The Royal Bank of Scotland Group PLC Overview
NatWest Group is a domestically-concentrated, deposit-funded UK universal bank of systemic scale, distinguished from its listed peers by the completeness of its retreat from international complexity. Where Barclays retains a global investment bank and HSBC a pan-Asian franchise, NatWest derives the overwhelming majority of income from the United Kingdom, from three businesses — Retail Banking, Private Banking & Wealth Management, and Commercial & Institutional — each holding top-three or leading domestic positions. It is the UK's largest bank for business customers, its third-largest mortgage lender, and, following the June 2026 acquisition of Evelyn Partners, its largest private banking and wealth management business by assets. May 2025 marked the end of seventeen years of majority state ownership. The consequence of this simplification is the highest return on tangible equity among the UK's large banks — 19.2% in 2025 and 19.7% in the first half of 2026 — earned on a prime, low-loss loan book. The corollary is total exposure to a single, slow-growing economy.
What the company does
NatWest Group is a holding company whose subsidiaries provide banking and financial services principally in the United Kingdom, the Crown Dependencies and the Republic of Ireland (the latter in run-off), with limited international presence supporting UK corporate and institutional clients. At 31 December 2025 the Group held £714.6 billion of total assets, £443.0 billion of customer deposits and £418.9 billion of loans to customers at amortised cost, and served over 20 million customers.
The Group's own characterisation, from the 2025 Annual Report and Group Chief Executive's review, positions it as "a UK-focussed bank" whose purpose is expressed as turning customers' "possibilities into progress", operating through three customer businesses that are described as "genuine engines for growth", underpinned by "disciplined growth, leveraging simplification, and active balance sheet and risk management".
Independent characterisation of the business model
Stripped of the corporate language, NatWest is best understood as three distinct economic engines sharing a balance sheet and a funding franchise:
Engine one — the deposit franchise and the structural hedge. The single largest driver of NatWest's earnings is not lending margin but the reinvestment of stable, low-cost and non-interest-bearing customer deposits into a rolling portfolio of interest rate swaps and gilts (the "structural hedge"). Management disclosed at the 2025 results that total structural hedge income was expected to increase by around £1.5 billion in 2026 versus 2025, and by a further £1 billion in 2027. This is a mechanical, largely rate-path-independent tailwind arising from the roll-off of low-yielding 2020–21 vintage hedges and their replacement at prevailing rates. It is the reason group net interest margin rose from 2.13% in 2024 to 2.34% in 2025 and to 2.48% in H1 2026 despite Bank of England rate cuts. It is also the principal reason the earnings trajectory is more visible than for most banks — and the principal reason the bull case has a defined shelf life.
Engine two — secured and unsecured retail lending. Retail Banking, with £216.1 billion of net loans at end-2025, is dominated by prime UK residential mortgages, supplemented by a growing credit card and personal loan book (cards +20.0% and personal advances +16.0% in 2025, materially assisted by the acquired Sainsbury's Bank balances). This engine generates volume-linked interest income at thin and competitive spreads. Its economics are more a function of the deposit engine than of asset margin.
Engine three — corporate relationship and transaction banking. Commercial & Institutional, the largest single income contributor at £8,809 million in 2025 (52.9% of Group income by MarketScreener's activity split), spans business banking, commercial mid-market lending, corporate and institutional lending, asset finance (Lombard), payments (Tyl), foreign exchange, rates and financing markets activity through NatWest Markets, and offshore banking through RBS International. Non-interest income of £2,660 million in 2025 makes this the Group's fee engine.
The emerging fourth engine — fee-based wealth. Private Banking & Wealth Management was, until 2026, sub-scale: £1,131 million of income on £58.5 billion of AUMA, with a cost:income ratio of 64.1%, far above the group average. The £2.7 billion Evelyn Partners acquisition completed 30 June 2026 roughly doubled AUMA to £130.6 billion and, on management's estimate, increases group fee income by approximately 20% before revenue synergies. This is a deliberate structural change to the revenue mix: capital-light, annuity-like fee revenue substituting for interest-rate-dependent spread revenue.
Revenue model
NatWest's revenue is overwhelmingly spread-based, not subscription, licensing or product-sale based. In FY2025, net interest income of £12,829 million represented 77.1% of total income of £16,641 million, with non-interest income of £3,812 million providing 22.9%. Non-interest income comprises net fees and commissions (account, card, payment, lending arrangement and wealth management fees), income from trading activities (predominantly customer-driven FX and rates in NatWest Markets), and other operating income including gains on risk management derivatives and associate income. The Evelyn transaction is explicitly intended to shift this mix.
Value chain position and customer types
NatWest occupies the classic balance-sheet-intermediary position: it aggregates retail and corporate deposits, transforms maturity and credit risk, and distributes credit. It is not primarily a distributor of third-party product, nor primarily a platform. Its differentiation, on management's own framing, is a UK-wide relationship manager network (around 1,000 relationship managers in C&I), physical branch presence (336 retail branches, committed to remain open until at least 2029 with £50 million of investment), and local community connection — a deliberately analogue moat combined with an aggressively digital delivery layer (95% of retail customers bank digitally).
Customer types: personal and youth customers (19 million in Retail Banking, including 2.4 million youth customers and 529,000 in the Premier segment); mass-affluent, high-net-worth and ultra-high-net-worth individuals (Coutts, Adam & Company heritage, Bestinvest post-Evelyn); 1.5 million business customers from sole traders to multinationals; financial institutions, funds and sovereigns through Corporate & Institutions; and offshore corporate and private clients through RBS International.
End markets served
UK residential mortgage market; UK unsecured consumer credit; UK savings and current accounts; UK investment and financial planning; UK SME and mid-market corporate lending; UK and European infrastructure, project and social housing finance (NatWest was the leading lender to UK infrastructure in 2025); asset and invoice finance; merchant acquiring and payments; foreign exchange and rates for corporates (over 130 currencies supported); debt capital markets and securitisation; and offshore fund and corporate banking in Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Gibraltar and Luxembourg.
Strategy
Stated strategy — verbatim themes from the 2025 Annual Report
Management articulates the strategy around three pillars, stated in the Group Chief Executive's review as: "disciplined growth, leveraging simplification, and active balance sheet and risk management to drive sustainable value creation."
Supporting themes, in the Group's own framing:
- On ambition: "We start 2026 from a position of strength. That strength gives us the confidence to raise our ambition and accelerate our progress."
- On simplification: "The next phase of our simplification sees us move from 'build' to 'benefits', leveraging the investment we've made in our infrastructure and capabilities."
- On technology: "Harnessed correctly, technological advancement and AI can be a game-changing accelerant, reducing complexity and removing bureaucracy."
- On differentiation: "Deep community roots, expert colleagues, and a UK-wide relationship manager network mean we are connected to our customers in their communities."
- On trust: "Trust, however, remains the keystone of banking."
- On accountability: "measuring all colleagues' success by the quality of our customers' experiences."
Medium-term financial targets
Guidance as at FY2025 results (13 February 2026), pre-Evelyn:
Upgraded guidance at H1 2026 results (31 July 2026), including Evelyn:
The 2028 targets were reaffirmed unchanged at H1 2026.
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Sustainability and ESG commitments
- Ambition to be net zero across financed emissions, assets under management and the operational value chain by 2050, aligned to the UK's legal commitment.
- Ambition to at least halve the climate impact of financing activity by 2030 against a 2019 baseline, supported by portfolio-level activity-based targets.
- First UK bank, and one of the largest globally, to have science-based targets validated by the Science Based Targets initiative (2022).
- Founding member of the Net Zero Banking Alliance and the Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero; principal partner of COP26.
- £100 billion climate and sustainable funding and financing target between 1 July 2021 and end-2025: £61.9 billion delivered by end-2023. The final outcome against the £100 billion target was not retrieved and is flagged as not confirmed here. Note that the Group changed its disclosure metric for 2025 to "climate and transition finance", reporting £19,026 million for the year — a different, narrower measure that is not directly comparable to the earlier "climate and sustainable funding and financing" series (£24.5bn in 2022, £29.3bn in 2023). This metric change warrants scrutiny.
- Say-on-Climate resolution put to shareholders in 2022, receiving 92.58% support.
Products & Services
NatWest does not publish a product-by-product pricing schedule in its Annual Report, and product-level revenue is not disclosed. The catalogue below is assembled from brand disclosures, segment commentary and press releases. Pricing is flagged as not disclosed except where stated.
Retail Banking
Brands: NatWest (England, Wales, Northern Ireland retail); Royal Bank of Scotland (Scotland retail); Ulster Bank (Northern Ireland).
Private Banking & Wealth Management
Commercial & Institutional
Group-level capabilities
Product Portfolio
| Product line | Description | Target customer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Personal current accounts | Full-service current accounts including Reward and Premier tiers | Mass market to affluent | 529,000 Premier customers; Premier NPS +44 (FY2025) |
Savings and ISAs | Instant access, fixed-term, notice and cash ISA products | Mass market | H1 2026: 20% increase in ISAs opened vs H1 2025 |
Residential mortgages | Purchase, remortgage, porting, buy-to-let, Green Mortgages (EPC A/B) | Homebuyers | Third-largest UK mortgage lender; number one in digital mortgages by flow |
Family-Backed Mortgage | Allows family members to support a first-time buyer while preserving independent ownership | First-time buyers | c.£300 million of lending in 2025 |
First-time buyer proposition | c.30% of 2025 gross mortgage lending; over 50,000 FTBs helped in 2025 | First-time buyers | £10 billion FTB lending commitment for 2026; £8.2 billion delivered in H1 2026 |
Credit cards | Standard, Reward and (from H2 2026) NatWest Nectar card | Mass market | Cards balances +£1.4 billion (+20.0%) in 2025 |
Personal loans | Unsecured personal advances | Mass market | Balances +£1.3 billion (+16.0%) in 2025 |
Rooster Money | Youth pocket-money card and app | Children and teenagers | Serves 15x the customers it had at 2021 acquisition; NPS +72; new teenager proposition and c.50% increase in Junior ISAs (H1 2026) |
Cora / Cora+ | AI digital assistant, from 2026 an agentic financial assistant underpinned by OpenAI models | All retail customers | 7.1 million conversations in H1 2026, 3.8 million fully digitally resolved, +23% YoY |
Branch and mobile banking network | 336 branches committed open until at least 2029 with £50 million investment; mobile banking network being extended | Customers valuing face-to-face | 95% of retail customers bank digitally |
| Product line / brand | Description | Target customer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Coutts | Full-service private bank: banking, lending, mortgages, discretionary investment management, advice | HNW and UHNW individuals | Refreshed visual identity and new website in 2025; AI reduced call summarisation time by over 70% |
Adam & Company | Scottish private banking heritage brand | HNW individuals | Investment management arm sold in 2021 for £54 million consideration |
Holt's | Military banking specialist | Armed forces personnel | Long-standing niche franchise |
Cushon | Workplace savings and pensions platform, including a "net zero now" pension | Employers and employees | 85% owned; net flows of £0.6 billion in 2025; press speculation in 2025 regarding a potential disposal, unconfirmed |
Evelyn Partners | UK wealth manager with over 180 years of heritage; financial planning and investment management | HNW, affluent, professional | Acquired 30 June 2026. FY2025: operating income £509m, costs £330m, EBITDA £179m, AUMA £68.6bn, net new money £1.6bn, AUMA CAGR >7% (2023–25). Largest in-house financial planner team in the UK |
Bestinvest | Direct-to-consumer investment platform (part of Evelyn) | Self-directed retail investors | Being trialled with NatWest Retail customers post-completion |
Digital investing | Group-wide investing proposition | Mass affluent | Over 50,000 new-to-invest clients in 2025; 45,000+ in H1 2026 alone, up over 60% YoY |
| Product line / brand | Description | Target customer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
Business Banking | Current accounts, lending, payments for micro and small business | Sole traders and small businesses | Business Current Accounts available with no minimum charge |
Mettle | Free digital business account | Start-ups and freelancers | Digital-first challenger proposition |
FreeAgent | Cloud accounting software for small businesses and accountants | Micro-businesses, accountants | Wholly-owned software subsidiary |
Commercial Mid-market | Relationship lending, working capital, trade, treasury | Businesses c.£3m–£350m turnover | Largest UK presence in the mid-market by the Group's own claim |
Corporates & Institutions | Corporate lending, financing solutions, DCM, securitisation, funds finance, infrastructure and project finance | Large corporates, funds, FIs, sovereigns | Leading lender to UK infrastructure in 2025; number one loan arranger to UK power infrastructure and renewables 2014–2023 (Infralogic) |
Social housing finance | Dedicated sector lending | Housing associations | £4.6 billion committed in 2025 against an upgraded £7.5 billion by end-2026 target; total commitments £8.7 billion; new £10 billion ambition by end-2028; £1.9 billion in H1 2026 |
Lombard | UK asset finance — plant, machinery, vehicles, technology, renewables and EV financing | Businesses of all sizes | Cited by the Group as number one in UK asset finance |
Tyl by NatWest | Merchant acquiring and card payments | SMEs and retailers | Among the first UK offerings of Apple and Android Tap to Pay |
Bankline | Digital channel for mid-market and corporate customers | Corporates | Re-platformed in 2025; first customer-facing generative AI capability launched here in H1 2026 |
FX and international payments | Over 130 currencies supported; simplified digital onboarding | Corporates of all sizes | c.700 mid-market businesses used the service for the first time in 2025; FX trading revenue a named 2025 income driver |
NatWest Markets | Rates, currencies, financing and risk solutions | Corporates and institutions | Operates outside the ring-fence via NatWest Markets Plc, NatWest Markets N.V. and NatWest Markets Securities Inc. |
RBS International (RBSI) | Offshore banking in Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Gibraltar and Luxembourg | Funds, corporates, offshore private clients | Regulated separately in each jurisdiction |
IP-backed lending | Lending secured against intellectual property | High-growth and innovation firms | c.50% of completed IP-backed loans in 2025 were to customers new to the Group |
Venture Banking | Specialist support for high-growth and innovation-economy firms | Venture-backed companies | Five-fold increase in new-to-bank clients in H1 2026 |
Accelerator programme | Free start-up support hubs | Entrepreneurs | Extended to 15 hubs (3 new in H1 2026, including Brighton and York university hubs); customers supported doubled to 25,000; participants grow turnover 35% more on average than peers |
Carbon Planner | Free digital tool for businesses to identify carbon and cost savings | UK businesses | Launched Q3 2022 |
| Capability | Description |
|---|---|
Banknote issuance | The Group issues banknotes in Scotland (Royal Bank of Scotland) and Northern Ireland (Ulster Bank). Notes in circulation stood at £3,218 million at 31 December 2022, the most recent figure retrieved. |
Bank of APIs | Open banking developer portal for third-party providers |
Green, Social and Sustainability Bond Framework | Wholesale funding programme; also covered bonds and the Ardmore residential mortgage securitisation programme |
AI Research Office | Established 2025 under Chief AI Research Officer Dr Maja Pantic |
Financial Narrative
Important measurement caveats for a banking issuer
Several metrics requested in a standard corporate template have no meaningful application to a bank and are flagged accordingly rather than estimated:
- Gross profit / gross margin: Not applicable. Banks do not report cost of goods sold. Total income is the closest analogue and is presented in full.
- EBITDA / EBITDA margin: Not applicable and not reported. Interest is an operating input for a bank, not a financing cost; depreciation and amortisation are immaterial to the economics. Any EBITDA figure for a bank is an artefact.
- Capex and free cash flow: Not separately disclosed in the Group's summary cash flow presentation. Banks capitalise software and property within investing activities but do not report a "free cash flow" measure. Not publicly disclosed in the form requested.
- Current ratio, cash conversion cycle, asset turnover, inventory metrics: Not applicable to a deposit-taking institution.
- Net debt / EBITDA and interest coverage: Not applicable. Deposits and wholesale funding are raw materials, not leverage in the corporate sense. The regulatory analogues — CET1 ratio, total capital ratio, UK leverage ratio, loan:deposit ratio, LCR and NSFR — are presented in full.
Income statement, continuing operations (£m)
Note: FY2021 impairment is a net release of £1,173 million, shown as a positive. All other years are charges, shown as negatives.
Per-share and return metrics
Diluted EPS for FY2023–FY2025 has been derived from the reported basic figures and the historically observed dilution differential; only FY2021 (27.2p) and FY2022 (33.6p) diluted figures were verified directly. Treat FY2023–FY2025 diluted EPS as indicative.
Net interest margin — note the basis change
Zeros denote "not reported on that basis" rather than nil. The step-up in average interest-earning assets from £363bn to £529bn between FY2023 and FY2024 is entirely definitional — the new basis includes the liquid asset buffer.
Balance sheet (£bn unless stated)
Not publicly disclosed / not retrieved for all five years: total equity (verified only FY2021 £41,803m and FY2022 £36,496m; H1 2026 £43,828m); goodwill and intangibles (verified FY2021 £6,723m and FY2022 £7,116m; FY2023 rose by £498m in the year; H1 2026 Evelyn added £1,723m goodwill and c.£2.7bn total goodwill and intangibles deduction). Working capital is not a meaningful concept for a bank.
Regulatory capital, liquidity and leverage
LCR and NSFR are reported on a spot basis through FY2023 and a 12-month/4-quarter average basis from FY2024, per supervisory guidelines — another definitional discontinuity.
Risk-weighted asset composition (£m)
Derived ratios
Return on average assets for FY2021 uses an estimated FY2020 closing balance sheet and should be treated as approximate. Payout ratio is ordinary dividend only.
Compound annual growth rates, FY2021 to FY2025
Cash flow (£m) — partial disclosure
Note also that bank operating cash flow is dominated by movements in customer deposits and trading assets and carries almost no analytical signal — the £97 billion swing between FY2021 and FY2022 reflects deposit outflows and balance sheet management, not operating performance.
Distributions (£m and pence)
Zeros in the "paid" rows denote figures not retrieved for those years rather than nil distributions — the Group paid substantial dividends and executed buybacks in all five years. Total distributions deducted from capital for FY2024 was not retrieved. The FY2025 figure of £4.1 billion includes the £750 million buyback commenced in H1 2026 and the £1,837 million final dividend.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
The rate cycle drove the first inflection (2021→2023). Total income rose 41.5% across two years, from £10,429 million to £14,752 million, as Bank of England base rate moved from 0.10% to 5.25%. The mechanism was deposit repricing lag: NatWest's £480 billion deposit base repriced far more slowly than its asset book, producing a windfall visible in Retail Banking's 28.6% RoE in 2022. The 2021 result also flattered comparisons through a £1,173 million impairment release as COVID-era provisions were unwound — a non-repeatable benefit that management correctly excluded from underlying commentary.
2024 was the transition year and the least flattering. Total income fell marginally, from £14,752 million to £14,703 million, and RoTE dipped from 17.8% to 17.5%. Deposit pass-through had caught up, deposit mix continued shifting from non-interest-bearing current accounts to term and interest-bearing savings, and mortgage margins compressed. Retail Banking RoE fell from 23.8% to 19.9%. Management's 2024 guidance of "around 12%" RoTE, given at the FY2023 results, was materially exceeded — a pattern of conservative guidance that has repeated.
2025 was the structural inflection, and it was not rate-driven. Total income rose 13.2% to £16,641 million while base rate was falling. The drivers were: structural hedge income (the dominant factor), £20.7 billion of net loan growth excluding central items, £10.4 billion of deposit growth, 19.6% AUMA growth to £58.5 billion, higher FX trading revenue, and the Sainsbury's Bank acquisition. Simultaneously, operating expenses rose only 1.4% — costs were, in management's phrase, "stable" — producing 11.8 percentage points of positive operating jaws and driving the cost:income ratio from 53.4% to 48.6%. This is the single most important number in the five-year record: it is the first time the Group has operated below a 50% cost:income ratio.
Credit quality has normalised, not deteriorated. The loan impairment rate moved from a 32bps release in 2021 to 16bps of charge in 2025. Context matters: the Group's own through-the-cycle guidance is 20–30bps, and 2026 guidance is below 25bps. The 2025 charge of £671 million included a specific charge on the acquired Sainsbury's Bank balances and reflected lower good-book releases rather than rising defaults; management stated Stage 3 default flow remained "broadly stable". ECL coverage was flat at 0.83%, and post-model adjustments were reduced to £296 million from £485 million in 2023 — a sign of confidence, and simultaneously a reduction in the buffer available to absorb a downturn.
Capital: the shrinking share count is doing heavy lifting on EPS. Shares in issue fell from 11,272 million at end-2021 to 7,995 million at end-2025 — a 29.1% reduction, achieved through five directed buybacks from HM Treasury, on-market buybacks, and the 2022 share consolidation. Attributable profit grew at a 16.7% CAGR; EPS grew at 25.6%. Roughly a third of the EPS compounding is share-count arithmetic, not earnings growth. With the government exit complete, directed buybacks are no longer available as a mechanism, and future buybacks must be executed on-market at a price near 1.8x tangible book — materially less accretive than repurchases executed at 0.6–0.9x book in 2021–23.
The leverage ratio is the quiet constraint. UK leverage fell from 5.9% in 2021 to 4.8% in 2025, and total capital ratio has drifted from 24.7% to 19.3%. The Financial Policy Committee's July 2026 consultation on amending the leverage framework — which could reduce the minimum requirement by approximately 40 basis points — is therefore materially relevant to NatWest specifically.
Financial Detail
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net interest income (GBP m) | 7535 | 9842 | 11049 | 11275 | 12829 |
Non-interest income (GBP m) | 2894 | 3314 | 3703 | 3428 | 3812 |
Total income (GBP m) | 10429 | 13156 | 14752 | 14703 | 16641 |
Total income excluding notable items (GBP m) | 10184 | 13061 | 14339 | 14648 | 16400 |
Other operating expenses (GBP m) | 7292 | 7302 | 7641 | 7854 | 8095 |
Litigation and conduct costs (GBP m) | 466 | 385 | 355 | 295 | 167 |
Total operating expenses (GBP m) | 7758 | 7687 | 7996 | 8149 | 8262 |
Profit before impairment (GBP m) | 2671 | 5469 | 6756 | 6554 | 8379 |
Impairment charge or release (GBP m) | 1173 | -337 | -578 | -359 | -671 |
Operating profit before tax (GBP m) | 3844 | 5132 | 6178 | 6195 | 7708 |
Tax charge (GBP m) | -996 | -1275 | -1434 | -1465 | -1874 |
Profit from continuing operations (GBP m) | 2848 | 3857 | 4744 | 4730 | 5834 |
Profit or loss from discontinued operations (GBP m) | 464 | -262 | -112 | 81 | 0 |
Profit for the period (GBP m) | 3312 | 3595 | 4632 | 4811 | 5834 |
Profit attributable to ordinary shareholders (GBP m) | 2950 | 3340 | 4394 | 4519 | 5479 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Basic EPS total pence | 27.3 | 33.8 | 47.9 | 53.5 | 68.0 |
Diluted EPS total pence | 27.2 | 33.6 | 47.6 | 53.1 | 67.6 |
Ordinary dividend per share pence | 10.5 | 13.5 | 17.0 | 21.5 | 32.5 |
Special dividend per share pence | 0 | 16.8 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Total dividend per share pence | 10.5 | 30.3 | 17.0 | 21.5 | 32.5 |
Return on tangible equity pct | 9.4 | 12.3 | 17.8 | 17.5 | 19.2 |
Cost income ratio excluding litigation and conduct pct | 69.9 | 55.5 | 51.8 | 53.4 | 48.6 |
Loan impairment rate bps | -32 | 9 | 15 | 9 | 16 |
Tangible net asset value per share pence | 272 | 264 | 292 | 329 | 384 |
Ordinary shares in issue millions | 11272 | 9659 | 8792 | 8043 | 7995 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank net interest margin old basis pct | 2.30 | 2.85 | 3.04 | 0 | 0 |
Group net interest margin new basis pct | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.13 | 2.34 |
Average interest earning assets GBP bn | 327 | 345 | 363 | 529 | 547 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets GBP bn | 782.0 | 720.1 | 692.7 | 708.0 | 714.6 |
Funded assets GBP bn | 675.9 | 620.5 | 613.8 | 629.6 | 653.8 |
Cash and balances at central banks GBP bn | 177.8 | 144.8 | 104.3 | 93.0 | 85.2 |
Loans to customers amortised cost GBP bn | 359.0 | 366.3 | 381.4 | 400.3 | 418.9 |
Customer deposits GBP bn | 479.8 | 450.3 | 431.4 | 433.5 | 443.0 |
Total impairment provisions GBP bn | 3.8 | 3.4 | 3.6 | 3.4 | 3.6 |
ECL coverage ratio pct | 1.03 | 0.91 | 0.93 | 0.83 | 0.83 |
Assets under management and administration GBP bn | 35.6 | 33.4 | 40.8 | 48.9 | 58.5 |
Tangible equity GBP m | 30689 | 25482 | 25653 | 26482 | 30736 |
Risk weighted assets GBP bn | 157.0 | 176.1 | 183.0 | 183.2 | 193.3 |
Total wholesale funding GBP bn | 77 | 74 | 80 | 86 | 88 |
Short term wholesale funding GBP bn | 23 | 21 | 28 | 33 | 28 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
CET1 ratio pct | 18.2 | 14.2 | 13.4 | 13.6 | 14.0 |
Tier 1 ratio pct | 21.0 | 16.4 | 15.5 | 16.5 | 16.4 |
Total capital ratio pct | 24.7 | 19.3 | 18.4 | 19.7 | 19.3 |
CET1 capital GBP m | 28596 | 24992 | 24440 | 24928 | 27066 |
Total regulatory capital GBP m | 38748 | 33920 | 33632 | 36105 | 37375 |
UK leverage ratio pct | 5.9 | 5.4 | 5.0 | 5.0 | 4.8 |
Liquidity coverage ratio pct | 172 | 145 | 144 | 151 | 147 |
Net stable funding ratio pct | 157 | 145 | 133 | 137 | 135 |
Loan to deposit ratio pct | 72 | 79 | 84 | 85 | 88 |
Capital generation pre distributions bps | 0 | 0 | 0 | 243 | 252 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Credit risk RWAs GBP m | 120116 | 141963 | 147598 | 148078 | 155610 |
Counterparty credit risk RWAs GBP m | 7907 | 6723 | 7830 | 7103 | 7609 |
Market risk RWAs GBP m | 7917 | 8300 | 7363 | 6219 | 4474 |
Operational risk RWAs GBP m | 21031 | 19115 | 20198 | 21821 | 25595 |
Total RWAs GBP m | 156971 | 176101 | 182989 | 183221 | 193288 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Return on average assets pct | 0.42 | 0.48 | 0.66 | 0.69 | 0.82 |
Attributable profit to RWA pct | 1.88 | 1.90 | 2.40 | 2.47 | 2.83 |
Non interest income share of total income pct | 27.8 | 25.2 | 25.1 | 23.3 | 22.9 |
Litigation and conduct as pct of total income | 4.47 | 2.93 | 2.41 | 2.01 | 1.00 |
Dividend payout ratio pct of EPS | 38.5 | 39.9 | 35.5 | 40.2 | 47.8 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Total income CAGR pct | 12.4 |
Attributable profit CAGR pct | 16.7 |
Basic EPS CAGR pct | 25.6 |
TNAV per share CAGR pct | 9.0 |
Ordinary dividend per share CAGR pct | 32.6 |
Loans to customers CAGR pct | 3.9 |
Customer deposits CAGR pct | -2.0 |
RWA CAGR pct | 5.3 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 |
|---|---|---|
Net cash flows from operating activities GBP m | 53684 | -43597 |
Net cash flows from investing activities GBP m | 3065 | 19059 |
Net cash flows from financing activities GBP m | -2601 | -10652 |
Net change in cash and cash equivalents GBP m | 51507 | -32257 |
Cash and cash equivalents at period end GBP m | 190706 | 158449 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ordinary dividends paid GBP m | 693 | 1205 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Special dividends paid GBP m | 0 | 1746 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Share buybacks GBP m | 1423 | 2054 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Total distributions deducted from capital GBP m | 3800 | 5100 | 3600 | 0 | 4100 |
Foreseeable ordinary dividend at year end GBP m | 1211 | 967 | 1013 | 1249 | 1837 |
Geographic Revenue
| Metric | FY2025 pct of income |
|---|---|
United Kingdom | 93.5 |
Rest of Europe | 4.5 |
United States | 1.5 |
Rest of world | 0.5 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
Share price at 1 September 2026 (LSE) | 682.80p |
ADR price at 3 September 2026 (NYSE) | US$18.95 |
52-week high (LSE) | 726.00p |
52-week low (LSE) | 504.20p |
52-week high (ADR) | US$19.355 |
Shares in issue | c.7.94 billion |
Market capitalisation (LSE basis) | c.£54–55 billion |
Market capitalisation (US$ basis, Nasdaq Data Link) | US$73.27 billion at 1 September 2026 |
One-year market cap change (GBP basis) | +22.91% to 28 August 2026 |
One-year market cap change (USD basis) | +25.99% to 1 September 2026 |
Capital Markets
| Metric | NatWest | Basis |
|---|---|---|
Price to tangible book value | 1.78x | 682.8p / 384p FY2025 TNAV |
Trailing P/E on FY2025 EPS | 10.0x | 682.8p / 68.0p |
Annualised P/E on H1 2026 EPS | 9.0x | 682.8p / (38.1p x 2) |
ADR P/E (WallStreetZen) | 9.44x | US$18.95 basis |
Trailing dividend yield on FY2025 DPS | 4.76% | 32.5p / 682.8p |
Sector P/E context | NatWest 8.5x vs Lloyds 9.8x | UBS analysis, January 2026 — NatWest traded at a discount to Lloyds prior to the FY2025 results |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 to date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Interim dividend per share pence | 3.0 | 3.5 | 5.5 | 6.0 | 9.5 | 12.0 |
Final dividend per share pence | 7.5 | 10.0 | 11.5 | 15.5 | 23.0 | 0 |
Special dividend per share pence | 0 | 16.8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Total ordinary dividend per share pence | 10.5 | 13.5 | 17.0 | 21.5 | 32.5 | 12.0 |
Year on year ordinary dividend growth pct | 0 | 28.6 | 25.9 | 26.5 | 51.2 | 26.3 |
Capital Markets
| Programme | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|
2021 on-market buyback | £750m authorised | 310.8 million shares repurchased and cancelled for £676.2m |
2022 on-market buyback | £800m authorised (announced with FY2022 results, commenced H1 2023) | 379.3 million shares repurchased and cancelled for £829.3m |
2024 on-market buyback | Up to £300m | Announced with FY2023 results |
H1 2025 buyback | £171m | Recognised as a foreseeable capital charge at 30 September 2025 |
H1 2026 buyback | £750m | Announced 9–13 February 2026 alongside the Evelyn acquisition. 78.5 million shares repurchased for £474.3m in H1 2026; a further 9.02 million shares for £59.64m since 30 June 2026 |
Next buyback | To be announced with FY2026 results (12 February 2027) | Brought forward six months from the previously guided H1 2027 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Short-term | Long-term | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | P-2 | A3 | Stable |
S&P | A-2 | A- | Stable |
Fitch | F1 | A+ | Stable |
JCR | — | A+ | Stable |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Short-term | Long-term | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | P-1 | A1 (Issuer and Deposit Rating) | Stable |
S&P | A-1 | A+ | Stable |
Fitch | F1+ | AA | Stable |
JCR (NWB only) | — | AA- | Stable |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Short-term | Long-term | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | P-1 | A1 | Stable |
S&P | A-1 | A | Stable |
Fitch | F1+ | AA | Stable |
JCR (NWM Plc only) | — | AA- | Stable |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Short-term | Long-term | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|
Moody's | P-1 | A1 (Deposit); A2 (Senior Unsecured) | Stable |
S&P | A-1 | A | Stable |
Fitch | F1+ | AA | Stable |
Capital Markets
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total wholesale funding GBP bn | 77 | 74 | 80 | 86 | 88 |
Short term wholesale funding GBP bn | 23 | 21 | 28 | 33 | 28 |
Short term as pct of total wholesale | 29.9 | 28.4 | 35.0 | 38.4 | 31.7 |
Subordinated liabilities GBP m | 8429 | 6260 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Additional Tier 1 capital GBP m | 4446 | 3875 | 3875 | 5259 | 4555 |
Tier 2 capital GBP m | 5706 | 5053 | 5317 | 5918 | 5754 |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
2026 (upgraded at H1 2026 results, 31 July 2026, including Evelyn Partners):
- Total income excluding notable items of approximately £17.9 billion, including approximately £275 million from Evelyn Partners
- Operating expenses excluding litigation and conduct of approximately £8.5 billion, including approximately £300 million relating to Evelyn Partners
- Loan impairment rate below 25 basis points
- Return on Tangible Equity greater than 19%
- Capital generation pre-distributions greater than 240 basis points excluding the Evelyn acquisition, equivalent to greater than 100 basis points reported
2028 (reaffirmed):
- Customer assets and liabilities CAGR greater than 4% from end-2025 to end-2028
- Cost:income ratio excluding litigation and conduct below 45%
- Return on Tangible Equity greater than 18%
- Capital generation pre-distributions greater than 200 basis points
Capital:
- CET1 target of approximately 13.0%
- Ordinary dividends of approximately 50% of attributable profit
- Next buyback announcement at FY2026 results (12 February 2027), six months earlier than previously planned
- Basel 3.1 to increase RWAs by approximately £10 billion on 1 January 2027
Consensus growth expectations
A formal consensus EPS series was not retrieved. Management's own guidance implies: FY2026 income of approximately £17.9 billion (+7.6% on FY2025's £16,641 million reported, or +9.1% on the £16,400 million ex-notables base), costs of approximately £8.5 billion (+2.9%), and RoTE above 19%. Applying a greater-than-19% RoTE to a tangible equity base that will have absorbed the Evelyn goodwill deduction implies FY2026 attributable profit broadly in the £5.8–6.2 billion range, and EPS in the region of 75–80p on a declining share count. These are the analyst's derivations from management guidance, not company forecasts and not consensus.
Sell-side positioning is constructive: Morgan Stanley overweight; Jefferies buy with a 770p target (13% above the current price); UBS overweight on the sector with NatWest among its preferred names.
Bull case — three arguments grounded in the data
1. The structural hedge tailwind is contracted, quantified and not yet in the base. Management has guided to approximately £1.5 billion of incremental structural hedge income in 2026 versus 2025, and a further £1 billion in 2027. Against FY2025 total income of £16,641 million, that is a combined 15% income uplift arriving over two years from the mechanical reinvestment of maturing low-yield hedges — largely independent of volume growth, credit conditions, competitive pricing or management execution. It is the reason net interest margin rose from 2.13% to 2.34% to 2.48% across FY2024, FY2025 and H1 2026 while the Bank of England was cutting rates. Few earnings drivers in banking are this visible.
2. Operating leverage is compounding and the 2028 cost:income target now looks conservative. The cost:income ratio has fallen from 55.5% (FY2022) to 53.4% (FY2024) to 48.6% (FY2025) to 46.0% (H1 2026). The 2028 target of below 45% requires only 1.0 further percentage point over two and a half years, against a two-year run-rate of roughly 3.5 points per annum. Meanwhile the drivers are structural rather than one-off: 35% of code is AI-written, feature deployment time has halved, 3.8 million of 7.1 million Cora conversations resolve fully digitally, and 90,000 hours per annum have been removed from complaint handling alone. Approximately £250 million of gross cost reductions were delivered in H1 2026 alone. If the 2028 target is beaten, the 2028 RoTE target of "greater than 18%" — which is below the H1 2026 actual of 19.7% — is being sandbagged.
3. Evelyn's revenue synergies are entirely excluded from guidance, and the leading indicators are already moving. Management has quantified £100 million of cost synergies but explicitly states it expects "significant revenue synergies" that are not in the numbers. The mechanism is straightforward: NatWest has 20 million customers and, until June 2026, an underweight investment proposition. Evelyn brings the UK's largest in-house financial planner team and Bestinvest. Before completion, first-time investor numbers had already risen 60% year-on-year to over 45,000 in H1 2026, with AUM net inflows of £2.0 billion — 9.2% of opening balances annualised, a record. Bestinvest is already being trialled with Retail customers. If the FCA's Advice Guidance Boundary Review loosens the advice perimeter, the addressable population expands dramatically. This is a genuine, unpriced call option on the group's largest structural weakness becoming a strength.
Bear case — three arguments grounded in the data
1. The valuation already discounts flawless execution, and buybacks no longer help. At 683p against 384p of tangible net asset value, the shares trade at 1.78x tangible book — for a bank guiding to 18% RoTE in 2028 against a cost of equity plausibly around 11–12%. That is a full price. Critically, the mechanism that delivered a 25.6% EPS CAGR against a 16.7% attributable profit CAGR — the 29.1% reduction in share count from 11,272 million to 7,995 million, executed largely through directed buybacks from HM Treasury at or below tangible book value — is exhausted. Every future buyback must be executed on-market at 1.78x book, which destroys tangible book value per share. Approximately a third of the historic EPS compounding is not repeatable, and the market may not have fully adjusted for this.
2. The provision cushion has been thinned into a deteriorating macro forecast produced by the company itself. ECL coverage stands at 0.83%, the lowest of the five-year period against 1.03% in FY2021. Post-model adjustments have been reduced 39%, from £485 million (2023) to £296 million (2025). Simultaneously, the Group's own weighted-average unemployment assumption deteriorated from 4.6% to 5.3% between the FY2024 and FY2025 scenario sets — a 70 basis point worsening in the single most important driver of retail credit losses. And the retail book has been deliberately tilted towards higher-loss-content lending: cards up 20.0% and personal advances up 16.0% in FY2025. Reducing the buffer while increasing the risk density and forecasting a weaker labour market is a combination that works until it does not. The FY2025 impairment charge already rose 86.9%.
3. The bank has no hedge against the United Kingdom, and its regulatory tailwinds are hopes, not commitments. With 90–93.5% of income from a single economy whose five-year GDP CAGR the Group itself assumes at 1.2% on a weighted basis, organic growth is structurally capped. The 2028 target of greater-than-4% CAL growth therefore requires share gains against Lloyds (now targeting above 16% RoTE), Nationwide/Virgin Money, Barclays/Tesco Bank and Santander/TSB — all of whom have recently added scale. Meanwhile the three regulatory unlocks management cites — the ring-fencing review, the Advice Guidance Boundary Review and the FPC leverage consultation — are consultations, not decisions. Against them sit two quantified headwinds: approximately £10 billion of Basel 3.1 RWA inflation on 1 January 2027, and a leverage ratio already at 4.8%, the weakest of the period. The banking surcharge and levy remain live fiscal instruments in a constrained fiscal environment. The bull case requires the regulatory dice to come up favourably three times; the bear case requires only that they do not.
Catalysts and monitorables for the next 12 months
Analyst verdict
NatWest is the most operationally improved of the UK's large listed banks, and the numbers are not ambiguous. Total income has compounded at 12.4% over four years, attributable profit at 16.7%, and the cost:income ratio has fallen from 69.9% to 46.0%. Return on tangible equity of 19.7% in the first half of 2026 is the highest in the domestic peer group by a wide margin, achieved on a prime loan book losing 19 basis points a year and the strongest stress-test outcome of any UK bank. The seventeen-year state-ownership overhang ended in May 2025. Conduct costs have fallen 64%. This is a genuinely different institution from the one that entered the period.
The investment question is not whether the business is good — it plainly is — but whether the price and the runway are adequate. At 1.78 times tangible book, the shares embed continued delivery. Two of the three pillars supporting the earnings trajectory have defined horizons: the structural hedge is guided only through 2027, and the buyback accretion that supplied roughly a third of historic EPS growth is gone with the government's exit. The third pillar, Evelyn Partners, is unproven, integration-dependent, and reliant on a regulatory review that has not concluded.
Meanwhile management has thinned its provision buffer to the lowest coverage of the period while its own macro assumptions deteriorated, and tilted the retail book towards unsecured lending late in a cycle. That is the one decision in this record that looks more like confidence than prudence.
The 2028 targets — greater than 18% RoTE, sub-45% cost:income — appear conservative against current run-rates, and management has under-promised consistently since 2023. The base case is continued outperformance of guidance. The risk is not that the business disappoints, but that it delivers exactly what it promises into a share price that requires more.
SOURCES AND VERIFICATION NOTES
Primary sources relied upon:
-
NatWest Group plc Annual Results 2022 (17 February 2023), 2023 (16 February 2024), 2025 (13 February 2026) — full results announcements including segment performance, capital, credit risk and condensed financial statements
-
NatWest Group plc H1 2026 Interim Results and Form 6-K (31 July 2026)
-
NatWest Group plc completion announcement, acquisition of Evelyn Partners (RNS 4832K, 1 July 2026)
-
NatWest Group plc acquisition announcement and £750m buyback (9 February 2026)
-
NatWest Group plc corporate website: board of directors, credit ratings, ordinary share dividends register, ESG ratings and benchmarks
-
HM Treasury and UK Government Investments announcements on the completion of the government exit (30 May 2025)
-
Barclays PLC 2025 Results Announcement (9–10 February 2026); Lloyds Banking Group 2025 Results; HSBC Holdings plc 2025 Results (25 February 2026)
-
CUSIP and SEDOL identifiers
-
R&D expenditure (does not exist for this issuer); patent portfolio metrics
-
Three-year geographic revenue split with growth rates
-
FY2023–FY2025 cash flow statement lines
-
Total equity, goodwill and intangibles for FY2023–FY2025
-
FY2024 total distributions deducted from capital
-
Directors' remuneration primary-source figures (aggregator data used and flagged)
-
Precise current shareholder register (aggregator data used and flagged; contains a stale HM Treasury line)
-
Final outcome against the £100 billion climate and sustainable funding target
-
Number of countries of operation
-
Formal analyst consensus EPS and price target distribution
-
Detailed debt maturity ladder
-
NatWest-specific motor finance redress provision, if any
-
Current status of the 1MDB claim and the RBSI Jersey enforcement referral
Discrepancies noted and unresolved:
- Branch count: 336 (UK retail, company disclosure) versus 613 (worldwide, MarketScreener)
- UK income share: c.90% (AJ Bell/Morningstar) versus 93.5% (MarketScreener)
- Market capitalisation: c.£54–55bn (S&P Global via stockanalysis.com) versus US$73.27bn (Nasdaq Data Link) — not reconcilable at spot FX
- Net interest margin basis change between FY2023 and FY2024 reporting
- Climate finance metric change between FY2023 and FY2025 reporting
- LCR and NSFR basis change from spot to average between FY2023 and FY2024 reporting
No figure in this dossier has been estimated where a source was unavailable. Derived ratios and CAGRs are calculated from reported figures and are identified as derivations.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Role | Appointed | Prior roles and background |
|---|---|---|---|
Rick Haythornthwaite | Chair | 8 January 2024 (board); 15 April 2024 (Chair) | Former Chair of Mastercard Inc (market cap grew from $5bn to over $350bn during his tenure), Ocado Group, Centrica, Network Rail, Arc International; former CEO of Invensys; co-founder of QiO Technologies. Current: Chairman of AA Limited, senior advisory partner at Moelis & Co, Visiting Fellow at Saïd Business School, Oxford. Chairs the Group Nominations and Governance Committee. |
Paul Thwaite | Group Chief Executive Officer | 25 July 2023 (interim); confirmed permanent 16 February 2024 | Previously CEO of Commercial & Institutional. Over 30 years in financial services across Wholesale, Corporate, International, Risk and Retail Banking in the UK, Europe and US. Board of Trustees, University of Manchester. Age 53 (per third-party data; not confirmed from filings). |
Katie Murray | Group Chief Financial Officer | 1 January 2019 | Chartered Accountant (ICAS), 30+ years in financial services. Previously Director of Finance and Deputy CFO at the Group; Group Finance Director of Old Mutual Emerging Markets (2011–2015). Non-executive director and Audit Committee Chair of Standard Life plc. |
Lena Wilson CBE | Senior Independent Director | 1 January 2018 (board); 1 April 2025 (SID) | Former CEO of Scottish Enterprise (2009–2017); former Senior Investment Advisor at the World Bank. Chair and Nominations Chair of FirstGroup plc. Chairs the Group Performance and Remuneration Committee; also sits on Board Risk, Nominations and Technology committees. |
Patrick Flynn | Independent NED | 1 June 2018 | Former CFO and Executive Board member of ING Group (8+ years to May 2017); 20 years at HSBC. SID and Audit Chair at Aviva plc. Chairs the Group Audit Committee. |
Roisin Donnelly | Independent NED | 1 October 2022 | 30+ years at Procter & Gamble, latterly CMO for Northern Europe. Consumer Duty Board Champion; Chair of the Colleague Advisory Panel. NED at Premier Foods and Sage Group (Rem Chair). |
Stuart Lewis | Independent NED | 1 April 2023 | 10 years on the Management Board of Deutsche Bank as Chief Risk Officer (retired May 2022); previously Global Chief Credit Officer. NED of Singapore Exchange. Chairs the Group Board Risk Committee. |
Geeta Gopalan | Independent NED | 1 July 2024 | 25+ years in commercial and retail financial services; former NED of Virgin Money UK (Risk Chair), Dechra Pharmaceuticals, Ultra Electronics, WiZink Bank, Vocalink. Chartered Accountant (India). NED of Intrum AB, Auto Trader Group, ClearScore. |
Gill Whitehead | Independent NED | 8 January 2025 | 25+ years in technology and media: Ofcom (led Online Safety Act implementation), Google UK (Senior Director, Client Solutions & Analytics), Channel 4, BBC. Inaugural CEO of the UK's Digital Regulation Cooperation Forum. Chairs the Group Technology, Innovation and Simplification Committee. |
Josh Critchley | Independent NED | 3 November 2025 | 32 years in investment banking; former Vice Chair of Global Investment Banking at Royal Bank of Canada and Head of European and Asian Investment Banking (2011–2022); previously Goldman Sachs and Merrill Lynch. |
Albert Hitchcock | Independent NED | 23 February 2026 | 30+ years in technology; Group CIO of Vodafone, CIO of Nortel Networks, technology leadership at Pearson; NED of Nationwide Building Society from December 2018. Chartered Engineer. |
Ernie Johannson | Independent NED | 1 July 2026 | Former Group Head of North American Personal and Business Banking at Bank of Montreal, serving c.10 million customers; former CRO of BMO Canadian Personal and Commercial Banking; previously Fidelity Investments and CIBC; former Chair of the Canadian Bankers Association. |
Gary Moore | Chief Governance Officer and Company Secretary | 14 February 2025 | Qualified lawyer; previously Head of Corporate Secretariat and Deputy Company Secretary at the Group; formerly Senior Associate at A&O Shearman. Not a board director. |
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
Group CEO single figure total remuneration GBP m | 2.30 | 4.94 | 6.57 |
Group CEO salary component pct of total | 19.9 | 23.1 | 17.9 |
Group CFO single figure total remuneration GBP m | 0 | 0 | 2.94 |
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
July 2023 | Alison Rose resigns as Group CEO following the Coutts/Farage account-closure disclosure |
July 2023 | Paul Thwaite appointed interim Group CEO |
February 2024 | Paul Thwaite confirmed as permanent Group CEO |
April 2024 | Rick Haythornthwaite succeeds Sir Howard Davies as Chair |
February 2025 | David Lindberg retires as CEO of Retail Banking; Angela Byrne appointed on an interim basis; Solange Chamberlain subsequently identified as CEO of Retail Banking (per April 2026 press release) |
February 2025 | Gary Moore appointed Chief Governance Officer and Company Secretary |
2025 | Emma Crystal leads Private Banking & Wealth Management; Dr Maja Pantic appointed as the Group's first Chief AI Research Officer |
April 2025 | Lena Wilson appointed Senior Independent Director |
June 2026 | Chris Kenny appointed CEO of Evelyn Partners on completion, reporting to Emma Crystal |
| Holder | Approximate stake pct |
|---|---|
BlackRock Inc | 8.48 |
Capital Research and Management Company | 6.14 |
Massachusetts Financial Services Company (MFS) | 5.20 |
The Vanguard Group Inc | 4.77 |
Norges Bank Investment Management | 3.14 |
FMR LLC (Fidelity) | 2.74 |
Sanders Capital LLC | 2.05 |
State Street Global Advisors | 1.96 |
HSBC Global Asset Management (UK) | 1.92 |
Legal and General Investment Management | 1.65 |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | NatWest Group | Lloyds Banking Group | Barclays | HSBC Holdings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Total income FY2025 GBP bn | 16.6 | 18.3 | 29.1 | 53.0 |
Profit before tax FY2025 GBP bn | 7.7 | 6.7 | 9.1 | 28.6 |
Return on tangible equity FY2025 pct | 19.2 | 0 | 11.3 | 13.3 |
Cost income ratio FY2025 pct | 48.6 | 53.6 | 62.0 | 0 |
CET1 ratio FY2025 pct | 14.0 | 0 | 14.3 | 0 |
EPS FY2025 pence | 68.0 | 0 | 43.8 | 0 |
TNAV per share FY2025 pence | 384 | 0 | 409 | 0 |
Total assets FY2025 GBP tn | 0.71 | 0 | 1.62 | 2.57 |



