD M) | 1954.5 | 1931.0 | 1859.4 | 1788.7 | 2048.4 |
Other gains and charges / special items (USD M) | 289.9 | 235.3 | 216.9 | 104.6 | 212.2 |
Operating profit (USD M) | 280.5 | 148.5 | 162.9 | 291.6 | 223.3 |
Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | 611.0 | 453.4 | 455.7 | 473.2 | 508.8 |
Interest expense (USD M) | 70.9 | 87.7 | 113.4 | 110.6 | 113.0 |
Debt refinancing charges (USD M) | 15.6 | 0 | 0 | 6.6 | 4.9 |
Pre-tax earnings (USD M) | 194.3 | 61.5 | 52.9 | 177.5 | 108.1 |
Income tax expense (USD M) | 59.4 | 49.1 | 58.0 | 54.1 | 34.8 |
Net earnings (USD M) | 134.9 | 12.4 | -5.2 | 123.5 | 73.2 |
Basic EPS (USD) | 2.37 | 0.23 | -0.09 | 2.26 | 1.30 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | 2.02 | 0.21 | -0.09 | 2.21 | 1.25 |
Non-GAAP diluted EPS (USD) | 5.57 | 3.70 | 3.55 | 3.83 | 4.13 |
Diluted weighted average shares (M) | 66.8 | 59.0 | 55.0 | 55.9 | 58.6 |
Dividends declared per share (USD) | 1.36 | 1.36 | 1.36 | 1.48 | 1.56 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (%) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin | 48.8 | 49.0 | 50.7 | 48.1 | 48.4 |
GAAP operating margin | 6.1 | 3.5 | 4.1 | 6.7 | 4.8 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin | 13.3 | 10.7 | 11.4 | 11.0 | 10.8 |
Pre-tax margin | 4.2 | 1.4 | 1.3 | 4.1 | 2.3 |
Net margin | 2.9 | 0.3 | -0.1 | 2.9 | 1.6 |
Effective tax rate | 30.6 | 79.9 | 109.8 | 30.5 | 32.2 |
Operating expenses as % of revenue | 42.6 | 45.5 | 46.6 | 41.4 | 43.6 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents | 108.3 | 144.1 | 93.7 | 60.9 | 120.5 |
Receivables, net | 129.2 | 111.9 | 111.0 | 156.4 | 203.2 |
Prepaid expenses and other assets | 63.5 | 46.1 | 50.3 | 54.2 | 153.0 |
Rental merchandise on rent, net | 1173.0 | 989.9 | 1109.9 | 1134.9 | 1202.3 |
Rental merchandise held for rent, net | 133.0 | 135.0 | 124.2 | 113.9 | 114.5 |
Operating lease right-of-use assets | 291.3 | 302.3 | 289.7 | 265.5 | 272.7 |
Goodwill | 287.0 | 289.8 | 289.8 | 290.2 | 488.2 |
Total assets | 2993.3 | 2763.6 | 2721.4 | 2649.7 | 3276.1 |
Senior debt, net | 1135.2 | 930.9 | 866.7 | 867.7 | 1126.0 |
Senior notes, net | 436.0 | 438.0 | 439.9 | 441.9 | 443.9 |
Total debt, net of issuance costs | 1571.2 | 1368.9 | 1306.6 | 1309.6 | 1569.9 |
Net debt | 1462.9 | 1224.8 | 1212.9 | 1248.7 | 1466.3 |
Operating lease liabilities | 296.5 | 305.6 | 293.4 | 273.0 | 286.8 |
Total liabilities | 2480.1 | 2238.5 | 2161.1 | 2020.7 | 2580.3 |
Total stockholders' equity | 513.3 | 525.1 | 560.4 | 629.0 | 695.7 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net cash provided by operating activities | 392.3 | 468.5 | 200.3 | 104.7 | 305.6 |
Purchase of property assets (capex) | 62.5 | 61.4 | 53.4 | 56.3 | 66.9 |
Net originations of customer cash advances | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 58.2 |
Free cash flow (as reported) | 329.8 | 407.1 | 146.9 | 48.4 | 180.5 |
Capex as % of revenue | 1.4 | 1.4 | 1.3 | 1.3 | 1.4 |
Acquisitions of businesses | 1273.5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Dividends paid | 0 | 0 | 83.1 | 0 | 87.9 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity (%) | 24.4 | 2.4 | -1.0 | 20.8 | 11.1 |
Return on assets (%) | 5.7 | 0.4 | -0.2 | 4.6 | 2.5 |
Debt to equity (x) | 3.06 | 2.61 | 2.33 | 2.08 | 2.26 |
Net debt to Adjusted EBITDA (x) | 2.3 | 2.7 | 2.7 | 2.6 | 2.9 |
Interest coverage, GAAP operating profit (x) | 3.96 | 1.69 | 1.44 | 2.64 | 1.98 |
Interest coverage, non-GAAP operating profit (x) | 7.84 | 4.34 | 3.35 | 3.58 | 3.85 |
Asset turnover (x) | 1.93 | 1.47 | 1.46 | 1.61 | 1.58 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
United States and Puerto Rico | 3917.8 | 4241.9 | 4615.7 |
Mexico | 74.6 | 78.7 | 79.4 |
Total | 3992.4 | 4320.6 | 4695.1 |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
United States and Puerto Rico | 8.3 | 8.8 |
Mexico | 5.5 | 0.8 |
Mexico share of total revenue | 1.8 | 1.7 |
Geographic Revenue
| Segment | Geographies of operation |
|---|---|
Acima | United States, Puerto Rico |
Rent-A-Center | United States, Puerto Rico |
Brigit | United States only |
Mexico | Mexico only |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
Share price | Approximately 19.44 | 27 Aug 2026 |
Share price | 20.95 | 29 Jul 2026 |
52-week high | 28.03 | Trailing twelve months to Aug 2026 |
52-week low | 15.82 | Trailing twelve months to Aug 2026 |
Distance from 52-week high (%) | -25.3 | End Jul 2026 |
Distance from 52-week low (%) | +32.4 | End Jul 2026 |
52-week total return (%) | -20.8 | Recent trailing period |
Market capitalisation (USD bn) | 1.13 to 1.22 | Jul–Aug 2026 |
Shares outstanding (M) | 58.3 | Aug 2026 |
Enterprise value (USD bn) | 2.76 | Recent |
Average daily volume (shares) | 1040000 | Recent |
Capital Markets
| Multiple | Upbound | Source basis |
|---|---|---|
Trailing P/E | 12.6 to 13.5 | TTM, mid-2026 |
Forward P/E (NTM) | 4.3 to 4.4 | Consensus NTM |
Forward P/E on FY2026 non-GAAP EPS midpoint ($4.18) | 4.7 | At $19.44 |
EV/EBITDA | 5.5 | Recent |
EV/Sales | 0.59 | EV $2.76bn / TTM revenue $4.74bn |
EV/FCF | 10.8 | Recent |
Price/Book | 1.6 | $1.13bn market cap / $695.7m equity at end-2025 |
Dividend yield | 8.0 to 8.9 | $1.56 annualised |
Debt/Equity | 2.0 to 2.4 | MRQ |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Number of analysts | 7 |
Consensus rating | Buy / Moderate Buy |
12-month average price target (USD) | 28.25 |
Implied upside from ~$18.30 (%) | 54.4 |
Buy ratings (%) | 85.7 |
Hold ratings (%) | 14.3 |
Sell ratings (%) | 0.0 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Quarterly dividend per share (USD) | 0.34 | 0.34 | 0.37 | 0.39 | 0.39 |
Annualised dividend per share (USD) | 1.36 | 1.36 | 1.48 | 1.56 | 1.56 |
Year-over-year increase (%) | 0.0 | 0.0 | 8.8 | 5.4 | 0.0 |
Total dividends paid (USD M) | 0 | 83.1 | 0 | 87.9 | 0 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date | Commentary |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | Ba2 corporate family rating | Stable (revised from negative) | ~10 Jun 2026 | Supported by "solid position in the consumer rent-to-own industry, conservative 2.0x net leverage target, good liquidity." Outlook change reflects "continued strength in revenue trends and margins which will bolster credit metrics and free cash flow," benefiting from "strong topline growth at both ACIMA and Brigit coupled with stabilization in the Rent-A-Center business" and improving lease charge-off rates. Moody's anticipates debt/EBITDA of 2.9x and EBITA/interest coverage of 3.6x by fiscal year-end 2026, from 3.6x and 2.5x. |
S&P Global Ratings | — | — | — | The senior notes indenture contemplates investment-grade ratings from two of S&P, Moody's and Fitch as a covenant-suspension trigger, implying S&P coverage exists. |
Fitch Ratings | — | — | — | As above. |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Principal | Rate | Maturity | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Senior unsecured notes | 450.0 | 6.375% fixed | 15 Feb 2029 | Issued 17 Feb 2021 to fund the Acima acquisition; $15.7m of issuance costs; interest payable 15 Feb and 15 Aug; general unsecured senior obligations guaranteed on a senior unsecured basis by certain domestic subsidiaries; effectively subordinated to secured debt; covenants on restricted payments, dividends from restricted subsidiaries, additional indebtedness, asset dispositions and affiliate transactions suspend if two of the three major agencies assign investment-grade ratings; change-of-control put at 101% |
Term Loan Facility | Approximately 1000 | Floating | 19 Aug 2032 | Extended by the Fourth Amendment in Q3 2025, which also secured $77m of incremental commitments; $4.9m of refinancing charges recorded |
ABL Credit Facility (revolver) | Up to 550 capacity | Floating | — | $237.6m of availability at 31 Dec 2025; borrowing base limited by asset values |
Total outstanding debt at 31 Dec 2025 | 1586.8 | — | — | Net debt $1,466.3m; net leverage 2.9x |
Total outstanding debt at 31 Mar 2026 | 1456 | — | — | Net debt $1,357m; net leverage 2.6x |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
At the midpoint, FY2026 implies revenue of $4.775 billion (+1.7% on FY2025), adjusted EBITDA of $517.5 million (+1.7%) and non-GAAP EPS of $4.18 (+1.2%). This is, in effect, a flat year — and the top-line range was cut from $4.70–4.95 billion at the half-year while EBITDA and EPS were held, meaning management is committing to protect margin dollars through further underwriting discipline and cost control. H1 2026 actual non-GAAP EPS of $2.15 ($1.08 + $1.07) against a full-year midpoint of $4.18 implies H2 of $2.03 — a modest sequential deceleration already embedded.
Consensus expectations
Seven covering analysts, consensus Buy/Moderate Buy, average twelve-month target $28.25 implying roughly 54% upside from mid-August levels. Consensus EPS growth of approximately 16.4% for the coming year (from $4.28 to $4.98) exceeds management's own FY2026 range and appears to embed a 2027 recovery in Acima volume, continued Brigit compounding and interest-expense relief from deleveraging. That is a coherent thesis but it is not what the company has guided to.
Bull case — three arguments grounded in the data
1. The valuation prices in a catastrophe that the credit market does not. At roughly $19.44 the equity trades at 4.7x the midpoint of management's own FY2026 non-GAAP EPS guidance and 5.5x EV/EBITDA, while generating $180.5 million of free cash flow (FY2025) and $84 million in Q2 2026 alone — a free-cash-flow yield in the mid-teens. Simultaneously, Moody's affirmed Ba2 and moved the outlook to stable in June 2026, projecting improving coverage. When the equity is priced for distress and the rating agency is upgrading its outlook, one of the two is wrong. The dividend alone yields 8.0–8.9% and is covered 2.05x by free cash flow.
2. The Brigit engine is compounding at 30–37% with a 22.4% EBITDA margin and it is only 4% of revenue. Paying subscribers grew 30.2% to 1.72 million in Q2 2026 and ARPU grew 6.3% to $14.30 — both metrics accelerating in combination, which is rare. At over $1.5 million of annualised revenue per full-time employee, incremental Brigit revenue drops through at very high margins. If Brigit reaches even $400 million of revenue at a 25% margin by 2028, it alone would represent $100 million of EBITDA against a current enterprise value of $2.76 billion. Meanwhile the December 2025 CFPB advisory opinion materially de-risked the regulatory foundation of its core EWA product.
3. The self-help levers are large, identified and already working. Three consecutive quarters of positive Rent-A-Center same-store sales (+0.8%, +0.4%, +1.6%) after years of decline; Acima's lease charge-off rate down 50bp year on year to 8.8%; net leverage down from 2.9x to 2.6x in one quarter; no debt maturity before February 2029; and the Amazon partnership converting 1,700 stores from a wasting asset into monetisable last-mile infrastructure with essentially zero incremental capital. Each turn of leverage retired at a 5.5x EV/EBITDA multiple transfers roughly $500 million of enterprise value to a $1.15 billion equity — a 43% move per turn, mechanically.
Bear case — three arguments grounded in the data
1. Growth has stopped and the loss dial is being turned again. Q2 2026 consolidated revenue grew 0.5%; Acima revenue fell 2.5% and Acima GMV fell 10.7%; adjusted EBITDA fell 4.6%; the FY2026 revenue guidance top end was cut $100 million. This is the identical pattern to 2022: management protects margin by tightening underwriting, which shrinks originations, which shrinks the revenue book with a two-to-four-quarter lag. FY2022 revenue fell 7.4% and FY2023 fell a further 6.0% after the last such episode. The GMV decline in Q2 2026 is a leading indicator of 2027 revenue, and it is negative double digits.
2. The regulatory and cyber liabilities are open-ended and the accruals keep growing. $70.3 million of estimated legal accruals in FY2025 and $60.2 million still on the balance sheet at 30 June 2026, with the NYAG suit — which seeks to recharacterise leases as loans for more than 100,000 consumers, plus civil penalties and restitution — unresolved, and a multi-state AG investigation still in settlement discussions. Layered on top, the July 2026 breach produced $13 million of fraud losses in one quarter, the investigation "remains ongoing," legal or regulatory notifications remain pending, breach details were posted publicly on 23 July 2026, and consumer class-action exposure is unquantified. A single adverse recharacterisation precedent would not merely cost money; it would break the pricing model in the affected jurisdiction. And Brigit carries its own pre-acquisition FTC settlement with live compliance obligations.
3. The equity is thin, the goodwill is heavy, and dilution is running the wrong way. $488.2 million of goodwill sits against $695.7 million of total equity, and no impairment has ever been taken. Total debt of $1,569.9 million against that equity is 2.26x, GAAP interest coverage was 1.98x in FY2025, and interest expense of $113 million consumes 22% of adjusted EBITDA. GAAP net earnings of $73.2 million do not cover the $87.9 million dividend. Shares outstanding rose 3.83% year on year. If the consumer deteriorates further and adjusted EBITDA falls toward $450 million, leverage returns to 3.3x, the dividend becomes contested, and the goodwill test becomes live — all at once.
Key catalysts and monitorables, next twelve months
Analyst verdict
Upbound Group is a genuinely improved business trading at a genuinely distressed multiple, and the gap between those two facts is the investment case — and the risk.
The improvement is real and documented. Free cash flow went from $48.4 million in FY2024 to $180.5 million in FY2025 to $220 million in the first half of 2026 alone. Net leverage fell from 2.9x to 2.6x in a single quarter. Moody's moved the outlook to stable and affirmed Ba2. There is no debt maturity before February 2029. Rent-A-Center, written off by most observers, has delivered three consecutive quarters of positive same-store sales and has just monetised its footprint through the largest retail partnership in the company's history. Brigit is compounding subscribers at 30% with a 22.4% EBITDA margin and just received a favourable CFPB advisory opinion on its core product.
The distress is also real. Consolidated revenue grew 0.5% in Q2 2026. Acima GMV fell 10.7% — the leading indicator that preceded the 2022–2023 revenue contraction. Legal accruals of $60.2 million sit on the balance sheet against an unresolved attempt by the New York Attorney General to recharacterise the company's core transaction as lending. A data breach produced $13 million of fraud losses in one quarter with the investigation still open. GAAP earnings do not cover the dividend. And $488.2 million of untested goodwill sits against $695.7 million of equity.
At 4.7x guided earnings and 5.5x EV/EBITDA with an 8%+ covered dividend, the market is pricing a permanent impairment of the business model. That may prove correct if the NYAG prevails. Absent that, the deleveraging arithmetic alone — roughly 43% of equity value per turn retired — makes this asymmetric to the upside. This is a credit-quality equity, not a growth equity: own it for the cash flow and the balance-sheet repair, size it for the legal tail, and watch Acima GMV above all else.
DATA GAPS AND VERIFICATION NOTES
- ISIN and current CUSIP
- Employee headcount for FY2023 and FY2024 (FY2025 verified at 12,050)
- 2025 Summary Compensation Table figures for individual named executive officers (proxy p.46)
- Beneficial ownership table: top 10 institutional holders and aggregate insider ownership (proxy p.70)
- Remaining share-repurchase authorisation
- Total dividends paid in FY2021, FY2022 and FY2024
- Short-term versus long-term debt split by year; exact drawn term-loan and revolver balances at each year end
- Formal current assets, current liabilities, working capital and current ratio (not presented in earnings releases)
- ROIC and cash conversion cycle (not computable from disclosed segment data)
- Mexico store count at 31 December 2025; franchise store count at 31 December 2025
- R&D expenditure (not a reported line item — not publicly disclosed)
- Patent portfolio size and recent grants (not publicly disclosed)
- Distribution centre locations and counts
- S&P Global Ratings and Fitch ratings and outlooks
- MSCI, Sustainalytics and CDP ESG scores
- Emissions inventory, targets and progress (not publicly disclosed)
- Quantitative workforce diversity metrics (not publicly disclosed)
- Peer financials for Katapult Holdings, FirstCash/American First Finance, Dave Inc. and The Aaron's Company (the last now private)
- Precise three- and five-year total shareholder return series
- Terms of the Brigit–Experian partnership and the commercial terms of the Amazon agreement
Where sources conflicted, both readings are shown: notably, adjusted EBITDA for FY2021 ($611.0m) includes stock-based compensation while FY2022 onward exclude it following a definition change effective Q1 2022; and segment revenue for FY2021–FY2023 is presented on the pre-recast basis (separate Franchising segment) while FY2024–FY2025 is on the current four-segment basis with Franchising inside Rent-A-Center. Third-party market-data figures (share price, market capitalisation, valuation multiples, ISS scores) vary by observation date and by provider and are labelled with their date where known.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Age | In role since | Prior roles and education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Fahmi Karam | Chief Executive Officer and Director | 47 | CEO 1 Jun 2025; EVP–CFO Oct 2022–Jun 2025 | CFO of Santander Consumer USA; previously Head of Pricing and Analytics and EVP Strategy & Corporate Development at Santander; 12 years at J.P. Morgan Investment Banking; began career at Deloitte in Audit and Assurance. BBA and Master of Accountancy, Baylor University. CPA. 25 years' experience. |
Hal Khouri | EVP–Chief Financial Officer | 56 | 10 Nov 2025 | EVP & CFO of goeasy Ltd. (TSX: GSY) Aug 2019–Nov 2025; CFO of Walmart Canada Bank (now Fairstone Bank of Canada); CFO of JPMorgan Chase Canada Bank; senior roles at MBNA Canada, Deloitte, and the Ontario Ministry of Finance. Over 30 years in consumer banking, financial services, leasing and retail. |
Balaji Kumar | EVP–Chief Technology Officer | 52 | 30 Mar 2026 | Head of Global Technology Infrastructure at Citi (public cloud strategy, generative-AI foundation); previously CTO of Citi's Global Consumer Bank; Head of Enterprise Technology and CISO at 7-Eleven; CIO of Dealer Auto Finance at Capital One; engineering leadership at Verizon. Over 25 years. |
Tyler Montrone | EVP–Acima | 45 | 20 Feb 2023 | Acima Chief Development Officer Jul 2022–Feb 2023; Acima SVP, Assistant General Counsel/Compliance Officer Feb 2021–Jun 2022; Chief Legal and Compliance Officer of Acima Mar 2016–Feb 2021. BS Accounting and MTax, Weber State University; JD, University of Arkansas. |
Anthony Blasquez | EVP–Rent-A-Center | 50 | 1 Jun 2020 | 27 years with the company; served in every field operations role; Divisional VP of Operations 2015–2020. |
Rebecca Wooters | EVP–Chief Growth Officer | 55 | 18 Sep 2025 | First Chief Digital Officer at Signet Jewelers 2020–2025 (Kay, Zales, Jared digital transformation); Managing Director and Chief Customer Experience Officer at Citigroup. Leads marketing, data, analytics, CX and product as one organisation. |
Bryan Pechersky | EVP–General Counsel and Corporate Secretary | 55 | 1 Jun 2020 | EVP, GC and Corporate Secretary, Cloud Peak Energy 2010–2019; SVP, GC and Secretary, Harte-Hanks 2007–2010; SVP, Secretary and Senior Corporate Counsel, Blockbuster 2005–2007; Deputy GC and Secretary, Unocal 2004–2005; capital markets/M&A/litigation attorney, Vinson & Elkins 1996–2004; law clerk to Hon. Loretta A. Preska, SDNY. |
Tran Taylor | EVP–Chief Human Resources Officer | 60 | Jul 2021 | CHRO/CPO for Bumble, Mr. Cooper and Travelocity 2008–2021; HR leadership at Alliance Data and The Home Depot 2001–2008. Bachelor's and Master's, West Virginia University. |
| Name | Age | Director since | Independent | Committees | Other public boards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Jeffrey Brown (Chairman) | 65 | 2017 | Yes | Audit & Risk (chair) | Medifast, Inc. (service ending on or around 19 May 2026) |
Charu Jain | 62 | 2024 | Yes | Cybersecurity, Technology and Innovation (chair) | None |
Fahmi Karam | 47 | 2025 | No | None | None |
Molly Langenstein | 62 | 2024 | Yes | Compensation; Cybersecurity, Technology and Innovation; Nominating and Corporate Governance | Caleres, Inc. |
Harold Lewis | 65 | 2019 | Yes | Audit & Risk; Compensation | None |
Glenn Marino | 69 | 2020 | Yes | Compensation (chair); Cybersecurity, Technology and Innovation; Nominating and Corporate Governance | None |
Carol McFate | 73 | 2019 | Yes | Audit & Risk; Nominating and Corporate Governance (chair) | None |
| Director | Fees paid in cash | DSUs | Other compensation | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Jeffrey Brown | 0 | 668715 | 92447 | 761162 |
Glenn Marino | 22819 | 338681 | 16304 | 377804 |
Carol McFate | 120000 | 159582 | 47061 | 326643 |
Molly Langenstein | 0 | 312615 | 0 | 312615 |
Harold Lewis | 110500 | 145000 | 41057 | 296557 |
Charu Jain | 0 | 286892 | 0 | 286892 |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | Upbound (UPBD) FY2025 | PROG Holdings (PRG) FY2025 | Aaron's Company | Dave Inc. (DAVE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (USD M) | 4695.1 | 2458.5 | 0 | 0 |
Revenue growth (%) | 8.7 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Adjusted EBITDA (USD M) | 508.8 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin (%) | 10.8 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
GAAP diluted EPS (USD) | 1.25 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
R&D intensity (% of revenue) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Recent Developments
--



