Tailored Shared Services Overview
Positioning statement (150 words). Tailored Brands is the dominant scale operator in a structurally unglamorous but remarkably durable niche: dressing North American men for the handful of occasions in life when appearance carries consequence. It sells one in three pieces of tailored clothing and roughly one in five dress shirts in the United States, and commands close to 60% of the U.S. men's apparel rental market — a share position with almost no analogue in specialty retail. Post-bankruptcy management rebuilt the economics rather than the top line: gross margin expanded over 1,100 basis points between FY2021 and FY2025 on essentially flat sales, converting a loss-making chain into a business generating $411m of adjusted EBITDA and $281m of free cash flow. Every one of its 1,006 stores is four-wall profitable. The equity story now being marketed is re-expansion — 500+ new stores over a decade — from a footprint deliberately cut by more than 400 units in 2020. Execution risk is modest; the demand backdrop is the constraint.
2.1 What the company does
Tailored Brands is a vertically integrated specialty retailer and rental provider of men's apparel operating across four banners in the United States and Canada. The company sells tailored clothing (suits, sportcoats, dress pants), dress shirts, formalwear, outerwear, footwear, accessories and an expanding "polished casual" assortment, and separately rents formalwear — principally tuxedos and suits for weddings, proms, graduations and similar events — through a dedicated national rental platform.
The company's own characterisation, from the Prospectus Summary of the July 2026 Form S-1, is that it is "the leading retailer and rental provider of men's apparel," operating "as a scaled, integrated platform combining a differentiated, high-touch service model with vertically integrated retail and rental capabilities that address both occasion-driven and everyday wardrobe needs." Its stated vision is to be "the #1 men's specialty retailer in North America."
2.2 Independent characterisation
The more precise way to describe the business is as an occasion-services business wrapped in a retail chassis. Roughly 15% of net sales are rental, but rental contributes approximately 30% of adjusted EBITDA at an 85.5% selling margin (FY2025) — the profit pool is materially more concentrated in services than the revenue mix suggests. Meanwhile the retail assortment has been deliberately de-fashioned: private and proprietary brand penetration reached 88% at the end of FY2025, seasonal offerings have been cut in favour of replenishment programmes, and custom suiting — historically a margin trap of long lead times and fit risk — has been de-emphasised in favour of jacket-and-pant separates.
What this produces is a retailer with the working-capital and markdown profile of a replenishment business rather than a fashion business, attached to a rental operation with the fixed-asset intensity and reverse-logistics moat of an industrial services company. TBI operates one of the largest industrial dry-cleaning facilities in North America; the average rental order contains approximately eight pieces and the average rental customer visits a store roughly three times over the rental journey. That store-visit cadence is the acquisition funnel for the retail business — though management concedes only about 11% of new rental customers in FY2025 returned to buy retail merchandise within two years, which is simultaneously the largest identified inefficiency and the largest identified opportunity in the model.
2.3 Revenue model
2.4 Value chain position
TBI sits at the retail and rental end of the chain but reaches back into design and direct sourcing. It designs its own private brands, sources directly from a global contract-manufacturing network concentrated in Asia, operates its own inbound distribution (three retail DCs), its own rental fulfilment and reverse logistics (six rental DCs, 27 regional hubs, industrial dry cleaning), and its own last-mile service layer (in-store tailors, mobile POS, ship-from-store, BOPIS). It does not own manufacturing capacity of consequence today — the Joseph Abboud New Bedford, Massachusetts factory is the notable historic exception and is referenced in the April 2025 "American Bespoke" launch.
2.5 Customer types and end-markets
The customer base is overwhelmingly individual male consumers rather than corporate accounts. TBI served approximately 8.8 million customers in FY2025 at an average spend of $258. Approximately 68% of customers in FY2025 were new or reactivated (roughly 6.0 million individuals); customers retained from the prior 24 months represented 32% of the base. Average annual visits were 1.6. Repeat customers spent approximately $464 annually, roughly 1.8x the average; customers with three or more transactions represented approximately 10% of the base but generated approximately 20% of revenue. Omni-channel customers were only about 4% of the base yet generated roughly double the revenue of single-channel customers.
End-market demand is anchored in five recurring occasion pools identified in the S-1: weddings (~2 million U.S. marriages annually, average 117 guests, five groomsmen); high-school and college events (~17 million male students); religious and cultural ceremonies (estimated 1.5 million+ annually requiring formalwear); funerals and memorial services (~3 million U.S. deaths annually, 57% preferring traditional services); and job interviews (800,000+ male bachelor's graduates annually). Layered on top is an estimated addressable population of over 34 million men who regularly wear formal, professional or business-casual attire.
Strategy
10.1 Stated strategy — verbatim themes from the July 2026 Form S-1
The company frames its plan as "a proven growth algorithm combining same-store sales expansion with disciplined new unit development, organized around four strategic pillars":
- Expand market share through elevating assortment, service and localization.
- Expand customer lifetime value through increased retention and frequency.
- Drive higher e-commerce sales by enhancing the digital experience, optimizing the online assortment and growing traffic efficiently.
- Accelerate new store growth into a whitespace opportunity of over 500 additional locations over the next 10 years.
These are "underpinned by investments in technology and a foundational commitment to our people, culture and operational excellence."
The stated vision is: "We aspire to be the #1 men's specialty retailer in North America." The corporate values are: put the customer first; win together; get better every day; everyone is welcome; always act with integrity.
CEO John Tighe's separately articulated framing in November 2025 described five pillars: marketing focus, localised assortments, e-commerce penetration, continued market-share gains in tailored clothing and rental, and building "every wear" — apparel other than suits. This maps closely onto the four S-1 pillars with marketing broken out separately.
10.2 Announced initiatives, last 24 months
10.3 Medium-term financial targets
TBI has not published explicit medium-term revenue, margin or EPS guidance. This is normal for a company in an SEC registration quiet period. The disclosed quantified targets are operational rather than financial:
- More than 20 new stores in FY2026; more than 35 in FY2027; more than 50 annually thereafter.
- New-store after-tax payback of no more than 2.5 years and IRRs of 35–45%.
- Over 500 net new locations over ten years.
- A stated sensitivity — not a target — that a 5% increase in average annual visits per customer could translate into over $50m of incremental adjusted EBITDA, assuming constant basket sizes and no incremental expense beyond cost of goods sold.
Use of IPO proceeds is stated as: repayment of a portion of the Term Loan Facility, with any remainder for general corporate purposes including working capital, operating expenses and capital expenditures. Amounts are blank pending pricing.
Dividend policy: the company has not adopted and does not currently expect to adopt a written dividend policy. Future dividends are at board discretion and are restricted by the Credit Facilities and Secured Notes Indenture.
Products & Services
5.1 Banner-level offerings
The Men's Wearhouse (TMW) — founded 1973; 637 locations; $1,604m FY2025 net sales. Positioned as "The Right Fit for Every Moment." Multi-brand assortment mixing national brands and private label across tailored clothing, elevated everyday apparel and formalwear. Target customer: the mainstream American man seeking expert guidance and dependable style, spanning first-suit buyers through professional replenishment. Rental accounts for 21% of the banner's sales — the highest of any banner and the engine of the group's rental franchise. Private-label penetration 86%. Store layouts have been simplified to support self-guided shopping organised around fit and size. New TMW stores use a modernised format with flexible layouts centred on key categories such as shirting, dedicated experience areas, and an event-focused design supporting one-stop retail-plus-rental solutions. Pricing model: everyday-value architecture with deliberately reduced promotional cadence since 2021.
Jos. A. Bank (JAB) — founded 1905 in Baltimore; 181 locations; $404m FY2025 net sales. Positioned as "Classically Styled and Timeless Appeal" — the authority on timeless American tailoring. Target customer: the professional who values refined styling, premium fabrics and expert tailoring. Assortment is 95% private label, the highest penetration in the portfolio. Recent repositioning has emphasised product quality, disciplined pricing and a more premium in-store experience, alongside modernised silhouettes, expanded sportswear and versatile separates. Rental is 6% of banner sales. NPS of 79 is the highest in the group. New JAB stores use an updated concept with centralised merchandising of core assortments and a layout highlighting fit, brand and lifestyle. Management described JAB in November 2025 as "actually the strongest business this year."
Moores — founded 1980 in Mississauga, Ontario; 107 locations; $167m FY2025 net sales; Canada's leading menswear specialty retailer. Positioned as "Canada's Leading Menswear Solution." Assortment largely mirrors TMW, deriving purchasing economies far beyond its standalone scale. Target customer: Canadian professionals and occasion-driven shoppers. Aided brand awareness of 82% — ahead of Canadian competitors and the highest awareness figure disclosed for any TBI banner. NPS 76.
K&G Fashion Superstore — founded 1989 in Atlanta; 81 locations; $352m FY2025 net sales; more than 30 years of trading. Positioned as "Brand-Name Fashion for Everyone to Live Their Best-Dressed Life." The only banner serving the entire family rather than men exclusively, and the only off-price format in the portfolio. Target customer: value-oriented shoppers, with a disclosed particularly strong following among African American shoppers. Private-label penetration of only 42%, reflecting the brand-name off-price model. No rental offering and no e-commerce presence — the largest single identified digital whitespace in the group. Highest store-manager tenure at approximately 16 years. NPS 74.
5.2 Private and proprietary brands
Aggregate private and proprietary brand penetration reached 88% at the end of FY2025, up materially since 2021 and a principal driver of the 1,100+ basis-point gross-margin expansion over that period.
5.3 Product categories
Tailored clothing (suits, sportcoats, dress pants) — the category in which TMW holds #1 U.S. share and JAB #4, and where the company sells approximately one in three U.S. units. Dress shirts — TMW #3, JAB #10, approximately one in five U.S. units. Formalwear (retail and rental). Sportswear / "polished casual" — polo, golf, t-shirts, knits, sweaters, woven shirts, jeans, casual pants and shorts; grew at a 7% CAGR FY2021–FY2025, ahead of total company growth, but remains only approximately 22% of the sales mix. Outerwear. Footwear — casual and formal. Accessories.
5.4 Services
Formalwear rental — the flagship service. Six dedicated rental distribution centres; national reverse-logistics network; one of the largest industrial dry-cleaning operations in North America. Average order approximately eight pieces. Customers may fit, collect and return at any Men's Wearhouse or Jos. A. Bank location nationally, enabling geographically dispersed wedding parties to be fitted consistently. Approximately six million rental-driven store visits in FY2025. Garment cost typically recovered within the first rental. Over $100m invested in rental inventory since 2021 to refresh product and widen the size range.
In-store tailoring and alterations — a tailor in every store; approximately 1,000 on-site tailors with average tenure of approximately 13 years. This is the least replicable asset in the business and the one that most directly underwrites the 73–79 NPS range.
Personal styling and fit consultation — approximately 11,000 trained sales consultants. The service model was re-aligned in the post-2021 period from transaction-based to solutions-based, including the removal of sales commissions.
Omni-channel fulfilment — unified retail inventory pool across stores and e-commerce, supporting buy-online-pick-up-in-store and ship-from-store, with localised assortment by market.
Custom suiting — deliberately de-emphasised since 2021 in favour of jacket-and-pant separates.
Pricing is not disclosed at SKU level in any public filing. The disclosed pricing philosophy is a "disciplined pricing architecture" with decreased promotional activity, implemented from 2021.
Product Portfolio
| Brand | Type | Description | Deployment |
|---|---|---|---|
Awearness by Kenneth Cole | Licensed private brand | Contemporary tailored clothing under the Kenneth Cole mark | Across banners |
Joseph Abboud | Owned designer brand (acquired 2013) | Premium American tailoring; associated with the New Bedford, MA manufacturing operation | Across banners; anchor of the April 2025 "American Bespoke" collection |
Pronto Uomo | Proprietary brand | Core tailored clothing programme | Primarily Men's Wearhouse |
Egara | Proprietary brand | Modern-fit tailored clothing and separates | Primarily Men's Wearhouse |
Jos. A. Bank house labels | Proprietary | Comprise 95% of JAB assortment; specific sub-label architecture not itemised in the S-1 | Jos. A. Bank |
Financial Narrative
Disclosure boundary. TBI was a private, non-reporting company for FY2020 through FY2024 and published no audited financials. The July 2026 S-1 contains audited consolidated statements for FY2023, FY2024 and FY2025 only, plus unaudited interim statements for the three months ended 2 May 2026 and 3 May 2025, and balance sheets as of 2 May 2026 and 31 January 2026 only. FY2021 and FY2022 statements are not publicly disclosed; certain FY2021 magnitudes can be derived from management's disclosed growth statements and are presented separately and clearly labelled as derived.
6.1 Income statement (chartable — USD thousands)
Basic EPS of $29.90 in FY2023 against diluted EPS of $3.62 reflects the pre-IPO capital structure, in which a large block of redeemable convertible preferred stock was excluded from the basic denominator. The figures are not comparable across years and should not be charted as a continuous series. Source: Form S-1, 10 July 2026.
6.2 Margins (chartable — percent)
Revenue CAGR. FY2023→FY2025 CAGR is -1.9% on a reported basis — but FY2023 was a 53-week year, and comparable sales were deeply negative in both FY2023 and FY2024. Management's preferred framing, disclosed in the S-1, is a 4.4% CAGR from FY2021 to FY2025, which implies FY2021 net sales of approximately $2,129m (derived, not disclosed). Both framings are correct and they tell opposite stories: the business recovered sharply from a depressed 2021 base through 2022–2023, gave back volume in FY2024, and re-inflected positively in FY2025.
6.3 Balance sheet (chartable — USD thousands)
Total debt short/long split, goodwill and intangibles, inventory, receivables, payables and working capital are contained in the audited balance sheet and notes within the S-1's financial statements section (page F-1 onward), which was not retrievable in this review — these line items are therefore not available here rather than not disclosed. Balance sheets as of the FY2023 and FY2024 year-ends are not presented in the S-1 summary tables (only FY2024 and FY2025 balance-sheet data are stated to have been derived from the audited statements).
The critical structural fact is the shareholders' deficit of $631m at FY2025 year-end. This is not an operating pathology; it is the accounting consequence of the $894.8m of dividends declared in FY2025 against a post-emergence equity base. Book equity is therefore meaningless as a valuation or leverage anchor for this company, and any ratio using it — ROE, debt/equity, P/B — is not meaningful.
6.4 Cash flow (chartable — USD thousands)
Capital expenditures derived as operating cash flow less disclosed free cash flow, consistent with the company's stated definition (FCF = cash flow from operations less capital expenditures). Investing outflows differ from capex because they include other investing items not separately broken out in the summary table. Dividends declared in FY2025 totalled $894.8m including an $865.4m special dividend; the cash-paid figure and its allocation between fiscal periods are not separately disclosed in the summary cash-flow table.
Cumulative FY2021–FY2025: approximately $1.4bn of operating cash flow and approximately $1.2bn of free cash flow.
6.5 Ratios
ROE, ROIC and debt/equity are not meaningful given the shareholders' deficit. Net debt/EBITDA for Q1 FY2026 uses trailing-twelve-month adjusted EBITDA of approximately $429m (FY2025 $411.4m plus Q1 FY2026 $114.7m less Q1 FY2025 $96.9m). Current ratio and cash conversion cycle require balance-sheet detail not available in this review.
6.6 Interim results — three months ended 2 May 2026 (chartable — USD thousands)
6.7 Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
The FY2021–FY2025 margin transformation is the central financial fact about this company. Gross margin expanded by over 1,100 basis points across that period on a top line that grew at only 4.4% CAGR — and which, measured from FY2023, actually shrank. This was not operating leverage; it was mix and price architecture. Four drivers are disclosed: reorienting the assortment toward less seasonal replenishment categories; implementing a disciplined pricing architecture and reducing promotional activity; raising private and proprietary brand penetration to 88%; and growing high-margin rental mix. Simultaneously, store expenses as a percentage of net sales fell 350 basis points versus the FY2019 baseline and marketing expenses fell 20 basis points.
FY2024 was the trough of the post-recovery period. Comparable sales fell 4.5%, gross margin held at 46.8%, but net income dropped 36% to $173m — driven not by operations but by interest expense nearly tripling from $20.6m to $59.5m and the effective tax rate rising from 2.4% to 13.3%. Operating income declined only 10.6% and adjusted EBITDA only 7.1%. The FY2023 net income figure of $271m is flattered by a 2.4% effective tax rate, almost certainly reflecting the utilisation of post-emergence net operating losses and valuation-allowance releases; it is not a repeatable earnings level.
FY2025 marks a genuine inflection. Comparable sales turned positive (+1.9%) for the first time in the disclosed period; gross margin rate expanded 145bps to 48.2%; adjusted EBITDA rose 9.0% to $411m at a 16.3% margin; net income rose 25.5% to $217m; and operating cash flow rose 45.2% to $343m with free cash flow up 46.2% to $281m. E-commerce sales grew 16% and digital traffic 20%.
Q1 FY2026 confirms the inflection is accelerating. Comparable sales of +5.9% is the strongest in the disclosed period; rental comparable sales of +7.6% is the best since Q4 FY2022; adjusted EBITDA of $114.7m is the highest first quarter since FY2022. The one deterioration — net income down 11.5% to $44.9m — is entirely attributable to the FY2025-end debt recapitalisation, which more than doubled quarterly interest expense from $14.1m to $30.3m. Comparable sales growth over the trailing four quarters averaged 4.4%; monthly comparable sales continued positive into Q2 FY2026 at +3.7% (fiscal month to 30 May 2026) and +3.4% (fiscal month to 4 July 2026), though the company cautions these are unaudited, non-quarter-aligned figures.
The recapitalisation is the key financial-structure event. The company took on incremental debt at the end of FY2025 to fund an $865.4m special dividend to Silver Point and other pre-IPO holders. This is a classic sponsor dividend recapitalisation immediately preceding an exit, and it has three consequences an investor must price: interest expense roughly doubled on a run-rate basis; the shareholders' deficit widened to $631m; and the pro forma EPS presentation is required to gross up the share count for dividends declared in excess of accumulated earnings. Against that, the company repaid $135m — 11% — of outstanding debt in Q1 FY2026 alone, and net debt/EBITDA at approximately 2.3x is modest for a retailer with this cash-conversion profile.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Retail sales (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 2218610 | 2096644 | 2150916 |
Rental services (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 405761 | 379115 | 377260 |
Total net sales (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 2624371 | 2475759 | 2528176 |
Retail as % of total net sales | n/d | n/d | 84.5 | 84.7 | 85.1 |
Rental as % of total net sales | n/d | n/d | 15.5 | 15.3 | 14.9 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Retail cost of sales (USD 000) | 1060578 | 969439 | 955609 |
Rental cost of sales (USD 000) | 64410 | 56788 | 54579 |
Occupancy costs incl. depreciation (USD 000) | 280734 | 291777 | 298144 |
Rental selling margin (USD 000) | 341351 | 322327 | 322681 |
Rental selling margin (% of rental net sales) | 84.1 | 85.0 | 85.5 |
Total gross margin (USD 000) | 1218649 | 1157755 | 1219844 |
Total gross margin (% of net sales) | 46.4 | 46.8 | 48.2 |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | Men's Wearhouse | Jos. A. Bank | K&G Fashion Superstore | Moores |
|---|---|---|---|---|
FY2025 net sales (USD M) | 1604 | 404 | 352 | 167 |
% of total banner net sales | 63 | 16 | 14 | 7 |
Store count at 2 May 2026 | 637 | 181 | 81 | 107 |
Private-label penetration (%) | 86 | 95 | 42 | n/d |
Rental as % of banner sales | 21 | 6 | 0 | n/d |
Net Promoter Score, FY2025 | 73 | 79 | 74 | 76 |
Aided brand awareness (%) | 74 | n/d | n/d | 82 |
Average store-manager tenure (years) | 11 | 11 | 16 | 11 |
U.S. rank, tailored clothing | 1 | 4 | n/d | n/a |
U.S. rank, dress shirts | 3 | 10 | n/d | n/a |
U.S. rank, formalwear rentals | 1 | n/d | n/a | n/a |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 2624371 | 2475759 | 2528176 |
Gross profit (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 1218649 | 1157755 | 1219844 |
SG&A expenses (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 901118 | 866881 | 879675 |
Depreciation excl. cost of sales (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 18509 | 23643 | 24456 |
Operating income (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 299022 | 267231 | 315713 |
Adjusted EBITDA (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 406493 | 377508 | 411384 |
Interest expense net (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 20611 | 59519 | 45283 |
Loss on extinguishment of debt (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 294 | 8095 | 11438 |
Pre-tax income (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 278117 | 199617 | 258992 |
Provision for income taxes (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 6648 | 26603 | 41773 |
Net income (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 271469 | 173014 | 217219 |
Comprehensive income (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 270812 | 169035 | 220437 |
Basic EPS (USD) | n/d | n/d | 29.90 | 2.16 | 3.25 |
Diluted EPS (USD) | n/d | n/d | 3.62 | 2.16 | 3.23 |
Dividends per share (USD) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin (%) | 46.4 | 46.8 | 48.2 |
Operating margin (%) | 11.4 | 10.8 | 12.5 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin (%) | 15.5 | 15.2 | 16.3 |
Net income margin (%) | 10.3 | 7.0 | 8.6 |
Effective tax rate (%) | 2.4 | 13.3 | 16.1 |
Comparable sales growth (%) | -8.4 | -4.5 | 1.9 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2025 (31 Jan 2026) | Q1 FY2026 (2 May 2026) |
|---|---|---|
Cash and cash equivalents (USD 000) | 149030 | 102800 |
Total assets (USD 000) | 1626326 | 1603089 |
Long-term debt net (USD 000) | 1186923 | 1078987 |
Net debt (USD 000) | 1037893 | 976187 |
Total shareholders' deficit (USD 000) | -631416 | -585159 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Net cash from operating activities (USD 000) | 273185 | 236292 | 343015 |
Capital expenditures (USD 000) | 82289 | 44090 | 61972 |
Free cash flow (USD 000) | 190896 | 192202 | 281043 |
Net cash used in investing activities (USD 000) | 77263 | 17951 | 58515 |
Net cash used in financing activities (USD 000) | 208530 | 249751 | 208077 |
Dividends paid (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Share buybacks (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Q1 FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on assets, period-end basis (%) | n/d | n/d | 13.4 | n/m |
Return on equity (%) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
Return on invested capital (%) | n/d | n/d | n/m | n/m |
Current ratio (x) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Debt to equity (x) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
Net debt to adjusted EBITDA (x) | n/d | n/d | 2.5 | 2.3 |
Interest coverage, operating income to net interest (x) | 14.5 | 4.5 | 7.0 | 3.0 |
Asset turnover (x) | n/d | n/d | 1.6 | n/m |
Cash conversion cycle (days) | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | Q1 FY2025 | Q1 FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
Net sales (USD 000) | 644394 | 681750 |
Gross margin (USD 000) | 303092 | 330862 |
Operating income (USD 000) | 71837 | 90014 |
Net income (USD 000) | 50732 | 44914 |
Adjusted EBITDA (USD 000) | 96854 | 114704 |
Operating cash flow (USD 000) | 136480 | 121047 |
Free cash flow (USD 000) | 123772 | 91165 |
Comparable sales growth (%) | -3.4 | 5.9 |
Gross margin rate (%) | 47.0 | 48.5 |
Adjusted EBITDA margin (%) | 15.0 | 16.8 |
Net income margin (%) | 7.9 | 6.6 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
United States net sales (USD M, derived) | n/d | n/d | 2361 |
Canada net sales, Moores banner (USD M) | n/d | n/d | 167 |
Canada as % of total net sales | n/d | n/d | 6.6 |
Currency translation adjustment net of tax (USD 000) | -482 | -4091 | 3050 |
EMEA net sales | 0 | 0 | 0 |
APAC net sales | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
1-year share price performance | Not applicable — no public equity |
3-year share price performance | Not applicable |
5-year share price performance | Not applicable |
Current share price | Not applicable |
Shares outstanding | Not disclosed pending the stock split and pricing. A forward stock split of undisclosed ratio will occur after registration effectiveness |
Free float | Zero |
Capital Markets
| Metric | TBI | Peer set |
|---|---|---|
P/E | Not applicable — no price | n/v |
EV/EBITDA | Not applicable — no enterprise value established | n/v |
EV/Sales | Not applicable | n/v |
P/B | Not meaningful — shareholders' deficit of $585.2m | n/v |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Total dividends declared (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 894800 |
Of which special dividend (USD 000) | n/d | n/d | 865400 |
Dividends per share (USD) | n/d | n/d | n/d |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Rating | Outlook | Date | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
S&P Global Ratings | B+ (issuer credit rating) | Not verified | Upgraded from 'B' on 28 January 2025 | S&P had previously affirmed 'B' on a debt transaction in February 2024, and downgraded the predecessor to 'D' on a missed payment in July 2020 |
S&P Global Ratings — post-recapitalisation action | Not verified in this review | Not verified | Any rating action following the FY2025 year-end recapitalisation and $865.4m special dividend was not identified. Given the leverage increase, a review or negative action is plausible but is not confirmed | — |
Moody's Investors Service | Not verified in this review | Not verified | Moody's maintains a credit-rating page for Tailored Brands, Inc.; the current rating and outlook were not retrievable | — |
Fitch Ratings | Not publicly disclosed | — | No Fitch rating identified | — |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Amount | Maturity | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
Term Loan Facility | Not separately disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Secured Notes (governed by the Secured Notes Indenture) | Not separately disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
ABL / revolving facility | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Total long-term debt, net (31 Jan 2026) | $1,186.9m | — | — |
Total long-term debt, net (2 May 2026) | $1,079.0m | — | — |
Analyst Conclusions
22.1 Management guidance
TBI has issued no formal financial guidance — expected during an SEC registration quiet period. The forward-looking disclosures that carry quantitative weight are:
- Store openings: more than 20 in FY2026, more than 35 in FY2027, ramping to more than 50 annually thereafter, toward 500+ over ten years.
- New-store return criteria: 35–45% IRRs, after-tax paybacks of no more than 2.5 years, approximately $1.0m initial investment per store.
- Trading momentum: comparable sales averaged +4.4% over the trailing four quarters; +5.9% in Q1 FY2026; +3.7% in the fiscal month ended 30 May 2026; +3.4% in the fiscal month ended 4 July 2026 — with the company explicitly cautioning these monthly figures are unaudited, not quarter-aligned, and not indicative of Q2 FY2026 results.
- Frequency sensitivity: a 5% increase in average annual visits per customer could yield over $50m of incremental adjusted EBITDA.
- Use of proceeds: partial Term Loan repayment plus general corporate purposes.
22.2 Consensus growth expectations
None exist. No sell-side estimates are published for a private issuer in registration.
22.3 Bull case
One — the re-expansion arithmetic is unusually well-evidenced. Most retail growth stories rest on assertion. This one rests on an unusual empirical asset: TBI closed more than 400 stores in 2020, of which 95% had been four-wall profitable in 2019. Management therefore knows, with granularity no competitor possesses, exactly which markets it vacated and what those markets produced. Layered on that: a cost structure now 350bps leaner in store expense than 2019, 15 new stores opened since 2023 all comping positively, a FY2025 cohort tracking to >50% IRR and sub-two-year paybacks having beaten internal forecasts by more than 20%, and existing distribution infrastructure built for a materially larger fleet — meaning new units add revenue without proportionate fixed cost. If the FY2026–FY2027 openings (20+, then 35+) perform at even the FY2023–FY2024 cohort's >30% IRR, the ten-year 500-store plan is credible and adds roughly 50% to the unit base.
Two — the profit pool is more defensible than the revenue line suggests. Rental delivers approximately 30% of adjusted EBITDA on approximately 15% of sales at an 85.5% selling margin, with a ~60% market share protected by six dedicated DCs, national reverse logistics, one of the largest industrial dry-cleaning facilities in North America and 1,000 tailors averaging 13 years of tenure. Q1 FY2026 rental comparable sales of +7.6% — the best since Q4 FY2022 — indicate this asset is accelerating, not eroding. An acquirer or new entrant cannot buy this position; the barriers are physical and human, not capital.
Three — the operating inflection is real and the self-help levers are unusually quantified. FY2025 delivered the first positive comparable sales in the disclosed record, 145bps of gross margin expansion, 25.5% net income growth and 46% free cash flow growth. Q1 FY2026 accelerated on every operating line. Meanwhile the company has disclosed specific, measurable inefficiencies it has barely begun to attack: e-commerce at 9% penetration with K&G entirely offline; omni-channel customers at 4% of the base generating 2x the revenue; only 11% of new rental customers converting to retail within two years; polished casual at 22% of mix in a $33bn category; and a disclosed $50m+ adjusted EBITDA sensitivity to a mere 5% lift in visit frequency. Each is a lever, and each is being pulled for the first time.
22.4 Bear case
One — the category will not grow, and share is close to saturated. Circana projects approximately 0.7% CAGR for U.S. men's apparel and 1.5% for tailored clothing through 2028. TBI already sells one in three tailored pieces and one in five dress shirts, and holds ~60% of rental. There is no plausible path to sustained mid-single-digit comparable sales growth from a category growing at 1%, from a share base already above 30%. The FY2025 and Q1 FY2026 comparable-sales strength follows two years of decline (-8.4%, -4.5%) and looks substantially like recovery against easy bases — a reading supported by the deceleration in the disclosed monthly figures, from +5.9% in Q1 to +3.7% in May and +3.4% in early July. The polished-casual pivot, the designated growth engine, targets a category where TBI has no structural advantage and where its own data show brand consideration of only 37% versus 68% for menswear.
Two — the balance sheet was deliberately loaded immediately before the exit. The sponsor extracted an $865.4m special dividend at the end of FY2025, funded by new debt. The consequences are on the page: a $631m shareholders' deficit, roughly $1.08bn of long-term debt, and quarterly net interest more than doubling from $14.1m to $30.3m. That interest step-up alone turned an 18.4% rise in Q1 FY2026 adjusted EBITDA into an 11.5% decline in net income and a 26.3% decline in free cash flow. Public investors are being asked to buy equity in a business whose cash generation has been pre-pledged to service debt raised to pay the seller — and a portion of IPO proceeds will go to repaying that same Term Loan.
Three — control, alignment and overhang. Silver Point retains majority ownership post-IPO, TBI will be a "controlled company," and the company states it may rely on Nasdaq exemptions from certain governance requirements. The Compensation Committee is chaired by Silver Point's Managing Director. Selling stockholders are participating in the offering itself, and the underwriters' over-allotment option is on selling stockholder shares, not company shares. A credit fund that has held this asset since 2020, has already taken out $865m in dividends, and is selling into the IPO is not a long-term aligned holder — it is an exiting one, and the residual stake is a multi-year overhang on the stock.
22.5 Catalysts and monitorables — next 12 months
22.6 Analyst verdict (300 words)
Tailored Brands is a genuinely good business wrapped in a deliberately unattractive capital structure, being sold by a motivated holder into a market that will have to decide which of those facts dominates.
The operating case is stronger than the category deserves. Management took a chain that had just destroyed itself with a debt-funded merger and a pandemic, cut 400 profitable stores, rebuilt the assortment around replenishment rather than fashion, pushed private label to 88%, killed the promotional cadence, reinvested $100m in rental inventory, and expanded gross margin by over eleven hundred basis points on a top line that barely moved. Every store is four-wall profitable. Free cash flow was $281m on $2.5bn of sales. That is not a turnaround narrative; it is a completed turnaround with the receipts attached.
The problem is that the hard work is done and the remaining growth is arithmetically constrained. A category compounding at roughly 1%, with the company already holding a third of tailored clothing and 60% of rental, leaves unit expansion as the only material lever — which is precisely why the prospectus leads with 500 stores over ten years. The evidence for that plan is unusually good, but it is fifteen stores of evidence against a five-hundred-store ambition.
Then there is the $865m dividend. Silver Point levered the company at the top of its operating cycle to pay itself, doubled the interest burden, and is now selling shares into the offering while retaining control and a lock-up overhang. That is legitimate, disclosed, and entirely rational for a credit fund — and it means the equity is being priced on a business whose near-term earnings growth will be absorbed by deleveraging.
Verdict: a high-quality operating asset with a compromised balance sheet and a misaligned seller. Attractive at a price that reflects all three. The price range, when it comes, is the whole question.
SOURCE REGISTER
Primary sources
- Tailored Brands, Inc., Form S-1 Registration Statement, filed with the SEC 10 July 2026, Registration No. 333- (CIK 0002045151; accession 0001213900-26-077111) — the principal source for all FY2023–FY2025 and Q1 FY2026 financial data, banner data, market data, strategy, risk factors and corporate information.
- Tailored Brands, Inc., Form DRS and Form DRS/A, confidential draft registration statements (accessions 0001213900-26-046042 and 0001213900-26-069351), confidential treatment requested under 17 C.F.R. §200.83.
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands, Inc. Publicly Files Registration Statement for Initial Public Offering of Common Stock," 13 July 2026 (GlobeNewswire).
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands Announces Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer Appointments," 19 November 2025.
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands Appoints New Chief Executive Officer," 18 June 2025 (Business Wire).
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands Announces New Rental Distribution Center in Aurora, Illinois," 26 June 2024 (source line: Tailored Shared Services, LLC).
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands Confirms Go-Forward Leadership Team," 16 March 2022 (Business Wire).
- Tailored Brands, Inc., press release, "Tailored Brands Successfully Completes Financial Restructuring," 1 December 2020 (Business Wire).
- Tailored Brands corporate website: Leadership, Latest Updates, Brands, Social Responsibility and Investors pages (accessed August 2026).
- Separation Agreement between Tailored Shared Services, LLC, Tailored Brands, Inc. and Douglas S. Ewert (SEC EDGAR, 2018); Separation Agreement between Tailored Shared Services, LLC and Jack Calandra, dated 15 July 2020.
- Tailored Brands, Inc. (predecessor, CIK 0000884217): Form 10-K FY2019 (filed 8 April 2020) and associated Exhibit 23.1 (Deloitte & Touche LLP consent); Forms 8-K dated 26 October 2017, 9 April 2018 and 10 October 2018 regarding the ABL and Term Loan; DEF 14A filings 2016–2020.
Third-party market data cited within the S-1 Circana, LLC (POS Tracking Service, Consumer Tracking Service, Historic POS Data 2021–2028, Future of Apparel Data); Consumer Edge / Earnest Analytics (FY2025 Rental TAM and Rental Market Share Report); Morning Consult (Men's Wearhouse Q4 2025 Overview, February 2026; Moores Overview W4, February 2026); The Knot (2026 Real Weddings Study); Brides.com (2018 American Wedding Study); Barna Group; CARA; National Funeral Directors Association (2023); National Center for Education Statistics; U.S. Census Bureau (American Community Survey; County Business Patterns / Department Stores Survey); U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics; U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Secondary sources Women's Wear Daily (19–20 November 2025; 12 July 2026); Retail Dive (18 June 2025; 22 April 2026); Business of Fashion (13 July 2026); Digital Commerce 360 (14 July 2026); Fibre2Fashion (21 November 2025); S&P Global Ratings (28 January 2025 upgrade to 'B+'; 21 February 2024 'B' affirmation; 2 July 2020 'D' downgrade); Pulse Ratings; Wikipedia (used only for cross-checking historic milestone dates, not for any figure presented as fact).
Data explicitly flagged as not publicly disclosed or not retrievable in this review: standalone financial statements for Tailored Shared Services, LLC; FY2021 and FY2022 audited financials; balance-sheet detail beyond the four summary lines (goodwill, intangibles, inventory, working capital, debt short/long split); executive compensation; the principal and selling stockholders table; the description of material indebtedness and debt maturity schedule; the identity of the current auditor; banner-level profitability; a formal geographic revenue table; R&D expense; patent holdings; emissions data and ESG ratings; diversity metrics; current Moody's rating; and legal proceedings disclosure. In every case the reader is directed to the corresponding section of the Form S-1 rather than offered an estimate.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | In role since | Prior roles | Education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
John Tighe | Chief Executive Officer; Director | August 2025 (CEO); President Mar 2022–Aug 2025; EVP & Chief Customer Officer May 2021–Mar 2022 | President, Peerless Clothing; JCPenney (Chief Merchant and EVP); May Department Stores; Filene's; Meier & Frank. Chairman, Fashion Scholarship Fund (since Mar 2025); After-School All-Stars National Board (since 2015) | BBA, University of Massachusetts Amherst |
Mike Baughn | EVP, Chief Financial Officer | December 2025 | EVP & CFO, Foot Locker, Inc. (Jun 2023–Sep 2025); Kohl's Corporation (Jun 2015–Mar 2023), ultimately EVP Finance & Corporate Treasurer; Cardinal Health financial development programme | MBA, Marquette University; BBA, Wisconsin School of Business |
Karla Gray | EVP, Chief Operating Officer | November 2025 (COO); Chief Stores Officer May 2021–Nov 2025 | VP & GM North American Factory Stores, Nike, Inc.; VP & GM Nike Direct Retail APLA; VP Global Store Operations, Nike; began career at The Gap, Inc. | MBA, Western Washington University; BA Finance & Accounting, Gonzaga University |
Whit Alexander | EVP, Chief Customer Officer | February 2025 | Partner, McKinsey & Company (Apr 2023–Feb 2025); Best Buy Co. (Apr 2015–Jun 2021) as CMO, Chief Transformation Officer and Chief Strategy Officer; Target Corporation; McKinsey. Board of Directors, AARP (since Dec 2025) | MBA, Northwestern (Kellogg); BS Business, University of Minnesota Carlson |
Jamie Bragg | EVP, Chief Supply Chain Officer | April 2016 | Joined the company 1991; VP Distribution 2005–2007; SVP Tuxedo Distribution 2007–2011; EVP Distribution from 2011; inaugural Executive Committee member 2011. University of Houston Supply Chain & Logistics Technology Industry Advisory Board (2023) | MBA and BBA, University of Houston, C.T. Bauer College of Business |
Yen Chu | EVP, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary | December 2022 | EVP, Chief Legal Officer, Equinox Group (Jun 2017–Dec 2022); SVP & Associate General Counsel, Ralph Lauren Corporation; attorney, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP. Board of DirectWomen (since 2020) | JD, Columbia Law School; BA International Relations, University of Minnesota |
Shane Smith | EVP, Chief Human Resources Officer | March 2020 | The Coca-Cola Company — Global VP Associate Services; Head of HR Global Corporate Center, Shared Services and Commercial Products Supply; VP HR North America Business Integration; VP HR Brazil Division. Harland Company. Board of Hire Heroes USA (since 2023) | BS Accounting, Northwestern State University |
Scott Vifquain | EVP, Chief Technology Officer | September 2021 | SVP Technology and VP Supply Chain Technology, Kohl's Corporation (2016–2021); Kurt Salmon Associates (now Accenture). Founding board member, MKE Tech Hub Coalition | MS Systems Engineering and Design, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign |
Steve Ricci | Brand President, K&G Fashion Superstore | February 2013 | With K&G since 1999; DMM K&G Men's from Nov 2008; VP/GMM K&G Men's Feb 2011–Jan 2013; seven years at Macy's in buying roles | BS Finance, Arizona State University |
Staci Watkins | SVP and Chief Accounting Officer | Not disclosed | Named as Investor Contact on the July 2026 IPO announcement | Not disclosed |
| Name | Role | On board since | Independence | Background |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Peter Sachse | Executive Chairman | March 2021 | Not independent (executive) | CEO of TBI Feb 2024–Aug 2025; co-CEO Mar 2021–Jan 2024. 34 years at Macy's, Inc. including Chief Growth Officer, CSO, CMO, and Chairman/CEO of macys.com; President & COO of The Bon Marché. Interim CEO, Executive Chairman and Chairman at Citi Trends (2019–2025); director and Compensation Committee Chair at Mattress Firm (2019–2025); currently director and Audit Committee member at Somnigroup International; former director of XO Group. BBA, University of Wisconsin-Madison |
John Tighe | Director; CEO | August 2025 | Not independent (executive) | See above |
Wes McDonald | Director; Chair, Audit Committee (since June 2026) | May 2026 | Independent | CFO of Kohl's Corporation 2003–2017, latterly Principal Officer/CFO; CFO and VP of Abercrombie & Fitch; Target Corporation. Director of Wingstop Inc. (since 2016); director and Audit Committee Chair of Urban Outfitters (since May 2019); The Children's Place (2023–2024). MBA Finance, Wharton; BSE, Bucknell |
Timothy Lavelle | Director; Chair, Compensation and Organizational Development Committee (since May 2025) | July 2024 | Not independent — Managing Director, Silver Point Capital | Silver Point Capital investment professional; boards of TridentCare Health Services and Rotech Healthcare; formerly Arclin, Codere New Topco, Studio City International, Transtar Holding. Began career at Credit Suisse First Boston; joined Silver Point 2008. BBA Finance and Psychology, University of Notre Dame, summa cum laude |
Sean Mahoney | Director; Chair, Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee (since March 2021) | March 2021 | Independent | Private investor. Boards: Aptiv plc (since 2009), Pepco Group N.V. (since 2024), IBEX Holdings affiliates (since 2023, chairman), post-bankruptcy Lehman Brothers Holdings (since 2012, chairman); formerly iHeartMedia, Howmet/Arconic/Alcoa, Formula One Holdings. Two decades in investment banking, primarily Goldman Sachs, where he was a partner and head of the Financial Sponsors Group. MLitt Politics, Oxford (Rhodes Scholar); BA Economics, University of Chicago |
Julie Rosen | Director | March 2025 | Independent | President of Bath & Body Works (Sep 2020–Sep 2024), with full P&L responsibility for a $7bn+ global business; President of Ann Inc. at Ascena Retail Group (2016–2020), overseeing a $2.4bn multi-brand portfolio and the Ann Taylor turnaround; Gap Inc., including EVP North America for Banana Republic. Boards: A-Frame Brands, ROX. BA Communications, University of Michigan |
Delaney Steele | Director | July 2026 | Independent | EVP at Ross Stores (Nov 2012–Mar 2026) overseeing Marketing, Strategy, Communications and Product Sourcing & Services; 11 years as Partner and MD in the Consumer/Retail practice at Boston Consulting Group. Board of Energizer Holdings (Audit and Nominating & Governance Committees); Co-Chair, Women for Women International; guest lecturer, Stanford GSB. MBA, Stanford GSB; BSE Civil Engineering, Duke |
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
Dec 2022 | Yen Chu appointed EVP, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary |
Feb 2024 | Peter Sachse becomes sole CEO |
Feb 2025 | Whit Alexander joins as EVP, Chief Customer Officer from McKinsey |
Mar 2025 | Julie Rosen joins the board |
18 Jun 2025 | John Tighe named CEO effective 5 August 2025; Sachse to Executive Chairman |
16 Jul 2025 | "Tailored Brands Announces Leadership Change" — coinciding with the departure of CFO Brandy Richardson to Saks Global |
May 2026 | Wes McDonald joins the board; Audit Chair from June 2026 |
19 Nov 2025 | Mike Baughn appointed EVP, CFO effective 1 December 2025; Karla Gray promoted to EVP, COO with expanded remit covering supply chain and technology |
Jul 2026 | Delaney Steele joins the board |
| Holder | Stake | Notes |
|---|---|---|
Silver Point Capital, L.P. and affiliated funds | Majority; exact percentage not yet disclosed (blank in the S-1 pending pricing) | Became a significant shareholder in the 2020 restructuring; majority holder since 2021. Silver Point Capital Management, LLC is the general partner and may be deemed beneficial owner. Edward A. Mulé and Robert J. O'Shea are members of Silver Point Management and may each be deemed beneficial owner of all shares held by the funds; both disclaim beneficial ownership except to the extent of pecuniary interest. Business address: Two Greenwich Plaza, First Floor, Greenwich, Connecticut 06830 |
Other pre-IPO holders | Not disclosed | The full "Principal and Selling Stockholders" table appears at page 132 of the prospectus and was not retrievable in this review |
Insider ownership | Not disclosed | Management equity is expected to include performance-based RSUs granted at IPO closing under the 2026 Omnibus Incentive Plan |
Institutional holders | Not applicable | No public float exists |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | Tailored Brands (FY2025) | Peer 1: Ross Stores | Peer 2: Macy's | Peer 3: Nordstrom |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Net revenue (USD bn) | 2.5 | ~21 (unverified in this review) | ~22 (unverified in this review) | ~15 (unverified in this review) |
Revenue growth (%) | 2.1 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
Comparable sales growth (%) | 1.9 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
Gross margin (%) | 48.2 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
Operating margin (%) | 12.5 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
Adjusted EBITDA margin (%) | 16.3 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
Net income margin (%) | 8.6 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
R&D intensity (% of revenue) | 0 (no R&D line reported) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Store count | 1006 | n/v | n/v | n/v |
U.S. tailored clothing share (%) | ~33 | n/a | n/v | n/v |
U.S. men's apparel rental share (%) | ~60 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Recent Developments
--



