USAA Overview
USAA is the only diversified US financial institution that underwrites property and casualty insurance, life insurance and annuities, and operates a federally chartered savings bank, exclusively for a single closed affinity group: the US military community, its veterans and their eligible families. Membership eligibility is the moat. That restriction caps the addressable market at roughly the size of the American military-connected population, but it delivers structurally superior loss experience, extraordinary retention — 96% overall and 99% for multi-product households in FY2025 — and a distribution cost base far below agent-driven peers, because USAA sells direct rather than through independent agents. The reciprocal exchange form means surplus is returned to members rather than to shareholders: USAA returned a record 3,768 USD million in FY2025. The corollary is that USAA cannot raise equity capital externally, must self-fund growth from retained earnings and reinsurance markets, and — as the OCC's 2024 comprehensive cease-and-desist order demonstrates — carries a governance and control-environment burden that its scale now demands.
The company's own characterisation
In the 2025 Annual Report to Members, USAA describes itself in terms that are deliberately identity-led rather than commercial: "USAA exists for one reason: to serve those who serve. We are the only financial services firm in the nation that combines banking, property and casualty insurance, and life insurance — all under one roof and all built exclusively for the military community." (2025 Annual Report to Members, p.6.) Its standard corporate boilerplate, as used in the 24 August 2026 press release, positions it as "among the leading providers of insurance, banking and retirement solutions" serving "more than 14.5 million members of the U.S. military, veterans who have honorably served and their families."
CEO Juan C. Andrade framed the FY2025 operating philosophy around a deliberate narrowing of scope: "In 2025, we made a deliberate choice to increase our focus on you — our members and the military community. This was a clear and proactive decision about how we operate, where we invest and how we design our products, services and experiences." (2025 Annual Report to Members, CEO letter, p.5.)
Independent characterisation
USAA is best understood as three regulated balance sheets and one distribution asset, held together by a membership eligibility rule.
(a) The reciprocal exchange (the P&C core). United Services Automobile Association itself is the reciprocal, in which subscribers exchange indemnity with one another through an attorney-in-fact structure. Around this sit stock P&C carriers — USAA Casualty Insurance Company, USAA General Indemnity Company, Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company, USAA County Mutual Insurance Company and NOBLR Reciprocal Exchange — each of which, per USAA's own legal disclosures, "has sole financial responsibility for its own products." This is the profit engine and the risk concentration. USAA's own statement that it is "the fifth-largest auto insurance carrier" (2025 Annual Report to Members, p.13) is consistent with NAIC market-share data.
(b) USAA Federal Savings Bank. A federal savings association chartered and examined by the OCC, also regulated by the FDIC and CFPB. Deposit-funded, consumer-lending-led (auto loans, credit cards, 1–4 family residential), operating a near-branchless model supplemented by a large fee-free ATM network. This is the balance sheet that has generated USAA's regulatory problems.
(c) USAA Life Insurance Company (and USAA Life Insurance Company of New York, Highland Falls, NY). Individual life, annuities, and accident & health, plus Medicare Supplement. AM Best notes that the parent contributed 300 USD million of capital to the life group in 2025 to support growth — a rare, explicit disclosure of intra-group capital allocation.
(d) Adjacent, mostly fee-based entities. USAA Investment Services Company (registered broker-dealer and investment adviser); USAA Life General Agency, Inc. (agency for third-party health/Medicare products); USAA Alliance Services LLC (the USAA Perks discount marketplace, which earns compensation from third-party vendors); The USAA Educational Foundation (a 501(c)(3) private operating foundation).
Revenue model
USAA's revenue is overwhelmingly premium-based, not subscription, licensing or product-sale based. An independent 2023 analysis of USAA's disclosures put insurance premiums at approximately 77% of annual revenues (Bankers Anonymous analysis of USAA 2022 disclosures). The remaining revenue is composed of:
- Net investment income and realised/unrealised gains on the insurance and bank investment portfolios — historically the swing factor. USAA explicitly attributed its FY2022 loss in part to investment returns declining 44%, "driven by the absence of large prior-year investment gains and weak equity market performance" (USAA 2022 Annual Report, as reported by San Antonio Report, 2023).
- Net interest income at USAA Federal Savings Bank.
- Fee and other income: interchange, agency commissions from third-party health and Medicare products, brokerage referral fees (USAA Investment Services Company's 2025 broker-dealer FOCUS filing shows revenue composed of brokerage referral fees, interest income and other revenues), and USAA Alliance Services vendor compensation.
- Intellectual property licensing — a small but strategically important line following USAA's remote-deposit-capture patent programme (see Sections 13 and 19).
Value chain position and customer type
USAA occupies an unusually vertically integrated, disintermediated position. It manufactures its own P&C and life products, distributes them directly (telephone, web, mobile app, and a small number of financial centres near military installations), services and adjusts claims in-house, and funds itself with member deposits and retained surplus. Where it does not manufacture — health insurance, Medicare Advantage, estate planning, homeowners' services, real-estate agent matching — it acts as an agency or referral aggregator, monetising the membership relationship rather than the balance sheet. The Trust & Will estate-planning relationship, the Humana USAA Honor Giveback Medicare plan, and the September 2026 "Agent Connection" real-estate service are all examples of this second model.
Customer type is singular and closed: retail consumers who satisfy military eligibility. USAA's own disclosure defines eligibility as extending to separated military personnel with an Honorable or General Under Honorable Conditions discharge, and to eligible family members. There is no commercial, institutional or wholesale customer base of consequence; a small business insurance line launched under Randy Termeer's tenure is the exception.
End-markets served
US personal auto insurance; US homeowners, renters and valuable-personal-property insurance; US individual life insurance and annuities; US Medicare Supplement and health distribution; US consumer deposits; US consumer credit (auto, card, personal); US residential mortgage including VA loans; US retail brokerage and advice; and a small overseas footprint serving members stationed abroad. Notably, USAA's 2025 disclosures reference USAA EU DAC (Europe) and USAA S.A. UK Branch, the latter described as "pending cancellation to align with the pending branch authorization application" — evidence of an in-flight restructuring of the European entity structure.
Strategy
Stated strategy — verbatim themes
From the 2025 Annual Report to Members:
- CEO Andrade: "In 2025, we made a deliberate choice to increase our focus on you — our members and the military community. This was a clear and proactive decision about how we operate, where we invest and how we design our products, services and experiences to better meet your needs."
- CEO Andrade on the operating discipline: "That belief guided how we managed the Association in 2025 — with discipline, focus and a commitment to return value wherever possible, even as costs continued to rise across our industry."
- CEO Andrade on the pricing objective: "As these efforts take hold and conditions allow, our goal is to deliver premium decreases for a meaningful portion of our membership."
- CEO Andrade on integration: "We are also strengthening how our insurance, banking and financial advice capabilities work together to serve you more seamlessly."
- Chairman Zortman on the board's 2026 posture: "Looking ahead to 2026, the Board will continue to prioritize strong oversight of the Association's leaders, strategy and financial performance. We will support continued investment in capabilities that improve service and member outcomes, while maintaining the discipline required to navigate a complex and evolving environment."
- On market persistence: "While some insurers have reduced their presence in certain states, USAA remains committed to serving members wherever military life takes you… USAA remains in every state and sticks with members for the long haul."
USAA also articulates a five-pillar member-value framework: financial, experience, differentiated benefits, emotional and social.
Strategic initiatives announced in the last 24 months
Management's medium-term targets
USAA publishes no revenue, earnings or return guidance. The only quantified forward commitments identified are:
Products & Services
Property & Casualty Insurance
USAA Auto Insurance. The flagship product and the origin of the association. Underwritten across the reciprocal and its stock affiliates depending on member risk classification. Pricing is rating-based with a large discount architecture. Distinctive features include a vehicle-in-storage discount (unavailable in North Carolina and Virginia; requires the vehicle to be undriven and securely stored) and customised overseas insurance for members on PCS or deployment, including extra property coverage in many European locations. In FY2025 USAA was the fifth-largest US auto carrier by market share (approximately 6.19%, 22.7 USD billion direct written premium). Management guided that approximately half of USAA policyholders should see a six-month auto premium decrease in 2026, with Florida members specifically receiving an average 7% auto rate decrease in 2026, worth an estimated 125+ USD million in annual savings, attributed to Florida's legal-system-abuse reforms and improved driving trends.
USAA SafePilot®. Telematics usage-based programme, optional, requiring an active USAA auto policy, a smartphone, a data plan and the USAA DriveSafe™ app. Enrolment discount of up to 15%; renewal discount of up to 30% in participating states. Average member saving of approximately 200 USD on a six-month policy or 400 USD annually, based on April 2025–March 2026 data. Participation discount expires at the first renewal in which the earned driving discount applies, not to exceed 365 days.
USAA SafePilot Miles™. Mileage-based variant, positioned for members driving under 8,000 miles per year and comfortable with a variable monthly bill. Select states only.
USAA Homeowners, Renters and Valuable Personal Property Insurance. USAA became the third-largest US homeowners underwriter in 2024, displacing Liberty Mutual, with direct premiums written up approximately 15% (S&P Global Market Intelligence, Mar 2025). Bundling auto with homeowners or renters saves up to 10% off total premium — worth 1.2 billion USD to members in FY2025. Home-and-life bundling is separately available.
USAA Connected Home. Optional loss-prevention programme requiring an active homeowners policy and consent to share device data. Provides free smart-home devices detecting water leaks and electrical hazards; saves participating members up to 8% on homeowners insurance. In most states the Connected Home discount and the Protective Device Credit are not applied concurrently; the larger (Connected Home) applies. In FY2025 the devices detected more than 40,000 water leaks and 100 electrical hazards, and members captured more than 2 million USD in premium discounts and avoided deductibles through Connected Home and related smart-device programmes.
Wildfire Response. A mitigation service that clears debris or applies fire retardant when a wildfire threat is identified. Explicitly flagged for enhancement and expanded access in 2026.
Small Business Insurance. Launched under Randy Termeer prior to his 2022 elevation to P&C President. Scale and premium nd.
Telematics Enabled Auto Claims (TEAC). Not a sold product but a claims capability: crash data from the USAA DriveSafe™ app materially accelerates auto claim handling. Paired with a new First Notice of Loss experience launching May 2026 for auto claims, using smart auto-population to eliminate repetitive forms.
Catastrophe claims service. Average catastrophe claim payout time of approximately nine days, improved from 14 days in 2023 and seven days on average as reported for 2024 — note the apparent inconsistency between the "seven days" figure in USAA's April 2025 release and the "approximately nine days" figure in the 2025 report; both are USAA's own statements and are reported here without reconciliation.
Banking — USAA Federal Savings Bank
USAA Classic Checking and USAA Savings. Openable with as little as 25 USD; no monthly service fees and no minimum balance requirements — a genuine differentiator, as USAA notes it is "one of the few banks" offering this. Access to more than 100,000 fee-free ATMs; up to 10 USD per monthly statement cycle refunded in non-network ATM surcharge or usage fees. A 1% foreign transaction fee may apply. In FY2025 the bank saved members nearly 136 million USD in ATM fees through surcharge rebates and network usage. A new checking product targeted at significant life moments and additional military benefits is planned.
Youth checking and savings accounts with parental controls, supported by USAA's Gen Alpha research programme (published 13 Jan 2026), which found children of Gen X parents held average savings balances 30% higher than millennial-parented peers.
USAA Cashback Rewards Plus American Express® Credit Card. Refreshed with rewards automatically enhanced for existing cardholders as of 2 December 2025, with no card reissue. New structure: 5% cash back on the first 3,000 USD in gas station purchases annually (previously 5% on the first 3,000 USD in combined gas and military base purchases); 5% on the first 5,000 USD in military base purchases annually — described by USAA as among the most competitive on-base earn rates available; 3% on the first 3,000 USD in grocery purchases (previously 2%); 1.5%–2% unlimited on other purchases (upgraded from 1%). Projected to deliver nearly 2 million USD in additional annual rewards in 2026. Issued by USAA Federal Savings Bank under licence from American Express.
New rewards credit card family launched 15 July 2026, positioned around higher everyday-spending value, supported by survey data on consumer reliance on rewards.
Credit card benefits. Insurance deductible reimbursement of up to 200 USD for a covered loss in most states (requires eight or more separate net qualifying purchases on the same account in the preceding calendar month; not offered to Washington State residents or for auto policies issued there); up to 500 USD in cell phone protection reimbursement. Card APRs are stated to be below industry average, saving members an estimated 500 million USD in interest in FY2025.
Auto loans, personal loans, home loans, streamlined refinance and VA loans. VA loans may carry a funding fee financeable up to the maximum allowed loan amount. A streamlined lending process is in development, alongside a new integrated auto experience combining car search, an affordability evaluator, lending and insurance — with an equivalent home-buying journey planned.
USAA Bank Agent Connection. Launched 2 September 2026: access to vetted real estate agents with potential closing-cost savings, explicitly positioned to ease PCS moves.
SCRA benefits. USAA caps interest at 4% on qualifying accounts for eligible actively serving members — below the 6% statutory ceiling under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act — and uses data to determine eligibility and apply benefits automatically.
Hardship relief. No-interest loans, payment extensions and fee waivers during government shutdowns and catastrophes. The no-interest loan application process has been amended so that it does not affect the member's credit score.
Zelle®. Daily send limit increased from June 2026 in response to member feedback on money-movement friction.
Planned physical expansion. USAA Bank plans to open additional branch locations and ATMs on military bases, expand the ATM network, and enable over-the-counter cash deposits at select retailers — a notable reversal of the branchless orthodoxy, and one that must be read against the OCC order's restrictions on new products and membership expansion.
Free credit monitoring with FICO® Score 10T.
Life, Health and Retirement
USAA Secure™ Whole Life (form ICC25517453 03-25, varies by state). Enhanced in 2025. Includes the Life Event Option (LEO) rider at no additional cost (form ICC25517453 03-25), permitting up to six post-issue coverage increases upon specified events, capped at the base policy amount with total post-increase coverage limited to 1 million USD; rider expires at age 45 and is unavailable in New York.
USAA Secure Start™ Whole Life (form ICC25518183 04-25). Children's lifelong coverage policy introduced 22 July 2026, expanding the refreshed life portfolio.
USAA Eagle Express Term Life (term policy form ICC24516783 11-24; not available in New York). Enhanced in 2025 with the Term Life Event Option Rider at no additional cost — a one-time option to purchase additional term coverage upon a life event, limited to the lesser of 100,000 USD or the base face amount, exercisable within ten years of issue or before the insured turns 45.
Military Protection Plus. A combination benefit available on USAA Secure Whole Life and on Eagle Express term. Comprises the Military Severe Injury Benefit Rider (form LBR67140ST 05-07), paying 25,000 USD for certain injuries sustained performing eligible military duties, and the Military Future Insurability Rider (form ICC25517457 03-25), allowing replacement of Servicemembers' Group Life Insurance without a medical exam after separation. Coverage increases beyond twice the base face amount, up to the current maximum SGLI amount, are subject to health underwriting. Neither rider is available in New York.
USAA Secure™ Final Expense. A new final expense policy launched 9 June 2026, providing end-of-life financial protection and planning support.
Eagle Plus Rider (form ICC23505229 01-23). Bundled with Eagle Express term, Secure Whole Life and Secure Final Expense: entitles the primary policyholder to create a will or trust online through Trust & Will, with one-time document printing and shipping included. Not available in Florida. Separately, members receive a 35% discount on estate plan creation through Trust & Will, available in all 50 states and DC, with no discount on optional annual subscriptions.
Annuities. USAA was ranked highest by J.D. Power for member satisfaction in individual annuities for the second consecutive year (18 Nov 2025).
Medicare Supplement insurance, provided by USAA Life Insurance Company; not available in MA, MN, NJ, NY and WI. Distributed alongside the Humana USAA Honor Giveback Plan. Health and Medicare solutions are distributed through USAA Life General Agency, Inc. (known in California and New York as USAA Health and Life Insurance Agency), whose representatives are salaried and receive no commissions, though the agency itself receives compensation from carriers based on quantity and quality of coverage placed — a disclosure worth noting for conflict-of-interest analysis.
Underwriting automation. The Fast Track AI system determines whether a medical exam can be waived for term and adult whole life applications. USAA reported it was on track to waive 45% of exams, exceeding its 2026 goal of 40%, with automated decisioning enabling approvals "in minutes instead of in weeks."
Advice, Member Value and Adjacent Services
USAA Perks® — discount marketplace operated by USAA Alliance Services LLC. Members saved 1.24 billion USD over the five years 2020–2024. USAA Alliance Services receives compensation from participating vendors.
Advice and planning tools: Military Pay and Deployment Pay Calculators; deployment and PCS checklists; personalised military separation advice and checklist; Financial Readiness Assessment; money management tools; planners and calculators; military-focused hiring, skills-match and job-finding services for veterans and spouses.
PCS Hub — a planned one-stop digital assistant for Permanent Change of Station moves, targeted for pilot in 2026. Associated developments under evaluation include a dedicated emergency-savings account for currently serving members, a new PCS benefit providing payment flexibility, and additional property coverage with no deductible for household goods transported by a government-contracted carrier.
The USAA Educational Foundation® — a 501(c)(3) private operating foundation providing free financial-readiness resources; launched college courses in 2025 carrying transferable college credit for participants. Published a major study on 11 May 2026 on cost-of-living pressures on military family finances.
Safe Driving Simulator — a virtual experience launched 21 May 2025 for the "100 Deadliest Days of Summer" teen-driving campaign.
Fraud and security services. USAA reported blocking nearly 8 billion cyberthreats in 2025, and promotes the "STOP" consumer anti-scam framework.
Planned AI phone routing. A conversational-speech AI routing system to connect members to the correct service option is planned for introduction in 2026.
Financial Narrative
Income statement
Sources and caveats. FY2021 revenue of 37,100 is derived, not disclosed: USAA's 2022 report stated revenue of "just over 36 billion USD in 2022, a 3% decline" (San Antonio Report, 2023), implying approximately 37.1 billion USD for FY2021. FY2021 net income of 3,370 and FY2022 net loss of 1,280 per AM Best news, and San Antonio Report/USAA 2022 Annual Report. FY2023 revenue 42,490 and net income 1,217 per USAA 2023 Annual Report as reported by The Insurer. FY2024 revenue 48,560 (+14%), net income 3,890, comprehensive income 4,030, and total losses/benefits/expenses 44,050 per USAA 2024 Annual Report as reported by The Insurer/Reuters, 28 Apr 2025. FY2022 other comprehensive loss of 10,500 per Bankers Anonymous analysis of USAA's 2022 consolidated statements. FY2025 revenue and net income were deliberately omitted from the 2025 Annual Report to Members (San Antonio Express-News, Apr 2026) and are therefore not publicly disclosed.
Material discrepancy — FY2025 catastrophe claims. USAA's own 2025 Annual Report states it responded to 62 catastrophes "paying nearly 5 billion USD in losses" while handling 233,000 catastrophe claims. The San Antonio Express-News, reporting on the same document in April 2026, states USAA "paid 6.3 billion USD in catastrophe-related claims last year, a 2 million USD increase from 2024" — a figure inconsistent both with the annual report and internally (4.3 to 6.3 billion USD is a 2 billion increase, indicating a probable transcription error in the secondary source). This dossier treats the primary-source figure of approximately 5 billion USD as authoritative and flags the 6.3 billion USD figure as unreconciled.
Balance sheet
Sources and caveats. FY2023–FY2025 total assets, total liabilities and net worth are taken directly from the consolidated financials table in the 2025 Annual Report to Members, p.47. FY2024 balances were recast following USAA's adoption of ASU 2018-12 (Long-Duration Targeted Improvements, "LDTI") effective 1 January 2025 using the modified retrospective method; FY2023 remains under prior guidance and is therefore not strictly comparable to FY2024–FY2025. This is disclosed by USAA in a footnote to the same table and is a genuine comparability break for any multi-year analysis of the life-related balance sheet.
FY2024 net worth was originally announced as 32.1 billion USD in the April 2025 press release and appears as 32,292 in the 2025 report's recast column — a 192 million USD difference attributable to LDTI recasting. Both figures are reported.
FY2022 total assets of 204,000 derive from the San Antonio Report (Apr 2026) statement that USAA "has grown its total assets from 204 billion USD to 235 billion USD" since the 2022 losses; this is a rounded secondary-source figure and should be treated as approximate. FY2021 total assets are nd.
A further discrepancy: the San Antonio Express-News reported FY2025 total liabilities as 197.6 billion USD versus FY2024 188.5 billion USD, against the annual report's 197,157 and 188,246. The differences (approximately 0.4 billion and 0.25 billion USD respectively) are unexplained; the primary document is preferred.
Balance-sheet composition items — cash, debt split, goodwill, working capital — are not disclosed at the consolidated group level. The only visible group-level debt is at USAA Capital Corporation, and even there only rated public instruments are enumerated.
Cash flow
Sources. P&C dividends/distributions and total returned to members for FY2023–FY2025 per the 2025 Annual Report to Members, p.47. FY2022 "nearly 2 billion USD" per USAA press release, 2 May 2023. Shutdown relief of approximately 450 million USD to 127,000+ members in FY2025, rising to approximately 465 million USD cumulatively including approximately 15 million USD to 7,500+ additional members through March 2026, per the 2025 Annual Report. Parent capital contribution of 300 million USD to USAA Life Group in 2025 per AM Best, 25 Jun 2026. USAA has no shareholders; "dividends paid" and "buybacks" are structurally not applicable and are shown as nd for completeness rather than as omissions.
No consolidated cash flow statement is published. This is the single largest analytical gap in USAA's disclosure set.
Ratios
Method. Net margin, revenue growth and ROA are computed from the disclosed figures above; FY2022 net margin uses the 1,280 loss over 36,000 revenue. Return on net worth uses closing net worth. FY2023 revenue growth of 18.0% is USAA's own stated 17% rounded against the disclosed 36,000-to-42,490 progression — USAA stated "revenues increased by 17 percent"; the arithmetic on the two disclosed figures gives 18.0%. Both are reported; the discrepancy arises from rounding of the FY2022 base. Ratios requiring gross profit, EBITDA, operating income, invested capital, current assets/liabilities or debt are not computable because the underlying inputs are not disclosed and, for an insurance reciprocal, several (gross margin, cash conversion cycle, asset turnover) are conceptually inapplicable.
A note on EBITDA and gross profit. The template requests gross profit, operating income, EBITDA and their margins. For a reciprocal inter-insurance exchange with an integrated bank, these are neither reported nor meaningful; the analogous disclosures would be the combined ratio, expense ratio, net investment income and net interest margin — none of which USAA publishes. The nearest proxy USAA offers is its stated target for the P&C business: "For every dollar of property and casualty insurance premium we earn, we aim to spend 93–97 cents paying claims and serving members" (2025 Annual Report to Members, p.47) — an explicit 93%–97% target combined ratio, implying a targeted underwriting margin of 300–700 basis points. This is the single most useful quantitative guidance USAA has published and is used repeatedly in the analysis below.
USAA Federal Savings Bank — standalone
Sources and material caveats. Q1 2025 figures are from a Call Report summary circulated publicly in May 2025; Q3 2025 figures are FDIC-sourced via BestCashCow; the undated column is Visbanking's Call Report summary page. These series are materially inconsistent — most starkly on loans and leases (60,230 versus 42,293) and total equity capital (9,190 versus 4,987). The likeliest explanations are differing definitions (gross loans including held-for-sale and securitised balances versus net loans; total equity capital versus tangible common equity) and different as-of dates, but this cannot be resolved from public sources. Users should treat the bank's standalone balance sheet as approximate and verify against the FFIEC Call Report of record before relying on any figure. USAA's own Basel Pillar 3 quarterly disclosures — which the bank is required to publish because it exceeds 50 billion USD in total assets — are the authoritative public source and are available on usaa.com.
The Q1 2025 accumulated other comprehensive loss of approximately 4.77 billion USD, driven by unrealised securities losses, is the most important single line in the bank's disclosure: it quantifies the interest-rate mark that sits between the bank's regulatory capital and its economic capital, and it explains a material part of the group net-worth collapse in FY2022 and subsequent recovery.
Commentary on trends, inflections and drivers
FY2021 — the peak. Net worth of 40,100 USD million was the high-water mark and has not been recovered even at FY2025's 38,627. Net income of 3,370 was flattered by large investment gains, the absence of which USAA explicitly cited as a FY2022 headwind.
FY2022 — the break. The 1,280 net loss was USAA's first since 1923. The proximate causes were: (i) claims-cost inflation in auto and home repair, compounded by supply-chain disruption; (ii) a 44% decline in investment returns; and (iii) Hurricane Ian, contributing to nearly 2.5 billion USD of catastrophe claims across more than 60 events. But the loss understates the damage. The 10.5 billion USD other comprehensive loss — eight times the net loss and roughly the size of the 12.7 billion USD net-worth decline — was the real event: a rate-driven mark on the fixed income portfolio, in both the insurance companies and the bank. USAA's net worth fell 31.7% in a single year. This is the defining fact of the five-year period and the reason every subsequent year has been framed by management as a rebuild.
FY2023 — the trough of profitability, the turn in top line. Revenue rose 17–18% to 42,490 on aggressive rate action across auto and homeowners, but net income of only 1,217 reflects that rate had not yet caught the loss cost. USAA paid 23,900 USD million in total claims, including more than 350,000 catastrophe claims. Net worth recovered only 6.4%, to 29,148 — still 27% below the 2021 peak.
FY2024 — earned rate catches loss cost. Revenue rose 14.3% to 48,560 while total losses, benefits and expenses rose only 7.0% (41,150 to 44,050). That 730-basis-point gap between revenue growth and cost growth is the entire story of the FY2024 recovery: net income tripled to 3,890, comprehensive income reached 4,030 despite Hurricanes Helene and Milton driving 4,300 in catastrophe claims. Net worth rose 10.8% to 32,292 (recast). NAIC data confirm the driver: all-lines direct premiums written rose 12.9% to 36.13 billion USD, and USAA moved from third to third-largest homeowners underwriter, displacing Liberty Mutual, with homeowners DPW up approximately 15%.
FY2025 — strong balance sheet, opaque income statement. Net worth rose 19.6% to 38,627, capital rose 20% to 38,600, and total assets rose 6.9% to 235,784 — growth USAA attributed to member additions, "well-run operations, strong investment performance and fewer major catastrophe losses." Members reached 14.3 million. Total returned to members hit a record 3,768, up 71% year on year, of which P&C dividends and distributions more than doubled to 2,927. AM Best's June 2026 affirmation independently corroborates the earnings picture, citing "improved operating performance for USAA property/casualty, aided by rate increases and loss management… with lower net catastrophe losses and favourable non-catastrophe loss trends."
And yet USAA chose not to publish revenue or net income for FY2025. The stated rationale, via EVP and Chief Communications Officer Lindsey O'Neill, was that the company "wanted to focus on its members, not profits or losses." Analytically, that explanation is unsatisfying in a year the company describes as financially strong: firms rarely suppress good numbers. Three readings are available and none can be resolved from public data. First, a genuine communications repositioning ahead of a year in which USAA is asking members to accept the idea that premium reductions are the return on the association's strength. Second, a defensive posture: reporting record profits in the same document that discusses rate levels invites scrutiny from regulators, plaintiffs' counsel and legislators — and USAA is simultaneously lobbying state and federal policymakers on tort reform. Third, a genuine deterioration or one-off charge in a line item that management preferred not to itemise. The 19.6% net-worth increase, the 20% capital increase and the record 3,768 returned to members all argue against the third reading, but they do not exclude it, because net worth is materially affected by other comprehensive income (i.e. the reversal of the 2022 rate mark) as well as by earnings. Any user of this dossier should treat FY2025 profitability as unverified.
The five-year arc. Revenue grew from an implied 37,100 in FY2021 to 48,560 in FY2024 — a 9.4% compound annual growth rate over three years — driven almost entirely by rate, not exposure. Net worth over the full five years went 40,100 → 27,400 → 29,148 → 32,292 → 38,627, a -3.7% CAGR: USAA is still not back to where it started, despite a doubling of the profit pool at the peak and a near-50% increase in premium. That gap is the interest-rate mark, and it will unwind only as the securities portfolio rolls.
Financial Detail
Segment Revenue
| Segment | Legal entities | Products | Segment head (current) | Regulator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Property & Casualty Insurance | United Services Automobile Association (reciprocal); USAA Casualty Insurance Company; USAA General Indemnity Company; Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company; USAA County Mutual Insurance Company; NOBLR Reciprocal Exchange; USAA Limited (UK); USAA EU DAC | Personal auto, homeowners, renters, valuable personal property, umbrella, small business, overseas/PCS coverage | Randy Termeer, President, Property and Casualty Insurance (since Jul 2022) | State insurance departments; NAIC |
Banking | USAA Federal Savings Bank | Checking, savings, CDs, youth accounts, credit cards, auto loans, personal loans, mortgages incl. VA loans, HELOC | Michael Moran, President, USAA Bank (since 30 Jan 2025); Brad Conner, former Executive Chairman 2024–2025 | OCC (primary), FDIC, CFPB |
Life, Health & Retirement | USAA Life Insurance Company; USAA Life Insurance Company of New York; USAA Life General Agency, Inc. | Term and whole life, final expense, annuities, Medicare Supplement, health distribution | Rob Arena, President, USAA Life Insurance Company (since 5 Jan 2026) | State insurance departments |
Investments / Advice | USAA Investment Services Company (broker-dealer and RIA) | Brokerage referral, advice, managed relationships | nd | SEC / FINRA |
Member Value & Alliances | USAA Alliance Services LLC | USAA Perks discount marketplace, third-party product referral | Veteran-led "Member Value organization" launched 2025; leader nd | — |
Segment Revenue
| Segment (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
P&C insurance segment revenue | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Banking segment revenue | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Life/health segment revenue | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Investments/other segment revenue | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Segment Revenue
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
P&C direct premiums written, NAIC all-lines (USD M) | nd | nd | 32000 | 36130 | nd |
Total insurance premiums collected, group (USD M) | nd | nd | 32200 | 37000 | nd |
Private passenger auto direct written premium (USD M) | nd | nd | nd | nd | 22700 |
USAA FSB total assets, period-end (USD M) | nd | nd | nd | nd | 104903 |
USAA FSB total deposits, period-end (USD M) | nd | nd | nd | nd | 90797 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total revenue | 37100 | 36000 | 42490 | 48560 | nd |
Total losses, benefits and expenses | nd | nd | 41150 | 44050 | nd |
Net income attributable to USAA | 3370 | -1280 | 1217 | 3890 | nd |
Comprehensive income | nd | nd | 3280 | 4030 | nd |
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax | nd | -10500 | nd | nd | nd |
Total claims paid, all causes | nd | nd | 23900 | nd | nd |
Catastrophe claims paid | nd | 2500 | nd | 4300 | 5000 |
Number of catastrophes responded to | nd | 60 | nd | nd | 62 |
Catastrophe claims handled (thousands) | nd | nd | 350 | nd | 233 |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Total assets | nd | 204000 | 211638 | 220538 | 235784 |
Total liabilities | nd | nd | 182490 | 188246 | 197157 |
Net worth (assets less liabilities) | 40100 | 27400 | 29148 | 32292 | 38627 |
Capital (risk-bearing) | nd | nd | nd | nd | 38600 |
Cash and equivalents | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Total debt (short-term) | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Total debt (long-term) | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Net debt | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Goodwill and intangibles | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Working capital | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Operating cash flow | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Capital expenditure | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Free cash flow | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Dividends paid to shareholders | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Share buybacks | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
P&C dividends and distributions to members | nd | nd | 1047 | 1419 | 2927 |
Total returned to members (dividends, distributions, bank rebates and rewards) | nd | 2000 | 1845 | 2203 | 3768 |
Government shutdown relief provided | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 450 |
Parent capital contribution to USAA Life Group | nd | nd | nd | nd | 300 |
Financial Analysis
| Ratio | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Net margin, percent | 9.1 | -3.6 | 2.9 | 8.0 | nd |
Return on net worth, percent | nd | -3.8 | 4.3 | 12.7 | nd |
Return on assets, percent | nd | nd | 0.6 | 1.8 | nd |
Net worth to total assets, percent | nd | 13.4 | 13.8 | 14.6 | 16.4 |
Total returned to members as percent of net worth | nd | 7.3 | 6.3 | 6.8 | 9.8 |
Revenue growth, percent | nd | -3.0 | 18.0 | 14.3 | nd |
Net worth growth, percent | nd | -31.7 | 6.4 | 10.8 | 19.6 |
Total asset growth, percent | nd | nd | nd | 4.2 | 6.9 |
ROIC | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Current ratio | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Debt to equity | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Net debt to EBITDA | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Interest coverage | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Asset turnover | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Cash conversion cycle | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Financial Analysis
| Metric (USD M) | Q1 2025 (31 Mar 2025) | Q3 2025 (30 Sep 2025) | Undated recent |
|---|---|---|---|
Total assets | 110780 | 104903 | 109670 |
Total deposits | 97290 | 90797 | 94940 |
Loans and leases | 60230 | 42293 | nd |
Total equity capital | 9190 | 4987 | nd |
Non-current loans | nd | 486 | nd |
Loan loss reserves | nd | 1824 | nd |
Other real estate owned | nd | 1 | nd |
Cash and balances due from depository institutions | 12120 | nd | nd |
Accumulated other comprehensive income | -4770 | nd | nd |
Quarterly net income | 298 | nd | nd |
Tier 1 capital ratio, percent | 15.87 | nd | nd |
Total capital ratio, percent | 17.63 | nd | nd |
Geographic Revenue
| Geography (USD M) | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
United States | nd | nd | nd |
Europe (USAA EU DAC and UK branch) | nd | nd | nd |
Rest of world | nd | nd | nd |
Capital Markets
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
Share price, 1/3/5-year | Not applicable — no listed equity |
P/E, EV/EBITDA, EV/Sales, P/B | Not applicable |
Analyst consensus | Not applicable — no sell-side coverage |
Dividend history and policy for shareholders | Not applicable |
Buyback authorisations | Not applicable |
Capital Markets
| Metric (USD M) | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Total returned to members | 2000 | 1845 | 2203 | 3768 |
Of which P&C dividends and distributions | nd | 1047 | 1419 | 2927 |
Total returned as percent of closing net worth | 7.3 | 6.3 | 6.8 | 9.8 |
Capital Markets
| Agency | Entity | Rating | Outlook | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
AM Best | USAA and its P&C and L/H subsidiaries | FSR A++ (Superior); Long-Term ICR "aaa" (Exceptional) | Stable | 25 Jun 2026 |
AM Best | USAA Capital Corporation | Long-Term ICR "aaa"; Short-Term IR AMB-1+ (Strongest) on the commercial paper programme | Stable | 25 Jun 2026 |
Moody's | USAA Life Insurance Company | Aa1 (second highest of 21) | nd | As of 1 Jun 2025 |
S&P Global Ratings | USAA Life Insurance Company / USAA Life of New York | AA (third highest of 21) per USAA Life disclosures; AA+ cited in general reference sources for the group | nd | As of 1 Jun 2025 |
Capital Markets
| Instrument | Issuer | Amount (USD M) | Coupon, percent | Maturity | AM Best rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Senior unsecured medium-term notes | USAA Capital Corporation | 500 | 5.250 | 2027 | aaa |
Senior unsecured medium-term notes | USAA Capital Corporation | 500 | 4.375 | 2028 | aaa |
Senior unsecured medium-term notes | USAA Capital Corporation | 400 | 2.125 | 2030 | aaa |
Senior unsecured medium-term note programme (indicative) | USAA Capital Corporation | Programme | — | — | aaa |
Commercial paper programme | USAA Capital Corporation | Programme | — | Short-term | AMB-1+ |
Capital Markets
| Debt metric (USD M) | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Rated public senior notes outstanding | nd | nd | nd | nd | 1400 |
Commercial paper outstanding | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Total group debt | nd | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Capital Markets
| Transaction | Date | Size (USD M) | Structure |
|---|---|---|---|
Residential Reinsurance 2025 Limited (Series 2025-2) | Oct 2025 | 400 (upsized from a 300 target) | Multi-peril per-occurrence; spreads finalised at the low end of twice-reduced guidance |
Residential Reinsurance 2026 Limited (Series 2026-1) | May 2026 | 825 (upsized from a 600 target) | Three tranches, approximately four years of indemnity cover. Class 14: 150 million USD, 6.5% spread, annual aggregate US-wide, 60 million USD event deductible. Class 15: 175 million USD, 4.5% spread, annual aggregate US-wide, 60 million USD event deductible. Class A: 500 million USD, 5.75% spread, per-occurrence, Florida only. Perils: US tropical cyclone, earthquake plus fire following, severe thunderstorm, winter storm, wildfire, volcanic eruption, meteorite impact and other perils. Auto and renter policy flood losses included under the aggregate tranches; only renter policy flood losses under the Florida occurrence tranche |
Analyst Conclusions
Management guidance
USAA gives no financial guidance. Its forward commitments are operational and member-facing: roughly half of policyholders to receive six-month auto premium decreases in 2026; a 7% average auto rate decrease in Florida worth 125+ million USD, within a Florida package expected to deliver nearly 1 billion USD in combined returns and savings; a 93–97 cent target for claims and service costs per premium dollar; a 45% life medical-exam waiver rate against a 40% goal; and a stated intention to grow multi-product household penetration above 77%. The Chairman's forward statement commits the Board to "strong oversight of the Association's leaders, strategy and financial performance" and to "support[ing] continued investment in capabilities that improve service and member outcomes, while maintaining the discipline required to navigate a complex and evolving environment."
Consensus expectations
None exist. There is no sell-side coverage. The nearest external forward view is AM Best's June 2026 stable outlook, which rests on continued balance sheet strength at the strongest assessment level, improved P&C operating performance driven by earned rate and loss management, and continued parent capital support to the life group.
Bull case
-
The rate cycle has turned in USAA's favour and the give-back is voluntary, not competitive. FY2024 demonstrated the operating leverage precisely: revenue grew 14.3% while losses, benefits and expenses grew 7.0%, tripling net income. FY2025 net worth grew 19.6% and capital grew 20% on a year with 62 catastrophes. USAA is now choosing to give roughly half its policyholders a rate decrease, and Florida members nearly 1 billion USD, from a position of strength. Loss ratios in personal auto have improved industry-wide; USAA's structurally better book should improve faster. The 93–97% combined ratio target implies underwriting profitability that a mutual can convert entirely into either price or surplus.
-
The life segment is a genuinely under-exploited asset with a credible new owner. USAA has recapitalised it with 300 million USD, hired a former Global Atlantic co-President, launched three new products in seven months, automated 45% of medical exams, won J.D. Power's top annuity ranking twice consecutively, and operates in a market where only about half of US adults own life insurance. It sells into a captive base of 14.5 million members with 96% retention and unique military-specific riders — SGLI replacement without medical underwriting, a 25,000 USD severe injury benefit — that no competitor can replicate. This is the highest-return incremental capital deployment available to USAA.
-
Regulatory resolution is a step-change catalyst, not just a cost. The OCC order restricts new products and membership expansion — the two levers that have driven every previous inflection in USAA's history (1924, 1996, 2009). Remediation is now visibly resourced: a new CRO, a new Bank President, a new Chairman of both the association and the bank boards, a new Vice Chairman with four decades of banking experience, and three new directors including a former USSOCOM commander and a Navy vice admiral with technology-transformation experience. If the order is lifted, USAA regains the ability to expand eligibility and launch bank products at will — against a stated plan that already includes on-base branches, an expanded ATM network, retail cash deposits, a new checking product and a full credit card refresh.
Bear case
-
The FY2025 disclosure withdrawal is unexplained and, on the balance of evidence, defensive. Companies do not conceal good numbers. USAA suppressed revenue and net income in the same document in which it touted a record member return, a 19.6% net-worth increase and 20% capital growth. The plausible explanations range from benign (a member-first communications reframe) to concerning (avoiding a public profit figure while lobbying legislatures on tort reform, negotiating rate filings, and defending bad-faith litigation) to serious (an unflattering line item). The point is not that any specific bad outcome is likely; it is that the analyst can no longer verify. That is a permanent haircut on the confidence attachable to every forward statement, and it should be priced as such by any counterparty.
-
Net worth has not recovered to its 2021 level after five years, three of them profitable. 40,100 in FY2021 versus 38,627 in FY2025 — a 3.7% decline — despite premium growth of roughly 50% and cumulative net income across FY2023–FY2024 of 5,107 million USD. The reason is the interest-rate mark: a 10,500 million USD other comprehensive loss in FY2022, with a residual 4,770 million USD accumulated other comprehensive loss still sitting at the bank alone as of Q1 2025. USAA is running a larger, more catastrophe-exposed book on a smaller real capital base than it had five years ago, and it cannot issue equity to fix that. The 825 million USD cat bond — its largest ever, upsized 37.5% — is not only opportunistic; it is also what a firm does when its balance sheet has less absorptive capacity than its exposure requires.
-
Regulatory recidivism has become a pattern, and the pattern predicts the next order. Three actions in five years. The 2024 order did not merely add findings; it incorporated articles from 2019 and 2022 that remained in non-compliance after five and two years respectively. It also found the bank non-compliant with Heightened Standards for large banks — a finding about institutional capability, not a specific control gap. The OCC expressly reserved the right to impose monetary penalties for continued violation. USAA is simultaneously executing this remediation while cutting headcount by roughly 5% in seven months and replacing every senior leader in the institution. Remediation programmes fail on execution capacity more often than on intent.
Catalysts and monitorables for the next 12 months
Analyst verdict
USAA in September 2026 is a fundamentally strong institution with a deteriorating information profile, and those two facts must be held simultaneously.
The strength is real and independently corroborated. Net worth has grown three consecutive years to 38,627 million USD, capital grew 20% in FY2025, total assets reached 235,784 million USD, and AM Best reaffirmed A++/"aaa" with a stable outlook in June 2026, explicitly citing improved P&C operating performance and favourable loss trends. USAA is the third-largest US homeowners underwriter and fifth-largest auto underwriter, retains 96% of members and 99% of multi-product households, and returned a record 3,768 million USD to those members. It executed the largest catastrophe bond in its 30-year sponsorship history at an upsized 825 million USD. None of this is soft.
The deterioration is equally real. USAA withdrew revenue and net income from its FY2025 report — the first time in at least a decade — leaving no verifiable profitability figure for the most recent year. It disclosed a headcount reduction from "more than 38,000" to "more than 36,000," and a footprint reduction from eight US cities to seven, only through changes in press-release boilerplate. It operates under a live comprehensive OCC cease-and-desist order that restricts the growth levers it has used at every previous inflection, and that order exists precisely because two prior orders were not remediated. Its outgoing CEO's compensation rose 47% during that remediation. And its net worth, five years and roughly 50% of premium growth later, remains below where it stood in 2021.
The correct read is that USAA is executing a genuine and largely successful financial turnaround while its institutional turnaround remains unproven. Andrade inherited a balance sheet that was already mending — FY2024's tripling of net income was substantially set before he arrived — and a control environment that was not. His visible actions have been the right ones: a new CRO, a new Bank President, a new Life President with genuine external stature, a wholly refreshed board including two flag officers and a Vice Chairman with forty years in banking, a 500 million USD social platform with a real policy apparatus, and a decisive redirection of surplus into member premium relief rather than retained surplus. What cannot yet be judged is whether an organisation cutting 5% of its workforce in seven months, while replacing every senior leader, can simultaneously satisfy a regulator that has already found it non-compliant twice.
For a counterparty, reinsurer, cat bond investor or debt holder, USAA remains among the strongest credits in US personal lines and should be treated as such; the A++/"aaa"/AMB-1+ complex is well earned. For a member, the 2026 rate reductions are real and the return of 9.8% of net worth is unusually generous. For anyone attempting to model USAA's economics, the honest conclusion is that as of the FY2025 disclosure, you can no longer do so from public information — and that fact, more than any number in this dossier, is the finding.
Executive Leadership
| Name | Title | Since | Prior roles | Education | FY2025 total compensation (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Juan C. Andrade | President & Chief Executive Officer (12th) | 2 Apr 2025 (announced 8 Jan 2025) | President & CEO, Everest Group; USAA director since c.2021; nearly 40 years across public service and financial services; American Red Cross Board of Governors; Business Roundtable; The Business Council | BA Journalism, University of Florida (Distinguished Alumnus 2018); MA International Economics and Latin American Studies, Johns Hopkins SAIS | 332,662 (including 78,398 for board service) — reported under United Services Automobile Association only |
Brett Seybold | Chief Financial Officer | Jul 2024 | SVP and senior financial officer, USAA P&C; Chief Audit Executive (briefly) | nd | 733,352 (up 133% from 314,786 in 2024) |
Randy Termeer | President, Property and Casualty Insurance | Jul 2022 | Joined USAA 2017 as SVP/GM Auto Insurance; led the Noblr acquisition, launched Small Business Insurance and SafePilot; COO, Chubb International Accident & Health; product management lead for personal lines, The Hartford | nd | 5,400,000 (up 46% from 3,700,000 in 2024) |
Michael Moran | President, USAA Bank | 30 Jan 2025 (interim prior) | SVP and CFO, USAA Bank; head of business finance, pricing and FP&A; two decades in banking | nd | nd |
Rob Arena | President, USAA Life Insurance Company | 5 Jan 2026 | Co-President, Global Atlantic Financial Group; senior roles at The Hartford and Prudential; 30+ years in life, retirement and asset management | nd | nd |
Brian Goldman | Chief Risk Officer | 27 May 2025 | nd | nd | nd |
Chris Curtin | Chief Marketing Officer | 27 Feb 2026 | nd | nd | nd |
Jeff Wallace | Chief Audit Executive | Jul 2024 | CFO, USAA (four years); CFO, Consumer Banking and Global Wealth & Investment Management, Bank of America | nd | nd |
Mara Motherway | SVP and Head of Government Relations | 9 Jul 2026 | nd | nd | nd |
Wayne Peacock | Former President & CEO | Feb 2020 – Apr 2025; 36 years at USAA | Joined Cotality board 18 Feb 2026 | nd | 14,100,000 for the partial year (up 47% from 9,600,000 in 2024 and 74% from 8,200,000 in 2023) |
| Name | Role | Appointed / Notes |
|---|---|---|
Lt Gen David F. Melcher, US Army (Ret.) | Chairman of the Board; Chairman, USAA Federal Savings Bank Board | Named Chairman 24 Aug 2026; director for nearly seven years, most recently Vice Chairman; 30+ years US Army; board leadership roles in defence, aerospace and healthcare; USAA member 51+ years; West Point; MBA Harvard Business School; MPA Shippensburg University |
David C. Darnell | Vice Chairman, USAA Board and FSB Board | Named Vice Chairman 24 Aug 2026; director since 2019; 40+ years banking and financial services; former US Army officer and Army Reserve member |
VADM James M. Zortman, USN (Ret.) | Outgoing Chairman | Director since 2013; Chairman 2021–2026; USAA member 54 years |
Juan C. Andrade | Director; President & CEO | Director since c.2021; became CEO Apr 2025 |
Brad L. Conner | Director; member, Member Value & Marketing and Risk Committees | Director of USAA Federal Savings Bank since 2020; Executive Chairman of USAA Bank 2024–2025; former board member and chair, Consumer Bankers Association |
Gen Bryan P. Fenton, US Army (Ret.) | Director | Appointed 28 Jan 2026; former Commander, US Special Operations Command |
Andrew J. Pinkes | Director | Appointed 4 Jun 2026 |
VADM Craig Clapperton, USN (Ret.) | Director | Appointed 3 Sep 2026; cited for experience navigating technological change and complex operating environments |
Stephen Griggs (per USAA board page) | Director | Former Chief Risk Officer, Chief Credit Officer and General Counsel, Citizens Financial Group; risk roles at Morgan Stanley, Citigroup, Bank of America, Fifth Third, First Union/Wachovia; former chairman, Risk Management Association |
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
Ownership form | Reciprocal inter-insurance exchange; policyholder-subscribers are the economic owners |
Institutional holders | None — no listed equity exists |
Top 10 holders | Not applicable |
Insider ownership | Not applicable |
Member rights | USAA's own disclosure is explicit and restrictive: "Use of the term 'member' or 'membership' refers to membership in USAA Membership Services and does not convey any legal or ownership rights in USAA." Notably, the 2025 report simultaneously describes enhancing "unique benefits for military members that enable them to share in our success and have a say in our future" — a governance-participation direction that is not yet defined in any public document |
Competitive Landscape
| Metric | Value | Year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
US private passenger auto rank | 5th | 2024 and 2025 | NAIC market share reports |
US private passenger auto market share, percent | 6.19 | 2025 | NAIC via CNBC Select |
US private passenger auto direct written premium (USD M) | 22700 | 2025 | NAIC via CNBC Select |
US all-lines P&C direct premiums written (USD M) | 36130 | 2024 | NAIC 2025 Market Share Report |
US all-lines P&C DPW growth, percent | 12.9 | 2024 | NAIC 2025 Market Share Report |
US homeowners rank | 3rd (displacing Liberty Mutual) | 2024 | S&P Global Market Intelligence, Mar 2025 |
US homeowners DPW growth, approximate percent | 15 | 2024 | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
US bank rank | Among the 20 largest bank holding companies in the United States | 2025 | San Antonio Report, Apr 2026, citing USAA |
| Metric | USAA | State Farm | Progressive | Allstate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Private passenger auto market share, percent, 2025 | 6.19 | 19 | 17 | 10 |
Private passenger auto direct written premium 2025 (USD M) | 22700 | nd | nd | nd |
All-lines P&C direct premiums written 2024 (USD M) | 36130 | nd | 60050 | nd |
Homeowners direct premiums written 2024 (USD M) | nd | 31460 | nd | 13490 |
Homeowners market share 2024, percent | nd | 19.4 | nd | nd |
Total revenue 2024 (USD M) | 48560 | nd | nd | 64106 |
Net income 2024 (USD M) | 3890 | nd | nd | 4550 |
Net margin 2024, percent | 8.0 | nd | nd | 7.1 |
Revenue growth 2024, percent | 14.3 | nd | nd | 12.3 |
R&D intensity | nd | nd | nd | nd |
Recent Developments
--



