Savola Group Co Overview
Positioning statement (150 words)
Savola Group is the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia's largest listed food and grocery-retail platform and, following a two-year portfolio reconstruction, an operating company rather than the diversified investment holding it was for three decades. Its economics rest on three pillars: a branded staples manufacturer (edible oils, sugar, pasta, nuts/spices/pulses, specialty fats) selling into Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Algeria and more than fifty export markets; Panda, the country's leading modern-trade grocery chain with 227 stores and roughly 21% of the modern grocery market; and a majority stake in Al Kabeer, the region's frozen-foods leader. The December 2024 in-kind distribution of its entire 34.52% Almarai stake — SAR 21.1 billion of value handed to shareholders — removed the equity-income engine that had flattered earnings for a generation and exposed the underlying operating business. That business is now growing: recurring net profit rose 82% in FY2025 and a further 40% in H1 2026. Savola is a deleveraged, cash-generative, low-multiple consumer staples operator with a retail margin problem.
The company's own characterisation
In the FY2025 consolidated financial statements, the Group describes itself as being "involved in the manufacturing and sale of vegetable oils and to set up related industries, retail outlets, fast foods, exports and imports, commercial contracting, trade agencies, development of agricultural products and real estate related investment activities." In its FY2025 earnings release (6 August 2026) it presents itself more narrowly and more accurately as "an integrated food platform in the food and retail sectors across the MENA region." The FY2024 Annual Report used the older framing — "one of the leading strategic investment holding companies in the MENAT region" — and the shift in self-description between the two documents is itself the single most important strategic signal the company has issued.
Independent characterisation
Savola is a vertically shallow but horizontally broad consumer staples group. It does not own upstream agricultural assets at scale (it crushes and refines purchased crude oils and refines purchased raw sugar); it does own the branding, the conversion assets, the distribution network and, uniquely among regional peers, the modern-trade shelf itself through Panda. That combination — being both a large branded supplier and the largest modern grocery retailer in the same market — is the structural feature that most differentiates Savola from Almarai, IFFCO, Wilmar or Al Othaim, and it is also the feature that creates the most persistent internal tension, since Panda's private-label and discounter response necessarily competes with Savola Foods' branded volume.
Revenue model
Savola is overwhelmingly a product business. There is effectively no subscription, licensing or recurring-service revenue in the mix. Revenue is recognised on transfer of control of goods, split approximately:
- B2C branded manufactured goods (Afia, Arabi, Al Osra, El Maleka, Bayara, Al Kabeer) — sold through modern trade, traditional trade, wholesale and export distributors, at branded price points with promotional trade spend
- B2B / foodservice ingredients (Savola Professional, Al Kabeer Professional, International Foods Industries specialty fats) — contracted and tendered volumes to industrial bakers, confectioners, HORECA and food manufacturers; growing fastest of the three
- Grocery retail (Panda / Hyper Panda) — transaction-based retail margin plus supplier commercial income and rebates (which are netted against inventory cost per the Group's accounting policy), plus an emerging retail-media and data-monetisation stream
- Franchised and owned QSR/bakery (Herfy) — restaurant sales, industrial bakery, cake, rusk and meat processing, plus international franchise fees in Kuwait, Bangladesh and Nigeria
- Equity-accounted associate income — now residual following the Almarai exit; principally Kinan International for Real Estate Development (29.99%)
Value chain position
Savola sits in the middle of the food value chain and, unusually, occupies two non-adjacent links simultaneously:
Customer types and end-markets
Retail consumers (Panda's 100 million-plus annual customer visits; 111.5 million logistics transactions annually); modern-trade and traditional-trade grocery accounts across the GCC and Levant; export distributors in more than fifty countries; industrial B2B accounts (bakeries, confectionery, dairy analogues, snack manufacturers); HORECA and foodservice operators; discounter and e-commerce marketplace channels, which the FY2025 presentation identifies as a deliberate channel-diversification target for Al Kabeer.
Strategy
Stated strategic themes
The FY2024 Annual Report frames the Group's role around five verbatim pillars: intensify focus on high growth food businesses in MENA; prioritize resources to focus on core operating business; strive for a well-defined capital structure and set priorities for capital allocation; focused M&A to acquire high value food categories and increase market share; and portfolio management and shareholder value optimization. Savola articulates its holding-company value-add across leadership and governance, target-setting and performance monitoring, capital allocation, long-term strategic planning and infrastructure/consumer access.
The FY2025 presentation replaces this holding-company framing entirely, opening with four operating themes: leadership alignment for growth; strategic integration — consolidating Foods and Group entities; unlocking multi-category synergies through Al Kabeer integration; and focusing on core operations. The stated ambition is that "Savola today operates one of the region's most integrated food platforms."
Savola Foods: from ABCD to Triple A
The 2019–2024 strategic cycle ran on the ABCD framework — Anchor (strengthen core brands), Bet (acquire into adjacent high-growth categories, e.g. Munchbox), Conquer (major category entry, e.g. Bayara), Disrupt (transform the B2B model via Savola Professional). The successor cycle, running 2025 through 2028, is the Triple A framework:
- Accelerate — expand the core portfolio through improved go-to-market, higher innovation investment and brand building; broaden B2C assortment into adjacent categories; expand B2B into foodservice, industrial and non-food; prioritise value-added products, particularly nuts, spices and pulses
- Acquire — pursue acquisitions, partnerships and joint ventures to enter new categories; use vertical integration tactically to strengthen supply-chain resilience and cost efficiency
- Advance — accelerate digital transformation, modernise technology, apply AI and analytics to decision-making, and maintain best-in-class ESG, risk management and talent development
Panda strategy
Four pillars: core retail excellence (nationwide modern-trade leadership, continued CXR rollout, hypermarket remodelling for space utilisation); strong omnichannel presence (Ocado-enabled e-commerce plus quick-commerce aggregator partnerships); footprint optimisation and expansion (real-estate efficiency and targeted openings, with an explicit focus on Riyadh); and retail media networks (monetising first-party shopper data through marketing and services tools serving both customers and suppliers).
Announced initiatives, last 24 months
Medium-term financial targets
Savola does not publish formal numeric medium-term guidance — no revenue, margin, EBITDA or leverage targets are disclosed. Management communicates directional priorities only. The nearest thing to a quantified commitment in the disclosures is the Panda store and CXR count for 2026. Investors should treat the absence of guidance as a structural feature of this disclosure regime rather than an oversight.
Products & Services
FOOD PROCESSING — Savola Foods Company
Edible oils and ghee
Sugar
Pasta
Nuts, Spices and Pulses (NSP)
Seafood and emerging categories
Seafood International Two FZCO (UAE) distributes seafood products; Seafood International One FZCO is under liquidation, and the John West licensing relationship established with Thai Union in 2015 across twelve MENA markets is no longer presented as a growth platform. Cascade Marine Foods (UAE) manufactures frozen marine products within the Al Kabeer perimeter. A seafood production line was added in the frozen segment to meet rising Saudi demand.
B2B platform — Savola Professional
Relaunched as a complete professional range and identified in both the FY2024 and FY2025 presentations as a principal driver of the next strategic cycle. Serves foodservice, industrial and non-food customers with oils, fats, sugar and ingredient solutions. Net customer additions in KSA and export markets were cited as the specific driver of Arabia oil growth in FY2025. Pricing is contract- and tender-based; terms are not disclosed.
RETAIL — Panda Retail Company
Supporting propositions: the Customer Experience Revival (CXR) store-renovation programme (30 stores completed in 2025; 132 cumulative since inception; 20+ targeted for 2026); Panda e-commerce, rebuilt on an Ocado platform partnership, with online revenue up approximately 3x in FY2025 and 2.5x year-on-year in H1 2026, full-order fulfilment at 97% and more than twenty online fulfilment hubs; Clix, an entry-price private-label electronics proposition delivered through a partnership with Extra Electronics across 45 in-store sections; a loyalty programme under revamp; click-and-collect and valet trolley services at selected sites; and an emerging retail media network monetising Panda's first-party shopper data. Panda's Net Promoter Score reached 80 in 2024, described by the company as market-leading.
FROZEN FOODS — Al Kabeer Group
Established 1974; acquired 51% by Savola in 2018. More than 300 SKUs and product formats under the single flagship Al Kabeer brand, spanning frozen parathas and dough products, samosas, kebabs, burgers, nuggets, breaded poultry, seafood, vegetables and fruit. Manufacturing runs from three facilities — two in the UAE and one in Saudi Arabia. Recent launches include Chicken Zing Strips in Sriracha and Buffalo flavours, non-spicy Zing Strips, Zing Shrimps, Zing Prawns and Kiri Cheese Samosas. A brand rediscovery exercise concluded in November 2023 with a new logo and repackaging. Al Kabeer Professional, launched 2023, addresses B2B and HORECA and was the fastest-growing part of the business in FY2025. Distribution runs through 30+ cold stores, 11 distribution centres and 450+ vehicles.
FOOD SERVICES — Herfy Food Services Company
Established 1981; Savola holds 49% and consolidates. Saudi Arabia's largest home-grown fast-food chain, operating 402 outlets as at the FY2024 disclosure (382 Saudi Arabia, 10 Kuwait, 7 Nigeria, 3 Bangladesh), alongside pastry shops, an industrial bakery producing bread, cakes and rusk, and a meat processing operation that supplies both the restaurant network and third parties. Pricing is menu-based QSR; franchise terms internationally are not disclosed.
Product Portfolio
| Brand | Description | Target customer | Markets | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Afia | Flagship premium corn, sunflower and blended cooking oils; the brand that created the category in Saudi Arabia. Extended in 2024 into fortified variants enriched with vitamins and minerals | Mainstream and premium household | KSA, GCC, Levant, Egypt, export | Launched 1982; all Afia products in Saudi Arabia are now packed in biodegradable PET bottles — a regional first, nominated for the SIAL Innovation Award 2024 in Paris |
Arabi / Alarabi | Value-tier household cooking oil and vegetable ghee | Value-conscious household | KSA, GCC, Egypt | Core defensive brand against discounter and import pressure |
Shams | Value-for-money range extended in 2024 from oils into nuts and snacking | Entry price tier | UAE, KSA | Deliberate response to consumer down-trading from premium |
Rawabi | Vegetable ghee and cooking oil | Mainstream household | KSA and export | |
Janna | Cooking oil | Mainstream household | Egypt and regional | |
Specialty fats (International Foods Industries) | Bakery fats, confectionery fats, coating fats, margarines and shortenings, produced at a dedicated Jeddah plant commissioned in 2017 | Industrial B2B — bakeries, confectioners, dairy analogue producers | KSA, GCC, growing export | Best-performing sub-line in FY2025 on volume, margin and new-product development; explicit management priority |
| Brand | Description | Target customer | Markets |
|---|---|---|---|
Al Osra / Alosra | Flagship refined white sugar in retail pack formats; refreshed packaging 2024 | Household retail | KSA, GCC |
Sweet & Fit | Natural-sweetener fitness sugar delivering equivalent sweetness at ~50% fewer calories; launched 2024 | Health-conscious consumer | KSA |
Bulk and industrial refined sugar | Refined from imported raw sugar at United Sugar Company (KSA), USCE and Alexandria Sugar (Egypt); raw sugar purchases hedged with commodity futures under fair-value hedge accounting | Food manufacturers, beverage producers, bakeries, traders | KSA, Egypt, regional export |
| Brand | Description | Target customer | Markets |
|---|---|---|---|
El Maleka / Al Malika | Market-leading Egyptian pasta brand; soft-bite and hard-bite variants reintroduced in 2024, driving FY2024–FY2025 volume and margin gains | Egyptian household | Egypt, regional export |
Italiano | Secondary pasta brand | Value household | Egypt, export |
| Brand | Description | Target customer | Markets |
|---|---|---|---|
Bayara | Acquired 2021 for USD 260 million; premium nuts, dried fruits, dates, spices, pulses and healthy snacks. Operates a shop-in-shop and boutique format ("Bayara World"), with six new UAE boutiques opened in 2024 | Premium and health-oriented consumer, UAE-centric | UAE, GCC |
Afia (NSP extension) | Nuts, pulses, spices, dried fruits and dates under the trusted Afia masterbrand — the Saudi vehicle for the category | Saudi mainstream household | KSA |
Al Mehbaj | Acquired July/August 2026 with Al Mehbaj Al Shamiya for Trading LLC; roasting and processing capability plus branded range | Saudi mainstream | KSA |
Munchbox | Snacking/food-wellness venture; a SAR 29 million start-up asset charge was taken against it in FY2024 | Younger urban consumer | UAE, GCC |
Kandoo | Trademark portfolio held through Kandoo Worldwide Limited (BVI) | — | — |
GYMA Food Industries | Spices, nuts and pulses processing (UAE) | B2B and private label | UAE |
| Format | Description | Count (Dec 2025) |
|---|---|---|
Panda (supermarket) | Neighbourhood modern grocery; the growth format — 19 net additions in FY2025 | 166 |
Hyper Panda (hypermarket) | Large-format grocery and general merchandise; being remodelled rather than expanded (one addition, two closures in FY2025) | 61 |
Total | 221 in Saudi Arabia, 6 in Egypt; net selling area 580,400 m² (2024: 541,700 m²) | 227 |
Financial Narrative
6.1 Income statement (SAR million, as originally filed each year)
FY2021 and FY2022 comprehensive income entries are shown as zero because the figures are not disclosed in the Saudi Exchange summary series retrieved; they are not publicly disclosed in that form and should be sourced from the respective annual reports. FY2021 and FY2022 EPS are calculated on the then-outstanding 533.98 million shares (capital SAR 5.34 billion at SAR 10 par) and are therefore not directly comparable to FY2023–FY2025, which reflect the 2024 rights issue and subsequent capital reduction to 300 million shares.
6.2 Profitability on a comparable (restated) basis (SAR million)
FY2023 EBIT and EBITDA include the Almarai equity-income contribution; FY2024 includes SAR 817 million of associate income and FY2025 only SAR 52 million. Stripping associate income out, FY2025 EBITDA of SAR 2,300 million compares with FY2024 of SAR 2,055 million — an increase of approximately 12%, which is the honest read of underlying operating performance and the opposite of the headline 18% decline.
6.3 Balance sheet (SAR million)
Zero entries denote figures not disclosed in the sources consulted for that year and should be read as not publicly disclosed here, not as nil. FY2025 loans split short-term SAR 259 million and long-term (including current portion) SAR 2,888 million. Net debt at December 2024 is shown at SAR 594 million on a comparable basis; the FY2024 CFO review cited SAR 621 million including Turkey, and the FY2025 presentation shows SAR 456 million excluding SAR 223 million of Turkey net debt. The three numbers are reconcilable and none is wrong; the differences are perimeter definitions.
Goodwill and intangible assets carried at SAR 1.4 billion at 31 December 2025 (FY2025 auditor's key audit matter); no impairment charge was recognised in FY2025 after external valuation support. Inventories carried at SAR 4.7 billion. Lease liabilities at December 2025 totalled approximately SAR 3.9 billion (Savola Foods SAR 290 million, Panda SAR 3.1 billion, Herfy SAR 457 million, Al Kabeer SAR 62 million) — larger than gross debt, and the single most under-appreciated liability on the balance sheet given Panda's store estate. Working capital cannot be computed for FY2025 from the disclosures retrieved because the Saudi Exchange summary no longer splits current from non-current; the FY2024 Annual Report states that the Group was in a net current liability position at 31 December 2024, mitigated by SAR 5.3 billion of unused committed bank facilities (2023: SAR 6.0 billion).
6.4 Cash flow (SAR million)
Capital expenditure by business in FY2025 was led by Savola Foods at SAR 567 million (FY2024: SAR 471 million) and Panda at SAR 231 million (FY2024: SAR 204 million), with the balance across Al Kabeer, Herfy and the corporate centre. The FY2025 financing outflow of SAR 2,191 million reflects debt repayment and dividend activity following the 2024 recapitalisation.
6.5 Ratios
ROE and ROA for FY2024 are arithmetically correct and analytically meaningless: they are driven entirely by the SAR 11.3 billion non-cash Almarai distribution gain applied to a capital base that was simultaneously reduced by SAR 8.3 billion. FY2025 ROE of 17.2% on average equity of SAR 5,068 million is the first clean post-restructuring reading and is respectable for a staples business. Interest coverage on FY2025 EBIT of SAR 1,137 million against total finance costs of roughly SAR 340 million annualised (H1 2026 run-rate: SAR 39 million net financing cost on net debt, SAR 113 million lease interest, SAR 3 million bank commission, SAR 14 million net FX loss, SAR 1 million other) implies approximately 3.3x — adequate but not generous, and materially weaker if lease interest is treated as financing rather than operating. Cash conversion cycle cannot be computed from the retrieved disclosures for FY2025 and is not publicly disclosed in the summary financials.
6.6 Growth and inflection commentary
Revenue CAGR across FY2021–FY2025 on the as-filed basis is 1.4% — effectively flat in nominal terms over four years, and negative in real terms. That statistic is the single most important framing for Savola: this is not a growth company at the top line. What has changed is the composition and quality of that revenue and the capital structure supporting it.
Three distinct inflections are visible. The first is 2021–2022 commodity inflation, which lifted revenue 14% to SAR 28.1 billion on price rather than volume and lifted net profit from a depressed SAR 222 million (itself hit by SAR 363 million of retail right-of-use and asset impairments and SAR 58.8 million in food processing) to SAR 743 million. The second is the 2023–2024 deflation and pruning phase, in which crude edible oil prices fell, revenue declined 4% then a further 11% on the restated basis, and the Group took SAR 2.0 billion of adjustments in Savola Foods alone — SAR 1.16 billion on Iran, SAR 249 million on Sudan, SAR 378 million of impairments, SAR 72 million on the Egypt sugar step-acquisition and SAR 29 million on Munchbox. The third and current inflection is operational recovery from FY2025, where recurring net profit rose 82% to SAR 539 million and then a further 40% to SAR 372 million in H1 2026, with H1 2026 EBITDA margin up 70 basis points to 9.7% and operating expenses down to 14.5% of revenue from 15.2%.
The margin trajectory deserves particular scrutiny. Gross margin has compressed from 20.9% (FY2023) to 19.5% (FY2025) — but the driver is mix, not deterioration. Consolidating USCE brought SAR 1,563 million of low-margin Egyptian sugar revenue into the Group at a segment gross margin of roughly 8.5%, mechanically diluting the blended rate while adding SAR 79 million of net income. Panda's gross margin was essentially stable at 25.5% (FY2024: 25.4%). Al Kabeer's fell from 34.8% to 33.2% on genuine competitive pressure in poultry.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Segment | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Food Processing (Savola Foods) | 12397 | 11003 | 13280 |
Retail (Panda) | 10331 | 10625 | 11328 |
Food Services (Herfy) | 1174 | 1125 | 1083 |
Frozen Foods (Al Kabeer) | 714 | 760 | 805 |
HQ / Eliminations | -466 | -467 | -414 |
Group total | 24150 | 23046 | 26081 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Food Processing | 452 | -1651 | 481 |
Retail | 47 | 154 | 115 |
Food Services | 8 | -117 | -77 |
Frozen Foods | 70 | 66 | 54 |
Share of associates | 768 | 817 | 52 |
HQ / Eliminations / Impairments | -445 | 10705 | 250 |
Group total | 899 | 9974 | 874 |
Segment Revenue
| Segment | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Food Processing | 990 | 1024 |
Retail | 990 | 1035 |
Food Services | 109 | 162 |
Frozen Foods | 93 | 97 |
Share of associates | 817 | 52 |
HQ / Eliminations | -128 | -18 |
Group total | 2872 | 2352 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | Food Processing | Retail | Food Services | Frozen Foods |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (SAR m) | 13,280 | 11,328 | 1,083 | 805 |
Gross profit (SAR m) | 1,689 | 2,893 | 259 | 267 |
Gross margin | 12.7% | 25.5% | 23.9% | 33.2% |
EBITDA margin | 7.7% | 9.1% | 15.0% | 12.0% |
Net margin | 3.6% | 1.0% | (7.1)% | 6.7% |
YoY revenue growth | +20.7% (reported) / +3.0% recurring | +6.6% | (3.8)% | +5.9% |
% of gross segment revenue | 50% | 43% | 4% | 3% |
Segment Revenue
| Sub-segment | FY2024 revenue | FY2025 revenue | FY2024 net income | FY2025 net income |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Oil — Arabia | 2913 | 3630 | 65 | 240 |
Oil — Other markets | 3294 | 3496 | -89 | 81 |
Sugar — KSA | 3160 | 2706 | 77 | 43 |
Sugar — Egypt | 484 | 2162 | -107 | 79 |
Pasta | 528 | 545 | 17 | 46 |
Nuts, Spices & Pulses — UAE | 505 | 585 | 11 | 45 |
Nuts, Spices & Pulses — KSA | 118 | 156 | -184 | -47 |
Segment Revenue
| Entity | Country | Activity | Ownership |
|---|---|---|---|
Savola Foods Company (SFC) | Saudi Arabia | Holding — food | 100% |
Panda Retail Company | Saudi Arabia | Retail | 100% |
Good Food Company (GFC) | Saudi Arabia | Holding — frozen food | 100% |
Herfy Food Services Company | Saudi Arabia | QSR, industrial bakery, meat processing | 49% (consolidated as de facto control) |
Al Matoun International for Real Estate Investment Holding | Saudi Arabia | Real estate | 80% |
Afia International Company | Saudi Arabia | Edible oils manufacturing | 95.19% |
United Sugar Company (USC) | Saudi Arabia | Sugar refining | 74.48% |
United Sugar Company Egypt (USCE) | Egypt | Sugar refining | 56.76% (2024: 39.73%) |
Alexandria Sugar Company (ASCE) | Egypt | Sugar refining | 62.13% direct / 76.9% effective |
Afia International Company Egypt (AICE) | Egypt | Edible oils | 99.95% |
El Maleka for Food Industries | Egypt | Pasta | 100% |
International Foods Industries (IFI) | Saudi Arabia | Specialty fats | 100% |
Savola Snacks | Egypt | Snacks manufacturing | 99% |
Afia International Company – Algeria | Algeria | Edible oils | 100% |
Bayara FZE / Bayara Holding / GYMA Food Industries | UAE | Nuts, spices, pulses | 100% |
Bayara Saudi Arabia Limited Group | Saudi Arabia | Nuts, spices, pulses | 100% |
Al Kabeer Holding Limited and subsidiaries | UAE / Oman / Bahrain / KSA | Frozen food manufacturing & distribution | 51% |
Savola Industrial Sustainable Development Company | Saudi Arabia | Renewable energy | 100% |
Kinan International for Real Estate Development | Saudi Arabia | Real estate (associate) | 29.99% |
Tiryaki Anadolu (enlarged entity) | Turkey | Integrated agribusiness (associate/investment) | 15% |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue (SAR m) | 24669 | 28055 | 26818 | 23987 | 26081 |
Net profit attributable to shareholders (SAR m) | 222 | 743 | 899 | 9974 | 874 |
Total comprehensive income attributable (SAR m) | 0 | 0 | 646 | 11272 | 955 |
EPS basic and diluted (SAR) | 0.42 | 1.39 | 1.69 | 10.61 | 2.93 |
Net margin (%) | 0.9 | 2.6 | 3.4 | 41.6 | 3.4 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue restated (SAR m) | 24150 | 23046 | 26081 |
Gross profit restated (SAR m) | 5046 | 4833 | 5089 |
Gross margin (%) | 20.9 | 21.0 | 19.5 |
Operating profit / EBIT (SAR m) | 2062 | 1386 | 1137 |
EBITDA (SAR m) | 3015 | 2872 | 2352 |
EBITDA margin (%) | 12.5 | 12.5 | 9.0 |
Recurring net profit (SAR m) | 912 | 296 | 539 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets (SAR m) | 28546 | 29565 | 29963 | 21394 | 20480 |
Total liabilities (SAR m) | 19454 | 20248 | 20428 | 15815 | 14014 |
Equity attributable to shareholders (SAR m) | 8079 | 8255 | 8451 | 4620 | 5516 |
Non-controlling interests (SAR m) | 1013 | 1062 | 1083 | 959 | 950 |
Cash and cash equivalents (SAR m) | 0 | 0 | 1132 | 2148 | 843 |
Inventory (SAR m) | 3602 | 4637 | 0 | 0 | 4700 |
Total loans and borrowings (SAR m) | 0 | 0 | 6636 | 1885 | 3147 |
Net debt excluding leases (SAR m) | 0 | 0 | 6636 | 594 | 594 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Net cash from operating activities (SAR m) | 1720 | 1140 | 1069 |
Net cash used in investing activities (SAR m) | -496 | -436 | -239 |
Net cash from/(used in) financing activities (SAR m) | -563 | 647 | -2191 |
Capital expenditure (SAR m) | 864 | 774 | 858 |
Free cash flow after capex (SAR m) | 856 | 366 | 211 |
Cash and equivalents at year end (SAR m) | 1132 | 2148 | 843 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity (%) | 10.8 | 152.7 | 17.2 |
Return on assets (%) | 3.0 | 38.8 | 4.2 |
Net debt / EBITDA (x) | 2.20 | 0.21 | 0.25 |
Total debt / total equity (x) | 0.70 | 0.34 | 0.49 |
Asset turnover (x) | 0.90 | 0.93 | 1.24 |
Dividend payout ratio (%) | 0 | 0 | 58 |
Operating cash flow / net profit (x) | 1.91 | 0.11 | 1.22 |
Geographic Revenue
| Region | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Arabia — KSA, GCC and Levant (%) | 81 | 76 |
Egypt (%) | 17 | 22 |
Other markets (%) | 2 | 2 |
Geographic Revenue
| Business | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|
Savola Foods (%) | 47 | 50 |
Panda (%) | 45 | 43 |
Al Kabeer (%) | 3 | 3 |
Herfy (%) | 5 | 4 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Last close (SAR) | 25.92 |
Market capitalisation (SAR m) | 7776 |
Shares outstanding (m) | 300 |
Year-to-date change (%) | 18.41 |
Price at start of 2026 (SAR) | 22.06 |
Price one year ago (SAR) | 23.89 |
Price three years ago (SAR) | 22.94 |
52-week high (SAR) | 30.30 |
52-week low (SAR) | 20.45 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
Trailing P/E (x) | 7.93 | Saudi Exchange, TTM EPS ~SAR 3.27 |
P/E on FY2025 reported EPS (x) | 8.85 | SAR 25.92 / SAR 2.93 |
P/E on FY2025 recurring EPS (x) | 14.43 | SAR 25.92 / SAR 1.80 recurring |
Price / book (x) | 1.41 | SAR 7,776m / SAR 5,516m equity |
EV / EBITDA excluding leases (x) | 3.56 | (7,776 + 594) / 2,352 |
EV / EBITDA including lease liabilities (x) | 5.22 | (7,776 + 594 + ~3,900) / 2,352 |
EV / Sales (x) | 0.32 | (7,776 + 594) / 26,081 |
Dividend yield (%) | 6.56 | SAR 1.70 / SAR 25.92 |
Capital Markets
| Declared for FY | Announced | Eligibility | Distribution | Per share (SAR) | Total (SAR m) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
FY2019 | 29 Jan 2020 | 29 Apr 2020 | 20 May 2020 | 0.30 | ~160 |
FY2020 | 27 Jan 2021 | 28 Apr 2021 | 24 May 2021 | 0.75 | ~400 |
FY2021 | 1 Feb 2022 | 16 May 2022 | 6 Jun 2022 | 0.20 | ~107 |
FY2022 | 27 Mar 2023 | 10 May 2023 | 31 May 2023 | 0.66 | ~352 |
FY2023 | — | — | — | 0.00 | 0 |
FY2024 | — | — | — | 0.00 (in-kind Almarai distribution of SAR 12.8bn dividend-in-kind plus SAR 8.3bn capital reduction) | 21,100 |
FY2025 | 8 Mar 2026 | 6 May 2026 | 21 May 2026 | 1.70 | 510 |
Capital Markets
| Event | Date | Effect on capital |
|---|---|---|
Capital increase for Al Muhaidib Panda/SFC acquisition | 2013 | To SAR 5.34 billion via 33.9 million new shares |
Rights issue | Sep 2024 | SAR 5.34 billion to SAR 11.34 billion; 600 million shares offered, 564.9 million subscribed, rump bid 814.2% |
Capital reduction | Dec 2024 | SAR 11.34 billion to SAR 3.0 billion, enabling the Almarai distribution |
Current | Aug 2026 | SAR 3.0 billion; 300 million shares at SAR 10 par |
Capital Markets
| Debt component | Dec 2024 (SAR m) | Dec 2025 (SAR m) |
|---|---|---|
Short-term loans | 0 | 259 |
Long-term loans including current portion | 1885 | 2888 |
Total loans | 1885 | 3147 |
Net debt excluding leases | 594 | 594 |
Lease liabilities | 0 | 3900 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
Savola issues no formal numeric guidance. The forward commitments disclosed for FY2026 are operational: 20-plus new Panda stores and 20-plus CXR completions; continued expansion of the Savola Professional B2B platform; disciplined management of the edible oil and commodity platforms; capital redeployment toward high-growth avenues following the exits; profitability improvement in the Saudi nuts, spices and pulses business; strengthening Al Kabeer's leadership in frozen and convenience through new product development; channel diversification into discounters and B2B; and continued focus on operational efficiency and supply-chain optimisation. Consensus growth expectations are not verified in this dossier.
Bull case
First, the recurring earnings trajectory is real and accelerating. Recurring net profit rose from SAR 296 million (FY2024) to SAR 539 million (FY2025) — up 82% — and then 40% year-on-year in H1 2026 to SAR 372 million. H1 2026 EBITDA margin expanded 70 basis points to 9.7% while operating expenses fell from 15.2% to 14.5% of revenue. This is not one line item; it is Food Processing net profit nearly doubling to SAR 313 million, Frozen Food up 19.9% to SAR 36 million, and Food Services narrowing losses from SAR 18 million to SAR 1 million simultaneously. If H2 2026 holds the H1 run-rate, full-year recurring profit approaches SAR 750 million against a SAR 7.8 billion market capitalisation.
Second, the balance sheet is now a weapon rather than a constraint. Net debt of SAR 851 million against annualising EBITDA of roughly SAR 2.6 billion is approximately 0.3x, with SAR 5.3 billion of unused facilities and SAR 521 million parked in government sukuk. Savola funded SAR 385 million of capex and SAR 524 million of dividends in H1 2026 and still reduced net debt year-on-year. The "Acquire" pillar of Triple A is fundable without equity issuance — an unusual position for a regional staples company.
Third, the mix shift toward value-added and B2B is compounding. Arabia edible oil net income rose from SAR 65 million to SAR 240 million on B2B customer acquisition and premium/VFM mix management; specialty fats delivered volume and margin gains together; pasta net income rose from SAR 17 million to SAR 46 million; Bayara UAE from SAR 11 million to SAR 45 million. Panda's online business tripled. None of these are commodity-price-dependent.
Bear case
First, Panda — 43% of gross revenue — is deteriorating. Segment net profit fell from SAR 154 million to SAR 115 million in FY2025, and H1 2026 profit fell again to SAR 33 million from SAR 49 million with a SAR 13 million intangibles write-off. Panda's net margin is 1.0%. The company itself attributes this to "increasing discounters' penetration, expanding e-commerce and competitiveness from existing players" — structural, not cyclical, pressures. Every incremental store adds operating cost ahead of contribution, and the CXR programme, now 132 stores deep, has not translated into segment margin expansion.
Second, commodity and currency exposure remains unhedgeable at the revenue line. FY2025 sugar revenue fell 12.1% on flat volume purely on world price. The USCE consolidation has increased Egyptian exposure to 22% of revenue in a currency that cost SAR 109 million in a single quarter in 2024. Regional geopolitical disruption is now affecting demand, not merely logistics cost, with Al Kabeer's H1 2026 revenue down 1.4% on that basis.
Third, the quality of reported earnings remains poor and the Herfy drag persists. FY2025 net profit of SAR 874 million contains SAR 335 million of net non-recurring gains — a zakat reversal, a put option settlement and a disposal gain — none repeatable. Herfy, consolidated at a 49% interest, contributed losses of SAR 117 million and SAR 77 million in the last two years. Associate income has collapsed from SAR 817 million to SAR 52 million with no visible replacement. On recurring earnings the stock trades at 14.4x, not 7.9x.
Catalysts and monitorables — next 12 months
Analyst verdict (300 words)
Savola in August 2026 is a company that has finished doing something difficult and has not yet proved it can do something ordinary. The 2024 restructuring was executed with unusual competence — a SAR 6 billion rights issue subscribed at a rump bid of 814%, a SAR 21.1 billion in-kind distribution, a SAR 8.3 billion capital reduction and a SAR 1 billion sukuk cancellation, all inside twelve months, with five country exits either side of it. What remains is a cleaner, smaller, deleveraged food and retail operator with SAR 26 billion of revenue, 0.3x net leverage and, for the first time in a decade, no equity-income cushion to hide behind.
The early operating evidence is encouraging. Recurring profit has risen 82% then 40% across two consecutive reporting periods, margin expansion is broad-based across three of four segments, and the mix is shifting toward B2B, specialty fats, value-added categories and online — all structurally higher-quality revenue than refined sugar. The July 2025 decision to put the Savola Foods CEO in charge of the Group and consolidate the boards is the correct organisational response to the correct strategic diagnosis.
Against that, Panda is the problem the company has not solved. It is 43% of revenue at a 1.0% net margin, losing ground to discounters, and its profitability has now declined for three consecutive reporting periods despite heavy CXR investment. Herfy remains a fully consolidated loss on a minority stake. And headline earnings continue to be distorted by one-offs in both directions, which is why the stock screens at 7.9x and prices at 14.4x.
At 3.6x EV/EBITDA excluding leases with a 6.6% dividend yield, the market is pricing the retail problem as permanent and giving no credit for the food recovery. That asymmetry is the investment case. The monitorable that decides it is Panda's segment margin.
End of dossier. Figures reflect information publicly available as at 16 August 2026. Items marked "not publicly disclosed" or "not verified in this dossier" should be sourced from the filed consolidated financial statements, the Board of Directors' Report and the Compliance Report sections of the Savola Group annual report before use in a transaction context.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Role | Classification | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Suliman Abdulqader Al-Muhaidib | Chairman | Non-Executive | Chairman of Al Muhaidib Group and of Rafal Real Estate Development; board member of Almarai, Vision Invest, the King Salman Center for Disability Research and the Prince Fahad Bin Salman Charity Association; Honorary Doctorate, University of Tokyo (2012) |
Bader Abdullah Alissa | Deputy Chairman | Non-Executive | |
Fahad Abdullah Al Kassim | Director | Non-Executive | |
Eng. Mutaz Qusai AlAzzawi | Director | Non-Executive | |
Isam Majid Al Muhaidib | Director | Non-Executive | |
Ahmed Wazea Al Qahtani | Director | Non-Executive | |
Rakan Abdulaziz Alfadl | Director | Independent | |
Bader Hamad Alrabiah | Director | Independent | |
Ahmad Abdulrahman Al Humaidan | Director | Independent | |
Waled Abdullah Al Ghreri | Director | Independent | |
Basel Mohammed Binjabr | Director | Independent |
| Name | Role | Since | Background |
|---|---|---|---|
Sameh Mahmoud Hassan | Group Chief Executive Officer; concurrently CEO of Savola Foods Company | 1 July 2025 (Savola Foods since December 2018) | Chief Portfolio Officer at Al Faisaliah Group; Chief Operating Officer at Basamh Trading and Industries Group; approximately twenty years in international roles at Procter & Gamble |
Wajid Usman Khan | Group Chief Financial Officer | 1 January 2021 | |
Morhaf Mohammad Alsamman | Chief Human Resources Officer | Not disclosed | |
Mohammad Nasr | Chief Information Officer | Not disclosed | |
Elnour Ali Saad | Chief Corporate Governance and Legal Affairs Officer; Group Board Secretary; Investor Relations contact | Not disclosed |
| Shareholder | Stake |
|---|---|
Assila Investments Company | 11.24% |
Abdulkadir Al-Muhaidib & Sons Company | 8.32% |
Mohammed Abdullah Al Rabiah & Partners Company (Abdullah Mohammed Abdullah AlRabiah) | 8.22% |
Al Muhaidib Holding Company | 6.36% |
| Individual | Role | Holding |
|---|---|---|
Wajid Usman Khan | CFO | 0.116825% |
Rakan Abdulaziz Alfadl | Director | 0.026603% |
Sameh Mahmoud Hassan | CEO | 0.017149% |
Bader Hamad Alrabiah | Director | 0.000468% |
Fahad Abdullah Al Kassim | Director | 0.000374% |
Bader Abdullah Alissa | Deputy Chairman | 0.000192% |
Mutaz Qusai AlAzzawi | Director | 0.000187% |
Waled Abdullah Al Ghreri | Director | 0.000126% |
Suliman Abdulqader Al-Muhaidib | Chairman | 0.000088% |
Basel Mohammed Binjabr | Director | 0.000033% |
Competitive Landscape
| Segment | Named competitors | Basis of competition |
|---|---|---|
Edible oils — KSA/GCC | Wilmar International, Cargill, Bunge, IFFCO Group (Dubai), Al Ghurair Foods, Agthia Group (Abu Dhabi), Sunbulah Group, Borges | Price, brand equity, distribution depth, import parity; the FY2024 report specifically cites "an influx of competitively priced imports" in Saudi Arabia |
Edible oils — Egypt | Arma Group, Cairo Oil & Soap, and unbranded/local refiners | Price and availability under FX and purchasing-power constraints |
Sugar | Al Khaleej Sugar (Dubai), ASR Group / Tate & Lyle Sugars, Al Nouran Sugar (Egypt), Delta Sugar (Egypt) | Commodity refining spread; scale and raw sugar procurement |
Modern grocery retail — KSA | Abdullah Al Othaim Markets, BinDawood Holding (Danube and BinDawood), Carrefour KSA (Majid Al Futtaim), Lulu Retail, Tamimi Markets, and a rapidly expanding discounter cohort | Price, assortment, location, omnichannel; Savola explicitly cites "increasing discounters' penetration, expanding e-commerce and competitiveness from existing players" |
Frozen and convenience foods | Sunbulah Group, Americana, BRF (Sadia), Seara, Emborg, Tanmiah Food Company, Almunajem Foods | Poultry pricing, promotional intensity, cold-chain reach; Al Kabeer's FY2025 margin decline is attributed directly to "promo intensity on poultry related products" |
Nuts, spices and pulses | Regional and local processors, private label, informal trade | Highly fragmented — the strategic rationale for Al Mehbaj and the Jeddah facility |
Pasta | Regina, Barilla, and local Egyptian brands | Al Malika is the category leader in Egypt |
QSR (Herfy) | Americana Restaurants (KFC, Hardee's), Alamar Foods (Domino's), Al Baik, Kudu/Shatirah House, Raydan Food, plus aggregator-native concepts | Aggregator economics, menu innovation, delivery share; the FY2024 report cites "the growing influence of food aggregators" as a named pressure |
Specialty fats B2B | Bunge Loders Croklaan, AAK, IOI Loders, Musim Mas | Technical specification, formulation service, reliability of supply |
| Metric | Savola Group | Almarai | Al Othaim Markets | BinDawood Holding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
FY2025 revenue (SAR m) | 26,081 | Not verified here | Not verified here | Not verified here |
FY2024 net profit (SAR m) | 9,974 (874 in FY2025) | 2,313 | Not verified here | Not verified here |
Primary business | Food manufacturing + grocery retail | Dairy, juice, bakery, poultry | Grocery retail | Grocery retail |
Overlap with Savola | — | Category adjacency; former 34.52% affiliate | Direct Panda competitor | Direct Panda competitor |
R&D intensity | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Recent Developments
--



