Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd Overview
Positioning statement (150 words)
Sorting Hat Technologies is the corporate vehicle behind Unacademy, the company that industrialised India's competitive-examination coaching market for the internet. Between 2019 and 2021 it converted a free YouTube channel into a subscription platform spanning UPSC, JEE, NEET, CAT, GATE and government-recruitment examinations, raising roughly USD 830–880 million across thirteen rounds and reaching a USD 3.44 billion valuation. That valuation proved to be a function of pandemic-era demand elasticity rather than durable unit economics. When Indian classrooms reopened in 2022, revenue growth collapsed while a cost base built for a much larger business persisted, producing a cumulative loss of over INR 5,500 crore across FY21–FY25. Management response has been unusually disciplined in the second half of that period — losses fell 85% from peak — but was achieved by shrinking the revenue base, not growing into the cost structure. The company is now being absorbed by upGrad at roughly 6% of its peak valuation.
2.1 The company's own characterisation
Unacademy's self-description, consistent across its website and press releases from 2021 onward, is: "India's largest learning platform, revolutionising education by making high-quality learning accessible and affordable to all. With top educators, curated courses, and a learner-first approach, we cater to competitive exams, professional development, and language learning across the country." The 2021 Avendus transaction note (Series H) quantified the claim as "50,000+ registered Educators and over 62 million Learners… education imparted in 14 Indian languages to learners across 5,000 cities." TheKredible's more recent group description raises this to "over 91,000 registered educators and over 99 million learners" across Unacademy, Graphy and PrepLadder. None of these learner or educator counts are audited, and all are cumulative-registration rather than active-user metrics.
2.2 Independent characterisation
Unacademy is best understood not as a single business but as a portfolio of test-preparation franchises stitched together by acquisition between 2018 and 2021, wrapped in a common subscription front-end and, from 2022 to 2026, a physical coaching-centre network that has since been dismantled.
The economic engine has always been the same: acquire an examination cohort (UPSC aspirants, NEET-PG candidates, GATE engineers), attach a named educator with independent audience pull, and sell a time-boxed subscription against a high-stakes, low-admission-rate examination. The model's structural weakness is that the educator, not the platform, holds the customer relationship — a dependency Unacademy has repeatedly had to buy its way out of (the reported INR 75 crore offer to Alakh Pandey, who declined and built PhysicsWallah into the market leader, is the canonical example) and which produced acute reputational damage when the company terminated educator Karan Sangwan in August 2023.
2.3 Revenue model and mix
The mix shift is the story. In FY21 the business was essentially 100% online subscription. By FY24 it was roughly 60/40 online/offline. As of April 2026 it is intended to be online-first again, with offline reduced to a royalty stream from franchise partners.
2.4 Value chain position and customer types
Unacademy sits in the content aggregation and delivery layer. It does not accredit, examine, or place. It contracts educators (historically on per-minute live-class rates plus ESOP), produces and hosts content, and sells access. Under the franchise model announced January 2026 it retreats further up the chain to brand, curriculum and technology licensor, with franchise partners carrying real estate, faculty payroll and local marketing.
Customer types: (i) individual aspirants aged 16–28 preparing for UPSC CSE, JEE Main/Advanced, NEET UG, NEET PG/FMGE, CAT, GATE/ESE, SSC, banking and railway recruitment; (ii) Class 9–12 school students in foundation programmes; (iii) course creators and independent educators (Graphy, B2B); (iv) competitive programmers and developers (CodeChef); (v) international consumer language learners (Airlearn — US, UK, Germany, Canada per Munjal, March 2026).
Strategy
10.1 Stated strategy
The controlling strategic statement is Munjal's internal email of 14 January 2026, of which the following elements have been directly quoted in reporting by YourStory, Entrackr, Outlook Business and Inc42:
"Over the coming months, we will exit our company-operated centre business by converting these into franchise partnerships. The franchise model has already shown that it works: great local operators run operations, and we provide the academics, technology and reach. It is asset-light, capital-efficient, and aligned with who we are."
"By April, when this transition is complete, Unacademy will have one of the healthiest cost structures in the sector."
"Unacademy has always been exceptional at one thing: building great online learning products. So we are going back to our strengths. Unacademy will be an online-first company moving forward."
And, at the point of announcing the upGrad transaction in March 2026:
"Unacademy helped invent the modern edtech playbook. Along the way we lost some focus and market share, and the sector itself has not seen enough real product innovation in recent years."
Four themes recur: asset-light, capital-efficient, online-first, and product innovation via AI.
10.2 Announced strategic initiatives, 24 months to August 2026
10.3 Medium-term financial targets
Management has issued no formal guidance in the manner of a listed issuer. The only forward statements on the record are: (i) Munjal's January 2026 statement that calendar 2026 "would be focused on growth rather than survival"; (ii) the assertion that Unacademy would have "one of the healthiest cost structures in the sector" post-April 2026; and (iii) upGrad's internal estimate, reported by Inc42, that the Unacademy acquisition would add approximately INR 500 crore to upGrad's consolidated revenue — a figure notably below Unacademy's own FY25 operating revenue of INR 701 crore, implying the acquirer is modelling further contraction or a partial-year consolidation.
An IPO was pledged "within two years" in July 2022. It did not occur and is no longer on the agenda.
10.4 Sustainability and ESG commitments
See Section 20. In summary: CSR-style programmes (Shikshodaya, Educate India) and state-government MoUs, with no published emissions targets, science-based targets, or sustainability report.
Products & Services
5.1 Unacademy platform (core test preparation)
Unacademy Plus — the original subscription tier launched in 2019, providing live classes, structured courses and educator access for a chosen examination goal. Reported ARR of USD 30 million in its launch year. Target customer: serious aspirants seeking live instruction. Pricing has historically been positioned at roughly INR 2,000–3,000 per month for JEE Main preparation, versus INR 2–3 lakh per year for Kota residential offline coaching (Careers360 comparison, 2022).
Unacademy Iconic — the premium tier, adding personal coaching, one-to-one mentorship, physical study material and priority doubt resolution. Multi-year subscriptions have been sold (secondary-market listings reference a UPSC Iconic subscription valid to end-2027).
Combat and test series — periodic all-India mock examinations with ranking, used both as a monetisation product and as a lead-generation and scholarship-qualification mechanism. Unacademy has run national scholarship-cum-admission tests for offline centre enrolment.
Examination verticals covered: UPSC Civil Services; State PSCs; JEE Main and JEE Advanced; NEET UG; NEET PG and FMGE (via PrepLadder); CAT and management entrance; GATE and ESE (via Kreatryx); SSC, banking, railways and state police (via WiFiStudy); CA/CS; defence examinations; Class 9–12 foundation. Instruction delivered in up to 14 Indian languages.
Unacademy Centres — physical coaching centres launched May 2022. The Kota flagship at Talwandi Circle spanned 18,000 sq ft across four floors with a café, library and doubt-solving zones. Delhi network as listed on the platform: Karol Bagh, Mukherjee Nagar, Mehrauli, Lajpat Nagar, Laxmi Nagar, Dwarka (six centres), plus Janakpuri historically. Bengaluru network: Rajajinagar, Jayanagar (UG), RR Nagar, Harvest International School (four centres). Prayagraj: Civil Lines. Programmes sold as one-year (Class 11, Class 12, dropper) and two-year (Class 11+12) formats; UPSC offline programmes priced up to INR 1.8 lakh per the January 2026 protest reporting. Being converted to franchise from January 2026.
5.2 PrepLadder
Acquired July 2020 for ~USD 50 million. Founded 2015 in Chandigarh by Deepanshu, Vittu and Sahil Goyal. Serves post-graduate medical entrance preparation — NEET PG, FMGE, and increasingly USMLE. Product architecture: high-yield video lectures from a branded faculty group marketed as "The Dream Team"; a large clinical question bank; adaptive revision tooling. Approximately 86,000 active subscribers at acquisition. Flagship recurring event: Catalyst all-India NEET PG mock test (2025 edition held 22 June 2025). Widely characterised as the category standard in Indian medical PG preparation and one of only two consistently cash-generative units in the group.
5.3 Graphy
Launched July 2020 as an internal tool for Unacademy educators, subsequently productised as a creator SaaS platform. Enables independent educators and creators to launch branded online schools, host and sell courses, and manage learner communities. Absorbed Spayee (acquired for ~USD 25 million) for white-label course delivery and Scenes for real-time community engagement. Supported by an INR 100 crore creator grant programme announced 2021. Onboarded ~7,500 new creators in FY23 (2.6x prior-year growth). Claims "100K+ creators" as of the current site footer. Business model: platform subscription plus take-rate on creator sales. Led by Sumit Jain until his elevation to Test Prep CEO in September 2025.
5.4 Airlearn
Launched June 2024 as Unacademy Languages, rebranded Airlearn. Published by Unacademy Inc. (New York). Gamified language learning across 35–40+ languages including Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, French, Korean, Vietnamese; a chess course was added in 2026 in direct mirroring of Duolingo's product expansion. Mascot: a blue cat. Differentiated versus Duolingo on explicit grammar instruction and on price — user reviews consistently describe it as approximately half the cost of Duolingo Super. Freemium with in-app purchases. Ratings of 4.8 on both Google Play and the App Store. Product criticism centres on bugs in speech-recognition exercises and on AI-generated art. Munjal's stated thesis: "AI will change personalised tutoring… it will be about teaching you, like a tutor sitting in front of you will teach." Growth: ~USD 0.2 million ARR (January 2025) → ~USD 3 million ARR (December 2025). This is the group's only genuinely global product and the asset Munjal and Saini attempted to spin out in 2025.
5.5 CodeChef
Acquired from Directi in June 2020; founded 2009 by Bhavin Turakhia. Global competitive-programming platform running monthly contests and practice ladders for developers. Retained as a community and top-of-funnel asset. Current monetisation and revenue not publicly disclosed.
5.6 Legacy and discontinued products
WiFiStudy (acquired 2018) — Hindi-medium government-examination preparation, operating largely as a content brand within the core platform. Kreatryx (acquired 2020) — GATE/ESE video courses, test series and postal tracking; ~50,000 registered aspirants at acquisition; operated as an independent brand. Coursavy and NeoStencil (both acquired 2020) — UPSC preparation, absorbed into the core. Mastree (acquired 2020, USD 5 million) — K-12 STEAM subscription for Classes 5–8; shut within one year. SwifLearn (acquired 2021) — K-10 live CBSE/ICSE tutoring, 1,500+ teachers, 30,000+ classes monthly, 120,000+ registered learners at acquisition; wound down. TapChief (acquired 2021, ~INR 100 crore ascribed valuation) — professional networking; folded into Relevel. Relevel — skills-based hiring and assessment platform, peaked at a claimed USD 2 million monthly revenue, pivoted to B2B in January 2023 and shut. NextLevel — LinkedIn competitor launched December 2022; dormant. Cohesive — B2D SaaS launched July 2022; dormant. Rheo TV (acquired July 2021) — game-streaming platform; dormant. Chamomile Tea With Toppers — content brand. Handa Ka Funda — CAT preparation brand. Global Test Prep — shut July 2022 for lack of product-market fit.
The pattern is unambiguous: of approximately twelve acquisitions, two (PrepLadder and Graphy) generate cash; the majority were shut, absorbed or allowed to go dormant within 24–36 months.
Financial Narrative
Source basis: consolidated financial statements filed with the Registrar of Companies, as reviewed and reported by Entrackr (FY21, FY22, FY23, FY24) and, for FY25, an internal company document reviewed by Entrackr and published 29 September 2025. Cross-checks against Inc42, YourStory, Business Standard, Free Press Journal and Tracxn are noted where they diverge. All figures INR crore, consolidated, fiscal years ending 31 March.
6.1 Profit and loss
Notes and discrepancies on the above. The FY22 EBITDA figure is derived from the reported EBITDA margin of –324.46% applied to operating revenue of INR 719 crore; Entrackr published the margin, not the absolute. The FY23 net loss carries a genuine source conflict: Entrackr's January 2024 report cited INR 1,004 crore explicitly excluding non-cash ESOP charges, while its own September 2024 report and Inc42 both cite INR 1,678 crore on an as-reported basis; the Free Press Journal separately cites INR 1,591.2 crore for the standalone entity. The INR 1,678 crore consolidated as-reported figure is used here for comparability. FY24 total expenses of INR 1,627 crore (YourStory) represent a 40.5% year-on-year decline. FY22 advertising of INR 549 crore was up 33% on FY21's INR 411–414 crore and included IPL sponsorship, discontinued from FY23.
Per-share data. Earnings per share, dividends per share and share-count data are not publicly disclosed in accessible form. The company has never declared a dividend. Given the complex CCPS-dominated capital structure and an equity paid-up capital of only INR 1.03 lakh, headline EPS would in any case be economically meaningless.
6.2 Margins and returns
Gross profit and gross margin are not publicly disclosed; the RoC filings as reported do not break out cost of revenue separately from educator, content and delivery costs.
6.3 Balance sheet
The FY22 and FY23 cash figures are management statements (Munjal, October 2022: "INR 2,800 crore in the bank"; Munjal, December 2023: "INR 1,800 crore, four-year runway") rather than audited balance-sheet extracts, and should be treated as approximate. FY24 (INR 1,573 crore) and FY25 (INR 1,238 crore) derive from documents reviewed by Entrackr. Munjal has consistently stated the company carries no debt; the Free Press Journal reported in January 2026 that the company "has been recording erosion of net worth in the last [several years]," which is arithmetically necessary given cumulative losses of over INR 7,100 crore across FY21–FY25 against approximately USD 830–880 million of capital raised.
Post-FY25 cash trajectory: ~INR 1,100 crore (January 2026, Munjal); >USD 100 million / INR 900–950 crore expected on the balance sheet at deal close (Inc42, Entrackr, March–July 2026).
6.4 Cash flow
FY22 operating cash outflow of INR 1,452 crore was up 68.3% on FY21's INR 863 crore. FY23–FY25 "implied annual cash consumption" is derived from the movement in disclosed cash balances and is an approximation, not a reported cash-flow statement line. Capital expenditure — material during the 2022–24 offline build-out — is not publicly disclosed. A ESOP buyback of INR 50 crore was authorised in February 2026, with INR 45 crore actually exercised by July 2026; this is a share repurchase from employees, not a shareholder return.
6.5 Ratio summary
Net debt to EBITDA and interest coverage are not meaningful for a debt-free company with negative EBITDA in every year of the period.
6.6 Commentary: trends, inflections and drivers
Revenue CAGR FY21–FY25: approximately 15.2% on operating revenue (INR 398 crore to INR 701 crore). This headline number is deeply misleading. The true shape is a two-phase trajectory: +80.7% (FY22) and +26.2% (FY23), then –7.4% (FY24) and –16.5% (FY25). Peak operating revenue was FY23 at INR 907 crore; the FY23–FY25 CAGR is –12.1%. Unacademy is a shrinking business that grew rapidly four years ago.
The FY22 inflection is the decisive event. Revenue grew 80.7% but total expenses grew 82.4% — to INR 3,703 crore against INR 719 crore of revenue, a ratio of INR 5.15 of spend per rupee earned. The company had hired to approximately 6,000 people, signed expensive educator contracts, executed ten-plus acquisitions and sponsored the IPL. The FY22 net loss of INR 2,848 crore is the largest in the company's history and, in a single year, consumed roughly a third of all capital ever raised.
The FY23–FY25 cost correction is genuinely impressive in isolation. Total expenses fell from INR 3,703 crore (FY22) to INR 2,060 crore (FY23) to INR 1,627 crore (FY24). Employee benefits fell 57.9% year-on-year in FY24 to INR 539.2 crore. Advertising fell from INR 549 crore (FY22) to INR 244.3 crore (FY24), a 56% reduction over two years. Net loss fell 85% from the FY22 peak to FY25. Expense per rupee of revenue improved from INR 5.15 to INR 1.94.
But the correction was purchased with revenue. Operating revenue fell INR 206 crore (23%) from the FY23 peak to FY25 while losses fell INR 1,243 crore. Management chose survival over scale — defensibly, given no capital was available after August 2021 — but the consequence is a company whose FY25 revenue is below its FY23 revenue and whose competitive position has deteriorated materially against PhysicsWallah, which grew from INR 772 crore (FY23) to INR 2,887 crore (FY25).
The treasury is the balance sheet. Cash fell from ~INR 2,800 crore (FY22) to INR 1,238 crore (FY25) to ~INR 900–950 crore expected at deal close. Interest income of INR 125–148 crore per year has been supplying 15–18% of total income — a material and non-operating contribution that would evaporate if the cash pile were spent. In effect, the acquirer is buying an operating business plus roughly INR 900–950 crore of cash for a headline consideration of INR 1,955 crore, implying an enterprise value for the operating business of roughly INR 1,000–1,055 crore, or approximately 1.4–1.5x FY25 operating revenue, for an asset losing INR 435 crore a year at the net line.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Revenue from operations (INR Cr) | 398 | 719 | 907 | 840 | 701 |
Other income (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | 137 | 148 | 125 |
Total income (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | 1044 | 988 | 826 |
Total expenses (INR Cr) | 2030 | 3703 | 2060 | 1627 | not disclosed |
Employee benefits expense (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | 647 | 539 | not disclosed |
Advertising and promotion (INR Cr) | 414 | 549 | 370 | 244 | not disclosed |
EBITDA (INR Cr) | not disclosed | -2333 | -1553 | -489 | -305 |
Net loss (INR Cr) | -1537 | -2848 | -1678 | -631 | -435 |
Revenue growth YoY (%) | not disclosed | 80.7 | 26.2 | -7.4 | -16.5 |
Net loss reduction YoY (%) | not disclosed | -85.3 | 41.1 | 62.4 | 31.0 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EBITDA margin on operating revenue (%) | not disclosed | -324 | -171 | -58 | -44 |
Net margin on operating revenue (%) | -386 | -396 | -185 | -75 | -62 |
Return on capital employed (%) | -81 | -81 | -38 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Expense per rupee of operating revenue (INR) | 5.10 | 5.15 | 2.27 | 1.94 | not disclosed |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (INR Cr) | not disclosed | 2800 | 1800 | 1573 | 1238 |
Total debt (INR Cr) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Net cash position (INR Cr) | not disclosed | 2800 | 1800 | 1573 | 1238 |
Total assets (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Total equity (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Goodwill and intangibles (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Working capital (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating cash outflow (INR Cr) | -863 | -1452 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Implied annual cash consumption (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | 1000 | 227 | 335 |
Capital expenditure (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Free cash flow (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Dividends paid (INR Cr) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Share buybacks (INR Cr) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on equity (%) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Return on assets (%) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Return on capital employed (%) | -81 | -81 | -38 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Current ratio (x) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Debt to equity (x) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Net debt to EBITDA (x) | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful |
Interest coverage (x) | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful |
Asset turnover (x) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
India — share of group revenue (%) | 100 | 100 | 99 |
International — share of group revenue (%) | 0 | 0 | 1 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2025 | 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Post-money valuation (USD M) | not disclosed | 2000 | 3440 | 500 | 207 |
Implied valuation (INR Cr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | 23300 | not disclosed | 1955 |
Cumulative capital raised (USD M) | 200 | 420 | 860 | 860 | 860 |
Capital Markets
| Multiple | Unacademy at transaction | PhysicsWallah at IPO listing | upGrad at May 2026 internal round |
|---|---|---|---|
Enterprise value to FY25 revenue (x) | 1.5 | 10.9 | 9.9 |
Equity value to FY25 revenue (x) | 2.8 | 10.9 | 9.6 |
Price to earnings (x) | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful |
EV to EBITDA (x) | not meaningful | not meaningful | not meaningful |
Price to book (x) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Capital Markets
| Authorisation | Date | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
Employee stock option buyback | 27 Feb 2026 | INR 50 crore | INR 45 crore exercised by July 2026; ~1,000 of ~1,100 eligible former employees participated. Payout distribution: 8 recipients >INR 1 crore, 17 >INR 50 lakh, 38 >INR 10 lakh |
Analyst Conclusions
22.1 Management guidance
Formal guidance does not exist. The operative forward statements are:
- Munjal, 14 January 2026: calendar 2026 will be "focused on growth rather than survival"; post-April 2026 Unacademy will have "one of the healthiest cost structures in the sector"; Unacademy "will be an online-first company moving forward."
- Munjal, March 2026 (post term sheet): continued as CEO with a mandate to build online education products for India and globally; Airlearn cited as gaining meaningful traction in the US, UK, Germany and Canada.
- Screwvala, March 2026: "Together, upGrad and Unacademy will create a stronger, more resilient platform catering to learners at every stage — from test preparation to career advancement and enterprise upskilling."
- upGrad internal modelling (via Inc42): the Unacademy acquisition to add approximately INR 500 crore to upGrad's consolidated revenue.
- upGrad FY26 guidance (provisional, via Incwert valuation report): full-year revenue ~INR 1,972 crore, PAT >INR 60 crore.
22.2 Consensus growth expectations
None available. Directionally, the only quantified third-party expectation is upGrad's INR 500 crore contribution estimate, which sits 29% below Unacademy's own FY25 operating revenue of INR 701 crore — implying that the acquirer is underwriting further contraction, a partial-year consolidation, or both.
22.3 Bull case
1. The cash is real and the cost base has been genuinely rebuilt. Unacademy arrives at close with INR 900–950 crore of unencumbered cash, no debt, an annual net loss reduced 85% from peak, two cash-flow-positive subsidiaries and three contribution-margin-positive core verticals. Inside a parent already generating PAT of INR 38.8 crore on eleven months of FY26, the residual burn is fundable and the path to combined-entity profitability is arithmetically short.
2. Scale plus a lifecycle proposition creates a credible number-two. Combined FY25 operating revenue of approximately INR 2,400 crore places the merged entity within 17% of PhysicsWallah's INR 2,887 crore, with a materially broader proposition — K-12 and test preparation through degrees, upskilling, study-abroad and enterprise learning, plus Internshala's early-career distribution. No competitor covers that span. Cross-sell across a learner's decade rather than a single examination cycle is a structurally superior LTV model, and it is exactly what Unacademy alone could never build.
3. Airlearn is a genuine, underpriced call option. A 15x ARR increase in twelve months in Western consumer markets, 4.8 store ratings, explicit price undercutting of Duolingo, and an AI-tutoring thesis arriving precisely as Duolingo's own valuation corrects on AI-competition fears. At the transaction price, Airlearn is being acquired for approximately nothing. If it reaches USD 20–30 million ARR, it alone justifies the consideration.
22.4 Bear case
1. The core business is structurally losing, not cyclically depressed. Distribution-first online platforms produced 0–2% of top-100 JEE Advanced and NEET UG ranks in 2026 while 57% of aspirants rank faculty quality and 44% rank past results among their top three selection criteria. This is not a marketing problem or a pricing problem — it is a product-outcome problem, and no amount of cost discipline or ownership change addresses it. Revenue has declined three years running against a market growing at 8.7–16% depending on definition.
2. The franchise pivot exchanges one weakness for another. Exiting company-operated centres removes fixed-cost risk but also removes control of the academic experience in the channel that actually produces ranks. The Karol Bagh episode demonstrates what happens when service quality degrades at the point of transition: student protests, refund disputes and brand damage in precisely the cohort the company must convert. Franchisees who can produce results will eventually ask why they need the brand; those who cannot will damage it.
3. Integration risk is acute and the bench has already left. upGrad has absorbed more than half a dozen companies since 2022 and lost two of its own four co-founders. Unacademy has lost ten senior leaders in three years, its CTO/co-founder in 2024 and its Test Prep CEO on 30 June 2026 — six weeks before closing. PrepLadder, the single most valuable operating asset, has just had its headquarters moved 2,000 kilometres from Chandigarh to Bengaluru. Every one of these is an attrition vector at the exact moment when execution determines whether INR 500 crore of contributed revenue holds.
22.5 Catalysts and monitorables, next twelve months
22.6 Analyst verdict
Unacademy is the most instructive failure in Indian consumer technology, and it fails in a way that is unusually well documented and unusually well handled at the end.
The company did not collapse. It was not defrauded, it did not enter insolvency, it never took on debt, and it will hand its acquirer roughly INR 900–950 crore of cash. Measured against BYJU'S — written to zero, in insolvency, its founder litigating in Delaware — Unacademy's management executed the second half of this story competently. Losses fell 85% from the FY22 peak. Two subsidiaries were made cash-generative. Burn was cut from INR 450 crore to INR 200 crore in a single year. Employees received INR 45 crore of ESOP liquidity at a valuation the board had every commercial reason to refuse to fund.
But competence in retreat is not a business. The controlling fact is that operating revenue peaked in FY23 at INR 907 crore and has fallen every year since, to INR 701 crore in FY25, while PhysicsWallah grew from INR 772 crore to INR 2,887 crore over the identical period. Every rupee of cost reduction was purchased with revenue. The company that emerged from the restructuring is smaller, narrower and further from category leadership than the one that entered it. Redseer's 2026 finding — that distribution-first online platforms produce essentially none of the top ranks in the examinations that drive 70% of undergraduate preparation spend — explains why: Unacademy's product never solved for the outcome its customers were actually buying.
The strategic record compounds this. Twelve acquisitions produced two durable assets. The offline pivot consumed three years and roughly 40% of revenue before being reversed within nine months of management projecting its profitability. Four sale processes failed before the fifth succeeded at approximately 6% of peak valuation. Founder engagement wavered — Munjal attempted to leave in 2025, was pulled back by the January 2026 deal collapse, and now continues under an acquirer.
At INR 1,955 crore for a business with INR 925 crore of cash, upGrad is paying roughly 1.5x revenue for a brand, a content library, a genuinely valuable medical-education franchise, a modest creator-SaaS business and a fast-growing global consumer app. That is a defensible price for optionality. Whether it becomes a good acquisition depends almost entirely on two things that are not yet visible: whether Airlearn compounds, and whether the merged entity can build a test-prep product that produces ranks rather than merely reach.
Verdict: a well-managed ending to a badly managed middle. For the acquirer, an asymmetric option purchased at a distressed price. For the original investors, a permanent loss of roughly 94% of value. For anyone studying capital allocation in consumer technology, the definitive Indian case study in the difference between demand elasticity and durable demand.
Prepared 15 August 2026. All figures sourced to RoC filings as reported by financial media, CCI filings, company communications and contemporaneous press reporting, as attributed inline. Items marked "not publicly disclosed" are unavailable in the public domain and have not been estimated. Where sources conflict, both figures and the nature of the discrepancy are stated. The upGrad transaction is announced, regulatorily cleared and in final documentation, but is not confirmed as closed as at the date of preparation.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Role | Affiliation | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Gaurav Munjal | Co-founder, Director, Group CEO | — | Stepped back from operations ~May 2025; returned to active leadership January 2026 after the first upGrad deal collapsed; to continue as CEO post-acquisition |
Roman Saini | Co-founder, Director | — | Former IAS officer, AIIMS-trained physician; stepped back from day-to-day operations ~May 2025 |
Sumit Jain | Co-founder (2020), Director | Ex-CommonFloor, ex-Opentalk, ex-Graphy CEO | Appointed CEO, Test Prep, 24 September 2025; stepped down with effect from 30 June 2026 |
Samad Iqbal Shariff | Director | — | Listed contact for the entity on the MCA register |
Sujeet Kumar | Director | Co-founder, Udaan | Independent/investor-side |
Sumer Juneja | Director | SoftBank Investment Advisers | Investor nominee |
Bhavin Turakhia | Director | Zeta, Directi (founder of CodeChef) | Board member since 2017 |
Shantanu Rastogi | Director | General Atlantic | Investor nominee |
| Date | Executive | Role |
|---|---|---|
Jun 2024 | Hemesh Singh | Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer — moved to advisory |
Jul 2024 | Hardik Pandya | Senior Vice President, Design and Product (four-year tenure) |
Reported 2023–2025 | Vivek Sinha | Chief Operating Officer |
Reported 2023–2025 | Subramaniam Ramachandran | Chief Financial Officer |
~May 2025 | Gaurav Munjal | Stepped back from day-to-day operations (subsequently returned) |
~May 2025 | Roman Saini | Stepped back from day-to-day operations |
30 Jun 2026 | Sumit Jain | CEO, Test Prep |
| Holder | Reported stake (%) | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
Nexus Venture Partners | ~14 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
Peak XV Partners (formerly Sequoia India) | ~14 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
SoftBank Vision Fund 2 | ~12 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
General Atlantic | ~11 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
Blume Ventures | ~5 | Entrackr, August 2021 |
Temasek | ~4.4–5 | Entrackr (4.38%), August 2021; The Arc (~5%), May 2026 |
Tiger Global | ~4.2 | Entrackr, August 2021 |
Elevation Capital (formerly SAIF Partners) | ~3.4 | Entrackr, August 2021 |
Gaurav Munjal | ~3.4 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
Roman Saini | ~3.4 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
Hemesh Singh | ~2.2 | Tracxn via Business Standard, May 2025 |
Others (Dragoneer, Steadview, Mirae Asset, Meta/Facebook, Aroa Ventures, WaterBridge, India Internet Fund, ~38 angels) | Balance | Multiple |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | Unacademy | PhysicsWallah | upGrad | Vedantu |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating revenue FY23 (INR Cr) | 907 | 772 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Operating revenue FY24 (INR Cr) | 840 | 1941 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Operating revenue FY25 (INR Cr) | 701 | 2887 | 1569 | 234 |
Net profit/loss FY25 (INR Cr) | -435 | -243 | -274 | not disclosed |
Revenue growth FY24 to FY25 (%) | -16.5 | 48.7 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Net margin FY25 (%) | -62 | -8 | -17 | not disclosed |



